Series: The Phoenix Pack

Review: Untamed Delights by Suzanne Wright

Posted October 2, 2023 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Untamed Delights by Suzanne WrightReviewer: Casee
Untamed Delights by Suzanne Wright
Narrator: Jill Redfield
Series: The Phoenix Pack #8
Also in this series: Wild Hunger, Wild Hunger , Carnal Secrets , Untamed Delights , Savage Urges, Fierce Obsessions, Wild Hunger
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: July 16, 2019
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 384
Length: 13 hours and 17 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Return to the sensual and feral stirrings of the Phoenix Pack as a woman who’s already bound to one man is tempted by a wolf who’s bound only to his nightly desires. Cat shifter Mila Devereaux can’t help but see it as a betrayal. That her one true mate imprinted himself on another female was hard enough to accept. Struggling to be at peace with her loveless fate, she doesn’t fight the suggestion of entering an arranged mating. Then she meets Dominic, a pack enforcer with a notorious reputation. It’s in his very scent. This irresistible playboy―and delicious badass wolf―is making Mila’s fantasies come alive again. Alarming, compelling, and heady with sensual energy, Dominic is an expert at making women shed their inhibitions. Now everything about him―his killer smile, his perfectly sculpted body, and his smooth-as-honey voice―is drawing in a captivating new catch. But for the first time in his life, Dominic is feeling more than a fling. He finds himself tantalized by a female who makes him think of forever. He wants all of Mila and won’t be satisfied until he has it. As the passion grows wild, so does the risk. They’re falling in love in the shadows and secrets of their pasts. And it’s threatening to destroy everything Mila and Dominic are fighting for. And are destined for.

Dominic has been a prevalent character through both The Phoenix Pack and The Mercury Pack series. He’s always been a fun-loving, funny, and loveable character. I wondered who was going to tame him and Mila couldn’t have been more perfect for him.

Mila has found her true mate. Unfortunately he has imprinted on her cousin. She doesn’t want Joel, but she also doesn’t want to see Joel and Adele around the pride every day. Deciding to move to Russia and enter an arranged mating, Mila only has a few weeks left in California. Then she meets Dominic and her world is turned upside down. Mila knows that Dominic is not for her. He’s not a player, but he makes no bones about the fact that he doesn’t want commitment. Mila doesn’t want commitment either, so they decide on a no-strings attached fling.

After they get together, it doesn’t take Dominic long to realize that he doesn’t want to let Mila go. He’s sad that her true mate is out of her reach, but he’s also fiercely happy that they aren’t together. Pretty soon, Dominic and Mila are having a full-blown, strings attached, affair.

I really liked Mila in this book. She was such a strong, fierce character. I love the pallas cat shifters. They are so adorable, yet so blood-thirsty. There were a number of times where Mila shifted and kicked ass, and I loved that Dominic just let her be who she was.

Of course there were shenanigans with the human extremists. It didn’t detract from the story, it actually opened a storyline, which I really enjoyed. I honestly thought Mila was mistaken about Joel and that Dominic was her true mate. That wasn’t the case, but it really didn’t take anything away from the story of Dominic and Mila. I enjoyed both of the immensely and thought this was a fitting ending to The Phoenix Pack series.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

The Phoenix Pack

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Wild Hunger by Suzanne Wright

Posted September 25, 2023 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Wild Hunger by Suzanne WrightReviewer: Casee
Wild Hunger by Suzanne Wright
Narrator: Jill Redfield
Series: The Phoenix Pack #7
Also in this series: Wild Hunger, Wild Hunger , Carnal Secrets , Untamed Delights , Savage Urges, Fierce Obsessions, Untamed Delights
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: May 29, 2018
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 320
Length: 11 hours and 1 minute
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

When half–wolf shifter Frankie Newman receives an e-mail from a family member she didn’t know existed, a secret is revealed: as a child, Frankie witnessed her father killing her mother…and then himself. Frankie was torn from her pack by her mother’s human relatives, and the trauma was erased from her memory. Realizing that she’s been lied to her entire life, she’s never felt more alone. Until she catches the scent of an old friend—warmly familiar and intoxicating.
Trick Hardy, enforcer of the Phoenix Pack, can sense the rush of mutual attraction when he sees Frankie again. He knows immediately that she’s his true mate. But he also knows that, given her fragile state, he needs to tread with care—no matter how fierce his surging desires.
As aroused as Frankie is by Trick’s darkly dominant air and simmering desire, her priority right now is her past—not her future, no matter how tempting. But as more secrets emerge and Frankie’s life is threatened, Trick must do everything he can to keep her close and safe. After all, it’s their destiny.

