Series: Sin Brothers

Guest Review: Total Surrender by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted May 7, 2015 by Jen in Reviews | 2 Comments

Guest Review: Total Surrender by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Jen
Total Surrender (Sin Brothers, #4) by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Sin Brothers #4
Also in this series: Forgotten Sins (Sin Brothers, #1), Sweet Revenge (Sin Brothers, #2), Forgotten Sins (Sin Brothers, #1), Blind Faith (Sin Brothers, #3), Blind Faith (Sin Brothers, #3), Total Surrender (Sin Brothers, #4)
Publisher: Forever
Publication Date: March 31, 2015
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

A fight he must win...

Piper Oliver knows she can't trust him. They warned her that the tall, dark, and sexy black-ops soldier Jory Dean would try to win her over with his steel-gray eyes and deadly charm, but she won't be conned by this man they call a traitor. All she has to do is figure out the science necessary to save his life, and she's done. Something isn't adding up, though, and she won't rest until she uncovers the truth-even if it's buried in his deep, dangerous kiss.

A passion she can't resist...

Jory will do anything to reunite with and save his brothers—even kidnap the gorgeous woman who's working to deactivate the deadly chip in their spines. But the forces determined to destroy his family won't let them go so easily. Keeping Piper alive is more than he bargained for—and so is his burning desire for her. But with every second bringing him closer to certain death, can he afford to lose himself in her hot and willing embrace?

I would warn you about spoilers for Books 1-3, but honestly the cover copy already gives away stuff so if you’ve made it this far, I’ll assume you know what you’re doing.

Finally, it’s time for Jory! I have been waiting for this freaking guy for years, and he definitely didn’t disappoint. Those who’ve read any other books in the series know that Jory is the fourth and youngest of the Dean brothers, shot and presumed dead. He was definitely shot as his brothers feared, but he survived…and is awesome! At the start of the book, Jory is being held by the Commander. Just like his brothers, he has a kill chip in his spine set to go off in a matter of days, but unfortunately his chip was damaged when he was shot and it can’t be disarmed. No one knows what will happen when the time runs out, but the Commander doesn’t like not having control, so he brings in a hacker, Piper, to try and get things working again. Jory sets about convincing Piper that the Commander is actually the bad guy, not him, and that he needs her help to save him and his brothers. Eventually she gets on board and she, Jory, and the rest of the brothers have to save everyone before time runs out.

That’s all the summary I’ll give because there are twists and turns in this book that I wouldn’t want to ruin for anyone. The story does start a tiny bit slow, but once it picks up steam it’s fast paced and exciting. While I’ve enjoyed some of the romances, the real draw for me has been the larger storyline about the Deans and their journey. Listen, I know that this plot line is a little out there and the world building isn’t always perfect, but for me these books have been crack-y and engaging. I thought that this book satisfactorily and logically resolved the continuing story, and it was much more emotional and touching than I expected. (There’s a new character introduced, Chance, and his story is heartbreaking and heartwarming in equal parts.) I was crying near the end but still feeling warm and fuzzy, always a nice place to be. I was kind of disappointed in the resolution of the Dr. Madison character and wanted to see something more definitive. (Unless it was setting up some kind of sequel? I admit I don’t know what to think.) The Commander definitely gets what he deserves, though, which is good because yikes is he an evil SOB!

But let’s talk about how much I love Jory and Piper. Jory is my favorite brother by far. He’s got the extreme possessive and bossy thing all the brothers have, but I felt like his was tempered with a sort of humor and emotion that just made him yummy. I’m sitting here struggling to describe him, though, because in no way is he soft. In fact, I’d almost say he is the strongest of the brothers, not because they’re not also strong but because he was always the smallest and weakest and had to learn what to do with that. Jory’s position as the youngest has made people underestimate him, even his brothers, and it’s given him a quiet motivation to save those who always saved him. He’s a genius computer hacker, too, and his geeky side is so cute. While he absolutely bosses Piper around just like his brothers do to their heroines, Jory does it with at least a smidgen more respect for Piper’s wishes. He’s bossy in the bedroom too, but there it’s hot (whew!) and definitely the way Piper wants it.

