Source: Publisher

Review: Rock Redemption by Nalini Singh

Posted November 12, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Rock Redemption by Nalini SinghReviewer: Casee
Rock Redemption (Rock Kiss, #3) by Nalini Singh
Series: Rock Kiss #3
Also in this series: Rock Addiciton, Rock Courtship, Rock Addiction, Rock Courtship, Rock Hard, Rock Hard, Rock Redemption, Rock Redemption, Rock Redemption, Rock Addiction, Rock Courtship, Rock Hard, Rock Wedding, Rock Wedding, Rock Wedding, Rock Addiction (Rock Kiss, #1), Rock Hard (Rock Kiss, #2)
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: September 18, 2015
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 413
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Kit Devigny could have loved rock guitarist Noah St. John. Their friendship burned with the promise of intense passion and searing tenderness…until the night Noah deliberately shattered her heart.

Noah knows he destroyed something precious the night he chose to betray Kit, but he’d rather she hate him than learn his darkest secret. All he has left is his music. It’s his saving grace, but it doesn’t silence the voices that keep him up at night. Chasing oblivion through endless one-night-stands, he earns a few hours’ sleep and his bad boy reputation.

When a media error sees Noah and Kit dubbed the new “it” couple, Kit discovers her chance at the role of a lifetime hinges on riding the media wave. Wanting—needing—to give Kit this, even if he can’t give her everything, Noah agrees to play the adoring boyfriend. Only the illusion is suddenly too real, too painful, too beautiful…and it may be too late for the redemption of Noah St. John.

This book made me extremely emotional. I can honestly say that I was not expecting that at all. Kit was fairly interesting from Rock Addiction, but I wasn’t really looking forward to her book. She did actually turn out to be my favorite heroine in the Rock Kiss series. I just adored her. I adored her devotion to Noah, how she was down-to-earth, and how loyal she was to her friends. She was well on her way to becoming an A-list actress, but she still stayed true to who she was at her core.

Kit had something special with Noah St. John. Or so she thought. Then she found him in bed with someone else. It devastates her. What she doesn’t know is that Noah planned the whole thing to push her away. Although she doesn’t know it, Noah was successful in his plan. He can’t be close to anyone, least of all someone as innocent and sweet as Kit. When Noah calls her one night from a cheap motel telling her that he loves her, but he can’t do it anymore, Kit races to his rescue. What she sees slays her. Noah is drunk and has a syringe ready to inject into his veins. Kit still hasn’t forgiven him for how he hurt her, but there is no way she is letting him die.

In the time that has gone by since Noah staged the scene for Kit to walk in on him and a random groupie, Noah has realized how vital Kit is to his life. He wants a second chance with her. What he doesn’t want from her is sex. Noah has a deep, dark secret in his past that he will never, ever tell Kit. All he can tell her is that he doesn’t want that with her. Kit doesn’t understand it and sees it as a rejection. Still, she can’t turn down Noah’s desperation to be a part of his life.

The title of this book is so spot on. This book is about Noah’s redemption and how Kit helps him forgive himself. She also makes him realize that there are certain things that don’t need forgiving. There are things in his past that are not his fault. It takes time, but Kit gets through to Noah as only she can. These two together were goals. They were just made for each other. But they had a long, rocky road to get to happiness. Seeing their happy ending made everything worth it. I loved these two.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5.

Rock Kiss

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Fireworks by Sarina Bowen

Posted November 12, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Fireworks by Sarina BowenReviewer: Rowena
Fireworks (True North #6) by Sarina Bowen
Series: True North #6
Also in this series: Bittersweet, Steadfast (True North #2), Steadfast, Bittersweet, Keepsake, Bountiful (True North, #4), Speakeasy (True North, #5), Bittersweet (True North, #1), Steadfast (True North, #2)
Publisher: Tuxbury Publishing LLC
Publication Date: November 13, 2018
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 343
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Skye Copeland is on paid leave from her broadcasting job after accidentally drawing a pecker on the traffic map.

Let that sink in. Like it’s her fault the traffic pattern that day created a perfect schlong?

Skye isn’t laughing. She needs this job. And that’s the only reason she’s agreed to chase down a story in her least favorite place—that hell on earth known as Vermont.

A quick trip. In and out. Much like - never mind. Skye can sneak into the town that once tried to break her, get the story and get back into the good graces of her producer. Easy peasy.

Except things go sideways even as she sets foot over the county line. Her step-sister is on the run from a violent drug dealer. And the cop on the case is none other than Benito Rossi, the man who broke her teenage heart.

