Format: eBook

Review: All is Faerie in Love and War by Isla Frost

Posted August 15, 2022 by Holly in Features | 0 Comments

Review: All is Faerie in Love and War by Isla FrostReviewer: Holly
All Is Faerie in Love and War by Isla Frost
Series: Fangs and Feathers #2
Also in this series: Dragons Are a Girl’s Best Friend
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: November 12, 2021
Format: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited, Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 248
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
two-stars
Series Rating: two-stars

If the devil is knocking at your door, don't open it.A simple enough rule to follow... or so you'd think.

When a criminal has magic too dangerous to merely lock up, we send them to a blackout prison.

Hell would've been a better destination for this guy.

As a lowly cop in the LVMPD's Rapid Response unit, I'm used to dealing with all kinds of dumpster-fire scenarios. From drunk salamanders on a building-melting bender and angry manticore landlords threatening to eat tenants' gallbladders in lieu of payment, to human summoners calling up monsters from the deep to impress their girlfriends—to name a few.

But learning about the magic I shouldn't have while facing off against a psychopath who's worked me into his infernal plans for worldwide torment? That's decidedly outside my wheelhouse.

Oh, and my one and only fae friend is acting really strange.

I have to stop this devil from bringing hell to earth.

But I'm petrified I'm going to help him pull it off instead.

Warning: This urban fantasy series contains danger, mayhem, humor, and heart, with characters you'll fall for—including a vampire with an unbeating heart of gold, a book-hoarding dragon who eats criminals for breakfast, a mysterious faerie who's as hot as the desert he slunk out of, and a human heroine who'll fight to save them all.
Fans of Kim Harrison, Annette Marie, Ilona Andrews, K.F. Breene, Hailey Edwards, or Patricia Briggs, dive into this thrilling new world for a feel-good, action-packed adventure with a dash of slow burn romance.

All is Faerie in Love and War is the second book in Isla Frost’s Fangs and Feathers series. I got the ebook from Kindle Unlimited and purchased the audio add-on so I could read and listen. These books are well written, but I did not the plot of this book. I almost DNF’d it several times. I pushed through because I was curious to see how things would end.

Lyra is a cop with the Las Vegas Magical Police Department. She’s just come back from a two week suspension and she finds out an escaped psychopathic criminal with mind control magic is targeting her. She sends her family away and tries to get back to her life, until the worst happens.

The issue I had with this book comes down to the mind control. View Spoiler »

I am curious enough about what happens in the future to try the next book, but I hope the theme is different.

Rating: 2 out of 5

Fangs and Feathers

two-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Dragons are a Girl’s Best Friend by Isla Frost

Posted August 10, 2022 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Dragons are a Girl’s Best Friend by Isla FrostReviewer: Holly
Dragons Are a Girl’s Best Friend by Isla Frost
Narrator: Tess Irondale
Series: Fangs and Feathers #1
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: October 6, 2021
Format: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited, Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 326
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: two-stars

Why did the dragon cross the road? To eat the stupid human, probably.
Welcome to post-revolution Las Vegas. Now a haven for gambling, debauchery, and supernaturals.
Of course, it's the idiot humans with new magics of their own that cause the most trouble. That's where I come in.
My job as a rookie cop in the Rapid Response unit is to deal with the ongoing teething problems of the magic revolution. Teething problems which often involve actual fangs, among other things. But as one of the idiot humans myself, and saddled with an oddball magic that's frequently more hazard than help, that's easier said than done.
Oh, and the ill-tempered dragon? She's my police partner. (Ditto on the more hazard than help thing.)
So when some jackass comes up with the bright idea to take the entire city hostage? Yeah, I'm in way over my head. But my adoptive family is right in the crosshairs, and I didn't become a cop to sit on my hands while others suffer.
You'd better wish me luck.
Warning: This urban fantasy series contains danger, mayhem, humor, and heart, with characters you'll fall for—including a vampire with an unbeating heart of gold, a book-hoarding dragon who eats criminals for breakfast, a mysterious supernatural who's as hot as the desert he slunk out of, and a human heroine who'll fight to save them all.
Fans of Kim Harrison, Annette Marie, Ilona Andrews, K.F. Breene, Hailey Edwards, or Patricia Briggs, dive into this thrilling new world for a feel-good, action-packed adventure with a dash of slow burn romance.

Dragons are a Girl’s Best Friend by Isla Frost is the first book in the Fangs and Feathers Urban Fantasy series. I got the ebook from Kindle Unlimited and purchased the audible add-on so I could switch between reading and listening. I liked the narrator a lot.

