Series: Scandalous Highlanders

What Are You Reading? (+ Suzanne Enoch Giveaway)

Posted August 23, 2019 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 8 Comments

Casee: I’ve been reading some good books this week. I read Blood Truth by J.R. Ward and More of You by A.L. Jackson. Those were both pretty good reads. I especially enjoyed the A.L. Jackson. I’m now reading Sapphire Flames by Ilona Andrews. I really didn’t think I would like Catalina as much as I do. That makes me really happy. Catalina is a badass, almost as badass as Nevada.

I’ve been listening to so many audiobooks, it’s crazy. I’ve listened to five (5!) Meghan March books. I’m currently listening to Sinful Empire, which is the third book in the trilogy. I also finished Beyond Scandal and Desire by Lorraine Heath. It was the book that Holly and Rowena gave me for our Summer Reading Challenge. After I finish the March book, I’m going to listen to Marrying Winterborne by Lisa Kleypas. I’m excited

Holly: I didn’t get much read this week. I finished Marry Me by Jo Goodman for our Summer Reading Challenge, which was sweet. It started out kind of slow but once it picked up I really fell into it. I finished listening to Trade Me by Courtney Milan and then The Cursed by Alyssa Day, which I didn’t love. It was just okay. I also read Quiet Man by Kristen Ashley, Mo and Lottie’s novella. I really liked Mo and Lottie together. I reread a couple of books (Mystery Man and Complicated by Kristen Ashley and Repeat by Kylie Scott) and that’s pretty much it.

I ended up DNF’ing Hope’s Folly by Linnea Sinclair. We agreed we wouldn’t DNF our Summer reading Challenge books, but it’s the 3rd book in the series and I was hopelessly lost. Casee and I agreed I’d try Gabriel’s Ghost instead, which is book 1. I plan to read that this weekend. I just started Kill the Queen by Jennifer Estep

Rowena: I’m still in training mode at work, trying to learn my new position and there’s a lot of stuff to remember and I’m busy from the time I get to the office to the time that I leave. By the time that I get home, I’m too exhausted to read much of anything. Also? I’ve been spending time with Caiden, who is in town for the week to hang out with us. I did pick up and put down some books but nothing stuck with me until I re-read Sapphire Flames by Ilona Andrews, which I adored all over again. I finished that whole book, so that’s something. Right now, I’m reading Kill the Queen by Jennifer Estep and Coming Up Roses by Staci Hart. Wish me luck!

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Suzanne Enoch Giveaway)Rogue with a Brogue by Suzanne Enoch
Series: Scandalous Highlanders #2
Also in this series: Rogue with a Brogue (Scandalous Highlanders, #2), Mad, Bad, and Dangerous in Plaid (Scandalous Highlanders, #3), Some Like it Scot (Scandalous Highlanders, #4)

Publication Date: July 29, 2014
Format: Print
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 333
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

A Rogue For Every Lady

London, 1817: Stuck in a Mayfair ballroom, thanks to his lovestruck brother, Highlander Arran MacLawry wants nothing but a bit of distraction from an arranged betrothal—and a clever auburn-haired lass in a vixen's mask promises just that . . . until he discovers that she's the granddaughter of the Campbell, chief of clan MacLawry's longtime rival. Despite their families' grudging truce, falling for fiery Mary Campbell is a notion too outlandish even for this Highlander…

The Thrill Of The Forbidden

Raised on tales of savage MacLawrys, Mary is stunned to realize the impressively strapping man in the fox's mask is one of them. Surely the enemy shouldn't have such a broad chest, and such a seductive brogue? Not that her curiosity matters—any dalliance between them is strictly forbidden, and she's promised to another. But with the crackling spark between them ready to catch flame, love is worth every risk…

What Are You Reading: Rogue with a Brogue

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Suzanne Enoch Giveaway)

Posted August 24, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 14 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I am reading Cross Breed by Lora Leigh. This is Cassie Sinclair’s book. Part Wolf, part Coyote, part psychic, Cassie can pretty much do anything. She’s bad ass. I’m really liking it because she’s such a strong heroine. I’m also really liking the hero. Not too many heroes would do, but this one definitely gives her a run for her money. Of course there are things that have annoyed me, but I’ve (mostly) been able to move past them.

I’m also listening to Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone on audio. I spend a lot of time in the car commuting and I’m so glad I decided to listen to this book. I’m really liking it. I am just about halfway through it. The narrator is pretty darn good, which is huge.