His dark brown eyes still tear her apart. And even as she steels herself to finally tell him off after twelve years, the old fireworks are still there.

Things are about to go boom.

I’m not sure how she does it but Sarina Bowen wrote another winner for me. I’m really enjoying this series and each book just keeps entertaining the socks right off of me. Fireworks follows Benito Rossi as he finally reunites with the one that got away and tries to get things right this time around.

The Rossi’s sure are front and center in the True North series, aren’t they? I wasn’t sure I wanted to know this much about the Rossi family when the series first started but I can’t say that I’m mad that we’re getting all of their stories. I adored Alec in the Speakeasy and Benito? Benito was fabulous in this book.

Benito Rossi is Zara’s twin and he’s a detective who investigates and brings down the bad guys. The bad guy that he’s building a case to bring down? The same bad guy that made life for his sister hard, back when he couldn’t do anything about it. The same bad guy that made things hard for the only girl he’s ever loved. He’s hoping to put this guy away for good because he’s pure scum and he deserves to be behind bars for the rest of his miserable life. He hasn’t seen Skye in 12 years but she blows right back into his life all these years later, complicating his investigation and his life.

Skye never thought she’d ever return to Vermont because she hated Vermont. She hated the memories that Vermont was associated with and she tried to never think on her time here. She moved on from the girl she was when she lived here and she was living in New York and had a life of her own there. She’s pissed to high heaven that her step-sister talked her into driving to Vermont for a sister weekend and even more pissed that when she gets to Vermont, she finds out that her sister tricked her and left her high and dry. Sure, it worked out for them both since Skye was on a forced vacation from work so she had the time off but still…Skye is pissed to have been left behind in Vermont, of all places.

This story is told in that whole past and present format and that doesn’t always work for me but it worked for me here. I liked seeing Benito and Skye as kids and I loved seeing them get to know the people that they are now. The chemistry that has been between them when they were kids is still there now and watching them come together again made so much sense.

Sarina Bowen created a world that is so easy to fall into and with each book that releases, I’m still invested in everyone in this world. From the Shipleys to the Rossi’s, I love them all and that didn’t change with this book. Benito and Skye were wonderful characters and their romance was sweet. I enjoyed myself with this book and am looking forward to more. I definitely recommend.

Grade: 4.25 out of 5

True North

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Jo Goodman Giveaway)

Posted November 9, 2018 by Casee in Features | 7 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: Send help. The days of September and October are officially over. I have finished two books in November and they were both audiobooks. This next part hurts me to say…I tried and failed to read Archangel’s Prophecy. I was told that I should reread Archangel’s Heart, which I decided to do. I’m currently listening to it on audio. The narrator is amazing! I am loving it. Plus it reminds me why I love Raphael and Elena so much.

I’m also reading Mornings on Main by Jodi Thomas. I’m one chapter in. I’ve never read anything by this author so I’m really curious to see how it turns out.

Holly: I had a slow reading week. Things have been pretty crazy at casa del Holly this week and my reading time took a hit. I mostly listened to the Mercy Thompson series. I finished Bone Crossed, then listened to Frost Burned, Night Broken and Fire Touched. I’m currently listening to Silence Fallen. I blame Rowena for this. She’s been reading the series for the first time and talking about it quite a bit. I couldn’t resist a re-read.

I’m currently reading Sleepover by Serena Bell. Next up is Mornings on Main by Jodi Thomas, which we’re reading as a group to review later this month.

Rowena: This week was an okay reading week for me. It started out fantastic and then thanks to my friend Theresa, I started watching weird things on the internet. Like mukbang’s by Zoie from Wild n Out and Hallmark Christmas movies.

I did read Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs and really enjoyed that. I also read Wait for It by Mariana Zapata and listened to Archangel’s Blade by Nalini Singh. I adored Wait for It and liked Archangel’s Blade okay.

Now, I’m reading Mornings on Main by Jodi Thomas for our group review this month. I’m not that far into it and hope to be done with it tonight so that I can jump back into the Mercy Thompson world. 🙂

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Jo Goodman Giveaway)A Touch of Flame (The Cowboys of Colorado, #2) by Jo Goodman
Series: The Cowboys of Colorado #2
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: June 5, 2018
Format: Print
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 416
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

USA Today bestselling author Jo Goodman returns to the gunslinging outlands of A Touch of Frost with a sizzling new romance where the new town doctor learns there's nothing she likes better than a run-in with the law.

