Genre: Urban Fantasy

Review: Storm Cursed by Patricia Briggs

Posted August 5, 2019 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Storm Cursed by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Rowena
Storm Cursed by Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson #11
Also in this series: Frost Burned , Night Broken, Shifting Shadows, Blood Bound, Fire Touched, Silence Fallen , Moon Called, Blood Bound , Iron Kissed, Bone Crossed , River Marked , Frost Burned, Storm Cursed , Night Broken, Fire Touched
Publisher: Penguin, Ace
Publication Date: May 7, 2019
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Point-of-View: First, Third
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

In this powerful entry in the #1 New York Times bestselling series, Mercy Thompson must face a deadly enemy to defend all she loves...

My name is Mercedes Athena Thompson Hauptman, and I am a car mechanic.

And a coyote shapeshifter.

And the mate of the Alpha of the Columbia Basin werewolf pack.

Even so, none of that would have gotten me into trouble if, a few months ago, I hadn't stood upon a bridge and taken responsibility for the safety of the citizens who lived in our territory. It seemed like the thing to do at the time. It should have only involved hunting down killer goblins, zombie goats, and an occasional troll. Instead, our home was viewed as neutral ground, a place where humans would feel safe to come and treat with the fae.

The reality is that nothing and no one is safe. As generals and politicians face off with the Gray Lords of the fae, a storm is coming and her name is Death.

But we are pack, and we have given our word.

We will die to keep it.

My binge read of this series is officially complete and I’m super glad that I made the time to read all of these books. This book was just as great as the other books and I’m still on a Mercy high after finishing this one.

So Mercy took it upon herself to stand up on a bridge where they just killed a big ass troll who was making trouble for the innocent citizens of their little town and put the world on notice that if anyone made trouble for any of the citizens in their territory, it won’t end well for them. She took on the protection of every single person in the Tri-City area so her and the pack have been super busy. Their latest call came in about some zombie goats that is just outside of their city but Mercy isn’t one to shy away from helping someone who needs help so she drags Mary Jo, fresh off a fight with a goblin, to go to Mesa and round up some zombie goats. Mercy’s spidey senses start tingling when they get there because someone is turning animals into zombies and only witches can do that. Witches that practice black magic, the bad kind of magic so, with everything on their plate already, Adam and Mercy have to find this witch…especially since this witch has to be responsible for killing off the entire coven of the resident witch, Elizaveta, who is still in Europe from the last book.

In this book, the humans and the fae are trying to come to terms with a peace treaty and they need help from the local werewolf pack. Adam and his pack have been tasked with making sure the humans are safe from the fae and Mercy is tasked with being the liaison between the groups.

Patricia Briggs has done a great job with this series. I find myself looking forward to each new book that comes out in the Mercy Thompson world because I know that I’m going to get a smartly written adventure story peppered with all kinds of colorful characters that you’ll be rooting for one minute and wanting to choke the next. I’ve become emotionally invested in each and every single character in this series and that didn’t slow down one bit in this book. My heart went out to those we lost in this book and I cheered for those that achieved their end goals in this book. Mercy and Adam are a formidable team and I absolutely adore seeing them in action…together. Now that their pack ain’t trippin’ where Mercy is concerned, things have been so much better for Mercy and the pack she should have had all along, she has them now so I guess I’ll forgive them for being little bitches in the other books. LOL.

This book is another thrilling urban fantasy and Mercy continues to kick ass so you know that I was a happy camper. So while this wasn’t my favorite book in the series, it’s still a solid story and I’m glad that I read it. You guys should read this series if you love strong women doing the damn thing on the daily. Mercy stays kicking ass and taking numbers. Everyone should know her and love her as I do.

4 out of 5

Final Grade

4 out of 5

Mercy Thompson

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Silence Fallen by Patricia Briggs

Posted August 2, 2019 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Silence Fallen by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Rowena
Silence Fallen by Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson #10
Also in this series: Frost Burned , Night Broken, Shifting Shadows, Blood Bound, Fire Touched, Silence Fallen , Moon Called, Blood Bound , Iron Kissed, Bone Crossed , River Marked , Frost Burned, Storm Cursed , Night Broken, Fire Touched, Storm Cursed
Publisher: Penguin, Ace
Publication Date: March 7, 2017
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 379
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Rowena's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Mercy Thompson has found her voice in the werewolf pack. But when Mercy’s bond with the pack—and her mate—is broken, she’ll learn what it truly means to be alone...

