Narrator: Sebastian York

Review: Black Sheep by Meghan March

Posted September 4, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Black Sheep by Meghan MarchReviewer: Case
Black Sheep by Meghan March
Narrator: Andi Arndt, Sebastian York
Series: The Dirty Mafia Duet #1
Publisher: Audible Studios
Publication Date: July 2, 2019
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Escape
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Length: 6 hours and 28 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, Casee's 2019 New to Me Challenge, GoodReads Challenge, New to Me Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

From New York Times bestselling author Meghan March comes a story of untold truths and one man’s redemption in the Dirty Mafia Duet.

Every family has a black sheep. In the infamous Casso crime family, that black sheep is me—Cannon Freeman. Except I’m not a free man. I’ve never been free. Not since the day I was born. I owe my loyalty to my father, Dominic Casso, even if he won’t publicly acknowledge me as his blood. I’ve never had a reason to go against his wishes… until I met her. Drew Carson turned my world upside when she walked into my club looking for a job. Now, my honor and my life are on the line. Going against my father’s wishes might buy me a bullet straight from his gun, but black sheep or not, it’s time to make my stand. She's worth the fallout.

This is the first book I’ve read by Meghan March. It was available on Audible Escape, so I thought what the hell. I’ll try it. I’m so glad I did because I am really loving this author even though I want to strangle the heroes. Meghan March has something special, that’s for sure.

Cannon Freeman was born into the mob. His father, Dominic Casso, runs the mafia with an iron fist. Dom treats Cannon like a pile of poo, yet Cannon feels loyalty to him for taking him into his home after his mother was murdered. It’s pretty messed up, but Cannon can do nothing but be there for his father. Cannon runs a club for the elite. It’s about the only legit business that the Casso’s own. When Drew Carson comes in for an interview, Cannon knows he’s pretty much screwed.

Drew Carson is working at the club for one reason and one reason only: to bring down the Casso family. Her father was found hanging in his apartment, but Drew has never believed it was a suicide. It’s confirmed when she finds a file full of facts and pictures of Dominic Casso. Now she has her finger on the Casso family and she’s not letting any of them get away with her father’s murder. Not even the man she’s found herself wanting.

Now that Drew is in his life, Cannon finds himself standing up to his father for the first time in his life. He’s going to protect Drew from Dom, no matter what the cost. As Cannon and Drew begin an affair, Cannon begins to realize that Drew has something to hide. He’s determined to find out what it is. He doesn’t care about her secret, he just wants to protect her.

So the fact that Cannon has almost a blind loyalty to Dom, I’m making it sound like he’s a doormat. Not so. Cannon is a strong man that has been dealt an impossible hand. All he is trying to do is be a part of the family. Drew becomes his family and Cannon will die to protect her.

I really enjoyed this book from the beginning to the end. There are a lot of obstacles that Cannon and Drew had to overcome and I found myself impatiently waiting for the next book.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

The Dirty Mafia Duet

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Big Rock by Lauren Blakely

Posted August 7, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Big Rock by Lauren BlakelyReviewer: Holly
Big Rock by Lauren Blakely
Narrator: Sebastian York
Series: Big Rock #1
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: January 6, 2016
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Escape
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 244
Length: 6 hours and 5 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: GoodReads Challenge, Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

It's not just the motion of the ocean, ladies. It's definitely the SIZE of the boat too. And I've got both firing on all cylinders. In fact, I have ALL the right assets. Looks, brains, my own money, and a big c&$k. You might think I'm an as%*$le. I sound like one, don’t I? I'm hot as sin, rich as heaven, smart as hell and hung like a horse. Guess what? You haven't heard my story before. Sure, I might be a playboy, like the NY gossip rags call me. But I’m the playboy who’s actually a great guy. Which makes me one of a kind. The only trouble is, my dad needs me to cool it for a bit. With conservative investors in town wanting to buy his flagship Fifth Avenue jewelry store, he needs me not only to zip it up, but to look the part of the committed guy. Fine. I can do this for Dad. After all, I’ve got him to thank for the family jewels. So I ask my best friend and business partner to be my fiancée for the next week. Charlotte’s up for it. She has her own reasons for saying yes to wearing this big rock. And pretty soon all this playing pretend in public leads to no pretending whatsoever in the bedroom, because she just can’t fake the kind of toe-curling, window-shattering orgasmic cries she makes as I take her to new heights between the sheets.

