Publisher: Kensington

Review: Garrett’s Destiny by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted December 19, 2022 by Casee in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Garrett’s Destiny by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Casee
Garrett's Destiny by Rebecca Zanetti
Narrator: Mia Barron
Series: Dark Protectors #15
Also in this series: Marked (Dark Protectors, #7), Fated (Dark Protectors, #1), Claimed (Dark Protectors, #2), Hunted (Dark Protectors, #3), Consumed (Dark Protectors, #4), Provoked (Dark Protectors, #5), Marked (Dark Protectors, #7), Shadowed (Dark Protectors, #6), Vampire's Faith (Dark Protectors, #8), Demon's Mercy (Dark Protectors, #9), Alpha's Promise, Hero's Haven, Guardian's Grace, Rebel's Karma, Immortal's Honor
Publisher: Kensington
Publication Date: October 25, 2022
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 304
Length: 11 hours and 27 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Pulsing with passion, adventure, and paranormal suspense and romance, the latest novel inaward-winning and New York Times bestselling author Rebecca Zanetti’s Dark Protectors series delivers an immortal hero and a dream come true . . .
Love and danger . . .For most of his life, Vampire-Demon Garrett Kayrs, nephew of the King of the Realm, has carried a heavy mantle of responsibility with ease and control. Fate declared him heir to the throne, Fortune marked him with the power of the mysterious circle of Seven, and Chance promised more surprises to come. Nothing deterred him from his path. Until the nightmares began--agonizing dreams of having a female, the female, his mate, on the back of his motorcycle—only to have her torn away from his protection. He feels the menace around her, the danger she’s in, and he can’t rest until he finds her . . .
Duty and desire . . .Destiny Applegate bears the weight of her name with a respectful balance of fear and purpose. She has been given some direction, but not nearly enough to truly understand her duty, what she was born to do. Even as a child, she had a sense of him. The him, her mate. A dream moment or two with him that might have saved her—or possibly cursed her. So now, when he finds her, she has no choice but to jump on the back of his bike and do her best to hold on until she discovers her path—even if that means ending his.

I read this book when I first got it on NG, but didn’t review it. So I reread it. It was just as good the second time around.

Garrett Kayrs has been pulled in different directions his entire life. As the future King of the Realm, a member of the Seven, and a member of the Grizzly MC, Garrett’s loyalties are divided. When he meets Destiny Applegate, a human of all things, he is immediately drawn to her, but he doesn’t know why. For years he has been having dreams of his future mate being on the back of his bike, then trying to kill him. Destiny is as far from a murdering warrior as you can get, yet Garrett is drawn to her as he has been drawn to no other in his life.

Destiny is going to die. She has accepted it and only wants to enjoy the month she has left. When she meets Garrett, she immediately recognizes him from a dream she had years ago. He saved her from falling off a cliff at her school. Destiny has never forgotten that face & when she meets him, she wonders WTF is going on. Why did she dream of him? Was he just a figment of her imagination? When she propositions Garrett, she has nothing to lose. The tumor in her head will kill her sooner rather than later and she wants to really live and enjoy the time she has left.

When Garrett learns about Destiny’s tumor, he is convinced that his Aunt Emma, the Queen of the Realm and a doctor, can fix whatever is wrong with her. He doesn’t expect that Emma won’t be able to help. While he still hasn’t considered that Destiny is his murderous mate, he knows that he can’t let her die.

I really enjoyed Garrett & Destiny’s story. Destiny was everything that Garrett never expected. He knew that his mate would try to kill him, so he expected a warrior. Which means that he didn’t expect Destiny at all. Destiny was so sweet, the fact that she was Garrett’s mate never crossed her mind. She knows that she would never hurt him. Or would she?

I can’t wait to read Hope’s story next & I really hope she ends up with Pax. I don’t like Drake at all. I was perfectly happy when I finished the book. RZ has another hit on her hands.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Dark Protectors

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Lightning Review: Darkness Dawns by Dianne Duvall

Posted July 11, 2022 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Lightning Review: Darkness Dawns by Dianne DuvallReviewer: Holly
Darkness Dawns by Dianne Duvall
Narrator: Kirsten Potter
Series: Immortal Guardians #1
Also in this series: Darkness Dawns, In Still Darkness
Publisher: Kensington
Publication Date: February 1, 2011
Format: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited, Library
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy
Pages: 345
Length: 10 hours and 39 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: three-stars

In this dazzling, sensual novel, Dianne Duvall beckons readers into a world of vampires, immortals, and humans with extraordinary gifts…where passion can last forever, if you’re willing to pay the price…

Once, Sarah Bingham’s biggest challenge was making her students pay attention in class. Now, after rescuing a wounded stranger, she’s landed in the middle of a battle between corrupt vampires and powerful immortals who also need blood to survive. Roland Warbrook is the most compelling man Sarah has ever laid hands on. But his desire for her is mingled with a hunger he can barely control…

In his nine centuries of immortal existence, no woman has tempted Roland as much as Sarah. But asking her to love him is impossible—when it means forfeiting the world she’s always known, and the life he would do anything to protect...

