Genre: Science Fiction

Review: The Segonian by Dianne Duvall

Posted August 1, 2022 by Holly in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: The Segonian by Dianne DuvallReviewer: Holly
The Segonian by Dianne Duvall
Narrator: Kirsten Potter
Series: Aldebarian Alliance #2
Also in this series: The Lasaran, The Segonian
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: January 19, 2021
Format: eBook
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Science Fiction
Pages: 435
Length: 12 hours and 31 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

New York Times bestselling author Dianne Duvall brings readers the second stand-alone novel in a thrilling new sci-fi romance series full of action, humor, and happily-ever-afters.
Eliana's life has never been what one might term ordinary. At least, it hasn't been for a very long time. As a powerful Immortal Guardian, she spends her nights hunting and slaying psychotic vampires that most of humanity doesn't even realize exist. Then an opportunity arises that instantly makes her extraordinary existence seem downright boring. The leader of the Immortal Guardians asks her to guard a group of mortals who are embarking upon a voyage across the galaxy to the planet Lasara. How could she possibly say no?
In no time at all, Eliana is hurtling through space on board a Lasaran battleship and getting to know not one but two alien races. It's the most exciting adventure of her long life... until the ship is unexpectedly attacked. Amid the chaos and destruction that follow, she valiantly helps everyone she can before an explosion renders her unconscious. When Eliana awakens, she finds herself alone, floating in space, clad only in a spacesuit, with no ship in sight. Alone--that is--except for the warm, deep voice that carries over the comm in her helmet.
Commander Dagon and the crew of the Segonian battleship Ranasura respond to a distress call from their Lasaran allies and join a massive Alliance-wide search-and-rescue mission. He quickly achieves communication with a lone Earthling female and races toward her. Every time they speak, his fascination with her grows and he becomes more desperate to reach her before her oxygen supply runs out. Her strength, bravery, and humor entice him, even more so when she defies all odds and they meet in person.
As he and Eliana embark upon a quest to find her missing friends, a bond swiftly grows between them that deepens with every laugh and smile and tender touch they share. But they are not the only ones searching for Earthling survivors. When Eliana herself becomes the hunted and their enemies begin to close in, can the two of them fight their way to victory, or will their enemies take everything?

The Segonian by Dianne Duvall, the second book in the Aldebarian Alliance series, a spinoff of Duvall’s Immortal Guaridans series, features Eliana, a character we met in the previous series. She traveled in space to protect the Gifted Ones who chose to go to Lasara with Prince Taelon in the hopes of finding a quieter life. When their ship is attacked on the way there, Eliana ends up floating in space in a space suit. For weeks her only lifelines are Captain Dagan and the other Segonians on his ship. She’s never met them, but they become the most important beings in the world to her.

The early chapters where Eliana were floating in space were so gripping and heart-wrenching. Her strength and humor really came through, but I felt her loneliness and fear in a visceral way. I really love Eliana and Dagan. They had a great dynamic when all they could do was talk via comms. I also liked how they came to know one another once she was onboard his ship.

Their quest to find the others who were missing from the Lasaran ship was interesting, but I enjoyed their life on the ship more. Especially Eliana training with him and his men.

This is my favorite book in this spin-off series, and my second favorite of Duvall’s books to date.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Aldebarian Alliance

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: The Segonian by Dianne Duvall

Posted July 20, 2022 by Casee in Reviews | 3 Comments

Review: The Segonian by Dianne DuvallReviewer: Casee
The Segonian by Dianne Duvall
Narrator: Kirsten Potter
Series: Aldebarian Alliance #2
Also in this series: The Lasaran, The Segonian
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: January 19, 2021
Format: eBook
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Science Fiction
Pages: 435
Length: 12 hours and 31 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

New York Times bestselling author Dianne Duvall brings readers the second stand-alone novel in a thrilling new sci-fi romance series full of action, humor, and happily-ever-afters.
Eliana's life has never been what one might term ordinary. At least, it hasn't been for a very long time. As a powerful Immortal Guardian, she spends her nights hunting and slaying psychotic vampires that most of humanity doesn't even realize exist. Then an opportunity arises that instantly makes her extraordinary existence seem downright boring. The leader of the Immortal Guardians asks her to guard a group of mortals who are embarking upon a voyage across the galaxy to the planet Lasara. How could she possibly say no?
In no time at all, Eliana is hurtling through space on board a Lasaran battleship and getting to know not one but two alien races. It's the most exciting adventure of her long life... until the ship is unexpectedly attacked. Amid the chaos and destruction that follow, she valiantly helps everyone she can before an explosion renders her unconscious. When Eliana awakens, she finds herself alone, floating in space, clad only in a spacesuit, with no ship in sight. Alone--that is--except for the warm, deep voice that carries over the comm in her helmet.
Commander Dagon and the crew of the Segonian battleship Ranasura respond to a distress call from their Lasaran allies and join a massive Alliance-wide search-and-rescue mission. He quickly achieves communication with a lone Earthling female and races toward her. Every time they speak, his fascination with her grows and he becomes more desperate to reach her before her oxygen supply runs out. Her strength, bravery, and humor entice him, even more so when she defies all odds and they meet in person.
As he and Eliana embark upon a quest to find her missing friends, a bond swiftly grows between them that deepens with every laugh and smile and tender touch they share. But they are not the only ones searching for Earthling survivors. When Eliana herself becomes the hunted and their enemies begin to close in, can the two of them fight their way to victory, or will their enemies take everything?

