Source: Publisher

What Are You Reading? (+ Suzanne Enoch Giveaway)

Posted February 8, 2019 by Rowena in Features, Giveaways | 12 Comments

Casee: I’m on a Maya Banks kick right now. I finished her Enforcers series and am now reading the Breathless series. I’m reading Fever, which is the second book. What’s weird is that I’m pretty sure I’ve read the first two books, but I don’t remember reading the third. Then again I didn’t think I read the second one so who knows.

I just finished Sweet Sinful Seduction by Lauren Blakely on audio. I started listening to The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie by Jennifer Ashley and am really enjoying it. I haven’t read a historical is years. This one is a great one to get me back into them.

Holly: I didn’t read much this week. It seemed to take forever for me to get through Free by Kristen Ashley. The book was a hot mess. I was really looking forward to Rush’s story, and seeing how the series was wrapped up. Sadly, it was just a collection of chapters that made little sense to the overall storyarc but gave us glimpses at the couples and/or villains from previous books. I almost DNF’d it, but I wanted to see it through. Had it been about 300 pages shorter, with 5 less POV changes, it would have been a pretty decent book.

I DNF’d the audio of Wild Irish Heart by Tricia O’Malley. I ended up downloading the ebook (currently free for Kindle) because I think I’ll like the story. I kept getting frustrated with the heroine, but I’m pretty sure it’s because of the inflection and emphasis the narrator used. We shall see.

I’m currently about halfway through Devil’s Daughter by Lisa Kleypas, and it.is.amazing. I’m already in love with West, Phoebe and her son Justin. SO.MUCH.LOVE. I’m listening to The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie by Jennifer Ashley.

Rowena: I got some reading done this week so that’s always a good thing. I finished Devil’s Daughter by Lisa Kleypas and that was just as delightful as I was expecting. West and Phoebe were a bomb ass couple and I adored every minute of their romance. While I was reading Devil’s Daughter, an eARC of The Risk by Elle Kennedy showed up on my Kindle so I immediately jumped on that mess once I finished with West and Phoebe. Like, immediately jumped into it. I finished Devil’s Daughter around midnight and stayed up for another couple of hours to make some headway into The Risk before taking my ass to sleep. I finished Jake and Bren’s book that same day and just like with Phoebe and West, I loved the hell out of Jake and Bren, even when I wanted to kick Jake in the balls.

Now, I’m reading The Assist by Rebecca Jenshak and so far, it’s okay. I hope it picks up some though. Wish me luck!

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Suzanne Enoch Giveaway)A Devil in Scotland (No Ordinary Hero, #3) by Suzanne Enoch
Series: No Ordinary Hero #3
Also in this series: Hero in the Highlands, My One True Highlander, A Devil in Scotland
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: January 30, 2018
Format: Print
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 311
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

The dawning of desire...

1806, Scotland: Wild, reckless Callum MacCreath is in no hurry to become someone’s husband. But when his responsible, steady older brother Ian announces his engagement to their childhood friend Rebecca, Callum makes a startling discovery: he wants the lovely young lass for himself. But it’s too late, and when Ian banishes him for his duplicity, he’s only too happy to leave Scotland forever…

...is delicious and dangerous.

1816: Marrying Ian was the practical, logical thing for Becca to do. But once Callum sailed away to America, she missed his rakish charm and lust for life. Now, ten years later, Becca is a widow when a much-changed Callum returns to his Scottish homeland. Will he remember their spirited, fiery connection, or does he blame her for his brother’s unexpected death? This time neither of them can deny their scorching attraction, but will their hearts be burned in the blazing heat of scandal?

What Are You Reading: A Devil in Scotland

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , ,

Review: Vengeance Road by Christine Feehan

Posted February 4, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Vengeance Road by Christine FeehanReviewer: Casee
Vengeance Road (Torpedo Ink #2) by Christine Feehan
Series: Torpedo Ink #2
Also in this series: Judgment Road (Torpedo Ink #1), Judgment Road
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: January 29, 2019
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 448
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Go zero to sixty in this dangerously sexy novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Christine Feehan.

Breezy Simmons was born into a ruthless motorcycle club—and now that she’s out, she’s never going to be that girl again. But when her past catches up with her, Breezy must go to Sea Haven to seek out the man who almost destroyed her. The man who chose his club over her and left her feeling used and alone.

