Source: Kindle Unlimited

Review: Live For You by Michele Mills

Posted November 22, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Live For You by Michele MillsReviewer: Casee
Live For You by Michele Mills
Series: Catastrophe #3
Also in this series: Die For You, Kill For You
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: June 7, 2019
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Dystopian, Post Apocalyptic
Pages: 156
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
two-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

The world ended and nothing was the same, and in this new order he’d changed his name to Raider—because he took what he wanted.

Women were scarce in post-apocalyptic California and if you found one you wanted, you had to immediately claim what was yours. So when a desperate beauty with striking green eyes and legs that went on for miles stepped into the dangerous all-male compound, he wasn’t above tying her up for her own safety in his isolated mountain cabin, until she realized the truth of their bond. And him getting his seed in her and swelling her up with his kid? Perfect.

She’d see he was doing this all for her.

Eventually.

Author’s Note: This is book #3 in the series, but can be read as a standalone. This story includes dark themes—only read if you enjoy obsessed stalker heroes.

This book though. It was so disappointing after Die For You and Kill For You. This book was so bad I don’t even know where to start. I was actually pretty surprised to see the reviews on GoodReads.

Owen Pearce is now Raider. Joining a motorcycle gang to help the women that become prisoner, he is shocked when Kati walks into the compound. He’s instantly attracted to her and decides that he’s going to take her for himself, whether she wants to be taken or not. Problem #1.

Raider would repopulate the world with Kati if it was possible. When they first have sex, her consent is questionable at best. It’s the whole “No means yes” argument that has been discussed over and over. Problem #2

Raider has a big dick. As big as Kati’s arm. Honestly, the time that Kati thought about the size of Raider’s junk was ridiculous. Over the top. It pulled me out of the story every time because I kept imagining it and laughing. Problem #3.

Raider has Kati chained but unchains her for sex. Other than that he doesn’t let her leave the small cabin. Problem #4.

I just didn’t dig this book at all. I didn’t really care for Raider and I didn’t like Kati at all. Their story didn’t resonate with me at all.

Rating: 2 out of 5.

Catastrophe

two-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Kill For You by Michele Mills

Posted November 21, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Kill For You by Michele MillsReviewer: Casee
Kill For You by Michele Mills
Series: Catastrophe #2
Also in this series: Die For You, Live For You
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: Septemer 12, 2017
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Dystopian, Post Apocalyptic
Pages: 331
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

A virus swept the globe killing almost all of humanity and crushing civilization to the ground, leaving Trevor Mason in the enviable position of being able to strut out of his wide-open death row cell, a free man. Now he’s trying to find redemption by helping to rebuild a ruined and empty world.

Rebel Case was a box office phenomenon, but after the apocalypse she’s just a survivor like anyone else. When passion explodes between her and a tattooed, sexy-as-hell bad boy who says he wants forever, will Rebel risk her future, her safety, on a man with an inexcusable past?

But can an ex con really leave his past behind, when it refuses to stay gone?

And how far will Trevor go to keep his woman safe?

Warning: This book contains spanking and voyeurism. Love, in a hopeless place and laughter despite the pain. And as usual, more bad language and violence than are strictly necessary.

First off…isn’t this cover HOT???

Kill For You was my favorite book of the series by far. I found Trevor and Rebel’s story to be very moving. It wasn’t one or the other, it was them together that really did it for me. I wouldn’t have minded if the book was longer just because I didn’t want to stop reading about them.

Trevor Mason was on death row when the virus hit. Luckily for him, the guards opened up all the cells when they realized that no one was going to survive. Trevor ends up meeting up with Rachel and Adam from Die For Me. He’s desperate to prove that he is a better man than he used to be. In the new world they live in, everyone gets to start over. Trevor isn’t going to waste his chance to change.

It’s obvious from the start that there are more men then women in this new world. Trevor wants to find one for himself. When a woman answers their daily broadcast, Trevor volunteers to meet her sight unseen. He’s hoping that he can claim this woman as his own. Trevor has on idea that he’s about to find the woman of his dreams.

Rebel Case was the top movie star in Hollywood when the virus hit. She and her companion have been living in Carmel, just going through the motions. Together she and Justin decide that they need to answer the broadcast. When they get to the meeting place, Justin is asleep so Rebel decides to go scout the location. She doesn’t expect for someone to arrive before the arranged time. She sure doesn’t expect Trevor Mason.

