Source: Publisher

Throwback Thursday Review: A Little Less Talk and A Lot More Action by LuAnn McLane

Posted June 20, 2019 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Throwback Thursday Review: A Little Less Talk and A Lot More Action by LuAnn McLaneReviewer: Rowena
A Little Less Talk and a Lot More Action by LuAnn McLane
Publisher: Signet
Publication Date: July 1, 2008
Format: Print
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 283
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars

Macy?s chance for love is slipping from her fingers. College football coach Luke Carter has a penchant for hot-bodied babes, not curvy hairdressers like Macy. And some big-time schools may be luring him away. Then a country singing star?s hair emergency turns into a big break for Macy.

Making it in Nashville boosts Macy?s confidence, but when Luke interviews for a job at a local university, she?ll have to put up or shut up?or lose him forever?

*** Every Thursday, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books. Enjoy! ***

This review was originally posted on June 25, 2008.

What a fun book!

Over the weekend, Daphne and I went out to Holly’s house for some rest and relaxation and I picked this book up and read the entire thing. It was such a cute little book that I couldn’t stop reading it. It’s funny how readers are, Daphne and I drove the two hours out to Holly’s house and we spent most of our time, quiet and reading.

It was glorious!

This book is about Macy McCoy and Luke Carter. Luke Carter is Macy’s best friend’s older brother and Macy has had a crush on him for the longest time. She’s a hairstylist and she’s destined for great things. She gets really close with Luke, when his little sister Jamie Lee and his best friend, Griff Sheldon get married. She’s the Maid of Honor and he’s the Best Man and they were together a lot and Macy loved every moment of it. She was the Queen of Wishful Thinking and she fantasized about being Luke’s love and when she finally realizes that maybe Luke might feel the same way, it was such a treat to see the two of these get together.

This book was such a fun read. It had that country feel to it that I absolutely loved and it was just one of those fast, light reads that are perfect for summer. It’s filled to the brim with laugh out scenes and an adorable romance.

I loved that Luke didn’t want to hold Macy back from anything and they’re small-town crush on each other was just too effing cute. Some of the dialogue was pretty cheesy but that didn’t take away from my enjoyment of this book. There were so many other things about this book to like that the cheesy dialogue wasn’t anything.

Luke was adorable, Macy was great and the secondary characters were just fab. I enjoyed Jamie Lee and Griff (I’m so going to read their book soon because theirs came first), I loved Tammy, Sam and Lilly, and Boone, even Brandon. I can’t wait to read more by this author because this book was really great.

It was light, funny and sexy, a sexy romp and I totally recommend this book to anyone who loves country music and contemporary romances. This is a great book to read at the beach, at the park, by the pool, or anywhere…it’s just one of those cute romances that makes you smile afterward. I loved all of the country music mentioned in this book, Summertime by Kenny Chesney, Settlin’ by Sugarland, Carrie Underwood, Faith Hill, Dierks Bentley, all of my favorite country stars were mentioned in this book and I enjoyed that because I actually knew all of the songs that were mentioned and that doesn’t usually happen much with me, it made this book that much more fun for me and I just really enjoyed this book.

Too cute!

Grade: 4.5 out of 5

This book is available from Penguin Books. You can buy it here.

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Shadow Warrior by Christine Feehan

Posted June 3, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Shadow Warrior by Christine FeehanReviewer: Casee
Shadow Warrior by Christine Feehan
Series: Shadow Riders #4
Also in this series: Shadow Reaper, Shadow Reaper, Shadow Reaper, Shadow Keeper
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: June 4, 2019
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 432
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Danger inspires fierce passion when a serial killer threatens Chicago's Ferraro crime family in this novel in Christine Feehan's New York Times bestselling series.

Vittorio Ferraro is a man whose family loyalty knows no bounds. He would die for his siblings and the people they love, but what he really wants is to start a family of his own. Deep down, Vittorio has always known finding a woman who could ride shadows would be nearly impossible--let alone one who could accept his particular needs--and he never expected to find her in the middle of a kidnapping....

