Series: Silver Wolf Clan

Guest Review: Brand of the Pack by Tera Shanley

Posted June 4, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Brand of the Pack by Tera ShanleyReviewer: Tracy
Brand of the Pack by Tera Shanley
Series: Silver Wolf Clan #3
Also in this series: Silver Wolf Clan, Black Wolf's Revenge, Black Wolf's Revenge
Published by Kensington
Publication Date: June 9th 2015
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

The last of her kind

As the last of the Silver Wolves, and the only female with the ability to produce werewolf offspring, Morgan Carter is a wanted woman. Male suitors from all packs vie for her, and threaten the safety of her young niece, Lana. But there is only one man Morgan wants . . .

The last of his control

Greyson Crawford has been through hell and back for Morgan. And he’d do it again. But until she learns to trust him, and lets him claim her as his own, he can’t fully protect her. When a force more powerful than either have known threatens to tear them apart, can Greyson convince Morgan to accept him as her mate once and for all, before it’s too late?

Tracy’s review of Brand of the Pack (Silver Wolf Clan #3) by Tera Shanley

In the last book Morgan was confused about what she wanted. More to the point she was confused about the reasons behind Grey’s feelings and actions. She was doubting herself and him both and that ended up badly for each of them. We start this book with Morgan getting back together with Grey but they are still on edge. She, from her ordeal of being kidnapped, and he, not quite knowing where he stands with her.

The two quickly work out that they want to be together with no issues. It’s decided that they are to marry and Grey is going to become the alpha of his own pack of 3 – Grey, Morgan and Marissa. There’s a small kink in the plan however. First Grey is having challenges for Morgan up to 2-3 a day which is wearing him out, and then there’s someone named The Dragon who is telling Grey not to claim Morgan – sent by none other than the female who Turned Morgan in the first place. She wants Grey to herself and wants Morgan out of the picture.

This was a good third installment in the series. We didn’t have a whole lot of angst or anything heavy going on in the story. It was more of, what I would think of, as a transition story. We got to see Grey and Morgan finally get together and Grey’s Wolf was happy with the claiming and becoming an alpha. Then we got a hint at what was to come in future books with the introduction of The Dragon.

While I thought this was a good story I didn’t love that not too much was going on. While it was a sweet story, there just wasn’t a lot happening. If you haven’t read the other two books then I would recommend not reading this one first. You would be completely lost and the sweetness of the story would be lost on you as you would have no clue what was happening. I’m looking forward to reading about what happens next in Morgan and Grey’s life.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

This title is available from Lyrical Press. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Review: Black Wolf’s Revenge by Tera Shanley

Posted March 9, 2015 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Black Wolf’s Revenge by Tera ShanleyReviewer: Holly
Black Wolf's Revenge by Tera Shanley
Series: Silver Wolf Clan #2
Also in this series: Silver Wolf Clan, Black Wolf's Revenge, Brand of the Pack
Published by Kensington
Publication Date: February 17th 2015
Pages: 119
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
two-half-stars

He’ll risk it all to bring her home.
Morgan Carter witnessed her sister’s murder, has been turned into a werewolf and is now raising her young niece. Then her fiance, Greyson Crawford, proves he wants to be with her for the wrong reasons, and she knows her life couldn’t be any stranger. Devastated, she retreats to her cozy house in the city with her sister’s little girl, Lana. There, they’ll have normalcy, and maybe eventually, even happiness.
But Morgan’s the only living silver wolf. Her uniqueness—the ability to produce werewolf offspring—means, without Grey’s protection, she’s unknowingly put herself and Lana in deadly danger. Other werewolves want to claim her for their pack, and she’s the easiest, most tempting prey ever.
When they strike, Grey has to find her and rescue her before it’s too late. Not so simple a task; he has only the uncontrollable beast inside him, Wolf, and an unlikely pack of allies he’s forced to rely on. Can he get to her in time? And if he does, can he convince her he’s there for the right reasons, saving them both?
38,201 Words

I’ve been on a shifter kick lately, so when I saw this on NetGalley I requested it right away.

This is the second book in the series. I didn’t read the first book and I feel like I missed a lot by having skipped it. I would recommend reading them in order.

