Author: Juliette Cross

Review: Witches Get Stitches by Juliette Cross

Posted February 21, 2022 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Witches Get Stitches by Juliette CrossReviewer: Holly
Witches Get Stitches by Juliette Cross
Series: Stay a Spell #3
Also in this series: Wolf Gone Wild, Don't Hex and Drive
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: July 20, 2021
Format: eBook
Source: Library
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy
Pages: 390
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Goodreads Challenge, Holly's 2021 Goodreads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Violet Savoie has a plan. A dream, rather. To open her own tattoo shop, which caters to supernaturals in need of permanent charms. As a powerful Seer, she has the potent magic to cast every kind of spell. Except the kind to give werewolves control over their beastly side. And her business partner Nico needs help in the worst kind of way.

Nico Cruz has a secret. A motive, rather. To subtly stalk and seduce Violet until she finally recognizes they are fated to be together. Ever since their heated encounter in Austin on New Year’s Eve two years earlier, he’s been dying to get his hands—and his tongue—back on her body. He knows a woman like Violet can’t be courted in the usual way. Luckily, Nico has no scruples about misbehaving to get what he wants.

But when his former pack roams into town, and an old friend is far too interested in Violet, his focus shifts to the threat venturing into his territory. Nico may come across as the quiet, broody one, but the intruders are about to regret stepping foot in New Orleans. And when Violet goes missing, no charm or spell can keep Nico’s wolf at bay.

Witches Get Stitches is the third book in the Stay a Spell series by Juliette Cross, which features the Savoie sisters, powerful witches who own a bar in New Orleans. Nico and Violet had a connection in the first book, Wolf Gone Wild, and I was really excited to read more about them.

Violet is a powerful seer. She also has a unique gift – she can imbue tattoos with spells. She goes into partnership with Nico in a tattoo shop as she works on refining her craft. She and Nico had a passionate encounter, but she did a divination for herself and realized he wasn’t the one, so she’s been keeping him at arms length.

I have to say, Violet frustrated me. She acted very immature about her attraction to Nico. I wish she’d been more open and honest with him, instead of just ghosting him, or picking fights for no reason.

Still, I liked the underlying message about inclusion, and the way she and Nico changed things for the werewolves. I’m looking forward to the next book in the series.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Stay a Spell

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Don’t Hex and Drive by Juliette Cross

Posted August 9, 2021 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Don’t Hex and Drive by Juliette CrossReviewer: Holly
Don't Hex and Drive by Juliette Cross
Series: Stay a Spell #2
Also in this series: Wolf Gone Wild, Witches Get Stitches
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: September 8, 2020
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First Person
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 346
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Holly's 2021 Goodreads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Notoriously bad at peopling, Isadora Savoie spends most of her time in the greenhouse or at the local animal shelter, using her Conduit powers of growth and healing. Content to remain in the background of the Savoie sister shenanigans, she’s reluctantly roped into the mystery of missing neighborhood girls. Now, she’s partnered with a flashy, flirty vampire to find them before it’s too late.

Devraj Kumar has seen and done it all. Three hundred years roaming the earth as a Stygorn — a legendary vampire warrior who operates in the shadows — has its perks. But ennui has set in. That is, until he has a run-in — literally — with an intriguing witch while on a new assignment in New Orleans. Fascinated by her resistance to his charms, Devraj can’t help but push her buttons in an effort to get to know the shy witch. Fortunately for him, she’s been recruited by the Lord of Vampires to assist Devraj on the case.

Between a Bollywood marathon, supernatural dating app, secret package, and sexy driving instruction, Isadora is in over her head. And Devraj? After just one taste, he’s playing for keeps.

Devraj Kumar is an vampire enforcer of sorts. He’s lived a long time, and spent time everywhere. Most recently he’s been living in Europe, acting the playboy after success as a Bollywood actor. He’s ready for a change, however, so he returns to the states. He settles temporarily in New Orleans to help his friend Ruben (the head vampire in charge) with a case, while he decides where he wants to settle permanently. On his first night in town, he accidentally hits a witch who is riding her bicycle in the dark.

