Author: Lexi Blake

What Are You Reading? (+ Lexi Blake Giveaway)

Posted May 31, 2019 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 9 Comments

Casee: I finally finished Spellbinder (Moonshadow #2) by Thea Harrison. It was amazing! I really ended up loving Morgan and Sid. They were really perfect together. I planned to immediately move onto Lionheart (Moonshadow #3) and finish up the series, but I changed my mind. I’m going to start Alpha’s Promise (Dark Protectors #10) by Rebecca Zanetti instead. I am crazy for this series!

I’ve been listening to Kristen Proby’s Boudreax series which is part of the Audible Romance Package. I’m currently on Easy Melody (Boudreaux #3). Kristen Proby is a new-to-me author (I’m pretty sure I said that last week) and I am really, really liking her.

Holly: Nada. I read not a single freaking thing all week. I’m officially in a slump. I binge-watched Supernatural all week instead. I’m giving up on May and planning to start fresh in June. Wish me luck over the weekend.

Rowena: I finished The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren earlier this week and started Ayesha at Last by Uzma Jalaluddin but I haven’t found the time to get any reading done this week so I’m still reading the same book that I started the week with. I really need to catch up on updating all of my reading stuff because I haven’t had the time to do any of that stuff either. Hopefully, that will happen this coming week. My family has a lot going on this week.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Lexi Blake Giveaway)Order of Protection by Lexi Blake
Series: Courting Justice #1
Also in this series: Order of Protection (Courting Justice #1), Evidence of Desire (Courting Justice #2)
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: June 5, 2018
Format: Print
Point-of-View: Alternating Third

Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 336
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

A sexy and suspenseful new contemporary romance from New York Times bestselling author Lexi Blake where love and law entwine for a conviction of the heart.

To high-end defense attorney Henry Garrison, Win Hughes is a woman he met during one of the most trying times of his life. She's soft and warm, and he finds solace in their brief relationship. But Win has a secret. She's actually Taylor Winston-Hughes—born to one of the wealthiest families in the country, orphaned as a child by a tragic accident. Win moves in the wealthiest circles, but her lavish lifestyle hides her pain.

When her best friend is murdered in the midst of a glittering New York gala, Win's charged with the crime, and the only person in the world she wants to see is Henry.

Henry is shocked at the true identity of his lover, but he can't reject the case. This trial could take his new firm into the stratosphere. Still, he's not getting burned by Win again. And yet every turn brings them closer together.

As the case takes a wild turn and Win's entire life is upended, she must look to the people she's closest to in order to find a killer. And Henry must decide between making his case and saving the woman he loves...

What Are You Reading: Order of Protection by Lexi Blake

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Review: At the Pleasure of the President by Shayla Black and Lexi Blake

Posted May 7, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: At the Pleasure of the President by Shayla Black and Lexi BlakeReviewer: Casee
At the Pleasure of the President by Shayla Black, Lexi Blake
Series: The Perfect Gentlemen #5
Also in this series: Scandal Never Sleeps (The Perfect Gentlemen, #1), Seduction in Session (The Perfect Gentlemen, #2), Big Easy Temptation (The Perfect Gentlemen, #3), Smoke and Sin (The Perfect Gentlemen, #4)
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: April 9, 2019
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »

Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 474
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

The thrilling conclusion of the twisting, page-turning Perfect Gentlemen series!

When a dangerous conspiracy threatens to tear them apart, he’ll have to choose between his country and the woman he loves…

Decades ago, ambitious Zack Hayes set his sights on the White House. He’s worked his whole life to become the leader of the free world—attending the right schools, marrying the perfect bride—all to aid his campaign. He didn’t realize someone behind the scenes has been pulling the strings to manipulate Zack and the country he loves into a dangerous position—one he will risk his life to wrench free from. The one thing he can’t risk is Elizabeth Matthews.

From the moment she met Zack Hayes, Liz felt the connection. Serving as his campaign manager and then his press secretary, she accepted that her love for him would remain unrequited. Still, she’d thought they were friends, so when he pushed her aside, she felt the stab in her heart. And when she realizes he’s done it to protect her, nothing will stop Liz from standing by his side—not even the men who would use her as a weapon against him.

As shocking secrets are revealed, Zack and Liz find succor and passion in each other’s arms. When the ultimate villain shows his face, Zack may have to choose between his country and the woman he loves…

This is the conclusion to The Perfect Gentlemen series. And holy hell, View Spoiler » Honestly, this isn’t really a spoiler because even I figured it out. If I knew it, anyone reading this book knew it two books before. No joke.