But I can’t seem to fake that I might be feeling something real for her.

What the hell have I gotten myself into with this…big rock?

BIG ROCK is a standalone, dirty romance novel written from the guy’s POV by NYT Bestselling author Lauren Blakely…

Big Rock is the first book in Lauren Blakely‘s Big Rock series. I nabbed it from Audible Escape as soon as I saw that it was narrated by Sebastian York. He’s one of my favorite narrators. Told solely from the hero’s POV, Big Rock is a friends-to-lovers story that’s smart and sexy.

Spencer and Charlotte have been best friends since college. They run a string of bars together in NY and spend a lot of time together. They have no problem running interference for one another when the occasion calls for it, but Spencer takes things a little further when he tells his family they’re engaged. His dad is selling his business, and the potential buyer is a wholesome family man. He wouldn’t be pleased with Spencer’s manwhoring ways, so he asks Charlotte to keep the ruse up until the deal goes through.

As it happens, Charlotte needs cover, too. Her ex is trying to win her back, and he isn’t getting the hint that she isn’t interested. It’s hard for her to get away from him, since they live in the same building. A fake engagement is just the thing to finally get him to back off.

I really like the way Spencer kind of tripped into love with Charlotte. They were a really cute couple with a solid friendship base. Him giving her foot massages or eating all the green gummy bears so she didn’t have to was really sweet. I liked that he was kind of a playboy dick, but also all about making sure Charlotte was happy – even before she agreed to play his fake fiance.

The set up for their fake engagement was kind of flimsy. If it had come about because Charlotte needed rescuing from her overzealous ex, that would have made more sense to me than the business deal side of it. No one in Spencer’s family was remaining on in any capacity with the company, and in fact Spencer had never even worked for the company, so why the buyer cared about their antics made no sense to me. Plus, the bit at the end with the buyer’s daughter was just dumb.

Still, I really liked the progression of Charlotte and Spencer’s relationship. He was totally a clueless guy, so watching him fall was thoroughly satisfying. This book is quite a bit spicier than some of the others I’ve read from Blakely. I loved all the sweet heat.

If you’re in the mood for a sexy friends-to-lovers tale, look no further.

3.75 out of 5

Big Rock

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Come As You Are by Lauren Blakely

Posted July 19, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Come As You Are by Lauren BlakelyReviewer: Holly
Come As You Are by Lauren Blakely
Narrator: Andi Arndt, Sebastian York
Series: One Love #5
Also in this series: The Sexy One (One Love, #1), The Only One (One Love #2), The Hot One (One Love, #3), The Knocked Up Plan
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: April 16, 2018
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 334
Length: 7 hours and 29 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: GoodReads Challenge, Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: three-stars

I couldn’t have scripted a more perfect night.

For one fantastic evening, at a masquerade party in the heart of Manhattan, I’m not the millionaire everyone wants a piece of. Fine—multimillionaire. But who’s counting all those commas? Not me, and not the most intriguing woman I've ever met, who happens to like dancing, witty banter, and hot, passionate up-against-the-wall sex as much as I do.

There's no need for names or business cards. And that’s why I’m eager to get to know her more, since my mystery woman seems to like me for me, rather than for my huge…bank account.

Everything’s coming up aces. Until the next day when things get a little complicated. (Newsflash — a lot complicated.)

***

He's charming, brilliant, an incredible lover, and right now I want to stab fate in the eyeballs.

I've had one goal I've been working toward, and lo and behold, my mystery man is the very person who stands between me and my dream job. A job I desperately need since my hard-knock life has nothing in common with his star-kissed one.

But it’s time to put that fairytale night behind me, and focus on learning what makes him tick. Too bad it turns out his quirks are my quirks, and his love affair with New York matches mine.

And as we spend our days together, I discover something else that feels like a cruel twist of fate — I’m falling for this naughty prince charming, and that’s not an ending I can write to our story.

Come As You Are by Lauren Blakely is the 5th book in the One Love series. I really enjoyed the previous book and I couldn’t wait to see what happened with Flynn. I ended up loving this book. I think it might be my favorite of the series. Andi Arndt and Sebastian York narrated, which probably helped. They’re my favorite duo.

