Source: Publisher

What Are You Reading? (+ Caroline Linden Giveaway)

Posted September 14, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 17 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I am currently reading White Hot by Ilona Andrews. I immediately picked it up after reading Burn for Me because this series is ah-maze-ing. I love it! I’m only sad that it is only three books. I see that there is going to be a continuation with one of Nevada’s sisters, but how can anyone be as great as Nevada? I suppose it might be possible because the whole family is just fantastic. I love the dynamics between them. The series really does revolve around family. They’re always there for each other. Not to mention Mad Rogan. sigh

I’m also listening to Monster in the Closet by Karen Rose. I haven’t read her books for 2-3 years. The sheer number of pages has been daunting to me. I honestly don’t know why I had a problem because she is such a good writer. I’m always sucked in. I was surprised that the audiobook was just as good as reading it. It helps that the narrator is so good.

Holly: I rounded out my Jennifer Ashley re-read with The Seduction of Elliot McBride this week. I remember liking the book the first time I read it, but I absolutely adored it this time around. I don’t know if it was my reading mood or what, but it worked for me on every level. Then I read Touch the Sky by Kari Cole, which I learned after I started is the second book in the series. Oops. Still, the premise is interesting and I wasn’t too lost.

For audiobooks, I listened to Part-Time Lover and The Sexy One by Lauren Blakely. She’s fast becoming a favorite author. I’ve yet to read a book I didn’t really like. These are, for the most part, mature contemporary romances. Not a lot of drama, just two adults falling in love. They’re really working for me right now. I also listened to For the Love of English by A.M. Hargrove, a single dad contemporary romance. I liked the little girl, English, and the romance, but the external plot featuring the bio-mom was dumb. Still, her writing was good so I’d be willing to read more.

I starting sorting through my enormous TBR pile and pulled some books out. I started Take My Breath Away and Light My Fire by Christie Ridgway (Currently FREE for Kindle). I’m getting ready to start Feral Magic by Robin D. Owens in audio.

Rowena: This week was a pretty great reading week for me. I read a good stack of books and I’m looking forward to reading some more great books this coming week. I finished For the Dukes Eyes Only by Lenora Bell and that was a fabulous read. Both Daniel and India were a great couple and I enjoyed their bickering journey to true love. I really like Lenora Bell’s writing style. After that, I listened to Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe by Jenny Colgan and though it was a good story and the narrator was great, I didn’t fully connect with Izzy and the rest of the cast. First, there were too many POV’s for me to keep up with and second, I kept waiting for something to happen but nothing substantial really does. Izzy opens up a bakery and she runs it while falling in love with the guy from the bank that gave her a business loan. Big whoop.

After that, I devoured Long Shot by Kennedy Ryan for a buddy review that I’m doing with Ames, which I found out isn’t until next month so I’m really early with that. Haha. This book was so stinkin’ good but it wasn’t an easy story to read. I had hella anxiety while reading it but never have I ever rooted for someone to get their happiest of ever afters as I have for Iris DuPree. August West and Iris DuPree were everything. After that, I read the next book in the Hoops series, Block Shot by Kennedy Ryan and enjoyed that one as well. Not as much as Long Shot, but still I enjoyed Jared and Banner’s story.

Now, I’m listening to Seduction of a Highland Lass by Maya Banks because I am excited to continue the MacCabe Trilogy with Alaric’s story. After that, I will be reading The Duke Buys a Bride by Sophie Jordan for my book club next week. Gotta get prepared for that. I hope it’s good.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Caroline Linden Giveaway)My Once and Future Duke (The Wagers of Sin, #1) by Caroline Linden
Series: The Wagers of Sin #1
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: February 27, 2018
Format: Print
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads


What happens at the infamous Vega Club . . .

Sophie Campbell is determined to be mistress of her own fate. Surviving on her skill at cards, she never risks what she can’t afford to lose. Yet when the Duke of Ware proposes a scandalous wager that’s too extravagant to refuse, she can’t resist. If she wins, she’ll get five thousand pounds, enough to secure her independence forever.


