Source: Kindle Unlimited

Review: The Rebel King by Kennedy Ryan

Posted February 11, 2020 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: The Rebel King by Kennedy RyanReviewer: Rowena
The Rebel King by Kennedy Ryan
Series: All the Kings Men #2
Also in this series: The Kingmaker
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: November 18, 2019
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 388
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Rowena's 2020 Goodreads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: five-stars

Ambition. Revenge. Love.

RITA® Award-winning author Kennedy Ryan delivers the gripping conclusion to the All the King’s Men Duet.

Raised to resist. Bred to fight. Survival is in my blood and surrender is never an option.

Though surrender is what Maxim Cade demanded of my body and heart, I had other plans. We were fast-burning fascination and combustible chemistry, but the man I trusted with everything was a trickster. A thief who stole my love. If what we had was a lie, why did it feel so real? The man I swore to hate will have it all, and wants me at his side. But power is a game, and we’re the pawns and players.

Facing insurmountable odds, will we win the world, or will we lose it all?

The Rebel King is the final book in Kennedy Ryan’s All Kings Mens duet and it really packed a punch. Considering how the first book ended, I shouldn’t have been surprised but I was. This book knocked me on my ass far too many times and each time, I was shook. A lot happens in this book and through it all, I looked like this..

So this book picks up right where book 1 ended and we’re immediately thrown into the action. Maxim finds out, goes a little crazy and then goes to work. Lennix is the most important thing in his life and there was no way that he was going to go down without a fight so I snickered my way through the beginning because the bad guys? Yeah, they thought. I’m really glad that the suspense at the beginning wasn’t dragged on and on because to be honest, I wasn’t here for that. I was here for Maxim and Lennix figuring out how to be together when they lived some complicated lives. When Lennix gets home, and their romance picks up again, things really got interesting for me.

Maxim was not an easy person to be with and Lennix was too strong for some of the shit that he tried to pull and I was so glad to see Lennix make him pick his battles because she wasn’t one to let anyone run her life the way that he wanted to. I’m not going to lie, there were times when I wanted to kick Maxim in the dick for a lot of the shit he tried to pull in this book. I mean, I get that he had the scare of his life and that he didn’t want a repeat. I even understood that because of the person that he was, she needed the extra security but the way he went about protecting Lennix left a bad taste in my mouth and made me want to punch him in the dick. I’m sooo glad that he got better and that Lennix was patient enough with him to get him to understand where she was coming from. I loved that they worked through their issues together.

Kennedy Ryan is damn good at her job. She wrote the hell out of this book and even though there were times when I wanted to choke people out, and times when I cried my eyes out because my heart broke into a million pieces, Kennedy worked her magic and made everything come full circle in a way that was super satisfying. Maxim and Lennix went through so much in both of these books but in the end, they were stronger than ever and their love was rock solid. I was overcome with emotion many times while reading this book but my heart was full when I finished. This was a great set of books and Kennedy Ryan has cemented herself at the top of my auto=buy list. So great!

Final Grade

Grade: 4.25 out of 5

All the Kings Men Duet

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , ,

Joint Review: Getting Schooled by Christina C. Jones

Posted February 7, 2020 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Joint Review: Getting Schooled by Christina C. JonesReviewer: Ames, Holly, and Rowena
Getting Schooled by Christina C. Jones
Series: The Wright Brothers #1
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: January 11, 2016
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 334
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

When 26 year old Reese accepts a position as a grad assistant, she has no idea an unpleasant encounter with a student will lead to the discovery of what she calls “the trifecta”: fine, intellectual, and a little bit rude – three qualities she finds irresistible in a man. She has no intention of doing anything with that discovery – nothing long term, at least. But everybody knows what happens to best laid plans. Jason is a grown man. 28 years old, seasoned and scarred by his real-life experience in the world, he’s at Blakewood State University to finish his degree and move on. The last thing he’s interested in is the female population on campus… but sexy, infuriating Reese might be a notable exception. This isn’t a story of opposites attract. More like counterparts clash. Neither of them is afraid to do battle, and neither is willing to back down. Love and war, win or lose… somebody’s gonna end up getting schooled.

Holly, Rowena and I took a bit of a break with our buddy reviews in 2019 but we’re back for 2020. Our first book is Getting Schooled by Christina C. Jones. Reese is a grad assistant at Blakewood State University and she develops a nerd-crush on one of the student’s writing. Imagine her surprise when the student in question turns out to be Jason ‘Jay’ Wright, a smart-ass who pushes her buttons and likes to verbally spar with her.

Ames: All right you two, what did you think of Reese and Jay?

Rowena: I thought this was a super fun romance. There were times when I thought Reese was super extra but as the book progressed, so did my feelings toward Reese. She was strong, she was smart and seeing her fall for Jay was great. I had a good ol’ time with this book. I was just bummed that I read this one so fast. It was a short but sweet read.

Holly: I thought it was really cute. I liked Jay and Reese, though I agree Reese was super extra sometimes. I didn’t really get frustrated with Jay as much, but she annoyed me at times. Still, this was a quick, light read and I’m really looking forward to reading more about the Wright brothers.

