Series: The Wildes of Lindow Castle

What Are You Reading? (+ Eloisa James Giveaway)

Posted September 28, 2018 by Casee in Giveaways, Reviews | 18 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I just finished up Consumed by J.R. Ward. It did not go well. After that cluster, I couldn’t decide what to read. I’ve been crushing on Ilona Andrews ever since I finished the Hidden Legacy series, but I don’t want to commit to the Kate Daniels series yet. So I decided to go with Him by Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy. I haven’t read m/m romance for years because I’m extremely picky about this genre. There’s a fine line to walk when writing m/m. You have to put feelings in the book, but can’t make the men look like they’re not manly. It can’t be all sex because they can’t look like they’re manwhores. Of course this is just my personal opinion/preference. I’m over halfway through the book and these two authors are doing an amazing job so far. I’m really liking these characters.

I’m also listening to Bittersweet by Sarina Bowen on audio. After the failure that was The Year We Hid Away, which Holly and Rowena loved, I knew that I had to give Bowen a second chance. Although the first book I read by her wasn’t for me, I still wanted to give her a chance. I’m really glad I did. I’m highly enjoying this book. I find myself laughing out loud and wishing I could take notes while I’m driving (which I don’t do). I only listen to audiobooks during the week. I’m going to have to finish this one up on my Kindle because I’m not going to be able to wait until Monday to finish it.

Holly: I finished reading Hot Dad by Whitley Cox, which I didn’t like at all. Hot Dad was a hot mess. Rowena and I will be reviewing it together soon. I reread Burn Bright and Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs. Burn Bright was slower than I remember, but Iron Kissed always gets me in the feels.

For audiobooks, I listened to Never Seduce a Scot by Maya Banks. I’d read the book previously, but the details were very hazy. I loved it. It’s such a fabulous story. The heroine is truly amazing. If you haven’t already, you must pick it up (coughrowenacough). Jane Doe by Victoria Helen Stone was really good. It was different (not a romance, though there is a romantic element and it ends in an HEA of sorts), but I recommend it. I liked Phoenix Unbound by Grace Draven, the start of a new fantasy series. The world-building and sweeping tale really drew me in.

I’m currently listening to Highlander Most Wanted by Maya Banks and reading Wild Hunger by Chloe Neill. I should finish both today. I plan to pick up Archangel’s Prophecy by Nalini Singh next, then Lionheart by Thea Harrison.

Rowena: I can’t believe it’s been an entire week since I finished Hot Dad by Whitley Cox and Dearest Clementine by Lex Martin. Both books weren’t the great reads I was hoping they’d be though I didn’t hate Dearest Clementine the way that I did Hot Dad. Holly and I have taken to calling that book Hot Mess which I think it’s a better description of the book as a whole.

After Hot Dad, I jumped into the audiobook for the second book in the Dearest series by Lex Martin, Finding Dandelion and that was an okay listen. It wasn’t perfect but it wasn’t bad then I moved on to Burn Bright by Patricia Briggs and that completely cheered me up as only Charles and Anna can do. After that, I listened to Never Love a Highlander by Maya Banks because I had to finish out that series and what a freaking fantastic ending to a fabulous series. I loved it. I just finished America’s Sweetheart by Jessica Lemmon and that was another good one. I really enjoyed getting to know Jax and Allie so that worked for me.

Now, I’m reading Hard Rebel by Nalini Singh and listening to Kissing Madeleine by Lex Martin. Both are going okay so far so everyone, please cross your fingers that they stay that way throughout the rest of the books. After this, I’ll be reading Fight or Flight by Samantha Young. Happy reading everyone!

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Eloisa James Giveaway)Born to Be Wilde (The Wildes of Lindow Castle, #3) by Eloisa James
Series: The Wildes of Lindow Castle #3
Also in this series: Wilde in Love, Too Wilde to Wed, Born to Be Wilde (The Wildes of Lindow Castle #3)
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: July 31, 2018
Format: Print
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

The richest bachelor in England plays matchmaker…for an heiress he wants for himself!

For beautiful, witty Lavinia Gray, there's only one thing worse than having to ask the appalling Parth Sterling to marry her: being turned down by him.

Now the richest bachelor in England, Parth is not about to marry a woman as reckless and fashion-obsessed as Lavinia; he's chosen a far more suitable bride.

But when he learns of Lavinia's desperate circumstances, he offers to find her a husband. Even better, he'll find her a prince.

