Series: Shadow Riders

Review: Shadow Storm by Christine Feehan

Posted May 17, 2021 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Shadow Storm by Christine FeehanReviewer: Casee
Shadow Storm by Christine Feehan
Series: Shadow Riders #6
Also in this series: Shadow Reaper, Shadow Reaper, Shadow Reaper, Shadow Keeper, Shadow Warrior, Shadow Flight
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: May 11, 2021
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 432
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

A long-simmering feud between two families comes to a head in this gripping novel in Christine Feehan's New York Times bestselling Shadow Riders series. As the youngest member of the Ferraro family, Emmanuelle has watched each of her brothers find happiness in love while her own heart was shattered by a lover's betrayal. For two years she's stayed as far away from Valentino Saldi as possible--until she learns that he's been shot during a hostile takeover of his family's territory.
Emme's first instinct is to call her brother Stefano for help, and soon the entire Ferraro clan arrives to bring Val back from the brink of death and protect the Saldis from further attack. With one choice Emme has re-exposed herself to Val's intoxicating pull and dragged her family into the Saldis' private war.
A deadly storm is brewing, and only time will tell who survives...

Valentino Saldi and Emmanuelle Ferraro should be enemies. The two families have been at war for a hundred years. The Saldis came close to wiping out the entire Ferraro line. Luckily some of the Ferraros were able to escape through the shadows. It took a long time, but the Ferraros have come back stronger than ever. That doesn’t mean that they have forgotten their history. The two families now have an uneasy truce, something that changes when Emmanuelle gets a call that Val has been shot & is possibly dying. Emme does the only thing she can, what she has been doing her entire life; she calls her brother, Stefano.

Emme’s brothers are aware that Emme & Val have a history, they just don’t know the extent of it. Emme first met Val when she was just sixteen. He was much older & tried to stay away from her. Eventually he gave in & the two started an affair. The day Emme decide to give up her family for Val, she finds him in a compromising position with another woman. Always thinking & expecting the worst, Emme is not surprised though she is heartbroken. She loved Val and his betrayal cut her deeply.

Fast forward to the present. Val has given Emme space for two years, but he’s done. He doesn’t know if it’s because he almost lost his life, but he will not live another day without Emmanuelle Ferraro by his side. Though the situation seems insurmountable, Val eventually gets Emme to listen to what she’s known all along; Val didn’t cheat on her nor did he mean what she overheard him saying. All Val knew was that his uncle was up to something & he wasn’t going to have Emme caught in the middle.

Now Val and his uncle are at war over human trafficking. Val tried for years to convince his father that his uncle was bad news. His father wouldn’t believe it. After his uncle attempts to kill him & his father, his father finally starts believing. While Val lays dying, he knows the only thing he can do is call Emme. He also knows when Dario calls her that she would come. He also knows that it’s more than likely that she’ll call Stefano, which is exactly what he hopes for. He can’t fight Miceli on his own, he needs the Ferraros behind him. Although this seems really mercenary, he really does love Emme, which makes it forgivable.

I ate up this book. Emme was annoying at times, with her constant doubt in Val. It got old. Luckily Val called her on it & she’s able to reflect inward and see that she’s pushing Val away because she’s scared. She’s never listened to anyone but her brothers, but Val quickly rises to the most important person in her life. I’ve been waiting for this book for years and it didn’t disappoint. I do think that a few things were resolved too quickly, specifically how their shadows reacted to each other. I’m really looking forward to seeing where this series goes. It seems as though CF is going to branch off into the Ferraro extended family. I can’t wait to get answers on issues that weren’t addressed by the end of the book. Saying that, I enjoyed this book immensely.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5.

Shadow Riders

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Sunday Spotlight: Shadow Storm by Christine Feehan (+ Exclusive Excerpt)

Posted May 16, 2021 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 1 Comment

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

I adore this series & I absolutely loved this book. I think the Shadow Riders series is one of Feehan’s better ones. I love the sense of family. The Ferraros are so close knit and they would die for each other. Love that.

