Source: Kindle Unlimited

Review: Lawless by T.M. Frazier

Posted December 22, 2020 by Casee in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Lawless by T.M. FrazierReviewer: Casee
Lawless by T.M. Frazier
Series: King #3
Also in this series: King, Tyrant
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: December 6, 2015
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 231
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2020 Goodreads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Ruined. BROKEN. LOST.

Thia’s lost it all. With no options left she turns to the biker she met as a kid to cash in the favor he swore to return all those years ago.

Bear’s best friend is dead. His old man wants to put him to ground. He has bigger things on his mind than the pink-haired girl from the gas station he never thought he’d see again.

Until her battered body is tossed onto his doorstep.

Keeping his promise to Thia means Bear has to be willing to risk everything, including his life...and what’s left of his heart.

Thia’s bruised and battered. Bear’s leather and lawless. It will never work between them.

It’s a lie they ALMOST believe LAWLESS is book THREE in the King Series and meant to be read after KING & TYRANT.

Bear was first introduced in King. I wasn’t sure what my feelings were about him, but I ended up really enjoying him and Thia both. Again, there was that age difference but I’m pretty much over that. These heroines are far beyond their years in experience and it shows.

One night when Thia was younger, a group of bikers came into the grocery store she was working at. Things weren’t exactly going swimmingly until he walked in. He talked to her for a few minutes and made her feel special. He gave her his ring and told her to look him up at his MC if she ever needed help. The day she needed help came years later. Her mom killed her dad and then tried to kill Thia. Thia ended up killing her mom and now the cops are after her. Bear is the only one that she can think to turn to so she heads to his MC. Big mistake.

Bear is all in with the MC that he was born into. His father is the president and he’s being groomed to take over. When Thia shows up to the MC, she doesn’t know that Bear and his father on are the outs. She tries to show them the ring, but the members don’t care. All they care about is the fact that an innocent girl has showed up without a man to protect her. Bear’s dad takes exception to Thia being there and decides to send his son a message. Let me tell you, T.M. Frazier certainly does not shy away from taboo topics. Bear’s dad would have raped Thia if she wasn’t saved by one of Bear’s inside men. He takes Thia to Bear and that doesn’t go well either. Poor Thia.

Thia is thrilled when she is reunited with Bear but it’s abundantly clear that he doesn’t remember him. Thia is crushed by this knowledge. She has held onto his ring like a talisman for years. For him not to know her is a blow that she almost can’t take. Although Bear doesn’t exactly remember her, he knows that he gave his word and he has to protect her.

I really did enjoy the beginning of Thia and Bear’s story. They are so obviously wrong for each other, but at the same time they’re so obviously right. Bear feels like he’s taking advantage of Thia, but he knows he will never let her go. I was hooked from the beginning to end when I read this book and couldn’t wait for the next installment in the Thia and Bear saga.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

King


four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Tyrant by T.M. Frazier

Posted December 11, 2020 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Tyrant by T.M. FrazierReviewer: Casee
Tyrant by T.M. Frazier
Series: King #2
Also in this series: King, Lawless
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: August 14, 2015
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 292
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2020 Goodreads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

I. Remember. Everything.
Only now I wish I didn't.
When the fog is sucked away from my mind like smoke through a vacuum, the truth that has been beyond my reach for months finally reveals itself.
But the relief I thought I would feel never comes, and I'm more afraid now than I was the morning I woke up handcuffed in King's bed.
Because with the truth comes dark secrets I was never meant to know.
I will put the lives of those I love most at risk if I let on that my memory has returned, or if I seek help from the heavily tattooed felon who owns me body and soul.
I don't know if I'm strong enough to resist the magnetic pull toward King that grows stronger every day.
He's already saved me in more ways than one. Now it's my turn to do whatever it takes to save him.
Even if that means marrying someone else...Tyrant is a full length novel at 80,000 words.

King ended on one hell of a cliffhanger. Doe’s family showed up at King’s house and things start coming back to her. Her name is Ramie and she has a son and apparently a boyfriend. King’s plan to blackmail Ramie’s dad, the senator, went awry and now he’s lost both Ray and his daughter. After Ray was whisked away by her father, King is arrested. He thinks he’s being taken to the station, but it becomes fairly obvious that the man that has “arrested” him is no cop. In fact, the imposter’s intention is to kill King. I was never sure who actually was responsible for this part.

