Tag: Isla Frost

Review: Vampires Will Be Vampires by Isla Frost

Posted August 17, 2022 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Vampires Will Be Vampires by Isla FrostReviewer: Holly
Vampires Will Be Vampires by Isla Frost
Series: Fangs and Feathers #3
Also in this series: Dragons Are a Girl’s Best Friend
Publisher: Self-PublishedFormat: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
dnf
Series Rating: one-star

The supernaturals banished the gods from earth.They should have done a better job.
My life, as I knew it, is over.
My beloved career, my purpose, my very identity has been ripped from me. Because I now possess the devil's magic. And no one around me is safe.
Oh, and my dragon ex-partner-in-action wants my help saving the world. Again.
But this time the enemy is no mere magically-gifted human. I'm facing a vampire who's been around for a millennium, maybe two, and who has more money, experience, and influence than I can possibly imagine. A vampire who's somehow murdering the last remaining immortals. And if that's not enough, he's backed by a goddess.
I thought my new devil's magic was too much power for anyone to possess.
But I'm terrified it won't be enough to stop what's coming.
Warning: This urban fantasy series contains danger, mayhem, humor, and heart, with characters you'll fall for—including a vampire with an unbeating heart of gold, a book-hoarding dragon who eats criminals for breakfast, a mysterious faerie who's as hot as the desert he slunk out of, and a human heroine who'll fight to save them all.
Fans of Ilona Andrews, Kim Harrison, Annette Marie, K.F. Breene, Hailey Edwards, or Patricia Briggs, dive into this thrilling new world for a feel-good, action-packed adventure with a dash of slow burn romance.

Vampires Will Be Vampires is the third book in the Fangs and Feathers series by Isla Frost. I DNF’d this around the 25% mark.

Lyra is still on paid leave from work when her partner, Aurelis, says she needs help. Something big is happening and Aurelis needs Lyra to help her prevent the world from ending.

View Spoiler »

Not my cuppa.

DNF.

Fangs and Feathers

dnf


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: All is Faerie in Love and War by Isla Frost

Posted August 15, 2022 by Holly in Features | 0 Comments

Review: All is Faerie in Love and War by Isla FrostReviewer: Holly
All Is Faerie in Love and War by Isla Frost
Series: Fangs and Feathers #2
Also in this series: Dragons Are a Girl’s Best Friend , Vampires Will Be Vampires
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: November 12, 2021
Format: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited, Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 248
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
two-stars
Series Rating: one-star

If the devil is knocking at your door, don't open it.A simple enough rule to follow... or so you'd think.

When a criminal has magic too dangerous to merely lock up, we send them to a blackout prison.

Hell would've been a better destination for this guy.

As a lowly cop in the LVMPD's Rapid Response unit, I'm used to dealing with all kinds of dumpster-fire scenarios. From drunk salamanders on a building-melting bender and angry manticore landlords threatening to eat tenants' gallbladders in lieu of payment, to human summoners calling up monsters from the deep to impress their girlfriends—to name a few.

But learning about the magic I shouldn't have while facing off against a psychopath who's worked me into his infernal plans for worldwide torment? That's decidedly outside my wheelhouse.

Oh, and my one and only fae friend is acting really strange.

I have to stop this devil from bringing hell to earth.

But I'm petrified I'm going to help him pull it off instead.

Warning: This urban fantasy series contains danger, mayhem, humor, and heart, with characters you'll fall for—including a vampire with an unbeating heart of gold, a book-hoarding dragon who eats criminals for breakfast, a mysterious faerie who's as hot as the desert he slunk out of, and a human heroine who'll fight to save them all.
Fans of Kim Harrison, Annette Marie, Ilona Andrews, K.F. Breene, Hailey Edwards, or Patricia Briggs, dive into this thrilling new world for a feel-good, action-packed adventure with a dash of slow burn romance.

All is Faerie in Love and War is the second book in Isla Frost’s Fangs and Feathers series. I got the ebook from Kindle Unlimited and purchased the audio add-on so I could read and listen. These books are well written, but I did not the plot of this book. I almost DNF’d it several times. I pushed through because I was curious to see how things would end.

Lyra is a cop with the Las Vegas Magical Police Department. She’s just come back from a two week suspension and she finds out an escaped psychopathic criminal with mind control magic is targeting her. She sends her family away and tries to get back to her life, until the worst happens.

The issue I had with this book comes down to the mind control. View Spoiler »

I am curious enough about what happens in the future to try the next book, but I hope the theme is different.

Rating: 2 out of 5

Fangs and Feathers

two-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Dragons are a Girl’s Best Friend by Isla Frost

Posted August 10, 2022 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Dragons are a Girl’s Best Friend by Isla FrostReviewer: Holly
Dragons Are a Girl’s Best Friend by Isla Frost
Narrator: Tess Irondale
Series: Fangs and Feathers #1
Also in this series: Vampires Will Be Vampires
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: October 6, 2021
Format: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited, Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 326
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: one-star

Why did the dragon cross the road? To eat the stupid human, probably.
Welcome to post-revolution Las Vegas. Now a haven for gambling, debauchery, and supernaturals.
Of course, it's the idiot humans with new magics of their own that cause the most trouble. That's where I come in.
My job as a rookie cop in the Rapid Response unit is to deal with the ongoing teething problems of the magic revolution. Teething problems which often involve actual fangs, among other things. But as one of the idiot humans myself, and saddled with an oddball magic that's frequently more hazard than help, that's easier said than done.
Oh, and the ill-tempered dragon? She's my police partner. (Ditto on the more hazard than help thing.)
So when some jackass comes up with the bright idea to take the entire city hostage? Yeah, I'm in way over my head. But my adoptive family is right in the crosshairs, and I didn't become a cop to sit on my hands while others suffer.
You'd better wish me luck.
Warning: This urban fantasy series contains danger, mayhem, humor, and heart, with characters you'll fall for—including a vampire with an unbeating heart of gold, a book-hoarding dragon who eats criminals for breakfast, a mysterious supernatural who's as hot as the desert he slunk out of, and a human heroine who'll fight to save them all.
Fans of Kim Harrison, Annette Marie, Ilona Andrews, K.F. Breene, Hailey Edwards, or Patricia Briggs, dive into this thrilling new world for a feel-good, action-packed adventure with a dash of slow burn romance.

Dragons are a Girl’s Best Friend by Isla Frost is the first book in the Fangs and Feathers Urban Fantasy series. I got the ebook from Kindle Unlimited and purchased the audible add-on so I could switch between reading and listening. I liked the narrator a lot.

Lyra works for the Las Vegas Magical Police Department Rapid Response Team, so basically she’s a magical rookie beat cop. Since the Supernaturals of the world gave humans magical abilities, the type and amount of magic you have matters. Since Lyra’s only magical ability is to “borrow” someone else’s power through touch, she’s considered mostly a dud. That doesn’t stop her from jumping headfirst into a new case when the entire magical part of the city is taken hostage.

Based on the cover and description I thought this was going to be a light-hearted, fun Urban Fantasy. Though there are shades of snark and humor, the content is darker than I expected. I enjoyed Lyra, the Main Character, and her partner, Aurelis, the dragon. I thought this was a very engaging read and I zipped right through it. There is a hint of romance to come, but nothing really on page.

I’m looking forward to the next book.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5

Fangs and Feathers


Tagged: , , , , , , ,