Zack Hayes has been groomed from birth to be the President of the United States. One of my favorite passages of this series was from the prologue of Scandal Never Sleeps, which is book one of the series. The Perfect Gentlemen had been called to the counselor’s office at their boarding school. Zack threatened him when it because clear that the man was out to get the five of them. He was still a teenager at the time.

“You don’t have that kind of power,” Ogilvie blustered.

“You think I don’t? My father was the ambassador to Russia for years. He’s been close friends with the last three presidents, including the current commander-in-chief. My father wants one thing and one thing only from me. Everyone who’s met him knows that he gets what he wants. My future is mapped out. If I do the right things—get the grades, remain class president, go to the appropriate college—then I accomplish everything I should. If you derail me from this path, I’ll get my ass kicked in ways that would make your head spin. But it will end even worse for you. I recently got my SATs back. I had a perfect score. I’m getting into Yale, and Skull and Bones will be waiting for me senior year because they know what my father’s friends have already figured out: I will be the president of the United States one day. Now, you can be my friend or my enemy. You decide.”

Yep, Zack was badass from the beginning.

Moving on, Zack did become president, but how it happened was beyond sad. That doesn’t mean he wasn’t a great one. Through the last four books a conspiracy has been unraveling that makes it apparent to Zack that he might have to step down. Although it was his father that wanted him to be President of the United States, it is Zack that has made the office and policies his own. Zack will not allow himself to be blackmailed or let the integrity of the office be brought into question.

Elizabeth Matthews is the Press Secretary. She is a ball buster where and when she needs to be. She’s also a good friend to Zack. They know where they stand with each other. They’re in love, but unable to do anything about it. Elizabeth is not on the inside of Zack’s circle. Although it hurts, she knows that he doesn’t completely trust her. She thought she could live with that until she couldn’t.

Zack thinks Elizabeth is a Russian spy, which is understandable. What’s not understandable is how Zack doesn’t see who the real spy is. Come on, Zack. You’re supposed to be the smartest person in the country, if not the world and you can’t figure it out? When there is an assassination attempt on Zack, it is obvious Elizabeth is the spy they all thought her to be (seriously?). Or is it?

Roman Calder drove me bonkers in this book. I know it was his responsibility to protect Zack, but I wanted to brain him. He just went completely overboard.

Still, I was so happy with this book because I loved Zack throughout this entire series and I really loved Elizabeth. She was perfect for Zack because she knew exactly what sort of pressure he was under so she didn’t except things from him that she knew he couldn’t give. She knew that being the President of the United States came before all things.

This was a perfect conclusion to this series.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

The Perfect Gentlemen

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Sunday Spotlight: At the Pleasure of the President by Shayla Black and Lexi Blake

Posted April 7, 2019 by Casee in Features | 7 Comments

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

I read the first four books in this series last year, one right after the other. Holy hell, these books are hot as hell. I loved each and every book (there were exceptions). I love both the heroes and the heroines (most of them). Overall, I wish I hadn’t read this series so I could read it again for the first time. Zack Hayes was first introduced in Scandal Never Sleeps. Even as a teenager, Zack knew he would be President one day. He’s been fascinating from day one and I can’t wait to read this book.

Sunday Spotlight: At the Pleasure of the President by Shayla Black and Lexi BlakeAt the Pleasure of the President (The Perfect Gentlemen, #5) by Shayla Black, Lexi Blake
Series: The Perfect Gentlemen #5
Also in this series: Scandal Never Sleeps (The Perfect Gentlemen, #1), Seduction in Session (The Perfect Gentlemen, #2), Big Easy Temptation (The Perfect Gentlemen, #3), Smoke and Sin (The Perfect Gentlemen, #4), At the Pleasure of the President
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: April 9, 2019
Point-of-View: Alternating Third

Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 450
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

The thrilling conclusion of the twisting, page-turning Perfect Gentlemen series!

When a dangerous conspiracy threatens to tear them apart, he’ll have to choose between his country and the woman he loves…

Decades ago, ambitious Zack Hayes set his sights on the White House. He’s worked his whole life to become the leader of the free world—attending the right schools, marrying the perfect bride—all to aid his campaign. He didn’t realize someone behind the scenes has been pulling the strings to manipulate Zack and the country he loves into a dangerous position—one he will risk his life to wrench free from. The one thing he can’t risk is Elizabeth Matthews.