Trevor and Rebel are instantly and insanely attracted to each other. Rebel was someone that Trevor dreamed about on death row. Someone he knew he would never meet, let alone have for his own. Now she’s in front of him in the flesh and he decides immediately to keep her as his own. Which sounds absolutely ridiculous, but it somehow worked here.

Rebel won’t commit to Trevor even as he treats her like she’s never leaving the farm. Rebel is having a hard time adjusting to her new circumstances, including coming to terms with the fact that she’s just like everyone else. That makes her sound like a real bitch, but she was really conflicted. She didn’t act like a diva, in fact when people recognize her she feels like a fake. She’s not Rebel Case the movie star, she’s just Rebel. A woman trying to live life as any other woman is.

I just loved this book. Loved it. I loved the intensity between these two even if it did seem extreme. You can get away with a lot when you’re writing a Dystopian or Post-Apocalypse book. Their relationship was a bit over the top, but it all worked wonderfully.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5.

Catastrophe

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Die For You by Michele Mills

Posted November 20, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Die For You by Michele MillsReviewer: Casee
Die For You by Michele Mills
Series: Catastrophe #1
Also in this series: Kill For You, Live For You
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: May 3, 2016
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Dystopian, Post Apocalyptic
Pages: 292
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, Casee's 2019 New to Me Challenge, GoodReads Challenge, New to Me Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Love, in a hopeless place.

Two months after a virus took out civilization, Rachel Donnelly is the last living soul in California, as far as she can tell. Until she runs into a Marine sniper, battle-hardened but alive and healthy.

Adam Sanchez would love nothing more than a slamming session of I-can’t-believe-we’re-alive post-apocalyptic sex in the back of his Hummer. But Rachel’s fragility, inexperience—and much younger age—hold him back from exposing her to his raw, aggressive sexuality. If anything, Rachel needs protection. Especially from himself.

As they band together with other survivors to battle feral animals, violent ex-cons, and motorcycle clubs jockeying for power, Rachel grows stronger in mind, body, and spirit—strong enough to give the dangerously sexy Marine what they both crave.

The power of their passion rocks Adam’s world, bringing him to his knees—which, he discovers too late, is the worst possible place to be when danger springs from the shadows.

Warning: Contains a sexy Marine, a tattooed ex-con, a girl who blossoms into a sexually assured young woman, laughter despite the pain, m/f/m ménage, hope, love, and more bad language and violence than are strictly necessary.

It’s the end of the world. Almost. After a virus swept the globe and killed billions, there are only a few survivors. Survivors whom are immune to the disease. No one knows why. It’s the wild west out there and no one is safe.

Rachel Donnelly watched her entire family die of the virus. She doesn’t know why she is immune. What she does know is that she may be the last person that is alive in California. When she decides she can’t stay at her home anymore, she heads for the freeway. Which was not the best choice. There she meets Adam Sanchez, an ex-marine that is also immune. Not to mention his incredible survival skills.

Adam wants Rachel the first moment he sees her. One problem…she’s nineteen years old. He’s in his thirties. Rachel is obviously someone that needs to be protected. She appears to be completely naïve about the situation that they are in. She’s soft and unprepared for the new life they have found themselves living. Adam has very specific sexual preferences and he’s pretty positive that Rachel will never be able to give him what he needs.

As the months go by, Rachel slowly changes into a strong, capable woman that may not need Adam. They have found a home base on a farm where they will be self-sustainable. They are also safe from nuclear fallout. Nothing goes as planned, of course. Rachel loves Adam and has to convince him that they are right for each other. It’s not as hard as she suspected it would be, but that doesn’t end the problems that come their way.

Now they know that there are survivors out there. Evil survivors that care nothing but taking what they want. Good survivors, people that want nothing more than to be safe and find a community to be apart of.

I really, really liked this book. I’m a sucker for dystopian/post-apocalypse books. This series immediately had be hooked and moving onto the next book.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Catastrophe

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Warrior Fae Trapped by K.F. Breene

Posted November 15, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Warrior Fae Trapped by K.F. BreeneReviewer: Holly
Warrior Fae Trapped by K.F. Breene
Narrator: Nicole Poole
Series: Warrior Fae #1, DDVN #7
Also in this series: Born in Fire (Fire and Ice Trilogy, #1), Raised in Fire (Fire and Ice Trilogy, #2), Fused in Fire (Fire and Ice Trilogy, #3), Natural Witch , Natural Witch
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: September 10, 2019
Format: eBook, Audiobook
Source: Purchased, Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy
Pages: 438
Length: 9 hours and 21 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: GoodReads Challenge, Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars

The truce between the vampires and the shifters is long over. So when the two factions stumble upon a lost fae warrior who has no idea what she is, all hell breaks loose.

