Series: Psy/Changeling Trinity

Featured Review: Alpha Night by Nalini Singh

Posted May 28, 2020 by Rowena in Reviews | 3 Comments

Featured Review: Alpha Night by Nalini SinghReviewer: Casee, Holly, and Rowena
Alpha Night by Nalini Singh
Series: Psy/Changeling Trinity #4, Psy/Changeling #19
Also in this series: Silver Silence, Silver Silence, Silver Silence, Ocean Light, Ocean Light , Wolf Rain , Wolf Rain, Mine to Possess, Hostage to Pleasure, The Magical Christmas Cat , Kiss of Snow, Tangle of Need, Slave to Sensation , Wild Invitation, Heart of Obsidian, Shield of Winter, Shield of Winter, Visions of Heat, Mine to Possess, Caressed By Ice, Branded by Fire, Blaze of Memory, Mine to Possess, Hostage to Pleasure, Hostage to Pleasure, Shards of Hope, Shards of Hope, Heart of Obsidian, Caressed By Ice, Branded by Fire, Blaze of Memory, Play of Passion, Allegiance of Honor, Kiss of Snow, Tangle of Need, Shield of Winter, Shards of Hope, Allegiance of Honor, Allegiance of Honor, Wild Embrace, Wild Embrace, Wild Embrace, Tangle of Need, Caressed By Ice
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: June 9, 2020
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Point-of-View: Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 400
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2020 Goodreads Challenge, Holly's 2020 Goodreads Challenge, Rowena's 2020 Goodreads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh returns to her breathtaking Psy-Changeling Trinity series with a mating that shouldn’t exist…

Alpha wolf Selenka Durev’s devotion to her pack is equaled only by her anger at anyone who would harm those under her care. That currently includes the empaths who’ve flowed into her city for a symposium that is a security nightmare, a powder keg just waiting for a match.

Ethan Night is an Arrow who isn’t an Arrow. Numb and disengaged from the world, he’s loyal only to himself. Assigned as part of the security force at a world-first symposium, he carries a dark agenda tied to the power-hungry and murderous Consortium. Then violence erupts and Ethan finds himself crashing into the heart and soul of an alpha wolf.

Mating at first sight is a myth, a fairytale. Yet Selenka’s wolf is resolute: Ethan Night, broken Arrow and a man capable of obsessive devotion, is the mate it has chosen. Even if the mating bond is full of static and not quite as it should be. Because Selenka’s new mate has a terrible secret, his mind surging with a power that is a creature of madness and death…

Holly: I haven’t loved the last few releases in this series, but I really adored this book. I loved the dynamic between Selenka and Ethan, and I really loved Selenka’s pack.

Casee: I adored this book as well. Like you, I haven’t particularly enjoyed the last few releases. This book was more than a pleasant surprise.

Rowena: I think I enjoyed the last few releases more than you guys and I really liked this one as well. I’ve been in a weird reading mood this past week but buckling down with this book was good for me.

Casee: One of the things I liked was that just because Selenka and Ethan were instantly mated, they weren’t just happy-happy right away.

Rowena: I liked the instant mating thing and I really, really loved Ethan and Selenka. I don’t think I’ve ever read the instant mating thing before, have you guys?

Holly: I know we haven’t seen the instant mating thing from Nalini Singh before. I thought that aspect of the book was really well done. Like Casee said, they weren’t immediately all happy happy just because they were fated mates. They had to learn each other. But I liked that the instant mating made them immediately commit. It wasn’t a matter of if they got together, but how they made a future work. The way Ethan was filled up by Selenka was well written.

Casee: I loved Selenka’s pack. Everyone from the Lieutenants to the Healer to the cubs. I did feel really bad for Selenka because of her relationship with her father. He was such an ass.

Holly: I did struggle with the pacing in the early part of the book. I felt like I got dropped into the middle of a story at first. It took probably a good quarter of the book before I remembered details from earlier in the series and felt like I knew what was what.

Casee: I felt the same way. The information about Selenka’s pack was like a million books ago. It took me a bit to remember as well.

Rowena: I didn’t prepare for this read and it feels like the last book in this series came out so long ago so, like Holly, it took me a while to catch up on who was who again and what was what. Once I caught up, things really picked up for me. I enjoyed seeing everyone again, seeing our friends from the DarkRiver and all of our Psy friends.

Casee: Did you both figure out his designation?

Holly: Yes, I figured out his designation early on. I liked how his abilities morphed based on his upbringing.

