Series: Sea Haven

Joint Review: Fire Bound by Christine Feehan

Posted April 27, 2016 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Joint Review: Fire Bound by Christine FeehanReviewer: Holly and Casee
Fire Bound by Christine Feehan
Series: Sisters of the Heart #5, Sea Haven
Also in this series: Water Bound, Spirit Bound, Air Bound, Earth Bound, Turbulent Sea, Hidden Currents, Magic in the Wind, The Twilight Before Christmas, Oceans of Fire, Dangerous Tides, Safe Harbor, Turbulent Sea, Hidden Currents
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: April 26th 2016
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Paranormal, General, Contemporary Women, Fantasy
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

The #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Sea Haven novels returns to the circle of the six sisters of the heart, bound by the elements—and to one who possesses the power to inflame the most dangerous passions of all.  Flame-haired Lissa Piner is a skilled glass blower whose delicate gift conceals a burning inner strength that can destroy as exquisitely as it can create. Commissioned to design chandeliers for a string of luxury hotels, her remarkable skills have taken her to Italy. But Lissa’s real mission there is a secret. For her entire life has been a lie, leading to a chance to avenge a terrible wrong.   Enlisted as her bodyguard is Casmir Prakenskii, a trained assassin living off the grid. In Lissa, he sees a kindred spirit—something unexpected and wicked, mysterious and sensual. But more than desire is about to bring them together: because both of their pasts cry out for revenge. And for two people with this many secrets, this much passion, and this many enemies, someone is bound to get burned.

Casee: I love the Sea Haven series.  I’ve read all the books she’s written but the Drake Sisters and Sisters of the Heart are my favorite.  Fire Bound was like no other Feehan book.  Mostly it’s the men that are killers and, as readers, we simply accept it.  They are trying to protect their woman, right? Lissa was unlike any heroine  that she’s written.  Lissa is a straight up killer.  It doesn’t matter that she’s doing it for revenge for the death of her family, it’s still murder.  Yet, I wasn’t horrified.  It was refreshing change from her normal heroines.

Holly:  The Sea Haven books are my favorites as well. Lissa was a great heroine. I liked that she was just as deadly as Casimir and she wasn’t portrayed as someone who needed rescuing. I was actually surprised at the number of risks she took and that he didn’t try to stop her.

Casee: I did love how Casimir was partner, not a dictator.  He didn’t “allow” Lissa to do what she needed to do.  He helped her, understood her, and was generally there for her.

Holly: No, he didn’t “allow” her to do anything. She made her choices and he reluctantly followed along.

I do feel like Feehan keeps writing the same love story again and again. Lissa was a different sort of heroine and Casimir and different hero in that he wasn’t as overbearing and chauvinistic as the others, but the romance itself felt like the same thing we’ve read in all the other books.

Casee: I do agree with you about the love story being the same.  How can she write different love stories when she’s written so many?  While their romance didn’t fall flat, it was the same as the other Prakenskii romances.

Holly: It felt the same as all the other Prakenskii romances because it was the same. Almost exactly.

Casee: You’re right all the Prakenskii romances are all the same.  Touch palms and you’re my mate, hear me roar.  Have lots of sex, the heroine objects, then realizes she’s in love with him.  Lissa accepted Casimir almost from the start.  She didn’t fight it.

Holly: I really liked that Lissa accepted Casimir right away. Neither of them really fought it. The conflicts were mostly external.

Casee: The sex was the same as always, which I skipped through.  I want the story, not the sex these days.  Most of her books are over 10 pages per sex scene and there are always more than one.

Holly: I didn’t read the sex scenes beyond the first, either. I see other readers complaining about the lack of sex in books, but I feel just the opposite. I’m tired of pages and pages of sex scenes when, more often than not, the story suffers for them.

This book cleans up some story-arcs that started early in the series. It was nice to get some closure and see some things come to an end.

Casee: It’s been such a long time since the first book.  What story-arcs did it clean up?