I liked the world and the basic premise. Fated mates can be great or terrible, but I thought the concept here was interesting. They’re meant to be mates, but they have to accept each other for the claim to stick.

The execution lacked a bit of finesse. Mostly the heroine was stubborn and made bad decisions based on assumptions and emotion, rather than fact or logic. She spent the majority of the book being angry at the hero for something he didn’t do, while putting herself and her young charge in danger. While I understood her need for independence and her desire to have a mate who cared for her for her, not just because she needed to be taken care of, I thought she took things too far. Especially since she decided she was ready to move past her fears and let the mating progress, but still held her silence for days.

I liked that the hero was in love with the heroine right from the start, and he didn’t question his desire for them to be together. Though I did wonder at his quickness to pull away from her. He felt rejected, which is never an easy thing to get past, but he didn’t pursue the relationship like I expected him to since he was a) alpha and b) in love.

I also struggled a bit with the writing itself. It was choppy and I never really engaged with the author’s voice. The choppiness of the writing may have attributed to my confusion over the way both characters acted.

Enough interested me that I may try another book – either the first one in the series or the next book. I liked the premise and I have a feeling if I go back and read book one, some of the actions in this book will make more sense.

2.75 out of 5

Reading Order:

two-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Black Wolf’s Revenge by Tera Shanley

Posted February 27, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Black Wolf’s Revenge by Tera ShanleyReviewer: Tracy
Black Wolf's Revenge by Tera Shanley
Published by Lyrical Press
Publication Date: February 17th 2015
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

He’ll risk it all to bring her home.
Morgan Carter witnessed her sister’s murder, has been turned into a werewolf and is now raising her young niece. Then her fiance, Greyson Crawford, proves he wants to be with her for the wrong reasons, and she knows her life couldn’t be any stranger. Devastated, she retreats to her cozy house in the city with her sister’s little girl, Lana. There, they’ll have normalcy, and maybe eventually, even happiness.

But Morgan’s the only living silver wolf. Her uniqueness—the ability to produce werewolf offspring—means, without Grey’s protection, she’s unknowingly put herself and Lana in deadly danger. Other werewolves want to claim her for their pack, and she’s the easiest, most tempting prey ever.

When they strike, Grey has to find her and rescue her before it’s too late. Not so simple a task; he has only the uncontrollable beast inside him, Wolf, and an unlikely pack of allies he’s forced to rely on. Can he get to her in time? And if he does, can he convince her he’s there for the right reasons, saving them both?

Tracy’s review of Black Wolf’s Revenge (Silver Wolf Clan #2) by Tera Shanley

Morgan and Grey felt a connection with each other that was amazing and not to be denied. Well, that’s until Morgan gets it into her head that Grey wants to be with her for the wrong reasons. You see, Morgan was bitten by a werewolf and was Turned into a Silver wolf. Silver wolves were thought to be extinct as they were decimated by vampires hundreds of years ago – apparently not completely decimated. As regular werewolf women are sterile, Silver wolves are highly sought after as they are breeders and can bear werewolf babies. Grey knows that he’ll have his work cut out for him protecting Morgan and her niece, Lana, but he loves them so much he takes that assignment and wears it like a badge of honor. Unfortunately once Morgan finds out the details about being a Silver wolf she believes that Grey is only marrying her to protect her. He’s not good with words so when he tries to defend himself it comes out all wrong. Morgan decides that she won’t marry him and she believes that she can protect herself and Lana all on her own. She has no idea what’s waiting for out there for her.

I really enjoyed the first book in this series, Silver Wolf Clan, (review here) and was very much looking forward to the second book. While I liked the book I didn’t like it quite as much as book 1.

I loved Grey in this book just as much as the previous one. Unfortunately I really didn’t care for Morgan. I know that deep down she knew she was wrong about Grey but she was so incredibly stubborn that they ended up spending the majority of the book (which is a novella) separated and that was just not my cup of tea. Morgan needed a bit of an attitude adjustment from her friends but she wouldn’t even listen to them which was SO frustrating. She also kept Lana away from Grey knowing that they loved each other dearly and that didn’t sit well with me. I just wanted her to actually use her brain and think about all the wonderful times they had before she’d Turned. She knew that he loved her then so why would that have changed just because she was now a Silver wolf?? Gah! Frustrating!