Rowena: I thought Ehtan would end up being what he was and I thought it was a neat spin on that designation. He’s so different from the others that I thought it was interesting. I liked seeing him become friends with people, I really loved seeing him form bonds outside of Selenka’s pack and I really loved how fiercely loyal Selenka’s pack became to Ethan, right from the jump. There was no questioning Selenka’s authority or Selenka’s mate, there was just a ready acceptance that I felt Ethan really needed.

Nalini Singh is really good at complicated relationships and seeing the different kinds of relationships in this story was just great. From Ethan and Selenka to the other mated couples but also Mercy and Ethan and hell, even Nomi and Blaise. They’re all different kinds of relationships and I thought each of them was interesting in their own ways.

Holly: I agree, Singh is really good at complicated relationships. I love seeing Ethan navigate his way to forgiveness with the other Arrows, and how things circled back around with Selenka’s father.

Casee: I also enjoyed seeing his relationships with people in the pack develop, as well as with the Arrows. Ethan has never trusted anyone for good reason. I am curious to see what happens when Ming LeBon shows back up.

Rowena: I really liked this book and am looking forward to seeing where Singh takes up from here after what Kaleb and Aden do at the end of this one. Shit just got real and complicated, real fast….and I’m here for it. Who is the next couple, do you guys know? I give this book 4.25 out of 5 stars, what about you guys?

Holly: I’m looking forward to more from this pack, and I definitely want to see where she takes things after the events at the end of this book. I don’t think we’ve heard yet who the next couple will be, but I’ll be here for it.

I’m giving this 4 out of 5.

Casee: I really hope there are more books coming out from this pack. I really enjoyed Selenka’s relationship with Valentin too. Freaking bears. I just generally enjoyed the entire dynamic of this book.

I’m giving this a 4.25 out of 5.

Final Grades

Casee: 4.25 out of 5
Holly: 4 out of 5
Rowena: 4.25 out of 5

Psy-Changeling

Psy-Changeling Trinity

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Review: Wolf Rain by Nalini Singh

Posted July 25, 2019 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Wolf Rain by Nalini SinghReviewer: Rowena
Wolf Rain by Nalini Singh
Series: Psy/Changeling Trinity #3
Also in this series: Silver Silence, Silver Silence, Silver Silence, Ocean Light, Ocean Light , Wolf Rain , Alpha Night
Publisher: Penguin, Berkley
Publication Date: June 4, 2019
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 416
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh takes us on a new adventure in this next novel of the Psy-Changeling Trinity series…

The end of Silence was supposed to create a better world for future generations. But trust is broken, and the alliance between Psy, Changeling, and human is thin. The problems that led to Silence are back in full force. Because Silence fixed nothing, just hid the problems.

This time, the Psy have to find a real answer to their problems–if one exists. Or their race will soon go extinct in a cascade of violence. The answer begins with an empath who is attuned to monsters–and who is going to charm a wolf into loving her despite his own demons.

Wolf Rain is the third book in the Psy-Changeling Trinity and we’re back in the SnowDancer’s Den as this story features Hawke’s Lieutenant Alexei and the E Psy that he saves from captivity, Memory. Memory was kidnapped when she was just 8 years old and when she was rescued by Alexei, she was 23. That’s a long time to be held a prisoner in a tiny bunker hidden on SnowDancer land.

Once she’s rescued, Alexei and Memory become close as they try to run down Memory’s kidnapper and while Alexei and his pack are running leads down, Memory is taken to the compound where she joins a bunch of E Psy’s like her that need training on how to use their powers. Sascha comes in to help Memory with her mind shields so that if she never runs across her kidnapper, she’d be better equipped at fighting him on an even battlefield. All the while, these two are fighting an attraction that is fast overwhelming both of them. Alexei comes from a family of rogue wolves and he won’t put his pack, or anyone else in danger by taking a mate. I really enjoyed seeing the way that Nalini Singh tackles all of Alexei’s and Memory’s problems. She kind of just pulls all these strings together until the characters figure their shit out and I thought this story was well written.

One of the things that I loved about this book, and this series, really, is that we see so many of our favorite characters from the previous books play active roles in these newer ones. I loved that Memory had to work with Kaleb Krychek and Ivy Jane, along with Sascha and the other E’s to take down the bad guys. I also liked seeing our SnowDancer and DarkRiver friends. The entire time that I was reading this book, it felt like a warm hug from friends that you haven’t seen in a long time but are so happy to see again.