Holly: Lissa and Casimir going after the Russian’s who have been after the Prakenskii’s for so long. View Spoiler » Which makes sense since there’s only one book left in the series.

Casee:  I didn’t even think about that arc being over.  I’m really smart like that.  View Spoiler »

I was very surprised by the oldest brother and how things played out there.  I’m really looking forward to the last book, even though I will be the last.  I will be sad to see it to, but I feel like begging her not to try to drag it on.  It’s perfect the way it is.  I’ll always re-read this series.

Holly: I’m curious about the oldest brother and how that will play out. Lissa chewing him out made me laugh. I guess we’ll see what happens when he meets Blythe again.

Casee: What I’m curious to know is if Blythe even knows she’s been “mated” to a Prakenskii.

Holly: I have a feeling she knows she mated, but I doubt she knows they’re married.

Heather on Goodreads said Feehan plans to continue the Sea Haven books (I haven’t bothered to look it up and confirm). I’ll be curious to see who and what that entails.

Casee: There are 29 Dark books.  I read them diligently because Dark Prince was the first paranormal/vampire book I ever read.  I don’t want the Sea Haven books to drag on like that.

Holly: I don’t want 27 books, but I’m not ready for the series to end.

Overall, I really liked Lissa and Casimir together, but it felt like a copy of all the other books. I’m not saying I didn’t like it, just that I felt like it was a story I’d already read.

Casee: I think it was a copy of all the other books too, with the exception on Ilya’s. Eventually you run out of material when you’re writing the same thing over and over.

Holly: I heart Ilya. He’s my favorite.

Casee: I do think this was my favorite of the series just because Lissa was so unique.

Holly: Water Bound is still my favorite of the series. Ricky is the best heroine Feehan has ever written, IMO. Lissa was unique and I liked her, but she doesn’t top Ricky.

I’m going to give this 3.75 out of 5.

Casee: I’m giving it a 3.5 our of 5.

Final Grades:

Holly: 3.75 out of 5
Casee: 3.5 out of 5

The Series

Water Bound
Spirit Bound
Air Bound
Earth Bound
Fire Bound

three-half-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


Review: Air Bound by Christine Feehan

Posted May 13, 2014 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Air Bound by Christine FeehanReviewer: Holly
Air Bound by Christine Feehan
Series: Sisters of the Heart #3, Sea Haven
Also in this series: Water Bound, Spirit Bound, Earth Bound, Fire Bound, Turbulent Sea, Hidden Currents, Magic in the Wind, The Twilight Before Christmas, Oceans of Fire, Dangerous Tides, Safe Harbor, Turbulent Sea, Hidden Currents
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: May 27th 2014
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Paranormal, General
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

The sisters of Sea Haven, bound by the heart and the magical power of the elements, return in this soul-stirring new novel from Christine Feehan,  #1 New York Times bestselling author of Spirit Bound...
Air Bound
For as far back as she can remember, Airiana Ridell has always been aware of her extraordinary gift. She can intuit revealing and illuminating “patterns” in the air around her—whether in a spray of mist, in billowing clouds, or in the dense swirls of an impenetrable fog. Her abilities led to her placement in a secret government training facility when she was a child, but everything changed after her mother was murdered.
Airiana fled the program, but she couldn’t outrun the desperate members of a shadowy cabal who want her, who need her, who will kill to get her. Kidnapped and held aboard a ship bound for dangerous seas, her only chance for rescue is Maxim Prakenskii. He has his reasons for helping her, but he isn’t about to reveal them to Airiana. Not yet. Not as the two are drawn together as moth to flame. Not when there are so many secrets yet untold that could shatter the quaint community of Sea Haven and all who reside there…

I’ve been anxiously awaiting this book since the last, Spirit Bound, was released in 2011. I have no idea why Feehan goes so long between releases in this series. She’s quick to put out Dark books. I wish she’d focus more here since I feel this is the stronger of the two series.