From the moment she met Zack Hayes, Liz felt the connection. Serving as his campaign manager and then his press secretary, she accepted that her love for him would remain unrequited. Still, she’d thought they were friends, so when he pushed her aside, she felt the stab in her heart. And when she realizes he’s done it to protect her, nothing will stop Liz from standing by his side—not even the men who would use her as a weapon against him.

As shocking secrets are revealed, Zack and Liz find succor and passion in each other’s arms. When the ultimate villain shows his face, Zack may have to choose between his country and the woman he loves…

Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || KOBO

Excerpt

Liz’s hands shook as she turned the lock, shutting herself alone in the library with Zack. This was likely the single stupidest thing she’d ever done, but after years of pining for and being in love with him, she couldn’t walk away without knowing how a night with him would feel.

She should be in her bed right now, trying to find sleep. But she’d seen the light on and known he’d be here. Like a freaking moth to a flame, she’d found herself leaving the safety of her bedroom and walking right into the predator’s den.

Trembling, she turned now and looked at the only man she’d ever truly loved. He needed her tonight. She saw it in his stare, in the way he clenched his fists at his sides. How much character and willpower had it taken him to allow her this choice? She admired him even more for finding the strength, especially since she’d long suspected that under his façade of intellectualism and perfect manners, he hid a beast.

Tonight, she would find out if she’d been right.

Liz had no illusions. He was capable of breaking her heart into a million pieces, and she’d try not to let him. But even if she only got one night with this man, she would take it because she would rather live with foolish regret than stubborn ignorance.

“Elizabeth.”

His voice hummed in the quiet room, caressing between her ears, vibrating through her body. She flushed with arousal.

This was it. This was happening.

She’d wanted him the moment they’d met, but he’d been forbidden. Now, he stood in front of her with his broad shoulders and his dark hair. Not a president, but a man. Her man—at least for the night.

Liz tried to steady her breathing as she crossed the room to him. Finally, she had permission to touch him the way she’d always wanted. Of course she’d heard him say tonight would be his way all the way, that it wouldn’t be tender, but she wanted one sweet moment she could cling to later before her man turned beast.

She stopped in front of him and reached up, brushing her fingers against the silver threaded at his temples—the only sign that he was aging. Naturally, it made him even more attractive.

He caught her hand, clasping it in his big one. “Be sure.”

That was Zack, always putting others first, even when his whole world was falling apart. Even when he needed so desperately for himself.

Tonight, she was here for him in every way. Liz hoped with all her heart he understood that.

She would cling to him through the bittersweet hours until dawn, memorizing every touch. Tomorrow they would go back to their corners, and the turmoil would start again. It would be worse because she would know exactly how good it felt to be in his arms. But their passion could only be temporary because he was right, any chance they’d had at a future had died the day Joy had. After her murder and three long years, how could they ever hope for more?

“I’m sure,” she murmured. “I want everything you have to give me tonight.”

He released her hand to grip her waist. Immediately, he dragged her against his body. His free hand found her hair and sank in, tugging her head back. “I’ve waited forever for this.”

His thick whisper sent a tremor through her. “Me, too.”

Silently, Liz mourned the loss of their idyllic vow in Memphis that when they finally kissed for the first time, it would only be when they’d never have to stop. But she couldn’t worry about the future when she and Zack only had right now.

He angled her face under his and her heart began to careen. He bent, crushed her lips under his, and groaned into their kiss. She could feel the moment he let go of his iron will.

“It’s not going to last nearly as long as I want it to,” he muttered against her mouth. “At least not this first time…”

The Perfect Gentlemen

Giveaway Alert

We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

Sunday Spotlight: April 2019

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About Lexi Blake

NY Times and USA Today bestselling author Lexi Blake lives in North Texas with her husband, three kids, and the laziest rescue dog in the world. She began writing at a young age, concentrating on plays and journalism. It wasn't until she started writing romance and urban fantasy that she found the stories of her heart. She likes to find humor in the strangest places and believes in happy endings no matter how odd the couple, threesome, or foursome may seem.

Her first novel, Their Virgin Captive: Masters of Ménage, Book 1, was a collaboration with New York Times bestselling author Shayla Black. There are five more books available in the series: Their Virgin's Secret, Their Virgin Concubine, Their Virgin Princess, Their Virgin Hostage, and Their Virgin Secretary. The next book in the series, Their Virgin Mistress, is releasing this April.

In addition to the Masters of Ménage series, she is the author of the Masters and Mercenaries series. There are eight full-length novels and four novellas available now, with more coming in 2015.