Darkness Dawns by Dianne Duvall is the first book in the Immortal Guardians series. I read the spinoff series, The Aldebarian Alliance, first, then picked this up to see what I missed. I listened to the audiobook, which narrated by Kirsten Potter, a favorite of mine.

Sarah is a professor on break for the summer. She’s leaving electronics behind and focusing on growing a garden and decompressing. She’s doing some late night gardening when she comes across a man being attacked. She comes to his aid and brings him home. Roland is a centuries old Immortal Guardian. His colleagues and friends call him “anti-social”, but he has good reason to keep away from people and trust no one. Except Sarah gets under his skin. He doesn’t want to want her, but he can’t stop himself. When it becomes apparent that Sarah may be in danger for her part in helping him, he knows he’ll have to keep her with him. If only he and his brethren weren’t Immortal Vampire Slayers she knows nothing about.

I liked this story, but I thought the romance came on pretty fast. Sarah learned about the existence of paranormal beings and fell in love with one in like a day. That aside, the world building was good and I’m excited for the next book.

Rating: 3.25 out of 5

Immortal Guardians

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Review: In Still Darkness by Dianne Duvall

Posted June 15, 2022 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: In Still Darkness by Dianne DuvallReviewer: Holly
In Still Darkness by Dianne Duvall
Narrator: Arika Rapson
Series: Immortal Guardians #3.5
Also in this series: Darkness Dawns, Darkness Dawns
Publisher: Zebra
Publication Date: July 29, 2014
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 126
Length: 3 hours and 9 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: three-stars

Originally published in "Predatory"
In Dianne Duvall s world of Immortal Guardians, the stakes for mortals are high, but the cost especially to the heart might be higher "
It s not the first time Immortal Guardian Richart d Alencon has saved a human life from eternal damnation. Usually, he moves on, a nameless savior like a ghost in the night. But this time he can t seem to forget the woman who rewarded him with a sensuous kiss after he rescued her from a trio of vampires. While Richart knows that loving a human can only bring trouble, the taste of forbidden lust is too great to resist
Jenna never imagined she d end up a single mom working overtime to put her son through school. But she might have daydreamed once that a devastatingly gorgeous Frenchman would sweep her off her feet. Now that a package of tall, dark, and handsome seems intent on doing just that, doctors are telling her she may not have long to live. But Richart is telling her just the opposite. All she has to do is abandon her humanity
Includes a special sneak peek of Night Unbound

In Still Darkness (Immortal Guardians #3.5) by Dianne Duvall is a novella set in the same timeline as books 2 and 3 of this series, so there’s a bit of overlap. At the time I read this I had only finished book 2 in the series, but I didn’t feel like I missed anything.

Richart d Alencon rescues a woman from 3 vampires and ends up become attached to her. She’s a single mother and used to relying on herself. It comes as a surprised that someone so polished and clearly out of her league is showing an interest in her. Until she finds out his secret.

Richart has never been drawn to someone the way he is to Jenna. He knows he should stay away from her, but he can’t. When he finds out a vampire has been biting her without her knowledge, he knows he’ll do whatever it takes to save her. Even if it means making her Immortal.

I thought this was a sweet story. I really liked how Richart and Jenna were together. I also liked the way John, Jenna’s son, was with both Richart and his mom. I did roll my eyes a bit at the way it ended, but it’s nothing more than I’ve come to expect from this author, so it wasn’t surprising. I really liked how it gave us another perspective on some things that happened in the previous book.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Immortal Guardians

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Lightning Review: Darkness Dawns by Dianne Duvall

Posted June 13, 2022 by Casee in Reviews | 2 Comments

Lightning Review: Darkness Dawns by Dianne DuvallReviewer: Casee
Darkness Dawns by Dianne Duvall
Narrator: Kirsten Potter
Series: Immortal Guardians #1
Also in this series: In Still Darkness, Darkness Dawns
Publisher: Zebra
Publication Date: February 1, 2011
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 345
Length: 10 hours and 39 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-stars
Series Rating: three-stars

In this dazzling, sensual novel, Dianne Duvall beckons readers into a world of vampires, immortals, and humans with extraordinary gifts…where passion can last forever, if you’re willing to pay the price…
Once, Sarah Bingham’s biggest challenge was making her students pay attention in class. Now, after rescuing a wounded stranger, she’s landed in the middle of a battle between corrupt vampires and powerful immortals who also need blood to survive. Roland Warbrook is the most compelling man Sarah has ever laid hands on. But his desire for her is mingled with a hunger he can barely control…
In his nine centuries of immortal existence, no woman has tempted Roland as much as Sarah. But asking her to love him is impossible—when it means forfeiting the world she’s always known, and the life he would do anything to protect...

Darkness Dawns is the first book in Duvall’s Immortal Guardians series. While this isn’t my favorite book, I really enjoyed the world that has been created.

Roland has been an Immortal Guardian for hundreds of years. Roland is slow to trust due to the fact that he was betrayed by two women he thought he loved. Sharing his secret has not done him well in the past & he has no intention of ever sharing his secret again. Sarah has no idea that the paranormal exists. She has no idea what an Immortal Guardian is and vampires? Seriously? I thought she took it rather well, even a little too well.

Overall, this book is not the best in the series. It’s actually my least favorite, but I have been really enjoying Roland & Sarah in subsequent books. Overall, I’m really glad I read this one.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Immortal Guardians

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Immortal’s Honor by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted December 6, 2021 by Casee in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Immortal’s Honor by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Casee
Immortal's Honor by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Dark Protectors #14
Also in this series: Marked (Dark Protectors, #7), Fated (Dark Protectors, #1), Claimed (Dark Protectors, #2), Hunted (Dark Protectors, #3), Consumed (Dark Protectors, #4), Provoked (Dark Protectors, #5), Marked (Dark Protectors, #7), Shadowed (Dark Protectors, #6), Vampire's Faith (Dark Protectors, #8), Demon's Mercy (Dark Protectors, #9), Alpha's Promise, Hero's Haven, Guardian's Grace, Rebel's Karma, Garrett's Destiny
Publisher: Lyrical Press
Publication Date: December 7, 2021
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 328
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2021 Goodreads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

From award-winning author Rebecca Zanetti comes the newest wildly thrilling Dark Protectors novel with an immortal hero to die for.

First comes danger . . .

When Vampire-Demon Sam Kyllwood discovers he’s the keeper of some mysterious circle, he laughs it off. When he finds out that his younger brother is supposed to fight to the death in said circle, he snaps right to furious. And that’s before he starts uncontrollably making things explode —it turns out it’s never too late to develop deadly new immortal abilities. But even those explosions are nothing compared to what happens when he tries to handle a very suspicious, brilliant and beyond sexy human female whose piercing eyes ignite a heat that rages deliciously outside even his unbreakable control…

Then comes desire . . .

Honor McDovall is one of the best interrogators Homeland Security has ever had. But no matter how well she appears to fit in, her mystical gifts are slowly driving her mad. She doesn't understand them, she doesn't want them, but for now, she'll use them to detect and defeat danger until she completely loses her mind. Unfortunately, her job brings her face to face with the deadliest man she's ever met—and she senses Sam is even more gifted than she is. Yet once they kiss, she realizes he's also more dangerous than the enemies suddenly coming from every direction. Good thing they both like to play with fire . . .

Immortal’s Honor is the 14th book in Zanetti’s Dark Protector series. I’ve been a diehard fan of this series since I first discovered it. While there are some books in the series that I like over others, I still have liked all the books. I honestly don’t think there is one book in this series that I did like.

Sam Kyllwood was introduced around book 5 or 6 (I could be wrong here). He’s always been a fascinating character and I am thrilled that we finally got his book. After his niece, Hope, was born the prophets of the Realm pulled Sam aside and told him that Hope was supposed to go through a ritual to become the Keeper. Hope would have died so Sam offered himself up. He doesn’t know what being the Keeper is all about, but he would do anything for his niece if it would save her life. The problems that arise after the ritual are problematic. Sam can’t stop blowing things up. Not because he wants to, but because he can’t stop himself. There is also being pulled into alternate dimensions which is causing a problem. Then he meets Honor McDovall.

Honor is called in by Homeland Security when Sam gets detained by the police after one of the explosions. She’s instantly attracted to Sam, but was properly horrified since he’s obviously a criminal. She’s one of the best investigators that Homeland has and it’s because of the gift that she barely acknowledges she has. She can tap into brain waves and get the truth out of anyone. Anyone but Sam that is. She can’t get a read on Sam, though she knows he is dangerous as all get out.

I loved Honor. She was so practical. When Sam kidnapped her, she took it in stride and didn’t stop trying to get away. I loved that about her. She did what I hope that I would do. She tried to escape. I’m so used to books where the heroine just accepts that they’re kidnapped and that’s that. Honor didn’t care how attracted she was to Sam. She thought he was a psychopath. It’s only when she is suddenly thrust into Sam’s world that she realizes how wrong she was about him. Somehow Sam gives Honor his curse of blowing things up. He doesn’t know how he did it nor does he know how he’s going to help her.

Sam and Honor were fire. This is one of my favorite installments of this series. I love how the arc of the story over the last few books has progressed. I’m really, really, really looking forward to Garrett’s book. It’s going to be amazing.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5.

Dark Protectors

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,