Stays at the Vega Club . . .

Jack Lindeville, Duke of Ware, tells himself he’s at the Vega Club merely to save his reckless brother from losing everything, but he knows it’s a lie. He can’t keep his eyes off Sophie, and to get her he breaks his ironclad rule against gambling. If he wins, he wants her—for a week.


Until now.

A week with Jack could ruin what’s left of Sophie’s reputation. It might even cost her her heart. But when it comes to love, all bets are off . . .

What Are You Reading: My Once and Future Duke

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Tara Thomas Giveaway)

Posted September 7, 2018 by Rowena in Features | 16 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I finished up Order of Protection by Lexi Blake, which I didn’t love. I’m really bummed about that. I wanted to love it. Look for my review soon. Now I’m reading Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews, which is one of Rowena’s picks for me in the Summer Reading Challenge. I am LOVING it! I love it so much that I don’t even notice that it’s in first person. I can’t even put my finger on exactly why I like it so much. It’s just good reading. I love what a strong character Nevada is. I am also really enjoying the family dynamic.

I just finished Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets on audio. I am really enjoying this series. Though even after finish up the second book, I have to say that I don’t really understand the Harry Potter craze. What am I missing?

I just checked out The Woman Left Behind by Linda Howard in audio from my library. I’m really enjoying listening to audio books. I didn’t realize how much time I spend in the car until the last few weeks. It’s pretty sad.

Holly: I did a lot of re-reading this week. Mainly because I started listening to Jennifer Ashley’s Mackenzie series on audio. I listened to The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie, Lady Isabella’s Scandalous Marriage and I’m currently listening to The Duke’s Perfect Wife. I skipped The Many Sins of Lord Cameron because it’s a rather dark book and I wasn’t in the mood. This is such a great series and I’m really enjoying the narrator. I also re-read The Will and Complicated by Kristen Ashley.

I finished reading Getting Schooled by Emma Chase, which was hilarious. For our Summer Reading Challenge I read Satisfaction by Lexi Blake, which I didn’t care for at all. The insecure, whiny main protags made me want to bang my head against the wall.

I’m going to start reading Phoenix Unbound by Grace Draven today. I have a full list of books I want to read over the weekend. Wish me luck?

Rowena: It was a long weekend for us here in the states so I had Monday off but that was spent doing family things and then the rest of the week was pretty busy. I had doctors appointments, health classes and my best friend Theresa had surgery that I was on hand for to talk to doctors, nurses and help her figure out her insurance stuff. You know, best friend duties.

I didn’t a lot of reading done but I read some. I finished Untamed by Pamela Clare, which I liked then I read Beyond the Night by Joss Ware which was another solid romance, I listened to Say You’ll Stay by Corinne Michaels and that book pissed me off so I doubt that I’ll read any of the other books in that series even though I liked the secondary characters fine. I also did a re-read of The Lion’s Lady and Guardian Angel by Julie Garwood and it’s been ages since I read either book and I really liked The Lion’s Lady a lot more than I did before. Christina is the best! Guardian Angel was just as solid and entertaining as it’s always been for me so I was happy that I re-read those books.

Now, I’ll be jumping into For the Duke’s Eyes Only by Lenora Bell and I hope that it’s a good one.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Tara Thomas Giveaway)Darkest Night (Sons of Broad #1) by Tara Thomas
Series: Sons of Broad #1
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: February 27, 2018
Format: Print
Source: Publisher
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 247
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

In this first novel in the explosive, brand-new romantic suspense Sons of Broad series from Tara Thomas comes a novel of deadly secrets and hidden danger. In the sultry streets of Charleston, one family, ruled by its powerful, take-no-prisoners sons, has risen to the top. But a merciless killer is out to destroy them…and everyone they hold close…

Exclusive bonus content available only in the print edition!

