Author: Julia Quinn

Throwback Thursday Review: The Viscount Who Loved Me by Julia Quinn.

Posted October 10, 2019 by Rowena in Reviews | 7 Comments

Throwback Thursday Review: The Viscount Who Loved Me by Julia Quinn.Reviewer: Rowena
The Viscount Who Loved Me by Julia Quinn
Series: Bridgertons #2
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: June 27, 2006
Format: Print
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 354
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

1814 promises to be another eventful season, but not, this author believes, for Anthony Bridgerton, London's most elusive bachelor, who has shown no indication that he plans to marry.And in truth, why should he? When it comes to playing the consummate rake, nobody does it better...—Lady Whistledown's Society Papers, April 1814

But this time, the gossip columnists have it wrong. Anthony Bridgerton hasn't just decided to marry—he's even chosen a wife! The only obstacle is his intended's older sister, Kate Sheffield—the most meddlesome woman ever to grace a London ballroom. The spirited schemer is driving Anthony mad with her determination to stop the betrothal, but when he closes his eyes at night, Kate is the woman haunting his increasingly erotic dreams...

Contrary to popular belief, Kate is quite sure that reformed rakes do not make the best husbands—and Anthony Bridgerton is the most wicked rogue of them all. Kate is determined to protect her sister—but she fears her own heart is vulnerable. And when Anthony's lips touch hers, she's suddenly afraid she might not be able to resist the reprehensible rake herself...

*** Every Thursday, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books. Enjoy! ***

This review was originally posted on July 9, 2009.

Anthony Bridgerton is the eldest boy in the Bridgerton clan and he’s the man of the house. He’s been the man of the house since his father died of a bee sting and he took their father’s death the hardest out of all of the kids because he was the closest to his father. Edmund Bridgerton, father to the Bridgerton tribe was fairly young when he died, just 39 years old and from a bee sting of all things. Anthony has this strange thought that he’s going to die young just like his father so he’s decided that he wants to get married before his untimely demise and of course, he doesn’t want to marry someone that he’ll love because it’d be unfair for his young wife to lose the man she loves when he dies.

Yeah, I know but as silly as the set up for this book is, I did enjoy it. It’s not one of my favorites of the Bridgerton series but it is still a good story and that has a big part to do with the way that Julia Quinn tells her stories. With lots of delightful dialogue and just a whole lot of funny scenes to make stories pop right off the pages.

My favorite part of these stories is seeing the family all together. For a bunch of historical characters, they sure are delightful and not in the least stuffy like I imagine lots of historical families to be.

The scenes with Anthony and Kate made for some good reading as well though there were plenty of times that I wanted to choke Kate the hell out. Yes, I got it, she wasn’t the beauty in the family and the more she harped on this, the more I wanted to scream at her but what made her human to me was her fear of thunderstorms. I thought the scene when Anthony finds her alone and frightened and then stays with her through the thunderstorms was one of my favorite scenes in the entire book.

Overall, this book was a whole lot of fun. The characters are all three dimensional and I fell in love with each of them and it set up some great stuff for the future books in this series and I’m thinking that maybe I’ll have to write up some more reviews for this series because this series is one of those series that we don’t want to forget about with all of the new stuff coming out these days. The Bridgertons are a wonderful family and I fell in love with each of them in their books and Anthony was no different.

Anthony was a stand up hero, one that was easy to fall in love with and while I did love him, it’s his brothers that I absolutely adored. I love the relationship that they have with each other, it’s so much fun and so..real. If you haven’t read this series then you should seriously start because this series is the bomb!

Grade: 4 out of 5.

The Bridgertons

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Sunday Spotlight: When He was Wicked by Julia Quinn

Posted February 17, 2019 by Rowena in Features, Giveaways | 3 Comments

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

Julia Quinn has been writing fabulous historical romances for as long as I can remember. Each book that I read from her delivers a delightful romance that I can’t get enough of and I want to remind you why she’s so great.

Sunday Spotlight: When He was Wicked by Julia QuinnWhen He Was Wicked (Bridgertons, #6) by Julia Quinn
Series: Bridgertons #6
Also in this series: The Viscount Who Loved Me
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: June 29, 2004
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 368
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Everything was so much simpler... when he was wicked.