Anyway, Grey was a good guy and a wonderful protector in this book. His kind and caring self came shining through even during the violence that he had to bring down on the men who end up taking Morgan for their own vile purposes. I never for one moment doubted his love for either Morgan or Lana throughout the book and it was heart breaking to see him suffer throughout.

Overall it was a good book but definitely frustrating. Hopefully book 3, which yes I’m looking forward to, will have Morgan and Grey make complete amends and finding the love that they found in book 1.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Reading Order:

This title is available from Lyrical Press. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Silver Wolf Clan by Tera Shanley

Posted July 30, 2014 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Silver Wolf Clan by Tera ShanleyReviewer: Tracy
Silver Wolf Clan by Tera Shanley
Series: Silver Wolf Clan #1
Also in this series: Black Wolf's Revenge, Black Wolf's Revenge, Brand of the Pack
Published by Lyrical Press
Publication Date: August 4th 2014
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Loving him will be legendary. . .if she can survive it.

What happens when monsters turn out to be real? One summer night while camping in the woods, Morgan Carter finds out in a big way. A tall mysterious stranger, Greyson Crawford, risks his life to try and save her sister from the vicious wolf attacking their camp. When he's bitten and disappears into the night, Morgan can only assume the worst.

Greyson shows up a year later, and he's a different animal altogether. His eye color shifts constantly and the rumble in his throat sounds more animal than human. She hasn't any idea where he's been all this time, but a good guess as to what he's become.

Grey is determined not to let the darkness of his new existence affect Morgan and the little girl in her care. He hasn't been able to stop thinking about Morgan but knows he should stay away and let her live a normal life. That's easier said than done, though. A new danger pulls him from the shadows to keep her safe, and he's no wolf in sheep's clothing.

Can she accept what lurks just below his surface? More importantly, can she survive him?

Greyson Crawford wakes in the middle of the night after hearing a woman scream. He’s out camping in the middle of nowhere so it’s completely unexpected; he believed he was miles from any other person. When he runs to help out he finds an inhumanly large wolf attacking a woman. The woman is trying to save her sister who the wolf has already attacked. Greyson finds himself fighting the wolf and getting bitten by it, along with many other wounds. Right before he becomes unconscious he sees the woman he’s saved and they exchange names. After he awakens he can’t forget Morgan, her lovely face or her intoxicating scent.

That night Grey was turned into a werewolf. He believes himself to be the only one in existence so has no one to help him cope. His eyes constantly turn from human to wolf and he has a hard time controlling his animal side – the one he calls Wolf. He ends up quitting his job and taking an apartment in a shady part of town so that no one will ask questions. Six months after his turn he is visited by two men who are also wolf, who then introduce him to their alpha. Grey can’t be in the Dallas pack because he is too dominant to be under another alpha, but they do help him with learning to deal with being a werewolf.

It’s been a year since he’s seen Morgan but when he scents her he can’t stay away. He knows he should try because he’s such an animal but he soon realizes that it’s impossible. Morgan is thrilled when she sees Grey as she’s not been able to forget him either. Morgan feels just as strongly for Grey as he does her and he loves her niece, who she is guardian of, just as much. When he takes them to meet the pack, however, not everyone is thrilled that Morgan is Grey’s mate and takes their anger out on Morgan.

This wasn’t a very long book but I felt it was a very nice start to what I hope will be a great paranormal series. I really like the style of writing that Shanley has as it drew me into the book immediately and I didn’t want to put it down.

Grey is one big, bad alpha werewolf but that doesn’t stop him from being loving and caring to Morgan and her niece, Lana. I loved seeing the softer side of him but loved his alpha side and protectiveness as well. Morgan’s character went through a ton of changes throughout the book and I admired her for her resilience as those changes were all difficult to deal with. She faced each challenging situation the best she could and did it with grace and intelligence.

As the story was so short there wasn’t a whole lot of background on the characters or world building. I’m hoping that we get more of that in future books as I can obviously see that there’s a huge story behind Grey and his family. There were other questions I had while reading and I need those answered! lol The ending of the story was nice but kind of left me hanging as to what will happen next. I’m hoping that we won’t have to wait too long for the next book to find out.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,