Tag: Holly’s Reading

What Are You Reading? (564)

Posted May 14, 2021 by Casee in Features | 1 Comment

Casee

I’m still reading The Henchmen MC series by Jessica Gadizala. I’m reading Cash, which is the second book in the series. Cash is the VP of the Henchmen. I’d like to say that I’ll read this weekend, but things just keep coming up. It’s sad.

Holly

I read the Dominion Series by Juliette Cross this week. Darkest Heart (#1) and Coldest Fire (#3) were my favorites. Hardest Fall (#2) was the book I was most looking forward to reading and it was my least favorite. I’m not sure what I’m going to read next.

Rowena

I’m making my way through the Demon Slayer mangas and this week was for reading volumes 1 (where it all started) and volumes 9 & 10. I’m starting volume 11 and waiting for my copy of volumes 12, 14, and 15 to be delivered so that I can read those too. I’m also reading The One We’re Meant to Find by Joan He. I should finish those over the weekend for sure.

WHAT ARE YOU READING THIS WEEK? ANY NEW FAVORITES OR BOOKS THAT DROVE YOU CRAZY? SHARE!


Tagged: , , ,

What Are You Reading? (563)

Posted May 7, 2021 by Holly in Features | 4 Comments

Casee: I’m reading a series by Jessica Gadizala called The Henchmen MC. It’s very Kristen Ashley-esque with the “babe” and “bitches” talk every other page. It was eye-rolling at first, but just like Kristen Ashley, I got used to it. I read Reign, the first book in the series & am now reading Cash. There’s something like 20 books in the series so I’ll be busy for awhile.

I was listening to Wild Wind by Kristen Ashley. I still haven’t finished it and it’s been something like two months.

Holly: I finished Not Quite a Husband by Sherry Thomas, which I enjoyed, though there were some problematic themes. I read The Princess and the Pea and Beauty and the Beast by K.M. Shea, which are part of the Timeless Fairytales series. I enjoyed elements of both, but I don’t know that I’ll continue the series. While I liked the individual stories, I’m not really interested in the over-arching plotline.

I re-read Honor’s Splendour and The Wedding by Julie Garwood and listened to How to Flirt with a Naked Werewolf by Molly Harper for the second time. All three are so good. Definitely worth revisiting.

I read Darkest Heart by Juliette Cross, the first book in the Dominion series. I believe it’s part of another series, but I don’t feel like I missed anything by starting here. I really liked the world and the romance. I immediately started the second book, Hardest Fall, which features two characters I’m very curious about.

Rowena: I’ve discovered anime and right now, I’m all about Demonslayer. I watched the first season and then the movie that just released a couple of weeks ago. I’m loving everything about this world and the characters. I’m super curious to see where the creators take Tanjiro and his crew. I’m telling you, once Tanjiro and his crew finish their training, it’s over for those demon bitches. Team Rengoku! I love this anime so much that I started reading the manga’s. I read books 7 and 8 this week and now I’m reading book 9. I’m starting the storyline that follows the movie and I’m super excited!! I have books 10 and 11 lined up once I’m finished and I plan to jump into those right away.

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , ,

What Are You Reading? (562)

Posted April 23, 2021 by Holly in Features | 4 Comments

Things have been pretty crazy for us Book Bingers, and we fell a little behind. Today we’re playing catch-up.

Holly: Since last time, I finished Shield-Maiden: Under the Hunter’s Moon and Shield-Maiden: Under the Thunder Moon by Melanie Karsak. I ended up really enjoying the series. A key plot-line from the first book was wrapped up here, and I plan to hold off on reading any more in the series for now. Hot as Hades by Alisha Rai was super wonderful. This is the Hades/Persephone story I’ve been waiting for. I wish there had been more. I read Wicked Wish by Veronica Douglas and Linsey Hall, a new to me duo. I enjoyed the book as a whole, though I did have some minor gripes with it. I plan to read further in the series.

I started the Dragon Dojo Brotherhood series by Olivia Ash without realizing it features a “reverse-harem” (a term I hate). Reign of Dragons, book 1, was really great. A little long and repetitive in places, but I really enjoyed the story and the world-building. Fate of Dragons, the second book, felt more like a placeholder novel. I didn’t dislike it, but nothing really happened. I do plan to continue the series at some point.

