Format: Audiobook

Review: Pause by Kylie Scott

Posted July 5, 2021 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Pause by Kylie ScottReviewer: Holly
Pause by Kylie Scott
Narrator: Andi Arndt
Publisher: Audible Originals
Publication Date: April 13, 2021
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Plus
Point-of-View: First Person
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 6
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Holly's 2021 Goodreads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars

An unpauseable new romance from New York Times bestselling, Audie Award winning author Kylie Scott!

When Anna wakes up from a coma after a car crash, she discovers life has gone on without her. Her husband has been unfaithful—with her best friend—and she’s been long since replaced at work. While her old life is a distant memory, her new life feels like an empty shell. Then she meets the stranger who saved her life during the crash, and he changes everything.

Leif Larsen—tattooist, joker, and player—has his own scars thanks to the crash that put Anna in a coma. Helping her move on from her failed marriage, and create a new life, sounds like a perfect distraction. So when he needs a new roommate, he invites Anna to begin her new life with him.

Although their lives may have been put on pause, together they just might find a way to heal.

Pause, an Audible first release, follows Kylie Scott’s hit novel, Repeat. This is the story of Leif, Ed’s brother. He was an engaging character in Repeat and I’m so glad we got a story for him. I was a little disappointed that this is told strictly in first person from Anna’s POV. I would have loved to see more of Leif and explored more of his trauma from the previous book. As it was, he felt like a totally different character than the one we met in Repeat. I was pretty bummed about that. That’s not to say I didn’t like him, because I did. He was funny and real. He didn’t hide from hard truths, or try to shy away from his friendship with Anna. He was also dealing with some trauma from

I was immediately pulled into the story. Anna’s issues and the betrayal she suffered had me all in, but as the story went on I became less enamored of her and her struggles. Especially since the focus of the story was her attraction to – and relationship with – Leif. I’d have liked to see her focus more on figuring herself out after all the major changes that came about in her life. I wanted to see her focus on dealing with being in a coma for 7 months and the demise of her marriage as a result more than I wanted to read about her waffling over her attraction to Leif.

Still, I loved their friendship and how open they were with each other. I also enjoyed the story as a whole. It’s just hard not to compare it to Repeat (a very rare 5 star read for me) and find it wanting.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , ,

Review: Gypsy King by Devney Perry

Posted June 30, 2021 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Gypsy King by Devney PerryReviewer: Casee
Gypsy King by Devney Perry
Series: Tin Gypsy #1
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: September 14, 2021
Format: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First Person
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 404
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2021 Goodreads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-stars
Series Rating: three-stars

The former Tin Gypsy motorcycle club has everyone in Clifton Forge, Montana convinced they’ve locked their clubhouse doors and ripped off their patches. Everyone but Bryce Ryan. There’s more happening at the club’s garage than muscle car restorations and Harley rebuilds. Her instincts are screaming there’s a story—one she’s going to tell.

As the new owner of the small town’s newspaper, Bryce is hungry for more than birth announcements and obituaries. When a woman is brutally killed and all signs point to the Tin Gypsies, Bryce is determined to expose the club and their leader, Kingston “Dash” Slater, as murderers.

Bryce bests Dash match after match, disappointed her rugged and handsome opponent turns out to be an underwhelming adversary. Secrets are exposed. Truths defeat lies. Bryce is poised to win this battle in a landslide.

Then Dash breaks all the rules and tips the scales.

One kiss, and she’s fighting to save more than just her story. She’s fighting to save her heart from the Gypsy King.

I started out reading this book but ended up listening to it on audio. I had a real problem getting into it. I got to chapter six and almost DNFed it. The heroine is a reporter. Reporters aren’t my favorite people so I had a mental block from the beginning. Then she got worse. It seemed like all she cared was getting the story on the front page of the paper, not finding out the truth. I’m really happy that I continued because it turned out to be a (mostly) great book.

The Tin Gypsy MC closed it doors a year prior. The club was going in a direction that President Dash Slater didn’t like. When they disbanded it was with the expectation that that part of their lives were over. They were law abiding, tax paying citizens. The violence that has been apart of their lives for so long was no longer a thing. Then there is a murder in Clifton Forge & the evidence points right to Dash’s father, Draven.

Bryce Ryan has just moved back to Clifton Forge from Seattle to work at her family’s newspaper. A hotshot in the Seattle TV anchor scene, Bryce was ready for a change when she goes home. She discovers pretty quickly that the town isn’t without its’ problems. When Draven Slater is arrested for the murder of a woman, Bryce is determined to tell the story. My problem with Bryce at the beginning was that she wanted the story so badly that she forgot all else. She was fine using people, including Dash.

