Author: Suzanne Enoch

Guest Review: It’s Getting Scot in Here by Suzanne Enoch

Posted August 29, 2019 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: It’s Getting Scot in Here by Suzanne EnochReviewer: Tracy
It's Getting Scot in Here by Suzanne Enoch
Series: Wild Wicked Highlanders #1
Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks
Publication Date: February 26, 2019
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 320
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

HAPPILY-EVER-AFTERLondon socialite Amelia-Rose Baxter is nobody’s fool. Her parents may want her to catch a title, but she will never change who she is for the promise of marriage. Her husband will be a man who can appreciate her sharp mind as well as her body. A sophisticated man who loves life in London. A man who considers her his equal―and won’t try to tame her wild heart...

IN THE HIGHLANDSRough, rugged Highlander Niall MacTaggert and his brothers know the rules: the eldest must marry or lose the ancestral estate, period. But Niall’s eldest brother just isn’t interested in the lady his mother selected. Is it because Amelia-Rose is just too. . . Free-spirited? Yes. Brazen? Aye. Surely Niall can find a way to soften up the whip-smart lass and make her the perfect match for his brother for the sake of the family.

JUST GOT A WHOLE LOT HOTTER.Instead it’s Niall who tempts Amelia-Rose, despite her reservations about barbarian Highlanders. Niall finds the lass nigh irresistible as well, but he won’t make the mistake his father did in marrying an Englishwoman who doesn’t like the Highlands. Does he have what it takes to win her heart? There is only one way to find out...

The Earl of Aldriss and his London wife head to his home in Scotland after they marry. She hates Scotland. He hates London. The wife has three sons and all is good, until she has child four, who is a girl. The wife declares that there’s no way she’s bringing up a daughter in the wilds of Scotland because it’s completely barbaric. She takes off for London with the girl, leaving her husband and three sons on their own. Oh, and she controls all the money. She agrees to keep sending money as long as hubs lets her leave.  Nice mom. Not. Her oldest is 12 years old and the other two just a few years behind that. What impressionable ages to just up and leave! This pissed me off.

Seventeen years have gone by and the absent mom decides that her sons have to come to London and get married or shall stop sending money. What kind of asinine plan is that? Not only that, but one of those wives need to be of her choosing.   Does she really think that if they marry women from London that they’ll stay? I don’t think so. Oh, and on top of that they have to get married before their younger sister or they lose everything. The sister is already engaged, so they are on a strict time limit.

Anyway, the woman the mom chooses for the oldest son isn’t his cup of tea. Niall, the second son, ends up escorting her places saying that Coll, the oldest, will be there anytime. Of course the more time Niall and Amelia-Rose spend together the closer they get.

I really liked both Niall and Amelia-Rose. I thought that individually they were great characters, but together they really were something special. The mom’s intentions were horrible, but it ended up working out for the both of them.

I really liked this book and I am very much looking forward to the next book in the series.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Suzanne Enoch Giveaway)

Posted August 23, 2019 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 8 Comments

Casee: I’ve been reading some good books this week. I read Blood Truth by J.R. Ward and More of You by A.L. Jackson. Those were both pretty good reads. I especially enjoyed the A.L. Jackson. I’m now reading Sapphire Flames by Ilona Andrews. I really didn’t think I would like Catalina as much as I do. That makes me really happy. Catalina is a badass, almost as badass as Nevada.

I’ve been listening to so many audiobooks, it’s crazy. I’ve listened to five (5!) Meghan March books. I’m currently listening to Sinful Empire, which is the third book in the trilogy. I also finished Beyond Scandal and Desire by Lorraine Heath. It was the book that Holly and Rowena gave me for our Summer Reading Challenge. After I finish the March book, I’m going to listen to Marrying Winterborne by Lisa Kleypas. I’m excited

Holly: I didn’t get much read this week. I finished Marry Me by Jo Goodman for our Summer Reading Challenge, which was sweet. It started out kind of slow but once it picked up I really fell into it. I finished listening to Trade Me by Courtney Milan and then The Cursed by Alyssa Day, which I didn’t love. It was just okay. I also read Quiet Man by Kristen Ashley, Mo and Lottie’s novella. I really liked Mo and Lottie together. I reread a couple of books (Mystery Man and Complicated by Kristen Ashley and Repeat by Kylie Scott) and that’s pretty much it.