SHE THOUGHT SHE’D LOST HIM FOREVERTilly Brock has learned—the hard way—how to take care of herself. Once a pillar of Charleston society, her family lost everything in the wake of a shocking scandal. And then Tilly lost the only boy she ever loved.

BUT NOW THAT HE’S BACK IN HER LIFEKeaton Benedict is Charleston’s most notorious bachelor. But in spite of all his advantages—the money, the women,the family name—he longs for more: the heart of the young woman he still can’t forget.

THE DANGER HAS JUST BEGUN…When Keaton re-enters Tilly’s life, after all these years, she is torn between feelings of doubt and desire. Can they put the past behind them and learn to love again? Tilly is willing to try. But Keaton is afraid that a vengeful enemy is watching—and waiting to destroy them. Can the rekindled flame of their love defeat the deadliest rival and light their way forward in the darkest night?

What Are You Reading: Darkest Night

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Review: Alone in the Dark by Karen Rose

Posted July 7, 2016 by Casee in Reviews | 3 Comments

Review: Alone in the Dark by Karen RoseReviewer: Casee
Alone in the Dark (Cincinnati Series #2) by Karen Rose
Series: Cincinnati Series #2
Also in this series: Closer Than You Think (Cincinnati Series, #1)
Publisher: Penguin
Publication Date: February 2nd 2016
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 736
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

The New York Times bestselling author of Closer Than You Think returns with a breathtaking new novel of suspense in the Cincinnati series—one that crosses the line between danger and desire, and justice and revenge.   Homicide Detective Scarlett Bishop has seen enough bad guys slip through the cracks and innocent victims go unavenged to know that good doesn't always prevail. So far she’s been able to lock away her rage and her vigilante fantasies. That lock is about to break.   Former Army Ranger Marcus O'Bannion is a fierce champion of victims’ rights. His secret past gives him good reason. He believes he’s seen the depths of human depravity, but then his investigation into the murder of a young girl who once asked for his help lures him and Scarlett down a dark, dark road—and straight into the crosshairs of a dangerous, powerful underground ring that deals in human trafficking. To stop them, Scarlett and Marcus have to be just as cunning and just as ruthless. But first they have to make it out alive.
From the Paperback edition.

Karen Rose is amazing. Don’t let the 736 pages put you off. I read this book in two days. I would have read it in one, but I had a migraine. Even that barely stopped me from reading it. Rose has a way of sucking you into her world and not spitting you out until the very last page. She is one of those authors for me. She has been from the start. She’s gotten even better over time, which seems impossible.

Marcus O’Bannion was introduced the previous book, Closer Than You Think. I read it over a year ago, so I remember Marcus only briefly. In Alone in the Dark, Marcus is helping a young girl named Tala that asked for his help after weeks of shying away from him. When at last she agreed to meet him, she was only able to tell him a few things before she was gunned down and died in the alley. He immediately called Detective Scarlett Bishop, the only homicide detective he actually trusts. The one he’s had feelings for since nine months before when he was shot and she sat at his bedside.

Scarlett Bishop is far from okay as a cop. She thinks that she’s losing her edge and she will soon be kicked off the force. When she gets a call from Marcus, she immediately responds. Not only is the address he gave her close to her house, but she has had feelings for him since she sat at his bedside nine months before when he lost his brother to a serial killer.

As Scarlett and her partner, Deacon Novak, start looking at the scene and start gathering evidence, they both know (as does Marcus) that this isn’t a random killing. After looking at all the evidence, including the autopsy, they immediately realize they have a case of human trafficking. Marcus starts working the case with Scarlett even those he owns a newspaper, an occupation that Scarlett despises more than any other. Still, Marcus is so invested in the case because Tala asked for his help, she can’t kick him off.

The human trafficking angle is highly disturbing, but brings the book all together. Rose leads you into the minds to the traffickers themselves and how they have no empathy for their victims. To them, they are dollar signs. The torture that went on is highly disturbing. However, the book wouldn’t be the same without it. Plus the head trafficker starts having problem with his security team and he has no earthly idea why.

