Genre: Paranormal Romance

Lightning Review: Omens by Suzanne Wright

Posted January 29, 2024 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Lightning Review: Omens by Suzanne WrightReviewer: Holly
Omens by Suzanne Wright
Narrator: Cat Doucette
Series: The Dark in You #6
Also in this series: Blaze , Ashes , Shadows
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing, Piatkus
Publication Date: July 28, 2020
Format: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy
Pages: 314
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

She's the one thing he can't control...

Keenan is the mistake Khloe knows she shouldn't make. As an incubus, he's got an inside track into everything that makes her tick, and even though she's immune to his supernatural (and frankly unfair) sex appeal, that doesn't stop her body - and her demon - craving him. If it were any other male she'd have worked it out of her system ages ago and moved on, but this time she's scared that if she ever gives in, she won't escape unscathed.

Since Keenan's traumatic childhood he's made sure he's always in control. Of himself, and of the world around him. But Khloe drives Keenan crazy. She's an imp, so getting under people's skin is basically her job description, but Khloe makes him - and his body - respond in ways he's never known.

After a bet escalates the simmering tension between them it's finally game on . . . and then the game turns deadly serious. A threat appears that could threaten the whole lair and Keenan's desperate to protect Khloe any way he can - but will she accept his claim, and can he accept the power she has over him?

Omens (Dark in You #5) by Suzanne Wright features Khloe and Keenan. I purchased the ebook with the audio add-on so I could switch between reading and listening.

Khloe is convinced Keenan is an alcoholic, and after dealing with her mother’s addiction all her life she isn’t interested in being with him as a result. When they make a wager that he can go week without a drink, Khloe is sure he’ll fail. But as they spend time together and she realizes there’s more to Keenan than she thought, she’ll have to guard her heart.

Khloe and Keenan weren’t my favorite characters from previous books, but I ended up enjoying their story. I really liked the external conflict in this book (Zombies!), so that helped.

Rating: 3.75

Dark in You

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Embers by Suzanne Wright

Posted November 6, 2023 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Embers by Suzanne WrightReviewer: Holly
Embers by Suzanne Wright
Narrator: Cat Doucette
Series: Dark in You #4
Also in this series: Burn, Burn
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing, Piatkus
Publication Date: July 3, 2018
Format: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy
Pages: 368
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Harper and Knox are back and better than ever! The fourth book in Suzanne Wright's globally bestselling The Dark in You series is not to be missed.

Harper and Knox are back and better than ever . . . Discover the unmissable fourth book in Suzanne Wright's globally bestselling The Dark in You series
The final horseman awaits . . . and the stakes have never been higher.

With the birth of their son, Asher, Harper and Knox are both more powerful and more vulnerable than they've ever been before. Asher's charm has seduced even the devil himself, but Harper knows that the real villain is still out there, and as desperate as ever to see the Primes fall. They're laying low, and there's no way to tell which one of their circle is really a deadly foe . . .

When the final horseman makes their move, Harper and Knox will have to use all the considerable power at their disposal - and that may even include Asher's mysterious abilities. One thing's for sure - this is a baby who's more than a match for any demon coming after him.
It's time for the world's most formidable family to take the fight to the enemy . . .

THE DARK IN YOU series: BURN BLAZE ASHES EMBERS

Embers (Dark in You #4) by Suzanne Wright is the final installment of the Knox/Harper storyline in this series.

I enjoyed the action in this one, as well as the mystery of Asher. I especially liked that the Horsemen storyline was wrapped up and I thought the way that was dealt with was pretty satisfying. Asher was adorable and I like the power couple that Knox and Harper have become. I also really like how Harper came out as just as scary as Knox in this book, which was fun to read.

Still, I really think the overall story could have been condensed to one or two books. We didn’t need 4 books to complete the story-arc. I’m glad the series is moving on to new couples now.

Rating: 3.75

Dark in You

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Ashes by Suzanne Wright

Posted October 30, 2023 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Ashes by Suzanne WrightReviewer: Holly
Ashes by Suzanne Wright
Narrator: Cat Doucette
Series: The Dark in You #3
Also in this series: Blaze , Shadows, Omens
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing, Piatkus
Publication Date: July 4, 2017
Format: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy
Pages: 352
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Knox and Harper's story continues as the Las Vegas lair - and its two infamous Co-Primes - face their most terrifying enemy yet . . .
Together, Harper and Knox have overcome just about every evil thing you can think of - from Horsemen of the Apocalypse to dark magic practitioners to Lucifer's insistent belief that he's hilarious. They're looking forward to some well-earned downtime - until Harper is attacked by mercenaries in the middle of her tattoo shop. Worse still, the attackers are trying to take her wings - the ones no one is meant to know she even has.
It's a near miss and once a furious Knox has managed to pull his demon back into line there's only one thing clear - someone knows Harper's secrets and is systematically setting out to destroy her. It seems likely that someone is the third Horseman - but how do they know so much about Harper? It seems the impossible might be true - they have an enemy hiding at the very heart of the lair.
To survive Harper will need to embrace power that's darker than she's ever experienced and even Knox can't protect her from everything - though God knows nothing's going to stop him trying. The stakes have never been higher, for if Harper's taken by this new threat, Knox won't be able to stop his demon from taking a vicious pleasure in tearing the world apart . . .

Ashes (Dark in You #3) by Suzanne Wright follows Harper and Knox as they navigate their relationship and try to determine who the Four Horseman are. As with the previous books in the series, I purchased the ebook and requested the audiobook from the library so I could switch between reading and listening. I am enjoying the narrator more now than I did before, though there are still times her voices bother me.