I ended up DNF’ing Hope’s Folly by Linnea Sinclair. We agreed we wouldn’t DNF our Summer reading Challenge books, but it’s the 3rd book in the series and I was hopelessly lost. Casee and I agreed I’d try Gabriel’s Ghost instead, which is book 1. I plan to read that this weekend. I just started Kill the Queen by Jennifer Estep

Rowena: I’m still in training mode at work, trying to learn my new position and there’s a lot of stuff to remember and I’m busy from the time I get to the office to the time that I leave. By the time that I get home, I’m too exhausted to read much of anything. Also? I’ve been spending time with Caiden, who is in town for the week to hang out with us. I did pick up and put down some books but nothing stuck with me until I re-read Sapphire Flames by Ilona Andrews, which I adored all over again. I finished that whole book, so that’s something. Right now, I’m reading Kill the Queen by Jennifer Estep and Coming Up Roses by Staci Hart. Wish me luck!

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Suzanne Enoch Giveaway)Rogue with a Brogue by Suzanne Enoch
Series: Scandalous Highlanders #2
Also in this series: Rogue with a Brogue (Scandalous Highlanders, #2), Mad, Bad, and Dangerous in Plaid (Scandalous Highlanders, #3), Some Like it Scot (Scandalous Highlanders, #4)

Publication Date: July 29, 2014
Format: Print
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 333
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

A Rogue For Every Lady

London, 1817: Stuck in a Mayfair ballroom, thanks to his lovestruck brother, Highlander Arran MacLawry wants nothing but a bit of distraction from an arranged betrothal—and a clever auburn-haired lass in a vixen's mask promises just that . . . until he discovers that she's the granddaughter of the Campbell, chief of clan MacLawry's longtime rival. Despite their families' grudging truce, falling for fiery Mary Campbell is a notion too outlandish even for this Highlander…

The Thrill Of The Forbidden

Raised on tales of savage MacLawrys, Mary is stunned to realize the impressively strapping man in the fox's mask is one of them. Surely the enemy shouldn't have such a broad chest, and such a seductive brogue? Not that her curiosity matters—any dalliance between them is strictly forbidden, and she's promised to another. But with the crackling spark between them ready to catch flame, love is worth every risk…

What Are You Reading: Rogue with a Brogue

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Throwback Thursday Guest Review: A Beginner’s Guide to Rakes by Suzanne Enoch

Posted July 11, 2019 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Throwback Thursday Guest Review: A Beginner’s Guide to Rakes by Suzanne EnochReviewer: Tracy
A Beginner's Guide to Rakes by Suzanne Enoch
Series: Scandalous Brides #1
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: October 4, 2011
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 352
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

All of London is abuzz with the return of the utterly alluring, recently widowed Diane Benchley. Will she remarry? What will she do with her late husband’s fortune? Society is shocked by her announcement—at the Grand Ball, of all places!—that she plans to open an exclusive gentleman’s gaming club in the family mansion. But no one is more stunned than the Marquis of Haybury, Oliver Warren.

Years ago, Oliver and Diane shared a private indiscretion. Now Diane threatens to reveal Oliver’s most ungentlemanly secrets…unless he agrees to help her. A notorious gambler—and rake—Oliver is overqualified to educate Diane in the ways and means of running her establishment. But striking a deal with Diane might just be the biggest risk Oliver has ever taken. This time, the only thing he has to lose is his heart…

Diane Benchley wants to get back what she feels was taken from her and that was a decent life with a husband who wasn’t a complete ass. Her husband died but left her penniless and in a ton of debt because of his gambling. Diane took up with Oliver very quickly thereafter but he up and ran out on her without a word. Now Diane is back in London and looking to start a Gentleman’s Club that is run strictly by women. Her backer falls dead but she has something on Oliver and blackmails him into helping her with the money she needs.