Holly: My reading is all over the place right now. I’m still bouncing around from one book to another. I finished The Duke with the Dragon Tattoo by Kerrigan Byrne. I really loved the first half, but the second became bogged down by the flowery prose and focus on the internal angst of the characters. I also finished listening to Wanderlust by Lauren Blakely. I really enjoyed the overall story and the narrators were so wonderful (Richard Armitage is one!). I highly recommend the audiobook. At Tracy’s recommendation I read Lumberjack Werebear by T.S. Joyce. It was a light, pretty funny PNR. Perfect for cleansing my palate between reads. Also because of Tracy, I ended up rereading Saving Grace by Julie Garwood. I discovered this past weekend that Tracy had never read it. How is that even possible, you ask? I really don’t know. But not to worry, she read it and loved it.

I’m currently reading When a Duke Loves a Woman by Lorraine Heath. I’m only a few chapters in, but so far it’s really good.

Rowena: This week was a pretty good week in reading for me. I finished Two Weeks Notice by Whitney G, which I didn’t like nearly as much as Ames did and then I finished listening to When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon, which was super cute. I did a quick re-read of Castles by Julie Garwood, which was lovely and due to some discussion on an online book club that I’m in. After that, I read Under Control by Shannon Stacey and that was yet another fabulous straight up contemporary that I enjoyed. Now I’m listening to Wanderlust by Lauren Blakely and reading The Governess Game by Tessa Dare. I’m not that far into either book but I’m enjoying them so far and am hopeful they’ll continue to be great reads.

Happy reading, everyone!

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Suzanne Enoch Giveaway)Rogue with a Brogue (Scandalous Highlanders, #2) by Suzanne Enoch
Series: Scandalous Highlanders #2
Also in this series: Rogue with a Brogue (Scandalous Highlanders, #2), Mad, Bad, and Dangerous in Plaid (Scandalous Highlanders, #3), Some Like it Scot (Scandalous Highlanders, #4)
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: July 29, 2014
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 333
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

A Rogue For Every Lady

London, 1817: Stuck in a Mayfair ballroom, thanks to his lovestruck brother, Highlander Arran MacLawry wants nothing but a bit of distraction from an arranged betrothal—and a clever auburn-haired lass in a vixen's mask promises just that . . . until he discovers that she's the granddaughter of the Campbell, chief of clan MacLawry's longtime rival. Despite their families' grudging truce, falling for fiery Mary Campbell is a notion too outlandish even for this Highlander…

The Thrill Of The Forbidden

Raised on tales of savage MacLawrys, Mary is stunned to realize the impressively strapping man in the fox's mask is one of them. Surely the enemy shouldn't have such a broad chest, and such a seductive brogue? Not that her curiosity matters—any dalliance between them is strictly forbidden, and she's promised to another. But with the crackling spark between them ready to catch flame, love is worth every risk…

What Are You Reading: Rogue with a Brogue

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Guest Review: Some Like it Scot by Suzanne Enoch

Posted October 30, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Some Like it Scot by Suzanne EnochReviewer: Tracy
Some Like it Scot (Scandalous Highlanders, #4) by Suzanne Enoch
Series: Scandalous Highlanders #4
Also in this series: Rogue with a Brogue (Scandalous Highlanders, #2), Mad, Bad, and Dangerous in Plaid (Scandalous Highlanders, #3)
Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks
Publication Date: October 6, 2015
Format: eARC
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 368
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Munro MacLawry has always lived up to his nickname "Bear." Strong and brawny, he's known in his clan to be fiercely protective. Sadly for him, each of his siblings becomes "less highlander" as they get married, and Bear is left rowdy and alone with no one to protect. That is, until a routine hunt leads to the most alluring of creatures…

Catriona MacColl doesn't care to amuse the brash, strong, and sexy highlander she stumbles upon in the woods. She's too busy hiding with her sister from marriage into English society. Already well-equipped with a bull's-eye shot, she doesn't need a protector, no matter how badly her body burns for him. But as Cat's boyish nature gives way to her more feminine desires, she'll have to stop fighting the tide and listen to her heart…

Catriona MacColl is trying to save her 19 year old sister from marrying a man 42 years her senior. She left her home on the Isle of Islay and fled to London to save her. Yes, Cat has her own secrets but those she’s keeping close to the vest. They flee and find themselves on MacLawry land and hide out in a collapsed house.

Munro MacLawry is out hunting a deer when he sees someone else shoot it before he can! He’s upset but intrigued when he discovers that the shooter is a woman. He follows her for a time and is shocked when she ends up at some ruins on his brother’s land. Cat tries to get him to leave and never come back but he’s too interested in the mystery redheaded woman.

