Tag: The Chocoholics

Review: At Last by Jill Shalvis.

Posted September 19, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: At Last by Jill Shalvis.Reviewer: Holly
At Last (Lucky Harbor, #5) by Jill Shalvis
Series: Lucky Harbor #5, The Chocoholics #2
Also in this series: Simply Irresistible, Forever and a Day, Once in a Lifetime, It's In His Kiss, He's So Fine, One in a Million, Merry Christmas, Baby
Published by Forever
Publication Date: June 26th 2012
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 314
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads

HER LOVE HAS COME ALONG . . . Amy Michaels loves her new life in Lucky Harbor. A waitress in the local diner, she's looking forward to her first weekend hike through the mountains. But when a wrong turn takes her off the trail, she finds herself up close and personal with forest ranger Matt Bowers. And even though she's tempted to kiss that sexy smile right off his face, she won't make the mistake of getting involved with the town heartthrob.

A former cop whose life went south, Matt doesn't let anyone get too close. But something about the feisty beauty caught his eye the moment he first saw her in the diner. After a hot night under a starry sky, Matt can't deny their attraction-or the fact that for the first time in a long time, he feels the stirrings of something more. Now it's up to Matt to help Amy see that, no matter what is in their past, together they can build a future in Lucky Harbor.

At Last by Jill Shalvis is book 5 in the Lucky Harbor series, but book 2 in the Chocoholics series, which follows three friends who live in the town of Lucky Harbor. These books stand alone well. I don’t believe you need to read the previous four books before reading this one.

I really like these Chocoholics books. I was a bit nervous about Amy. She came off as stubborn and closed off in the last book. And she was, but Shalvis made it work. I ended up really liking Amy. She was tough, but she had a soft underbelly which made her relatable.

I expected to like Matt based on the previous book and I did. I did find his guilt complex a bit over-the-top. Still, he was a stand-up guy and the perfect match for Amy.

I found this one to be darker than some of her others. There was still that trademark Shalvis humor, but the overall tone was darker than some of her others. It worked well with both Amy and Matt’s past history.

Shalvis never disappoints.

4.0 out of 5


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Forever and a Day by Jill Shalvis

Posted December 19, 2013 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Forever and a Day by Jill ShalvisReviewer: Holly
Forever and a Day by Jill Shalvis
Series: Chocoholics #3, Lucky Harbor #6
Also in this series: Simply Irresistible, Once in a Lifetime, It's In His Kiss, He's So Fine, One in a Million, Merry Christmas, Baby, At Last (Lucky Harbor, #5)
Published by Grand Central Publishing, Forever
Publication Date: March 31st 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

The sixth enchanting novel in the Lucky Harbor series from New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis, laced with her trademark gift for humour, warmth and romance. Fans of Susan Andersen, Bella Andre, Rachel Gibson, Carly Phillips, and Susan Mallery will fall head over heels for the Lucky Harbor series.
Love can happen in a heartbeat.
Grace never thought she'd be starting her life over from scratch. Losing everything has landed her in Lucky Harbor, working as a dog walker for overwhelmed ER doctor Josh Scott. But the day his nanny fails to show up, Grace goes from caring for Josh's lovable mutt to caring for his rambunctious son. Soon Grace is playing house with the sexy single dad...
With so many people depending on him, Josh has no time for anything outside of his clinic and family - until Grace arrives in town. Now this brainy blonde is turning his life inside out and giving a whole new meaning to the phrase "good bedside manner". Josh and Grace don't know if what they have can last. But in a town like Lucky Harbor, a lifetime of love starts with just one day...
Want more sexy, fun romance? Return to spellbinding Lucky Harbor or visit Sunshine, Idaho in Jill's captivating Animal Magnetism series.

It’s no secret that I love Shalvis. I think she writes fun contemporary romances with just the right blend of humor and emotion. But this, well, this is probably the best Shalvis I’ve read to date. As I was reading, I was reminded of Susan Elizabeth Phillips, with the dialogue and depth of emotion. Not to mention the humor.

Grace made a stop in Lucky Harbor after her life fell apart. One day she had a cush job at a well-known bank and the next she was jobless, homeless and there didn’t seem to be many prospects on the horizon. While she takes some time to figure out where to go next, she takes odd jobs around town. She also strikes up a friendship with two other women in Lucky Harbor, and they form an unlikely alliance as The Chocoholics. Then she sort of..fibs..her way into another job – dog walker for one  Dr. Josh Scott. Things don’t work out quite as planned, and he lets her go..then calls to hire her back. But this time as babysitter to his young son.

Josh has barely been keeping his head above water since he took over his father’s practice. When his parents died in an accident that crippled his sister, he stepped up and did what he had to do to provide for her and his son. But something’s gotta give..and Grace just might be the answer to his prayers. Too bad her stay in town is just temporary. Not that he wants to keep her for himself, of course, even if they do burn up the sheets. But she certainly has a way with his son, Toby, and Josh’s sister, Anna, and their wild dog, Tank.

Right from the beginning of the book I was sucked into Grace and Josh. They’re both struggling to figure out what to do with their lives. Josh wants to keep his father’s practice going, but not because he loves it. It’s more out of a sad kind of tribute and duty. His heart is in the ER. The hospital has offered to buy the practice, but he doesn’t want to make the wrong decision.

Grace was adopted into a family full of geniuses. She never felt like she fit in, but she’s been trying to tow the line and act like them, even if she isn’t one of them. She needs to find a high-powered job somewhere to make them proud. With the economy being what it is, opportunities are few and far between. While she hunts, she kind of gets labeled as the go-to girl for accounting help in town. Before she knows it she’s doing the books for pretty much all the businesses in town..and she loves it. Too bad that isn’t something her parents will look on as a great achievement, because more than anything she wants to prove herself to them. I thought this was pretty realistic for an adopted kid, especially one who is so different from the family she was brought into.

There’s quite a bit of depth and emotion in the way Josh and Grace deal with each other, but there’s a surprising amount of humor as well. I literally laughed out loud on several occasions. Especially when it came to Grace dealing with Josh’s son and dog.

Grace’s phone rang. A number she didn’t recognize.

“Grace Brooks?” came an unfamiliar voice in her ear.
“Yes.”
“This is Serena, the nurse at Lucky Harbor Elementary. Toby’s not sick or hurt or anything.”
“Okay…”
“But he fell in a mud puddle again…”

Since there was only a half hour left of school, Grace just took Toby home with her. She buckled him into his booster seat and slid him a look in the rearview mirror. “Do I want to know?”
“Camel flaunting,” he said very solemnly. “Me and Tommy needed to camel flaunt.”
This baffled her for a beat; then she had to laugh. “Camouflage?”
“Yes,” he said.
“For a battle.”
“Yes!”

Toby was well-written and Anna, Josh’s wheelchair-bound sister, added a bit of drama to the story. It was great visiting Lucky Harbor again and getting to know Josh and Grace.

This is a sweet, lovely, funny, awesome read. I highly recommend it.

5 out of 5

This book is available from Hatchette Book Group. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,