Source: Audible Escape

Review: The Knocked Up Plan by Lauren Blakely

Posted July 18, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: The Knocked Up Plan by Lauren BlakelyReviewer: Holly
The Knocked Up Plan by Lauren Blakely
Narrator: Andi Arndt, Sebastian York
Series: One Love #4
Also in this series: The Sexy One (One Love, #1), The Only One (One Love #2), The Hot One (One Love, #3), Come As You Are
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: June 23, 2017
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Escape
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Length: 6 hours and 59 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: GoodReads Challenge, Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: three-stars

There are three little words most guys don’t want to hear on the first date. Not those…I mean these… “knock me up.”

This single gal has had enough of the games, the BS and the endless chase. I know what I want most, and it’s not true love. It’s a bun in the oven, and I’m not afraid to hit up my s-e-x-on-a-stick co-worker to do the job. Ryder is gorgeous, witty and charming — and he’s also a notorious commitment-phobe. That makes him the perfect candidate to make a deposit in the bank of me. I won’t fall for him, he won’t fall for me, and there’s no way baby will make three. Right?

****

There are four words every guy wants to hear on the first date — “your place or mine?”

When my hot-as-sin co-worker makes me a no-strings-attached offer that involves her place, my place, any place — as well as any position — I can’t refuse. Besides, I've got my own reasons to take her up on her deal even with her one BIG condition.

There’s no way I’ll want more from one woman than any position, any where, any night? Except . . . what if I do?

Be prepared to swoon and fan yourself from the heat! This full-length standalone contains lots of hot baby-making s-e-x, happy tears, playful jokes and a hot, swoonworthy hero you will fall madly in love with. One-click now for pure reading enjoyment!

The Knocked Up Plan is the 4th book in the One Love series by Lauren Blakely. This series has been hit or miss for me, but Andi Ardnt and Sebastian York are two of my favorite narrators. When I saw they were doing the audiobook I knew I had to give it a go. I’m glad I did. This was a sweet story. I liked both Ryder and Nicole. They had great chemistry and I really felt their friendship, too.

Nicole is ready to be a mother. She’s never really had a long-term relationship (except once, and he was more committed that she was), but she doesn’t want to wait. Her father died when she was young and her mother raised her alone, so Nicole sees no reason why she can’t do the same. The problem is finding the right donor. She wants to know what kind of DNA a potential father is contributing to her child, and picking one out of a catalog is difficult. Until she decides to ask her co-worker, Ryder. Ryder has everything she could ever want in a father for her baby – he’s kind, smart, sweet and sexy-as-hell. Plus, after his marriage went sour, Ryder isn’t looking for any kind of commitment. Which makes him the perfect candidate.

Ryder is pretty shocked – and, if he’s being honest, flattered – when Nicole asks him to donate to her cause. He’s been off romance since his marriage went down in flames, but Nicole doesn’t want romance. She just wants his sperm. He also needs help with a problem. He used to be the ultimate wing-man, the city’s dating Guru (think Hitch), but lately his ratings are down. When his producer tells him he needs to do a “10 Dates to Romance Her” feature, he figures he and Nicole can help each other out.

As these two embark on Ten dates designed to make couples fall in love, and fall into bed every night, things soon turn from light and flirty to serious. But are either ready, or willing, to take the next step? Because there aren’t just the two of them to consider..there’s the potential future child, too.

I thought this was such a fun, cute listen. Ryder was really wonderful. Down-to-Earth, happy, sweet, chivalrous. He had a it all. He and Nicole had chemistry in spades, so their jump from co-workers (and ping-pong partners) to lovers wasn’t a stretch. But more than anything, it was their friendship I adored. They both went out of their way for one another. There isn’t a lot of conflict or angst here. They both acted like adults about the situation with the baby-making, and watching them realize their feelings beyond that was great. Plus, Ryder’s on-air confession was super adorable.

Rating: 4 out of 5

One Love

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Joint Review: Getting Played by Emma Chase

Posted July 16, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 3 Comments

Joint Review: Getting Played by Emma ChaseReviewer: Casee and Holly
Getting Played by Emma Chase
Narrator: Andi Arndt, Zachary Webber
Series: Getting Some #2
Also in this series: Getting Schooled (Getting Some, #1), Getting Schooled (Getting Some, #1)
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: June 11, 2019
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Escape
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 241
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, GoodReads Challenge, Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

A magnificent new romance by New York Times best-selling author Emma Chase - available in audio first!