In 2013, Lexi also began releasing her urban fantasy series, Thieves. The first five are available now, with Ripper, a spin-off to the series, coming in 2015.

About Shayla Black

Shayla Black is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of more than sixty novels. For twenty years, she’s written contemporary, erotic, paranormal, and historical romances via traditional, independent, foreign, and audio publishers. Her books have sold millions of copies and been published in a dozen languages.

Raised an only child, Shayla occupied herself with lots of daydreaming, much to the chagrin of her teachers. In college, she found her love for reading and realized that she could have a career publishing the stories spinning in her imagination. Though she graduated with a degree in Marketing/Advertising and embarked on a stint in corporate America to pay the bills, her heart has always been with her characters. She’s thrilled that she’s been living her dream as a full-time author for the past ten years.

Shayla currently lives in North Texas with her wonderfully supportive husband, her daughter, and two spoiled tabbies. In her “free” time, she enjoys reality TV, reading, and listening to an eclectic blend of music.


Tagged: , , ,

Sunday Spotlight: Lost and Found by Lexi Blake

Posted February 24, 2019 by Casee in Giveaways, Reviews | 6 Comments

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

Sunday Spotlight

The Forgotten is a spin-off series of the Masters and Mercenaries. It’s still part of Master and Mercenaries, but different. These are the men that were experimented on by Hope McDonald (see Submission is Not Enough). I am really looking forward to starting this series and it’s not just because it’s Lexi Blake. But come on, it’s Lexi Blake. We love Lexi Blake. It’s also because this series is really amazing. It’ll pull you in and not spit you out until the end. You won’t want to stop reading. If you haven’t read Lexi, I don’t recommend starting with The Forgotten. Start with Masters and Mercenaries and move on from there.

Sunday Spotlight: Lost and Found by Lexi BlakeLost and Found (Masters and Mercenaries: The Forgotten, #2) by Lexi Blake
Series: Masters and Mercenaries: The Forgotten
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: February 26, 2019
Point-of-View: Alternating Third

Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 452
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

Owen Shaw and his “brothers” lost everything, their entire existence erased. Science had robbed he and all the Lost Boys of their memories and their past, but not their future. Hunted by every intelligence agency in the world, they are focused on two goals: find a cure for what was done to them and ensure that the technology that ruined their lives doesn’t get out into the world. Rebecca Walsh might be the key to achieving both. Owen has been studying her closely, living in her building, and he cannot resolve how such a beautiful, giving woman could have helped design the evil process that destroyed his past.

Dr. Rebecca Walsh has dedicated her life to researching the secrets of the mind. Her atmospheric rise in her field was fueled by the horror of watching her mother’s agonizing journey into madness at the hands of a disease with no cure. She vowed to never rest until she finds it. But obsession takes a heavy toll, and when Owen moves into her building she realizes how much of her life she has missed out on. Owen opens her eyes to a whole new world, filled with joy, laughter, and possibly love.

Owen and Rebecca grow closer, unraveling more about each other and the mysteries surrounding her connection to Hope McDonald. As the sinister forces working against the Lost Boys descend on Toronto, secrets long buried are uncovered that could shatter the bonds holding the Lost Boys together and cost Rebecca her life.

Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || KOBO

Excerpt

“Becca.” Owen’s voice was low. “Concentrate on me, on our conversation. You’ve done incredibly well. You’ve been able to hold it off, but this has gone on far longer than you ever should have been expected to handle it. This elevator is tight. I feel it, too, but we can hold off the anxiety together.”

She doubted very much the man in front of her was anxious. He looked solid, like the kind of man who took whatever came his way and simply dealt with it. He wouldn’t have needed two freaking years to figure out what he wanted. He would have signed his divorce papers and moved on, not hiding in his work.

It struck her forcibly that she might never have met a man like Owen Shaw. Her childhood had been fairly sheltered. She’d constantly been surrounded by intellectuals, men and women who were far more concerned with their work than anything else.

The ground beneath her shifted and the elevator dropped what felt like ten feet, but she knew in her head it was mere inches. Her heart rate tripled, and she grabbed on to the closest thing she could—him.

His arms went around her, holding her up, and she heard it. He was so tall that her head naturally rested on his chest, and she could hear his heart beating in rapid time.

He was nervous.

The phone rang and Owen cursed, reaching out to grab it. The shaft was so small, he didn’t have to let her go to grasp it.

“What the bloody hell is happening, Colin?”

She could hear his voice over the line. “Sorry. So sorry. We had to lower the shaft the tiniest bit. I should have warned you. It’s not going to fall. Just needed to reposition to get to the problem. Not long now. Another half an hour or so and I’ll have you right out of there.”

