Series: Royally

Sunday Spotlight: Dirty Charmer by Emma Chase

Posted May 24, 2020 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 6 Comments

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

I love me some Emma Chase. She is pure goodness. I get all the feels when reading her books. I’m really looking forward to diving into this one.

Sunday Spotlight: Dirty Charmer by Emma ChaseDirty Charmer by Emma Chase
Series: Royally #5
Also in this series: Royally Matched (Royally, #2), Royally Endowed (Royally, #3), Royally Yours
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: May 19, 2020
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 264
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

Abigail Haddock is stunning, sensible, and some would say . . . stuffy. But it’s not really her fault. She was raised in one of Wessco’s oldest, most affluent, aristocratic families—“stuffy” is their middle name. So is successful. Abby’s working overtime to distinguish herself as a top-notch physician, just as her family legacy demands.

She doesn’t have time for nonsense.

Tommy Sullivan’s all about nonsense.

Sure, he’s an elite bodyguard with lethal skills and co-owner of the renowned, S&S Securities Firm—protector of the wealthy and titled. But he’s also rowdy, fun and thoroughly irresistible.

Tommy knows how to have a good time, and he’s never seen someone more in need of a good time than Abby. The lass needs long, wet, filthy kisses—STAT—and he’s just the man for the job.

It doesn’t take long for a wildly sexy, sinfully satisfying, no-strings attached arrangement to turn into something more. Something sweet and addictive and real. But Tommy and Abby are too royally stubborn to admit it.

Opposites attract, everyone knows that. But can they last—can they love…for forever?

Excerpt

Abby

“I want to kiss you, Abby. More than I can remember wanting anything, in a long time. I want this. You. And I think, deep down you want it too.”

I can almost taste him. It. The kiss. I know how good it will be.

Perfect.

And a very bad decision. The kind that opens up all the boxes—Pandora’s and all those other Greek gods, whose names I can’t remember right now.

By most measures, parachuting out of a plane is also a very bad decision. But people do it all the time. Because they love the fall. The flight. The feeling of soaring air and whipping winds.

I’ve never been the jumping sort. But with him—a reaching, yearning, desperate part of me wants to give it try.

“Open your eyes, Abby.”

When I do, I’m met with warm honey-brown eyes—like they’re lit from within.

“Three . . . two . . . one . . .”

I’m going to say yes.

The word is there on my lips, the tingling, thrilling taste of it on the very tip of my tongue. Because I want this—the brush of his lips, the feel of his hot skin and firm muscle beneath my palm. The feel of him everywhere.

It’s been so long since I wanted anything just for me.

But before I can speak the words, his head turns away, snaps around in the direction of the front room. His shoulders are tense and the tendons of his neck are pulled taut.

“Are you expecting someone?” he asks very quietly.

Instinctively, the volume of my voice matches his.

“No.”

That’s when I hear it. The jostle of the front doorknob. The sharp whine of the hinge as it opens. And then . . . footsteps, slow but distinct.

Someone is here. Someone is inside my flat.

Oh my.

Oh my, oh my, oh my, oh my . . .

Without a sound, Tommy Sullivan pulls a gun from the inside of his suit jacket. It’s the first time I’ve ever seen a handgun up close—it’s black and weighted and looks right at home in his grip.

“You didn’t tell me you were armed!” I whisper-yell.

“Shhh.”

“Do you have a permit for that? Do you know the statistics on—”

His large hand covers my entire mouth.

“Shush.” He looks down at me with an expression I’ve never seen on his face before—hard, harsh and deadly serious. The kind of look that says he could kill a man with his bare hands, and walk away whistling a merry tune afterwards.

“Stay.”

And without a sound, he slips out the kitchen door.

But I don’t stay. Because I’m not a dog.

But mostly because . . . what if something happens? What if there’s more than one of them? What if they manage to get the upper hand?

What if he needs me?

I pull the drawer open, careful not to make any noise, and grab the thick, hefty wooden rolling pin that I’ve never actually used to roll anything. It’s just one of those things you get when you move into your own place.

I give it one practice swing, then tiptoe out the kitchen door . . .

Royally

Giveaway Alert

We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

Sunday Spotlight: May 2020

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About Emma Chase

New York Times bestselling author Emma Chase writes contemporary romance novels known for their clever banter, emotion, and sexy, swoon-worthy moments. Her books have been translated in over twenty languages around the world.

Emma lives in New Jersey with her amazing husband, two spirited children, and two adorable but badly behaved dogs. She has a long-standing love/hate relationship with caffeine.