Dean Walker is all about keeping life simple. He's effortlessly talented and intelligent - spending his summers playing drums in the local band and the rest of the year teaching high school in the same Jersey town where he grew up. He likes his love life simple too, enjoying the commitment-free hook-ups his good looks and sexy charm have always made oh so easy.

Then he meets Lainey Burrows. And his simple, easy life gets turned upside down.

One wild one-night stand was all it was ever supposed to be, so Lainey is shocked when she discovers that her sizzling summer fling is also her son's new math teacher. But that's nothing compared to the most unexpected twist of all - their hot hook-up left Lainey knocked up, and now they're about to become parents. Together.

What ensues is an addictive, insatiable, sweet and tender romance that won't be simple, but it will be more than worth the fight.

Getting Played is the second book in Emma Chase’s Getting Some series. Dean Walker is a small-town math teacher that hits the road with his band during the summer. Lanie Burrorws is a successful DIY blogger who is out celebrating a new career opportunity. Their attraction is instantaneous, their one night together is unforgettable. They thought they would never see each other again, until Lanie shows up for parent-teacher conferences at her son’s new school.

Casee: I loved Dean in Getting Schooled and I loved him in this book. He was just so brutally honest with himself about himself, you know? I adored that about him. I also loved how open and honest Dean and Lanie were. No games.

Holly: I loved Dean in Getting Schooled, too, and I was so happy to see his book.

Dean was an all around great guy. He didn’t lie to himself or anyone else about who and what he was. He admitted to being a major player, but it was obvious he was ready for more by the time Lainey came back to town.

Casee: One of the things I liked most about this book was the Burrows’ family. When Lanie talked about how her parents went on their cruise and slept the whole time? Isn’t that every parent after all their kids are out of the house? I loved all her sisters and how they were there for each other. They were all so unique.

Holly: I thought Lainey’s family was so great. Her parents, her sisters, even her son. All of them were so well done. I loved getting to know them. It was great to reunite with Garrett and Callie, too. I like that they didn’t steal the show, either.

Casee: I think that Emma Chase is just such a stellar writer. Like you said, she brought back Garrett and Callie, but not too much. It was still all about Dean and Lainey.

Holly: I really liked Lainey’s lifestyle blog, too. I thought the added snippets of her Facebook Live posts were really great. I also loved that she was just real and out there. At one point she mentions something about lifestyle bloggers generally being totally put together, but that’s not her. She lets her viewers see it all. I thought that was great.

Casee: That’s another thing I loved about Lainey. She put herself out there. She let her viewers see the real her. She didn’t sugarcoat anything that was happening in her life, she just laid it all out for all to see. I also loved her relationship with Jason.

I also love Zachary Webber and Andi Arndt on audio. They are like the power couple of audiobooks. I heart them.

Holly: I really like Andi Arndt and Zachary Webber, but I like Sebastian York and Andi Arndt a little more. They’re my power couple of audiobooks. Still, this one was wonderful to listen to.

Casee: I have nothing bad to say about this book really. I loved just about everything. I loved the kids in Dean’s class. When they found out that Jason and Lainey lived in the haunted house on Miller St? Hilarious.

Holly: I have nothing bad to say about this book, either. I loved how open and honest Dean and Lainey were with each other. I loved Lainey’s relationship with her son, and how well Dean got along with him. Even when they were having drama, they didn’t let that affect their plans to parent their child.

Casee: I give this one a 4.25 out of 5. What about you?

Holly: I’m giving it 4.25 as well. It was such a sweet, well done story. I can’t wait for the next one.

Final Grades

Casee: 4.25 out of 5
Holly: 4.25 out of 5

Getting Some

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Review: Easy Kisses by Kristen Proby

Posted July 12, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Easy Kisses by Kristen ProbyReviewer: Casee
Easy Kisses by Kristen Proby
Narrator: Rachel Fulginiti, Sebastian York
Series: Boudreaux #4
Also in this series: Easy Love, Easy Charm, Easy Melody
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: June 21, 2016
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Escape
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Length: 7 hours and 19 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

The Boudreaux Series. Sexy. Intriguing. Easy.