“If you do that again, do you know what I’m going to do to you, Colin?”

There was a pause over the line and she could practically hear Colin’s gulp. “Write my father a tersely worded letter of complaint?”

“No, I’m going to pull your heart out through your throat and then I’ll shove it back up your arse.”

“You sound very much like Liam Neeson in that movie.”

“Liam Neeson is Irish. I’m a Scot. I assure you what I’ll do to you will make you run into Liam Neeson’s arms and beg him to save you.” He reached back and hung up the phone with a resounding clang.

His arm went back around her. “It’s going to be all right. They’ll move faster now. So you’ve taken a sabbatical from men.”

She breathed him in, loving how he smelled. Were men supposed to smell so good?

She could feel herself relax as he held her. She’d known him for three hours. She shouldn’t let him hold her like this.

And why the fuck not? Because it wasn’t smart? Because he might think she wanted something she shouldn’t?

She was human. Why shouldn’t she want him? Because society told her that good girls didn’t make out with guys they’d just met in an elevator?

Society sucked, and she wasn’t a good girl. When her husband had tried to put his name on her work, she’d told him to fuck off and write his own paper. When he’d cheated on her, she’d walked away.

She was single.

God, was he single?

She stepped back.

“What’s wrong?” Owen asked.

“Do you have a girlfriend?”

His lips curled up in the sweetest grin, as though he knew exactly why she was asking that question. “No, love. I don’t have a girlfriend and I don’t have a wife.”
He was single. She was single.

The moment lengthened between them.

He stepped back. “I’m sorry. I’m coming on way too strong.”

He wasn’t. He’d been gentlemanly, friendly. Up until the last couple of moments, he hadn’t put a hand on her or leered. She could feel his attraction. It was there in the warm way he looked at her, in the set of his shoulders, relaxed earlier and tense now that he’d touched her. He was thinking about the same thing she was.
“I’m very nervous, Owen. My logical mind knows that it’s far more likely for me to die getting hit by lightning than in an elevator, even one that’s stuck.” Unfortunately, her logical mind was slowly losing control of her dumbass lizard brain.

“Will talking help?” Owen asked. “Because I’m willing to do that. Or whatever you need to take your mind off things.”

There was a wealth of promise in those words. Dirty and sweet at the same time. They’d shared her wine, passing it back and forth between them, her lips touching the same place his had been moments before. When she’d drank after him, she’d thought about kissing him.

It had been too long. Two years was way too long to go without sex.

They had a half an hour or so. At least that’s what Colin—who might be murdered soon by Owen Shaw—said. She even thought his name was sexy.
What exactly would it hurt if she did kiss him? If she touched him and let him touch her? Hell, what would it hurt if she fucked him? They were both single, both a little needy. They had some time to kill. They’d done everything else.

“I would like to kiss you.” If he didn’t want her to, he could say no and they could find something else to do. She wasn’t going to be embarrassed because some guy didn’t want her. Some stunningly gorgeous guy. Some really funny, sexy guy. After all, she wouldn’t see him after this. She’d never seen him before. He’d told her he was moving in, but she went into work early and came home late. He was a bodyguard, so he likely worked odd hours and traveled a lot.

He was safe. She could open that door, enjoy herself, and then close it again. Owen Shaw could be her first really good memory in a long time, the start of many because it was time to get serious about finding some joy and balance in her life.

But only if he wanted some joy, too.

He moved back, placing his back against the elevator wall, the sweetest smile lighting up his face. “You have no idea how much I want you to kiss me. I’m right here, love. Do your worst.”
He was letting her make the first move. And probably the second. And the third. He was obviously a careful man. It would be easier if he took over, but he was right. This needed to be her choice, and she had to make the move.

She’d been the girl who’d told her parents at the age of five that kindergarten was boring and she wanted to move through the grades until she found something challenging. When they’d told her they wanted her to slow down and enjoy her childhood, she’d gone on strike until the teachers at her school begged her parents to let them move her up.
She was the girl who’d put it all on hold to take care of her mother, too.

She wasn’t the girl who didn’t take what she wanted, and she wanted Owen Shaw.

“It’s been a long time since I did this.” But her body was already heating up. Her body remembered. Her marriage might have sucked, but the sex had been fairly good. It had been the reason she’d married him. She’d gotten used to regular, good sex.

She’d get used to it again, just on her terms this time.