Piper is SUCH a great match for him. She’s also a genius hacker, and she just wants to do the right thing by everyone. She plays a major role in the story, and she and Jory save each other equally. She stands up to him when she needs to, but she’s not stupid and doesn’t fight him when he’s right. She isn’t afraid to laugh in Jory’s face when he’s being ridiculous, too, which I thought was just so perfect because sometimes he WAS ridiculous and needed to be laughed at! Their chemistry was smoking, and it was clear they were both made better by the relationship. I loved them.

Many of my criticisms of the previous books still hold true in this one. I felt like there were some silly characters, and some of the plot was a little too coincidental (i.e., the mystery of who shot Jory). The attraction between Jory and Piper moves ridiculously fast. Still, I was left smiling and happy-sighing when I finished the book. It was worth the wait.

Grade: 4.25 out of 5

Sin Brothers

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Total Surrender by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted April 13, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Total Surrender by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Tracy
Total Surrender (Sin Brothers, #4) by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Sin Brothers #4
Also in this series: Forgotten Sins (Sin Brothers, #1), Sweet Revenge (Sin Brothers, #2), Forgotten Sins (Sin Brothers, #1), Blind Faith (Sin Brothers, #3), Blind Faith (Sin Brothers, #3), Total Surrender (Sin Brothers, #4)
Publisher: Forever
Publication Date: March 31, 2015
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

A fight he must win...

Piper Oliver knows she can't trust him. They warned her that the tall, dark, and sexy black-ops soldier Jory Dean would try to win her over with his steel-gray eyes and deadly charm, but she won't be conned by this man they call a traitor. All she has to do is figure out the science necessary to save his life, and she's done. Something isn't adding up, though, and she won't rest until she uncovers the truth-even if it's buried in his deep, dangerous kiss.

A passion she can't resist...

Jory will do anything to reunite with and save his brothers—even kidnap the gorgeous woman who's working to deactivate the deadly chip in their spines. But the forces determined to destroy his family won't let them go so easily. Keeping Piper alive is more than he bargained for—and so is his burning desire for her. But with every second bringing him closer to certain death, can he afford to lose himself in her hot and willing embrace?

Jory Dean is being held by the people (monsters) who created him and trained him – The Commander and his minion Dr. Madison. He knows he only has a few days to live and he doesn’t want to die in a cell. His captors have brought in Piper who is a computer genius to try to figure out how to deactivate the kill chips that are attached to his and his brothers’ spines. Unfortunately his chip was damaged when he was shot and there’s no way to deactivate it even if Piper could figure out a way to connect to it. Jory knows that he can use Piper to escape somehow but he’s grown attracted to her and wants to take her with him when he goes. One problem, she’s the Commander’s daughter.

Piper is attracted to Jory but she believes him to be a traitor to his country. (The Commander planted false information about Jory so that she wouldn’t know the truth about him.) Jory, however, is telling her different information and she’s not sure what to believe. She does eventually inadvertently help Jory escape and meet up with his brothers but by that point she doesn’t know what to believe. She DOES know that she cares about Jory and doesn’t want him to die so tries to help him and his brothers get the codes that will save their lives.

The fourth book in the Sin Brothers series was definitely no disappointment. Zanetti’s been working us up to Jory’s story and it was just as good as I thought it would be. Jory was just like his brothers – an alpha male with a soft heart – but he was different. He seemed, at least to me, more selfless than his brothers. They all have good hearts but Jory just seemed more so in some way. I really liked that about him and I liked that he cared so much about Piper and what she was feeling about the situation that she was in. Their romance was a bit strange but it was still very sweet.

There was another part of this book that I really liked as well and I guess it’s a bit of a spoiler but…Jory discovered that he’s not the last/youngest Dean brother out there. More are discovered and whether it’s a ploy to create further books for the author or not I really enjoyed this part of the book. The brothers that are discovered are trained but are still young enough to find wonder in life and the way the 4 older brothers accepted them really did it for me.

