Narrator: Jill Redfield

Review: Wild Hunger by Suzanne Wright

Posted September 25, 2023 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Wild Hunger by Suzanne WrightReviewer: Casee
Wild Hunger by Suzanne Wright
Narrator: Jill Redfield
Series: The Phoenix Pack #7
Also in this series: Wild Hunger, Wild Hunger , Carnal Secrets , Untamed Delights , Savage Urges, Fierce Obsessions
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: May 29, 2018
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 320
Length: 11 hours and 1 minute
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

When half–wolf shifter Frankie Newman receives an e-mail from a family member she didn’t know existed, a secret is revealed: as a child, Frankie witnessed her father killing her mother…and then himself. Frankie was torn from her pack by her mother’s human relatives, and the trauma was erased from her memory. Realizing that she’s been lied to her entire life, she’s never felt more alone. Until she catches the scent of an old friend—warmly familiar and intoxicating.
Trick Hardy, enforcer of the Phoenix Pack, can sense the rush of mutual attraction when he sees Frankie again. He knows immediately that she’s his true mate. But he also knows that, given her fragile state, he needs to tread with care—no matter how fierce his surging desires.
As aroused as Frankie is by Trick’s darkly dominant air and simmering desire, her priority right now is her past—not her future, no matter how tempting. But as more secrets emerge and Frankie’s life is threatened, Trick must do everything he can to keep her close and safe. After all, it’s their destiny.

Frankie Newman is a half-shifter, half-human that grew up in the human world. After her father killed her mother, then himself, her grandparents took her from the pack and never let her go back. It was only after years of being fed lie after lie that Frankie finds out the truth. For years, she had no memory of her childhood. Now her shifter aunt has contact her because Frankie’s paternal grandmother is dying. She’s not sure that she wants to get involved in shifter life, even as she’s always felt like something was missing from her life.

The moment Trick sees Frankie, he knows that she is his true mate. He also knows that if he tries to claim her, she will run. He knows he has to be patient with Frankie, but as secrets about her life start coming to the forefront, Trick knows he can’t wait too much longer to claim her.

When Frankie and Trick return to the pack that she was born into, it’s readily apparent that someone wants her dead. Or at least injured. She doesn’t know who or why. What she does know is that Trick doesn’t leave her side while she’s dealing with the shitshow that has become her life. As they get closer and closer, so does Frankie’s past. The question is, can she accept what she’s always known about her parents death?

I did enjoy this book, though it wasn’t my favorite in the series. The best thing about this book was seeing the pack interact. I love being able to see the characters from previous books. Overall, I was happy with this book, but I didn’t love it.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5.

The Phoenix Pack

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Fierce Obsessions by Suzanne Wright

Posted August 28, 2023 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Fierce Obsessions by Suzanne WrightReviewer: Casee
Fierce Obsessions by Suzanne Wright
Narrator: Jill Redfield
Series: The Phoenix Pack #6
Also in this series: Wild Hunger, Wild Hunger , Carnal Secrets , Untamed Delights , Savage Urges, Wild Hunger
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: June 13, 2017
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 303
Length: 10 hours and 25 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

When raven shifter Riley Porter was given sanctuary by the Phoenix Pack, she let them believe she had left her flock. Reluctant to divulge the secrets of her past, she was still embraced as family. Only Tao Lukas, the protective and passionate Head Enforcer of the pack, was resistant to the enigmatic shifter. Until Riley started to arouse in him something other than suspicion...
Tao doesn’t trust lone shifters, especially ones so guarded - and tempting. But the sexual tension between them is making them both come undone, and vulnerable to more than desire. All Tao wants is for Riley to stay with him and to trust him with the truth of her past...
As Riley’s mysteries come to light, so does a danger that threatens not only her life but the safety of the entire pack. For Tao, keeping Riley safe means keeping her close - forever - as his mate!

I really thought I would love this book. I enjoyed Riley immensely when she was introduced in Savage Urges. I loved how Dexter and Savannah loved her. I loved how protective she was of them. I just loved everything about their relationship. I don’t know what it was that I didn’t really like. Maybe it was that Tao never particularly interested me or jumped out at me as a character that I wanted to read about. Shrugs.

