Genre: Contemporary Romance

Review: Unzipped by Lauren Blakely

Posted July 6, 2022 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Unzipped by Lauren BlakelyReviewer: Holly
Unzipped by Lauren Blakely
Series: Lucky in Love #4
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: October 30, 2018
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Plus
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 306
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Wanted: hot nerd seeks dating coach.

Picture this - I'm ready to win back the love of my life, and I'm going big this time. We're talking boom box, sing her name in the rain, let the whole damn neighborhood know I'm good and ready this time around. After all, if you're going to grand gesture the ever-loving hell out of a second chance, you need to pull out all the stops.

There's only one little problem.

My college girlfriend isn't the one who shows up when I play my "I'll do anything to win you back" tune. The woman who flings open the second-floor window tells me my ex doesn't live here anymore. But she'll help me win her back. Anything for romance, anything for a guy so willing to go big for love. And that's what I want at first. Until I get to know my new "romance coach" and discover she's funny, clever, and keeps me on my toes. Now I don't want to win anyone else's heart. I want the woman who's been helping me all along. Trouble is - she thinks I'm in love with someone else, and when we take off on a road trip, everything I think I know about women is about to be unzipped and turned inside out.

***He's the last person I ever expected to pop into my life, but he might be exactly what I need to save the thing that matters most to me. All I have to do is not fall for him.Unzipped is a standalone romance!

Unzipped (Lucky in Love #4) by Lauren Blakely follows Kyler aka “Tom” as he decides to win back the love of his life. I listened to this on audio and really enjoyed the narrators. I hae not read any of the other books in the series, but I don’t feel like I missed anything.

Things ended rather abruptly with his college girlfriend, but he’s got his stuff together now and he’s ready to show her he’s a changed man. He knows he needs a grand gesture, so he stands outside her window with a boombox..that keeps eating tapes and doesn’t want to play music. But that’s okay, he’ll just sing the song…terribly and off key. Okay, this isn’t going well, but it’s the gesture that counts, right? Not when said ex-girlfriend isn’t even home.

Finley isn’t having the best time of things. Her sitcom is on the brink of being cancelled and she’s creatively tapped out. When a madman shows up outside her window with a boombox, she knows she’s found her next muse. She offers to help Tom win back his ex, so she can keep using him for inspiration. As they spend time together Finley realized Tom is more than a simple muse, and Tom starts to wonder if he’s pursuing the wrong type of love.

This was a cute listen. I enjoyed both narrators and the story overall, though I did think the Instalove was a little over the top. I didn’t really buy their HEA after only a week. The epilogue helped, though. I did like that Tom came to realize his past actions weren’t great and he wanted to make them right.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Lucky in Love

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Lightning Review: Wild Fire by Kristen Ashley

Posted May 18, 2022 by Holly in Reviews | 2 Comments

Reviewer: Holly
Wild Fire by Kristen Ashley
Series: Chaos #6.5
Also in this series: Wild Wind
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: September 22, 2020
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 220
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Kristen Ashley brings a new story in her Chaos series…
“You know you can’t keep a good brother down.”

The Chaos Motorcycle Club has won its war. But not every brother rode into the sunset with his woman on the back of his bike.

Chaos returns with the story of Dutch Black, a man whose father was the moral compass of the Club, until he was murdered. And the man who raised Dutch protected the Club at all costs. That combination is the man Dutch is intent on becoming.

It’s also the man that Dutch is going to go all out to give to his woman.

**Every 1001 Dark Nights novella is a standalone story. For new readers, it’s an introduction to an author’s world. And for fans, it’s a bonus book in the author’s series. We hope you'll enjoy each one as much as we do.**

Wild Wind is a novella set in the Chaos MC and features Dutch, Black’s son. Black was murdered before the Club went clean and Dutch and his brother Jagger have been living in his shadow their whole lives.

The first part of this story frustrated me a bit. I didn’t like how Georgiana and Dutch treated each other at first. I also really dislike the way KA inserted herself and her books into this series. Every time it comes up in one of the books it pulls me completely out of the story. I almost DNF’d this book because of it.

