Genre: Paranormal Romance

Review: A Sorceress of His Own by Dianne Duvall

Posted June 22, 2022 by Casee in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: A Sorceress of His Own by Dianne DuvallReviewer: Casee
A Sorceress of His Own by Dianne Duvall
Narrator: Kirsten Potter
Series: The Gifted Ones #1
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: June 2, 2015
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 347
Length: 11 hours and 18 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

From the New York Times bestselling author of the acclaimed Immortal Guardians series comes an enchanting new series full of romance, danger, and loyalty: The Gifted Ones
Since the day Lord Dillon earned his spurs, rumors of his savagery on the battlefield have preceded him into every room, stilling tongues and sparking fear. Weary of battle, he wishes only to find a woman he can wed who will approach him not with fear, but with the tenderness that has been absent from his life for so long. Yet only the wisewoman seems invariably at ease in his presence. Perhaps because she garners the same fear in others that he does himself.
For seven years, Alyssa has been by Lord Dillon's side, counseling him from the shadows, healing him with her hands, and staving off the worst of his loneliness while his fearsome reputation keeps others at bay. Blessed--or cursed--with gifts that label her a sorceress, she is forced to conceal her youth and the love she harbors for him beneath umbral robes that lead Dillon and his people to believe she is the same aged wisewoman who served his father.
All is revealed, however, and passions flare when an enemy threatens Dillon's life and Alyssa sacrifices everything to save him. When Dillon discovers that the wisewoman is far from elderly, he is instantly entranced. And, as he and Alyssa work together to defeat an enemy bent on destroying them both, Dillon will risk anything--even the wrath of his king--to be with her.

Alyssa has been in love with Lord Dillion for years. Although they can never be together, Alyssa has found a way to be there for Dillion. Taking her grandmothers position as Dillion’s healer & advisor, Alyssa will do anything to keep Dillon safe. She hates keeping her true self from Dillon, but she’s knows it’s necessary. Dillon has one confidant; his sorceress. The woman that heals him, helps him, and keeps him safe. Without her, he would probably be dead and he knows that. Over the seven years he has been an Earl, Dillon has developed a relationship with his sorceress.

Alyssa knows that they can never be together, even if Dylan did know who she truly was. Then she heals Dillon from a fatal injury, taking that injury on herself. While Dillon always thought she was an old woman, she is also his closest friend and confidant. He’s finally seeing his sorceress for who she truly is and he knows that he will never let her go. Damn the king and damn the rules. Alyssa is not a noblewoman and she knows that Dillon will lose everything if he tries to stay with her. She’s taking the time she has with him because she knows that it has to come to an end. Dillon is determined to find a way because he won’t give up the woman that he’s been looking for. Alyssa is everything he wants in a woman and more.

I loved both Alyssa & Dillon. I loved the banter, I loved how there were no games between the two. This is a true love story. I enjoyed every minute spent reading it.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5.

The Gifted Ones

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: In Still Darkness by Dianne Duvall

Posted June 15, 2022 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: In Still Darkness by Dianne DuvallReviewer: Holly
In Still Darkness by Dianne Duvall
Narrator: Arika Rapson
Series: Immortal Guardians #3.5
Also in this series: Darkness Dawns
Publisher: Zebra
Publication Date: July 29, 2014
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 126
Length: 3 hours and 9 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: three-stars

Originally published in "Predatory"
In Dianne Duvall s world of Immortal Guardians, the stakes for mortals are high, but the cost especially to the heart might be higher "
It s not the first time Immortal Guardian Richart d Alencon has saved a human life from eternal damnation. Usually, he moves on, a nameless savior like a ghost in the night. But this time he can t seem to forget the woman who rewarded him with a sensuous kiss after he rescued her from a trio of vampires. While Richart knows that loving a human can only bring trouble, the taste of forbidden lust is too great to resist
Jenna never imagined she d end up a single mom working overtime to put her son through school. But she might have daydreamed once that a devastatingly gorgeous Frenchman would sweep her off her feet. Now that a package of tall, dark, and handsome seems intent on doing just that, doctors are telling her she may not have long to live. But Richart is telling her just the opposite. All she has to do is abandon her humanity
Includes a special sneak peek of Night Unbound

In Still Darkness (Immortal Guardians #3.5) by Dianne Duvall is a novella set in the same timeline as books 2 and 3 of this series, so there’s a bit of overlap. At the time I read this I had only finished book 2 in the series, but I didn’t feel like I missed anything.

