Series: Supernatural Consultant

Guest Review: Dragon Home by Mell Eight

Posted July 18, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 2 Comments

Guest Review: Dragon Home by Mell EightReviewer: Tracy
Dragon Home by Mell Eight
Series: Supernatural Consultant #5.2
Also in this series: Dragon Consultant, Dragon Deception, Dragon Dilemma, Dragon Detective, Dragon Soldier, Dragon Adventure
Published by Less Than Three Press
Publication Date: June 21st 2017
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

With Rios happily mated and planning an entire future, Aqua can't help but feeling left out. The brother that was always been his chief playmate and best friend is going to leave him behind, which isn't at all acceptable. The obvious answer is to leave first, so Aqua packs a bag to go on an adventure. But this adventure isn't anything like his last one and the chances of him returning home alive dwindle every moment.

Aqua’s brother, Rios, found his mate and now he’s off every day with Nixie and Aqua is left with no one.  He shouldn’t be jealous of Nixie because Rios is so happy, but he is.  When Aqua is moping around the house one morning his Uncle Willy told him that he needed to make friends and he wasn’t going to meet any if he stayed at home moping.  Aqua immediately packs a bag, turns into his water dragon form and heads off on an air current to seek adventure.

Aqua doesn’t know where he is when he realizes that he’s hungry.  He stops in a desert to eat but he gets ready to leave he’s conked on the head.  A family of fire salamanders – led by the oldest brother – ties him up thinking he’s a spy.  Aqua tries to tell them he’s not but they don’t believe him.  When he thinks everyone is gone he meets a silent member of the family.  Ash is an albino salamander.  He can’t create fire and can’t go out in the sun or he’ll burn.  Ash explains that his sister Safara had dated a nearby dragon but when their older brother went to meet the dragon he had brought Safara back with him and they were then at war with the local dragons.

Aqua decides that the only way to work things out is to talk it over with the local dragons.  He takes Ash with him and heads off to play peacemaker.  Unfortunately, what he discovers is something he can’t fix jut by talking.

This was such an adorable story.  I just loved it and would have given it 5 stars had it been a little longer.

Aqua was a good kid/dragon kit and had such a good heart.  He just wanted to be loved and feel like he was a part of something.  Yes, he had his brother and Uncle Willy but he needed more.  Finding Ash and his family situation was a huge turning point in his life and it warmed my heart to see him so happy.

I don’t want to tell you too much about the story because the revelations are worth reading. Now I did put this under M/M but Aqua and Ash are young and the only thing they do is hold hands – just FYI.

As much as I want to get the stories of the other dragon kits from the first few books this was a wonderful interlude and definitely worth reading.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Dragon Adventure by Mell Eight

Posted May 30, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Dragon Adventure by Mell EightReviewer: Tracy
Dragon Adventure by Mell Eight
Series: Supernatural Consultant #5.1
Also in this series: Dragon Consultant, Dragon Deception, Dragon Dilemma, Dragon Detective, Dragon Soldier, Dragon Home
Published by Less Than Three Press
Publication Date: May 17th 2017
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

Aqua and Rios are bored, which is always a recipe for disaster. They decide that taking a trip to visit Nickel would be a ton of fun, so they hop on a boat and go sailing down the river. Niagara Falls separates the two kits from their destination, not that they're aware of that fact, and their fun adventure quickly turns into a desperate fight for survival.

Aqua and Rios are water dragons, approximately 15 years old, and are the foster sons of William Armistead.  They are at the North American Territory Leader’s Conference in Canada and since their “Uncle” Willy controls all of Canada he brought them with him so that they could understand what’s going on – he’d been teaching them about his duties. Of course they’re bored out of their minds and as their Uncle Dane didn’t bring his son Nickel with him they have no one to play with.