Sunday Spotlight: Shadow Storm by Christine Feehan (+ Exclusive Excerpt)Shadow Storm by Christine Feehan
Narrator: Jim Frangione
Series: Shadow Riders #6
Also in this series: Shadow Reaper, Shadow Reaper, Shadow Reaper, Shadow Keeper, Shadow Warrior, Shadow Flight, Shadow Storm
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: May 25, 2021
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 432
Length: 11 hours and 15 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

A long-simmering feud between two families comes to a head in this gripping novel in Christine Feehan's New York Times bestselling Shadow Riders series. As the youngest member of the Ferraro family, Emmanuelle has watched each of her brothers find happiness in love while her own heart was shattered by a lover's betrayal. For two years she's stayed as far away from Valentino Saldi as possible--until she learns that he's been shot during a hostile takeover of his family's territory.
Emme's first instinct is to call her brother Stefano for help, and soon the entire Ferraro clan arrives to bring Val back from the brink of death and protect the Saldis from further attack. With one choice Emme has re-exposed herself to Val's intoxicating pull and dragged her family into the Saldis' private war.
A deadly storm is brewing, and only time will tell who survives...


 

Excerpt

“Stupid, stupid, stupid, Emmanuelle,” Emme whispered to herself as she stood just inside the mouth of the shadow she’d ridden to the North Shore home on Lake Michigan that Valentino Saldi’s birth mother had had in her family for generations. The land had never been taken out of that name and transferred to his adopted name. “You should have told someone you were coming here,” she whispered and pulled out her phone with the idea of texting one of her sisters-in-law.

Closing her eyes tight, she knew she couldn’t do it. If Val was really in trouble, then she wasn’t going to make things worse by giving him up. Taking a deep breath, she sent a text. She was laying herself bare. Making herself vulnerable all over again. Maybe even getting herself killed.

I’m here, Dario, where are you?

Thank G. In main bedroom. Hurry.

She had really studied the layout. There didn’t seem to be any guards. No snipers on the roof of the building. Still, she caught another shadow and rode it toward the house. The tube was dizzying, the walls curved, the views going by at such a speed that if anyone was waiting to take her prisoner, they were nothing but a blur. Still, it was necessary to try to see around her as she passed through the gates and drive, the lawns and, in the distance, the views of the lake.

Twice she had to hastily step from one shadow to the another, but she moved fast. She was adept and very skilled at her work. The last portal took her up the long steps and under the door right into the house. She was familiar with the interior. She’d met Valentino there many times. It had been the one place they felt confident they could go without either family finding them.

Emme’s mouth went dry and her heart beat faster. She tried not to allow any memories to get to her. She was only there to make certain he was alive and well. Dario Bosco was Valentino’s bodyguard as well as his lieutenant, but more importantly, he was his cousin. Dario, in her mind, had always been a question mark. She didn’t quite understand his loyalties, but then she didn’t understand any of the workings in the Saldi family.

“Damn it, Emme,” she heard the whisper of Dario’s voice, coming from the main bedroom. “Hurry. Hurry.” He sounded like he was talking to himself.

Looking quickly around for cameras—there hadn’t been security cameras activated before, and she didn’t find any now—she stepped into another, smaller shadow that shot her straight to the main master bedroom. To her horror, there smears of blood on the door frame. She could smell blood. The door was partially opened, and she pushed it, staying to one side in case it was all a sham and she was being set up.

“Thank fuck you’re here, Emme. Hurry up. I didn’t know what else to do. He said not to call you, but he’s going to die if you don’t help him.”
She was already at the bed, staring down at Valentino Saldi, the love of her life, the man she would have died for, killed for, given up her entire life for. There was too much blood on his clothes, soaking into the sheets.

“He needs to be in a hospital.”

“If I could take him to a hospital, I would have,” Dario snapped. “Tell me what to do.”

There was only one thing she could do if she was going to save Val’s life. “You’ll have to trust me, Dario. You won’t like this, but he’s going to die if I don’t get us help now.”

She yanked out her phone and put in the code to the one person she trusted the most in the world. She knew he would come through, no questions asked. He might flay her alive later, but right now, right when she needed him, he would come fast and bring help and get every single item on the list she sent to him to her as quickly as humanly possible without asking why. Even when she said who it was for and that he’d been shot and that he was dying.