Oliver isn’t sure what he thinks about this “new” Diane. She knows her mind and isn’t going to put up with anything from Oliver – including suggestions about the club. In fact she hates him. He can understand why but when he realizes that she holds his heart he’s determined to do anything he can to get the woman he loves to see him as a man and not just a bank.

Diane has her hands full getting the club running and keeping her former brother-in-law from taking her to court to prove that the house that the gentleman’s club is in is actually legally his and not hers.

This was a pretty interesting book but I had a couple of issues with it. While I really liked the thought of Diane starting the club I really didn’t get to know Diane all that well. We definitely got more thoughts from Oliver than Diane. Also, because so much of the book was focused on getting the club up and running I thought that the romance suffered for it.

I very much liked Oliver and I thought his part in the book was really good but I just didn’t see Diane falling for him. She did, in the end, but I just didn’t feel like she had completely forgiven her for her part in their past.

Like I said, the setting up of the gentleman’s club was quite well done. With Diane’s former b-i-l making waves the plot to get him to stop was pretty clever and I very much enjoyed watching that unfold.

So while I thought the book was very good it was pretty light on the romance, imho. I did read the excerpt from the next book and it sounds quite good as well – can’t wait to read it.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Scandalous Brides

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Suzanne Enoch Giveaway)

Posted February 8, 2019 by Rowena in Features, Giveaways | 12 Comments

Casee: I’m on a Maya Banks kick right now. I finished her Enforcers series and am now reading the Breathless series. I’m reading Fever, which is the second book. What’s weird is that I’m pretty sure I’ve read the first two books, but I don’t remember reading the third. Then again I didn’t think I read the second one so who knows.

I just finished Sweet Sinful Seduction by Lauren Blakely on audio. I started listening to The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie by Jennifer Ashley and am really enjoying it. I haven’t read a historical is years. This one is a great one to get me back into them.

Holly: I didn’t read much this week. It seemed to take forever for me to get through Free by Kristen Ashley. The book was a hot mess. I was really looking forward to Rush’s story, and seeing how the series was wrapped up. Sadly, it was just a collection of chapters that made little sense to the overall storyarc but gave us glimpses at the couples and/or villains from previous books. I almost DNF’d it, but I wanted to see it through. Had it been about 300 pages shorter, with 5 less POV changes, it would have been a pretty decent book.

I DNF’d the audio of Wild Irish Heart by Tricia O’Malley. I ended up downloading the ebook (currently free for Kindle) because I think I’ll like the story. I kept getting frustrated with the heroine, but I’m pretty sure it’s because of the inflection and emphasis the narrator used. We shall see.

I’m currently about halfway through Devil’s Daughter by Lisa Kleypas, and it.is.amazing. I’m already in love with West, Phoebe and her son Justin. SO.MUCH.LOVE. I’m listening to The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie by Jennifer Ashley.

Rowena: I got some reading done this week so that’s always a good thing. I finished Devil’s Daughter by Lisa Kleypas and that was just as delightful as I was expecting. West and Phoebe were a bomb ass couple and I adored every minute of their romance. While I was reading Devil’s Daughter, an eARC of The Risk by Elle Kennedy showed up on my Kindle so I immediately jumped on that mess once I finished with West and Phoebe. Like, immediately jumped into it. I finished Devil’s Daughter around midnight and stayed up for another couple of hours to make some headway into The Risk before taking my ass to sleep. I finished Jake and Bren’s book that same day and just like with Phoebe and West, I loved the hell out of Jake and Bren, even when I wanted to kick Jake in the balls.

Now, I’m reading The Assist by Rebecca Jenshak and so far, it’s okay. I hope it picks up some though. Wish me luck!

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Suzanne Enoch Giveaway)A Devil in Scotland (No Ordinary Hero, #3) by Suzanne Enoch
Series: No Ordinary Hero #3
Also in this series: Hero in the Highlands, My One True Highlander, A Devil in Scotland
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: January 30, 2018
Format: Print
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 311
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

The dawning of desire...

1806, Scotland: Wild, reckless Callum MacCreath is in no hurry to become someone’s husband. But when his responsible, steady older brother Ian announces his engagement to their childhood friend Rebecca, Callum makes a startling discovery: he wants the lovely young lass for himself. But it’s too late, and when Ian banishes him for his duplicity, he’s only too happy to leave Scotland forever…

...is delicious and dangerous.