Airi was a genius child who was also able to manipulate air and see patters in the air around her.  She was recruited to work in a secret government program from the time she was very young through high school. When her mother was murdered she fled the program, and found refuge with her sisters of the heart – four beautiful women who all shared gifts similar to hers. When men show up on their farm intent on capturing her, she tries her best to get away, until she realizes she’s putting her sisters in danger. Still, the last thing she expected was to meet someone else who can manipulate air the way she can – especially when that man is beautiful and deadly. She recognizes him as the brother of one sister’s husband, but his shadowy past and dark aura don’t do him any favors. Especially since he’s the one kidnapping her…

Maxim Prakenskii is just doing a job – he’s taking Airiana to meet her father, someone who claims he needs her help. It isn’t long before he realizes he made a huge mistake, however. Airi is nothing like he expected. He knows if he delivers her into the hands of her father – or any of the others looking to exploit her mind – it will be the end of her. So instead he decides to protect her. But protection comes in all forms and he knows staying with him could be the most dangerous thing for her – which is too bad since he can’t seem to let her go.

I absolutely adored the first book, Water Bound, and I had similar happy feelings while reading this one. Airiana and Maxim were a solid couple and the story was fast-paced and exciting. Non-stop action from page one. Though the plot was tense there was a surprising amount of humor. I actually laughed out loud a couple times.

This was a good reminder why I read Feehan. When she hits, she hits big and Air Bound landed out of the park.

4.25 out of 5

The Series:

Water Bound
Spirit Bound
Air Bound
Earth Bound

This book is available from Jove. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

four-half-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Lightning Review: Spirit Bound by Christine Feehan

Posted December 5, 2013 by Holly in Reviews | 3 Comments

Lightning Review: Spirit Bound by Christine FeehanReviewer: Holly
Spirit Bound by Christine Feehan
Series: Sisters of the Heart #2, Sea Haven
Also in this series: Water Bound, Air Bound, Earth Bound, Fire Bound, Turbulent Sea, Hidden Currents, Magic in the Wind, The Twilight Before Christmas, Oceans of Fire, Dangerous Tides, Safe Harbor, Turbulent Sea, Hidden Currents
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: December 27th 2011
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Paranormal, General
Pages: 416
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Christine Feehan comes her stirring new novel in a magical “series of six sisters not of flesh and blood but of the heart…”*

Lethal undercover agent Stefan Prakenskii knew a thousand ways to kills a man—and twice as many ways to pleasure a woman. That’s what made him look forward to his new mission: arrive in the coastal town of Sea Haven and insinuate himself in the life of an elusive beauty who had mysterious ties to his past, and a link to a dangerously seductive, and equally elusive master criminal who wanted only one thing: to possess her.

Judith Henderson was an artist on the rise—an ethereal, and haunted woman whose own picture-perfect beauty stirred the souls of two men who have made her their obsession. For years she has been waiting for someone to come and unlock the passion and fire within her—waiting for the right man to surrender it to. But only one man can survive her secrets, and the shadow she has cast over both their lives.

Feehan’s Drake Sisters series has long been a favorite. I try to re-read them at least once a year. When she announced she was writing a spin-off series I was elated. This is the second book in the new series. It had been awhile since I read the first book, Water Bound, and I’d forgotten some of the details. This one stands alone well.

Judith made a mistake as a young woman and fell in love with the wrong man. As a result her brother was tortured and killed. She’s carried around a lot of grief and guilt ever since. Stefan Prakenskii is a covert government agent who has been trying to get Judith’s ex-boyfriend. He believes she is the key to getting to him, so he goes to Sea Haven undercover hoping she’ll lead him closer to his target. Almost immediately Stefan realizes he wants Judith for himself, not because of some undercover operation. She’s slow to trust, but he’s determined to win her over.