The romance between Alexei and Memory was a lot of fun. I loved seeing Memory come into her own. I loved seeing her fight to get back on her feet after so many years in captivity. I really loved seeing her and Alexei butt heads, fall in love and then figure out a way to be together. I loved that Mercy was hellbent on fighting for Alexei and when all was said and done, Alexei felt the exact same way about Memory. Memory’s fashion sense made me pause because homegirl loved wearing all of the colors in one outfit but other than that, I adored her. My heart hurt for Alexei’s situation and I was so happy when they worked together on trying to figure out if he’d go rogue just like his family did.

This is another great paranormal romance with characters that will light up your world so if you’re in the mood for action, steamy romance and lots of fun characters, this is the book for you.

Final Grade

4.25 out of 5

Psy-Changeling Trinity

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Wolf Rain by Nalini Singh (no spoilers)

Posted May 27, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Wolf Rain by Nalini Singh (no spoilers)Reviewer: Holly
Wolf Rain by Nalini Singh
Series: Psy/Changeling Trinity #3, Psy/Changeling #18
Also in this series: Silver Silence, Silver Silence, Silver Silence, Ocean Light, Ocean Light , Wolf Rain, Alpha Night, Mine to Possess, Hostage to Pleasure, The Magical Christmas Cat , Kiss of Snow, Tangle of Need, Slave to Sensation , Wild Invitation, Heart of Obsidian, Shield of Winter, Shield of Winter, Visions of Heat, Mine to Possess, Caressed By Ice, Branded by Fire, Blaze of Memory, Mine to Possess, Hostage to Pleasure, Hostage to Pleasure, Shards of Hope, Shards of Hope, Heart of Obsidian, Caressed By Ice, Branded by Fire, Blaze of Memory, Play of Passion, Allegiance of Honor, Kiss of Snow, Tangle of Need, Shield of Winter, Shards of Hope, Allegiance of Honor, Allegiance of Honor, Wild Embrace, Wild Embrace, Wild Embrace, Tangle of Need, Caressed By Ice
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: June 4, 2019
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance
Pages: 416
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars


New York Times
bestselling author Nalini Singh takes us on a new adventure in this next novel of the Psy-Changeling Trinity series…

The end of Silence was supposed to create a better world for future generations. But trust is broken, and the alliance between Psy, Changeling, and human is thin. The problems that led to Silence are back in full force. Because Silence fixed nothing, just hid the problems.

This time, the Psy have to find a real answer to their problems–if one exists. Or their race will soon go extinct in a cascade of violence. The answer begins with an empath who is attuned to monsters–and who is going to charm a wolf into loving her despite his own demons.

Wolf Rain by Nalini Singh, the 3rd book in the Psy/Changeling Trinity series, brings us back to Snow Dancer territory. I don’t want to give any spoilers, so this review is short.

Snow Dancer lieutenant Alexei is out on patrol when he feels something..off. After a bit of investigation he finds an Empath hidden away in a bunker inside Snow Dancer territory. A bunker he – and no one else – knew existed. Inside he finds Memory, a woman who has clearly been kept captive for some time. He helps her escape and takes her to the pack, but Memory is damaged. Alexei knows an E when he sees one, but Memory doesn’t behave like the other E’s he knows. Trying to discover who’s been holding her captive, while helping her heal is trying enough. He’s also dealing with the betrayal and loss of his brother, and he’s in no place to be in a relationship. Not even with a sexy E he can’t stop thinking about.

Wolf Rain is probably my favorite Psy-Changeling book since Heart of Obsidian. I loved Alexei and how he and Memory dealt with one another. Her trust in him was sweet, and I loved how they challenged each other. I did struggle a bit with the quick timeline of her recovery. I would have thought she’d need more time to deal with her past and the way she was held captive. I laughed out loud several times while reading, and my heart melted other times.

The mystery behind Memory’s Empath abilities and why she was held captive was really well done. I was drawn in from the start.

Nalini Singh is a master at pulling at my emotions. I laughed, I got teary eyed, my heart melted. Wolf Rain was a wonderful addition to an already wonderful series.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Psy-Changeling Trinity

Psy-Changeling

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Sunday Spotlight: Wolf Rain by Nalini Singh

Posted May 26, 2019 by Holly in Features, Giveaways | 5 Comments

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

As everyone knows, we love Nalini Singh’s Psy/Changeling series. We get super excited for each new release, and this one is no different. Wolf Rain is the 4th book in the Psy/Changeling Trinity series and brings us back to the Snow-Dancer pack. There isn’t a lot I can say about this book without spoiling anything, so I’ll just tell you it was wonderful and I loved it.