Flynn Parker and his twin brother Dylan sold their start-up for millions. Now they’re working on a fully automated home system. He’s a hot, young millionaire at the top of the tech industry. But he never knows if people want him for him, or for his money. A masquerade ball gives him the chance to reinvent himself for a night- to remain anonymous. He could never have guessed he’d meet the woman of his dreams there, but that’s exactly what happened.

Sabrina Granger has been unlucky in love and business lately. But all that turns around the night she meets a mystery man at a masquerade ball. After the hottest encounter of her life – with the possibility of more – she’s offered her dream assignment – the chance to interview Flynn Parker, with the potential to make this a full-time writing gig with a prestigious magazine. She’s flying high – until she and her masked mystery man from the night before meet up in the daylight and she realizes her hot library fling is none other than Flynn Parker, in the flesh.

She needs this job more than she needs orgasms, so she tells Flynn they have to keep things professional. But that’s easier said than done when New York’s hottest bachelor turns out to be the Prince Charming she’s always wanted.

Flynn was such a sweetheart in the previous books, I knew I was going to love him. He was everything I expected him to be. He was sweet, funny, generous and kind. But also dirty, sarcastic and not afraid to take chances. Sabrina was the perfect partner for him. She was adventurous, kind and quirky. I loved the way they explored the city and got to know one another.

This was a sweet romance filled with witty banter and a lot of chemistry. I absolutely loved it.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5

One Love

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Review: The Knocked Up Plan by Lauren Blakely

Posted July 18, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: The Knocked Up Plan by Lauren BlakelyReviewer: Holly
The Knocked Up Plan by Lauren Blakely
Narrator: Andi Arndt, Sebastian York
Series: One Love #4
Also in this series: The Sexy One (One Love, #1), The Only One (One Love #2), The Hot One (One Love, #3), Come As You Are
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: June 23, 2017
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Escape
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Length: 6 hours and 59 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: GoodReads Challenge, Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: three-stars

There are three little words most guys don’t want to hear on the first date. Not those…I mean these… “knock me up.”

This single gal has had enough of the games, the BS and the endless chase. I know what I want most, and it’s not true love. It’s a bun in the oven, and I’m not afraid to hit up my s-e-x-on-a-stick co-worker to do the job. Ryder is gorgeous, witty and charming — and he’s also a notorious commitment-phobe. That makes him the perfect candidate to make a deposit in the bank of me. I won’t fall for him, he won’t fall for me, and there’s no way baby will make three. Right?

****

There are four words every guy wants to hear on the first date — “your place or mine?”

When my hot-as-sin co-worker makes me a no-strings-attached offer that involves her place, my place, any place — as well as any position — I can’t refuse. Besides, I've got my own reasons to take her up on her deal even with her one BIG condition.

There’s no way I’ll want more from one woman than any position, any where, any night? Except . . . what if I do?

Be prepared to swoon and fan yourself from the heat! This full-length standalone contains lots of hot baby-making s-e-x, happy tears, playful jokes and a hot, swoonworthy hero you will fall madly in love with. One-click now for pure reading enjoyment!

The Knocked Up Plan is the 4th book in the One Love series by Lauren Blakely. This series has been hit or miss for me, but Andi Ardnt and Sebastian York are two of my favorite narrators. When I saw they were doing the audiobook I knew I had to give it a go. I’m glad I did. This was a sweet story. I liked both Ryder and Nicole. They had great chemistry and I really felt their friendship, too.

Nicole is ready to be a mother. She’s never really had a long-term relationship (except once, and he was more committed that she was), but she doesn’t want to wait. Her father died when she was young and her mother raised her alone, so Nicole sees no reason why she can’t do the same. The problem is finding the right donor. She wants to know what kind of DNA a potential father is contributing to her child, and picking one out of a catalog is difficult. Until she decides to ask her co-worker, Ryder. Ryder has everything she could ever want in a father for her baby – he’s kind, smart, sweet and sexy-as-hell. Plus, after his marriage went sour, Ryder isn’t looking for any kind of commitment. Which makes him the perfect candidate.

