Format: eBook

Review: The Governess Game by Tessa Dare

Posted December 5, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: The Governess Game by Tessa DareReviewer: Holly
The Governess Game by Tessa Dare
Narrator: Mary Jane Wells
Series: Girl Meets Duke #2
Also in this series: The Duchess Deal , The Duchess Deal, The Governess Game , The Wallflower Wager, The Duchess Deal
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: August 28, 2018
Format: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Library, Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 373
Length: 7 hours and 23 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: GoodReads Challenge, Historical Challenge, Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, Holly's 2019 Historical Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

He’s been a bad, bad rake—and it takes a governess to teach him a lesson

The accidental governess.

After her livelihood slips through her fingers, Alexandra Mountbatten takes on an impossible post: transforming a pair of wild orphans into proper young ladies. However, the girls don’t need discipline. They need a loving home. Try telling that to their guardian, Chase Reynaud: duke’s heir in the streets and devil in the sheets. The ladies of London have tried—and failed—to make him settle down. Somehow, Alexandra must reach his heart... without risking her own.

The infamous rake.

Like any self-respecting libertine, Chase lives by one rule: no attachments. When a stubborn little governess tries to reform him, he decides to give her an education—in pleasure. That should prove he can’t be tamed. But Alexandra is more than he bargained for: clever, perceptive, passionate. She refuses to see him as a lost cause. Soon the walls around Chase’s heart are crumbling... and he’s in danger of falling, hard.

The Governess Game is the second book in Tessa Dare‘s Girl Meets Duke series. I was on a break from historical romance for years, so I missed out on this series when it was first released. I was anxious to read this book after I finished book 1, The Duchess Deal, since I wanted to know more about Alex and The Bookshop Rake. My library had the audio available, so I downloaded it to listen on my commute. When that took too long, I switched to reading the digital copy I had in my TBR.

I really enjoyed Alex and her two charges, Rosamund and Daisy. The girls were hilarious and adorable. My heart broke for them and their insecurities. Both Alex and Chase did very well with them, despite their own issues.

I didn’t enjoy the romance as much as the previous. Chase’s reasons for holding back seemed rather contrived, as I never fully connected with him on that front. That is to say, I wasn’t emotionally invested in him and his plight, so the whole thing came off as rather stupid, rather than heartbreaking. Still, I liked his friendship with Alex and how well he treated his wards. I also loved his relationship with Mr. Barrow.

The rest of the story kept me invested, however. Alex and her three friends, Chase and Alex’s friendship, the girls and even the Duke of Ashbury who comes to protect Alex’s honor…all of it was very well done.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5

Girl Meets Duke

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Review: Live For You by Michele Mills

Posted November 22, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Live For You by Michele MillsReviewer: Casee
Live For You by Michele Mills
Series: Catastrophe #3
Also in this series: Die For You, Kill For You
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: June 7, 2019
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Dystopian, Post Apocalyptic
Pages: 156
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
two-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

The world ended and nothing was the same, and in this new order he’d changed his name to Raider—because he took what he wanted.

Women were scarce in post-apocalyptic California and if you found one you wanted, you had to immediately claim what was yours. So when a desperate beauty with striking green eyes and legs that went on for miles stepped into the dangerous all-male compound, he wasn’t above tying her up for her own safety in his isolated mountain cabin, until she realized the truth of their bond. And him getting his seed in her and swelling her up with his kid? Perfect.

She’d see he was doing this all for her.

Eventually.

Author’s Note: This is book #3 in the series, but can be read as a standalone. This story includes dark themes—only read if you enjoy obsessed stalker heroes.

This book though. It was so disappointing after Die For You and Kill For You. This book was so bad I don’t even know where to start. I was actually pretty surprised to see the reviews on GoodReads.

Owen Pearce is now Raider. Joining a motorcycle gang to help the women that become prisoner, he is shocked when Kati walks into the compound. He’s instantly attracted to her and decides that he’s going to take her for himself, whether she wants to be taken or not. Problem #1.

Raider would repopulate the world with Kati if it was possible. When they first have sex, her consent is questionable at best. It’s the whole “No means yes” argument that has been discussed over and over. Problem #2

Raider has a big dick. As big as Kati’s arm. Honestly, the time that Kati thought about the size of Raider’s junk was ridiculous. Over the top. It pulled me out of the story every time because I kept imagining it and laughing. Problem #3.

Raider has Kati chained but unchains her for sex. Other than that he doesn’t let her leave the small cabin. Problem #4.

I just didn’t dig this book at all. I didn’t really care for Raider and I didn’t like Kati at all. Their story didn’t resonate with me at all.

Rating: 2 out of 5.

Catastrophe

two-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Kill For You by Michele Mills

Posted November 21, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Kill For You by Michele MillsReviewer: Casee
Kill For You by Michele Mills
Series: Catastrophe #2
Also in this series: Die For You, Live For You
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: Septemer 12, 2017
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Dystopian, Post Apocalyptic
Pages: 331
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

A virus swept the globe killing almost all of humanity and crushing civilization to the ground, leaving Trevor Mason in the enviable position of being able to strut out of his wide-open death row cell, a free man. Now he’s trying to find redemption by helping to rebuild a ruined and empty world.

