Genre: Contemporary Romance

Review: Superfan by Sarina Bowen

Posted July 23, 2019 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Superfan by Sarina BowenReviewer: Rowena
Superfan by Sarina Bowen
Series: Brooklyn Bruisers #6
Also in this series: Rookie Move, Rookie Move, Hard Hitter, Rookie Move, Hard Hitter , Pipe Dreams, Pipe Dreams, Pipe Dreams, Brooklynaire, Rookie Move, Overnight Sensation, Superfan
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: June 25, 2019
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 312
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Rowena's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Sometimes lady luck shakes your hand, and sometimes she smacks your face. Sometimes she does both on the same day.

Three years ago I met the most amazing girl in the world. We were both down on our luck. Then I got that call—the one that tells you to get your buns on a plane to go meet your destiny.

But the girl was left behind. I didn’t have her phone number, and she didn’t know my real name.

While I became a professional hockey player, she became a superstar, with platinum records and legions of fans. And a slick, music producer boyfriend who treated her badly.

But fate wasn’t done with us yet. When Delilah turns up at a hockey game, I can’t resist making contact. The internet swoons when I ask her out on a date.

She might not remember me. But her jerkface ex does. He’ll do anything to keep us apart.

Good thing athletes never give up. This time I’m playing for keeps.

More information at SarinaBowen.com

It is no secret that I enjoy Sarina Bowen’s books. She writes fun, flirty and just swoon-worthy romances that never fail to lock me right up. It was no different with Superfan. Silas and Delilah met one summer and spent a lot of time flirting with each other. Delilah needed to be convinced that she should go out with Silas and Silas was game for that. He didn’t have much going on in his life then, his hockey career wasn’t going anywhere and when he finally convinced Delilah to go out with him…he stood her up because he got the call up to the big leagues.

Years later, Delilah climbed her way up the music charts and is a famous pop star while Silas is making a name for himself in the NHL. When fate and social media set them up on a blind date, Silas is all in. He’s going to need all the luck he can get to make things up to Delilah and he’s not afraid to put in the work so that she’ll be in his life again. Delilah is going through a lot stuff and doesn’t need the distraction of a blast from the past. As much as she was starting to like Silas back then, he stood her up and she’s still mad about that….but the more they talk, the more she realizes that he’s one of the good ones and steering clear of him starts getting hard.

This was a really fun romance and I read this book in one sitting so that’s saying something. I wasn’t bored at any part of the story and I really, really enjoyed getting to know Silas more. He’s always been in the background and finding out why he was such a huge Delilah Spark fan was super cute. I adored seeing him get so much shit from his teammates and friends and I really loved how he didn’t give a shit about any of the shit he was getting where Delilah was concerned. He loved her music and was such a huge fanboy and I was here for it all.

I did struggle with my frustration over how Delilah handled the whole ex-boyfriend thing. Brett was such a dickhead and I couldn’t understand why Delilah hadn’t tried a lot harder to shake him loose both personally and professionally. She knew that he wasn’t a good person and she knew that he was being shady where her career was being and yet…she let him. She wasn’t proactive in getting him out of her life, hiring someone to figure out how to shake loose of the contract she had, shake loose of the security he had tailing her every move, she just…let him continue to abuse her and I struggled with that. When she finally shaped up and took control of her life, I about threw my hands up in the air with relief. It was a long time coming and I’m glad that she finally did something about it.

Overall, this is another wonderful addition to an already wonderful series. I really love being in the Brooklyn Bruiser’s world and reading these books feels like a catch up session with all of our old friends from the other books and I just love these characters to pieces. I definitely recommend this one.

4.25 out of 5

Final Grade

4.25 out of 5

Brooklyn Bruisers

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Jennifer Ryan Giveaway)

Posted July 19, 2019 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 11 Comments

Casee: I finished Wild Like the Wind by Kristen Ashley last night. I loved it. I wasn’t too sure about the heroine at the beginning, but she really came through for me by the end of the book. Classic Kristen Ashley. I’m now reading Wolf Rain by Nalini Singh. This book has been out for awhile, so I’m not quite sure why I haven’t read it. All I do know is that I can’t wait to get into it.

I’m listening How to Date Your Dragon by Molly Harper, which is one of my Summer Reading Challenge books. I’m not that far into it, but what I have listened to is funny as hell. I’m enjoying the characters immensely, though the narrators aren’t all that great.