Tagged: , , ,

Review: Royally Yours by Emma Chase

Posted September 11, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Royally Yours by Emma ChaseReviewer: Holly
Royally Yours by Emma Chase
Narrator: Shane East, Andi Arndt
Series: Royally #4
Also in this series: Royally Matched (Royally, #2), Royally Endowed (Royally, #3)
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: October 28, 2018
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Escape
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Historical Romance
Pages: 215
Length: 7 hours and 33 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Historical Challenge, Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, Holly's 2019 Historical Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

*New York Times bestselling author Emma Chase returns with a sweet and sexy romantic comedy.*

Princess Lenora Celeste Beatrice Arabella Pembrook had an unusual childhood. She was raised to be a Queen—the first Queen of Wessco.

It’s a big deal.

When she’s crowned at just nineteen, the beautiful young monarch is prepared to rule. She’s charming, clever, confident and cunning.

What she isn’t…is married.

It’s her advising council’s first priority. It’s what Parliament is demanding, and what her people want.

Lenora has no desire to tie herself to a man—particularly one who only wants her for her crown. But compromises must be made and royals must do their duty.

Even Queens. Especially them. ** Years ago, Edward Langdon Richard Dorian Rourke, walked away from his title and country. Now he’s an adventurer—climbing mountains, exploring jungles, going wherever he wants, when he wants—until family devotion brings him home.

And a sacred promise keeps him there.

To Edward, the haughty, guarded little Queen is intriguing, infuriating…and utterly captivating. Wanting her just might drive him mad—or become his greatest adventure. ** Within the cold, stone walls of the royal palace—mistrust threatens, wills clash, and an undeniable, passionate love will change the future of the monarchy forever.

Every dynasty has a beginning. Every legend starts with a story.

This is theirs.

I didn’t read the other books in this series, but I’m given to understand this is the story of the grandmother from the Royally series. I enjoyed it quite a bit. Set in the late 40s and into the 50s, this novel chronicles the life of Queen Lenora Pembrook, as she’s crowned at 19 and takes her place as ruler of Wessco.

Lenora was raised to be queen from birth. She didn’t have much of a childhood, outside of a few short incidences, because she was training for the moment she’d take over and rule the country as the first queen. She had a couple childhood friends who grew to adulthood with her, but there was a lot of loss in her life. The romance doesn’t really even begin until about the 50% mark (perhaps a bit more, I listened to the audio so I’m not sure when exactly Edward was introduced into the story), but I didn’t really miss it, I was so engaged in Lenora’s life. I enjoyed seeing her training, then eventual coronation. She had to deal with centuries of patriarchal bullshit, but I thought she handled it all rather well.

Loss, heartbreak and eventually a smoldering love affair with the husband she never thought she’d get, Royally Yours had me swept up in life at the palace. I don’t really have a desire to read the modern day stories, but this was just what I was in the mood for.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Royally

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Royally Endowed by Emma Chase

Posted September 19, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 5 Comments

Review: Royally Endowed by Emma ChaseReviewer: Rowena
Royally Endowed (Royally, #3) by Emma Chase
Series: Royally #3
Also in this series: Royally Matched (Royally, #2), Royally Yours
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: August 14th 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

Logan St. James is a smoldering, sexy beast. Sure, he can be a little broody at times—but Ellie Hammond’s willing to overlook that. Because, have you seen him??

Sexy. As. Hell.

And Ellie’s perky enough for both of them.

For years, she’s had a crush on the intense, gorgeous royal security guard—but she doesn’t think he ever saw her, not really.

To Logan, Ellie was just part of the job—a relative of the royal family he’d sworn to protect. Now, at 22 years old and fresh out of college, she’s determined to put aside her X-rated dreams of pat-downs and pillow talk, and find a real life happily ever after.

The Queen of Wessco encourages Ellie to follow in her sister’s footsteps and settle down with a prince of her own. Or a duke, a marquis…a viscount would also do nicely.

But in the pursuit of a fairy tale ending, Ellie learns that the sweetest crushes can be the hardest to let go. ***Logan St. James grew up on the wrong side of the tracks, in a family on the wrong side of the law. But these days, he covers his tattoos and scars with a respectable suit. He’s handsome, loyal, brave, skilled with his hands and…other body parts.

Any woman would be proud to call him hers.

But there’s only one woman he wants.

For years he’s watched over her, protected her, held her hair back when she was sick, taught her how to throw a punch, and spot a liar.

He dreams of her. Would lay down his life for her.

But beautiful Ellie Hammond’s off-limits.

Everybody knows the bodyguard rules: Never lose focus, never let them out of your sight, and never, ever fall in love.

Logan and Elle’s story, woot!