Frankie Newman is a half-shifter, half-human that grew up in the human world. After her father killed her mother, then himself, her grandparents took her from the pack and never let her go back. It was only after years of being fed lie after lie that Frankie finds out the truth. For years, she had no memory of her childhood. Now her shifter aunt has contact her because Frankie’s paternal grandmother is dying. She’s not sure that she wants to get involved in shifter life, even as she’s always felt like something was missing from her life.

The moment Trick sees Frankie, he knows that she is his true mate. He also knows that if he tries to claim her, she will run. He knows he has to be patient with Frankie, but as secrets about her life start coming to the forefront, Trick knows he can’t wait too much longer to claim her.

When Frankie and Trick return to the pack that she was born into, it’s readily apparent that someone wants her dead. Or at least injured. She doesn’t know who or why. What she does know is that Trick doesn’t leave her side while she’s dealing with the shitshow that has become her life. As they get closer and closer, so does Frankie’s past. The question is, can she accept what she’s always known about her parents death?

I did enjoy this book, though it wasn’t my favorite in the series. The best thing about this book was seeing the pack interact. I love being able to see the characters from previous books. Overall, I was happy with this book, but I didn’t love it.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5.

The Phoenix Pack

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Fierce Obsessions by Suzanne Wright

Posted August 28, 2023 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Fierce Obsessions by Suzanne WrightReviewer: Casee
Fierce Obsessions by Suzanne Wright
Narrator: Jill Redfield
Series: The Phoenix Pack #6
Also in this series: Wild Hunger, Wild Hunger , Carnal Secrets , Untamed Delights , Savage Urges, Wild Hunger, Untamed Delights
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: June 13, 2017
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 303
Length: 10 hours and 25 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

When raven shifter Riley Porter was given sanctuary by the Phoenix Pack, she let them believe she had left her flock. Reluctant to divulge the secrets of her past, she was still embraced as family. Only Tao Lukas, the protective and passionate Head Enforcer of the pack, was resistant to the enigmatic shifter. Until Riley started to arouse in him something other than suspicion...
Tao doesn’t trust lone shifters, especially ones so guarded - and tempting. But the sexual tension between them is making them both come undone, and vulnerable to more than desire. All Tao wants is for Riley to stay with him and to trust him with the truth of her past...
As Riley’s mysteries come to light, so does a danger that threatens not only her life but the safety of the entire pack. For Tao, keeping Riley safe means keeping her close - forever - as his mate!

I really thought I would love this book. I enjoyed Riley immensely when she was introduced in Savage Urges. I loved how Dexter and Savannah loved her. I loved how protective she was of them. I just loved everything about their relationship. I don’t know what it was that I didn’t really like. Maybe it was that Tao never particularly interested me or jumped out at me as a character that I wanted to read about. Shrugs.

Riley is a lone shifter that left her flock. She doesn’t have any dark or dirty secrets, she left the flock because she wasn’t happy. Honestly, I don’t remember that much of this book because it just wasn’t memorable. I’ve been reading some reviews on GR to try to jog my memory, but it’s not working. This is my least favorite of The Phoenix Pack series. Pretty disappointing after loving almost all the other books.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

The Phoenix Pack

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Savage Urges by Suzanne Wright

Posted July 31, 2023 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Savage Urges by Suzanne WrightReviewer: Casee
Savage Urges by Suzanne Wright
Narrator: Jill Redfield
Series: The Phoenix Pack #5
Also in this series: Wild Hunger, Wild Hunger , Carnal Secrets , Untamed Delights , Fierce Obsessions, Wild Hunger, Untamed Delights
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: May 3, 2016
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 316
Length: 10 hours and 44 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

She’s a lone wolf with a cause.
As a volunteer at a shelter for lone shifters—the same one that rescued her—Makenna Wray has dedicated her life to finding homes for its residents. And when she discovers that a teen in her care is related to Ryan Conner, the broody, handsome-as-sin enforcer of the Phoenix Pack, she’s eager to help connect the two. She just wasn’t prepared to feel a connection of her own.
Lone wolves are loners for a reason—and most of them bad. Or so Ryan assumes until he meets the mysterious Makenna. Quirky and sensual, she seems to enjoy riling him, especially when she refuses to discuss her past. Although there is no mating bond, he’s sure she’s the one. All he has to do is be patient and wait. But when another pack’s sinister Alpha comes sniffing around, threatening Makenna and her shelter, this enforcer is ready to let his wolf off the leash.…

Makenna Wray is a lone wolf that has dedicated her life to helping lone shifters. Working at a shelter that is specifically there to give lone shifters a place to go, Makenna is fiercely possessive of both the shelter and the shifters that seek asylum from life on the streets. Most lone shifters turn to bounty hunting and have no morals. Makenna is far from evil, but she is dangerous.