That aside, I liked Dutch and Georgie. They were cute together. They also worked well together, which was nice. This isn’t my favorite KA story, but I did enjoy it once I got past the first part and I’m looking forward to Jagger’s story.

Rating: 3.5

Chaos

</a

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Say It’s Forever by A.L. Jackson

Posted May 16, 2022 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Say It’s Forever by A.L. JacksonReviewer: Casee
Say It's Forever by A. L. Jackson
Narrator: Andi Arndt, Joe Arden
Series: Redemption Hills #2
Also in this series: Give Me a Reason
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: March 28, 2022
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 414
Length: 11 hours and 33 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: five-stars

Jud Lawson found me stranded in the rain.
Broken down on the side of the road in a deserted neighborhood with my piece of crap car.
I wasn't looking for a hero, and definitely not one who looks like him.
An obscenely hot, mountain-of-a-man who screams danger.
But I have little choice other than climbing onto the back of his bike.

One look at Salem Aguilar, and I'm hooked.
The girl is devastation wrapped in a black, seductive bow.
A knockout.
A dream.
Turns out, she needs a job, and I need the help.
Now I have a vixen strutting around my shop, and I'm the fool who's itching to reach out and take what he can't have.

But neither of us can ignore the burning attraction.
The fire that leads to a kiss.
A kiss that has us falling into my bed.
The connection that has me wanting the one thing I'd never thought I could have again.
Because monsters like me don't deserve love.

Only Salem has a secret, too.
She's been running for years, and her past just caught up to us...

Salem Aguilar is on the run from a husband that wants her dead. After four years of running, her brother talked her into coming to Redemption Hills & starting over. To say that Salem is nervous about staying in one place is an understatement. She has been on the run for so long, it’s hard for her to stay in one place for very long. It was a rainy night when her car broke down and her knight came to the rescue. Initially she’s very wary of Jud, which isn’t surprising. She learns that not only is a he a good person, but he is a genuinely good human. That doesn’t mean she’ll take a handout, so she talks Jud into letting her work for him in his office.

Jud is tortured af. He lost the thing that meant the most to him in this world. For years he’s been waiting, hoping that his ex-wife will bring his daughter back to him. Letting Salem and her little girl into his life is something that he is very leery of, but he can’t stay away from Salem anymore than he can stop himself from loving her little girl.

I read this book when it first came out, then I listened to it on audio. Andi Arndt & Joe Arden are two of my favorite narrators, so I was really excited to listen to it. It didn’t disappoint, in fact the audio was better. I really feel that I’m not doing this book justice in this review. It’s been a minute since I read it, but I still remember that it stayed with me for days after. Salem is such a strong female character. She’s been keeping herself & her daughter safe for the last four years. Jud wants to take some of the burden off her, but she doesn’t know how to let him.

I loved Jud & Salem together. I loved being able to see Trent, Eden, Gage, & Logan. I am so excited for Logan’s book!

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Redemption Hills

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Reckless Miles by Claire Kingsley

Posted April 18, 2022 by Casee in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Reckless Miles by Claire KingsleyReviewer: Casee
Reckless Miles by Claire Kingsley
Narrator: Stephen Dexter, Desiree Ketchum, John Lane
Series: Miles Family #3
Also in this series: Broken Miles, Forbidden Miles
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: November 18, 2019
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 342
Length: 9 hours and 27 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: five-stars

“I love being naked. Naked is awesome.” ~Cooper Miles
For Cooper Miles, life used to be an endless party. He worked hard and played harder—as often as possible. But things change—people change—and lately the party life isn’t doing it for him.
Enter Amelia Hale. Cooper doesn’t see her coming. But it isn’t every day you meet a girl in a wedding dress in a bar. A girl whose life just took a sharp left turn she wasn’t expecting.
Kissing her is totally no big deal. She’s had one hell of a day and a little kissing lesson by Cooper is bound to make her feel better. The invitation back to her hotel, however… that, he wasn’t expecting.
Saying yes to her is reckless. Not because he’s a stranger to a one-night stand. And not because she’s in a wedding dress, and the words this is my first time cross her lips.
It’s reckless because she makes him feel things he’s never felt before—big things. Nothing scares Cooper Miles. But this girl? She might be magic, and he has no idea what to do with that.
Author’s note: Cooper Miles. He’s sexy, hilarious, and deeper than you think. This former playboy has a heart as big as his personality, and when he finally falls in love, he falls HARD.
The Miles Family series is best enjoyed in order.