From SHADOW STORM published by arrangement with Berkley, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC. Copyright © 2021 by Christine Feehan.

Shadow Riders

Giveaway Alert

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

Sunday Spotlight: May 2021

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About Christine Feehan

I live on the beautiful Northern California coast and draw much inspiration from the beauty around me. I've always been a writer, for as long as I remember. My sisters were forced to read all of my books from the time I could write a story on paper.

I love family. I love my brothers and sisters, my children, my grandchildren and my great grandchildren. My home was always full of kids and children give me so much joy.

I also love my "sisters of the heart", those friends who have supported me through my life, laughed with me, cried with me and loved me regardless of how crazy my life got. I am a strong supporter of women helping each other which is why I became a third degree black belt and taught self-defense to women who'd been abused.

I love people and dogs, good books and great coffee and I'm lucky to know just how blessed I am.


Tagged: , , ,

Review: Shadow Flight by Christine Feehan

Posted April 20, 2020 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Shadow Flight by Christine FeehanReviewer: Casee
Shadow Flight by Christine Feehan
Series: Shadow Riders #5
Also in this series: Shadow Reaper, Shadow Reaper, Shadow Reaper, Shadow Keeper, Shadow Warrior, Shadow Storm
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: May 5, 2020
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 432
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2020 Goodreads Challenge, Goodreads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Nicoletta Gomez was a terrified teenager when Taviano Ferraro and his brother saved her life. Ever since, she's been trying to rise above what was done to her, molding herself into a survivor under the protective eyes of the Ferraro family. All the while, she's been falling hopelessly in love with the man who knows her darkest secrets....

With one look, Taviano knew that Nicoletta was his, just as he felt their shadows connect. But no matter how much he wanted to claim her, he knew she needed time to become her own woman. When Nicoletta once again finds herself in the sights of dangerous men, a split-second decision has Taviano breaking all of the Ferraro family's rules to keep her safe. And as far as he's concerned, the reward is more than worth the risk.

Shadow Flight is book six in CF’s Shadow Riders series. I’ve enjoyed this series from the first book. I do have to admit that it’s an acquired taste. The men are overly alpha and take care of their women. That’s just not for some people.

Nicoletta Gomez came into the Ferraro’s lives through violence and heartbreak. Nicoletta’s mom and dad died in an accident and she is sent to live with her three step-uncles. Step-uncles that sexually assault her and pass her around. Her life is literal hell. Just when she decides to end it all, the Ferraro’s show up in the house she is living in and kill her step-uncles. Nicoletta is too far gone to be shocked by the violence. All she know is she’s out of the hell that made her almost take her own life.

In the years that follow, Nicoletta finds her place with her foster parents. She’s deeply loved, but demons still follow her daily. Taviano Ferraro is there when her dreams become too much and she can’t handle the pain. So the problem I have here is that Nicoletta was fifteen when she came into the Ferraro’s lives. Fifteen. Taviano knows that Nicoletta is the one for him because of how their shadows connect. He just has to leave her alone until she’s older.

Fast forward. Nicoletta is eighteen. Eighteen. No thank you. That’s way too young of a heroine for me. I don’t know if it’s because I’m getting older, but I just couldn’t really abide a heroine that was that young and a hero that was in his late twenties. I did like this book. I liked the action and I love seeing how the Ferraro’s bond with each other. Taviano and Nicoletta were really suited (except for the age) and I enjoyed reading their story (except for the age). I look forward to Emmanuelle’s book next.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Shadow Riders

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Sunday Spotlight: Shadow Flight by Christine Feehan (+ Exclusive Excerpt)

Posted April 19, 2020 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 3 Comments

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

Sunday Spotlight: Shadow Flight by Christine Feehan (+ Exclusive Excerpt)Shadow Flight by Christine Feehan
Series: Shadow Riders #5
Also in this series: Shadow Reaper, Shadow Reaper, Shadow Reaper, Shadow Keeper, Shadow Warrior, Shadow Flight, Shadow Storm
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: May 5, 2020
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 368
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

Chicago’s Ferraro crime family will do anything to protect one of their own in this thrilling entry in the Shadow Riders series from #1 New York Times bestselling author Christine Feehan.