Munro finds himself out at Haldane Abbey (the ruins) every day annoying the heck out of Catriona. He soon discovers Elizabeth the sister as well and decided that he’s going to help them. He starts building doors and fixing the roof for them but he knows it’s because he wants Cat in his bed. The problem with that is that Munro knows that it goes deeper than just getting her in his bed.

Munro doesn’t want anyone to find out about the ladies hiding out and has given his word to them that he won’t tell anyone but soon his busybody family does find out about Elizabeth and she’s soon living with them in the manor house – with all of his family assuming that this is the woman that Munro has chosen to marry – when it is, in fact, her sister that he loves.

I just adore Suzanne Enoch books. I’m not sure what it is about them but they all speak to me in a way that I pick them up and don’t put them down until I’m finished. I want the books to go on and on when I’m reading them even though I want to know what happens at the end. She writes wonderful historical romance and I can’t get enough.

Munro seemed like a nice guy in previous books in the series but I wasn’t sure how I would enjoy his own book. I shouldn’t have been worried. He managed to find a woman who was his kind of woman – soft and nice but tough as well with a backbone to match. He needed that kind of woman and I was so happy when he found her.

Cat was such a nurturer even though she didn’t see herself that way. She had gotten a raw deal from her father when he chose to raise her as a boy and never let her wear a dress. Though it hurt her once she was grown and see the damage it did she also saw, after meeting Munro, that she was formed just the way he wanted her to be and he wouldn’t have changed a thing.

The book was sweet and sad but also joyful. The family tensions run high in this one and had me on the edge of my seat. If you enjoy Enoch’s books this is one that shouldn’t be missed.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Scandalous Highlanders

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Mad, Bad, and Dangerous in Plaid by Suzanne Enoch

Posted July 8, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Mad, Bad, and Dangerous in Plaid by Suzanne EnochReviewer: Tracy
Mad, Bad, and Dangerous in Plaid (Scandalous Highlanders, #3) by Suzanne Enoch
Series: Scandalous Highlanders #3
Also in this series: Rogue with a Brogue (Scandalous Highlanders, #2), Some Like it Scot (Scandalous Highlanders, #4)
Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks
Publication Date: March 3rd 2015
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 352
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

She used to be mad about him.
In Mad, Bad, and Dangerous in Plaid by New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Enoch, high-spirited Rowena MacLawry has come to the Highlands after a spectacularly successful debut Season in London, and has made it painfully clear that she's outgrown her girlhood obsession with Lachlan MacTier. That's just fine with him, as he never had any intention of marrying the lass anyway! Yet how can he ignore the fact that the once rough and tumble Winnie has become a very fashionable-and incredibly desirable-young woman...And now he's got it bad...Brawny, rugged Lachlan is nothing like the aristocratic English gentlemen who pursued Winnie-with a passion-in London. Three months away was more than enough to show her a world infinitely more glamorous than the untamed Scottish Highlands-and her beloved childhood crush. But now that she's decided to find a prospective husband with a bit more polish, could Lachlan finally appreciate her charms? And is it remotely possible to ignore the wild attraction she feels for him?
"One of my very favorite authors." -Julia Quinn

Three months ago Rowena, who had just turned 18, ran away from home. She ran to London because she wanted to be a lady and be proper and do all the wonderful things she’d never gotten to do by roaming the highland hills. She was also determined to forget about Lachlan MacTier, part of her clan and intimate friend of the family, who she’d had a crush on since she could figure out what a crush was. He was always very kind and patient with her but he never let her get the idea that he wanted her back. He saw her as a sister and that was it. She got frustrated with her unrequited love and decided that almost any other guy but Lachlan would do.

Now that she’s spent a few months in London she knows that that’s the kind of life she wants for herself. She returns home for her brother Ranulf’s wedding but brings more than a few friends and admirers from Mayfair with her.

Ranulf knows that Rowena has been after Lachlan for years and wants to know for certain, from both of them, that they don’t want the other. They each firmly state that they do not want to be together. Except…then Lachlan has a change of heart. He’d always loved her but he starts seeing her as a woman rather than a young girl and pest. He starts to fall in love with her and decides he’s going to marry her. He has a time of it convincing Rowena but he finally get the job done. The problem? Rowena’s brother has already consented to allow another man to marry her and he will not be changing his mind.

There were so many things that I liked about this book. I loved the MacLawry family. Despite the fact that Ranulf and Rowena weren’t on the same page about her marriage I could still see the love they had for each other, along with their brothers Arran and Bear. This family could have been so permanently messed up because of their father’s murder and mother’s subsequent suicide but Ranulf really kept them together and did a fabulous job of making them pretty great human beings.