Ryan is an enforcer for The Phoenix Pack. He’s instantly leery of Makenna, as he has learned that lone shifters can’t be trusted. It doesn’t take long for Ryan to realize that Makenna is his true mate. He doesn’t tell her as he knows that she will run. The patience he shows soon runs out when the Alpha of another pack decides that he wants the shelter for very sinister reasons.

Makenna won’t let the shelter join any pack. The only reason lone shifters come to the shelter is because they are not part of a pack. The moment that it becomes shifter territory, the lone shifters will leave. Makenna knows it as does Dawn, the owner of the shelter. Pretty soon it becomes apparent that the Alpha is not going to give up. He will do whatever it takes to get his hands on the shelter, including killing anyone that gets in his way.

I really did like this book. I loved how Makenna understood what his grunts meant. Ryan isn’t one to talk much, but he finds himself talking more to Makenna than he has any other person in the past. I enjoyed the romance and thought that the suspense plot was well thought out.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

The Phoenix Pack

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Untamed Delights by Suzanne Wright

Posted August 21, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Untamed Delights by Suzanne WrightReviewer: Holly
Untamed Delights by Suzanne Wright
Series: The Phoenix Pack #8
Also in this series: Wild Hunger, Wild Hunger , Carnal Secrets , Savage Urges, Fierce Obsessions, Wild Hunger, Untamed Delights
Publisher: Montlake Romance
Publication Date: July 16, 2019
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 381
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Return to the sensual and feral stirrings of the Phoenix Pack as a woman who’s already bound to one man is tempted by a wolf who’s bound only to his nightly desires.

Cat shifter Mila Devereaux can’t help but see it as a betrayal. That her one true mate imprinted himself on another female was hard enough to accept. Struggling to be at peace with her loveless fate, she doesn’t fight the suggestion of entering an arranged mating. Then she meets Dominic, a pack enforcer with a notorious reputation. It’s in his very scent. This irresistible playboy—and delicious badass wolf—is making Mila’s fantasies come alive again.

Alarming, compelling, and heady with sensual energy, Dominic is an expert at making women shed their inhibitions. Now everything about him—his killer smile, his perfectly sculpted body, and his smooth-as-honey voice—is drawing in a captivating new catch. But for the first time in his life, Dominic is feeling more than a fling. He finds himself tantalized by a female who makes him think of forever. He wants all of Mila and won’t be satisfied until he has it.

As the passion grows wild, so does the risk. They’re falling in love in the shadows and secrets of their pasts. And it’s threatening to destroy everything Mila and Dominic are fighting for. And are destined for.

Untamed Delights is the final book in Suzanne Wright’s Phoenix Pack series. I’m sad to see the end of it, but I’m looking forward to seeing what comes next from Wright.

I’ve been anxiously awaiting Dom’s book. He’s the one who constantly tossed cheesy lines at all the women in previous books, but you could tell there was more to him.

Mila Devereaux, a Pallas cat, knows who her True Mate is, and she and her cat are salty because he imprinted on someone else. She wouldn’t accept him now even if he did come for her, because she feels he betrayed and abandoned her by choosing someone else. She wants him to be happy, but that doesn’t lesson the feelings of betrayal. She’s having a hard time living as part of her Pride, since she’s in constant contact with her True Mate and the shifter he chose. Dominic isn’t interested in finding his True Mate. He wants a partner, and he’d rather do the choosing than have fate choose for him. He’s wanted Mila for years, but after they spend a little more time together he knows he has to have her. He sets out to win her and her cat over.

I really liked the way he and Mila chose each other, though I did struggle with the whole fated mates aspect. Dominic choosing to be with her, despite knowing he has a True Mate somewhere in the world was sweet, but I was mildly bothered by the fact that Mila was just okay with it. As someone who felt betrayed by her True Mate choosing someone else, I thought she should have felt some kind of way about doing that to someone else.

That aside, I liked their relationship and watching them come together. I liked watching Dominic fall for her, and go all in. They had great banter and a lot of chemistry. It was also great seeing some of my favorite past characters, though I could have done without Greta and her constant sniping. That was funny 15 books ago. Now, not so much.

I didn’t care for the “villains”, but then I rarely do when it comes to SW’s books. Still, Wright always gets me wrapped up in her world, and this book was no exception.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

The Phoenix Pack

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,