When they’re dismissed they decide that they’re just going to go visit Nickel. They get out a map and figure it won’t take long at all to get to Nickel as it’s only a few inches of map space – by river…in a rowboat. Obviously it takes longer than expected even with their supernatural powers and they end up getting to shore so they can sleep that night.  Rios is awoken by a sound and finds a Nix, a water shape-shifter, who’s trying to save the waterways from drug dealers. Rios gets attached to the Nix – who he names Nixie – very quickly and decides to help.  The pair get into some trouble but Uncle Willy is there to save the day in more ways than one.

This was a very short but very cute read.  It’s set in the world of the other Supernatural Consultant books, and Dane is in it, but none of Dane’s dragon kits are in it.  Aqua and Rios were adorably rambunctious and I enjoyed reading about their antics.  The story is told with the thought that Rios and Nix will eventually mate but that’s just kind of implied.  They’re too young at the moment to go that far. 🙂  The only reason this story got a lower rating was because of length.   I just couldn’t get too into it all as it was super short.

If you’ve read and enjoyed all of the Supernatural Consultant books so far then I think you’ll enjoy this one as well.

Rating: 3 out of 5

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Dragon Soldier by Mell Eight

Posted March 10, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Dragon Soldier by Mell EightReviewer: Tracy
Dragon Soldier by Mell Eight
Series: Supernatural Consultant #5
Also in this series: Dragon Consultant, Dragon Deception, Dragon Dilemma, Dragon Detective, Dragon Adventure, Dragon Home
Published by Less Than Three Press
Publication Date: March 8th 2017
Genres: Fantasy, M/M
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

The aftermath of the last battle has left Nickel weak in bed and grounded for the next decade. Despite being in trouble, Nickel wants to return to the battle as soon as he can, but thoughts of Platinum, the dragon helping to nurse him back to health, keep distracting him.

Platinum can't believe how much his life has changed. He went from being a lonely fugitive on the run to part of a family in only hours. The last few days have been his happiest, especially now that he's met Nickel. He knows it's only temporary, though. The enemy that kept him captive for most of his life isn't finished with him yet, and even Platinum and Nickel's combined powers might not be enough to save them.

In the last book Nickel was hurt by a scientist who had stolen dragon magic.  He is put into a medically induced coma so that he can heal, which he does, but it’s a very slow process.  (In the blurb is says “the next decade” but I’m thinking it just seemed like a decade to Nickel because in truth it was only about a month or so, not 10 years.) Nickel wants nothing more than to get back in the game of finding the horrible scientists that are torturing dragons and stealing their magic. Unfortunately he has to get his strength back in order to do that.  One that that makes it all worthwhile is Platinum.

Platinum was taken from his mother at a very young age and grew up for the last 16 or so years in captivity.  He was tortured and operated on almost daily until he escaped.  Well, he thought he escaped but it was all a plan by the scientists to lure another dragon in.  Luckily they didn’t succeed.  Platinum is now living in Mercury and Dane’s home with all their kits, and his twin who was saved 10 years earlier.  He’s getting much needed schooling, helping Dane at his office and mostly looking after Nickel.  When Nickel awakens Platinum knows that there’s something special between the two of them and when Nickel says “mate” he knows that feels right.

Both Platinum and Nickel need to find their place in the world they live in.  Each of them want to find and stop the scientists but once that’s done where do they each go from there?

Dragon Soldier was another lovely look into Mercury and Dane’s little dragon family.  Adding Platinum into the mix made a huge difference in the lives of Platinum and Nickel, even though the younger kits just went with the flow.  🙂

I really loved Platinum and Nickel together.  There’s was a very new relationship but was very comfortable.  Watching the pair get to know each other but yet find comfort in the other was quite sweet and I liked the way Eight wrote this little slice of their lives.

The smaller kits like Lumie, ‘Ron and Alloy are still up to no good.  I’m still hoping we’ll get to see them grow up cuz there’s a lot of mischief in those three bodies that I’d love to read about. 🙂

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Dragon Detective by Mell Eight

Posted October 19, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Dragon Detective by Mell EightReviewer: Tracy
Dragon Detective by Mell Eight
Series: Supernatural Consultant #4
Also in this series: Dragon Consultant, Dragon Deception, Dragon Dilemma, Dragon Soldier, Dragon Adventure, Dragon Home
Published by Less Than Three Press
Publication Date: October 19th 2016
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Nickel might be a water elemental dragon, but even he has limits—and the sudden rain storms, hail, and snow in mid-summer are way over the line. Luckily, he works for Dane's Supernatural Consulting firm and can use those resources to figure out who keeps mucking with the weather and get them to stop.