Holly: I had a much slower reading week. I had every intention of reading all the books, but life got in the way.

I reread Broken Dove by Kristen Ashley (yes, I did reread that series all out of order, thanks for asking) and Down London Road by Samantha Young.

For new reads, I finished Sweep of the Blade by Ilona Andrews. I love that series so much, and I’m so happy to finally have it. It’s been a loooong wait. I’m currently reading Beginner’s Luck by Kate Clayborne and listening to The Duchess War by Courtney Milan.

Rowena: It’s been a pretty slow reading week for me. I had such high hopes for lots of reading time but most of my time this week was spent with my nephew, Luke. I could tell that he missed his Mom who has been in Samoa for the South Pacific Games (the Olympics for the South Pacific) since July 4th. Of all of his Aunts, he’s closest to me so he needed extra cuddles this week so I spent a lot of time with him. I did manage to finish Beginner’s Luck (Chance of a Lifetime #1) by Kate Clayborne, so that’s something.

Now I’m going to jump into Daisy’s Back in Town by Rachel Gibson for a buddy read with Holly, oh wait, I have to finish my listen of Like the Wind by J. Bengtsson for my buddy read with Casee and Holly. Lots of buddy reads this month!

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Jennifer Ryan Giveaway)True to You by Jennifer Ryan
Series: Montana Heat #2
Also in this series: Tempted by Love (Montana Heat, #3)
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: February 27, 2018
Format: Print
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: three-stars

A Montana Man risks everything for the woman he loves . . .

Undercover DEA Special Agent Dawson King spent five months in a Montana prison establishing a fake identity to take down a ruthless drug dealer and put him behind bars. Except there’s a wild card . . . the killer’s beloved daughter. Cara Potter may appear to be on the right side of the law, but King has learned the hard way to trust no one—even someone as tantalizing as the coffee shop owner. She’s irresistible . . . but is she also dangerous?

From the moment he enters her life, King makes Cara . . . nervous. The handsome drifter says he wants to get his life together . . . but there is something about him that doesn’t quite ring true. Cara wants to believe in him, yet she holds back despite the way he awakens dormant dreams and leaves her breathless with his sexy smile, steamy kisses, his every touch.

When the explosive truth comes out and she’s betrayed by the ones she loves, Cara must decide—can she trust her heart, or should she listen to her head?

What Are You Reading: True to You by Jennifer Ryan

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Review: Come As You Are by Lauren Blakely

Posted July 19, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Come As You Are by Lauren BlakelyReviewer: Holly
Come As You Are by Lauren Blakely
Narrator: Andi Arndt, Sebastian York
Series: One Love #5
Also in this series: The Sexy One (One Love, #1), The Only One (One Love #2), The Hot One (One Love, #3), The Knocked Up Plan
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: April 16, 2018
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 334
Length: 7 hours and 29 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: GoodReads Challenge, Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: three-stars

I couldn’t have scripted a more perfect night.

For one fantastic evening, at a masquerade party in the heart of Manhattan, I’m not the millionaire everyone wants a piece of. Fine—multimillionaire. But who’s counting all those commas? Not me, and not the most intriguing woman I've ever met, who happens to like dancing, witty banter, and hot, passionate up-against-the-wall sex as much as I do.

There's no need for names or business cards. And that’s why I’m eager to get to know her more, since my mystery woman seems to like me for me, rather than for my huge…bank account.

Everything’s coming up aces. Until the next day when things get a little complicated. (Newsflash — a lot complicated.)

***

He's charming, brilliant, an incredible lover, and right now I want to stab fate in the eyeballs.

I've had one goal I've been working toward, and lo and behold, my mystery man is the very person who stands between me and my dream job. A job I desperately need since my hard-knock life has nothing in common with his star-kissed one.

But it’s time to put that fairytale night behind me, and focus on learning what makes him tick. Too bad it turns out his quirks are my quirks, and his love affair with New York matches mine.

And as we spend our days together, I discover something else that feels like a cruel twist of fate — I’m falling for this naughty prince charming, and that’s not an ending I can write to our story.