As usual, there's no problem Parth can't fix. But the more time he spends with the beguiling Lavinia, the more he finds himself wondering…

Why does the woman who's completely wrong feel so right in his arms?

What Are You Reading: Born to Be Wilde

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Guest Review: Born to Be Wilde by Eloisa James

Posted July 24, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Born to Be Wilde by Eloisa JamesReviewer: Tracy
Born to Be Wilde (The Wildes of Lindow Castle #3) by Eloisa James
Series: The Wildes of Lindow Castle #3
Also in this series: Wilde in Love, Too Wilde to Wed, Born to Be Wilde (The Wildes of Lindow Castle, #3)
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: July 31, 2018
Format: eARC
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

The richest bachelor in England plays matchmaker…for an heiress he wants for himself!

For beautiful, witty Lavinia Gray, there's only one thing worse than having to ask the appalling Parth Sterling to marry her: being turned down by him.

Now the richest bachelor in England, Parth is not about to marry a woman as reckless and fashion-obsessed as Lavinia; he's chosen a far more suitable bride.

But when he learns of Lavinia's desperate circumstances, he offers to find her a husband. Even better, he'll find her a prince.

As usual, there's no problem Parth can't fix. But the more time he spends with the beguiling Lavinia, the more he finds himself wondering…

Why does the woman who's completely wrong feel so right in his arms?

Lavinia has had a thing for Parth since she met him.  Sure, she’s managed to tell herself that it’s really nothing to get excited about but when she proposes marriage to him in order to save her family’s finances, and he turns her down, she realizes her feelings were deeper than she thought.  She’s hurt by his refusal and even more hurt when she hears that he’s courting an Italian Contessa and plans to ask her to marry him.

Lavinia bounces back by going to London with Parth’s adoptive aunt and Willa, once her mother’s ward. While putting together Willa’s trousseau and arranging dresses for the Duchess and family.  She’s offered commission from the fabric seller and modistes in order to get the Wilde’s outfitted.  She realizes that she can make money doing what she loved.  Yes, she loves bonnets and shoes and fabric and clothing, but what woman doesn’t? Right?

While Lavinia knows that Parth doesn’t think much of her, Parth is thinking he things too much of her.  He’s had a thing for Lavinia for years and though he thought he wanted the Contessa he realizes that he won’t be happy with anyone but Lavinia.

This was another great story in The Wildes of Lindow Castle series. I really liked Parth and loved reading about his story.  The fact that the Wildes’ took him in when his family died was touching and heart-breaking.  I wish that he hadn’t been so harsh with Lavinia at first but the man didn’t know his own mind.  He made up for it as the book went on.

Lavinia…I liked her but her self-esteem issues started to wear on me after a while.  I was happy to see her strong and loving what she was doing with the clothing, but that undertone of “woe is me” just got old.  I was very happy when she stood up to Parth and told him how she felt.  That was an awesome scene.

Overall this was a lovely romance and I highly recommend it.  Actually, if you haven’t started the series you should do so NOW.

Rating: 4 out of 5

The Wildes of Lindow Castle

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Too Wilde to Wed by Eloisa James

Posted May 21, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 2 Comments

Guest Review: Too Wilde to Wed by Eloisa JamesReviewer: Tracy
Too Wilde to Wed by Eloisa James
Series: The Wildes of Lindow Castle #2
Also in this series: Wilde in Love, Born to Be Wilde (The Wildes of Lindow Castle #3), Born to Be Wilde (The Wildes of Lindow Castle, #3)
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: May 29th 2018
Format: eARC
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

The handsome, rakish heir to a dukedom, Lord Roland Northbridge Wilde—known to his friends as North—left England two years ago, after being jilted by Miss Diana Belgrave. He returns from war to find that he's notorious: polite society has ruled him "too wild to wed."

Diana never meant to tarnish North's reputation, or his heart, but in her rush to save a helpless child, there was no time to consider the consequences of working as a governess in Lindow Castle. Now everyone has drawn the worst conclusions about the child's father, and Diana is left with bittersweet regret.

When North makes it clear that he still wants her for his own, scandal or no, Diana has to fight to keep from losing her heart to the man whom she still has no intention of marrying.

Yet North is returning a hardened warrior—and this is one battle he's determined to win.

He wants Diana, and he'll risk everything to call her his own.

