Source: Kindle Unlimited

Review: How to Live and Undead Lie by Hailey Edwards

Posted November 18, 2020 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: How to Live and Undead Lie by Hailey EdwardsReviewer: Holly
How to Live an Undead Lie by Hailey Edwards
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: December 11, 2018
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Pages: 322
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Goodreads Challenge, Holly's 2020 Goodreads Challenge, Holly's 2020 Reading Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars

When a fledgling vampire arrives at Woolworth House searching for his maker, Grier is forced to relive her time in Atramentous. Most of those years are as dark and empty in her memory as she was in her cell. She can't remember her progeny, or the night she resuscitated him, but she can protect him from the Society. As long as she's willing to barter with her grandfather to do it.

But Lacroix has plans of his own. He envisions the city--her city--under his rule, and Grier under his thumb. Now all he needs is the right leverage to force her cooperation, and he has just the person in mind. Grier is ready to trade her freedom until a grim truth is revealed that splits her heart in two. Yet another person she loves has betrayed her, and Grier is left agonizing over how much of their relationship is real and how much was a lie.

Grier is finally finding her place in this post-Atramentous life. She’s embracing her role as Dame Woolworth and learning more about who she is now. When a young vampire shows up on her doorstep, Grier has to face another aspect of her past…the powers that come from her mother’s side of the family. She doesn’t trust her grandfather or her mother’s people, but she knows she needs answers about how her powers work and they’re her best bet. Until she realizes one – or both – may be conspiring against her.

It feels like Grier is truly moving forward for the first time since the series began. I really like the way her friendships are progressing, especially with Lethe and Hood. I love how supportive Linus is, as well.

This was another good entry. I keep saying I’m going to take a break and read something else, then I end up picking up the next book. I can’t wait to find out what happens next.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Beginner’s Guide to Necromancy

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: How to Dance an Undead Waltz by Hailey Edwards

Posted November 16, 2020 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: How to Dance an Undead Waltz by Hailey EdwardsReviewer: Holly
How to Dance an Undead Waltz by Hailey Edwards
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: August 22, 2018
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 322
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Holly's 2020 Reading Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars


Keep a spot open on your dance card. This is one ball you don't want to miss.

Grier is nursing a broken heart after Boaz announced his engagement to another woman, but life goes on. Or it would if vampire assassins would stop taking pot shots at her every time she leaves Woolworth House. Seriously, who sends archers to deliver murdergrams these days?

To protect herself, Grier must pull out all the stops, even if it means revealing her darkest secret. All eyes are on her, and — for the first time — she begins to understand why Linus wears so many masks. But the target isn’t Grier, and when the archers single him out, it feels like one of their arrows might have struck what remains of her heart.

Grier is still picking up the pieces of her broken heart after the latest betrayal by Boaz and Amelie. When Linus invites her to go to Atlanta with him, she jumps at the chance to get away. She just needs a minute to catch her breath…except her problems follow her to Atlanta, and before long she and Linus are in another fight for their lives.

I like that Grier is making a new family and collecting new friends. It feels like she’s growing into herself more; accepting her past and looking to her future. Parts of her are still too much to focus on, but she’s making a true effort now to come out of the darkness.

We learn more about her past and family connections here, which I enjoyed. I can’t quite decide what Eloise’s true motivation for visiting was, but I wasn’t surprised at the way things turned out. I’m sure there will be more betrayals in her future, but I feel like this Grier can handle them better.

I have to say, I love that Linus is so pro “Grier Can Do It Herself”. He is fully supportive of her standing on her own two feet. He may want to step in and take over now and again, but he never does, because he realizes she needs to be independent.