Richart d Alencon rescues a woman from 3 vampires and ends up become attached to her. She’s a single mother and used to relying on herself. It comes as a surprised that someone so polished and clearly out of her league is showing an interest in her. Until she finds out his secret.

Richart has never been drawn to someone the way he is to Jenna. He knows he should stay away from her, but he can’t. When he finds out a vampire has been biting her without her knowledge, he knows he’ll do whatever it takes to save her. Even if it means making her Immortal.

I thought this was a sweet story. I really liked how Richart and Jenna were together. I also liked the way John, Jenna’s son, was with both Richart and his mom. I did roll my eyes a bit at the way it ended, but it’s nothing more than I’ve come to expect from this author, so it wasn’t surprising. I really liked how it gave us another perspective on some things that happened in the previous book.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Immortal Guardians

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Lightning Review: Darkness Dawns by Dianne Duvall

Posted June 13, 2022 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Lightning Review: Darkness Dawns by Dianne DuvallReviewer: Casee
Darkness Dawns by Dianne Duvall
Narrator: Kirsten Potter
Series: Immortal Guardians #1
Also in this series: In Still Darkness
Publisher: Zebra
Publication Date: February 1, 2011
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 345
Length: 10 hours and 39 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-stars
Series Rating: three-stars

In this dazzling, sensual novel, Dianne Duvall beckons readers into a world of vampires, immortals, and humans with extraordinary gifts…where passion can last forever, if you’re willing to pay the price…
Once, Sarah Bingham’s biggest challenge was making her students pay attention in class. Now, after rescuing a wounded stranger, she’s landed in the middle of a battle between corrupt vampires and powerful immortals who also need blood to survive. Roland Warbrook is the most compelling man Sarah has ever laid hands on. But his desire for her is mingled with a hunger he can barely control…
In his nine centuries of immortal existence, no woman has tempted Roland as much as Sarah. But asking her to love him is impossible—when it means forfeiting the world she’s always known, and the life he would do anything to protect...

Darkness Dawns is the first book in Duvall’s Immortal Guardians series. While this isn’t my favorite book, I really enjoyed the world that has been created.

Roland has been an Immortal Guardian for hundreds of years. Roland is slow to trust due to the fact that he was betrayed by two women he thought he loved. Sharing his secret has not done him well in the past & he has no intention of ever sharing his secret again. Sarah has no idea that the paranormal exists. She has no idea what an Immortal Guardian is and vampires? Seriously? I thought she took it rather well, even a little too well.

Overall, this book is not the best in the series. It’s actually my least favorite, but I have been really enjoying Roland & Sarah in subsequent books. Overall, I’m really glad I read this one.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Immortal Guardians

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: When He’s Sinful by Suzanne Wright

Posted June 8, 2022 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: When He’s Sinful by Suzanne WrightReviewer: Holly
When He's Sinful by Suzanne Wright
Series: The Olympus Pride #3
Also in this series: When He’s Dark
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: March 1, 2022
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 371
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Aspen Montgomery was nine-years-old when she befriended Camden Priest—a boy with dead eyes and dark urges. Since that day, they’d been inseparable. She hadn’t expected to later develop a major crush on him. Or expected that the crush would fail to pass. Or ever thought that she'd grow to wish that she could one day claim him as her mate. It’s never going to happen. She knows that. To him, she's a friend, nothing more. So it’s time to make some changes to establish some better boundaries. Which would be a hell of a lot easier if he didn't fight her on it.
There is only one person in the world that Camden Priest gives a damn about—Aspen. She's his best friend, his anchor, his conscience, the very reason he's sane. There's only secret he ever kept from her … he wants more than friendship. Knowing she doesn't feel the same, he put a chokehold on his need for her. But when some asshole claims to be Aspen's true mate and danger starts closing in on her, Camden's control becomes precarious and platonic lines are crossed. He knows what he should do—leave it at a one-night stand to protect their friendship. He's just not so sure he can.