Ryder is pretty shocked – and, if he’s being honest, flattered – when Nicole asks him to donate to her cause. He’s been off romance since his marriage went down in flames, but Nicole doesn’t want romance. She just wants his sperm. He also needs help with a problem. He used to be the ultimate wing-man, the city’s dating Guru (think Hitch), but lately his ratings are down. When his producer tells him he needs to do a “10 Dates to Romance Her” feature, he figures he and Nicole can help each other out.

As these two embark on Ten dates designed to make couples fall in love, and fall into bed every night, things soon turn from light and flirty to serious. But are either ready, or willing, to take the next step? Because there aren’t just the two of them to consider..there’s the potential future child, too.

I thought this was such a fun, cute listen. Ryder was really wonderful. Down-to-Earth, happy, sweet, chivalrous. He had a it all. He and Nicole had chemistry in spades, so their jump from co-workers (and ping-pong partners) to lovers wasn’t a stretch. But more than anything, it was their friendship I adored. They both went out of their way for one another. There isn’t a lot of conflict or angst here. They both acted like adults about the situation with the baby-making, and watching them realize their feelings beyond that was great. Plus, Ryder’s on-air confession was super adorable.

Rating: 4 out of 5

One Love

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Easy Kisses by Kristen Proby

Posted July 12, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Easy Kisses by Kristen ProbyReviewer: Casee
Easy Kisses by Kristen Proby
Narrator: Rachel Fulginiti, Sebastian York
Series: Boudreaux #4
Also in this series: Easy Love, Easy Charm, Easy Melody
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: June 21, 2016
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Escape
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Length: 7 hours and 19 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

The Boudreaux Series. Sexy. Intriguing. Easy.

Simon Danbury, an internationally sought after motivational speaker, helps women from all walks of life with love, self-esteem, dating and career building skills. Handsome, witty and wealthy, Simon seemingly has everything a man could want. But appearances can be deceiving. While Simon may have the answers for millions of women all over the world, when it comes to his own love life, he’s a giant, sexy mess. Divorced, and convinced that he’ll never love again, the very last thing he expects is one Charly Boudreaux.

Charly doesn’t want to be at this seminar in the middle of nowhere, but her sister made her go. She’s the one who has her life together. Great career, amazing family, nice home, and loyal friends. So what if she doesn’t have a man? She doesn’t need one. If she’s learned anything in her almost thirty years, it’s that men are more trouble than they’re worth. And they have a nasty habit of breaking your heart into a million tiny pieces. So she’ll sit through all of Simon’s touchy feely crap and go home and get on with her life. Except Simon isn’t really spouting crap, and when he smiles at her, the butterflies are ridiculous.

Never mixing business with pleasure, Simon finds Charly, a bright spot in a universe that’s been dark for too long. But will he be able to resist her? And why would he want to?

Kristen Proby is a new-to-me author this year. I have throughly enjoyed the Boudreaux family. They are so close knit and their closeness just flows through the pages. Each of them would do anything for the other and it just comes through to the reader so well that it’s hard not to sigh when all of them do get together or they all get protective of one another. It all comes from a place of love. Never anger, never jealousy.

Charly Boudreaux is the Boudreaux that seemingly has the perfect life. She owns her own home, has a successful business, and has a wonderful family. She’s never been married but she knows that she’ll know when she meets “the one”. The one that is meant to be hers forever. In the meantime, her sister Savannah has talked her into going on a women’s retreat in Montana. It’s sort of a self-help, find yourself kind of thing. Charly didn’t want to go, but she’s determined to make the most of it. She certainly doesn’t expect Simon Danbury, the man who owns and runs everything.

Simon has never been attracted to a client. He has made it his mission in life to help other people, specifically women. When he meets Charly, he’s instantly attracted to her but knows he can’t do anything about it. He won’t take advantage of a client, one that he can clearly see needs his help even if she doesn’t see it. His plans go on the wayside when they have the conference ends and they end up in bed together. Too soon, they’re addicted to each other.

Everything is going along swimmingly until you bring in Charly’s ridiculous notions of waiting until she falls in love at first sight and Simon’s extreme jealousy. It’s a powder keg waiting to blow. And when it does blow? Well, it’s rather spectacular. I did like this book and I understood the jealousy, so it didn’t take away from the book at all. I really enjoyed listening to Simon and Charly’s book.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5.

Boudreaux

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,