Simon Danbury, an internationally sought after motivational speaker, helps women from all walks of life with love, self-esteem, dating and career building skills. Handsome, witty and wealthy, Simon seemingly has everything a man could want. But appearances can be deceiving. While Simon may have the answers for millions of women all over the world, when it comes to his own love life, he’s a giant, sexy mess. Divorced, and convinced that he’ll never love again, the very last thing he expects is one Charly Boudreaux.

Charly doesn’t want to be at this seminar in the middle of nowhere, but her sister made her go. She’s the one who has her life together. Great career, amazing family, nice home, and loyal friends. So what if she doesn’t have a man? She doesn’t need one. If she’s learned anything in her almost thirty years, it’s that men are more trouble than they’re worth. And they have a nasty habit of breaking your heart into a million tiny pieces. So she’ll sit through all of Simon’s touchy feely crap and go home and get on with her life. Except Simon isn’t really spouting crap, and when he smiles at her, the butterflies are ridiculous.

Never mixing business with pleasure, Simon finds Charly, a bright spot in a universe that’s been dark for too long. But will he be able to resist her? And why would he want to?

Kristen Proby is a new-to-me author this year. I have throughly enjoyed the Boudreaux family. They are so close knit and their closeness just flows through the pages. Each of them would do anything for the other and it just comes through to the reader so well that it’s hard not to sigh when all of them do get together or they all get protective of one another. It all comes from a place of love. Never anger, never jealousy.

Charly Boudreaux is the Boudreaux that seemingly has the perfect life. She owns her own home, has a successful business, and has a wonderful family. She’s never been married but she knows that she’ll know when she meets “the one”. The one that is meant to be hers forever. In the meantime, her sister Savannah has talked her into going on a women’s retreat in Montana. It’s sort of a self-help, find yourself kind of thing. Charly didn’t want to go, but she’s determined to make the most of it. She certainly doesn’t expect Simon Danbury, the man who owns and runs everything.

Simon has never been attracted to a client. He has made it his mission in life to help other people, specifically women. When he meets Charly, he’s instantly attracted to her but knows he can’t do anything about it. He won’t take advantage of a client, one that he can clearly see needs his help even if she doesn’t see it. His plans go on the wayside when they have the conference ends and they end up in bed together. Too soon, they’re addicted to each other.

Everything is going along swimmingly until you bring in Charly’s ridiculous notions of waiting until she falls in love at first sight and Simon’s extreme jealousy. It’s a powder keg waiting to blow. And when it does blow? Well, it’s rather spectacular. I did like this book and I understood the jealousy, so it didn’t take away from the book at all. I really enjoyed listening to Simon and Charly’s book.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5.

Boudreaux

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Easy Melody by Kristen Proby

Posted July 11, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Easy Melody by Kristen ProbyReviewer: Casee
Easy Melody by Kristen Proby
Narrator: Rachel Fulginiti, Sebastian York
Series: Boudreaux #3
Also in this series: Easy Love, Easy Charm, Easy Kisses
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: November 10, 2015
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Escape
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 265
Length: 7 hours and 51 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

The Boudreaux Series: Sexy. Intriguing. Easy.

Callie Mills never intended to return to New Orleans and the life she left behind more than a decade ago. There was no need to open old wounds when she had the life she’d worked hard for in Denver. But when she’s fired from her awesome job in Colorado and her father dies, she has no choice but to return home to run the derelict bar left to her in the heart of the French Quarter. Callie must not only face bad memories but turn The Odyssey into something she can be proud of.

And who better to help bring in crowds of people than Declan Boudreaux?

Declan is a sought-after musician who knows he’s good at what he does and loves doing it. Known to pack the house, he also loves women and doesn’t expect to be knocked back a step by the beautiful new owner of The Odyssey. Callie is sharp, gorgeous and funny, and makes him yearn for something he never has before… Commitment. But when Callie’s able to turn the business around with renovations, making it one of the hottest bars in the Quarter, will she sell out and leave her past behind once and for all, or will Declan be able to convince her that’s she’s where she needed to be all along…in his arms.

I had high hopes for this book after Easy Love and Easy Charm. Unfortunately it didn’t quite meet my expectations. I listened to it on audio and was happy with that aspect. It was the immaturity of the characters that I had an issue with.