Riley is a lone shifter that left her flock. She doesn’t have any dark or dirty secrets, she left the flock because she wasn’t happy. Honestly, I don’t remember that much of this book because it just wasn’t memorable. I’ve been reading some reviews on GR to try to jog my memory, but it’s not working. This is my least favorite of The Phoenix Pack series. Pretty disappointing after loving almost all the other books.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

The Phoenix Pack

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Savage Urges by Suzanne Wright

Posted July 31, 2023 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Savage Urges by Suzanne WrightReviewer: Casee
Savage Urges by Suzanne Wright
Narrator: Jill Redfield
Series: The Phoenix Pack #5
Also in this series: Wild Hunger, Wild Hunger , Carnal Secrets , Untamed Delights , Fierce Obsessions, Wild Hunger
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: May 3, 2016
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 316
Length: 10 hours and 44 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

She’s a lone wolf with a cause.
As a volunteer at a shelter for lone shifters—the same one that rescued her—Makenna Wray has dedicated her life to finding homes for its residents. And when she discovers that a teen in her care is related to Ryan Conner, the broody, handsome-as-sin enforcer of the Phoenix Pack, she’s eager to help connect the two. She just wasn’t prepared to feel a connection of her own.
Lone wolves are loners for a reason—and most of them bad. Or so Ryan assumes until he meets the mysterious Makenna. Quirky and sensual, she seems to enjoy riling him, especially when she refuses to discuss her past. Although there is no mating bond, he’s sure she’s the one. All he has to do is be patient and wait. But when another pack’s sinister Alpha comes sniffing around, threatening Makenna and her shelter, this enforcer is ready to let his wolf off the leash.…

Makenna Wray is a lone wolf that has dedicated her life to helping lone shifters. Working at a shelter that is specifically there to give lone shifters a place to go, Makenna is fiercely possessive of both the shelter and the shifters that seek asylum from life on the streets. Most lone shifters turn to bounty hunting and have no morals. Makenna is far from evil, but she is dangerous.

Ryan is an enforcer for The Phoenix Pack. He’s instantly leery of Makenna, as he has learned that lone shifters can’t be trusted. It doesn’t take long for Ryan to realize that Makenna is his true mate. He doesn’t tell her as he knows that she will run. The patience he shows soon runs out when the Alpha of another pack decides that he wants the shelter for very sinister reasons.

Makenna won’t let the shelter join any pack. The only reason lone shifters come to the shelter is because they are not part of a pack. The moment that it becomes shifter territory, the lone shifters will leave. Makenna knows it as does Dawn, the owner of the shelter. Pretty soon it becomes apparent that the Alpha is not going to give up. He will do whatever it takes to get his hands on the shelter, including killing anyone that gets in his way.

I really did like this book. I loved how Makenna understood what his grunts meant. Ryan isn’t one to talk much, but he finds himself talking more to Makenna than he has any other person in the past. I enjoyed the romance and thought that the suspense plot was well thought out.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

The Phoenix Pack

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Force of Temptation by Suzanne Wright

Posted June 5, 2023 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Force of Temptation by Suzanne WrightReviewer: Casee
Force of Temptation by Suzanne Wright
Narrator: Jill Redfield
Series: Mercury Pack #2
Also in this series: Echoes of Fire (Mercury Pack, #4), Carnal Secrets
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: December 13, 2016
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 319
Length: 11 hours and 37 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Harley Vincent is resigned to life in the human world. Sure, being a margay shifter is half her nature, but life among humans gives her the freedom to roam and do as she pleases. That is, until anti-shifter extremists target her, putting her life in immediate danger.
When an old acquaintance and onetime fling, Jesse Dalton, shows up to offer the protection of his pack, Harley hesitates. She may have feelings for Jesse that go beyond their one-night stand, but life among shifters means giving over her independence to the needs of pack. Plus Mercury Pack has its own threat to face: a rich half-shifter is determined to claim their territory at any cost.
Jesse, who lost his true mate as a child, has wanted Harley since their night together, and he’s not letting her go again. They may not be destined for each other, but he knows she belongs to him and with his pack. Even if he can convince her to join him now, can he convince her to stay?