Attacked and abducted in her home territory, Mercy finds herself in the clutches of the most powerful vampire in the world, taken as a weapon to use against alpha werewolf Adam and the ruler of the Tri-Cities vampires. In coyote form, Mercy escapes—only to find herself without money, without clothing, and alone in the heart of Europe...

Unable to contact Adam and the rest of the pack, Mercy has allies to find and enemies to fight, and she needs to figure out which is which. Ancient powers stir, and Mercy must be her agile best to avoid causing a war between vampires and werewolves, and between werewolves and werewolves. And in the heart of the ancient city of Prague, old ghosts rise...

Silence Fallen is the tenth book in the Mercy Thompson series and it’s another well written story that follows everyone’s favorite Coyote shifter, Mercy Thompson as she battles to try to make it back home to Adam and the pack. When Mercy runs to the store to grab some eggs and chocolate chips for cookies for the pack, she is abducted, knocked the hell out and when she wakes up, she can’t feel her bond with Adam or the pack so she’s completely on her own, trying to figure out who took her, where she’s at and how she’s going to get home.

This book was told in both Adam and Mercy’s POV and I really dug that. I loved getting inside Adam’s head and seeing him fight the good fight to get Mercy back. I also loved how many people wanted their Mercy back. I loved seeing how far Mercy has come with the pack and how important she is to everyone. She still sees herself as unwanted and she still feels abandoned by the Marrok and she’s usually the person doing whatever she could to help others, so it was nice that so many people came together to help her.

For me, this book was more about seeing Mercy really come into the knowledge that she is loved and cared for by more than just Adam. The vampire stuff and the politics that Adam had to go through in order to find out who took Mercy and why they took her, was all background noise to me. It was filler stuff that moved the story along but for me, it was much more important to see Mercy realize just how important she was to everyone in her life. From humans to fae to vampires and werewolves, Mercy is the glue in her world. She holds everyone together and her loss would affect a whole lot of people. This book takes place mostly in Europe so it was nice to see the Mercy Thompson world expanded to include new characters that I hope to see in future books.

This was another fun read and I’m super glad that I’m all caught up with this series. I seriously love this world and this book is just a small part of why. Mercy and Adam are the bomb and this book showcases why. I definitely recommend.

Final Grade

4 out of 5

Mercy Thompson

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Fire Touched by Patricia Briggs

Posted August 1, 2019 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Fire Touched by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Rowena
Fire Touched by Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson #9
Also in this series: Frost Burned , Night Broken, Shifting Shadows, Blood Bound, Fire Touched, Silence Fallen , Moon Called, Blood Bound , Iron Kissed, Bone Crossed , River Marked , Frost Burned, Storm Cursed , Night Broken, Storm Cursed
Publisher: Penguin, Ace
Publication Date: March 8, 2016
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 350
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Rowena's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Mercy Thompson has been hailed as “a heroine who...always remains true to herself” (Library Journal). Now she’s back, and she’ll soon discover that when the fae stalk the human world, it’s the children who suffer...

Tensions between the fae and humans are coming to a head. And when coyote shapeshifter Mercy and her Alpha werewolf mate, Adam, are called upon to stop a rampaging troll, they find themselves with something that could be used to make the fae back down and forestall out-and-out war: a human child stolen long ago by the fae.

Defying the most powerful werewolf in the country, the humans, and the fae, Mercy, Adam, and their pack choose to protect the boy no matter what the cost. But who will protect them from a boy who is fire touched?

Fire Touched is the ninth book in the Mercy Thompson series and it follows Mercy as she gets roped into helping a young boy who is fire touched. The young boy is Aiden and he has been stuck in the fae’s Underhill and was given powers that the fae will do anything to keep at hand. Mercy’s friends Zee and Tad are back around and they’ve brought Aiden for safe-keeping. Mercy has already made it publicly known that the Columbia Basin Pack will fight to protect anyone in their territory that needs protection. That declaration has brought trouble brewing for Mercy and Adam where the Marrok is concerned. The Marrok cannot support Mercy and Adam in this endeavor so they’re on their own from here on out. They do not have the protection of the Marrok and reading this book, I didn’t know what to make of it. I mean, I understood why Bran had to do what he did but I wasn’t happy about it.