“Somehow, I think you’ll remember,” he said. “You play all you like. Stop when you want to.”

She’d been right about him. He was a careful man. “And if I don’t want to stop?”

“Then you should be happy I’m a man who believes in being prepared.”

The Forgotten

Giveaway Alert

We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

Sunday Spotlight: February 2019

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About Lexi Blake

NY Times and USA Today bestselling author Lexi Blake lives in North Texas with her husband, three kids, and the laziest rescue dog in the world. She began writing at a young age, concentrating on plays and journalism. It wasn't until she started writing romance and urban fantasy that she found the stories of her heart. She likes to find humor in the strangest places and believes in happy endings no matter how odd the couple, threesome, or foursome may seem.

Her first novel, Their Virgin Captive: Masters of Ménage, Book 1, was a collaboration with New York Times bestselling author Shayla Black. There are five more books available in the series: Their Virgin's Secret, Their Virgin Concubine, Their Virgin Princess, Their Virgin Hostage, and Their Virgin Secretary. The next book in the series, Their Virgin Mistress, is releasing this April.

In addition to the Masters of Ménage series, she is the author of the Masters and Mercenaries series. There are eight full-length novels and four novellas available now, with more coming in 2015.

In 2013, Lexi also began releasing her urban fantasy series, Thieves. The first five are available now, with Ripper, a spin-off to the series, coming in 2015.


Tagged: , , ,

Review: Evidence of Desire by Lexi Blake

Posted January 7, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Evidence of Desire by Lexi BlakeReviewer: Casee
Evidence of Desire (Courting Justice #2) by Lexi Blake
Series: Courting Justice #2
Also in this series: Order of Protection (Courting Justice #1)
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: January 8, 2019
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Alternating Third

Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 352
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

A fast-paced contemporary romance that sizzles from the New York Times bestselling author of Order of Protection where passion for the law isn't the only thing heating up the courtroom.

Isla Shayne knows she's in over her head. As former all-star linebacker Trey Adams's personal lawyer, she's used to handling his business dealings and private financial matters, not murder charges. She needs to find an experienced criminal attorney who speaks her client's language. David Cormack of Garrison, Cormack and Lawless is exactly what she needs in the courtroom--and the only man she wants in the bedroom.

For David, taking on the Adams case means diving back into a world he thought he'd left behind and colliding head on with tragic possibilities he's in no mood to face. There's a reason professional football is in his past and no matter how close Isla gets to the truth he intends to leave it there.

But long days working on the case together lead to hot nights in each other's arms. As their feelings grow, the case takes a deadly twist that could change the game between the two lovers forever.

This book was a surprise to me. After reading Order of Protection, I wasn’t too hopeful, but this is Lexi Blake. This book was fast paced, but sad. It revolves around football and CTE. CTE or Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy is a brain condition that is contracted by multiple hits to the head. It is quite prevalent in football players. Lexi Blake did such an amazing job of writing how CTE can affect a family. It was heartbreaking.

Isla Shayne is more than the Adams family lawyer. More than that, she is their advocate and their friend. She looks out for their interests. When Miranda Adams, daughter of Trey and Portia Adams calls her in the middle of the night to tell her something is wrong at her parents penthouse, Isla rushes to meet her. That’s the kind of person Isla is. She tells Miranda to wait downstairs then goes to investigate. Trey Adams has CTE and she doesn’t want his daughter to see him if he is in one of his episodes. What she finds is worse. It’s a bloodbath. Portia Adams has been murdered and Trey is holding her dead body is his arms.

David Cormack is a football player turned criminal lawyer. When he’s asked to be Trey’s attorney, he doesn’t hesitate. Looking at Trey is hard for him because he knows that he could be Trey in 15-20 years. David himself took more hard hits than he could count playing football and CTE is a real possibility in his future. But for now, he has to figure out how to keep Trey out of jail. He doesn’t care if he killed his wife or not, he just has to keep him out of the prison hospital.

David and Isla were such an interesting couple. It was like glass half-empty to glass-half full. Negative vs. positive. Isla was absolutely one hundred percent certain that Trey would never kill Portia even if he was in one of his rages. David is just as certain that Trey could have done it if he was out of his mind. Isla disagrees, but remains silent. She always just remained silent and bulldozed her way through everyone. I really enjoyed her.

I loved their relationship. David tried to break things off with Isla for her own good. Usually that drives me up the freaking wall. This time it didn’t because he had a valid reason. It did go on a bit too far in my opinion, but again, it showed Isla’s inner strength. I loved that about her.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Courting Justice

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,