Ames: I love that she was attracted to his writing at first. I can get behind that! Lol But yes like you two I really enjoyed this one. I liked that he was a vet and was older. How cute was the subplot with their parents? And I could see the Grayson thing coming a mile away!

Rowena: Same! I loved that they developed little crushes on each other through their emails too. I just enjoyed the whole thing. Their parents little dating story was cute and I loved seeing Reese with her mother. Their relationship was a lot of fun and I just thought the whole story was super cute.

I’m so ready to jump into the other Wright brothers books. I thought the pacing was good, the romance was steamy and I was left mighty curious about the doctor brother and Devyn.

This one gets 4 out of 5 from me. What about you guys?

Holly: I thought the parents’ dating story was cute, too. There were a couple typos that pulled me out of the story and a couple times Reese got on my nerves, but otherwise this was just a fun, cute read. Nothing super heavy, but really engaging.

4 out of 5 from me, too.

Ames: I’m giving this one a 4 out of 5 as well. It was a good introduction to a new-to-me author and I’ll definitely be checking out more by her.

Final Grade

Ames: 4 out of 5
Holly: 4 out of 5
Rowena: 4 out of 5

The Wright Brothers

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: The Kingmaker by Kennedy Ryan

Posted January 15, 2020 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: The Kingmaker by Kennedy RyanReviewer: Rowena
The Kingmaker by Kennedy Ryan
Series: All the Kings Men #1
Also in this series: The Rebel King
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: October 28, 2019
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alterntaing First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 344
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Rowena's 2019 TBR Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: five-stars

Raised to rule, bred to lead and weaned on a diet of ruthless ambition. In a world of haves and have nots, my family has it all, and I want nothing to do with it.

My path takes me far from home and paints me as the black sheep. At odds with my father, I’m determined to build my own empire. I have rules, but Lennix Hunter is the exception to every one of them. From the moment we meet, something sparks between us. But my family stole from hers and my father is the man she hates most. I lied to have her, and would do anything to keep her. Though she tries to hate me, too, the inexorable pull between us will not be denied.

And neither will I.

The Kingmaker is the first book in Kennedy Ryan’s All the King’s Men duet and it was also the last book that I read in 2019. I really, really enjoyed this one and I don’t say that lightly because this book is hella political and politics are not my jam. But Kennedy Ryan did her thing again because I ate this book up.

This story covers like a decade in the lives of the two main characters, Maxin Kingsman Cade and Lennix Moon Hunter. Lennix is a Native American young woman who lost her mother when she was young. Her mother went to Seattle for a pipeline protest and never came home. She was never found and Lennix doesn’t think enough was done to help her family get the closure they needed. She doesn’t know what happened to her Mom and I think that played a huge part in while she picked up activism at such an early age. She was a big spokesperson for the Native American people in her area and she led peaceful protests against corporate oil companies that wanted to build pipelines on her people’s sacred lands, pipelines that would contaminate their water. So it’s not a huge surprise that she despises everything that has to do with Warren Cade. Warren Cade is the head of Cade Energy and he’s doing everything that Lennix is fighting against.

Maxim is determined to be his own man. He refuses to back down from joining his father’s company because his father will not listen to Maxim’s ideas on how to build a better energy company using methods that will help with climate change. His Dad’s main focus has been money and he makes a lot of it in the oil business so he’s not willing to listen to Maxim. Maxim grew up listening to his father speak, seeing his father in action so he knows that his father is relentless and ruthless and Maxim wants no part of that. He’s determined to learn all that he can so that he can build a better world for everyone and he’s hell-bent on doing it on his own, without his father’s influence.

When Maxim and Lennix meet for the first time, Lennis is too young for him but he’s very interested. There’s chemistry in spades sizzling between them but Maxim is bummed that she’s so young. He knows that she’s going to grow up to be an amazing woman and he was right. When they meet up again four years later, Lennix is older and Maxim is still interested. They spend a week together in Amsterdam and they fall in love but their love is shortlived because their lives take them in opposite directions and they drift apart for some more years…and then Lennix finds out that Maxim was keeping a huge secret from her and she is determined to never let him close enough again.

Seeing these two meet, fall in love and then are torn apart, only for them to come back together years later with one of them fighting for a love that he knows is worth everything made for a really interesting romance. I fell hard for both Lennix and Maxim. They were both intense characters that were strong on their own but in my opinion, better together. Their love was strong and it was fierce and it never completely fizzled out after years and years of separation. Kennedy Ryan will pull at your emotional strings with this one because it’s not an easy romance but man was it a worthwhile one. This book isn’t getting 5 stars from me but that’s only because of that ending. I’m not a fan of cliffhanger endings and this has one so if you’re wanting to read this, there’s your warning…but on the bright side, the follow-up book, The Rebel King is available for you to immediately jump into if you need to.

Final Grade

4.75 out of 5

All the King’s Men

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Live For You by Michele Mills

Posted November 22, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Live For You by Michele MillsReviewer: Casee
Live For You by Michele Mills
Series: Catastrophe #3
Also in this series: Die For You, Kill For You
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: June 7, 2019
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Dystopian, Post Apocalyptic
Pages: 156
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
two-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

The world ended and nothing was the same, and in this new order he’d changed his name to Raider—because he took what he wanted.