All in all, another fabulous entry in the series. These are quick reads, and I can’t wait for the next.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Beginner’s Guide to Necromancy

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: How to Break an Undead Heart by Hailey Edwards

Posted October 16, 2020 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: How to Break an Undead Heart by Hailey EdwardsReviewer: Holly
How to Break an Undead Heart by Hailey Edwards
Series: Beginner's Guide to Necromancy #3
Also in this series: How to Save an Undead Life , How to Claim an Undead Soul , How to Dance an Undead Waltz , How to Live an Undead Lie
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: March 30, 2018
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 278
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Goodreads Challenge, Holly's 2020 Goodreads Challenge, Holly's 2020 Reading Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

The Beginner's Guide to Necromancy, Book 3

Grier finally has the one thing she’s always wanted: Boaz Pritchard. Too bad her dream boyfriend is keeping her up nights, just not in a sweaty or fun way. Boaz has dialed down the Southern charm and stopped returning her calls. His job forces him to keep secrets, but his radio silence is cranking up her suspicions. He’s a shameless flirt, but he’s her shameless flirt…right?

Soon an attack on Woolworth House leaves her with bigger problems than he loves me, he loves me not. Vampires are on the prowl, and they aren’t the only predators circling. A new threat has emerged, one with blood rights to Grier. With enemies closing in on all sides, she must choose her allies, and the decision could make or break her…and her heart.

Warning: This book contains a buttload of zombie parakeet poop. Like grab a poncho and thank me later. Watch out, y’all. It’s about to hit the fan. Hearts will break, and heads will roll. Literally.

How to Break and Undead Heart is the third book in The Beginner’s Guide to Necromancy series by Hailey Edwards.

Grier is still dealing with the betrayal of her best friend, but she’s glad to finally be settled into a relationship with her long-time crush, Boaz. Except for the fact that he won’t return her calls, and she rarely sees him. So maybe things aren’t as settled as she thought? With vampires constantly circling her and Linus, her childhood nemesis, teaching her how to become a proper necromancer, things are crazy enough. She isn’t ready to deal with more…but she isn’t given much of a choice.

This is the book I’ve been waiting for, where Grier is betrayed by those she loves most, and realizes she needs to let go of her past in order to accept her future. Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t wishing additional pain and suffering on her by any stretch, but I feel like the events of this book were necessary for her to move on in a positive way. Sometimes we need to walk away from our past in order to have a better future.

I’m not surprised Boaz and Amelie acted as they did. Neither have had Grier’s best interests at heart from the beginning, for all she thought of them as her only family. I really dislike their parents, and I’m glad Grier has some closure there.

I love that Linus allows Grier the space she needs to figure herself out, while still supporting her. This is the pairing I expected from the beginning, and I love the way things are progressing between them.

This is probably my favorite book of the series to date. Grier needed a wake-up call, and while my heart hurts for her, I hope she can now pick up the pieces of her life and finally move on.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Beginner’s Guide to Necromancy

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: How to Claim an Undead Soul by Hailey Edwards

Posted October 14, 2020 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: How to Claim an Undead Soul by Hailey EdwardsReviewer: Holly
How to Claim an Undead Soul by Hailey Edwards
Series: Beginner's Guide to Necromancy #2
Also in this series: How to Save an Undead Life , How to Break an Undead Heart , How to Dance an Undead Waltz , How to Live an Undead Lie
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: December 15, 2017
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 286
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Goodreads Challenge, Holly's 2020 Goodreads Challenge, Holly's 2020 Reading Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Life was simpler for Grier when she was flat broke and a social pariah. Now she’s carrying the baggage that goes along with the title of Dame Woolworth, and shouldering that weight is giving her a serious crick in the neck. Her work as a Haint is the one thing that makes her feel normal, but even that’s more paranormal than usual.

Spirits are vanishing from well-known hot spots on the ghost tour circuit, and vampires are turning up as shriveled husks. Grier takes it upon herself to uncover what’s preying on Savannah’s supernatural community, and what she uncovers is bigger than a few flickering lampposts gone dark. It’s a deadly threat unleashed by one of their own, and saving her city just might kill her.