The Segonian is not only a SF romance masterpiece, it’s my favorite SF romance ever. I’m not always a huge fan of SF, but I used to read it back in the day. This book had me from the first sentence to the last. I found that I couldn’t put it down, I was so invested in the story. I think that is the hallmark of a good book. While Dianne Duvall isn’t the best author I’ve ever read, she sure tells a hell of a story.

When Seth, the leader of the Immortal Guardians, comes to Eliana with a choice to travel to another planet, she jumps on it. Watching all her friends fall in love has left Eliana feeling like the odd man out. She’s more than excited to be going on such an amazing adventure. Her only job is to protect the gifted ones that are onboard the ship.

Quite unexpectedly, the ship is attacked and Eliana ends up floating in space. Her saving grace is a man’s voice that tells her he’s coming for her.

Dagon and his crew are on a search & rescue mission. When he finds Eliana, he immediately knows that he will not find her in time. He doesn’t know what or who she is. As a powerful Immortal Guardian, Eliana has capabilities that humans don’t have. One of those capabilities keeps her alive long enough for Dagon to find her.

Now that Eliana is on board, they resume their search & rescue mission. As the days, then weeks go by, both Eliana & Dagon lose hope. Then they learn that one of the gifted ones is alive and in danger. They race to the closest habitable planet, hoping against hope that they find who they are looking for.

Eliana was such a joy to read about. She has been alive for centuries, but she still appreciated the little things in life. I loved how she interacted with the crew & with Dagon. I loved when she finally convinced the men to fight her. I loved her love of spicy foods and her genuine love for the sun. I loved Dagon too, but Eliana stole the show with this one.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5.

Aldebarian Alliance

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: The Lasaran by Dianne Duvall

Posted July 18, 2022 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: The Lasaran by Dianne DuvallReviewer: Casee
The Lasaran by Dianne Duvall
Narrator: Kirsten Potter
Series: Aldebarian Alliance #1
Also in this series: The Segonian, The Segonian
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: April 21, 2020
Format: eBook
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Science Fiction
Pages: 460
Length: 11 hours and 23 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

New York Times bestselling author Dianne Duvall brings readers the first novel in a thrilling new sci-fi series full of action, intrigue, humor, and romance.
Taelon searches the galaxy for his younger sister, who mysteriously disappeared while on a diplomatic mission. When an ally reveals that she was seized and is being held prisoner on Earth, Taelon descends upon the blue planet, intent on freeing her and exacting vengeance. However, all does not go as planned. Before he can find her, Taelon is captured and becomes the subject of torturous experiments. For what feels like an eternity, all he knows is pain and fury… until a mind tentatively touches his own and a woman’s voice forever changes his world.
After suffering tragic losses, Lisa is finally beginning to carve out a future for herself when chance sends her to the Anomalous Cognition Research Institute. What at first appears to be a benign organization seeking participants for a psychic study instead turns out to be a government facility harboring a much darker intent. Lisa discovers this too late and soon becomes the unwilling subject of a terrifying experiment. Just as fear and desperation threaten to consume her, a deep, compelling voice penetrates the looming insanity and lends her hope.
Having seen only the worst of humanity, Taelon is shocked when Lisa risks everything to free him. Together the two make their escape, and Taelon finds himself fascinated by the small human woman who—despite all she’s suffered—can still laugh and tease and lure smiles from him. Friendship swiftly grows between them as they work together to evade soldiers intent on capturing them and find themselves hunted by mystifying preternatural beings. Through it all, Lisa steadfastly remains by his side, stealing more of his heart each day while she helps him unravel the mystery of his sister’s fate. Can they find his sister before the hunters find them? If they survive their quest, will Taelon have to bid Lisa farewell… or can he coax her into leaving her planet and joining him for the adventure of a lifetime?

The Lasaran is the first SF romance that I have read in a long while. I have somewhat of a mental block for this genre, though I don’t know why. After reading the Immortal Guardians series, I decided to give The Lasaran a try. I am so glad that I did.

Taelon is headed to Earth from Lasara to find his sister. After leaving on a peacekeeping mission, Amiriska goes missing. Taelon is determined to find her. When he arrives on Earth, he is taken captive and experimented on for months. During one of his torture sessions, he hears a woman telepathically screaming. He has no idea who she is or even if she’s part of the group that took him.

Lisa only volunteered for the psychic study to make a little extra money. She had no idea that there was a nefarious plan afoot. While at the research center, Lisa is abducted. She wakes up seven months later to find that she is pregnant and has no memory. Her savior ends up being the man that ran psychic tests on her. When he comes in to help her, Brad tells her that she has been impregnated against her will. Not only that, but she is carrying an alien baby.