In every life there is a turning point. A moment so tremendous, so sharp and breathtaking, that one knows one's life will never be the same. For Michael Stirling, London's most infamous rake, that moment came the first time he laid eyes on Francesca Bridgerton.

After a lifetime of chasing women, of smiling slyly as they chased him, of allowing himself to be caught but never permitting his heart to become engaged, he took one look at Francesca Bridgerton and fell so fast and hard into love it was a wonder he managed to remain standing. Unfortunately for Michael, however, Francesca's surname was to remain Bridgerton for only a mere thirty-six hours longer—the occasion of their meeting was, lamentably, a supper celebrating her imminent wedding to his cousin.

But that was then... Now Michael is the earl and Francesca is free, but still she thinks of him as nothing other than her dear friend and confidant. Michael dares not speak to her of his love... until one dangerous night, when she steps innocently into his arms, and passion proves stronger than even the most wicked of secrets...

When I read my first Bridgertons book, I had so much love for this family. They made me laugh, they made me cry and every single one of the first books were so lighthearted and just all around happy books that I easily fell into each of them. Then I read When He was Wicked and it wasn’t the happy go lucky, lighthearted romance that I was used to. It was a darker, more angsty romance and yet it fits perfectly with Francesca Bridgerton’s personality. At least, the way that I saw her. She was a lot more serious than her sisters but man was she just as awesome as they were…and that is why I’m spotlighting her book today.

I remember so much angst in this book. The forbidden love that Michael carried for Francesca all those years. The sadness of Francesca losing her husband and then the angst of falling in love with his cousin? Gah, it gets me every single time.

Order the Book

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || GOOGLE || THE RIPPED BODICE

Memorable Scenes

Here are some memorable scenes and quotes that hit me right in my feels every time that I read the book or come across these quotes online. These are some of my favorites.

“Tell me something wicked.”

sigh

Yes, be wicked!

“In every life there is a turning point. A moment so tremendous, so sharp and clear that one feels as if one’s been hit in the chest, all the breath knocked out, and one knows, absolutely knows without the merest hint of a shadow of a doubt that one’s life will never be the same.”

“Oh, God, Francesca. Now there’s a good one. Why? Why? Why?” He gave each one a different tenor as if he were testing out the word, asking it to different people.

“Why?” he asked again, this time with increased volume as he turned around to face her.

“Why? It’s because I love you, damn me to hell. Because I’ve always loved you. Because I loved you when you were with John, and I loved you when I was in India, and God only knows I don’t deserve you, but I love you, anyway.”

Francesca sagged against the door.

“How’s that for a witty little joke?” he mocked. “I love you. I love you, my cousin’s wife. I love you, the one woman I can never have. I love you, Francesca Bridgerton Stirling.”

If you haven’t read this book, I recommend that you fix that because this book is a forbidden romance that will melt your heart at every turn. Quinn does such a fabulous job of making us feel for these characters and Michael Stirling is one of the best heroes out there. Francesca is one lucky wench!

The Bridgertons

Giveaway Alert

We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

Sunday Spotlight: February 2019

Do you love Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton series as much as we do? Let us know in the comments and let us know what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Julia Quinn Giveaway)

Posted December 28, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 13 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: Last week I was going to start Demon’s Mercy by Rebecca Zanetti. I ended up not end up starting it. I blame the holidays. I hope to start it today.

Last week I mentioned a few books that I want to start on audio. I’m off work until next Monday, so I probably won’t start listening to anything until then. I’ll let you know what I decide to go with next week.

Holly: I’m still reading Suzanne Wright’s Phoenix and Mercury Pack series’. I finished the Mercury Pack serious out with Lure of Oblivion and Echoes of Fire. I really liked both a lot. I read Fierce Obsessions and Wild Hunger from the Phoenix Pack series. Yes, I’m jumping around. Stop judging me. I also liked both of those books, though Wild Hunger was my favorite of the two.

I’m not sure what I’m going to read next. I’m hoping to get at least a couple more in before the year ends.

Rowena: I’m not reading anything right now. I thought I was going to start reading 99 Percent Mine by Sally Thorne but I haven’t touched my Kindle in weeks. I am mostly binge watching Hart of Dixie on Netflix. When I’m not watching Hart of Dixie, I’m browsing Twitter and Instagram. I’ve given up for the rest of 2018. I’ll start my reading next year. 😉

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Julia Quinn Giveaway)The Other Miss Bridgerton (Rokesbys, #3) by Julia Quinn
Series: Rokesbys #3
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: November 20, 2018
Format: Print
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 391
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

She was in the wrong place...