Rebel Case was a box office phenomenon, but after the apocalypse she’s just a survivor like anyone else. When passion explodes between her and a tattooed, sexy-as-hell bad boy who says he wants forever, will Rebel risk her future, her safety, on a man with an inexcusable past?

But can an ex con really leave his past behind, when it refuses to stay gone?

And how far will Trevor go to keep his woman safe?

Warning: This book contains spanking and voyeurism. Love, in a hopeless place and laughter despite the pain. And as usual, more bad language and violence than are strictly necessary.

First off…isn’t this cover HOT???

Kill For You was my favorite book of the series by far. I found Trevor and Rebel’s story to be very moving. It wasn’t one or the other, it was them together that really did it for me. I wouldn’t have minded if the book was longer just because I didn’t want to stop reading about them.

Trevor Mason was on death row when the virus hit. Luckily for him, the guards opened up all the cells when they realized that no one was going to survive. Trevor ends up meeting up with Rachel and Adam from Die For Me. He’s desperate to prove that he is a better man than he used to be. In the new world they live in, everyone gets to start over. Trevor isn’t going to waste his chance to change.

It’s obvious from the start that there are more men then women in this new world. Trevor wants to find one for himself. When a woman answers their daily broadcast, Trevor volunteers to meet her sight unseen. He’s hoping that he can claim this woman as his own. Trevor has on idea that he’s about to find the woman of his dreams.

Rebel Case was the top movie star in Hollywood when the virus hit. She and her companion have been living in Carmel, just going through the motions. Together she and Justin decide that they need to answer the broadcast. When they get to the meeting place, Justin is asleep so Rebel decides to go scout the location. She doesn’t expect for someone to arrive before the arranged time. She sure doesn’t expect Trevor Mason.

Trevor and Rebel are instantly and insanely attracted to each other. Rebel was someone that Trevor dreamed about on death row. Someone he knew he would never meet, let alone have for his own. Now she’s in front of him in the flesh and he decides immediately to keep her as his own. Which sounds absolutely ridiculous, but it somehow worked here.

Rebel won’t commit to Trevor even as he treats her like she’s never leaving the farm. Rebel is having a hard time adjusting to her new circumstances, including coming to terms with the fact that she’s just like everyone else. That makes her sound like a real bitch, but she was really conflicted. She didn’t act like a diva, in fact when people recognize her she feels like a fake. She’s not Rebel Case the movie star, she’s just Rebel. A woman trying to live life as any other woman is.

I just loved this book. Loved it. I loved the intensity between these two even if it did seem extreme. You can get away with a lot when you’re writing a Dystopian or Post-Apocalypse book. Their relationship was a bit over the top, but it all worked wonderfully.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5.

Catastrophe

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Die For You by Michele Mills

Posted November 20, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Die For You by Michele MillsReviewer: Casee
Die For You by Michele Mills
Series: Catastrophe #1
Also in this series: Kill For You, Live For You
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: May 3, 2016
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Dystopian, Post Apocalyptic
Pages: 292
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, Casee's 2019 New to Me Challenge, GoodReads Challenge, New to Me Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Love, in a hopeless place.

Two months after a virus took out civilization, Rachel Donnelly is the last living soul in California, as far as she can tell. Until she runs into a Marine sniper, battle-hardened but alive and healthy.

Adam Sanchez would love nothing more than a slamming session of I-can’t-believe-we’re-alive post-apocalyptic sex in the back of his Hummer. But Rachel’s fragility, inexperience—and much younger age—hold him back from exposing her to his raw, aggressive sexuality. If anything, Rachel needs protection. Especially from himself.

As they band together with other survivors to battle feral animals, violent ex-cons, and motorcycle clubs jockeying for power, Rachel grows stronger in mind, body, and spirit—strong enough to give the dangerously sexy Marine what they both crave.

The power of their passion rocks Adam’s world, bringing him to his knees—which, he discovers too late, is the worst possible place to be when danger springs from the shadows.

Warning: Contains a sexy Marine, a tattooed ex-con, a girl who blossoms into a sexually assured young woman, laughter despite the pain, m/f/m ménage, hope, love, and more bad language and violence than are strictly necessary.

It’s the end of the world. Almost. After a virus swept the globe and killed billions, there are only a few survivors. Survivors whom are immune to the disease. No one knows why. It’s the wild west out there and no one is safe.

Rachel Donnelly watched her entire family die of the virus. She doesn’t know why she is immune. What she does know is that she may be the last person that is alive in California. When she decides she can’t stay at her home anymore, she heads for the freeway. Which was not the best choice. There she meets Adam Sanchez, an ex-marine that is also immune. Not to mention his incredible survival skills.

Adam wants Rachel the first moment he sees her. One problem…she’s nineteen years old. He’s in his thirties. Rachel is obviously someone that needs to be protected. She appears to be completely naïve about the situation that they are in. She’s soft and unprepared for the new life they have found themselves living. Adam has very specific sexual preferences and he’s pretty positive that Rachel will never be able to give him what he needs.

