Narrator: Andi Arndt

Review: Getting Played by Emma Chase

Posted January 3, 2020 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Getting Played by Emma ChaseReviewer: Rowena
Getting Played by Emma Chase
Narrator: Andi Arndt, Zachary Webber
Series: Getting Some #2
Also in this series: Getting Schooled (Getting Some, #1), Getting Schooled (Getting Some, #1), Getting Played
Publisher: Audible Studios
Publication Date: June 11, 2019
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Escape
Point-of-View: Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 241
Length: 6 hours, 57 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Rowena's 2019 TBR Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Listening Length: 6 hours and 57 minutesProgram Type: AudiobookVersion: Unabridged

A magnificent new romance by New York Times best-selling author Emma Chase - available in audio first!

Dean Walker is all about keeping life simple. He's effortlessly talented and intelligent - spending his summers playing drums in the local band and the rest of the year teaching high school in the same Jersey town where he grew up. He likes his love life simple too, enjoying the commitment-free hook-ups his good looks and sexy charm have always made oh so easy.

Then he meets Lainey Burrows. And his simple, easy life gets turned upside down.

One wild one-night stand was all it was ever supposed to be, so Lainey is shocked when she discovers that her sizzling summer fling is also her son's new math teacher. But that's nothing compared to the most unexpected twist of all - their hot hook-up left Lainey knocked up, and now they're about to become parents. Together.

What ensues is an addictive, insatiable, sweet and tender romance that won't be simple, but it will be more than worth the fight.

Getting Played is the second book in Emma Chase’s Getting Some series. It’s another fabulous addition to the series too. Dean and Lainey were a great couple and I really enjoyed seeing them figure out how to be together after they get their one night stand news.

When I read the first book in this series, Getting Schooled, I knew that I was going to read Dean’s book and boy am I glad that I saw that one through because this was another fabulous contemporary romance by Emma Chase. Everything that Holly and Casee said about this book being good was true. I enjoyed getting to know both Lainey and Dean, I loved seeing the relationship that blossomed between Lainey’s son and Dean. I also really enjoyed seeing Garrett and Callie again. I loved that they were still a big part of Dean’s life and I adored seeing Dean with his grandmother. This was just a great small-town romance that delivered lots of heartwarming charm that I just ate right up.

Dean was a bit immature in the last book but seeing him really come into his own in this book was fan-freaking-tastic. I really enjoyed seeing him with his students, I really loved seeing him bond with Lainey’s son and I absolutely adored seeing him get excited about the changes coming his way with Lainey. The way that they transitioned their lives to include each other made for a great romance. This was another one of those straight-up contemporary romances where the two main leads know that they have feelings for each other and they figure out how to overcome the obstacles in their way so that they can be together.

Lainey was a great heroine. She was a fanastic heroine for Dean and I really loved that she was a mother first. She didn’t take her role as Jason’s mother lightly and I dug that about her. I loved the relationship she forged with Jason as well. She built a strong and solid foundation that gave Jason the support he needed from her. I loved that she was able to be honest with Jason about anything and everything and that Jason felt like they were a team that could tackle anything together. They supported each other and when Dean came along, Jason welcomed him into their little unit but his Mom was always first with him. It was just a lot of fun to read about a bunch of normal people trying to figure their shit out…together.

Overall, this was a great book and though there were spots in the book where I wanted to ring all of their necks, in the end, they all got it right and were stronger for their obstacles. Emma Chase continues to shine brightly as a fabulous contemporary romance author and I hope she writes Dean’s brother’s book next. I need to know Connor more. Fingers crossed. If you guys are in the mood for a fun and sweet contemporary romance, look no further than Dean and Lainey’s book. I promise, it’s good.

Final Grade

4.25 out of 5

Getting Some

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Drowning to Breathe by A.L. Jackson

Posted December 24, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Drowning to Breathe by A.L. JacksonReviewer: Casee
Drowning to Breathe by A. L. Jackson
Narrator: Andi Arndt, Zachary Webber
Series: Bleeding Stars #2
Also in this series: A Stone in the Sea
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: September 15, 2015
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Escape
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 377
Length: 10 hours and 53 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

The danger in pretending is it becoming real...
Sebastian Stone, Sunder front man and guitarist with a rap sheet about ten miles long, escaped to Savannah, Georgia, to get away from the trouble he’d caused.
Not find more of it.
The moment he saw Shea Bentley, he saw beneath all her sweet and innocence to something that went deeper.
Darker.
Their relationship was built on secrets; their love built on lies.
Sebastian never imagined how deep her secrets went.
When the past and present collide, Sebastian and Shea find themselves fighting for a future neither believed they deserved. Their passion is consuming and their need unending.
Now, holding the truth in his hands, Sebastian is faced with sacrificing everything he’s come to love to protect Shea and his family.
Two pasts intertwined.
Two lives bound.
Will their demons drown them or will Shea and Sebastian finally learn to breathe?
Drowning to Breathe is Book 2 in Sebastian and Shea's two-part duet. Their story begins in A Stone in the Sea.

