Source: NetGalley

Guest Review: How to Mend a Broken Heart by Amy Andrews

Posted September 19, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: How to Mend a Broken Heart by Amy AndrewsReviewer: Tracy
How to Mend a Broken Heart by Amy Andrews
Publisher: Harlequin Medical Romance
Publication Date: September 1st 2012
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 134
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
two-stars

Facing her estranged husband Fletcher was always going to be heartbreaking for nurse Tessa King.

Especially as Fletcher has one last favour to ask – with his mother critically ill, he needs Tessa to pretend tragedy never tore their marriage apart. Impossible when your husband’s the one man it hurts your heart to touch...but the one man you can’t resist...

Fletcher and Tessa were madly in love with each other at one point.  After the accidental death of their toddler they divorced, and Tessa insisted on no communication whatsoever.  They had been living in Brisbane, Australia but Fletcher had ended up moving to Canada and Tessa to England.  Tessa returns on the anniversary of her son’s death to visit his grave.  Fletcher, unbeknownst to Tessa, has been watching every year.  He hates the fact that they’re divorced and wants Tessa back in his life.

Fletcher approaches Tessa with a proposition – she stays in Brisbane to help him take care of his mother, who was at one point a second mother to Tessa, who now has Alzheimer’s disease.  The mom, Jean, thinks that Tessa and Fletcher are still married and has no clue that they ever had a child.  Fletcher’s sister is usually Jean’s caregiver but she’s pregnant and on bed rest so Fletcher took over.  Since Tessa takes care of elderly Alzheimer patients in England, Fletcher believes she’s the perfect fit.  On top to that, he’ll have Tessa in his life again.

This book.  I’m not even sure where to begin this review.  I guess I’ll start by saying that I didn’t like the book.

Tessa was the one who asked for the divorce. She was grieving the death of her son, Ryan, and couldn’t handle even being around Fletcher.  She wouldn’t talk about Ryan and just tried to get through each day.  She didn’t support Fletcher at all and now, 10 years later, she’s just now seeing how selfish she’s been when Fletch finally says that he’s sick of not talking about his son. I got his frustration. I really didn’t like Tessa at all (even before that Fletch said that).  I got that she’s grieving and has horrible guilt about it all, but she’s not the only one who lost a child!  Maybe that makes me callous, but I don’t think so.

Fletcher seemed like a good guy at first, but I hated that he used his mentally ill mother to get Tessa to stick around.  Really? sigh Then of course he insists that she stay with him in case his mother wakes up in the night and he conveniently only has 2 bedrooms.  You can guess where this is going, they end up having to share a bed. Let me add that Fletcher moved down 9 out of 10 spaces in my opinion when he does a reveal of something that happened 9 years prior.  Why was this added???  Was there not enough drama?  Apparently not.

The book was slow, depressing, and a complete emotional drain.  There was seriously not one happy part in this book.  Even when there was a chance for the author to make Tessa see that she could take care of a child (Fletcher’s nephew) and have no issues, Andrews had the child sick and Tessa having to call an ambulance to save his life.  It was just too much! I can’t recommend this book at all as I didn’t like it, but if you want to be ripped apart emotionally then go for it.

Rating: 2 out of 5

(This was a 1 star read for me but it wasn’t badly written, so I gave it another star.)

 

two-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Order of Protection by Lexi Blake

Posted September 14, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Order of Protection by Lexi BlakeReviewer: Casee
Order of Protection (Courting Justice #1) by Lexi Blake
Series: Courting Justice #1
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: June 5, 2018
Format: eBook
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 336
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-stars

A sexy and suspenseful new contemporary romance from New York Times bestselling author Lexi Blake where love and law entwine for a conviction of the heart.

To high-end defense attorney Henry Garrison, Win Hughes is a woman he met during one of the most trying times of his life. She's soft and warm, and he finds solace in their brief relationship. But Win has a secret. She's actually Taylor Winston-Hughes—born to one of the wealthiest families in the country, orphaned as a child by a tragic accident. Win moves in the wealthiest circles, but her lavish lifestyle hides her pain.

When her best friend is murdered in the midst of a glittering New York gala, Win's charged with the crime, and the only person in the world she wants to see is Henry.

Henry is shocked at the true identity of his lover, but he can't reject the case. This trial could take his new firm into the stratosphere. Still, he's not getting burned by Win again. And yet every turn brings them closer together.

As the case takes a wild turn and Win's entire life is upended, she must look to the people she's closest to in order to find a killer. And Henry must decide between making his case and saving the woman he loves...