Come As You Are by Lauren Blakely is the 5th book in the One Love series. I really enjoyed the previous book and I couldn’t wait to see what happened with Flynn. I ended up loving this book. I think it might be my favorite of the series. Andi Arndt and Sebastian York narrated, which probably helped. They’re my favorite duo.

Flynn Parker and his twin brother Dylan sold their start-up for millions. Now they’re working on a fully automated home system. He’s a hot, young millionaire at the top of the tech industry. But he never knows if people want him for him, or for his money. A masquerade ball gives him the chance to reinvent himself for a night- to remain anonymous. He could never have guessed he’d meet the woman of his dreams there, but that’s exactly what happened.

Sabrina Granger has been unlucky in love and business lately. But all that turns around the night she meets a mystery man at a masquerade ball. After the hottest encounter of her life – with the possibility of more – she’s offered her dream assignment – the chance to interview Flynn Parker, with the potential to make this a full-time writing gig with a prestigious magazine. She’s flying high – until she and her masked mystery man from the night before meet up in the daylight and she realizes her hot library fling is none other than Flynn Parker, in the flesh.

She needs this job more than she needs orgasms, so she tells Flynn they have to keep things professional. But that’s easier said than done when New York’s hottest bachelor turns out to be the Prince Charming she’s always wanted.

Flynn was such a sweetheart in the previous books, I knew I was going to love him. He was everything I expected him to be. He was sweet, funny, generous and kind. But also dirty, sarcastic and not afraid to take chances. Sabrina was the perfect partner for him. She was adventurous, kind and quirky. I loved the way they explored the city and got to know one another.

This was a sweet romance filled with witty banter and a lot of chemistry. I absolutely loved it.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5

One Love

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Throwback Thursday Review: Star Bright by Catherine Anderson

Posted July 18, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 5 Comments

Throwback Thursday Review: Star Bright by Catherine AndersonReviewer: Casee
Star Bright by Catherine Anderson
Series: Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan #9
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: January 6, 2009
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 438
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

New York Times bestselling author Catherine Anderson presents an emotionally compelling story about the hard as nails, fiercely loyal Harrigan family...

Faking her own death to escape her murderous husband, Rainie Hall takes refuge in the rural community of Crystal Falls, Oregon, where she starts work as a bookkeeper on a horse ranch run by rugged, dangerously good-looking Parker Harrigan.   Parker's word is his honor, and he can't tolerate liars. When he realizes that Rainie hasn't been truthful with him, he's furious, then concerned. Clearly she's a woman in trouble and if she'll trust him, he'll do right by her. But as their attraction blossoms into a deep and thrilling passion, Rainie fears that her mere presence could jeopardize everything the Harrigan family holds dear...

*** Every Thursday, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books. Enjoy! ***
This review was originally posted on Mar 17, 2009.

I’ve always enjoyed Catherine Anderson’s books. They are always family oriented stories that just bring me a happy feelin’. This book starts off with Rainie Hall fakin’ her own death, so it basically grabs you from the beginnin’. Rainie knows that her husband plans on killin’ her on the cruise that he’s disguised as a vacation for the two of them, so she makes her own plans to disappear.

Landin’ in Crystal Falls, Oregon, Lainie finds a job as Parker Harrigan’s ranch workin’ as a bookkeeper. She sees right away that her boss is someone that values the truth more than anythin’ and is terrified of what will happen when he finds out that she’s not who he thinks she is. Her fears turn out to be well founded. Parker does not accept her lies very well. When he realizes that she has left an abusive relationship, he can’t get rid of her like he planned to. In fact, with each passin’ day, he finds himself more and more attractive to the elusive Rainie.

Rainie doesn’t find it easy to trust, especially a man. Yet she finds that she’s slowly beginnin’ to trust him as the days go by and Parker befriends her without expectin’ anything else. Still, she’s scared that she’ll make as bad of a choice as she did marryin’ her husband, Peter. Not to mention that she knows that he’s lookin’ for her and won’t give up until he finds her.

The best part of this book was seein’ Rainie discover herself again. It took a long time for her to accept that she wasn’t at fault for her disastrous marriage. It takes time, but she realizes that Parker isn’t anythin’ like Peter. Not only will he never hurt her, but he helps her take her self-confidence back, somethin’ that she thought could never happen. The romance unfolded slowly between these two, which worked. I think the book was more about Rainie findin’ her self-confidence and gettin’ her self-worth back than it was about romance. In order to get in a relationship with Parker, she had to get past her demons and learn to trust a man.