Sunday Spotlight: Wolf Rain by Nalini SinghWolf Rain by Nalini Singh
Series: Psy/Changeling Trinity #3, Psy/Changeling #18
Also in this series: Silver Silence, Silver Silence, Silver Silence, Ocean Light, Ocean Light , Wolf Rain , Wolf Rain, Alpha Night, Mine to Possess, Hostage to Pleasure, The Magical Christmas Cat , Kiss of Snow, Tangle of Need, Slave to Sensation , Wild Invitation, Heart of Obsidian, Shield of Winter, Shield of Winter, Visions of Heat, Mine to Possess, Caressed By Ice, Branded by Fire, Blaze of Memory, Mine to Possess, Hostage to Pleasure, Hostage to Pleasure, Shards of Hope, Shards of Hope, Heart of Obsidian, Caressed By Ice, Branded by Fire, Blaze of Memory, Play of Passion, Allegiance of Honor, Kiss of Snow, Tangle of Need, Shield of Winter, Shards of Hope, Allegiance of Honor, Allegiance of Honor, Wild Embrace, Wild Embrace, Wild Embrace, Tangle of Need, Caressed By Ice
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: June 4, 2019
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 416
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books


New York Times
bestselling author Nalini Singh takes us on a new adventure in this next novel of the Psy-Changeling Trinity series…

The end of Silence was supposed to create a better world for future generations. But trust is broken, and the alliance between Psy, Changeling, and human is thin. The problems that led to Silence are back in full force. Because Silence fixed nothing, just hid the problems.

This time, the Psy have to find a real answer to their problems–if one exists. Or their race will soon go extinct in a cascade of violence. The answer begins with an empath who is attuned to monsters–and who is going to charm a wolf into loving her despite his own demons.

Excerpt

Exclusive Excerpt from WOLF RAIN by Nalini Singh

A kick of her heart, her skin suddenly tight. Because she’d forgotten the predator in the room with her while distracted by those on the psychic plane. Her eyes skated away from the dangerous amber of his . . . and caught on the red marks on his shoulder.

A wave of dull heat crawling over her skin, she curled her fingers into her palm. “I’m sorry.”

“For what?” He scowled. “Scrambling away from me like I’m a drunk bear with randy intentions when all I did was cuddle you? Yeah, you should be sorry for that.”

Memory wanted to glare at him, but shame bit at her. “I hurt you.” She pointed to the evidence.

He glanced down . . . and laughed. Threw back his head and laughed as she’d never heard anyone laugh in her whole life. It was like fur over her senses, a delicious taste on her tongue, a cascade of butterflies in her stomach. She stared, drunk on the sensations.

Astonished by his intrinsically male beauty.

Grinning afterward, he shook his head and the slightly overlong strands of his hair shimmered in the light coming from the hallway. “To a wolf, lioness, that doesn’t even count as a love bite.” Wickedness danced in his eyes, and she, a woman who knew nothing about courtship rituals except for what she’d seen on the comm, understood that he was a man who’d never have an empty bed unless he wished it.

Posted by arrangement with Berkley, a member of Penguin Group (USA) LLC, A Penguin Random House Company. Copyright © Nalini Singh, 2019.

via GIPHY

Psy-Changeling Trinity

Giveaway Alert

We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

Sunday Spotlight: May 2019

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About Nalini Singh

I've been writing as long as I can remember and all of my stories always held a thread of romance (even when I was writing about a prince who could shoot lasers out of his eyes). I love creating unique characters, love giving them happy endings and I even love the voices in my head. There's no other job I would rather be doing. In September 2002, when I got the call that Silhouette Desire wanted to buy my first book, Desert Warrior, it was a dream come true. I hope to continue living the dream until I keel over of old age on my keyboard.

I was born in Fiji and raised in New Zealand. I also spent three years living and working in Japan, during which time I took the chance to travel around Asia. I’m back in New Zealand now, but I’m always plotting new trips. If you’d like to see some of my travel snapshots, have a look at the Travel Diary page (updated every month).

So far, I've worked as a lawyer, a librarian, a candy factory general hand, a bank temp and an English teacher and not necessarily in that order. Some might call that inconsistency but I call it grist for the writer's mill.