Drowning to Breathe is the second book in Jackson’s Bleeding Star series. This book picks up right where A Stone in the Sea ends.

Shea and Sebastian are trying to find some type of normalcy in their relationship. It’s not easy with Bas being one of the most recognizable men on the planet. Shea never wanted to be in the spotlight, but she also won’t give Bas up.

When Callie’s bio dad comes for her, Bas realizes that he doesn’t know Shea at all. Callie’s dad is none other than the man that Bas assaulted once he found out that the guy was supplying his brother with drugs.

That’s not the only secret Shea has. The other secret almost destroys them for good. Fortunately their love for each other prevails.

I really, really liked the last part of Shea and Bas’s story. Their relationship wasn’t an easy one. They had to work at it, but neither was willing to give up on the other. The problems in this book are real world problems and the emotions are pretty real too.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Bleeding Stars

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Lead Me Home by A.L. Jackson

Posted November 27, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Lead Me Home by A.L. JacksonReviewer: Casee
Lead Me Home by A. L. Jackson
Narrator: Andi Arndt, Joe Arden
Series: Fight for Me #3
Also in this series: Hold on to Hope, Show Me the Way, Follow Me Back
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: April 20, 2018
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 396
Length: 10 hours and 36 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Fourteen years ago, my life changed forever.

My sister disappeared. That day I was selfish. That day I chose myself over her. And that day, I lost everything.

Including Nikki Walters.

She's the girl I’ve loved my whole life. She’s gorgeous. Caring. Every single thing I’ve ever wanted but denied myself. She was my sister’s best friend, and I destroyed any chance of keeping her.

When her safety is threatened, I have a second chance to do the right thing. But as soon as she moves in, I want her in all the wrong ways.

All it takes is a brush of her hand, and I’m losing all control.

The fire between us is only burning hotter.

But neither of us saw what was coming.

And it just might be Nikki Walters who destroys me in the end.

Ollie and Nikki have skated around each other since they were kids. The age difference was too vast when they were younger. Now tragedy lays between them and it’s something that neither of them can get past. Nikki has mostly healed after her best friend disappeared without a trace. In her heart, she knows that Sydney is dead. While she mourns for what was lost, she doesn’t let herself exist in the past. Except with it comes to Ollie, Sydney’s brother.

Ollie has not, nor will he ever forgive himself for what happened to Sydney. Although the logical part of himself knows that she dead, he can’t stop searching for her. His entire life revolves around the sister that he was always supposed to protect. Not only did he not protect her, he was the one that sent her away to her unknown fate.

Ollie can’t stay away from Nikki even though he can’t have her. His demons are too great, his soul in shreds. When someone starts harassing Nikki, Ollie steps in to protect her. It doesn’t matter that he can’t give her what she wants…Ollie will never let anything happen to the girl who should have been his. When the situation escalates, their relationship escalates as well. Nikki can’t take the pushing and pulling any longer and tells him that he needs to let her go. And leave her alone. That’s not something that Ollie can promise.

I really liked this book, but it wasn’t my favorite in the series. The way the killer (yes, killer) is found at the end and how it all ties into the story was pretty campy. That didn’t take away from the story as a whole. I really loved seeing Ollie heal with Nikki’s help.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5.

Fight For Me

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Show Me the Way by A.L. Jackson

Posted November 25, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Show Me the Way by A.L. JacksonReviewer: Casee
Show Me the Way by A. L. Jackson
Narrator: Andi Arndt, Zachary Webber
Series: Fight for Me #1
Also in this series: Hold on to Hope, Follow Me Back, Lead Me Home
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: September 6, 2017
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 356
Length: 9 hours and 59 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

The first sexy, captivating, stand-alone novel in the brand-new FIGHT FOR ME series from NYT & USA Today Bestselling Author A.L. Jackson . . .

Rex Gunner. As bitter as he is beautiful. The owner of the largest construction company in Gingham Lakes has been burned one too many times.

His wife leaving him to raise their daughter was the last blow this single dad could take.The only woman he'll let into his heart is his little girl.

Rynna Dayne. As vulnerable as she is tempting.She ran from Gingham Lakes when she was seventeen. She swore to herself she would never return.Then her grandmother passed away and left her the deed to the diner that she once loved.