This was another fabulous contemporary romance in this series. Is it realistic? I have no idea but I don’t even care because I had a good time reading this one. Logan and Elle were such a fantastic couple and I really liked getting to know them. Elle has grown into a wonderfully confident young woman and I’m glad that Logan finally fessed up to how he really felt about Elle all of these years.

Logan has been a part of Nick’s security team for years and he’s worked his way up in the ranks. He’s one of Nick’s most trusted security guards and he’s been struggling with being professional and giving into his feelings for Nick’s sister in law. It was a lot easier when he couldn’t do anything about how she makes him feel because she was too young but now that she’s an adult and as aware of him as he is of her? Things just got real complicated.

Their romance wasn’t easy. There were things to figure out, futures to decide and they couldn’t be together without huge changes in both of their lives. The Queen had plans for Elle and Logan couldn’t be with Elle without leaving his current job and so the complications just kept right on adding up. None of those complications lessened how they felt about each other and I enjoyed seeing them try to figure things out.

Emma Chase has written a fun, witty and sexy series featuring some royals that really rocked my world. This book was just another fabulous romance that I didn’t want to end and seeing everyone from the previous books come together in this book to help Logan and Elle figure their shit out was great. I really enjoyed seeing everyone again and I’m hoping that this isn’t the last that we’ll see of these folks. I definitely recommend.

Grade: 4 out of 5


Tagged: , , , , ,

Review: Royally Matched by Emma Chase

Posted September 18, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 4 Comments

Review: Royally Matched by Emma ChaseReviewer: Rowena
Royally Matched (Royally, #2) by Emma Chase
Series: Royally #2
Also in this series: Royally Endowed (Royally, #3), Royally Yours
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: February 21st 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 276
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Some men are born responsible, some men have responsibility thrust upon them. Henry John Edgar Thomas Pembrook, Prince of Wessco, just got the motherlode of all responsibility dumped in his regal lap.

He’s not handling it well.

Hoping to help her grandson to rise to the occasion, Queen Lenora agrees to give him "space"—but while the Queen’s away, the Prince will play. After a chance meeting with an American television producer, Henry finally makes a decision all on his own:

Welcome to Matched: Royal Edition.

A reality TV dating game show featuring twenty of the world's most beautiful blue bloods gathered in the same castle. Only one will win the diamond tiara, only one will capture the handsome prince’s heart.

While Henry revels in the sexy, raunchy antics of the contestants as they fight, literally, for his affection, it’s the quiet, bespectacled girl in the corner—with the voice of an angel and a body that would tempt a saint—who catches his eye.

The more Henry gets to know Sarah Mirabelle Zinnia Von Titebottum, the more enamored he becomes of her simple beauty, her strength, her kind spirit... and her naughty sense of humor.

But Rome wasn’t built in a day—and irresponsible royals aren’t reformed overnight.

As he endeavors to right his wrongs, old words take on whole new meanings for the dashing Prince. Words like, Duty, Honor and most of all—Love.

Matched is the second book in the Royally series and it’s probably my favorite story of the bunch. I just really enjoyed the romance between Henry and Sarah. Their relationship blossomed so sweetly and I just ate everything up.

Henry Pembrook is still reeling from the fact that his older brother abdicated the crown and he is now the heir to the throne of Wessco. He’s not handling things very well and there’s so much to learn and so much to do that he needs space to figure things out on his own. When he gets the Queen’s permission for some space, he kind of goes nuts. He plans a super hush-hush reality dating show to find himself a wife while hooking up with every eligible woman he can.

We met his heroine in the first book in this series and I was thrilled when I found out for sure that she was Henry’s girl. Why, you ask? Because she was adorable and bookish and nerdy and just…my kind of gal. She obviously has some stuff that she’s working through and I was mighty curious to find out what her deal was. Her name is Sarah and she’s one of Henry’s friend’s sisters.

Sarah accompanies her sister to be a part of Henry’s show and she’s supposed to serve as her sister’s moral compass. She’s supposed to pull her sister back when she’s trying to get too crazy. Penelope (the sister) is there to try to win Henry’s heart and capture his attention and wouldn’t you know that Henry’s attention is captured by someone who isn’t even on the show.

I adored how the friendship that sparked up between Henry and Sarah became so much more than either of them were expecting. I loved seeing how important they became to each other and I just adored their alone moments together. You really do see them grow individually and then together as the book progresses and I thought Emma Chase did a wonderful job of pulling the reader into their love story.

This was a fun contemporary romance with characters that really pulled at my heart strings. I adored the support system that both Henry and Sarah had in their family and friends. It was good to see my friends Nick and Olivia and Elle and Logan. They were a fun addition to an already fun book. I definitely recommend this book.

Grade: 4.5 out of 5

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,