I enjoy the way Feehan writes her heroes. They’re always alpha and often a bit over-bearing, but they love their women wholeheartedly. It’s hard not to love a man who wants nothing more than the happiness of his woman. Aside from the romance, which was done well, I really enjoyed the relationship Judith had with her sisters. Though they weren’t related by blood, they were true sisters of the heart. That came across well.

A very gripping novel. Not quite as good as the first, but still a stellar story. I really wish the 3rd book was out already.

4.25 out of 5

This book is available from Jove. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

four-stars

3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Series Review: The Drake Sisters by Christine Feehan

Posted December 20, 2010 by Holly in Reviews | 2 Comments

Series Review: The Drake Sisters by Christine FeehanReviewer: Holly
Magic in the Wind by Christine Feehan
Series: Drake Sisters #1, Sea Haven
Also in this series: Turbulent Sea, Hidden Currents, Water Bound, Spirit Bound, Air Bound, Fire Bound
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: September 27th 2005
Genres: Fiction, Romance, General
Pages: 112
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

First in the Drake Sisters series from the "reigning queen of the paranormal romance"--#1 New York Times bestselling author of the Carpathian and Sea Haven novels.
The story of Sarah, the eldest of the extraordinary—and magical—Drake sisters, now rewritten and expanded, in this very special collector’s edition…

“Sarah Drake has come home.” Ever since Damon Wilder sought refuge in Sea Haven, he’s heard the same breathless rumor pass the lips of nearly every local in the sleepy coastal town. Even the wind seems to whisper her name—a reverie so powerfully suggestive that it carries the curious Damon to Sarah’s clifftop home, and seeks to shelter him there.
But Damon has not arrived alone. A killer has tracked him to Sea Haven, and into the shadows of Drake House. But Sarah has her own secrets, and danger—as well as a desire more urgent than either has ever known—is just a whisper away…
Magic in the Wind previously appeared in Lover Beware.
Christine Feehan is the author of Dark Wolf, Dark Lycan, Air Bound, Leopard's Prey, Samurai Game, and numerous other bestselling novels.
From the Paperback edition.

Holly‘s review of The Drake Sisters series by Christine Feehan (books 1-7)

I recently re-read the Drake Sisters series by Christine Feehan. I have a love/hate relationship with this series. The sisters are amazing to read about. I adore their relationship with each other and the paranormal elements (they’re all psychic in one way or another). But there are things I hate, namely the heroes. I hate how controlling and quasi-abusive they are. Only..I don’t hate them. At heart, they really only want what’s best for their woman. Which is kind of hot. But the way they talk to them sometimes is just..wrong. I can’t explain it, except to say I hate how much I love them.

Magic in the Wind (Book 1)

New York Times bestselling author Christine Feehan presents the story of Sarah, the eldest of the extraordinary-and magical-Drake sisters, now rewritten and expanded, in this very special collector’s edition.

“Sarah Drake has come home.” Ever since Damon Wilder sought refuge in Sea Haven, he’s heard the same breathless rumor pass the lips of nearly every local in the sleepy coastal town. Even the wind seems to whisper her name-a reverie so powerfully suggestive that it carries the curious Damon to Sarah’s cliff-top home, and seeks to shelter him there. But Damon has not arrived alone. A killer has tracked him to Sea Haven, and into the shadows of Drake House. But Sarah has her own secrets, and danger-as well as a desire more urgent than either has ever known-is just a whisper away…

It’s been many years since I re-read this novella. I remember liking it, but not really loving it, the first time around. I have to say that’s still the way I feel. Though I enjoyed quite a bit of it, I didn’t absolutely adore it.

One of my biggest problems was the inconsistent way Sarah acted. she was supposedly a bodyguard, one of the best in security, but she often deferred to Damon, the man she was supposed to be protecting. Similarly, Damon knew he needed protection but refused to accept it from Sarah, because she was a woman.

Otherwise I did enjoy their relationship. They worked well together outside of their professions. I liked that both Damon and Sarah really cared about the other, wanting them to be happy and needing to be near one another.