After Lord Roland, better known as North, was jilted by Diana Belgrave he went off to fight in the Revolutionary War. It’s been two years since he left and he comes home to find that Diana is working as a governess in his home.  When he confronts Diana on his first day back he finds a very different woman than the one he proposed to. This Diana talks a lot, has freckles on her face and beautiful red hair – she’s not the quiet, meek, biddable, high wig-wearing, fashionable woman that she was. North actually likes this Diana better. North finds comfort in Diana’s presence and he soon realizes that he still loves her. In fact he loves her more now than he did before because she’s a more genuine person.

Diana is extremely sorry for the way that she jilted North, but she had to do it in order to save her nephew. She knows that she can’t stay in the Wilde household now that North is back but when she tries to leave, North stops her. They are soon finding comfort in each other’s arms and Diana knows that North would love to keep her for his own. North, however, is the heir to the Duchy and both he and Diana know that she would make a horrible Duchess. How can North even think of taking another wife when it’s Diana he’ll love forever.

Too Wilde to Wed is another wonderful book in the The Wildes of Lindow Castle series. I loved the characters so much in this story and was so happy we got to read North and Diana’s story – especially after how the first book ended.

Diana was such a lovely woman. She was extremely down to earth and knew her own mind.  She had put through the ringer with her mother and tried to conform to her mother’s wishes but in the end her sister Rose, and her family, took precedence over what her mother wanted. I so admired Diana for the strength she had shown throughout all she’d been through after jilting North and was so happy when she got her HEA.

North was my kind of hero. He was a bit emotionally tortured but also knew his own mind and what he needed in his life. I just loved him! Something about his personality just spoke to me and the decisions he made in the end made my heart melt. Choosing love over everything else is what makes a great romance – and this book had that.

I can’t wait to see what happens next in this series – and there are so many Wilde’s to choose from! Hopefully we won’t have to wait too long for the next book.

Rating: 4 out of 5 

The Wildes of Lindow Castle Series

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Wilde in Love by Eloisa James

Posted December 1, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Wilde in Love by Eloisa JamesReviewer: Tracy
Wilde in Love by Eloisa James
Series: The Wildes of Lindow Castle #1
Also in this series: Too Wilde to Wed, Born to Be Wilde (The Wildes of Lindow Castle #3), Born to Be Wilde (The Wildes of Lindow Castle, #3)
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: October 31st 2017
Format: eARC
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 416
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Lord Alaric Wilde, son of the Duke of Lindow, is the most celebrated man in England, revered for his dangerous adventures and rakish good looks. Arriving home from years abroad, he has no idea of his own celebrity until his boat is met by mobs of screaming ladies. Alaric escapes to his father’s castle, but just as he grasps that he’s not only famous but notorious, he encounters the very private, very witty, Miss Willa Ffynche.

Willa presents the façade of a serene young lady to the world. Her love of books and bawdy jokes is purely for the delight of her intimate friends. She wants nothing to do with a man whose private life is splashed over every newspaper.

Alaric has never met a woman he wanted for his own . . . until he meets Willa. He’s never lost a battle.

But a spirited woman like Willa isn’t going to make it easy. . . .

Alaric is shocked when he finds out he’s a celebrity.  He’s returned to England from his many adventures around the globe and finds himself famous.  He has written books that have become best sellers, but he had no idea that a play was the main cause.  The play portrays him as an incredible romantic – something he is definitely not.

Alaric arrives at his family home just in time for a house party in celebration of his brother’s betrothal.  Alaric meets Willa and sees her as someone different.  She doesn’t fawn all over him and states that she’s never read his books.  He’s intrigued, and he makes it a point to spend more time with her.

Willa and her friend are not what they appear to be.  They tell bawdy jokes and have a wicked sense of humor but on the outside they are the perfect ladies.  Willa has turned down no less than 14 marriage proposals this season alone as she has no wish to marry until she finds the perfect man for her.  When someone from Alaric’s past arrives at the party he uses Willa as his fake fiancé.  The thing that surprises the couple is that both of them would like it to be a true engagement.

This was a great book.  It started off with such charm and humor I was instantly invested in the story.  Alaric proved to be a wonderful hero.  He was such a normal guy who did extraordinary things and had written books about his adventures.  Some thought they were fiction, but he had truly lived through it all.  He fell hard and fast for Willa and I loved it.  He was a good man and I liked his character immensely.

Willa was an intelligent woman who wanted nothing to do with adventure. Her parents had died while they were being reckless and Willa just wanted a normal life – husband, children, no adventure.  I liked that she wanted nothing to do with Alaric at first as she thought him a sham.  I loved reading about the two of them falling in love as she was so wrong about Alaric.

This was a fantastic start to a new series and I can’t wait to see what happens next with Alaric’s brother, North.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,