I will say that I’m no longer pissed off at Adam. As angry as I got at Adam in Night Broken, when he finally snaps in this book???

The way that he snapped on everyone was a long time coming. I read that scene at least three times before I finished the book because I needed to. I get why he handled things the way that he did and I even understood that he had to do it the way that he did because of the kind of person that Mercy was but I still wasn’t a happy camper while it was all going down. To me, Adam was her person and he should have had her back at every turn and I didn’t feel like he had her back in the last book but all of that is behind us now because ooh wee, Adam more than has her back now and everyone knows it too.

I really like that Mercy has so many people at her back whether she wants them there or not. I love that her moral compass is unwavering and seeing her wrangle a bunch of supernatural beings into being better people just makes me so happy. I love that she supports Adam no matter what and that he trusts her enough to keep herself safe even when the shit she gets herself into scares the crap out of him. They are a true partnership and it was good to see them back on track.

Each book in this series has tackled different sets of groups and this one features Mercy and Adam with the fae. Mercy and Adam are determined to keep a small fire-touched boy away from the abuse that he suffered at the hands of the fae and I love how they don’t back down from anyone. Seeing them try to figure out a way to keep the peace at the same time as save the world, made for an entertaining book and because I wasn’t super pissed at anyone anymore, I was able to enjoy the backstory a lot more. Patricia Briggs continues to shine with this series and she continues to write compelling stories that I want to read so I’ll keep on reading them. I liked seeing Tad and Zee again, along with getting to know young Aiden. He seriously cracked me up in this one, especially when he got into so much heat with Jessie. His attitude was hilarious. The pack isn’t on my last nerve anymore so that’s progress and I’m super glad that I read this one. It’s made me anxious for more.

Grade: 4 out of 5

Final Grade

4 out of 5

Mercy Thompson

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Night Broken by Patricia Briggs

Posted July 30, 2019 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Night Broken by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Rowena
Night Broken by Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson #8
Also in this series: Frost Burned , Night Broken, Shifting Shadows, Blood Bound, Fire Touched, Silence Fallen , Moon Called, Blood Bound , Iron Kissed, Bone Crossed , River Marked , Frost Burned, Storm Cursed , Fire Touched, Storm Cursed
Publisher: Penguin, Ace
Publication Date: March 11, 2014
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 353
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Rowena's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, Rowena's 2019 TBR Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

An unexpected phone call heralds a new challenge for Mercy. Her mate Adam’s ex-wife is in trouble, on the run from a stalker. Adam isn’t the kind of man to turn away a person in need—and Mercy knows it. But with Christy holed up in Adam’s house, Mercy can’t shake the feeling that something about the situation isn’t right.

Soon her suspicions are confirmed when she learns that Christy has the furthest thing from good intentions. She wants Adam back, and she’s willing to do whatever it takes to get him, including turning Adam’s pack against Mercy.

Mercy isn’t about to step down without a fight, but there’s a more dangerous threat circling. Christy’s stalker is more than a bad man—in fact, he may not be human at all. As the bodies start piling up, Mercy must put her personal troubles aside to face a creature with the power to tear her whole world apart.

Night Broken is the eighth book in the Mercy Thompson series and this book follows Mercy as she deals with having Adam’s ex-wife around. Christy, the ex, needs some protection and she turns to Adam. Adam makes sure that it is okay with Mercy that they help her, but also that she comes to stay with them while they figure out who is after Christy and keep her safe as well. It’s not an easy call for Mercy to make but the Mercy we all know and love would never leave someone unprotected because their presence in her life would be uncomfortable for her…so, of course, she lets Christy come and stay with them and of course, she helps Adam figure out who the bad guys are.

Christy is really good at manipulating people, especially people in the pack and that part of the book really pissed me off. Like, legit pissed me off. I was so angry for most of this book that I honestly didn’t know if I would ever finish it. I’m glad that I did because as pissed off as I got at most of the members of the pack, I finished the book for Mercy. I may have hated all of those assholes in her pack but I sure did come to love and appreciate Mercy a lot more than I did in the other books. I really loved her character before but it’s so much more now. Mercy is a real ride or die and I absolutely adore the heck out of her.