Dr. E. Ridley Woodhouse is like no physician Ben Madison has ever met—she's a woman. As the newly elected sheriff of Frost Falls, Colorado, Ben is tasked with welcoming Ridley to the community. But while Ben might be tempted by the new doc's charms, getting the town to accept a big-city, female doctor is no easy feat. To earn their trust she'll have to prove herself and Ben determines to help her...even if she's the most stubborn woman he's ever met.

When the husband of one of Ridley's patients threatens her, forbidding Ridley from treating his wife or children, all of Ben's protective instincts kick in. Ridley has come to rely on Ben's steady presence and the delicious tension that simmers just below the surface of their easy friendship—but as much as she trusts that his warnings to steer clear of Jeremiah Salt are sincere, she's never been one to back down from a challenge and she refuses to abandon her patient.

But sticking to your guns can earn you trouble in the rough terrain of the Wild West, and danger threatens Ridley from unexpected places, forcing Ben to confront his deepest fear in order to save the woman he loves.

What Are You Reading: A Touch of Flame

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Tessa Bailey Giveaway)

Posted October 26, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 12 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I finished up Shayla Black and Lexi Blake’s The Perfect Gentlemen series. The first two books in the series were my favorite. The second two were slow, which surprised me. After I finished Smoke and Sin, I decided that it was far past time to read Archangel’s Prophecy by Nalini Singh. I’ve had this book for over a month and haven’t read it. Something is seriously wrong with me. I’m just a few chapters in and was instantly reminded how much I love, love, love Elena and Raphael. Love. Love. Love. They are my all-time favorite couple in romance.

I’m listening to Phoenix Unbound by Grace Draven on audio. The narrator is so good. I’m not very far in and it’s a little slow, but I’ve been told that it’s really good so I’m looking forward to getting into it.

Holly: I finished listening to The Scribe by Elizabeth Hunter (still $1.49 for Kindle). It ended in a cliffhanger, which was annoying and unexpected. I started reading book 2, The Singer, but I DNF’d it about 30% in. Up to that point it was moving really slow and repeating a lot of the information from the first book. The series is 7 books and the first 3 follow the same couple. I’m not interested in slogging through 70% more of this book, plus another entire book. I liked the premise and I’m curious about some of the other characters, so I may come back to it later, when I’m not so salty about the cliffhanger.

I also listened to How to Date Your Dragon and Love and Other Wild Things by Molly Harper. I tend to prefer more serious paranormal books, but these were perfect for my mood despite being light, fluffy listens. I’m sad there aren’t any other books available in the series.

I finished reading Archangel’s Prophecy, which slayed me. Nalini Singh is evil…in the very best way. I can’t wait for the next book to come out. Then I read Lionheart by Thea Harrison. Oberon! I really loved it. I really wish these authors would release books faster. I need more! 😉

I re-read Soaring by Kristen Ashley and Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs so I can discuss it with Rowena. Iron Kissed gets me every time. My poor heart.

I’m currently listening to Natural Dual-Mage by K.F. Breene. I think I’m going to start reading Mornings on Main by Jodi Thomas.

Rowena: I’ve been distracted by baseball in the last couple of weeks, so reading has taken a back seat. I started some books but because my Dodgers have been stressing me out, I haven’t been paying much attention to any of them so I just put it off until I could concentrate again. I finished Never Seduce a Scot by Maya Banks for my book club and holy cow, that book made me all kinds of emotional. I wanted to fight all of the Montgomery women and I wanted to run Ian McHugh through with Graeme’s sword. Man, Eveline was a straight up boss for everything she went through. I adored her romance with Graeme.

After that, I read The Other Miss Bridgerton by Julia Quinn and enjoyed how easy it was to fall in with both Andrew and Poppy. Their romance was a little on the cheesy side but I didn’t care, I loved it all anyway. Julia Quinn writes great dialogue and witty characters that make me love them every single time. I just finished reading Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs and that was another emotional read for me. I stayed up until after midnight last night, finishing up that book and I was choked up for Mercy, for Adam, hell, even for Ben. Patricia Briggs has me hooked on this series.

I started Bone Crossed by Patricia Briggs this morning, there is just no way that I’d be able to focus on anything else but Mercy Thompson right now. I need to know that she’s okay so of course I started the next book.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Tessa Bailey Giveaway)Disturbing His Peace (The Academy, #3) by Tessa Bailey
Series: The Academy #3
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: April 24, 2018
Format: Print
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 356
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads


She’s got probable cause to make her move . . .