Now Rowena is what I would typically called the spoiled baby of the family. Not only that but she was a girl so she was humored and cosseted and that did her no favors. Of course being raised by the male species she was also quite good at being a rough and tumble highlands lass. I did think that she took her desire to be a “lady” a bit too far but I was happy that Lachlan could finally make her see how wonderful her home was even if that didn’t include all the fancy stuff that London had to offer.

Lachlan was…an idiot. Oh not throughout the entire book but I must say that the fact that it took him so damned long to see Rowena as a woman was not a point in his favor. I had to admire him, however, as once he did figure himself and his feelings out he was pretty darned aggressive in his determination to not let her marry another man. I really did like his character, despite his idiocy. lol

Another thing I really liked about this story was the highland games that they included. Having all the MacLawry clan as well as all of a ton of other clans gathered for the wedding and putting on the games was a really cool addition to the book.

So far I’ve really liked this series and I can’t wait to see what Enoch has in store for us with Bear’s romance.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Scandalous Highlanders

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Rogue with a Brogue by Suzanne Enoch

Posted July 29, 2014 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Rogue with a Brogue by Suzanne EnochReviewer: Tracy
Rogue with a Brogue (Scandalous Highlanders, #2) by Suzanne Enoch
Series: Scandalous Highlanders #2
Also in this series: Mad, Bad, and Dangerous in Plaid (Scandalous Highlanders, #3), Some Like it Scot (Scandalous Highlanders, #4)
Publisher: Macmillan
Publication Date: July 29th 2014
Format: eARC
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 333
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

A ROGUE FOR EVERY LADY
London, 1817: Stuck in a Mayfair ballroom thanks to his lovestruck brother, highlander Arran MacLawry wants nothing but a bit of distraction from an arranged betrothal-and a clever auburn-haired lass in a vixen's mask promises just that...until he discovers that she's the granddaughter of the Campbell, chief of clan MacLawry's longtime rival. Despite their families' grudging truce, falling for fiery Mary Campbell is a notion too outlandish even for this Highlander...

THE THRILL OF THE FORBIDDEN
Raised on tales of savage MacLawrys, Mary is stunned to realize the impressively strapping man in the fox's mask is one of them. Surely the enemy shouldn't have such a broad chest, and such a seductive brogue? Not that her curiosity matters-any dalliance between them is strictly forbidden, and she's promised to another. But with the crackling spark between them ready to ignite, love is worth every risk...

Arran MacLawry is a man who has the Highlands in his blood. When his brother seems to be falling for an English woman, Arran heads to London to stop it. He’s too late to stop anything, unfortunately. Now he’s in England, the last place he wants to be, watching his brother, the Laird of his clan, seeming to become more English every day. Arran’s fed up with his brother and decides he won’t play whatever games his brother is playing.

Arran is also trying to escape any young English marriage minded debs that want to get close to him. He especially wants to stay away from one woman in particular and when he tries to escape her attentions at a masquerade ball he ends up dancing with someone who sparks his interest. The woman is dressed as a fox, as is he, and he is fascinated by her. He finds out later that she is Mary Campbell – the granddaughter of his clans rival. Though the Campbell’s and MacLawry’s are in a truce at the moment neither clan expects it to last and each tries to make connections with other clans to back them up in case of a break in the truce. Unfortunately Arran and Mary are key parts to those deals as they’re each to marry…not each other.

The pair form a friendship that should never be. They find themselves getting closer and closer and Arran finally admits to himself he’s in love. Mary’s not sure what’s happening but she knows she wants nothing more than to be with Arran. The question is…how can these two star crossed lovers be together when their families want nothing more than to kill each other? If either family finds out, the couple will be ripped apart forever. Arran obviously doesn’t want that to happen so he makes a plan to save them both.

This was a wonderful second book in the Scandalous Highlanders series. Arran was definitely scandalous, that’s for sure. He defied his brother at almost every turn and then went and got himself attached to a Campbell no less! The scandal that ensues causes both families to make rash decisions and Arran and Mary are the two that end up paying the price. I loved Arran’s personality and strength and I adored Mary’s staunch belief in herself as a highland lass – even though she was raised in England.

The story was engaging and intriguing almost from the first page. I was taken with how sweet Arran was with Mary even when he was telling himself that he needed to stay away from her. They were so very perfect for each other that I wanted nothing more than for them to be together from the first moment they met. Of course like any story of rivaling families that’s not how it works, as we all know. I thought that Enoch did a lovely job of giving the characters depth. These weren’t shallow youths who had no idea what was what. They each knew what they wanted, didn’t deny it, knew their families would do anything to stop it and went after it full force anyway. I loved that.

This has been a wonderful series so far and I can’t wait to see where Enoch takes us in the next book.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Scandalous Highlanders

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,