As vice president of Torpedo Ink, Steele is ride or die for the brothers he lived through hell with. He never thought he’d find something as pure as his feelings for Breezy, or that keeping her safe would mean driving her away with cruel words that turned her love for him to ash.

Now, Steele won’t let her walk away twice. He’ll do whatever it takes to make Breezy his woman again—especially when he learns the real reason she came to him for help, and that the stakes are higher than he ever could have imagined…

This is the second book in Feehan’s Torpedo Ink series. This is a spin-off of her Sisters of the Heart series. In Bound Together (the fifth and final book), Viktor Prakenskii brings his motorcycle club to Caspar, which neighbors Sea Haven. All Viktor (Czar) and his club want is to make a home. A home that Czar has been promising them since they were children in Russian forced into “schools” that almost destroyed them.

Steele is the Vice President of Torpedo Ink. Steele doesn’t regret much in his life. There isn’t time for regret. There is one person he will never forget: Breezy Simmons. While undercover at the most dangerous motorcycle club in the country, Steele met the only woman that would ever be meant for him. It seriously fucked with his head when he found out that she was only 17. When it was time to bring down the club, Steele didn’t want her caught in the crossfire so he did the only thing he could. He chased her away with words he would never be able to take back.

Now Breezy is back and she has a message for Steele. Walking into Torpedo Ink is one of the hardest things she’s ever done, but she has no other choice. Her own father and brother has abducted her son. Steele’s son. Their son. She will do anything to get Zane back, even walk back into the life she has left and never wants to be a part of again. However, she doesn’t count on Steele’s feelings for her. Or that he would even have any feelings for her after the things he said to her when he dumped her.

Now that Breezy is back, Steele will never let her go again. He’s angry that she didn’t find him when she was pregnant, but he forgives her. He forgives her for a lot of things. WTAF? He’s the one that left her. He’s the one that ran her off. Sure, he gave her money, but still. WTAF. Steele drove me batshit at first. Literally I wanted to strangle him. When they were going to meet someone at the beginning of the book to get some information on Zane, Breezy walked out and saw everyone on their motorcycles. She never wanted to get on a motorcycle again so she just sort of froze. This was Steele’s reaction.

“What’s the hold up? Get a move on, woman. We’re going to be late.”

He got better toward the end of the book. It soon became apparent that Steele has severe PTSD stemming from his time in Russia. It was heartbreaking to read. Simply heartbreaking. Breezy (I really disliked this name. A lot), was always there for Steele. She simply let him be. She never asked more than he could give. She was just a calming presence in his life.

I really did end up enjoying this book when I started to understand Steele. Breezy had her own past to deal with and Steele was with her through every moment. These two needed each other. They just had to find a way that was right for both of them. In the end, it’s really about compromise and knowing that relationships are perfect. It’s life.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Torpedo Ink

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Guest Review: The Duke I Once Knew by Olivia Drake

Posted January 29, 2019 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: The Duke I Once Knew by Olivia DrakeReviewer: Tracy
The Duke I Once Knew by Olivia Drake
Series: Unlikely Duchesses #1
Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks
Publication Date: December 31, 2018
Format: eBook
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 336
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-stars
Series Rating: three-stars

When two childhood sweethearts find themselves together after years apart, does their romance have a chance to be rekindled now that he’s a duke and she’s a governess? Olivia Drake’s new Unlikely Duchesses series begins with The Duke I Once Knew, where first love is always the sweetest...

For years, Abigail Linton devoted herself to caring for her parents and her siblings’ children. Now, eager to create a life of her own, Abby seizes upon a position as a governess on a neighboring estate. Unfortunately, her absentee employer is Maxwell Bryce, the Duke of Rothwell, the notorious rake who once broke her youthful heart. But since he hasn’t set foot on his estate for fifteen years, Abby assumes she’ll never have to lay eyes on him ever again. Then, from out of nowhere, Max appears. He is stunned to come face to face with the girl next door he fell for years ago—before he went away, and she stopped writing to him. . .even though Abby swears that he is the one who left her without a word. Could it be that this spirited, witty spinster has won Max’s heart all over again—and that they may have a second chance at love?