There wasn’t a whole lot going on in this book until the end. I mean, sure, the story-arc progresses some and we learn some additional information (I had already figured it out), but the rest was kind of just filler. While I am enjoying this series and this couple, I’m ready for their arc to be over so we can move on to other couples.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Dark in You

three-half-stars


Tagged:

Review: Blaze by Suzanne Wright

Posted October 23, 2023 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Blaze by Suzanne WrightReviewer: Holly
Blaze by Suzanne Wright
Narrator: Cat Doucette
Series: The Dark in You #2
Also in this series: Ashes , Shadows, Omens
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing, Piatkus
Publication Date: September 1, 2016
Format: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy
Pages: 368
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Defeat the enemy. Win the boy. Live happily ever after. But life "ever after" isn't as easy as it used to be. Harper's gone from being a member of a small demon lair to co-Prime of one of the most powerful lairs in the US with a mate who, though hot as hell, is just a mite overprotective - I mean, you get kidnapped by dark practitioners just once ...
Then one of Knox's demons goes rogue, and in his madness decides Knox Thorne must die. Harper's worried. Knox isn't - at least until he discovers his mate's willingness to get between him and danger.
Now, Knox has a new priority: Keep Harper safe ...no matter what it takes. But Harper begins to suspect there's more danger than one rogue demon. It seems the combined strength of Harper and Knox has upset the balance of power in the demon world and there are those who are determined to right that wrong. Because when you move up the food chain, sometimes the other predators just want to take a bigger bite.

Blaze is the second book in the Dark in You series by Suzanne Wright. I purchased the book and downloaded the audiobook from the library so I could switch between reading and listening. I ended up listening to more of this book that I read. I enjoyed the narrator more than in the first book.

Knox and Harper have fully mated committed to each other, but there are many who are threatened by their combined power. As Harper tries to navigate the extreme changes that have gone on in her life as she settles in as Knox’s mate, they both have to deal with threats from multiple directions.

I liked this book slightly more than the first, though I do feel like overall story-arc is stretched out rather too far. Four books to tie up all these loose ends feels like too much. I enjoy Knox, Harper and their inner circle enough that I’m planning to continue, but I’m looking forward to reading about another couple.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5

Dark in You

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Burn by Suzanne Wright

Posted October 16, 2023 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Burn by Suzanne WrightReviewer: Holly
Burn by Suzanne Wright
Narrator: Cat Doucette
Series: Dark in You #1
Also in this series: Burn, Embers
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing, Piatkus
Publication Date: November 26, 2015
Format: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited, Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy
Pages: 301
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

Part of a small demon lair in North Las Vegas, tattooist Harper Wallis lives a pretty simple life. That changes overnight when she discovers that her psychic mate, or ‘anchor’, is a guy who’s rumored to be the most powerful demon in existence. Compelling, full of secrets and armed with raw sexuality, Knox Thorne is determined to claim her as his anchor, creating a psychic bond that will prevent their inner demons from ever turning rogue. The billionaire also wants Harper in his bed. She’s not so sure she wants either of those things. No one seems to know what breed of demon Knox is, only that he’s more dangerous than anything she’s ever before encountered. But he refuses to walk away. And when an unknown danger starts closing in on Harper, it seems that Knox is the only one who can keep her safe.
As Prime of his Las Vegas lair and a successful businessman, Knox Thorne is used to being in control. He’s also used to people fearing and obeying him. Harper does neither, which unexpectedly amuses him. Unpredictable, elusive, and complex, she draws Knox and his inner demon like nothing ever has. Knox is used to getting what he wants, and he wants Harper. He’ll have her, and he’ll keep her safe from the threat that looms over her. Because Knox protects what’s his. He won’t allow anyone to take her from him. Even if it will mean letting the demon inside him rise and wreak the havoc it was created to make.

I purchased the ebook with the audio add-on and switched between reading and listening. The narrator wasn’t my favorite here, so I admit I read more than I listened. I put off reading this series because I wasn’t really in the mood for another single couple series. This book does end with a HFN/HEA, though the overall story-arc continues in the next book.

Harper is a Sphinx demon who was raised by Imps. The Imps are looked down on by the other breeds of demons, but they don’t let that stop them from living their best lives. When Knox Thorne says he wans to meet her, she knows she can’t say no. What neither of them anticipated was finding out they were anchors (where their inner demons hold a bond that steadies them both and makes them stronger). The anchor bond doesn’t necessary equal a sexual or romantic relationship, but Knox wants Harper from the beginning and nothing will get in the way of what he wants.

As they explore their relationship they have to navigate demon politics and the realization that now that Knox has a weakness, many will try to exploit that – namely by harming Harper – to bring him under their control.

I really enjoyed the dynamic between Knox and Harper. Even though Knox was domineering and used to getting his own way, he never tried to force Harper into anything. He didn’t try to exert his will over her. He asked (or demanded), but always backed off when she drew a line. It was refreshing how supportive of her he was. I really loved how self-sufficient Harper was. She knew her own mind and had a strong sense of self. She would have been overwhelmed by Knox if she was any less confident. I was also amused by Knox’s demon.

Although I enjoyed Harper and Knox, as well as the overall story-arc and their circle of friends and acquaintances, this wasn’t my favorite novel by Wright. I think the length worked against it. My kindle copy said it was 510 pages, and it definitely felt like it. Still, I enjoyed the story enough to immediately start the next book in the series.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5

Dark in You


Tagged: , , , , , ,