Overall it was a great book that was really hard to put down. I very much enjoyed the whole story and this book in particular.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Sin Brothers

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Blind Faith by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted June 24, 2014 by Jen in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Blind Faith by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Jen
Blind Faith (Sin Brothers, #3) by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Sin Brothers #3
Also in this series: Forgotten Sins (Sin Brothers, #1), Sweet Revenge (Sin Brothers, #2), Forgotten Sins (Sin Brothers, #1), Blind Faith (Sin Brothers, #3), Total Surrender (Sin Brothers, #4), Total Surrender (Sin Brothers, #4)
Publisher: Forever
Publication Date: May 6, 2014
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

A betrayal he couldn't forget . . .


For Nate Dean, love is a four-letter word. As part of a secret black-ops military unit, he and his brothers were genetically engineered by the government to be ruthless soldiers with an expiration date. They were loyal only to one another . . . until Nate laid eyes on the woman who stole his heart and blew his world apart. Now, years later, his family is still paying the price for his mistake. But as time runs out, there's only one person who can save his family: the very woman Nate swore he'd never trust again.

A love she couldn't deny . . .

The moment Audrey Madison spies Nate across a crowded ballroom, she can barely breathe. He's just as undeniably sexy as she remembers, yet there's an edge to him now that's as irresistible as it is dangerous. When he asks for her help, Audrey can't refuse. But she has secrets of her own--secrets that, if Nate ever discovers them, may cost them both their lives . . .

(90,000 words)

This is the third book in the Sin Brothers series. I reviewed Book 1 here–I was totally engrossed in the larger story, even though I didn’t love the romance in that book. I went on to read Book 2, Sweet Revenge, which had a hero I liked a bit better and further sucked me into the saga of these three brothers. So when Book 3 came out, I was eager to read it. I’m happy to say that I thoroughly enjoyed Blind Faith.

First, let me start off with a warning that you can’t properly review Book 3 without giving away some spoilers for Books 1 and 2. I’ll try to keep it to a minimum, but if you haven’t read the other books and don’t want to know any details, this paragraph is my quick spoiler-free summary opinion. Blind Faith packs a bit more of an emotional punch than the other two books in the series, in my opinion. Nate and Audrey have a long, tangled, painful history together. Their heartbreak is acute and palpable at the start, and while it’s clear they still have feelings for each other it seems impossible that they could move past their baggage. The way Zanetti brings them together was great, and by the end I was 100% behind the couple. Audrey is a great heroine for Nate–she’s eyeballs deep in the complex mess that is the Dean brothers’s past, but that’s what allows Nate to face his demons with her honestly. I like Nate the best of all the brothers so far. In the other books, he seems like the cynical, practical brother who’s above pesky emotions for anyone but his brothers, but here we can see that the cynicism really hides his deep fear and heartbreak. I wouldn’t call him a softy, but there’s definitely a hint of the vulnerable little boy inside that makes him seem human! And here ends the spoiler-free part–you’ve been warned!

While I enjoyed the romance in this book, it’s really the larger Dean brothers story that keeps me coming back to these books. I enjoy the pacing of the larger story–Zanetti reveals just enough in each book to make you feel like that story is moving forward but not enough to remove the suspense. In Blind Faith, we get more details about the program that created the Deans, and we get some really fascinating glimpses of the Commander and Dr. Madison. They’re still “evil” and obviously have no compassion, but this book reminds us that they’re humans, not cartoon villains. It’s really fascinating to see Audrey grapple with her own relationship with the Commander and especially Dr. Madison, which is one more obstacle between her and Nate that must be resolved. We all know that the brothers have very little time left to live at this point due to the “kill chip” set to go off in a matter of weeks. We’ve seen their romances though, and we know how much they all have to live for now, which only increases the stakes. I found myself physically feeling tense at the end of Book 3! Even though I know these are romances and so will presumably end with HEAs all around, a little part of me can’t help but worry about the outcome.

As with the other books, some parts of the plot still don’t make tons of sense. Some of the secondary characters in Book 3 are kind of silly, and Audrey’s “plan” to stop the Commander was pretty naive for someone who knows him so well. Still, the overall ride is so exciting that I find myself overlooking lots of the nonsensical parts. Unfortunately, Book 4 in the series isn’t slated to be published until March of 2015! (I won’t spoil it by naming the hero, but if you’ve read the other books in the series you’ve probably already guessed.) I guess I’ll just have to worry about the fate of the poor Dean brothers for a while longer.