Nicoletta Gomez was a terrified teenager when Taviano Ferraro and his brother saved her life. Ever since, she’s been trying to rise above what was done to her, molding herself into a survivor under the protective eyes of the Ferraro family. All the while, she’s been falling hopelessly in love with the man who knows her darkest secrets.…

With one look, Taviano knew that Nicoletta was his, just as he felt their shadows connect. But no matter how much he wanted to claim her, he knew she needed time to become her own woman. When Nicoletta once again finds herself in the sights of dangerous men, a split-second decision has Taviano breaking all of the Ferraro family’s rules to keep her safe. And as far as he’s concerned, the reward is more than worth the risk.

Excerpt

Nicoletta had never liked the feeling of being in the shadows and yet she’d always been drawn to them. They’d always made her feel as if her body was being torn apart, but she knew she could hide in them, she’d done so on several occasions, just not always successfully. “You’ve been shot, Taviano. You need help. We have to get you to one of the medical facilities.”

“We’ll get there. I want you to do exactly what I say.”

He turned to face her. When he did, she could see the blood splashed on his jacket. He wore that same immaculate, classy, very expensive charcoal pin-striped suit that his entire family wore. The tie was a darker charcoal and the shirt was lighter charcoal. The men and even Emmanuelle always looked so distinctive, but she had to admit, when they got close to the shadows, they seem to fade into them.

He cupped her chin with his palm. “You have to trust me like you’ve never trusted me before. I’m going to ask you to do things that are going to frighten you and you’re going to have to do them without question. Can you do that for me? We don’t have time for anything else.” He was whispering, his voice incredibly low, but she heard every word.

She didn’t hesitate. All she did was look at the blood on his jacket and into his eyes. The music had faded. Everything around her faded but Taviano and the blood.

“Take off everything you’re wearing. Everything including your underwear, Nicoletta. Your earrings are fine. Lucia gave them to you. I had them made for you and asked her to give them to you. My cousin made them. You’ll wear my shirt.” He was stripping off his jacket and, one-handed, removing his shirt as he spoke. He was fast, too.

She didn’t look at him and she knew he didn’t look away. It was her boots that gave her the most trouble, but she got them off and the shirt on in record time. She knew about hiding in the shadows naked. She’d done so. With her clothing on, she’d been found every single time.

“When we go farther into the shadows, you don’t let go of me, you understand? No matter how it feels, no matter what, you don’t let go. Keep your eyes closed tight. You’re going to feel sick and disoriented.”

She was already feeling sick and disoriented. Her body felt like it was in pieces as if, when she’d removed her clothes, the material had been the only thing holding her together. Now, with just his shirt, nothing would hold her skin on and she was being pulled apart piece by piece. The feeling sickened her. It helped when she closed her eyes, but she was terrified she was going to vomit all over Taviano.

“I’ve got you, tesoro,” he whispered.

His mouth moved so close to her ear, she felt his lips brush her earlobe. He wrapped his arm around her and locked her to his side. She immediately put both of her arms around his waist as far as she could and held on as tightly as she could, pressing her head into his side. She had no idea what they were going to do, but somewhere in her mind, there was a vague recollection of being in a similar situation and feeling this exact sensation.

Then she was moving so fast it felt like she was on a speedway, the fastest bullet train, or park ride. Faster even than that. Her stomach dropped and rolled and somehow was left behind or she would have spilled the contents down his rib cage. She knew her arms were around his waist, but her flesh was literally peeling off the bone in tiny pieces and flying away. She couldn’t look because she knew she would see only a skeleton holding on to Taviano.

She wanted to scream, or at least call his name, but she couldn’t. She couldn’t make a sound. Not even open her mouth. She refused to open her eyes and he’d said not to. If she did, she feared her eyes would be sucked out of her face just like her flesh had been torn off. If she lived through this, if she was intact when he stopped, she was never, never doing this again.