Tagged: , , , , ,

Review: Ocean Light by Nalini Singh

Posted June 28, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 6 Comments

Review: Ocean Light by Nalini SinghReviewer: Casee
Ocean Light by Nalini Singh
Series: Psy/Changeling Trinity #2, Psy/Changeling #17
Also in this series: Silver Silence, Silver Silence, Silver Silence, Ocean Light, Wolf Rain , Wolf Rain, Alpha Night, Mine to Possess, Hostage to Pleasure, The Magical Christmas Cat , Kiss of Snow, Tangle of Need, Slave to Sensation , Wild Invitation, Heart of Obsidian, Shield of Winter, Shield of Winter, Visions of Heat, Mine to Possess, Caressed By Ice, Branded by Fire, Blaze of Memory, Mine to Possess, Hostage to Pleasure, Hostage to Pleasure, Shards of Hope, Shards of Hope, Heart of Obsidian, Caressed By Ice, Branded by Fire, Blaze of Memory, Play of Passion, Allegiance of Honor, Kiss of Snow, Tangle of Need, Shield of Winter, Shards of Hope, Allegiance of Honor, Allegiance of Honor, Wild Embrace, Wild Embrace, Wild Embrace, Tangle of Need, Caressed By Ice
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: June 12, 2018
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 416
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-stars

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh dives beneath the surface of her Psy-Changeling world into a story of passionate devotion and selfless love...

Security specialist Bowen Knight has come back from the dead. But there's a ticking time bomb in his head: a chip implanted to block telepathic interference that could fail at any moment--taking his brain along with it. With no time to waste, he should be back on land helping the Human Alliance. Instead, he's at the bottom of the ocean, consumed with an enigmatic changeling...

Kaia Luna may have traded in science for being a chef, but she won't hide the facts of Bo's condition from him or herself. She's suffered too much loss in her life to fall prey to the dangerous charm of a human who is a dead man walking. And she carries a devastating secret Bo could never imagine...

But when Kaia is taken by those who mean her deadly harm, all bets are off. Bo will do anything to get her back--even if it means striking a devil's bargain and giving up his mind to the enemy...

It literally hurts my heart to write this review. I have never not loved a book by Nalini. Well, there was Silver Silence. While I didn’t love it, I liked it a lot. This book, not so much. It wasn’t that I disliked it. I didn’t. It was just boring. And slow. So incredibly slow and boring. There wasn’t a lot of excitement until almost the end of the book. Then it picked up and got interesting. Until then? It just wasn’t for me. I had to force myself to read it because I wasn’t going to give Nalini a DNF.

Bowen Knight has been in the Psy/Changeling books for a long time. He is the “alpha” of the humans. Bowen long ago realized that someone needed to step up to protect the human race. While he never thought he would be the one to do it, he ended up doing the job. After being mind-raped by a Psy when he was thirteen, Bo has an incredible aversion to the Psy race. Such an aversion that he has an experimental chip implanted in his head. He doesn’t care if it kills him as long as it protects his mind from the Psy. Bo understands that the Psy race is evolving, but not enough for him to trust. A few of his most trusted people, along with sister, have the same chip implanted in their heads. When things start going wrong with the chip, Bo doesn’t think of himself, but of his people.

At the end of Silver Silence, Bo takes a bullet to the heart and falls into the water. Lucky for him, the BlackSea changelings save him. He wakes up in one of their strongholds to a scientist that tells him he has a chance to live. A five percent chance, but a chance nonetheless. His attention strays from the doctor and seeks out her cousin, Kaia Luna. He has never felt such an attraction to a woman; a woman that seems to despise him for no reason.

Kaia has her reasons for not liking Bowen Knight. He is involved with the disappearance of several of her packmates. That is unforgivable to Kaia. What is even more unforgivable is when Kaia finds herself attracted to Bo. How can she be attracted to someone so evil that they capture and torture changelings? It doesn’t take Kaia long to realize that Bo is nothing like she thought he was. So they end up falling in love miles and miles under the ocean where the experiment on Bo is taking place.

This is why the book is boring. It takes place in the ocean. There is no excitement there. Kaia stays there specifically because she feels safe. Because nothing ever happens there. She never surfaces to the land above. Bo is all about excitement and Kaia, well, isn’t. I just didn’t feel them together. It just felt forced. Which is sad, really, because they were both really good characters. Just by themselves. Not together.

Like I mentioned above, the book picked up about seventy five to eighty percent in. It was too late for me. By then I was skimming, trying to finish the book. If you’re like me, you can’t skip a book in a series that you’re this invested in. So I’m glad I read it even though I didn’t like it.

I’m sorry, Nalini. Don’t hate me.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Psy/Changeling Trinity

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,