I really wanted to love this book because I adore Lexi Blake. Have I said that before? I adore Lexi Blake. She only has two series that I haven’t read and I need to rectify that. Stat. So I was really excited when this book came out. I loved the Lawless series so I thought this would be along the same lines. It was and wasn’t. It started out super, super slow. It had promise in the beginning, it really did.

Henry Garrison (I totally just drew a blank on his name and had to look it up on GR) is at his grandfather’s beach house on Martha’s Vineyard getting it ready to sell. After an acrimonious split from his now ex-wife, Henry has to sell his grandfather’s beach house to pay her off. Henry has been on the wagon for six months or so, but packing up the house has him ready to hit the bottle. Then he sees woman take a spill right outside the house. He heads to her rescue, which is laughable considering he can’t even rescue himself. She is Win Hughes and Henry is immediately intrigued although she is substantially younger than him. The problem is that Henry doesn’t know who she really is. If he did, he would have never let her through the front door.

Known as the Billion Dollar Baby, Taylor Winston-Hughes can’t get away from the spotlight. She can’t deny that she put herself in it when she went on a reality show. That went badly when she ended up in rehab for anorexia. When she meets Henry she’s not in the best place she’s ever been, but she is drawn to him nonetheless. She can tell he feels the same. Conveniently a bad storm hits and they are stuck at Henry’s.

So what ends up happening is Win and Henry end up spending two glorious weeks together and then they go their separate way with Henry not knowing Win’s true identity. Win texts Henry a few times, but he doesn’t return the texts. He finally decides to return her texts and he gets a bomb dropped on him. Win is the Billion Dollar Baby. She travels in the same world as his ex-wife. The world that nearly destroyed him. The world he will not return to for anyone or anything in the world. The problem is that Win has been arrested for murder. A case like this could make Henry’s new firm.

Henry was so annoying. He just couldn’t get over who Win was. It’s not like it was her fault. She couldn’t help who she was or who her parents were. He would not let her forget that he would never forgive her. He just wouldn’t let up on her. It got really old. I really liked how Win handled it. She didn’t cry or beg. She just let him feel the way he felt. Of course when push came to shove, Henry couldn’t leave her alone. Still, he didn’t think it could work out in the end so he would sleep with her while she was a suspect but as soon as she was cleared and moved out of his house, he was going to cut her loose. What an ASS. Seriously. Ugh.

I’m honestly not in a rush to read the second book. It’s about one of Henry’s partner. I don’t even know if I’m intrigued. I will read it eventually, but probably not right when it comes out. I’m sad that this book disappointed me.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Courting Justice

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Intercepted by Alexa Martin

Posted September 10, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 4 Comments

Guest Review: Intercepted by Alexa MartinReviewer: Tracy
Intercepted (Playbook #1) by Alexa Martin
Series: Playbook #1
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: September 11, 2018
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 320
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Marlee thought she scored with the man of her dreams only to be scorched by a bad breakup. Now there's a new player on the horizon and he's in a whole league of his own...

Marlee Harper is the perfect girlfriend. She's sure had enough practice, dating her NFL-star boyfriend for the last ten years. But when she discovers her wide-receiver boyfriend has been tackling other women on the sly, she vows to never date an athlete again. Only one problem: Gavin Pope, the new hotshot quarterback and a fling from the past, has Marlee in his sights.

Gavin fights to show Marlee he's nothing like her ex and what a future can be like for them. Unfortunately, not everyone is ready to let her escape her past. Gavin's teammates' wives, who never led the welcome wagon, are not happy with her return, and they have only one thing on their minds: taking her down. But when their gossip attack makes Marlee public enemy number one to the rabid fans of the team, she worries about more than just her reputation.

Fearing she's causing Gavin's life more harm than good, she tries to ignore the articles and the comments. However, when Gavin makes a life changing decision without her, she's hit with the fact that she's allowed herself to fall back into the back-seat life of an NFL girlfriend she promised to leave behind. Marlee must learn how to balance loving Gavin without losing the independence and respect she's worked so hard to gain; otherwise their relationship may not survive the season.

Marlee is the girlfriend of NFL wide receiver, Chris Alexander, and has been for years.  They’ve been together since high school and have had a rocky road but they’re fine.  That is until Marlee opens his computer (he took hers accidentally) to check her email and find emails to Chris from his girlfriend.  The girlfriend that he’s been flying back and forth to see him from wherever.  This was not the first time that Chris has cheated and Marlee’s finally done with the man.  She packs her bags and leaves.  Unfortunately as she’s trying to leave Chris comes home and of course tries to make things out like it’s all Marlee’s fault.  WTF?  Ass.  He happens to be with Gavin Pope, the teams new quarterback, and the man she had a one-night stand with four years earlier when she and Chris were broken up.