I was really surprised at how mad I got at Adam. I love Adam. I loved the way that he courted and won Mercy over and I really love how much he loves Mercy but in this book, he pissed me the fuck off. There were too many instances where Adam let Christy go too far. He let Christy get away with a lot of shit that hurt Mercy and I wasn’t okay with it. The whole putting her makeup shit in Adam and Mercy’s bathroom? Oh hell no. The whole letting Christy shower in Mercy’s shower?

I will say that I spent more time pissed off at every damn body in this book, except Mercy and Honey, that the overall story was pretty lost on me. Christy’s psycho ex-boyfriend becomes obsessed with her and he ends up being this volcano god and had I not been so pissed off at every damn body, I probably would have paid more attention to that but I really just needed the bad guys caught so that Christy can go back to her sorry ass life and stop trying to mess with Mercy’s life. The part that made me really, really love Mercy? Was when she said this to Mary Jo’s stank ass.

“Just be careful, Mary Jo. Be very careful. You’ve made mistakes. Everyone makes mistakes. One you should not make is to imagine that Christy will ever be Adam’s mate. He is mine, and unlike her, I don’t throw away people who are mine.”

I was nodding along, happy as shit, looking like…

I was soo furious with Mary Jo and Christy. Hell, Adam too. I could go on and on about why I was mad at Adam but I won’t. Just know that I was hella mad at him and the entire pack and I wanted Mercy to let them all be killed by the volcano God so that she can get herself a new pack. A new pack that would love and appreciate all of the times that she saves their sorry asses. Mercy is everything. It isn’t hard to see why she is so beloved by vampires, werewolves, the fae and just all manner of creatures. She is the real deal and what I love most about her is something that Holly said. She said, “Mercy is just a normal person, trying her best.” and that is exactly it. Mercy is a VW mechanic that goes to work every single day, fixes cars and then helps those that need help and if not for her, I probably would have quit this series with this book but I won’t because I won’t abandon Mercy when she needs me. =P

3.75 out of 5

Final Grade

3.75 out of 5

Mercy Thompson


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Sin & Salvation by K.F. Breene

Posted July 1, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Sin & Salvation by K.F. BreeneReviewer: Holly
Sin & Salvation by K.F. Breene
Series: Demigods of San Francisco #3
Also in this series: Sin & Chocolate , Sin & Magic
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: March 19, 2019
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First and Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 432
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: GoodReads Challenge, Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Valens has noticed his two missing employees. It won't be long before he knows who is responsible.

It won't be long before he claims his vengeance.

The race is on. Kieran and Lexi must scrape together an army worthy of taking on the Demigod of San Francisco before he destroys them all.

But Valens isn't Lexi's only problem. Mordecai's rapid recovery has been noticed, and he has once again become a threat to his old pack.

Lexi's little family is in jeopardy of being torn apart, and to save them...she must finally embrace what it means to be a Soul Stealer.

Sin & Salvation, book 3 in the Demigods of San Francisco series by K.F. Breene, picks up right where Sin & Magic left off. I highly recommend reading the series in order.

After taking out two of Valens’ (the Demigod of San Francisco) high-level employees, and freeing Keiran’s mom’s spirit, Lexi and Kieran are waiting for the other shoe to drop. They know it’s only a matter of time until Valens traces everything back to them. Kieran is gathering his troops and allies, and Lexi is doing her best to learn her magic. Because all signs point to her being the tipping point in the war against Valens. Lexi is also determined to free the all the spirits Valens has trapped. The more she taps into her magic, the higher the risk of exposing herself and her wards.

The series has been building toward an epic battle between Kieran and his father, which we finally get in this book. I’ll be honest, I was a little disappointed in it. I expected a little bigger bang than I got. Still, I liked how kickass Lexi was, and how quick she picked up her skills. I liked the development of the romance in this book better than in the last. I really loved seeing Mordie and Daisy come into their own, and I absolutely adored the family unit they created for Kieran and his Six.

This is a great trilogy and I look forward to the next book.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Demigods of San Francisco

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,