Charity hasn't had it easy. Growing up in a bad part of Chicago, left by her mother at 16, she's a survivor. So when she gets a scholarship to a good college out in California, she thinks all her dreams have come true.

Instead she falls head first into a nightmare.

At a posh party she doesn't belong, she gets the shock of her life: vampires and shifters are real! Magic is real. And she is anything but a mundane poor kid just trying to make it.

Warrior runs in her blood. If only she knew how to use it.

Suddenly, she is trapped between two magical super powers - a cunning elder vampire who wishes to use her for her blood ties and maybe tie her to the bed, and a sexy alpha shifter who will protect her at all costs.

Her life of surviving never could've prepared her for this. And if she doesn't learn to harness the fae magic running through her blood, she'll be imprisoned forever.

Action, humor, and romance - we're going back to the DDVN World!

Warrior Fae Trapped is set in the DDVN (Demon Days & Vampire Nights) world (Fire and Ice Trilogy, Magical Mayhem Trilogy), but I feel it stands alone well. You don’t need to have read the previous books to understand what’s happening here, though there is an overreaching storyarc that connects them all.

Charity grew up in a bad part of Chicago with an abusive father. When she was 16 her mother left, and since then she’s been trying to make something of herself. She got a full ride scholarship to college and ended up rooming with a rich girl who couldn’t stand the dorms, so she got her dad to move them to a little house instead. Charity is still beyond poor, but she’s working hard to change that. When her roommate invites her to a very exclusive party, Charity doesn’t want to go, but she wants to fit in and make friends, so she agrees. From the beginning things look hinky, and the warning she gets from another student as she’s going in not to drink the punch makes things even more strange.

As it turns out, this a vampire changing party. The vampires have set this up to change some of the very wealthy’s children, in hopes of gaining more power in the Brink (the non-magical side of Earth). Charity barely escapes, with the help of Devon, the werewolf who warned her off from drinking the punch. It turns out Charity is packing some magic herself, though she had no idea it was inside her, or that magic was even real.

Now she and Devon are on a mission to evade the master vampire who set up the party, and figure out what her magic is and how to train her. And there’s this pesky attraction between them..but that’s less important than the way their magic seems to clash…and combine.

This was another great entry in the series. I love how Breene creates strong friendships inside this world. Her heroines are tough and independent, but they from strong bonds. I don’t think we see enough strong female relationships in UF, and I’m glad Breene is changing that.

“Do you want a hug, a punch, or a change of subject?” Macy asked, deadpan.

Charity couldn’t help but laugh. “Change of subject, please.”

“Did you figure out your phone and computer?” Macy asked, bringing out her own phone. “Because I’m happy to make fun of you if you didn’t. Help. I mean, I’m happy to help you.”

Charity doesn’t just form a relationship with the female in the pack. She becomes close to all the pack members. I enjoyed seeing them rally around her, giving her the acceptance and sense of family she’d been missing.

“The afternoon class was the one with Andy, so that was actually good. He insisted that I sit with him and his friends. It was nice to be included.”

“The guys seem to like you, not to mention Macy.”

She turned her face up to his, a smile of gratitude boosting her loveliness. “I’ve landed in hell, but I’m in the trenches with good people. I didn’t have many friends growing up. It’s a neat feeling.”

The mystery of Charity’s past and where her powers come from is interesting. I’m anxious to see where things go in the next book. I’m enjoying the romance, though I did feel like the ILYs came a little too early. I’d rather have seen that happen in the second book. Still, the action kept me on the edge of my seat and I’m truly invested in seeing where this goes. I immediately started book 2.

Devon stopped in the middle of the aisle and blinked dazedly. “Did you just compliment me on my appearance and body, give me a verbal high five for being a slut, ask me to have quiet sex, and then opt for earplugs assuming I probably wouldn’t? Did all that come out of your mouth within the space of thirty seconds?”