Women were scarce in post-apocalyptic California and if you found one you wanted, you had to immediately claim what was yours. So when a desperate beauty with striking green eyes and legs that went on for miles stepped into the dangerous all-male compound, he wasn’t above tying her up for her own safety in his isolated mountain cabin, until she realized the truth of their bond. And him getting his seed in her and swelling her up with his kid? Perfect.

She’d see he was doing this all for her.

Eventually.

Author’s Note: This is book #3 in the series, but can be read as a standalone. This story includes dark themes—only read if you enjoy obsessed stalker heroes.

This book though. It was so disappointing after Die For You and Kill For You. This book was so bad I don’t even know where to start. I was actually pretty surprised to see the reviews on GoodReads.

Owen Pearce is now Raider. Joining a motorcycle gang to help the women that become prisoner, he is shocked when Kati walks into the compound. He’s instantly attracted to her and decides that he’s going to take her for himself, whether she wants to be taken or not. Problem #1.

Raider would repopulate the world with Kati if it was possible. When they first have sex, her consent is questionable at best. It’s the whole “No means yes” argument that has been discussed over and over. Problem #2

Raider has a big dick. As big as Kati’s arm. Honestly, the time that Kati thought about the size of Raider’s junk was ridiculous. Over the top. It pulled me out of the story every time because I kept imagining it and laughing. Problem #3.

Raider has Kati chained but unchains her for sex. Other than that he doesn’t let her leave the small cabin. Problem #4.

I just didn’t dig this book at all. I didn’t really care for Raider and I didn’t like Kati at all. Their story didn’t resonate with me at all.

Rating: 2 out of 5.

Catastrophe

two-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Kill For You by Michele Mills

Posted November 21, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Kill For You by Michele MillsReviewer: Casee
Kill For You by Michele Mills
Series: Catastrophe #2
Also in this series: Die For You, Live For You
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: Septemer 12, 2017
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Dystopian, Post Apocalyptic
Pages: 331
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

A virus swept the globe killing almost all of humanity and crushing civilization to the ground, leaving Trevor Mason in the enviable position of being able to strut out of his wide-open death row cell, a free man. Now he’s trying to find redemption by helping to rebuild a ruined and empty world.

Rebel Case was a box office phenomenon, but after the apocalypse she’s just a survivor like anyone else. When passion explodes between her and a tattooed, sexy-as-hell bad boy who says he wants forever, will Rebel risk her future, her safety, on a man with an inexcusable past?

But can an ex con really leave his past behind, when it refuses to stay gone?

And how far will Trevor go to keep his woman safe?

Warning: This book contains spanking and voyeurism. Love, in a hopeless place and laughter despite the pain. And as usual, more bad language and violence than are strictly necessary.

First off…isn’t this cover HOT???

Kill For You was my favorite book of the series by far. I found Trevor and Rebel’s story to be very moving. It wasn’t one or the other, it was them together that really did it for me. I wouldn’t have minded if the book was longer just because I didn’t want to stop reading about them.

Trevor Mason was on death row when the virus hit. Luckily for him, the guards opened up all the cells when they realized that no one was going to survive. Trevor ends up meeting up with Rachel and Adam from Die For Me. He’s desperate to prove that he is a better man than he used to be. In the new world they live in, everyone gets to start over. Trevor isn’t going to waste his chance to change.

It’s obvious from the start that there are more men then women in this new world. Trevor wants to find one for himself. When a woman answers their daily broadcast, Trevor volunteers to meet her sight unseen. He’s hoping that he can claim this woman as his own. Trevor has on idea that he’s about to find the woman of his dreams.

Rebel Case was the top movie star in Hollywood when the virus hit. She and her companion have been living in Carmel, just going through the motions. Together she and Justin decide that they need to answer the broadcast. When they get to the meeting place, Justin is asleep so Rebel decides to go scout the location. She doesn’t expect for someone to arrive before the arranged time. She sure doesn’t expect Trevor Mason.

Trevor and Rebel are instantly and insanely attracted to each other. Rebel was someone that Trevor dreamed about on death row. Someone he knew he would never meet, let alone have for his own. Now she’s in front of him in the flesh and he decides immediately to keep her as his own. Which sounds absolutely ridiculous, but it somehow worked here.

Rebel won’t commit to Trevor even as he treats her like she’s never leaving the farm. Rebel is having a hard time adjusting to her new circumstances, including coming to terms with the fact that she’s just like everyone else. That makes her sound like a real bitch, but she was really conflicted. She didn’t act like a diva, in fact when people recognize her she feels like a fake. She’s not Rebel Case the movie star, she’s just Rebel. A woman trying to live life as any other woman is.

I just loved this book. Loved it. I loved the intensity between these two even if it did seem extreme. You can get away with a lot when you’re writing a Dystopian or Post-Apocalypse book. Their relationship was a bit over the top, but it all worked wonderfully.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5.

Catastrophe

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,