Series: The Dark in You

Lightning Review: Omens by Suzanne Wright

Posted January 29, 2024 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Lightning Review: Omens by Suzanne WrightReviewer: Holly
Omens by Suzanne Wright
Narrator: Cat Doucette
Series: The Dark in You #6
Also in this series: Blaze , Ashes , Shadows
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing, Piatkus
Publication Date: July 28, 2020
Format: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy
Pages: 314
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

She's the one thing he can't control...

Keenan is the mistake Khloe knows she shouldn't make. As an incubus, he's got an inside track into everything that makes her tick, and even though she's immune to his supernatural (and frankly unfair) sex appeal, that doesn't stop her body - and her demon - craving him. If it were any other male she'd have worked it out of her system ages ago and moved on, but this time she's scared that if she ever gives in, she won't escape unscathed.

Since Keenan's traumatic childhood he's made sure he's always in control. Of himself, and of the world around him. But Khloe drives Keenan crazy. She's an imp, so getting under people's skin is basically her job description, but Khloe makes him - and his body - respond in ways he's never known.

After a bet escalates the simmering tension between them it's finally game on . . . and then the game turns deadly serious. A threat appears that could threaten the whole lair and Keenan's desperate to protect Khloe any way he can - but will she accept his claim, and can he accept the power she has over him?

Omens (Dark in You #5) by Suzanne Wright features Khloe and Keenan. I purchased the ebook with the audio add-on so I could switch between reading and listening.

Khloe is convinced Keenan is an alcoholic, and after dealing with her mother’s addiction all her life she isn’t interested in being with him as a result. When they make a wager that he can go week without a drink, Khloe is sure he’ll fail. But as they spend time together and she realizes there’s more to Keenan than she thought, she’ll have to guard her heart.

Khloe and Keenan weren’t my favorite characters from previous books, but I ended up enjoying their story. I really liked the external conflict in this book (Zombies!), so that helped.

Rating: 3.75

Dark in You

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Shadows by Suzanne Wright

Posted January 22, 2024 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Shadows by Suzanne WrightReviewer: Holly
Shadows by Suzanne Wright
Narrator: Cat Doucette
Series: The Dark in You #5
Also in this series: Blaze , Ashes , Omens
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing, Piatkus
Publication Date: July 30, 2019
Format: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Library, Purchased
Pages: 372
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars


A match made in hell?

Devon and Tanner fight like... well, cats and dogs. Which, to be fair, makes sense since hellcats and hellhounds aren't exactly a match made in heaven. Unfortunately, their demons' antipathy towards each other is matched only by the red-hot sexual tension between Tanner and Devon. It's driving them - and their long-suffering friends Harper and Knox - mad.

When Devon is nearly kidnapped, Tanner's protective instincts kick into overdrive - he's sticking by her side, day and night. But staying so close means their hunger can no longer be denied - they know their demons won't accept the match, but after one red-hot night they'll fight to stay together for as long as they can. But shadows are gathering around them - Devon's would-be kidnapper is still on the loose, a serial killer carrying rage from a twisted past threatens the lair - and most of all, Tanner and Devon are losing themselves to the heat between them. When this relationship goes up in flames, it could be a blaze that neither of them can walk away from . . .

As with the other books in the series, I purchased the ebook and requested the audiobook from the library so I could switch between reading and listening. The narrator isn’t my favorite (some of the voices she uses for various characters are kind of annoying), but she doesn’t bother me enough not to listen when I’m not able to read.

This is the first book featuring a new couple. Both Tanner and Devon featured prettily heavily in the previous books, so I felt like I had a good baseline for their story going into this. Devin is a Hellcat and Tanner is a Hellhound, and their beasts won’t accept each other. That’s why they’ve been circling around each other instead of doing something about all their sexual tension. Until Devin is kidnapped – then Tanner and his demon are determined to keep her safe and claim her as their own. Too bad she isn’t convinced…

I’m glad that we’re going single couple HEAs now for the rest of the series. I liked both Tanner and Devon and I enjoyed learning more about them and seeing them come together as a couple.