I loved this book. It makes me sad that we have to wait until next February for the next book in this series. There were very interesting secondary characters and I am very hopeful that the one I’m thinking will be next in the series. If you’ve never read Karen Rose, you’re really missing out!

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Cincinnati Series

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Closer Than You Think by Karen Rose

Posted April 14, 2015 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Closer Than You Think by Karen RoseReviewer: Casee
Closer Than You Think (Cincinnati Series, #1) by Karen Rose
Series: Cincinnati Series #1
Also in this series: Alone in the Dark (Cincinnati Series #2)
Publisher: Signet
Publication Date: February 3, 2015
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 688
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

From the New York Times bestselling author of Watch Your Back and Did You Miss Me comes the newest novel by “the queen of romantic suspense” (Crime and Punishment).

Psychologist Faith Corcoran is desperate to escape the stalker who’s made her life a nightmare for the past year—desperate enough to run to the one place that has been her nightmare far longer. Both boon and bane, her recent inheritance of her grandmother’s old house in Cincinnati offers sanctuary in which she can start her life anew, but requires that she face the dark memories that still resonate to this day.

But she has no idea how close to home her fears still are.

Two college girls have gone missing in the area, and FBI Special Agent Deacon Novak is called to work on the case. When his inquiry unexpectedly leads him to Faith, he finds a beautiful and brave woman he can’t help but fall for. Soon they’ll discover that this seemingly simple investigation is anything but. Reaching back decades into Faith’s own past, it will shatter everything she believes to be true and will give terrifying new meaning to flesh and blood.

Closer Than You Think was the best book I’ve read in ages. It actually drove me to write a review. A lot of you don’t remember me, I’m sure, but I actually used to read and review books regularly here at Book Binge. O_o. Now, I hardly read and when I try to review, the cursor just sits there are stares at me. The it’s asks me “Well,are you just going to sit there?”. No, I’m not. I’m turning you off and going to take a nap.

As it happened, Closer Than You Think was a book that I could not put down. I finished it in two days and that’s only because of running my daughter around to soccer. Onto the review…Faith Corcoran has changed her name, took all her money out of the bank and leaves Florida for Cincinnati, where she just inherited a home from her grandmother. After being stalked by the man she put in prison for over a year.

The first night she arrives home, the key doesn’t work to the lock, so he heads back down the winding hill. Coming back the next day after getting the power turned on and the locks changed, Faith runs into what she thought was an animal, but soon realizes is a young, terrorized, horrified woman. Faith’s car goes over the embankment but she quickly climbs up the bank to make sure the woman is all right. Finally the cops get there.

When Deacon Novak arrives at the scene, he doesn’t know what to think. Faith brings out his primal instincts, but he knows she has to be on the suspect list until they can cross. Her off. After all, the victim seemed to come from her house as it was the only one between the accident site and her house. The only problem with the house is that someone has been using the basement as a torture chamber and no one has any idea.

They have multiple suspects; a stalker that may have followed her up from Florida. Two uncles that may have an ax to grind because she alone inherited the house. Or one of the uncles could be working with the stalker. Or it’s someone other than all three of them. All you do know is from the killer’s pov, he wants her dead. Badly.

Karen Rose writes some of the best sociopathic villains I’ve ever read. That’s part of the reason I can never put her books down. I’ve also been waiting to read Deacon Novak since he was first introduced in the books. Karen Rose does write some of the best suspense out there, but she also writes some of the best romantic suspense. Deacon and Faith were drawn to each other from the beginning. Deacon couldn’t help but want to protect Faith. As for Faith, as cheesy as it is, she feels an animal attraction to Deacon which is not like her at all. When you put all these elements together, there is nothing I didn’t like about the book. There is a lot of family stuff I left out, but suffice to say if you don’t read this book, you’re missing out.

4.75 out of 5.

Cincinnati Series

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,