Isadora Savoie has a low tolerance for people and cars. Her opinion isn’t improved when Dev hits her bike with his car, crushing it and causing a sprained ankle in the process. She’s happy to be left alone, except it turns out Devraj is their new next-door neighbor, and he keeps turning up. When they’re paired up to find a bunch of missing girls, Isadora can’t deny she’s attracted to him, but still..she’s happy to play with the dogs at the shelter and hang out in her greenhouse. If only Dev would get the message….

I really enjoyed the first book in this series, but I wasn’t crazy excited to read this one. We were barely introduced to either character and I was honestly hoping another sister would feature here instead. I put off reading it because of that. The first 40% or so really frustrated me. Dev kept making jokes at Isadora’s expense, and it was starting to really piss me off. But then he realized she wasn’t laughing with him, sincerely apologized and stopped doing that. The story picked up from there.

I really liked the second half. The plot moved quickly and I enjoyed the two of them together. Devraj was actually very sweet once he realized Isadora wasn’t getting his jokes. He was careful with her, but pushed her outside her comfort zone. I liked how they came to care for one another, and I really loved that both of them were very family centric, and had mad respect for their siblings and parents. Despite my early frustrations, I easily fell into their story and enjoyed how they came to life on page.

I’m really looking forward to the next book, which features Violet and Nico.

While I didn’t like this one as much as the first, the second half saved it and I truly ended up enjoying it.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5

Stay a Spell

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Wolf Gone Wild by Juliette Cross

Posted August 4, 2021 by Holly in Reviews | 3 Comments

Review: Wolf Gone Wild by Juliette CrossReviewer: Holly
Wolf Gone Wild by Juliette Cross
Series: Stay a Spell #1
Also in this series: Don't Hex and Drive, Witches Get Stitches
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: January 14, 2020
Format: eBook
Source: Library
Point-of-View: No
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 396
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Holly's 2021 Goodreads Challenge, Holly's 2021 New to Me Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

What's the worst thing that can happen to a werewolf? Unable to shift for three months, Mateo Cruz knows all too well. His wolf has taken up residence in his head, taunting him night and day with vividly violent and carnal thoughts. Convinced he's cursed, he needs the help of a powerful witch before he literally goes insane.

​Evie Savoie has always obeyed the house rules of her coven--no werewolves. They're known for being moody and volatile. So, when a distempered, dangerous werewolf strolls into the bar and almost strangles one of her late-night customers, she's ready to bounce him through the door. But the desperation in his eyes when he begs her to help him softens her heart and convinces her to bend the rules.

​What Evie doesn't know is that Mateo's wolf has a mind of his own. And now that she's in his sights, he wants only one thing. Her.

Wolf Gone Wild is the first book in a new paranormal series from Juliette Cross, a new-to-me author. This was a fun, light-hearted paranormal romance. Mateo Cruz is not currently one with his wolf – in fact, Alpha (the wolf in question) has taken up residence in his head and won’t stop his constant chattering. Not to mention, he can’t shift. He’s desperate to get his curse broken before he goes feral and Alpha takes full control.

Evie Savoie and her sisters are one of most powerful covens in New Orleans. They don’t have a lot of rules, but her oldest sister and the leader of their coven is adamant – no werewolves. But Evie can see Mateo’s struggle and wants to help him.

This book was a lot of fun. Funny, without being campy. I have to say, it was Alpha who first drew me in. His constant snark and dialogue in Mateo’s head was hilarious. I also loved Evie. She was a total geek, into SciFi and comics. I enjoyed how their relationship developed. They became friends first, then moved into something more. The mystery was easy to figure out, but that was secondary to the romance for me anyway, so I wasn’t bothered about it. Parts in the middle did seem to drag a bit, but I was so entertained by the rest I didn’t care. I loved Evie’s family, and how they embraced Mateo.

I can’t wait to read the rest of the series.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Stay a Spell

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Waking the Dragon by Juliette Cross

Posted July 21, 2021 by Holly in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Waking the Dragon by Juliette CrossReviewer: Holly
Waking the Dragon by Juliette Cross
Series: Vale of Stars #1
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: June 9, 2015
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First Person
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Fantasy
Pages: 255
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Holly's 2021 Goodreads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
two-half-stars
Series Rating: three-stars

The Gladium Province is on the verge of civil unrest as humans and Morgons, the dragon-hybrid race, clash once more. But amid disorder can also arise passion.