Lyra works for the Las Vegas Magical Police Department Rapid Response Team, so basically she’s a magical rookie beat cop. Since the Supernaturals of the world gave humans magical abilities, the type and amount of magic you have matters. Since Lyra’s only magical ability is to “borrow” someone else’s power through touch, she’s considered mostly a dud. That doesn’t stop her from jumping headfirst into a new case when the entire magical part of the city is taken hostage.

Based on the cover and description I thought this was going to be a light-hearted, fun Urban Fantasy. Though there are shades of snark and humor, the content is darker than I expected. I enjoyed Lyra, the Main Character, and her partner, Aurelis, the dragon. I thought this was a very engaging read and I zipped right through it. There is a hint of romance to come, but nothing really on page.

I’m looking forward to the next book.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5

Fangs and Feathers


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: The Segonian by Dianne Duvall

Posted August 1, 2022 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: The Segonian by Dianne DuvallReviewer: Holly
The Segonian by Dianne Duvall
Narrator: Kirsten Potter
Series: Aldebarian Alliance #2
Also in this series: The Lasaran, The Segonian
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: January 19, 2021
Format: eBook
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Science Fiction
Pages: 435
Length: 12 hours and 31 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

New York Times bestselling author Dianne Duvall brings readers the second stand-alone novel in a thrilling new sci-fi romance series full of action, humor, and happily-ever-afters.
Eliana's life has never been what one might term ordinary. At least, it hasn't been for a very long time. As a powerful Immortal Guardian, she spends her nights hunting and slaying psychotic vampires that most of humanity doesn't even realize exist. Then an opportunity arises that instantly makes her extraordinary existence seem downright boring. The leader of the Immortal Guardians asks her to guard a group of mortals who are embarking upon a voyage across the galaxy to the planet Lasara. How could she possibly say no?
In no time at all, Eliana is hurtling through space on board a Lasaran battleship and getting to know not one but two alien races. It's the most exciting adventure of her long life... until the ship is unexpectedly attacked. Amid the chaos and destruction that follow, she valiantly helps everyone she can before an explosion renders her unconscious. When Eliana awakens, she finds herself alone, floating in space, clad only in a spacesuit, with no ship in sight. Alone--that is--except for the warm, deep voice that carries over the comm in her helmet.
Commander Dagon and the crew of the Segonian battleship Ranasura respond to a distress call from their Lasaran allies and join a massive Alliance-wide search-and-rescue mission. He quickly achieves communication with a lone Earthling female and races toward her. Every time they speak, his fascination with her grows and he becomes more desperate to reach her before her oxygen supply runs out. Her strength, bravery, and humor entice him, even more so when she defies all odds and they meet in person.
As he and Eliana embark upon a quest to find her missing friends, a bond swiftly grows between them that deepens with every laugh and smile and tender touch they share. But they are not the only ones searching for Earthling survivors. When Eliana herself becomes the hunted and their enemies begin to close in, can the two of them fight their way to victory, or will their enemies take everything?

The Segonian by Dianne Duvall, the second book in the Aldebarian Alliance series, a spinoff of Duvall’s Immortal Guaridans series, features Eliana, a character we met in the previous series. She traveled in space to protect the Gifted Ones who chose to go to Lasara with Prince Taelon in the hopes of finding a quieter life. When their ship is attacked on the way there, Eliana ends up floating in space in a space suit. For weeks her only lifelines are Captain Dagan and the other Segonians on his ship. She’s never met them, but they become the most important beings in the world to her.

The early chapters where Eliana were floating in space were so gripping and heart-wrenching. Her strength and humor really came through, but I felt her loneliness and fear in a visceral way. I really love Eliana and Dagan. They had a great dynamic when all they could do was talk via comms. I also liked how they came to know one another once she was onboard his ship.

Their quest to find the others who were missing from the Lasaran ship was interesting, but I enjoyed their life on the ship more. Especially Eliana training with him and his men.

This is my favorite book in this spin-off series, and my second favorite of Duvall’s books to date.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Aldebarian Alliance

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: The Danu by Kelly Lucille

Posted July 27, 2022 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: The Danu by Kelly LucilleReviewer: Holly
The Danu by Kelly Lucille
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: February 20, 2016
Format: eBook
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars

Katrine was a child of the Danu. Her people were peaceful forest dwellers with a connection to the natural world and forest magic that others came to both envy and fear. When the lands of her people where claimed by invaders, fear turned to fire and everything she knew was destroyed.
Now, an adult and finally free of the ties that bound her, she is on a mission to stay alive, stay free, and find others of her kind hiding in the world.
She expected it to be hard, what she didn't expect was catching the eye of one of her peoples worst enemies. Saying no should have been easy, but a warrior prince of the realm always got what he wanted. Especially when what he wanted was the last of the peace loving Danu his people had already conquered.
He would find out quite quickly that Katrine was a different kind of Danu.