Harley Vincent is a margay shifter that lives in the human world. After her friend, Mia, died of a drug overdose, the entire pack blamed Harley except for Mia’s brother Jesse. After a one-night fling with Jesse after Mia’s funeral, Harley leaves him in the morning & doesn’t expect to see him again. After all, the Pack blames Harley, so why wouldn’t Jesse? She has no idea that Jesse has decided that they are going to be together. Until Cassidy (a young shifter in the Pack) has a vision of Harley dying. Jesse knows it’s time to claim what he believes is his. Although he lost his true mate when he was a child, Jesse wants Harley with everything he has. Now he just has to convince her that the fact that they are not true mates doesn’t matter to him.

Harley crushed on Jesse for years, but thought it would always stay a crush. She’s stunned when he shows up at the bar she works at & claims her.

I don’t play games, Harley, so I’ll tell you straight. I want you. In my bed. In my life. Where you belong.

What I really liked about this book was that there was not any back and forth or BIG MISUNDERSTANDINGS between them. Jesse simply tells Harley that he wants her & expects her to fall in line. As a margay shifter, Harley doesn’t fall in line with anyone. She’s still not sure about the mating thing as true mates are sacred in their world. Harley wants Jesse to talk about his mate that dies, but he refuses which makes Harley feel like they will never imprint. I have to admit that even as a new SW reader, I was wondering how the whole thing would pan out since his true mate died.

I really enjoyed this one. The Mercury Pack is one big family & they take no shit. How can you not like that?

Rating: 4.25 out of 5.

The Mercury Pack

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Spiral of Need by Suzanne Wright

Posted May 29, 2023 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Spiral of Need by Suzanne WrightReviewer: Casee
Spiral of Need by Suzanne Wright
Narrator: Jill Redfield
Series: The Mercury Pack #1
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: September 29, 2015
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 320
Length: 10 hours and 40 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Ally Marshall isn’t just a wolf shifter — she’s a Seer.
But a girl doesn’t exactly need special powers to know that Derren Hudson despises her entire kind. Disdain practically rolls off the Beta of the Mercury Pack . . . disdain mixed with a healthy dose of desire. And no matter how much the ruggedly handsome male appeals to her, this is one call of the wild she’s determined to ignore.
After one betrayal too many, Derren doesn’t have much use for Seers — except for Ally.
Forced into acting as her protector, he finds himself intensely and passionately drawn to the woman who incites his primal instinct to claim.
And when enemies target the pack, Ally’s gift may be just what the Mercury Pack needs.
Can he put his distrust aside, or will he force himself to turn his back on the one woman who makes his inner beast howl?
Coming September 29, 2015...

Ally Marshall is a Seer and empath. When she is accused of hurting the Beta female of her pack, Ally knows it’s time to go. After drifting from pack to pack over the years, Ally is ready to find her place. She never expected that place to be with the Mercury Pack. Unbeknownst to Ally, her foster brother contacts Derren Hudson, who is the Beta of the Mercury Pack, to protect her, Ally knows instantly that Derren hates her kind. He wants nothing to do with her, which is fine with Ally. She is used to being on her own and taking care of herself. It only takes a few short days for Ally to prove herself to the pack when she saves the Alpha female’s life.

This was the first book I’ve read by Suzanne Wright & holy shit was it steamy which is exactly how I like my romances. The struggle that Derren felt over his feelings for Ally was very real. He had a real prejudice against Seers, but as he got to know Ally better, he realized that she is nothing like the Seers that he knew in the past. It takes awhile for the Pack to warm up to Ally (except Shaya), but she eventually proves herself. Ally is very dominant herself, which makes her and Derren butt heads quite a bit. He loves her dominant side, but he always wants her to submit to him in some ways.

I found this book to be very likeable & an easy read. As of this writing, I am on book five of the series & I’ve loved every single book. I can’t wait to go back and read the Phoenix Pack series!

Rating: 4 out of 5.

The Mercury Pack

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,