Ray wants to go back to King, but she can’t leave her son. She doesn’t exactly remember him, but she remembers feeling like a mother. Ray is not sure what to do now. When King shows up in her bedroom at her father’s house, she is shocked and thrilled. She tells him what has been happening since the last time that they saw each other. He apologizes for his nefarious plan to get his daughter back and Ray forgives him. How can she not when it was all for the daughter he lost?

King wants to take Ray and Sammy (her son) back to his house but Ray refuses. She needs to regain her memory completely before she can fully commit to King. She loves him to distraction, but she can’t exactly take Sammy away from his father. She also starts remembering her own father. Although they were on the outs for years, Ray starts to remember the good times with him. It was really heartwarming to read about her relationship with him before things got rocky.

In King, her friend Nikki stole money from King. On her way out the window, she tells Ray one thing… “Don’t trust the Tyrant.” At the time Ray had no idea what she meant. When it starts coming back to her, she realizes that the danger to her and her son is much closer than she could have ever conceived of. All she wants and needs is King. And he doesn’t let her down.

I really didn’t see the ending coming, but I generally don’t. This book was so satisfying to read. I really loved Ray finding her way back to herself. The ending was spectacular and I wouldn’t have had it any other way.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

King

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: King by T.M. Frazier

Posted December 9, 2020 by Casee in Reviews | 3 Comments

Review: King by T.M. FrazierReviewer: Casee
King by T.M. Frazier
Series: King #1
Also in this series: Tyrant, Lawless
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: June 15, 2015
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 322
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2020 Goodreads Challenge, Casee's 2020 New to Me Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

The USA Today bestselling King Series starts here!
Homeless. Hungry. Desperate.
Doe has no memories of who she is or where she comes from.
A notorious career criminal just released from prison, King is someone you don’t want to cross unless you’re prepared to pay him back in blood, sweat, pu$$y or a combination of all three.
King’s future hangs in the balance. Doe’s is written in her past. When they come crashing together, they will have to learn that sometimes in order to hold on, you have to first let go.

Brantley King is a new man. He’s been released from prison and is finally home. Prison changed him and he’s not really into the welcome home party that his best friends have thrown him. The she comes into the room. He doesn’t go after her, but he can’t forget the lost look in her young eyes. She has shadows in her eyes, but she obviously isn’t jaded by life like he is. He puts her out of his mind until he catches her and one of her friends stealing money from him. All goes to hell from there.

Doe doesn’t know who she is. She’s a Jane Doe. She woke up after being in some sort of accident, having no idea who she was. She doesn’t know if she’s always been homeless. She does know that the life of a homeless woman is going to kill her. She has one friend and when she suggests that they both accept an invitation to a bikers welcome home party, Doe realizes that she has some choices to make. She needs a man to protect her and care for her. It’s that simple. She’s not cut out for life on the streets. Then she meets King and her entire life changes.

King decides to “keep” Doe until she can pay off the $600 debt that she owes him. He doesn’t care that it was her friend, Nicole, that stole his money. As far as he’s concerned she’s just as complicit. Soon they begin falling for each other. King immediately knows that Doe isn’t homeless. He doesn’t know who she is, but he’s going to find out. When he does find out that her father is a powerful man, he decides to blackmail him into helping King get his daughter back. That backfires and nothing really good happened after that.

I wasn’t sure about this book at first. T.M. Frazier is a new-to-me author. The reviews for King are pretty good, so I wanted to give it a try. Honestly, I had a problem with Doe’s age from the beginning. Then I realized that when I was her age (which was a long ass time ago) and reading, that wouldn’t have bothered me. So I put that aside and ended up really enjoying the book. I wasn’t really sure what King saw in Doe in the beginning and vise versa. Then it all started making sense.

I didn’t really like how King called Doe “Pup”, but I understand why he did. She was a lost puppy when he met her and the nickname stuck. It ended up being more of an endearment which is why I was able to stand it without rolling my eyes. In the end, I really, really liked this book. It does end on a cliffhanger, but the next book is already out so no problems there.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5.

King

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , ,

Review: Enthroned by K.M. Shea

Posted December 4, 2020 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Enthroned by K.M. SheaReviewer: Holly
Enthroned by K.M. Shea
Series: King Arthur and Her Knights #1
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: August 5, 2013
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Fantasy, Time Travel
Pages: 126
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Goodreads Challenge, Holly's 2020 Goodreads Challenge, Holly's 2020 New to Me Challenge, Holly's 2020 Reading Challenge, New to Me Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
two-half-stars
Series Rating: three-stars

The throne of King Arthur stands unclaimed.