Declan Boudreaux is a popular musician in New Orleans. He can bring in a crowd. That is exactly what Callie Mills needs for the rundown bar she inherited and is now running in the French Quarter. She’s determined to turn the bar around and for that she needs Declan. She never intended to fall for the guy.

Declan takes one look at Callie and all coherent thought flies out the window. He’s a love ’em and leave ’em type of guy, but all his hookups know that up front. When he meets Callie, he’s not sure he wants to leave her at all. After an amazing night together, it gets weird. They decide to be friends and it’s just plain awkward.

Declan isn’t sure that he wants to settle down even though Callie isn’t thinking of settling down at all. Declan is totally in his head and he lets his brothers get into his head with their teasing. So he decides not to call Callie. She takes this badly and it all spirals down from there. Immature. It just goes around and around until the ending. I felt that they did grow, but the jealousy was ridiculously overplayed and I found myself rolling my eyes more than once. Overall, it was disappointing. Still, I loved being back in the Boudreaux world.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Boudreaux

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , ,

Review: Easy Charm by Kristen Proby

Posted July 2, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Easy Charm by Kristen ProbyReviewer: Casee
Easy Charm by Kristen Proby
Narrator: Sebastian York, Rachel Fulginiti
Series: Boudreaux #2
Also in this series: Easy Love, Easy Melody, Easy Kisses
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: July 3, 2015
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Escape
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 280
Length: 7 hours and 56 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Gabrielle Boudreaux, the youngest of the Boudreaux clan, is a single mother of her young son, Sam. Running a Bed and Breakfast at the family plantation house at the edge of the Mississippi River, Gabby loves her inn, her boy and her family. She meets new people every day, and takes pride in the house and land that has been in her family for more than five generations. Blessed beyond measure, she’s also lonely, although she would never admit that to anyone. Until Rhys O’Shaughnessy walks through her door, brooding and wounded and the sexiest thing she’s ever laid eyes on.

Rhys has been at the top of his game as a major league pitcher for the Chicago Cubs for more than ten years. Baseball is in his blood. But when he tears his rotator cuff and has to sit a season out, he retreats to Inn Boudreaux at the recommendation of his cousin, Kate, to heal and work toward building his shoulder back to perfect shape with only one goal in mind: to return to the game he loves. But he didn’t plan on being utterly charmed by a devastatingly beautiful woman and her baseball-loving son.

When Rhys’ shoulder has healed and he’s given the chance to return to his team, will he leave the family he’s come to love behind, or will he stay with Gabby and Sam?

Easy Charm is book 2 in Proby’s Boudreaux series. The Boudreaux’s are an extremely close knit family. Their father, the patriarch of their family died several years past, leaving a gaping hole in all of them. Each sibling has dealt with his death in their own way. For Gabrielle, she has thrown herself into running her Bed and Breakfast out of the family plantation house. She has her hands full with running that and keeping up with her little boy, Sam. She has zero time for anything outside her B&B or Sam. Then Rhys O’Shaughnessy shows up at her door.

After Rhys O’Shaughnessy (Kate’s cousin from Easy Love) is injured during a major league baseball game, he has to get out of Chicago. He’s told his chances of returning to playing are slim to none, but Rhys is determined to show the trainers, doctors, and his coaches what he is made of. Going to New Orleans to be near his cousin Kate is just what the doctor ordered. When he lays eyes on Gabby Boudreaux, things get even better. The problem is how wary Gabby is of men because she was burned so badly by Sam’s dad.

Gabby wants Rhys, she won’t deny it. But she has Sam to think about. Sam is her life and she is aware that she has no life outside of him and her family. What would be bad about taking a little something for herself as long as she kept it from Sam? Sam is already getting attached enough to Rhys. Rhys is Sam’s favorite baseball player and he has a serious case of hero-worship going on. Before too long Gabby herself has a serious case of hero-worship. It seems that Rhys returns her feelings. Gabby just doesn’t know how they can ever work out. She knows that he’s headed back to Chicago to play ball while she will never leave New Orleans.

This was a fast, cute read. Or listen I should say. For some weird reason, Proby had a story line going on where Sam’s bio dad came back into the picture to extort money from the Boudreaux’s. It seemed like such an afterthought. It just didn’t fit. At first it was a la Kristen Ashley. Then I realized that it was just page filler. A little disappointing, but I just shrugged it off, finished the book and moved onto the next one in the series.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5.

Boudreaux

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,