Abby and Max were once in love. Abby was 15 and Max just 16 years old.  Unfortunately, after the death of Max’s mother, his father took Max and his sister to live in London.  It’s been 15 years and Max only came back for a very short time to bury his father. Abby though they’d be together forever but since she wrote multiple times and received no reply she got on with her life.

Abby is the youngest of 5 siblings. They were all older and out of the house by the time she was born and it was her pleasure and duty to take care of her aging parents.  She loved them to pieces!  Now that they’re gone, her siblings are all gathered to decide who Abby should live with – basically planning her life.  Abby isn’t having it.  She was happy to take care of her parents but she’s now 30 years old and knows that she’ll never have a husband or family.  It hurts that she can’t control that, but there is something she can control – where she lives.  She heads to the estate next door and applies for the job of governess to Max’s younger sister, Gwen, and gets the position.  She has no fear of Max showing up because he hasn’t been there in 15 years. Of course, he shows up.

Max is on his way to a friends house so that is pugilist champion can have a match with America’s champion.  Unfortunately when they arrive at the friend’s estate they discover that all of the servants have the measles.  Since Max’s estate is so nearby, they decide to stay there.  Max isn’t thrilled to see Abby as he doesn’t have fond memories from 15 years ago. He also wanted to seduce a woman he’d brought with him but he suddenly is only interested in Abby.  The pair soon start to talk and discover a few things about their past.  The question is, can those revelations make a difference for their future?

While I always find Drake’s books enjoyable, this one wasn’t my favorite.  From the moment that the letters are mentioned I knew immediately what had happened.  Despite this misunderstanding there wasn’t much angst except on Max’ part. I felt his reasons for not falling in love again were weak, but maybe that’s just me.  The story was more to the tune of Max and Abby getting to know one another again and rekindling the love they once shared.  It was cute but pretty basic.

Overall a decent read but nothing I haven’t read before.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Unlikely Duchesses

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Emily March Giveaway)

Posted January 25, 2019 by Rowena in Features, Giveaways | 10 Comments

Casee: I’ve been reading Maya Banks Enforcer series. This week I finished up Mastered, read Dominated, and am now reading Kept. I’m enjoying the series so far.

I finished up Part-Time lover by Lauren Blakely on audio and I so enjoyed it. The narrators were amazing, which is so important. I can’t wait to listen to more by Blakely. I’m now listening to Fireworks by Sarina Bowen. I’m not very far in.

Holly: I had a pretty slow reading week. I reread Honor’s Splendour by Julie Garwood and Rock Chick Reawakening by Kristen Ashley. I listened to Luc by Kenzie Cox. I’m hoping this weekend will be better.

Rowena: I read hella books this week. I was a couple of books behind in my Goodreads reading challenge but not anymore. I zipped right through all of the books in the Bridesmaids Behaving Badly series by Jenny Holiday and I adored every single one of those books. One and Only was a fabulous romance and I really enjoyed seeing Cam and Jane fall in love. I also really enjoyed Merrily Ever After and Three Little Words but my favorite of the bunch was It Takes Two. Wendy and Noah’s romance was soo good! I’m sad that I’m all done with these books but man was it a good time.

Now, I’m reading Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss by Kasie West and after I finish this one, I’m going to jump into The Scoundrel in Her Bed by Lorraine Heath. Happy reading, everyone!

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Emily March Giveaway)The First Kiss of Spring (Eternity Springs #14) by Emily March
Series: Eternity Springs #14
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: February 27, 2018
Format: Print
Source: Publisher
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 368
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

Spring has come to Eternity Springs in the newest installment in this New York Times bestselling series by Emily March.

When Josh Tarkington gets stuck on a gondola with the lovely Caitlin Timberlake, he thinks his consistently bad luck might have changed.

After their blossoming romance is interrupted, Caitlin realizes that her encounter with Josh was a sign that she needed to make a major life change. So she packs up her things and moves to Eternity Springs, opens a day care, and sets her cap for the town’s mechanic—Josh.

But Josh is hiding a well of secrets that would ruin him, and his relationship with everyone in Eternity Springs—especially Caitlin. When tragedy strikes, Josh and Caitlin find themselves, and their relationship, tested beyond imagining. Will they be able to find their way back to each other?