It doesn't take long for Nickel to realize he isn't the only one searching for the weather worker: the enemy he has been hunting for ten years has finally reappeared, and it's a race to see which of them will reach the weather worker first. Nickel isn't certain he'll win, or even survive, the attempt, but he'll do whatever it takes to save the dragons.

This book takes place a significant distance in time from the last novella.  Nickel is now 18 and is working with Dane at his Supernatural Consulting firm.  He decides that he’s going to find out what’s with the freak storms that are happening in town – it snowed in July! – and it leads him to believe that it’s a man that’s been seen around town who is about Nickel’s age with long white hair.  Unfortunately Nickel doesn’t find the man he’s looking for.  Then Dane gets a call from the SuperFeds with a lead on the evil scientists that do experiments on dragons and Nickel gets sucked into that case as well.

Platinum is a dragon who has been kept in a cell most of his life.  When he wakes up one day from the experimentation table and no one’s around he escapes.  He spends weeks going from town to town trying to stay off the radar and finding odd jobs to feed himself.  He finally decides it’s time to move on – as he’s in the same territory as the Supernatural Consulting firm and they’ve been asking about him – but before he can the bad guys catch up to him.

I know I say this every time but this was another great addition to the story.  Unfortunately I felt that I was left hanging at the end of the book and I wanted more!

This is definitely not a romantic story but I feel one brewing.  Though we see Dane and Mercury from the previous books it’s really Nickel and Platinum’s story – though they don’t actually meet.  I can’t explain it without giving too much away so I guess you’ll have to read it to find out. 🙂

I have to say I love this dragon family.  Dane and Mercury as well as all of their adopted dragon kits are just such a wonderful family and I love how they look out for each other no matter what.  Their bonds are so strong even though they’re not of the same blood and I adore that about these stories.

Hopefully we won’t have to wait too long for the next story because I really need to know what happens with Nickel and Platinum! 🙂

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Lightning Review: Dragon Dilemma by Mell Eight

Posted June 10, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Lightning Review: Dragon Dilemma by Mell EightReviewer: Tracy
Dragon Dilemma by Mell Eight
Series: Supernatural Consultant #3
Also in this series: Dragon Consultant, Dragon Deception, Dragon Detective, Dragon Soldier, Dragon Adventure, Dragon Home
Published by Less Than Three Press
Publication Date: June 1st 2016
Genres: M/M
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Dane doesn't get along with his parents. He hasn't spoken with his mother in years and he's never met his father. Somehow his mother finds out about Mercury and the kits anyway, and it's difficult to throw one's mother out when she happens to be a powerful, dangerous witch.

She isn't the only uninvited guest either, and these ones are even less likely to take no for an answer—and much more likely to leave everyone dead if they don't get what they want.

Dane is the Supernatural Consultant and has been making his home with his dragon partner, Mercury, and their dragon kits.  He loves his life but not when his mother, who is a bit judgmental, to say the least, come to visit.  Along with her visiting he gets a visit from three territory leaders who are concerned that Dane is infringing on their territories.  Of course he isn’t so he needs to get to the bottom of it all while still entertaining his mother and keeping his kits out of trouble.

This was another great addition to the Dragon consultant series.  I really loved Dane and Mercury and of course the kits are so mischievous that they’re constantly getting into something.  Dane and Mercury are so patient with them all and I love seeing that.

In the end an engaging read – just way too short for my liking as I always end up wanting more at the end of each book. 🙂

Rating: 3.75 out of 5

Reading Order

Dragon Consultant
Dragon Deception
Dragon Dilemma

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,