Merlin has been working on his dream of uniting Britain for years, hiding behind an old-wise-man persona as needed for his goal. When the original Arthur runs off before the crowning ceremony, Merlin is forced to get creative. He casts a spell to enable the sword in the stone to choose a new ruler from across time.

But even Merlin couldn’t foresee that the magic would search for a king thousands of years into the future and choose the last person anyone would expect: a woman.

Britt Arthurs doesn’t mind a good fight, but beating the divided kingdoms of ancient Britain into submission while hiding her real identity is a bigger battle than she wants. She thought she was taking a quick tourist photo with a rusty sword. Instead she was ripped through time and faced with two impossibilities: the sword has chosen her as the new King Arthur, and Merlin is much younger and hotter than she expected!

With enemies on all sides and a wizardly advisor who defies his own legends, will Britt succeed in her role as the High King of Britain?

The finished King Arthurs and Her Knights series is based on Arthurian legends and lore. It is sprinkled with humor, love, and more than a dash of magic. If you enjoy strong characters and tales about the Knights of the Round Table, buy the King Arthurs series today!

Britt Arthurs is on holiday in England with her best friends when she touches an old sword in a graveyard and is transported back in time. The great wizard Merlin bespelled the sword to bring forward the one true King Arthur. No one expected King Arthur to be a woman, but the sword doesn’t lie, so….what are you gonna do? Britt is now stuck in a medieval time, tasked with uniting a country she knows little about.

I really want more Arthurian romances. Especially ones with gender swapped roles. Although the second half of this one was good, I didn’t love it. The first half was boring and featured a lot of tell, don’t show. There wasn’t much emotion or connection to the characters. It was like reading script. Plus, Britt’s ridiculous decision to believe she was dreaming was annoying and went on way too long.

The second half was better. Once Britt decided to accept her place as King Arthur and actually try to unite the kingdoms, I came to enjoy the story. Not a great story overall, but I liked it well enough to start the next book.

Rating: 2.75 out of 5

King Arthur and Her Knights

two-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: How to Wake an Undead City by Hailey Edwards

Posted November 30, 2020 by Holly in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: How to Wake an Undead City by Hailey EdwardsReviewer: Holly
How to Wake an Undead City by Hailey Edwards
Series: Beginner's Guide to Necromancy #6
Also in this series: How to Save an Undead Life , How to Claim an Undead Soul , How to Break an Undead Heart , How to Dance an Undead Waltz , How to Live an Undead Lie
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: May 28, 2019
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 326
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Goodreads Challenge, Holly's 2020 Goodreads Challenge, Holly's 2020 Reading Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Savannah has fallen to the vampires, and it’s up to Grier to take out their leader, Gaspard Lacroix, and restore peace. Lacroix might be more powerful and immune to her magic, but she’s got a plan. Too bad it’s got holes big enough for a new threat to waltz through while the city is on her knees.

Now Grier must risk her very soul if she hopes to slay her enemies and prevent her world from going up in flames. But salvation comes at a steep price, and she’s not the only one who will pay. The cost just might break her, and the man who owns her heart.

How to Wake an Undead City by Hailey Edwards is the final book in the Beginner’s Guide to Necromancy series. I managed to read the entire series in about 6 days and I’m very sorry to see it end. I’m going to miss Grier, Linus, Wooly, Lethe and the rest.

Now that Grier’s mother’s family has refused to help her, and her grandfather has claimed the city, Grier and Linus are forced to resort to drastic measures to find a way to take back the city. She’ll have to face her biggest fear and return to Atramentous, with help from unexpected places. Grier finally faces both sides of her family and gets the answers she’s been craving about Maud’s death and events from her past.

This whole series has been wonderful. I love the way Grier grew and gained strength in herself as the novels progressed. I also love how protective she is of Linus, and how determined to make him see his own worth. I’m not sure how I feel about the resolution with Amelie. I have to think about it a bit more before I decide. I did like that Grier finally got the answers she needed to find full closure with her past, so she can now move on. I will probably read the spinoff, even though I didn’t love that character.

I like the role-reversal here. Their society is matriarchal, so Grier takes on the typically male role as head of house, etc. I thought it worked well. I really love the family she made, and her friendship with Lethe. The two of them cracked me up. At times things between them were a little over the top, but I can’t deny I was entertained.

Also? Lier. 😀 😀 <3

All in all, this was a fabulous series and I’m so glad I was able to binge-read it.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Beginner’s Guide to Necromancy

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,