Cooper first meets Amelia in the local bar. She’s in a wedding dress which is the first thing Cooper notices. When they start talking, Cooper can also tell she has a good heart. He’s shocked when she propositions him with a one-night stand. Now Cooper is a good guy, but he’s not a saint. She might ask someone else and he can’t have that. So he comes up with an idea for a Coopermoon instead of the honeymoon Amelia was supposed to go on.

What starts as a one-night stand turns into something much more as the two get to know each other. Cooper is a hero that has layers. He’s funny and a little much, but his loyalty to his family is one of the best things about him. Cooper seems like such a straight-forward hero, but man, does he have layers. He will do anything to protect his family, even help his criminal father behind his family’s back. He doesn’t like hiding it, but he has to save the vineyard that is everything to him. To the family. All the while, Amelia and Cooper get closer. Amelia gets Cooper in a way that few people do. I adored them together.

Again, I love that Claire Kingsley rarely does misunderstandings and/or miscommunication. If there is any miscommunication between her characters, it is quickly cleared up. I love that about this author. There aren’t pages and pages of miscommunication. Ugh.

This book. Holy shit. This book had everything. I loved it from start to finish. LOVED IT.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Miles Family

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Forbidden Miles by Claire Kingsley

Posted April 6, 2022 by Casee in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Forbidden Miles by Claire KingsleyReviewer: Casee
Forbidden Miles by Claire Kingsley
Narrator: Vikas Adam, Ava Erickson
Series: Miles Family #2
Also in this series: Broken Miles, Reckless Miles
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: November 18, 2019
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 316
Length: 8 hours and 6 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: five-stars

“You're not supposed to fall for your brothers best friend.”
Brynn Miles thought moving back to her family’s winery was a good idea. But when you’re the baby of the family, life can get complicated. Dating? Forget about it. Not with her three older brothers acting like human chastity belts.
To Chase Reilly, his best friend’s little sister has always been invisible. She’s so forbidden, he doesn’t let himself see her. Besides, she’s totally girlfriend material, and he doesn’t do the relationship thing.
Until the night Chase sees her. Really, truly sees her. And nothing will ever be the same.
Looking for love isn’t Brynn’s focus, and Chase is the one guy in the world she can’t fall for. He’s T-R-O-U-B-L-E. Untouchable. And just as forbidden as she is.
But once Chase set his sights on Brynn, there isn’t anything—or anyone—who’ll stop him.
Author’s note: A childhood crush. An irresistible attraction. The cutest scavenger hunt ever. And a surprisingly sweet hero who puts it all on the line when he falls head over heels for the one girl he can’t have.
The Miles Family series is best enjoyed in order.

Brynn Miles has always been off limits to Chase Reilly. She’s his best friend’s sister which put her in the “no touchy” category. He doesn’t let himself see Brynn, which has been working for him since she was young. That all changes in a heartbeat when he sees Brynn making out with her boyfriend at the local diner. Chase’s blinders are ripped off and he finally sees Brynn as the woman she is. Now he can’t stop thinking about Brynn and what he wants for her. He just has to convince her to take a chance on him.

Brynn is shocked when Chase actually talks to her. He’s always been around in her life, but on the periphery. Now he’s actually paying attention to her and she doesn’t know how she feels about it. She wants to believe the feeling he has for her are true, but there are obstacles. Namely her brother Cooper who is also Chase’s best friend. As for Chase, he’s never been more sure of anything than he is of his feelings for Brynn. They just have to figure out how to tell her family. Cooper was such an asshole in this book. I loved him in Broken Miles, but I wanted to junk punch him in this book. Until he isn’t. I have to say that he really redeemed himself by the end of the book.

Family is extremely prevalent in this book. I loved the dynamic within the family. Chase and Brynn’s story was such a sweet one. This book shows that love can prevail. I loved it.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5.

Miles Family

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,