Grace Murphy has always been drawn to Vittorio Ferraro--or at least to the billionaire's public bad-boy persona. Now that she's under his protection and the sole focus of his intense caring, she can't help wanting to get as close to him as possible. But Grace knows her presence is putting the entire Ferraro family in danger. Her monster of a brother will never let her go, but Vittorio has no intention of losing the woman whose shadow matches his own.

Praise for Shadow Keeper"Shadow Keeper is, in a word, a keeper! If you love hot men, sexy women, the good guys winning against the bad guys, love (both sweet and ultra steamy), and family that stands together, then this book is all that and even more."--Fresh Fiction

This is book four in Feehan’s Shadow series. I find this series very fascinating. This is my favorite Feehan series at the moment. Riding shadows is just so unique and unlike anything paranormal that I’ve read. I didn’t really care for the second book in the series, but I have really enjoyed the other three.

Vittorio Ferraro is a shadow rider. He rides shadows to deliver justice when the system has fails. He is not judge, jury, and executioner. He is only executioner. So he’s basically a murderer, but it’s all for a good cause yo. But really, there is an extensive process that a person(s) must go through to get help from the Ferraro family. Vittorio has never doubted that what he does is right until Grace Murphy explodes into his life. Like really explodes out of the trunk of a car, then takes a bullet meant for him.

Grace was such an amazing heroine. The life she has lived up to the point she meets Vittorio has been horrific. She has no friends and no family. Her foster brother doesn’t count as family because it is he that has isolated her from everyone. If she lets someone new into her life, he kills them. It’s as simple as that. Grace learned a lot time ago not to get close to people. Then comes Vittorio who just won’t let her go.

There are two things that Vittorio is worried about telling Grace. The first one is that he needs to be the dominant in their relationship. Not just dominant in bed, but dominant in life. The second is that he’s a shadow rider. He’s never thought of himself as a man that murders people until Grace comes into his life. Now he wonders if that is what will separate them for good.

Grace isnt’t a pushover by any means. She might accept Vittorio’s dominance, but when she’s running her company, she is a ballbuster. I loved that about her. She is strong enough to admit that she loved Vittorio taking care of her. That didn’t make her less of a woman. It just made her a woman that was perfect for Vittorio.

The whole storyline with her foster brother actually made the whole book better. I really enjoyed it (well, not the murdering of innocent people part). I just enjoyed Grace’s reaction to the Ferraro family. Overall, I was very satisfied with this book.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Shadow Riders

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Highland Crown by May McGoldrick

Posted May 20, 2019 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Highland Crown by May McGoldrickReviewer: Tracy
Highland Crown by May McGoldrick
Series: Royal Highlander #1
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: April 30, 2019
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Third person
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 312
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Inverness, 1820Perched on the North Sea, this port town―by turns legendary and mythological―is a place where Highland rebels and English authorities clash in a mortal struggle for survival and dominance. Among the fray is a lovely young widow who possesses rare and special gifts.

WANTED: Isabella DrummondA true beauty and trained physician, Isabella has inspired longing and mystery―and fury―in a great many men. Hunted by both the British government and Scottish rebels, she came to the Highlands in search of survival. But a dying ship’s captain will steer her fate into even stormier waters. . .and her heart into flames.

FOUND: Cinaed MackintoshCast from his home as a child, Cinaed is a fierce soul whose allegiance is only to himself. . .until Isabella saved his life―and added more risk to her own. Now, the only way Cinaed can keep her safe to seek refuge at Dalmigavie Castle, the Mackintosh family seat. But when the scandalous truth of his past comes out, any chance of Cinaed having a bright future with Isabella is thrown into complete darkness. What will these two ill-fated lovers have to sacrifice to be together…for eternity?

Isabella Drummond is a surgeon, married to a doctor.  They had lived in Edinburgh for six years and had a stable if unexciting life.  Her husband, Archibald, was a reformer, however and when it came down to a day of strikes, he was killed and Isabella ran for her life with her sister and her step-daughter.  She was now being pursued by soldiers who think that she was part of her husband’s radical dealings, and the people in charge of the group of reformers were after her as well so she won’t tell the authorities any information.