Grade: 4 out of 5

Sin Brothers

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Blind Faith by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted June 4, 2014 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Blind Faith by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Tracy
Blind Faith (Sin Brothers, #3) by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Sin Brothers #3
Also in this series: Forgotten Sins (Sin Brothers, #1), Sweet Revenge (Sin Brothers, #2), Forgotten Sins (Sin Brothers, #1), Blind Faith (Sin Brothers, #3), Total Surrender (Sin Brothers, #4), Total Surrender (Sin Brothers, #4)
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication Date: May 6th 2014
Format: eARC
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

A betrayal he couldn't forget . . .

For Nate Dean, love is a four-letter word. As part of a secret black-ops military unit, he and his brothers were genetically engineered by the government to be ruthless soldiers with an expiration date. They were loyal only to one another . . . until Nate laid eyes on the woman who stole his heart and blew his world apart. Now, years later, his family is still paying the price for his mistake. But as time runs out, there's only one person who can save his family: the very woman Nate swore he'd never trust again.

A love she couldn't deny . . .

The moment Audrey Madison spies Nate across a crowded ballroom, she can barely breathe. He's just as undeniably sexy as she remembers, yet there's an edge to him now that's as irresistible as it is dangerous. When he asks for her help, Audrey can't refuse. But she has secrets of her own--secrets that, if Nate ever discovers them, may cost them both their lives . . .

Nate Dean and his brothers Shane, Matt and Jory are men who are created, not born. They were genetically engineered and raised to be killers They were under the command of a man known as the Commander. He had a doctor, Dr. Madison, who evaluated the brothers at every turn – physically and psychologically. This doctor had a daughter, Audrey, who Nate fell in love with almost at first sight. They were together for a while until Audrey told him that she really didn’t love him, she was just playacting because her mother asked her to. Nate was horribly hurt and betrayed but soon the brothers escaped their camp.

It’s been 5 years since the brothers escape and tons of stuff has happened to all of them. Unfortunately that all might come to an end if they don’t get the codes to deactivate the microchips that are implanted in their bodies that are kill switches. Nate has put it on himself to find the codes no matter what. He doesn’t plan on surviving but as long as his brothers live that’s all that matters to him.

Audrey is now working for a Senator and is working along with him to take down the Commander. When Nate comes back into her life he believes she’s working with the Commander and tries to get information about the microchips from Audrey but soon discovers that she knows nothing. He also realizes that Audrey is in danger from the Commander as well. He tries to talk her into abandoning her job so that she can get out of the way of any danger. Nate ends up spending a lot of time with Audrey and they both discover secrets about the other that change their lives forever.

Another great book in the Sin Brothers series. I’ve been looking forward to Nate’s story and this one didn’t disappoint.

Nate is just as wonderful as he’s been in past stories. I felt so horrible for him and everything he went through with Audrey. Yes, his childhood was shit even without Audrey around but that betrayal was just icing on the cake. Once he learns about what exactly went down with her and what happened to her when they escaped he was filled with guilt. I think this showed what a sensitive man he was despite his hard outer shell. Nate truly loved Audrey and his brothers and his protectiveness of them was heartwarming.

Audrey was a pretty strong woman, I must say. Being the daughter of a crazy woman doesn’t make life easy for her but I had to admire her loyalty toward her mom. I wish for her sake that her mother had been more loving but Audrey seemed to turn out okay even without that nurturing. I loved how she’d lived through so much and was still going strong. Together with Nate she was even stronger and that rocked.

The story showed us the other couples from the first two books as well as gave us more information about Jory, the brother they’ve been looking for and had thought dead at one point. The brothers also got a new member of the “family” after all was said and done and I thought the addition was wonderful.

