Guest Review: Magic Shifts by Ilona Andrews

Posted August 19, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Magic Shifts by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Tracy
Magic Shifts by Ilona Andrews
Series: Kate Daniels #8
Also in this series: Magic Shifts, Magic Binds, Magic Bites, Magic Strikes, Iron and Magic, Magic Triumphs, Magic Bites, Magic Bleeds , Magic Burns, Magic Strikes , Magic Slays , Gunmetal Magic , Magic Rises , Magic Strikes, Magic Mourns, Magic Bleeds, Magic Dreams, Magic Slays, Gunmetal Magic, Magic Gifts, Magic Rises, Magic Tests, Magic Stars, Magic Shifts, Magic Steals, Magic Breaks, Magic Breaks, Iron and Magic, Magic Binds, Magic Triumphs , Magic Triumphs, Magic Claims
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: August 4, 2015
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-half-stars

After breaking from life with the Pack, mercenary Kate Daniels and her mate—former Beast Lord Curran Lennart—are adjusting to a very different pace. While they’re thrilled to escape all the infighting, Kate and Curran know that separating from the Pack completely is a process that will take time.

But when they learn that their friend Eduardo has gone missing, Kate and Curran shift their focus to investigate his disappearance. Eduardo was a fellow member of the Mercenary Guild, so Kate knows the best place to start looking is his most recent jobs. As Kate and Curran dig further into the merc’s business, they discover that the Guild has gone to hell and that Eduardo’s assignments are connected in the most sinister way…

An ancient enemy has arisen, and Kate and Curran are the only ones who can stop it—before it takes their city apart piece by piece.

Tracy’s review of Magic Shifts (Kate Daniels #8) by Ilona Andrews.

Picking up from the last book Kate Daniels has now “claimed” Atlanta in order to keep her father from doing so. Besides that she really just wants an average life where everything kind of goes along and then they have to fight bad guys for a while, then life will go back to normal. Unfortunately that doesn’t work out the way she planned. Kate is told of ghouls who are coming to the city in droves. Kate and Curran kill some but then other strange things start happening. Their friend Eduardo is missing and Kate sets out to find him which dumps her and a lot of her other friends in danger from a powerful Djinn.

Curran is no longer the Beast Lord so things are getting moved around in the pack now that he’s gone. His finances are such that the pack tries to pull a fast one on him and give him the Mercenary Guild as part of his payment – which in the end he accepts. Curran is helping Kate but she keeps getting herself into trouble and at one point almost dies.

What amazes me about this series is Kate. She’s really the center of all of it, obviously, but she’s such a wonderful character that as a reader you almost feel like it just can’t get better. It does, though! Kate continues to grow as a person in every book and that shows in all she does. She’s still the same person she was when the books began but she becomes better in each book. She doesn’t always think that the things she does make her that way, but they do. Kate is a good person through and through. She’s loyal to her friends and will literally do anything for them. She is kind and loving and always thinks of others first before herself. She’s really a person that I would love to strive to be – without the whole, you know, battle scenes and fighting crazy fantastical creatures. She’s truly amazing and I love reading about her life.

The secondary characters play a huge role in the story, as usual, and it couldn’t happen without them. She seeks help from unlikely characters and even has a sit down meal with her father – yes, her father! It was pretty epic.

I can’t go into details about the story as I would have to explain too much and then there’d be spoilers, etc., but let me just say that it was amazing and wonderful and definitely worth every minute spent reading it. In fact, I’m tempted to go back and give it a re-read just to make sure I didn’t miss any of the goodness. Of course I highly recommend this series (in fact I recently lent my paper copies to a friend and now she’s hooked too!) and this book especially. I think it was a great follow up to the last few and worth every star I gave it.

Rating: 5 out of 5

This title is available from Ace. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.