1816: Marrying Ian was the practical, logical thing for Becca to do. But once Callum sailed away to America, she missed his rakish charm and lust for life. Now, ten years later, Becca is a widow when a much-changed Callum returns to his Scottish homeland. Will he remember their spirited, fiery connection, or does he blame her for his brother’s unexpected death? This time neither of them can deny their scorching attraction, but will their hearts be burned in the blazing heat of scandal?

What Are You Reading: A Devil in Scotland

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , ,

Throwback Thursday Review: A Lady’s Guide to Improper Behavior by Suzanne Enoch.

Posted September 13, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 9 Comments

Throwback Thursday Review: A Lady’s Guide to Improper Behavior by Suzanne Enoch.Reviewer: Rowena
The Care and Taming of a Rogue (Adventurers’ Club, #1) by Suzanne Enoch
Series: Adventurers' Club #1
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: October 27, 2009
Format: Print
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 371
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: five-stars

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Enoch kicks off a new Regency romance series, in which adventure and heart-stopping romance go hand in hand, in The Care and Taming of a Rogue. Rugged adventurer Bennett Wolfe, once presumed dead, has returned to London. He only has eyes for the exceedingly proper Philippa . . . and so she must teach him some manners before temptation sweeps her away . . .

Every Thursday, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books. Enjoy!

This review was originally posted on May 11, 2010.

Suzanne Enoch is fast becoming one of my go to authors for witty historical novels. To date, I’ve read 4 of her books and have enjoyed each book immensely. This book was no different. It’s weird how I’ll read three books in a row that have the same kind of storyline going on and once again, this time it was no different.

I just finished reading Rachel Gibson’s Nothing But Trouble where the hero was in a horrible car accident and he was unable to walk without the aid of a cane. In this story, the hero, Bartholomew “Tolly” James is recovering from being injured while fighting for his country. He’s not the same Tolly that his family remembers from before the war and to be honest, he’s not. He went through some stuff that nobody should have gone through and he survived it and the events that led him to where he was changed him irrevocably. All he wants now is to stay at his club and to be left alone but because his family is searching for him, its bringing unwanted attention to his club so he has to go home and make nice with them so that they know that he’s alive and as close to well as humanly possible.

He goes home to dinner and tries to be the most obnoxious toad he can be so that they’ll be scandalized and he’ll be able to disappear and suffer in peace but it doesn’t work because his sister in law’s cousin, Theresa Weller puts him in his place and piques his interest and he can’t help but be drawn to her. So he finds himself going to this ball that he knows she’s going to be at so that he can find out what about her intrigues him so much aside from her obvious beauty and it’s while they’re trying to find out why they’re so drawn to each other that I absolutely fell in love with both Tess and Tolly.

I thought they were perfect for each other and Enoch did a fantastic job of keeping me excited for more. I mean, you could tell that these two didn’t even like each other to begin with but the more they were around each other, the more curious they became of the other and the more they couldn’t stay away from each other. I loved the way Tolly didn’t trust anyone but for some unexplainable reason, he trusted Tess and then I loved the way Tess slowly came to life with every moment she spent with Tolly. They brought out the best in each other and I loved that about them.

Tolly was a surly bastard but with ample reason. He’s been through Hell and now he’s back and trying to get accustomed to being back. He spends his days and his nights in pain, he can’t walk right and he just wants to be left alone but when Theresa Weller comes into his life, it’s like she breathed life back into him because it’s through her that he realizes he’ll get a second chance at living. It’s through her that he realizes he actually wants a second chance at living.

I thought this book was sweet and too cute for words. I adored both Tolly and Tess and I can’t wait to read more from this series. I wonder who’s going to get their book next. I’m actually pretty stoked about it too. I want more! I’m hoping the Duke that helps Tolly out gets his own book, he sounds like he’d be dangerous and smexy. So yeah, being the greedy bitch that I am, I want more! This book was great and it had all of the makings of an entertaining read. You won’t want to miss it!

Grade: 4.5 out of 5

Adventurers’ Club

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,