Danika Silva can’t stand Lt. Greer Burns. Her roommate’s older brother may be sexy as hell, but he’s also a cold, unfeeling robot. She just wants to graduate and forget about her scowling superior. But when a dangerous mistake lands Danika on probation—under Greer’s watch—she’s forced to interact with the big, hulking jerk. Call him daily to check in? Done. Ride shotgun in his cruiser every night? Done. Try not to climb into his giant, muscular lap and kiss him? Umm…

Greer doesn’t let anythingor anyone—distract him from the job. Except lately, all he can think about is Danika. He’s wanted the beautiful, cocky recruit since the moment he saw her. But she’s reckless and unpredictable, and Greer is painfully aware of what can happen when an officer doesn’t follow the rules. Probation seemed like a good idea, but now Danika’s scent is in his car and he’s replayed her voicemails twenty times. Christ, he’s a goner.

Danika’s melting Greer’s stone-cold exterior one ride-along at a time. Being together could have serious consequences… but breaking a few rules never hurt anybody, right?

What Are You Reading: Disturbing His Peace by Tessa Bailey

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Throwback Thursday Review: Rescue Me by Rachel Gibson.

Posted October 25, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 8 Comments

Throwback Thursday Review: Rescue Me by Rachel Gibson.Reviewer: Rowena
Rescue Me (Lovett, Texas, #3) by Rachel Gibson
Series: Lovett, Texas #3
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: May 29, 2012
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

She’s 33, unmarried, and stuffed into a Bubble Yum pink bridesmaid dress. And the whole town wants to fix her up with anyone with a dental plan...

Who’s going to rescue Sadie Hollowell now? Everyone in Lovett, Texas knows Sadie has always been a ‘notional’ kind of gal. She got a notion to leave town ASAP and never visit her daddy (bless his heart). Now, she’s back and got the notion to invite a good-looking, hard-muscled, total stranger to her cousin’s wedding. Better a stranger than some of the losers she’s dated.

Vince Haven got his muscles the hard way -- as a Navy SEAL in Afghanistan. He’s staying in Lovett to visit his crazy aunt -- the proprietor of the local Gas N Go. Before he can get the heck back out of the small town, his aunt makes him an offer he can’t refuse. Maybe he’ll stick around Lovett for a while. Maybe he’ll make a ‘go’ of the Gas N Go. Maybe he’ll rescue Sadie out of that pink dress!

Every Thursday, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books. Enjoy!

This review was originally posted on May 30, 2012.

This book features a hero that if you read Any Man of Mine will remember. Autumn’s brother, Vince is the star of this show. If you’ll remember back to AMoM, Vince was Autumn’s brother that was a Navy SEAL who came back to help her take care of her young son, Connor. In this book, Vince goes to the Lone Star state to see what his Aunt wants and to get away for a little bit. He’s not a fan of Autumn’s fiance Sam and he’s not looking forward to the wedding. He’s in Texas, a long way from Seattle and before he knows what’s what, he’s bought his Aunts Gas and Go mart and he’s in the process of fixing it up.

On his way into town, he runs into a bit of car trouble and finds himself stranded, until a cute blonde comes to save the day. Her name is Sadie and her being back in town is sure to cause some talk.

Seeing Vince in action and getting into his head in this book was a treat for me since I became a fan of his in his sister’s book, Any Man of Mine. I was looking forward to getting to know him and I loved him, just like I knew I would. He was such a man’s man and I ate his character up. Him and Becca’s relationship had me cracking up. What he thought, what Becca thought, what they really thought of each other and then Sadie’s reaction to it all? Was the exact same reaction I had.

It was also good to see him to come to terms with Autumn’s relationship with Sam. It was nice to see that played out in this book as well because I felt like it was brought up in AMoM and then just dropped. I loved the little pieces of Autumn, Sam and Connor in this book.

Rachel Gibson does a great job of writing a humorous contemporary romance with just enough steam to keep you turning the pages and not need to take a shower. I’m a total fan of the way she writes her stories, the way that she fleshes out her characters and still keep us laughing the whole way through. She created a new world for us in this book and I can’t wait for more. I’m mighty curious to see who’s next to get their story from this town in Texas. I love stories set in Texas because the people from around there are so colorful and just too funny.

I’m glad that I read this book, I enjoyed the romance between Vince and Sadie, I enjoyed getting to know the people from Sadie’s past and I’m glad that she was able to make friends in a place where she didn’t have very many friends. I even enjoyed getting to know Sadie’s Dad. It was all wrapped up nicely in an entertaining story and I will definitely be back for more.

Grade: 4.5 out of 5.

Lovett, Texas

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,