Fiercely independent and adventurous, Poppy Bridgerton will only wed a suitor whose keen intellect and interests match her own. Sadly, none of the fools from her London season qualify. While visiting a friend on the Dorset coast, Poppy is pleasantly surprised to discover a smugglers' hideaway tucked inside a cave. But her delight turns to dismay when two pirates kidnap her and take her aboard a ship, leaving her bound and gagged on the captain's bed…

He found her at the wrong time...

Known to society as a rascal and reckless privateer, Captain Andrew James Rokesby actually transports essential goods and documents for the British government. Setting sail on a time-sensitive voyage to Portugal, he's stunned to find a woman waiting for him in his cabin. Surely, his imagination is getting the better of him. But no, she is very real—and his duty to the Crown means he's stuck with her.

Can two wrongs make the most perfect right?

When Andrew learns that she is a Bridgerton, he knows he will likely have to wed her to avert a scandal—though Poppy has no idea that he is the son of an earl and neighbor to her aristocratic cousins in Kent. On the high seas, their war of words soon gives way to an intoxicating passion. But when Andrew's secret is revealed, will his declaration of love be enough to capture her heart…?

What Are You Reading: The Other Miss Bridgerton

What are you reading this last week of 2018? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Review: The Other Miss Bridgerton by Julia Quinn

Posted November 19, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 3 Comments

Review: The Other Miss Bridgerton by Julia QuinnReviewer: Rowena
The Other Miss Bridgerton (Rokesbys, #3) by Julia Quinn
Series: Rokesbys Series #3
Also in this series: The Girl with the Make Believe Husband
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: November 20, 2018
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

She was in the wrong place...

Fiercely independent and adventurous, Poppy Bridgerton will only wed a suitor whose keen intellect and interests match her own. Sadly, none of the fools from her London season qualify. While visiting a friend on the Dorset coast, Poppy is pleasantly surprised to discover a smugglers' hideaway tucked inside a cave. But her delight turns to dismay when two pirates kidnap her and take her aboard a ship, leaving her bound and gagged on the captain's bed…

He found her at the wrong time...

Known to society as a rascal and reckless privateer, Captain Andrew James Rokesby actually transports essential goods and documents for the British government. Setting sail on a time-sensitive voyage to Portugal, he's stunned to find a woman waiting for him in his cabin. Surely, his imagination is getting the better of him. But no, she is very real—and his duty to the Crown means he's stuck with her.

Can two wrongs make the most perfect right?

When Andrew learns that she is a Bridgerton, he knows he will likely have to wed her to avert a scandal—though Poppy has no idea that he is the son of an earl and neighbor to her aristocratic cousins in Kent. On the high seas, their war of words soon gives way to an intoxicating passion. But when Andrew's secret is revealed, will his declaration of love be enough to capture her heart…?

The Other Miss Bridgerton is the third book in Julia Quinn’s Rokesbys series and we’re finally getting Andrew Rokesbys story. I’ve wanted Andrew’s story since George and Billie’s book and when I found out that we were finally getting it, I was thrilled. I couldn’t request this book fast enough.

So Andrew is the Rokesby brother that has been missing from the other books. He was in the navy but now? Nobody really knows what Andrew does and where Andrew is. Well, he’s the captain of a bunch of ships that delivers goods all over the world and he also happens to be a delivery boy for the government, only nobody knows about that part of his job. If he happens to stash some of his goods in a cave, that’s his business and nobody else’s so when Poppy Bridgerton, Billie Bridgerton’s cousin, happens upon his cave of nobody’s business and goes searching for treasures, Andrew has no choice but to abduct her for the trip that he’s going on and lock her in his cabin until he can figure out what to do with her.

Poppy is visiting her best friend Elizabeth for a spell and while out on her daily walks, comes across a cave of treasure so she investigates and gets caught up in some business that is not hers and has no choice but to let herself be kidnapped or…something else that she doesn’t want to think about. The captain assures her that they’ll only be gone for two weeks so she has to think quickly and make sure that Elizabeth doesn’t come searching for her or she’ll be ruined.