When the book opens Isabella is in northern Scotland at a small cottage with a woman who is none too happy for her to be there.  Isabella was helped by her friend Sir Walter Scott who then implored his solicitor to help.  The woman was the solicitor’s aunt.  Isabella’s sister and step-daughter had gone with the solicitor to book passage on a ship to America.  The small town on the shore where she is staying is a rough one.  The villagers gather any items from ships that wreck on the rocks and shoot any survivors so they can’t argue about it.  Nice.  This happens when Isabella is there and she ends up saving one of the men who is the captain of a ship.  When a villager finds out about the man and Isabella they end out having to leave the cottage and take the aunt with them.

They end up fighting for their lives while staying with a relative of the man they saved, Captain Cinaed Mackintosh, but in order to do so they have to act like man and wife.  After just a short period of time together they fall in love but Isabella is unwilling to bring Cinaed into her troubles even though he’s already knee-deep in them.  The pair have to save themselves as well as Cinaed’s relative and decide if they want to leave for America or stay and fight for their country.

This was a good story that I enjoyed.  I’m not normally a fan of country politics in my romances but I have to say this one was well done.  I did think that the H/h fell in love way too fast for me, but I considered the year and went with it. Lol

I loved the fact that Isabella was a doctor/surgeon.  Everyone looked at her funny when she helped others, but she was so good at what she did. I loved that McGoldrick made her a doctor, rather than just a wife who was running for her life.

Because of the politics I’m not sure I’ll read further in the series. That said, I recommend this book to anyone who likes a good Scottish historical romance with some political intrigue.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Eva Langlais Giveaway)

Posted April 5, 2019 by Rowena in Features, Giveaways | 8 Comments

Casee: I’m reading Mystery Man by Kristen Ashley. Hawk Delgado tho. He’s alpha beyond all alpha. I’m really liking it so far. Even though I am liking it, I am trying to finish it quickly so I can get to The Savior by J.R. Ward. Then I am going to finish that quickly so I can get back to Kristen Ashley. I’m hooked. Addicted. There is no hope for me.

I just finished listening to Magic Bleeds by Ilona Andrews and holy hell. I love this series. I decided I’m going to take a break and go back to it even though I love it. I’m currently listening to Fair Game by Patricia Briggs. It is the third book in the Alpha & Omega series. I’m also loving this series. Audiobooks have been really good to me lately.

Holly: This week I finished Gunmetal Magic and Magic Slays by Ilona Andrews on audio. I’m taking a break from that series now and branching out into some sci-fi. I’m currently reading Dark Planet Warriors by Anna Carven. I started the audiobook, but I wasn’t feeling it so I switched to the KU version instead. So far it’s just okay. I’m about 30% in. I have hope it’ll pick up. I’m currently listening to Touch of Frost by S.E. Smith. I’m only a few chapters in by I’m really intrigued.

Rowena: So this week, I finished When We Left Cuba by Chanel Cleeton and that was another emotional journey that I was super glad to be on. Beatriz Perez was just as awesome as I knew she was going to be and Cleeton continued to impress me with the adventure and angst of Beatriz’s story. So good. I also finished You’d be Mine by Erin Hahn, which was a pretty great debut by Erin Hahn and I’m stoked for that release.

I jumped into The Key to Happily Ever After by Tif Marcelo and Fumbled (The Playbook #2) by Alexa Martin so that’s what I’m reading right now.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Eva Langlais Giveaway)The Big Alpha in Town by Eve Langlais
Series: Their Furever Mates #5
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: May 15, 2018
Format: Print
Source: Publisher
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

Three hot stories about three sexy shifters from a trio of today's hottest paranormal romance authors, headlined by bestselling authors Eve Langlais and Milly Taiden!

Bearing His Name

Meeting his mate should have been cause for celebration. There’s just one teeny tiny problem. Jade thinks Ark might have impregnated her sister. He didn’t, but convincing Jade is going to take a bit of honey.

Owned by the Lion

Keir’s been told to stop playing the field and settle down—difficult advice for a hard and hot man with a lion’s heart to follow. But his sights have always been set on Ally. She’s his mate, plain and simple. With her sweet and delicious curves, she’s nothing but sugar and trouble all rolled into one. But he’s known her and sparred with her for years. She’s his best friend’s little sister, and it’s going to take a whole new level of convincing that he’s the mate for her.