There was one thing in this book that drove me bat-shit crazy. Parker drops his “g’s”. It was so annoying and would take me out of the book which made me insane. It’s not that he was an uneducated hick, he just embraces his roots more than most. Still, I couldn’t effing stand it.

3.75 out of 5

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: The Knocked Up Plan by Lauren Blakely

Posted July 18, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: The Knocked Up Plan by Lauren BlakelyReviewer: Holly
The Knocked Up Plan by Lauren Blakely
Narrator: Andi Arndt, Sebastian York
Series: One Love #4
Also in this series: The Sexy One (One Love, #1), The Only One (One Love #2), The Hot One (One Love, #3), Come As You Are
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: June 23, 2017
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Escape
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Length: 6 hours and 59 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: GoodReads Challenge, Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: three-stars

There are three little words most guys don’t want to hear on the first date. Not those…I mean these… “knock me up.”

This single gal has had enough of the games, the BS and the endless chase. I know what I want most, and it’s not true love. It’s a bun in the oven, and I’m not afraid to hit up my s-e-x-on-a-stick co-worker to do the job. Ryder is gorgeous, witty and charming — and he’s also a notorious commitment-phobe. That makes him the perfect candidate to make a deposit in the bank of me. I won’t fall for him, he won’t fall for me, and there’s no way baby will make three. Right?

****

There are four words every guy wants to hear on the first date — “your place or mine?”

When my hot-as-sin co-worker makes me a no-strings-attached offer that involves her place, my place, any place — as well as any position — I can’t refuse. Besides, I've got my own reasons to take her up on her deal even with her one BIG condition.

There’s no way I’ll want more from one woman than any position, any where, any night? Except . . . what if I do?

Be prepared to swoon and fan yourself from the heat! This full-length standalone contains lots of hot baby-making s-e-x, happy tears, playful jokes and a hot, swoonworthy hero you will fall madly in love with. One-click now for pure reading enjoyment!

The Knocked Up Plan is the 4th book in the One Love series by Lauren Blakely. This series has been hit or miss for me, but Andi Ardnt and Sebastian York are two of my favorite narrators. When I saw they were doing the audiobook I knew I had to give it a go. I’m glad I did. This was a sweet story. I liked both Ryder and Nicole. They had great chemistry and I really felt their friendship, too.

Nicole is ready to be a mother. She’s never really had a long-term relationship (except once, and he was more committed that she was), but she doesn’t want to wait. Her father died when she was young and her mother raised her alone, so Nicole sees no reason why she can’t do the same. The problem is finding the right donor. She wants to know what kind of DNA a potential father is contributing to her child, and picking one out of a catalog is difficult. Until she decides to ask her co-worker, Ryder. Ryder has everything she could ever want in a father for her baby – he’s kind, smart, sweet and sexy-as-hell. Plus, after his marriage went sour, Ryder isn’t looking for any kind of commitment. Which makes him the perfect candidate.

Ryder is pretty shocked – and, if he’s being honest, flattered – when Nicole asks him to donate to her cause. He’s been off romance since his marriage went down in flames, but Nicole doesn’t want romance. She just wants his sperm. He also needs help with a problem. He used to be the ultimate wing-man, the city’s dating Guru (think Hitch), but lately his ratings are down. When his producer tells him he needs to do a “10 Dates to Romance Her” feature, he figures he and Nicole can help each other out.

As these two embark on Ten dates designed to make couples fall in love, and fall into bed every night, things soon turn from light and flirty to serious. But are either ready, or willing, to take the next step? Because there aren’t just the two of them to consider..there’s the potential future child, too.

I thought this was such a fun, cute listen. Ryder was really wonderful. Down-to-Earth, happy, sweet, chivalrous. He had a it all. He and Nicole had chemistry in spades, so their jump from co-workers (and ping-pong partners) to lovers wasn’t a stretch. But more than anything, it was their friendship I adored. They both went out of their way for one another. There isn’t a lot of conflict or angst here. They both acted like adults about the situation with the baby-making, and watching them realize their feelings beyond that was great. Plus, Ryder’s on-air confession was super adorable.

Rating: 4 out of 5

One Love

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,