Gavin slept with Marlee four years ago and never forgot her.  He’s thrilled that she’s in Denver so he’s more than happy to take her away from the ass that is her now-ex-boyfriend.  When Marlee gets her own place Gavin starts to come around and they start to get close.  Marlee never forgot the night they spent together but she was upset with Gavin for lying to her.  He had told her he was an investment banker.  Had she known he played ball professionally she would have never gone home with him.  Of course she would have missed out on the best night of her life.

Marlee starts to fall for Gavin quickly but there’s a lot of push back from a lot of people.  She gets it from the Lady Mustangs – the wives of the team – and they constantly give her shit.  Then there’s Gavin’s friend and PR person who spreads rumors and more. Marlee tries to keep her head and sense of humor about her but it’s damned hard when she starts getting shit from the fans as well.  Can the love and relationship Marlee and Gavin have survive all the negativity and his football contract?

This book made me laugh.  Seriously.  I really liked the humor in this book as it was crazy and out of control.  Marlee was her own woman and not afraid to speak her mind.  She liked to rib people to get a rise out of them and she almost always managed to do it.  She was pretty independent, however, and came down on Gavin a couple of times when he tried to take over.  I get where she was coming from, and one time he did go too far, but I thought she could have toned it down a bit.

Gavin was awesome. He was kind, giving, loving, generous, loved his family.  I mean, this guy could do no wrong…if you ignore when he lied to Marlee and then again when he omitted information.  Despite that I really liked the guy and he was hot too, so there was that. Lol.

Overall the book was great.  I enjoyed reading it – even when Marlee was hashtagging her own life which was weird, but funny. It looks like this might be Martin’s first published novel.  If this is how good they’ll all be then I’ll be a big fan.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Guest Review: One Perfect Kiss by Jaci Burton

Posted September 7, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: One Perfect Kiss by Jaci BurtonReviewer: Tracy
One Perfect Kiss (Hope #8) by Jaci Burton
Series: Hope Series #8
Also in this series: Hope Flames, Hope Flames, Hope Ignites, Hope Ignites, Hope Burns, Love After All, Make Me Stay, Don't Let Go (Hope Series #6), Love Me Again
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: September 4, 2018
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 320
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
two-half-stars

The New York Times bestselling author of Love Me Again returns to the town of Hope, Oklahoma where school is in session and love rules the playbook.

Josie Barnes has always craved a sense of home. She's found that in Hope, Oklahoma--she bought a house, has a new job as an English teacher at Hope High, she's made wonderful friends, and she's taking in stray animals that no one else wants. Now she's flirting with fellow teacher and hot high school football coach Zach Powers. But he's almost too good to be true, and Josie learned long ago not to trust in the too-good-to-be-true, because it has always let her down.

A former pro football player, Zach had to pull back when a career-ending knee injury forced him to rethink his future. Now he's happy calling plays as Coach. If he could just get Josie Barnes to stop benching his players for their poor grades, life would be perfect. Instead, she drives him crazy as the stern teacher at school and the sexy woman of his dreams outside of the classroom. He knows she's been hurt in the past, but he wants to be that guy she can trust.

The one thing Josie has never been able to count on is the people closest to her. But Zach intends to show her that what they have between them is a textbook case of love.

Josie and Zach are teachers at Hope High School.  They hang out in the same group of friends and that’s how they met.  They are attracted to each other, but nothing had been done about it until when this book starts.

When our book opens Zach is getting on Josie’s case for putting a couple of his players on academic probation.  When he finds out that they just aren’t doing the work and it’s nothing vindictive, then he calms down and helps his players get their assignments done.  Zach thinks it’s about time he finally ask Josie out as he thinks she’s attractive.

Josie has issues with relationships.  Her mother is a drug addict and Josie pretty much raised herself.  When she went to college she had a boyfriend but after a while of dating he broke up with her and then she found out he had another girlfriend the whole time he was dating Josie.  When Zach starts hanging around she thinks that having a little fun would be good but has no thoughts of it being anything permanent.

I liked Zach and Josie and thought they were good together.  We got to see characters from past Hope novels and that was good too. The rescue animals were a bonus as they were so cute.

My main problem with the story was that it was slow.  I kept putting the book down and then having to force myself to go back to it.  If it wasn’t a book I had to review I would have dnf’d it.  Not that it was bad, don’t get me wrong, but there was just nothing happening that kept my attention.  I also didn’t feel the attraction between Zach and Josie.  How can I enjoy a romance when I’m just not feeling it?

I hate to say this about a Burton book because I normally really like her stories but this one just didn’t work for me.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5

Hope Series


two-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,