As the months go by, Rachel slowly changes into a strong, capable woman that may not need Adam. They have found a home base on a farm where they will be self-sustainable. They are also safe from nuclear fallout. Nothing goes as planned, of course. Rachel loves Adam and has to convince him that they are right for each other. It’s not as hard as she suspected it would be, but that doesn’t end the problems that come their way.

Now they know that there are survivors out there. Evil survivors that care nothing but taking what they want. Good survivors, people that want nothing more than to be safe and find a community to be apart of.

I really, really liked this book. I’m a sucker for dystopian/post-apocalypse books. This series immediately had be hooked and moving onto the next book.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Catastrophe

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Shadow Music by Julie Garwood

Posted November 19, 2019 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Shadow Music by Julie GarwoodReviewer: Rowena
Shadow Music by Julie Garwood
Series: Highlands Lairds #3
Also in this series: Shadow Music , Ransom, The Secret (Highlands' Lairds #1), Ransom (Highlands' Lairds, #2), Shadow Music
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Publication Date: December 26, 2007
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 339
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Rowena's 2019 A-Z Reading Challenge, Rowena's 2019 TBR Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

For Princess Gabrielle of St. Biel, Scotland is a land of stunning vistas, wild chieftains, treacherous glens, and steep shadows--skullduggery, betrayal, and now murder. Prized for her exquisite beauty, the daughter of one of England's most influential barons, Gabrielle is also a perfect bargaining chip for a king who needs peace in the Highlands: King John has arranged Gabrielle's marriage to a good and gentle laird. But this marriage will never take place.

For Gabrielle, everything changes in one last burst of freedom--when she and her guards come upon a scene of unimaginable cruelty. With one shot from her bow and arrow, Gabrielle takes a life, saves a life, and begins a war.

Within days, the Highlands are aflame with passions as a battle royal flares between enemies old and new. Having come to Scotland to be married, Gabrielle is instead entangled in Highland intrigue. For two sadistic noblemen, underestimating Gabrielle's bravery and prowess may prove fatal. But thanks to a secret Gabrielle possesses, Colm MacHugh, the most feared man in Scotland, finds a new cause for courage. Under his penetrating gaze, neither Gabrielle's body nor heart is safe.

I read this a couple of months ago and have been really busy so I’m catching up on writing my reviews right now. Shadow Music is the third book in Julie Garwood’s Highlands Lairds series and it follows Ransom, which came out ages and ages ago. While this book is part of the Highlands Lairds series, it can totally be read as a standalone. Reading this book brought back many memories of the other books that I have loved from Julie Garwood and it started an epic Julie Garwood binge readathon. I went back and re-read The Secret and Ransom and just kept right on re-reading all of my Garwood favorites. I enjoyed this book and even though it wasn’t a favorite read of mine, it was still a solid read that even my picky book club friends enjoyed.

Gabrielle’s father is a Baron from England and her mother is a Princess in St. Biel. St. Biel is a small country that has an interesting history that not very many people on St. Biel believe to be true. They believe the story of their homeland is more myth than truth but it’s part of their history and everyone knows it. When the story of St. Biel’s history becomes a real life threat to Gabrielle’s life, this story really heats up. Between being a pawn in King John’s efforts in trying to keep the peace with the Highland Lairds, her betrothed being killed and then coming upon an attack that starts a Highland war, there is much to dig into with this story.

Laird Colm MacHugh is trying to find out what happened to his brother. He is healing from injuries suffered from an attack at a nearby abbey and Colm means to find out what happened and who did this to his brother. He was not expecting to find himself engaged to an English lass who was just outed as a whore. As a favor to his friend, Brodick Buchanan, Colm steps up to protect the young lass and claim her as his. When she accepts his suit and then promptly disappears, Colm knows that he’s going to have his hands full with this new fiancee.

There is a lot going on in this book but I thought that Garwood handled the storytelling really well. I was invested in what was going on with Gabrielle and Colm. I loved seeing them come together in love. I adored seeing Brodick again, hearing about the Maitlands and the Ramsays and even though Brodick brings up what went down in Ransom and got the details wrong (he said that Ramsay’s brother Michael was taken when it was actually Iain’s son Alec that was taken), I still really enjoyed this one. Gabrielle was a great heroine and I really loved her guards. I loved how loyal they were to each other. They didn’t question anything or back down from anyone but Gabrielle and I really loved that. I also really loved seeing Gabrielle run circles around Colm until he couldn’t help but love the heck out of her. There were parts of the book that I didn’t care for, like the constant crap with the two English barons fighting over Gabrielle but I enjoyed the other bits enough that I could overlook them and their shenanigans.

This was a solid romance that I enjoyed from beginning to end and even though it’s not my favorite book by Garwood, I’d still recommend it to fans of her other historicals. I really wish she’d write more historicals.

Final Grade

4 out of 5

Highlands Lairds

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,