Bryce has met her match in Dash. Initially enemies, these two soon find that they have much more in common than they thought. Bryce realizes that the case may not be exactly what it seemed to be. Dash knows his dad didn’t murder anyone and is determined to prove it with or without Bryce’s help. They make a pact to share all information. If Dash withholds anything, Bryce will do a full expose about the Tin Gypsies.

While working together it doesn’t take long for both of them to realize that there is more afoot than just murder. What seemed cut and dried actually goes back further than any of them know. They only have a limited amount of time to find the real killer before Draven goes to jail. While doing that, they are uncovering secrets about Clifton Forge and the Tin Gypsies. Secrets that people would kill for.

I was fully prepared to give this book a 4 out of 5. Then View Spoiler » It was so unnecessary that it just ruined most of the book for me. I wish DP hadn’t gone in that direction. There didn’t seem to be a reason for it at all.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Tin Gypsy

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Reign of Dragons by Olivia Ash

Posted May 31, 2021 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Reign of Dragons by Olivia AshReviewer: Holly
Reign of Dragons by Olivia Ash
Series: Dragon Dojo Brotherhood #1
Also in this series: Fate of Dragons
Publisher: Wispvine Publishing
Publication Date: March 11, 2019
Format: eBook, Audiobook
Source: Kindle Unlimited, Audible Plus
Point-of-View: First Person
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Fantasy
Pages: 624
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Holly's 2021 Goodreads Challenge, Holly's 2021 New to Me Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

No one screws with my family.

My sister and I are human orphans raised by the world’s best assassin, taught to steal and kill our way through the dragonlands under her watchful eye. Grown men fear us, and no one knows we’re coming until it’s too late to run.

Irena and I—we’re good. The best. In a dog-eat-dragon kind of world, we have to be. But someone betrayed us. Someone we trusted with our lives.
Irena is missing. My mentor is gone. And as for me… the man responsible for this mess thought he killed me. He kicked me into a pit, and he left me to die.

But I don’t give up that easy.

In the darkness, facing death itself, I fused with dragons. I had no choice. This is ancient magic, and dangerous people want it. They want me, dead or alive, and they’ll start a war if that’s what it takes to control me.

The magic I discovered—the magic these brutal people want—it’s mine, plain and simple. No one can take it from me. And I’m coming back from the dead.
For blood. For vengeance.

For Irena.

Reign of Dragons is a full-length novel with a badass heroine, a riveting storyline, and an alternative relationship dynamic. Get ready for a heart-pounding story filled with a dragon shifter romance unlike anything you’ve read before.

Buckle in for heart-pounding action, breathtaking magic, deadly assassins, four drop-dead gorgeous leading men, lots of toned muscles, and most importantly—a young woman’s journey of justice, self-discovery, and freedom.

Publisher’s Note: The Dragon Dojo Brotherhood is an adult urban fantasy series with explicit scenes and is meant for mature readers who enjoy spellbinding stories with a few fan-your-face moments in their fantasy fiction.

I found this while browsing Audible Plus and decided to give it a try after listening to a sample. I enjoyed the narrator and the story immediately pulled me in. I ended up getting the ebook from KU so I could read when I wasn’t able to listen.

Rory Quinn was raised in an order of elite dragon assassins. When her sister is poisoned, she and her mentor infiltrate a dragon stronghold to steal the antidote…only her mentor is taken in the process and Rory is tossed into a magic pit. They thought it would kill her, but instead the magic of ancient dragon gods is awakened and she is found worthy and ends up absorbing the magic. Now she’s being hunted by all the dragon clans, and she still needs to find her sister, the antidote and free her mentor.

A red dragon sends her to the Fairfax Dragon Dojo, to be trained and protected by Jace, the Dragon Master. Along the way she collects an assortment of men – Tucker, a charming weapons expert; Levi, a feral dragon who can no longer shift to human; Drew, the red dragon – who end up becoming very protective of her.

As I said, I enjoyed the narration and the story, though it did drag on quite a bit, especially in the middle. The book clocks in at over 600 pages (the Kindle version) and it could have been half that. I really loved Levi, and I came to enjoy Drew and Tucker, but Jace will never be my favorite.

As for Rory, I liked her. She was a strong, capable woman. I liked the way her story progressed and I was definitely invested in her mission to free her mentor and find and save her sister. Still, there were times she frustrated me. Or maybe it was just the writing. It was very repetitive. She would think something, then say it, then think it again a page or two later. I felt like I was constantly being reminded that she was amazing and badass. She showed it, so the telling was unnecessary.