After their escape, Lisa & Taelon go on the run. They don’t know who to trust, nor do they know how they will find Amiriska. It’s only when Roland (Darkness Dawns) shows up at a motel that they’re hiding out in that they realize they might have options after all. I thought the pacing was great in this book & I really loved how excited Taelon was for the baby. Women on Lasara haven’t been able to have children so Taelon is especially please though he is incensed that it was done again Lisa’s will.

When Amiriska and Taelon eventually reunite? OHMYHEART. It was so sweet. I loved seeing their relationship, specifically how excited Ami was to see Taelon.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Aldebarian Alliance

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Brilliant Starlight by Anna Carven

Posted April 13, 2022 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Brilliant Starlight by Anna CarvenReviewer: Holly
Brilliant Starlight by Anna Carven
Series: Dark Planet Warriors #8
Also in this series: Dark Planet Warriors, Dark Planet Falling, Into the Light , Out of Darkness , Forged in Shadow , Infinity's Embrace , Electric Heart
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: July 8, 2017
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Science Fiction
Pages: 220
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Holly's 2021 Goodreads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Abbey We're back on Silence, orbiting the Dark Planet while my husband handles unfinished business on Kythia. For some reason, he seems a little bit tense. According to Tarak, Kythian politics can be complicated, especially when the entire Kordolian Empire has just been destroyed. I hope things don't get too complicated, because I don't want to be stuck here for too long. A warship isn't really the best place to raise a child.

Tarak The only way to ensure Abbey and Ami remained safe was to bring down the Empire. It is done. Now it is up to the statesmen and scholars to rebuild our civilization from the inside out. I'm just here to provide the muscle, but above all, I'm here to keep my mate and my child safe. If anything or anyone dares to threaten them... They know how I will respond. The problem is that not all enemies can be taken down by force.

Warning: This book is a science-fiction alien romance. It contains swearing, violence, sensual sex scenes, and silver aliens with fangs. It's definitely recommended for readers aged 18 and over.

Brilliant Starlight is Book 8 in the Dark Planet Warriors series. It will make more sense if you've read the other books in the series beforehand, but that's probably not absolutely essential.

Brilliant Starlight (Dark Planet Warriors #8) by Anna Carven takes us back to Abby and Tarek, the couple from book 1.

I wasn’t thrilled thrilled go back to Abbey and Tarak. I don’t dislike them, but I didn’t love them enough to want multiple books about them. I thought this was going to follow the groundwork that was started after the political upheaval in the previous books, but that wasn’t the case. It was more of a reaffirmation of how great they are and didn’t really advance the story arc. I’m bummed, because I really wanted more in terms of where things are now. I believe this book started out as a serial and it read that way. The chapters were repetitive and constantly went over the same ground again and again. I’m pretty sure this was just a loving farewell to Abby and Tarek from the author, since this book closes this chapter of the series. If you’re a huge fan of theirs I’m sure you’ll love it. I’m sorry I didn’t skip it.

I am looking forward to the spinoff series, which features other First-Division warriors as they adjust to life outside the Empire.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Dark Planet Warriors

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Lightning Review: Electric Heart by Anna Carven

Posted April 11, 2022 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Lightning Review: Electric Heart by Anna CarvenReviewer: Holly
Electric Heart by Anna Carven
Series: Dark Planet Warriors #7
Also in this series: Dark Planet Warriors, Dark Planet Falling, Into the Light , Out of Darkness , Forged in Shadow , Infinity's Embrace , Brilliant Starlight
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: April 1, 2017
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Science Fiction
Pages: 260
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Holly's 2021 Goodreads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Electric Heart is Book 7 in the Dark Planet Warriors Series. It will make more sense if you've read the other books in the series beforehand. Chronologically, it picks up where Forged in Shadow (Book 5) left off.

Riana's terrified of these fierce Kordolians. They fight like demons and possess strange alien technology which makes them damn hard to kill. After her nerve-wracking experience on the superfreighter Hendrix II, she wants nothing to do with them. All she wants to do is live a peaceful Kordolian-free life back on Earth. Too bad the Board of Corrections is on her case over past misdemeanors. Too bad someone's trying to kill her. She has no idea why. Too bad the only one who can keep her safe is a scary-hot, silent alien with coldfire eyes and a very sharp sword. But hey, at least she doesn't have to deal with flesh-eating insectoid monsters anymore. The only monster she has to deal with now is a silver-skinned one named Kail. And he's more than a match for her attackers. That's reassuring... right?

Warning: This book is a science-fiction alien romance. It contains swearing, violence, sensual sex scenes, and silver aliens with fangs. It's definitely recommended for readers aged 18 and over.

Electric Heart (Dark Planet Warriors #7) by Anna Carven follows Riana and Kail. I was anxious for their story.

I really liked both Riana and Kail. Riana had a mysterious past that we learned more about here. I liked that Kail didn’t immediately fall in love with her, as that’s been a theme throughout the series. There was a lot of action in this novel, which kept the story moving. I wasn’t as invested in the conspiracy aspects of this book, but I did enjoy the way Riana and Kail partnered up.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Dark Planet Warriors

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,