What Are You Reading: The First Kiss of Spring

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , ,

Review: Demon’s Mercy by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted January 21, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Demon’s Mercy by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Casee
Demon's Mercy (Dark Protectors, #9) by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Dark Protectors #9
Also in this series: Marked (Dark Protectors, #7), Fated (Dark Protectors, #1), Claimed (Dark Protectors, #2), Hunted (Dark Protectors, #3), Consumed (Dark Protectors, #4), Provoked (Dark Protectors, #5), Marked (Dark Protectors, #7), Shadowed (Dark Protectors, #6), Vampire's Faith (Dark Protectors, #8)
Publisher: Kensington
Publication Date: January 22, 2019
Format: eARC
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 320
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Mercy O'Malley hates killing people. So when she's assigned to take out Vampire-Demon Logan Kyllwood, she lures him to a seedy bar in Scotland, then decides to kidnap him instead. How can she cold-bloodedly end all that heat, those green eyes, that ripped body? Unfortunately for Mercy, attempted murder and kidnapping are just foreplay for the Kyllwood brothers. Logan may be the youngest of the bunch, but death and violence are already a way of life. Now he's ready to complete a painful, terrifying ritual to become one of the Seven, dedicated to protecting this world from the most dangerous evil it's ever known. But first he has to deal with a blackmailing Fey, a ransom demand and his own pounding need for the last female he ever should have fallen for . . .

Oh, did I ever enjoy this book. This is one of my favorite books in the Dark Protector series. I usually have a problem with the heroines in this series, but not so with Mercy. She was just a breath of fresh air. I found her to be exactly who was needed in this book.

Mercy O’Malley is fae. They are mostly assumed to be a myth in the Realm. The ones that have known a fae in the past all have a couple words for them. Fairy. Crazy. It’s actually crazy that comes up more often. And crazy they are. They often act before they think, especially in Mercy’s case. She doesn’t quite think her plan through when she decides that she’s going to kidnap Logan Kyllwood instead of kill him.

Mercy is not a solider. She’s a business person. Or business fae. She keeps the fae in money. She plays the stock market. She moves money around. Mercy is that person. She’s also one of the few fae left in the world. Her people were happily living on another dimension when it was destroyed. They lost almost all their people. Now they’re forced to live in a dimension that they have no desire to live in. The realm with everyone else. The problem now is that Logan Kyllwood and his brotherhood are threatening they’re new dimension as well.

Logan Kyllwood can’t believe he let himself get kidnapped by a fairy. He’s only days away from a horrifying ritual that could kill him. One where he joins a brotherhood known as the Seven. The job of the Seven is to protect the world from the biggest, baddest evil the world has ever seen. The evil that can wipe out all enhanced females. Including his young niece. Logan can’t help himself from being attracted to Mercy, but he won’t let her stop him.

What made this book so good was the interaction between Mercy and Logan. Mercy got the one-up on Logan so many times and he just kept falling for her shenanigans. At first I was thinking, “Seriously, how stupid are you?”, then I looked at it another way. He just liked her that much. He got stupid around her. There was one interaction that was especially humorous. The vampire mating mark appears on Logan’s hand, signifying that Mercy is his mate. Mercy sees it and loses her shit a little bit.

“Your marking,” she whispered.

“Yes.” He looked down, no expression on his immortal face.

Oh. She blinked. “You’ve found your mate.” What an asshole. He’d brought her to orgasm while soon to be mated to someone else. Obviously he hadn’t transferred the marking to the other female yet, or he wouldn’t have been able to kiss Mercy without succumbing to the mating allergy. The fact that she’d done the same was irrelevant. “You’re such a dick.”

He jerked and turned toward her. “Excuse me?”

A mating mark only appeared when a demon met his or her mate, and then it was transferred to the mate during sex. She’d read all about it, fascinated. “You’ve met your mate, and here is the mark to prove it. Yet you kissed me.” Man, she’d read him wrong. No honor. What a jackass. His poor mate. How incredibly sad. “I should tell her the truth.”

“You are her,” he drawled, dark amusement glittering in his eyes.

Mercy has always felt that she had to work for her place with her people. Logan is determined to show her that she doesn’t have to prove herself to him. His view does differs from Mercy’s in how their partnership is going to work. Mercy just does what she wants. She does what she wants without any fanfare. She just does it. She does what she believes is best. For her people, for her President, for her King, and above all, for Logan. I just adored these two characters individually and together.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5.

Dark Protectors

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,