I listened to the Half-Life of Marie Curie, an Audible play by Lauren Gunderson. It was very well done for being so short. I loved it. I also listened to Snow Day by Julie Lipson, another Audible production. It was a cute short story. I liked it. I enjoyed Pause by Kylie Scott, which features a character we met in Repeat, but it wasn’t as good as I expected it to be based on my unholy love of Repeat. It was good, but not great.

I DNF’d Apprentice of Magic by K.M. Shea. The story was mostly just boring and I was really frustrated with the heroine and how she pretended to be “sweet and nice” all the time. From a review I read, it sounds like that doesn’t change. Frankly, I wasn’t invested enough in either the story or characters to continue on. I’m currently reading Not Quite a Husband by Sherry Thomas for my book club Zoom meeting this weekend.

Rowena: Happy Friday, everyone! I’m reading my second book of the week and I’m ridiculously happy about that. I just finished Wild Sign by Patricia Briggs and enjoyed that one a lot. The case that they were working on was interesting to me and everything that happens with everyone had me gripped with anticipation so I’m really looking forward to where the series goes from here…especially after that ending. Just..wow.

I started Not Quite a Husband by Sherry Thomas so I’m hoping to get that done before tomorrow cause my book club meets on Sunday to discuss it. So far, so good on that one too.

After I finish Not Quite a Husband by Sherry Thomas, I’ll be jumping into my May review pile of Just Last Night by Mhairi McFarlane and The Ones We’re Meant to Find by Joan He. Wish me luck!

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , ,

What Are You Reading? (561)

Posted April 2, 2021 by Casee in Features | 2 Comments

Casee

This has been a good reading week for me. I discovered a new author which is always fun. Her name is Cassandra Robbins and I’m reading her Disciples series which is about an MC. I’m a sucker for MC romances. I’m reading Atone, which is the second book in the series.

I’ve also been listening to Kristen Ashley audiobooks this week. I finished Wild Fire and am now listening to Wild Wind.

Holly

I finished The Last Warrior by Jennifer Ashley. It was just okay. A little show in the first half. The second half was better, but it will never be my favorite of the series. I doubt I’ll re-read it. I read Shield-Maiden: Under the Howling Moon by Melanie Karsak, which was wonderful. I really enjoyed it. Fans of Vikings and The Last Kingdom will enjoy it. I’m currently reading the second book, Shield-Maiden: Under the Hunter’s Moon. I’m not loving it quite as much, but I’m only about 30% in, so I hope it gets better.

I listened to Sweep of the Blade by Ilona Andrews. I love that story like whoa, but the narrator was terrible. The voices she used for the vampires were awful. I also re-read Sweet Dreams by Kristen Ashley.

WHAT ARE YOU READING THIS WEEK? ANY NEW FAVORITES OR BOOKS THAT DROVE YOU CRAZY? SHARE!


Tagged: , , ,

What Are You Reading? (560)

Posted March 26, 2021 by Casee in Features | 6 Comments

Casee

I’m reading a book called Tattered by Devney Perry. It’s a second chance romance which is a trope that I really love. I also read the Closer to You series by A.L. Jackson. Holy crap, but that series packed an emotional punch. It was hard to move on after I read the series because I couldn’t stop thinking about it. Those are the books that become the greats.

I finally got back into audiobooks this week. I’m listening to Wild Fire by Kristen Ashley then plan to move to Wild Wind.

Holly

I didn’t read much this week. Things have been kind of crazy and I had a hard time focusing. I listened to One Fell Sweep by Ilona Andrews and re-read Tiger Magic and Tiger Striped by Jennifer Ashley. I’m almost finished with The Last Warrior. I’m not sure what I’ll read next.

Rowena

I only read one book this past week and it was The Switch by Beth O’Leary. I hadn’t finished it by the time my monthly Zoom call with my book friends started but I did finish it up earlier this week and then I immediately jumped into Wild Sign by Patricia Briggs but then I also started Haikyu, a volleyball anime and I never went back to Wild Sign but I’m on season 2 of Haikyu. I’m hoping to get back to Wild Sign over the weekend but we shall see. What I’ve read so far has been good so I know I’m going to enjoy it. Also, I enjoyed The Switch by Beth O’Leary more than my book friends did.

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , ,