Format: Audiobook

Review: The Last Second Chance by Lucy Score

Posted September 21, 2022 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: The Last Second Chance by Lucy ScoreReviewer: Holly
The Last Second Chance by Lucy Score
Narrator: Tanya Eby
Series: Blue Moon #3
Also in this series: No More Secrets , Fall into Temptation
Publisher: Self-PublishedFormat: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited, Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars


What would it take to get one last chance?

Joey Greer is done having her heart broken. Eight years ago, after a horrific car accident, Jackson Pierce—her high school sweetheart—abandoned her. Abandoned his family. Abandoned the town they'd both grown up in, and fled to Hollywood. He never looked back, and she never forgot him.
Or forgave him.
Now he's back, pretending like the past doesn't exist, wanting another chance. And even though she still feels the undeniable connection between them, the fiery attraction that burns her up from the inside out, Joey’s determined to keep him at a safe distance.
Jackson Pierce can't tell Joey the truth about the night when he left her in the hospital. It would ruin more than just their relationship, and he can't do that to her.
The entire town of Blue Moon knows that Jax and Joey are meant for each other, but Joey isn’t interested in giving him a second chance. All he can do is give her flowers. And picnic lunches. And a dog.
Oh, and handcuff himself to her for charity.
Will this second chance be the last one Jax needs to win back Joey's heart, or is the past too much to forgive?

The Last Second Chance (Blue Moon #3) by Lucy Score is a second-chance romance between high-school sweethearts.

Jax and Joey were high school sweethearts who had their whole lives planned out. Until the night they hit a deer and Joey ended up in the hospital. When she woke up the next day Jax was gone. 8 years later he’s back in town and has made it known that he’s here for Joey…

He wants to pick up where they left off, but Joey can’t forgive him for abandoning her…especially since hasn’t given her a good reason for why he left in the first place.

I liked this book. Joey and Jax were good together and I liked the way Score built up the town and wove the other characters from the series through the story. It felt like I was right there living their lives with them. I did think the book was a little too long, and I struggled with both Joey and Jax at times. But overall it was a light, easy read that I enjoyed.

3.75 out of 5

Blue Moon

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Fall Into Temptation by Lucy Score

Posted September 19, 2022 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Fall Into Temptation by Lucy ScoreReviewer: Holly
Fall into Temptation by Lucy Score
Narrator: Tanya Eby
Series: Blue Moon #2
Also in this series: No More Secrets , The Last Second Chance
Publisher: Self-PublishedFormat: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited, Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars


"If we do this again, it won’t stop at kissing.” It was a dark promise...

Beckett Pierce is the most eligible bachelor in the nosiest small town in upstate New York. But after his last girlfriend handcuffed herself to his porch and set his welcome mat on fire, he's not looking for any more romance.
Even if it lands right in his backyard. And has miles of red hair.
Gianna Decker has her hands full--no, overflowing--with problems. With two kids, a useless ex, and a brand new yoga studio, the last thing on her mind is finding a man who'll cause her more problems.
Making out with her broody landlord? Yeah, that would be a problem. Lusting after the sexy mayor of the town she just moved to? Definitely a problem. Dating the “favorite” son of her father's new lady friend? It seems like Beckett is a bad idea just waiting to happen.
But he's a bad idea she can’t seem to resist.
As Beckett and Gianna find themselves thrown together again and again, they can't help but fall into the temptation of sizzling stolen kisses, of a desire so hot it brands. And soon they're much, much closer than they ever wanted. Tempers flare when their families complicate things and the interfering citizens of Blue Moon Bend step in with their special brand of chaos.
Can Beckett and Gianna manage to disentangle themselves before it’s too late?
Or is the temptation too much for either of them to deny?

Fall into Temptation (Blue Moon #2) by Lucy Score, follows middle brother Beckett as he finds love with the new yoga instructor.

Gia just recently moved to Blue Moon Bay and opened a yoga studio. She’s happy to focus on her business and raising her two kids, until she meets the town mayor -who also happens to be her landlord. He’s sexy as hell and she is so down with having a fling with him. As long as things don’t get complicated, everything will be just fine, right? Oh, except the part where his mom is dating her dad..and he isn’t happy about it.