The suspense plot was just ok. Considering the page count, I suppose I can’t complain too much, but I would have liked to see things explored a bit more on that end.

3.5 out of 5

This book is available from Jove. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

Twilight Before Christmas (Book 2)

Bestselling novelist Kate Drake is one of seven sisters gifted with amazing powers of witchcraft. Returning home in time for her northern California town’s annual Christmas pageant, Kate catches the spirit of the season and decides to open a bookstore in a charming but run-down historic mill. Decorated former U.S. Army Ranger Matt Granite, now a local contractor, doesn’t mind working in the undeniably eerie house — not if it means getting closer to Kate. There’s something about the quiet, sensual woman that powerfully attracts him.

 

When an earthquake cracks the mill’s foundation and reveals a burial crypt, Kate senses that a centuries-old evil has been unleashed?and that it’s coming after her. Though Matt vows to guard her from dusk till dawn, Kate knows she will have to summon all of her and her sisters’ powers to battle the darkness threatening to destroy both Christmas and the gift of soul-searing passion her hometown hero wants her to keep forever….

I only re-read the Drake story in this collection this time around. I do plan to re-read the other novella soon, though. I can’t remember my feelings about this book the first time around, but I really enjoyed it the second time.

I love that Sarah and Matt have both been lusting after each other from afar for years, without the other realizing it. I also loved that each of them felt clumsy and silly around the other. It was cute watching Matt turn red and Kate stumble along.

The storyline was one I enjoyed as well. I like watching the sisters come together to fight evil, especially when it’s really difficult for them. Yes, yes, I’m a sadist. I know.

4 out of 5

This book is available from Jove. You can buy it here or here e-format.

Oceans of Fire (Book 3)

The third daughter of seven in a magical bloodline, Abigail Drake was born with an affinity for water and a strong bond with dolphins. After she witnesses a murder, she flees right into the arms of Alexsandr Volstov. On the trail of stolen Russian antiquities, he’s a relentless Interpol agent–and the man who once broke Abby’s heart. But he isn’t going to let the only woman he’s ever loved slip away again.

This is my least favorite book in the series. I always start off hating the hero, Aleksandr, for what he did to the heroine, Abbey, in the past. Then I start hating Abbey for pushing him away and making up lame excuses for why they can’t be together.

I understand her being scared of his ruthless streak, but why continue to sleep with him, lean on him and lead him on? It isn’t until later in the book that we realize why Aleksandr did what he did to protect Abbey, so most of the book they both annoyed me.

There are some good parts. I love the dolphins and the interactions between the sisters. I also love the glimpses of Jackson and Ilya.

The main relationship frustrates me. In the end, I’m not sure I fully believed in their HEA.

3.75 out of 5

This book is available from Jove. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

Dangerous Tides (Drake Sisters, Book 4)Dangerous Tides (Book 4)

Dr. Libby Drake is sensible and practical. To her more adventurous sisters, she’s always been the “good girl”. Certainly not the kind to attract the attention of a genius like Ty Derrick—until a tragic accident leaves the handsome biochemist at her mercy.

 

Acting on her uncanny ability to heal, she stirs in the reawakened Ty his own long-suppressed desires for the woman who saved his life. But he’s not the only man with designs on Libby Drake. Her miraculous and selfless power has also captured the attention of a dangerously influential admirer. He’s pursuing the elementally gifted beauty for his own wicked purpose. And he’s willing to go to deadly lengths to make it happen.

This book drives me absolutely insane. Ty annoyed the every lovin’ crap out of me. I have no idea why Libby liked him so much. He was cynical and overbearing in the worst possible way. He’s a skeptic – a man of science – and doesn’t believe Libby and her sisters really have magical “powers”. That’s fine – I’m somewhat of a skeptic myself. But he constantly belittled Libby, putting her down and making her feel bad about herself. And yet she stayed with him – which makes her just as much of a tool as him.