Kelly Lucille is a new-to-me author. The Danu came up as a recommended read on Kindle so I downloaded a sample and enjoyed it enough to purchase the book. I liked the concept and was intrigued by the main character in the first chapter.

Katrine’s people, the Danu, were destroyed when invaders burned the forests they claimed as home and were connected to magically. She was taken as a slave and sold to the leader of an Outcast clan at age 11 who took her for his wife to protect her from his lecherous son. She felt she owed him a debt so she remained with him as his wife (in name only) until he died. The day he died his son made it known that he expected her in his bed that evening, so she followed plans she and her now dead husband made and left the clan.

Not much is known or understood about the Danu by the invaders who killed her people, which worked in Katrine’s favor. She was able to escape into The Wild, the forests her people called home until they were destroyed, until she was able to make her way into the human city. She believes she is the last living Danu.

Prince Khalon is intrigued by a woman he finds in a walled city garden and he’s been drawn back to the area to search for her. When he realizes she’s Danu, the sworn enemy of his people, he knows he has to take her to his father. He can’t stand the thought of her being harmed, however, so she places her under his protection.

I enjoyed Katrine. She was a strong character. I liked her initial journey from the Outcast clan to the city. I also enjoyed the brief time she spent in the city. From there, though I enjoyed the story overall, I felt a lot of it was choppy and not explained well. I also feel like things were wrapped up rather quickly.

In regards to Khalon, I didn’t really buy into his feelings being genuine and long-lasting. He wanted to protect her, but …I don’t know. They didn’t have a “UNTIL THE END OF TIME” romance. It was hard to believe he’d place her before all others.

Even though I wasn’t satisfied with the romance or how quickly things ended, I am looking forward to the next book.

Rating: 3.25 out of 5.

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Fury Unleashed by N.J. Walters

Posted July 25, 2022 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Fury Unleashed by N.J. WaltersReviewer: Casee
Fury Unleashed by N.J. Walters
Narrator: Joe Hempel
Series: Forgotten Brotherhood #1
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: March 23, 2020
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 400
Length: 7 hours and 57 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Maccus Fury, a fallen angel, is trying hard to keep his sanity. Seems being an assassin might be catching up with him. Now, Heaven, or Hell, has sent a beautiful assassin to kill him. Lovely. She's pretending to seduce him, and he's okay with that. She's smart and snarky – but she has no idea what she's walked into. And he's more than peeved that they only sent one person. They're going to need an army if they want him dead.
Morrigan Quill is one of Hell's bounty hunters. She sold her soul to keep her sister safe, and now she's working off her contract by catching bad guys and dragging them back to hell. When Lucifer makes her a new offer – that's definitely too good to be true – she can't say no. All she has to do is kill a powerful and crazy-hot fallen angel, who will totally kick her ass in battle.
Good thing he won't see what's coming next.

After selling her soul to Lucifer to save her sister, Morrigan is one of Hell’s best bounty hunters. When Lucifer offers her a way out of her contract, she thinks it’s too good to be true. When she finds out who she is supposed to kill, she knows that she’s going to die. No one goes after the Forgotten Brotherhood, a group of misfit paranormals that police the paranormal world. Maccus Fury is the unofficial leader of the Forgotten Brotherhood. As a fallen angel, Morrigan knows that it will be almost impossible to kill Maccus. She doesn’t know that Maccus has been ordered to kill her by Gabriel himself.

Maccus doesn’t kill humans. He certainly won’t kill Morrigan, unless she tries to kill him first. As the two spend time together, they both realize that they are being used as pawns in a game that they don’t even know they are a part of.

I really liked the story, but there was something missing. I can’t put my finger on what it was. I really enjoyed Morrigan. She was a badass bitch. I really liked Maccus. When Morrigan sacrifices herself for him, it just about killed me. He was so surprised and that just broke my heart. He was so used to being betrayed by people that he trusted that it was hard for him to believe that Morrigan would do something so selfless.

Although it’s not my favorite book, I liked it enough to continue the series.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Forgotten Brotherhood

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,