Beckett isn’t really sure that he wants a ready made family, but he can’t deny he wants Gia and her kids are funny and adorable. She might want to leave things uncomplicated, but he’s totally down with spending time with her and her kids.

This was a cute read. I liked Gia and Beckett together. Her kids were adorable and the way they gravitated to Beckett was sweet. I did think the conflict and resolution toward the end was pretty over the top. Beckett acted like a complete moron. His immature response to stuff was frustrating. The grovel scene was pretty good, but I think Gia gave in a little too quickly.

Still, I’m really loving this series. The characters come to life and I’m totally digging the town.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Blue Moon

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: No More Secrets by Lucy Score

Posted September 14, 2022 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: No More Secrets by Lucy ScoreReviewer: Holly
No More Secrets by Lucy Score
Narrator: Tanya Eby
Series: Blue Moon #1
Also in this series: Fall into Temptation , The Last Second Chance
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: January 17, 2019
Format: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited, Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars


“I can’t wait anymore.” His mouth claimed hers in a storm of heat and power.

Carter Pierce is a man who believes in signs. He just doesn't know what to do with this one.
In the small town of Blue Moon Bend, where everybody is a matchmaker, Carter wants to be left alone to tend the family farm. After returning from Afghanistan with scars, his only goal is recovery. He doesn't need any distractions, and definitely not one with silver-blonde hair and lips that beg to be kissed.
Summer Lentz is a journalist from the city sent to interview Carter and his family. She's out of place in the small town, with her designer wardrobe and workaholic lifestyle. She asks too many questions and doesn't take no for an answer, threatening to destroy the peace and balance that Carter has been working towards. She thwarts every attempt Carter makes to retreat back inside himself, somehow bringing him closer to being whole again.
Summer has secrets of her own, but she never planned to open up to anyone - let alone the scowling, secretive farm owner whose story she's after. But as she gets drawn into the community, she starts to realize that she can't stay closed off forever.
And what's more, she doesn't want to.
As Carter and Summer grow closer, will they be able to push past the secrets that are holding both of them back?

No More Secrets (Blue Moon #1) by Lucy Score is a sweet, small-town romance. I got the ebook from Kindle Unlimited and purchased the audio add-on so I could switch between reading and listening. I enjoyed the narrator.

Summer Lentz has goals. Work her way up to managing editor of the magazine she’s employed with, then start her own digital mag. Step number one is writing a great piece about Carter Pierce and his family farm. Carter isn’t looking forward to dealing with some big city editor, but his family strong-armed him into it and it’s too late to back out. He doesn’t expect to find her charming and attractive, but he’s still going to keep her at arms length. Maybe. Probably.

As Summer and Carter spend an amazing week together, both realize they have something special. But they’re both carrying around big secrets, and neither of them want to open up.

This was a cute story. I like the town of Blue Moon and the Pierce family. The characters really came to life.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5

Blue Moon

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: All is Faerie in Love and War by Isla Frost

Posted August 15, 2022 by Holly in Features | 0 Comments

Review: All is Faerie in Love and War by Isla FrostReviewer: Holly
All Is Faerie in Love and War by Isla Frost
Series: Fangs and Feathers #2
Also in this series: Dragons Are a Girl’s Best Friend , Vampires Will Be Vampires
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: November 12, 2021
Format: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited, Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 248
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
two-stars
Series Rating: one-star

If the devil is knocking at your door, don't open it.A simple enough rule to follow... or so you'd think.

When a criminal has magic too dangerous to merely lock up, we send them to a blackout prison.

Hell would've been a better destination for this guy.

As a lowly cop in the LVMPD's Rapid Response unit, I'm used to dealing with all kinds of dumpster-fire scenarios. From drunk salamanders on a building-melting bender and angry manticore landlords threatening to eat tenants' gallbladders in lieu of payment, to human summoners calling up monsters from the deep to impress their girlfriends—to name a few.

But learning about the magic I shouldn't have while facing off against a psychopath who's worked me into his infernal plans for worldwide torment? That's decidedly outside my wheelhouse.

Oh, and my one and only fae friend is acting really strange.

I have to stop this devil from bringing hell to earth.