Book 2 in The Beginner’s Guide to Necromancy series by Hailey Edwards is very much a continuation of the first, How to Save an Undead Life. Grier is picking up the pieces of her life and trying to move forward, but she’s missing key pieces of her memory and education. She’s trying to slot back into her old life, and it isn’t working, because she’s no longer the wide-eyed, innocent girl she used to be. She’s darker now, and broken in ways that can’t really be fixed, no matter how much she – and the friends she grew up with – may wish otherwise.

When spirits start disappearing, Grier realizes there’s more going on that meets the eye. She’s determined to figure out what’s going on in her city..but the cost may be higher than she ever could have imagined.

I didn’t enjoy this book as much as the first. It felt a bit slower, which worked against it in some ways. Not to mention I wasn’t surprised by the big reveal at the end. That’s not to say it wasn’t a good read, because it was. I like that Grier is finding her feet and working on becoming independent. I really appreciate her candor and honesty with herself, and how willing she is to face the broken parts of herself. While this definitely felt like a continuation of book one, there were some key elements that made me immediately pick up book three.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Beginner’s Guide to Necromancy

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: How to Save an Undead Life by Hailey Edwards

Posted October 9, 2020 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: How to Save an Undead Life by Hailey EdwardsReviewer: Holly
How to Save an Undead Life by Hailey Edwards
Series: Beginner's Guide to Necromancy #1
Also in this series: How to Claim an Undead Soul , How to Break an Undead Heart , How to Dance an Undead Waltz , How to Live an Undead Lie
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: August 19, 2017
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 234
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Goodreads Challenge, Holly's 2020 Goodreads Challenge, Holly's 2020 Reading Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Grier Woolworth spends her nights weaving spooky tales of lost souls and tragedies for tourists on the streets of downtown Savannah. Hoop skirt and parasol aside, it's not a bad gig. The pay is crap, but the tips keep the lights on in her personal haunted mansion and her pantry stocked with ramen.

Life is about as normal as it gets for an ex-necromancer hiding among humans. Until the society that excommunicated Grier offers her a second chance at being more than ordinary. Too bad no one warned her the trouble with being extraordinary is it can get you killed.

Warning: This book contains one ex-con/ex-heiress with a pet zombie parakeet who lives next door to her ex-army/ex-crush. Brace yourselves, we're talking more exes than a pirate treasure map here.

How to Save an Undead Life by Hailey Edwards is book one of the Beginner’s Guide to Necromancy series. I’ve read a few books in the Foundling series and enjoyed them, but not as much as this book.

Grier Woolworth is trying to put herself back together after being imprisoned for five years for a murder she’s pretty sure she didn’t commit. Her unexpected release was such a shock she didn’t look too closely at it, until a strange vampire shows up and offers her an alliance. When more strange things begin happening, Grier starts to wonder what really happened the night her guardian was murdered, and why she’s suddenly a hot commodity.

Grier was such a standup character. I loved how determined she was to put the pieces of herself back together. She’d only been out of prison – where she was in solitary confinement and drugged for the majority of her sentence – a few months, and she was still coming out of the fog and dealing with the shock of her unexpected freedom. I liked that she did what she could to move forward, but still acknowledged she had a long way to go. She’s had a crush on her best friend’s brother, Boaz, since she was a girl, and suddenly he’s back in her life as well. Their dynamic was interesting. Grier isn’t the same girl she was when she went away, and Boaz has a hard time recognizing that. It was also interesting to see her friendship with Amelie, Boaz’s sister, change.

About 3/4 of the way through the book something happens that kind of sets Grier back a bit. I’ll be honest, I didn’t love that part of the book. It went on for longer than it needed to for this reader. View Spoiler »

I’m really looking forward to the rest of the series. There was a lot of humor in this book despite the dark themes, and I found the reading experience to be very balanced and emotional at the same time.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5

Beginner’s Guide to Necromancy

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,