Although there are darker elements at play, this novel is written in a rather lighthearted way. Not campy, but fun. There’s a lot of gore and some strong emotional scenes, but there’s also a lot of humor. If you’re looking for a fun, engaging novel filled with action, adventure and romance, this is a great place to start.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Warrior Fae

DDVN

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Blog Tour: The Kingmaker by Kennedy Ryan

Posted November 6, 2019 by Rowena in Features, Promotions | 0 Comments

Kennedy Ryan has a new series coming out and today we’re featuring the first book of that new series on the blog. The All the Kings Men series kicks off with The Kingmaker and I’ve heard a lot of good things about it. It’s been out for about a week now and it promises to be a rocking good reading time.

Check out the excerpt and teaser goodness that we have for you guys today…

Blog Tour: The Kingmaker by Kennedy RyanThe King Maker by Kennedy Ryan
Series: All the Kings Men #1
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: October 27, 2019
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 344
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

I'm a wolf in wolf’s clothing, and I’ll consume her if she lets me.

Ambition. Passion. Betrayal.

Rita Award-winning author Kennedy Ryan delivers the epic first installment of the All the King's Men Duet.

Raised to rule, bred to lead and weaned on a diet of ruthless ambition.

In a world of haves and have nots, my family has it all, and I want nothing to do with it.

My path takes me far from home and paints me as the black sheep. At odds with my father, I'm determined to build my own empire. I have rules, but Lennix Hunter is the exception to every one of them. From the moment we meet, something sparks between us. But my family stole from hers and my father is the man she hates most. I lied to have her, and will do anything to keep her. Though she tries to hate me, too, the inexorable pull between us will not be denied.

And neither will I.

Excerpt

“What do you want?”

The look he pours over me is hot oil, burning me even through serviceable layers of cotton. His heated perusal caresses my face, sluices over my breasts and hips, and then pools at my feet.

“Oh, that you won’t ever get again,” I say, my voice a soft, certain promise. “I don’t screw liars. I’m particular that way.”

“Never say never,” he drawls, tilting up my chin with his finger.

“Nev–”

He crushes the word between our mouths. It falls apart in the scorching, sweet tangle of lips and teeth. With one hand, he digs his fingers into my hair. The other splays across my lower back, his grip on me almost convulsive, urging me up and closer. I’m in stasis. I’m completely startled by the kiss, unable to respond. I send a desperate message to my brain.

Move. Pull back. Push him away.

But the urgent glide of his hand down my spine to cup my ass melts my thoughts to liquid and they swim in my head. I can’t pull back, and all hope of resistance dissolves when he presses his thumb to my chin, prying me open. He stalks my tongue, hunts down a response, licking and sucking and groaning and growling. His hands tighten on me until I strain up to seek him, yanking his hair, pulling him even closer.

“Dammit, Nix,” he mutters between kisses. His hand wanders down my neck and across my shoulder, and cups my breast, twisting the nipple through flimsy barriers of cotton and lace. He shoves up my skirt, pulling my legs wider, and pushes my panties aside, his fingers invading me. My body remembers this mad craving that claws out of my bones—that wants out. That wants him. Under his rough touch, my body blooms and my hips rock.

“That’s it,” he says, taking my earlobe between his lips.

My head falls back and I moan. It’s so damn good. His touch awakens me. His hands, his kisses bring me to life. It feels like I’m taking my first deep breath since we were last together, and it fills my lungs, seeps into my pores.

“I missed you,” he says, sucking my lips and kissing the corners, quick, hungry. “I’m sorry. Baby, I—”

“Stop talking.” I reach between us to loosen his belt, catching his zipper and dragging it down, dragging him out. “Shut up.”

Teasers

About the Author

About Kennedy Ryan

Kennedy Ryan is a Southern girl gone Southern California. A Top 100 Amazon Bestseller, Kennedy writes romance about remarkable women who find a way to thrive even in tough times, the love they find, and the men who cherish them.

She is a wife to her lifetime lover and mother to an extraordinary son. She has always leveraged her journalism background to write for charity and non-profit organizations, but enjoys writing to raise Autism awareness most. A contributor for Modern Mom Magazine, Kennedy’s writings have appeared in Chicken Soup for the Soul, USA Today and many others. The founder and executive director of a foundation serving Georgia families living with Autism, Kennedy has appeared on Headline News, Montel Williams, NPR and other outlets as a voice for families living with autism.


Tagged: , , , , ,