Shadow Riders

Giveaway Alert

We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

Sunday Spotlight: April 2020

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About Christine Feehan

I live on the beautiful Northern California coast and draw much inspiration from the beauty around me. I've always been a writer, for as long as I remember. My sisters were forced to read all of my books from the time I could write a story on paper.

I love family. I love my brothers and sisters, my children, my grandchildren and my great grandchildren. My home was always full of kids and children give me so much joy.

I also love my "sisters of the heart", those friends who have supported me through my life, laughed with me, cried with me and loved me regardless of how crazy my life got. I am a strong supporter of women helping each other which is why I became a third degree black belt and taught self-defense to women who'd been abused.

I love people and dogs, good books and great coffee and I'm lucky to know just how blessed I am.


Tagged: , ,

Review: Shadow Warrior by Christine Feehan

Posted June 3, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Shadow Warrior by Christine FeehanReviewer: Casee
Shadow Warrior by Christine Feehan
Series: Shadow Riders #4
Also in this series: Shadow Reaper, Shadow Reaper, Shadow Reaper, Shadow Keeper, Shadow Flight, Shadow Storm
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: June 4, 2019
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 432
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Danger inspires fierce passion when a serial killer threatens Chicago's Ferraro crime family in this novel in Christine Feehan's New York Times bestselling series.

Vittorio Ferraro is a man whose family loyalty knows no bounds. He would die for his siblings and the people they love, but what he really wants is to start a family of his own. Deep down, Vittorio has always known finding a woman who could ride shadows would be nearly impossible--let alone one who could accept his particular needs--and he never expected to find her in the middle of a kidnapping....

Grace Murphy has always been drawn to Vittorio Ferraro--or at least to the billionaire's public bad-boy persona. Now that she's under his protection and the sole focus of his intense caring, she can't help wanting to get as close to him as possible. But Grace knows her presence is putting the entire Ferraro family in danger. Her monster of a brother will never let her go, but Vittorio has no intention of losing the woman whose shadow matches his own.

Praise for Shadow Keeper"Shadow Keeper is, in a word, a keeper! If you love hot men, sexy women, the good guys winning against the bad guys, love (both sweet and ultra steamy), and family that stands together, then this book is all that and even more."--Fresh Fiction

This is book four in Feehan’s Shadow series. I find this series very fascinating. This is my favorite Feehan series at the moment. Riding shadows is just so unique and unlike anything paranormal that I’ve read. I didn’t really care for the second book in the series, but I have really enjoyed the other three.

Vittorio Ferraro is a shadow rider. He rides shadows to deliver justice when the system has fails. He is not judge, jury, and executioner. He is only executioner. So he’s basically a murderer, but it’s all for a good cause yo. But really, there is an extensive process that a person(s) must go through to get help from the Ferraro family. Vittorio has never doubted that what he does is right until Grace Murphy explodes into his life. Like really explodes out of the trunk of a car, then takes a bullet meant for him.

Grace was such an amazing heroine. The life she has lived up to the point she meets Vittorio has been horrific. She has no friends and no family. Her foster brother doesn’t count as family because it is he that has isolated her from everyone. If she lets someone new into her life, he kills them. It’s as simple as that. Grace learned a lot time ago not to get close to people. Then comes Vittorio who just won’t let her go.

There are two things that Vittorio is worried about telling Grace. The first one is that he needs to be the dominant in their relationship. Not just dominant in bed, but dominant in life. The second is that he’s a shadow rider. He’s never thought of himself as a man that murders people until Grace comes into his life. Now he wonders if that is what will separate them for good.

Grace isnt’t a pushover by any means. She might accept Vittorio’s dominance, but when she’s running her company, she is a ballbuster. I loved that about her. She is strong enough to admit that she loved Vittorio taking care of her. That didn’t make her less of a woman. It just made her a woman that was perfect for Vittorio.

The whole storyline with her foster brother actually made the whole book better. I really enjoyed it (well, not the murdering of innocent people part). I just enjoyed Grace’s reaction to the Ferraro family. Overall, I was very satisfied with this book.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Shadow Riders

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,