But I'm petrified I'm going to help him pull it off instead.

Warning: This urban fantasy series contains danger, mayhem, humor, and heart, with characters you'll fall for—including a vampire with an unbeating heart of gold, a book-hoarding dragon who eats criminals for breakfast, a mysterious faerie who's as hot as the desert he slunk out of, and a human heroine who'll fight to save them all.
Fans of Kim Harrison, Annette Marie, Ilona Andrews, K.F. Breene, Hailey Edwards, or Patricia Briggs, dive into this thrilling new world for a feel-good, action-packed adventure with a dash of slow burn romance.

All is Faerie in Love and War is the second book in Isla Frost’s Fangs and Feathers series. I got the ebook from Kindle Unlimited and purchased the audio add-on so I could read and listen. These books are well written, but I did not the plot of this book. I almost DNF’d it several times. I pushed through because I was curious to see how things would end.

Lyra is a cop with the Las Vegas Magical Police Department. She’s just come back from a two week suspension and she finds out an escaped psychopathic criminal with mind control magic is targeting her. She sends her family away and tries to get back to her life, until the worst happens.

The issue I had with this book comes down to the mind control. View Spoiler »

I am curious enough about what happens in the future to try the next book, but I hope the theme is different.

Rating: 2 out of 5

Fangs and Feathers

two-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Dragons are a Girl’s Best Friend by Isla Frost

Posted August 10, 2022 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Dragons are a Girl’s Best Friend by Isla FrostReviewer: Holly
Dragons Are a Girl’s Best Friend by Isla Frost
Narrator: Tess Irondale
Series: Fangs and Feathers #1
Also in this series: Vampires Will Be Vampires
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: October 6, 2021
Format: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited, Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 326
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: one-star

Why did the dragon cross the road? To eat the stupid human, probably.
Welcome to post-revolution Las Vegas. Now a haven for gambling, debauchery, and supernaturals.
Of course, it's the idiot humans with new magics of their own that cause the most trouble. That's where I come in.
My job as a rookie cop in the Rapid Response unit is to deal with the ongoing teething problems of the magic revolution. Teething problems which often involve actual fangs, among other things. But as one of the idiot humans myself, and saddled with an oddball magic that's frequently more hazard than help, that's easier said than done.
Oh, and the ill-tempered dragon? She's my police partner. (Ditto on the more hazard than help thing.)
So when some jackass comes up with the bright idea to take the entire city hostage? Yeah, I'm in way over my head. But my adoptive family is right in the crosshairs, and I didn't become a cop to sit on my hands while others suffer.
You'd better wish me luck.
Warning: This urban fantasy series contains danger, mayhem, humor, and heart, with characters you'll fall for—including a vampire with an unbeating heart of gold, a book-hoarding dragon who eats criminals for breakfast, a mysterious supernatural who's as hot as the desert he slunk out of, and a human heroine who'll fight to save them all.
Fans of Kim Harrison, Annette Marie, Ilona Andrews, K.F. Breene, Hailey Edwards, or Patricia Briggs, dive into this thrilling new world for a feel-good, action-packed adventure with a dash of slow burn romance.

Dragons are a Girl’s Best Friend by Isla Frost is the first book in the Fangs and Feathers Urban Fantasy series. I got the ebook from Kindle Unlimited and purchased the audible add-on so I could switch between reading and listening. I liked the narrator a lot.

Lyra works for the Las Vegas Magical Police Department Rapid Response Team, so basically she’s a magical rookie beat cop. Since the Supernaturals of the world gave humans magical abilities, the type and amount of magic you have matters. Since Lyra’s only magical ability is to “borrow” someone else’s power through touch, she’s considered mostly a dud. That doesn’t stop her from jumping headfirst into a new case when the entire magical part of the city is taken hostage.

Based on the cover and description I thought this was going to be a light-hearted, fun Urban Fantasy. Though there are shades of snark and humor, the content is darker than I expected. I enjoyed Lyra, the Main Character, and her partner, Aurelis, the dragon. I thought this was a very engaging read and I zipped right through it. There is a hint of romance to come, but nothing really on page.

I’m looking forward to the next book.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5

Fangs and Feathers


Tagged: , , , , , , ,