When He’s Sinful is the third book in Suzanne Wright’s Olympus Pride series, which is set in the same world as the Mercury and Phoenix Pack books. Havana, Bailey and Aspen have been best friends for a long time. The three of them worked for the Movement and all three are ruthless when they need to be. Aspen and Camden were in a group home together as kids. Aspen decided they were going to be friends and Camden bonded to her in a way he hadn’t even bonded with anyone. They’ve been together through thick and thin ever since, as roommates and best friends. Aspen has always wanted more, but she knows Camden doesn’t, so she suppresses those thoughts and urges…until Cam suddenly makes it clear he wants all of her.

I liked Aspen and Camden in previous books and was looking forward to their story. I really loved that they had a soul-deep connection from childhood that just grew and changed as they did. I especially liked that she was his touchstone. There was just something very sweet about it. Unfortunately, that’s about all I liked of this story. The villains were pretty over the top and ridiculous and the external plots were predictable and kind of dumb.

I also feel like Wright has gone a little OTT with these animal shifters. Bearcats, Pallas Cats, Bush Dogs…. It’s fine in the moment, but if I think about it too long or hard I can’t embrace the silliness of it, especially since they’re all vicious and deadly and OMG so adorable.

Rating: 3.25/3.5

Olympus Pride

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: A Farewell to Charms by Molly Harper

Posted May 25, 2022 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: A Farewell to Charms by Molly HarperReviewer: Holly
A Farewell to Charms by Molly Harper
Narrator: Jonathan Davis, Amanda Ronconi
Series: Mystic Bayou #6
Also in this series: How to Date Your Dragon (Mystic Bayou, #1), Even Tree Nymphs Get the Blues, How to Date Your Dragon, How to Date Your Dragon, Selkies are a Girl's Best Friend, One Fine Fae, Shifters in the Night
Publisher: Audible Original, Audible Originals
Publication Date: January 13, 2022
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Plus
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Length: 7 hours and 26 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
two-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Queen of paranormal romantic comedy Molly Harper delivers love and laughter in this magnificent series finale—available in audio first!
Eva Boudreaux keeps the truth about her life before arriving in Mystic Bayou a carefully guarded secret, flying under the radar as a talented boat mechanic. In the swampy little town filled with powerful supernatural beings, Eva never expected to strike up a charged flirtation with one of the Bayou’s human residents.
Alex Lancaster is far too polished for Eva’s taste—not to mention the danger that comes with his high-ranking position in the League, which could expose her secrets. Trouble is, she can’t resist his disarming sense of humor or the chemistry that crackles to life whenever he’s near. Will Alex be able to handle a woman like her? Or will her difficult past keep them apart?
Either way, they’ll need to join forces to solve one final mystery in Mystic Bayou. The fate of the town—and their hearts—depends upon it.
©2021 Molly Harper, LLC (P)2021 Audible Originals, LLC

A Farewell to Charms by Molly Harper is the 6th book in the Mystic Bayou series. These are Audible First releases (meaning they are released only in audio first) and I really enjoy the narrator. The series is fairly light with a lot of humor. I really enjoyed Eva in the previous books and I was anxious for her story. Sadly, this was my least favorite Mystic Bayou novel to date.

Alex is the League Director in Mystic Bayou. As a result, he has a hard time making connections with the others in Mystic Bayou. While they include him in their activities, he’s kind of socially awkward and knows he has to maintain some distance since he’s their boss. When he meets Eva, he has a hard time staying away. She’s so wonderful he just wants to be with her all the time. Which is why, when he looks into her past and and inadvertently finds out some of her secrets, he makes a mess of things for Eva with the others in Mystic Bayou.

Eva has always been attracted to Alex and she thought he felt the same, but she should have known better. She’s never had great luck with men, and Alex is out of her league. He proves that when he looks into her past and she realizes he was only interested in her to find out her secrets.

I wanted to like this book, but Alex’s actions in the beginning really squicked me out, and then Eva acted like an idiot toward the end of the novel. I enjoyed seeing some of my favorite people from previous books and I liked that gender reversal (Eva is stronger than Alex, who is a mundane human), which is why I gave it 2 stars, but there wasn’t a whole lot else to recommend it.

This felt like the end of the series. I’m not sure if Molly Harper plans to continue it or not, but if this is the end, I am sad it ended like this.

Rating: 2 out of 5

Mystic Bayou

two-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,