The thing that bothered me the most about this book is the reverse-harem theme. I didn’t realize this was a reverse-harem novel (a term I hate, btw), especially since the title on Amazon and Audible says “Reign of Dragons: a dragon fantasy romance”. I don’t necessarily hate that part of the story but it’s not my favorite trope.

Still, this was a good find and I’m looking forward to seeing where things go from here.

4 out of 5

Dragon Dojo Brotherhood

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , ,

Lightning Review: The Prince and the Troll by Rainbow Rowell

Posted April 7, 2021 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Lightning Review: The Prince and the Troll by Rainbow RowellReviewer: Holly
The Prince and the Troll by Rainbow Rowell
Narrator: Rebecca Lowman
Series: Faraway #1
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Publication Date: December 15, 2020
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Plus
Point-of-View: Narrated
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Fantasy, Fairytale
Length: 46 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Holly's 2021 Goodreads Challenge, Holly's 2021 New to Me Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-stars
Series Rating: three-stars

A charming everyman and a mysterious something-under-the-bridge cross paths in a short fairy tale by the #1 'New York Times' bestselling author of 'Eleanor & Park' and the 'Simon Snow' series.

It’s fate when a man accidentally drops his phone off the bridge. It’s a fortune when it’s retrieved by a friendly shape sloshing in the muck underneath. From that day forward, as they share a coffee every morning, an unlikely friendship blooms. Considering the reality for the man above, where life seems perfect, and that of the sharp-witted creature below, how forever after can a happy ending be?

'THE PRINCE AND THE TROLL' is part of Faraway, a collection of retold fairy tales that take happily-ever-after in daring new directions. Whether read or listened to in one sitting, prepare to be charmed, moved, enlightened and frightened all over again.

This was a well-written short story that really seemed to serve no purpose. I enjoyed how the friendship between Adam and the Bridge Troll developed, and there was a lot of witty dialogue, but the story lacked any kind of cohesion or conclusion. The Road (aka Climate Change and Development) were bad, but there’s nothing we can do about it so let’s just wait until the rains come and wash it all away? Meh.

For a quick listen, I didn’t hate it, but I did finish it kind of scratching my head about the point of it all.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Faraway

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: One Fine Fae by Molly Harper

Posted March 31, 2021 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: One Fine Fae by Molly HarperReviewer: Holly
One Fine Fae by Molly Harper
Narrator: Jonathan Davis, Amanda Ronconi
Series: Mystic Bayou #4.5
Also in this series: How to Date Your Dragon (Mystic Bayou, #1), Even Tree Nymphs Get the Blues, How to Date Your Dragon, How to Date Your Dragon, Selkies are a Girl's Best Friend
Publisher: Audible Originals
Publication Date: December 8, 2020
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Plus
Point-of-View: Alternating Third Person
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy
Length: 3 hours, 10 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Holly's 2020 Goodreads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Publisher's Summary

Take a trip to the beloved supernatural town of Mystic Bayou in this brilliantly funny new stand-alone novella - written for audio-first!

Charlotte McBee knows she’s in for a challenge when she accepts a job as midwife for a dragon and a phoenix shifter. Being a fairy herself, it isn’t the supernatural world that scares her. It’s the thought of delivering a giant metal dragon’s egg, which has her gritting her teeth in pain for poor Jillian, the anxious mother-to-be.

While preparing for the big event, a handsome town resident catches her eye. Leonard is kind, charming, and a little bit mysterious. He’s also suffering from a highly unusual condition brought on by an ancient fairy curse, and he’s too wary of Charlotte to allow her to get close.

Will love overcome fear before the end of her assignment?

©2020 Molly Harper (P)2020 Audible Originals, LLC.

Charlotte is a midwife to magical creatures. Mystic Bayou has been home to magi for years, but thanks to a rift that opened due to a magical artifact, humans and magi alike have been gaining strong magical powers. Charlotte is hired to help the residents with their pregnancies, a prospect she’s pretty thrilled with. Leonard is Fairy-Cursed. Any time he gets stressed, he turns clumsy, which causes all kinds of calamites to happen in his presence. Charlotte and Leo are attracted to each other, but her magic makes him nervous, which means his curse kicks in even more when she’s around than normal.

This was a cute short story. I don’t believe it stands alone well, since it heavily features characters from previous books. The new romance was sweet and I liked seeing some of my favorite characters pop up again. I don’t love the male narrator, Jonathan Davis, but the female narrator, Amanda Ronconni, is a favorite. I definitely recommend this for fans of Molly Harper and Mystic Bayou.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5

Mystic Bayou

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,