When the bodies of three human women are discovered in Morgon territory—with the DNA of several Morgon men on the victims—it’s just a matter of time before civil unrest hits the Province. But for ambitious reporter Moira Cade, it’s more than just a story, and it may mean risking her own life.

Descending into the dark underworld of Morgon society, Moira is paired with Kol Moonring, Captain of the Morgon Guard, for her protection. Fiercely independent, Moira bristles at his dominance, and defies his will at every turn. Yet resistance proves futile when passion flares between them, awakening powerful emotions within both, body and soul. But as the killings continue, can their fiery newfound bond survive an even greater evil—one that threatens all of humanity, Morgonkind, and Moira’s very soul?...

Waking the Dragon by Juliette Cross is the first book in the Vale of Stars series, a spinoff of the Nightwing series, which I have not read. I definitely felt like I was missing some key pieces of information by starting with this series.

Moira Cade is a college student studying investigative journalism. When several young women turn up dead over the course of several months, Moira knows there’s more to the story than the Morgon and Human Guards are saying. With the help of a friend who works at the precinct, she’s investigating on her own. When she realizes the victims are all disappearing from Morgon games, she enlists the help of her brother-in-law and his security team to help her infiltrate them. She’s partnered with Kol Moonring, the Captain of the Morgon Guard. He’s over-bearing and possessive, but Moira just wants to focus on building her career.

On the surface this was an okay story, but below the surface it was kind of a mess. Moira is only 20 and a human. Yet she is the only one who figures out what’s happening with the murdered girls? A bunch of over-protective dragons agree to let a human girl investigate and act as bait for a murderous cult? None of that made sense. Add to it the fact that Moira was all, “I don’t need no man” until all of a sudden she did need a man and it was over for me. I may have felt differently if I’d read the previous series, but mostly this book just annoyed me.

I am interested in some of the secondary characters, and I enjoy Cross’ writing, so I may try another book in the series before moving on.

2.75 out of 5

Vale of Stars

two-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , ,

Review: Coldest Fire by Juliette Cross

Posted June 25, 2021 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Coldest Fire by Juliette CrossReviewer: Holly
Coldest Fire by Juliette Cross
Series: Dominion #3
Also in this series: Darkest Heart, Hardest Fall
Publisher: Entangled, Entangled: Amara
Publication Date: November 14, 2019
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: No
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal Romance
Pages: 234
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Holly's 2021 Goodreads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Archangel Uriel is hell bent on revenge on the demon prince Vladek. To get into the prince’s impenetrable fortress, he’ll have to fight in the pits of the underworld. And he’ll need the help of the last person he can trust––the demon witch Nadya.

There is no way Nadya, who spends her days taking care of others, expected to find Uriel on her doorstep. He seems no happier about being there than she does. But helping him means evening the scales against her backstabbing sister, and she’ll do whatever it takes to make that bitch pay.

Using the fight pit circuits in the demon underworld, Nadya helps Uriel combat his way to the arena at the castle in Russia. Only she isn’t what she seems. As a matter of fact, she may hold the key to his redemption...and to his heart.

Coldest Fire in the third book in the Dominion series by Juliette Cross. This was my favorite book of the series, which is surprising because I didn’t think anyone could top Dom and Anya from the first book. I really loved Uriel and Nadya. They were so perfect for each other.

Uriel spent months as a captive of the Demon Prince Vladek, under the control of his demon witch concubine, Lisabette. He suffered untold tortures at their hands, and he’s determined to get revenge. Someone must rid the world of that evil, and Uriel is just the archangel for the job. Even if it means working with another witch, Nadya. He and Nadya have history, and he both craves and hates her.

Nadya escaped her captivity under Vladek, but she bears the scars still, both physical and emotional. She agrees to help Uriel because she knows someone has to help, but she’s terrified of ending up back in Vladek’s clutches. As she and Uriel spend time together, she finds more of her own inner strength, and comes to realize there’s more the Uriel than she ever imagined.

Nadya and Uriel were both broken and scarred from their experiences, but they were strong enough to come out the other side wanting to do good. I loved that they were wary of each other at the start, but also drawn to one another. The way Uriel took care of Nadya made me melt. Their inner strength really came through, and I loved their romance.

The world-building is well-done. I loved how nothing was really black and white. Some of the most evil demons were true allies, while the most pious angels were betrayers.

This was a great series and I hope we see more in the world going forward.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Dominion

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,