A huge bulk of the book takes place while Poppy and Andrew are out at sea, making their way to Portugal so that Andrew can conduct his business. They slowly but surely fall in love with each other while they spend their hours getting to know each other. Sure, they didn’t plan on things turning out the way that they did but I thought they made the best of the situation before them. I really enjoyed their conversations and seeing them grow closer with each passing day. They were both great characters on their own but I enjoyed their scenes together.

The pacing of the story was a bit on the slow side in the beginning (or actually while they were on the high seas) and then super rushed in the end. I thought it felt like they were out to sea for forever and their relationship progressed super slow and then toward the end of the book, the pacing picked up so quickly that their reunion was a bit of a letdown…not that it was a complete letdown because I enjoyed seeing them come together but I wished there was more time when they returned to England to really come together. I thought that Poppy didn’t spend nearly as much time being pissed off at Andrew like she should have been but in the end, I still enjoyed the heck out of the two of them together that I couldn’t stay mad about that.

Julia Quinn is a pro at writing lighthearted historical romances that has you laughing and sighing at the same time and The Other Miss Bridgerton is proof of that. I laughed and I sighed and I just had a great time with this one so I’m a happy camper.

Grade: 4.25 out of 5

The Rokesbys

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Historical Giveaway)

Posted February 23, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 10 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I finished Archangel’s Viper and really enjoyed it. I never really wondered what happened to Holly, which is odd to me. I have no idea how I forgot her. Watch for my review.

Last night I started Storm Gathering by Rebecca Zanetti. It is the fourth book in her Scorpius Syndrome series. I adore dystopian romance. This is one of my favorite dystopian series and I hope she can keep it going. I’m still reading rather slowly, but I’m fine reading at a slow steady pace rather than not reading at all.

Holly: I didn’t have a lot of reading time this week. I did a re-read of One Fell Sweep (Ilona Andrews is currently writing Maud’s novella..it’s going up weekly as a serial on the blog. Y’all. Maud!), mostly because Rowena was reading it and I wanted to catch up. Then I read Rough Ride by Kristen Ashley, a Chaos novella featuring Rosalie (she was Shy’s girl for a minute in Own the Wind) and Snapper. I really liked Snapper, but the novella was just eh IMO.

I’m still reading The Darkling Bride. It isn’t the book, I just haven’t had time. I’m also reading Lake Silence by Anne Bishop (I’m still sad we left Lakeside, but I’m loving it!) and listening to Saving Grace by Julie Garwood.

Rowena: It was a slow reading week for me. I had a lot going on at work and then at home that reading took a back seat. I read Living Out Loud by Staci Hart and that book was…I’m not sure. It took me a lot longer to read what should have been a quick read because the heroine, the very young heroine got on my nerves. After that, I quickly jumped into One Fell Sweep by Ilona Andrews and freaking loved the hell out of that book so now I’m back on my review pile and will be starting On Hart’s Boardwalk by Samantha Young and What a Difference a Duke Makes by Lenora Bell.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Historical Giveaway)The Girl with the Make-Believe Husband (Rokesbys, #2) by Julia Quinn
Series: Rokesbys Series #2
Also in this series: The Girl with the Make Believe Husband, The Other Miss Bridgerton (Rokesbys, #3)
Publisher: Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: May 30th 2017
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars


While you were sleeping...

With her brother Thomas injured on the battlefront in the Colonies, orphaned Cecilia Harcourt has two unbearable choices: move in with a maiden aunt or marry a scheming cousin. Instead, she chooses option three and travels across the Atlantic, determined to nurse her brother back to health. But after a week of searching, she finds not her brother but his best friend, the handsome officer Edward Rokesby. He's unconscious and in desperate need of her care, and Cecilia vows that she will save this soldier's life, even if staying by his side means telling one little lie...


I told everyone I was your wife

When Edward comes to, he's more than a little confused. The blow to his head knocked out six months of his memory, but surely he would recall getting married. He knows who Cecilia Harcourt is—even if he does not recall her face—and with everyone calling her his wife, he decides it must be true, even though he'd always assumed he'd marry his neighbor back in England.


If only it were true...

Cecilia risks her entire future by giving herself—completely—to the man she loves. But when the truth comes out, Edward may have a few surprises of his own for the new Mrs. Rokesby.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,