When Rex meets his new neighbor, he knows he's in trouble.She's gorgeous and sweet and everything he can't trust.Until she becomes the one thing he can't resist.

One kiss sends them tumbling toward ecstasy.But in a town this size, pasts are bound to collide.Caught in a web of lies, betrayal, and disloyalty, Rex must make a choice.

Will he hide behind his walls or will he take the chance . . .

You guys. I loved this book. Rex Gunner was the quintessential alpha male heroine. However, he wasn’t over the top. Rynna is such an amazing heroine. I just adored these two. Not to mention Rex’s daughter. Frankie Leigh was a breath of fresh air. I listened to this book on audio. Andi Arndt is a goddess.

Rex has no desire to meet or date anyone. Frankie Leigh is his life. Protecting her is his life’s work. When Rynna comes home to her grandmothers house, Rex knows he’s in trouble. He can’t get her off his mind, not to mention that she keeps popping up everywhere. Rex has ghosts in his life and he can’t move on. When he was 18, he left his girlfriend to walk home from the lake they were partying at and she was never seen or heard from again. He knows it is his fault because he’s the one that denied her plea to claim her and he embarrassed her and told her to leave.

Rynna has ghosts of her own. She left Gingham Lakes after being cruelly bullied when she was in high school. When I say cruelly, I mean it was awful. It would have sent me running too. Now Rynna is back and determined to reopen Pepper’s Pies, her grandma’s baby. Though she just tries to be neighborly to Rex, he rebuffs her every advance. Until the day comes when he and Frankie Leigh need her.

These two were most definitely tortured. They are both broken and just going through the motions. Their love is special because of the obstacles that they have to overcome. They are perfect together. Then Rex’s ex comes into town and turns Rynna’s world upside down. It’s quite a twist and something that was totally unexpected.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5.

Fight For Me

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: A Stone in the Sea by A.L. Jackson

Posted November 18, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: A Stone in the Sea by A.L. JacksonReviewer: Casee
A Stone in the Sea by A. L. Jackson
Narrator: Andi Arndt, Sebastian York
Series: Bleeding Stars #1
Also in this series: Drowning to Breathe
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: February 23, 2015
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Escape
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 325
Length: 9 hours and 33 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Alternate cover for this ISBN can be found here

A Stone in the Sea ~

He wanted nothing at all…

Until he found she had everything to give…

Sunder lead singer and guitarist Sebastian Stone has everything—fans, fame, and fortune. He also has a heart full of bitterness and a reputation for a short-fused temper. But an outward reputation rarely reveals the true man inside. Facing assault charges after trying to protect his younger brother, Sebastian is sent to Savannah, Georgia to lie low until the dust settles in L.A.

Shea Bentley is beautiful, kind, and hiding from the very lifestyle Sebastian has always embraced.

When the mysterious, tattooed stranger begins hanging out at the bar where she works, Shea is quick to recognize he is nothing but trouble, but she's helpless to the way her body lights up every time his intense gray eyes tangle with hers.

They both soon find themselves drowning in a sea of desire and passion that won’t let them up for air.

Sebastian knows firsthand secrets never die, and he’s not the only one who’s hiding them.

Loving someone always comes with a price. But will it be Shea’s past that costs them everything?

Sebastian Stone has nothing left. That’s not quite right. He has his band, his best friends, and his brother. Even as the lead singer of a successful band, Sebastian feels alone. Until he walks into a bar in Savannah and sees her.

Bas isn’t looking for anything. Not a relationship, not a friendship. When he sees Shea Bentley, he is floored. He tries to leave her alone, but he can’t. He talks her into starting something but he doesn’t know what that is. Then he finds out she has a daughter. What does he do? He runs.

Shea was starting to fall for Sebastian Stone. She thought they may have had something special. Unfortunately he wasn’t the man that she thought he was. He instantly retreats when he finds out she’s a mom. She’ll never regret her daughter or how she was brought into her life.

Sebastian soon finds out that he can’t stay away from Shea, nor can he stay away from her wonderful, amazing daughter. As the three of them get to know each other, they have no idea how closely intertwined their lives are. But they find out. Callie’s dad is none other than the man that is trying to take Bas down. He wants his career, his money, and his freedom. Shea knows how ruthless and evil that Martin is and tells Bas not to underestimate him.

It was so sweet reading about Bas and Shea falling in love. Of Bas falling for Callie. Bas has lived a hard life with plenty of heartbreak. When he’s with Shea, all that goes away and he’s just happy. As for Shea, she has her own secrets. The question is, how long can she keep it from Sebastian?

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Bleeding Stars

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,