Overall the story was pretty action packed and a great romance that flowed together nicely. I can’t wait to see what comes next as I’m really looking forward to Jory’s story.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Sin Brothers

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Forgotten Sins by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted February 12, 2014 by Jen in Reviews | 2 Comments

Guest Review: Forgotten Sins by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Jen
Forgotten Sins (Sin Brothers, #1) by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Sin Brothers #1
Also in this series: Forgotten Sins (Sin Brothers, #1), Sweet Revenge (Sin Brothers, #2), Blind Faith (Sin Brothers, #3), Blind Faith (Sin Brothers, #3), Total Surrender (Sin Brothers, #4), Total Surrender (Sin Brothers, #4)
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication Date: July 2, 2013
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-half-stars

His Secrets Can Destroy Her

From the moment Josie laid eyes on sexy, mysterious Shane Dean, she was in love. Their desire ignited a passionate affair, and within weeks, Shane had slipped a ring on her finger. It seemed her every fantasy was coming true . . . until her new husband disappeared without a trace. Now, two years and one broken heart later, Josie is shocked by the hospital calls: Shane has been found . . . at a crime scene with no memory of how he got there.

Her Love Can Save Him

Shane can't remember the blue-eyed angel at his bedside—or who he even is—but he knows something isn't right. His hearing is razor sharp, his physical strength incredible, and the urge to protect Josie overwhelming. For powerful enemies are hunting him, and Josie is the key to discovering why. As Shane struggles to unravel his past, dangerous new truths come to light. Can he protect the only woman he's ever loved? And can Josie trust a man she thought she knew—one who carries such a deadly secret?

88,000 words

Accountant Josie Dean gets a call from a nearby hospital saying her husband has been injured, only she hasn’t seen her husband since he disappeared from her life 2 years ago. And to complicate matters further, her husband Shane Dean has amnesia and doesn’t remember anything about himself. Pretty quickly, though, it becomes obvious that someone is targeting Josie for some unknown reason, and Shane’s past is WAY more complicated than either he or Josie could possibly imagine. They have to untangle who is out to get Josie and figure out who Shane really is, and why he left Josie so abruptly. Is Josie’s trouble her own, or is it connected to the danger that also seems to surround Shane?

There is a lot going on in this book and lots of mysteries to solve. Probably the most compelling mystery is who Shane is and where he came from. He has crazy skills, even with amnesia, that defy explanation, such as heightened awareness, hearing, control, etc. He instinctively knows how to fight brutally and efficiently, and he seems to know exactly what to do in dangerous situations. He’s a textbook alphahole–he’s domineering, cocky, and possessive. He definitely doesn’t endear himself to me when he immediately starts bossing Josie around and treating her like his possession. Plus, there are moments where he seems almost emotionally detached and robotic, which makes his story more curious but also makes him hard to relate to.

And unfortunately, Josie can’t fill in the gaps in his memory because she knew very little about Shane even during their brief marriage. She knows he was in the military, and she knows he has brothers, but that’s about it. There was a lot of passion, but Shane shared virtually nothing about himself. His abandonment hurts her, but it’s her realization that their marriage never had much substance to it that really breaks her heart.

Of course, when Shane comes back to her life, she is immediately hot for him and basically in a permanent state of arousal, because we all know how irresistible bossy dicks are, amirite? The irrational hyper-chemistry was a bit much for me. In fact, it was really the romance part of the book that didn’t work so well for me. Shane acts like a huge jerk much of the time, and Josie pretty much lets him get away with it because Shane is just so domineering. He doesn’t convince or offer options–he just bullies, emotionally and even physically. And nearer to the end of the book, Josie discovers information about their marriage that is just so…argh! There’s a confrontation between her and Shane that just made me so damn angry at him! Thankfully Josie is just as angry and she does stand up for herself for a change, but unlike Josie I could never fully move past that issue. While he seemed to be making progress, I was never fully convinced that Shane had changed his attitude about Josie and about relationships.

What DID work for me, however, was the larger story about Shane and his brothers. It’s a bit ridiculous, and even as I was reading I was rolling my eyes at how outlandish the story got at times. Still, I couldn’t seem to put it down! I may have even let out an audible whimper when I realized that while the second book in the series is out (Sweet Revenge), the 3rd book (Blind Faith) won’t be out until May 2014. I really, really want to find out more about the brothers and whether they can overcome their past!

This book was definitely an odd one for me. Part of me knew there was a lot to dislike, but the other part of me just wanted to keep on reading. I will most definitely be checking out Book #2 and hoping that the romance in that one is a bit less infuriating.

Grade: 3.25 out of 5

Sin Brothers

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,