Rating: 3.75

Dark in You

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Ashes by Suzanne Wright

Posted October 30, 2023 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Ashes by Suzanne WrightReviewer: Holly
Ashes by Suzanne Wright
Narrator: Cat Doucette
Series: The Dark in You #3
Also in this series: Blaze , Shadows, Omens
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing, Piatkus
Publication Date: July 4, 2017
Format: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy
Pages: 352
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Knox and Harper's story continues as the Las Vegas lair - and its two infamous Co-Primes - face their most terrifying enemy yet . . .
Together, Harper and Knox have overcome just about every evil thing you can think of - from Horsemen of the Apocalypse to dark magic practitioners to Lucifer's insistent belief that he's hilarious. They're looking forward to some well-earned downtime - until Harper is attacked by mercenaries in the middle of her tattoo shop. Worse still, the attackers are trying to take her wings - the ones no one is meant to know she even has.
It's a near miss and once a furious Knox has managed to pull his demon back into line there's only one thing clear - someone knows Harper's secrets and is systematically setting out to destroy her. It seems likely that someone is the third Horseman - but how do they know so much about Harper? It seems the impossible might be true - they have an enemy hiding at the very heart of the lair.
To survive Harper will need to embrace power that's darker than she's ever experienced and even Knox can't protect her from everything - though God knows nothing's going to stop him trying. The stakes have never been higher, for if Harper's taken by this new threat, Knox won't be able to stop his demon from taking a vicious pleasure in tearing the world apart . . .

Ashes (Dark in You #3) by Suzanne Wright follows Harper and Knox as they navigate their relationship and try to determine who the Four Horseman are. As with the previous books in the series, I purchased the ebook and requested the audiobook from the library so I could switch between reading and listening. I am enjoying the narrator more now than I did before, though there are still times her voices bother me.

There wasn’t a whole lot going on in this book until the end. I mean, sure, the story-arc progresses some and we learn some additional information (I had already figured it out), but the rest was kind of just filler. While I am enjoying this series and this couple, I’m ready for their arc to be over so we can move on to other couples.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Dark in You

three-half-stars


Tagged:

Review: Blaze by Suzanne Wright

Posted October 23, 2023 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Blaze by Suzanne WrightReviewer: Holly
Blaze by Suzanne Wright
Narrator: Cat Doucette
Series: The Dark in You #2
Also in this series: Ashes , Shadows, Omens
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing, Piatkus
Publication Date: September 1, 2016
Format: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy
Pages: 368
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Defeat the enemy. Win the boy. Live happily ever after. But life "ever after" isn't as easy as it used to be. Harper's gone from being a member of a small demon lair to co-Prime of one of the most powerful lairs in the US with a mate who, though hot as hell, is just a mite overprotective - I mean, you get kidnapped by dark practitioners just once ...
Then one of Knox's demons goes rogue, and in his madness decides Knox Thorne must die. Harper's worried. Knox isn't - at least until he discovers his mate's willingness to get between him and danger.
Now, Knox has a new priority: Keep Harper safe ...no matter what it takes. But Harper begins to suspect there's more danger than one rogue demon. It seems the combined strength of Harper and Knox has upset the balance of power in the demon world and there are those who are determined to right that wrong. Because when you move up the food chain, sometimes the other predators just want to take a bigger bite.

Blaze is the second book in the Dark in You series by Suzanne Wright. I purchased the book and downloaded the audiobook from the library so I could switch between reading and listening. I ended up listening to more of this book that I read. I enjoyed the narrator more than in the first book.

Knox and Harper have fully mated committed to each other, but there are many who are threatened by their combined power. As Harper tries to navigate the extreme changes that have gone on in her life as she settles in as Knox’s mate, they both have to deal with threats from multiple directions.

I liked this book slightly more than the first, though I do feel like overall story-arc is stretched out rather too far. Four books to tie up all these loose ends feels like too much. I enjoy Knox, Harper and their inner circle enough that I’m planning to continue, but I’m looking forward to reading about another couple.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5

Dark in You

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,