No Need Fur Love

Moving with his pack to the tiny town of Stanley, Idaho has Owen Courtney a little on edge. With literally no women in sight, Owen will be lucky to find a date, let alone his true mate. But you know the saying about a werewolf walking into a bar…Gorgeous wood nymph Mia Oliver is on a mission: Find a suitable male to get her good ‘n pregnant and provide her with an heir. But when Mia decides to pick up a gorgeous and oh-so-willing werewolf at the bar, she realizes she might be in over her head...

What Are You Reading: The Big Alpha in Town

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , ,

Blog Tour Review: Toxic Game by Christine Feehan

Posted March 5, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Blog Tour Review: Toxic Game by Christine FeehanReviewer: Casee
Toxic Game (GhostWalkers #15) by Christine Feehan
Series: GhostWalkers #15
Also in this series: Predatory Game, Street Game, Ruthless Game, Shadow Game, Power Game, Murder Game, Covert Game
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: March 5, 2019
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 416
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

On a rescue mission in the heart of the Indonesian jungle, Dr. Draden Freeman and his GhostWalker team need to extract the wounded as quickly as possible—or risk spreading a deadly virus unleashed by a terrorist cell. When Draden gets infected, he forces his team to leave him behind. He won’t risk exposing anyone else. He intends to find the ones responsible and go out in a blaze of glory....

Shylah Cosmos’s mission is to track the virus and remain unseen. Her enhanced senses tell her that the gorgeous man eradicating the terrorists one by one is a GhostWalker—and his lethal precision takes her breath away. When he’s hit by a lucky shot, she can’t stop herself from stepping in, not knowing that by saving his life she’s exposed herself to the virus.

There’s no telling how much time Draden and Shylah have left. Racing to find a cure, they quickly realize that they’ve found their perfect partner just in time to lose everything. But even as the virus threatens to consume their bodies, they’ve never felt more alive.

I wanted to like this book more than I actually did. Especially when I read this from Feehan’s website:

“This could possibly be the most romantic couple I’ve ever written in any of my series. I was surprised by both of them many times which made writing this book so much fun for me.”

I was super excited because 1) GhostWalkers! 2) Most romantic! 3) GhostWalkers! Okay, so I’m a little obsessed with the GhostWalker series, it’s true. I’ve come to expect a lot from the series. When I say a lot, I mean a lot. This one was so incredibly rushed. That doesn’t mean it wasn’t good, just that it didn’t work for me.

Draden Freeman is on a rescue mission when he is infected with a deadly virus. Knowing he needs to force his team to leave him behind, he does just that. His plan is to bring as many terrorist responsible for spreading the virus as possible before he dies. And he knows he’s going to die. The village the the terrorists took out with the virus attests to that brutal fact. Then he meets Shylah Cosmos, one of Peter Whitney’s orphan girls. She’s there on her own mission. While following him, she saves him inadvertently infecting herself. Draden is furious, but can’t help but be attracted to Shylah’s calm and acceptance of her fate.

Shylah is in the Indonesian jungle to track down the three scientists that are responsible for creating the virus. Her job isn’t to bring them in. Her job is to kill them and bring their research in. It’s only as her and Draden start working together that they realize that the virus wasn’t make as a biological weapon. It was made for Shylah herself. Peter Whitney doesn’t like when his girls escape and Shylah is the only one that can fight off whatever virus is injected into her body. It was only by chance that the scientists created a weapon to which there was no antidote. Or could there possibly be one?

The speed in which Draden and Shylah fell in love was a matter of days. The only thing that made in believable was that they both believed they were going to die. Otherwise it was just completely implausible. Even with Whitney and his imprinting of the men and women, it was still too fast. The rest of the book was actually pretty good, even the scientific part of it. I always admire how much research Feehan puts into her books. While I’m clueless as to whether the info is accurate, it sure seems like it is.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5.

GhostWalkers


Tagged: , , , , , , ,