Plus, this is the book I call The Great Editing Fail Book. There are so many little inconsistencies and mistakes I wanted to pull my hair out. Libby is wearing a skirt walking down the stairs, but jeans walking up it. Jonas isn’t driving a Jeep, but two minutes later it’s a cruiser. Things like that drive me nuts and this book was riddled with them.

I do love the interaction between the sisters, though.

2 out of 5

This book is available from Jove. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

Safe Harbor (Drake Sisters, Book 5)Safe Harbor (Book 5)

One of seven daughters in a line of extraordinary women, Hannah Drake has been the elusive object of affection for Jonas Harrington for as long as the young man can remember. If only the stunning super-model was driven by a passion other than her career. But Jonas isn’t the only one with desires for Hannah.

From the shadows has emerged a vengeful figure who stalks the beauty with one terrifying purpose: to strip her of all she is and destroy her. Only one man was destined as her protection. Now, out of a storm of danger, Jonas must guide the woman he loves from a sinister darkness that threatens not only Hannah, but the entire Drake family.

I’m starting to think re-reading this series back-to-back isn’t a very good idea. The things I loved about it the first time around are being overshadowed by inconsistencies in the storytelling, poor editing and the caveman tactics of the heroes.

Those issues aside, this is a hard book to read at times. Hannah has always been the most beautiful of the Drake sisters. She makes her living as a supermodel. Getting stabbed 20-something times and almost dying was a very traumatic experience for her, especially since it ruined her beauty. I don’t mean to imply that she’s shallow, but it was a hard thing for her to deal with.

I liked the way Jonas supported her through her recovery. It was good that they understood each other so well, and were able to offer each other comfort and support. But prior to that he really skirted the line of verbal abuse. He constantly put her down and made fun of her. His reasons for doing so were mostly alturistic – he understand that Hannah was only a model because she wanted to please her sisters, not because she truly enjoyed it. He wanted her to see that she was more than just a pretty face. Plus, he was concerned about her having an eating disorder.

But good intentions pave the road to hell, and Jonas’ good intentions didn’t make up for the fact that he was a jerk to Hannah. What was supposed to feel like sexual tension and verbal foreplay between the two was ruined by how terrible he made Hannah feel about herself. She truly thought Jonas looked at her as nothing more than a Playboy centerfold. Her already low self-esteem feel even farther after her attack. This is where Jonas redeemed himself.

I did think parts of her recovery weren’t dealt with. More of the inconsistencies from above. She was physically in pain, yet able to make-out with Jonas – with him lying on top of her. She could barely walk, yet could stand for long periods on her balcony. Things like that.

The major issue I had with her recovery was her eating-disorder. It’s mentioned several times in previous books that she has an eating disorder, and it’s mentioned in this one that she doesn’t eat. But that isn’t ever addressed. Other than a few throw-away thoughts or comments from Jonas and Hannah about it, it was completely brushed aside. Eating disorders are a very serious thing. The recovery is long and hard, yet Hannah was just magically cured?

I think Feehan could have explored that aspect more and backed off on the suspense plot a bit, which I found rather boring.

Aside from my issues, I enjoy the emotional aspects of the book. The way the sisters come together to support one another is fabulous. Though Hannah and Jonas both frustrated me at times, I was emotionally invested in both.

4 out of 5

This book is available from Jove. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

Turbulent Sea (Drake Sisters, Book 6) Turbulent Sea (Book 6)

The star: Joley Drake was born with a legacy of unexpected magical gifts, but it was the gift of singing that made her an overnight sensation—a rock and roll goddess trapped by fame, fortune, and ambition. Heated by the flush of success, Joley could have any man she wanted. But there’s only man who can give her what she really needs.

 

The bodyguard: Ilya Prakenskii, cool, inscrutable, dangerously sexy, and working in the shadow of his infamous reputation—that of a secret Russian hit man on the payroll of a notorious mobster. He’s the last man Joley should get close to, yet when her life is threatened on tour she has nowhere left to turn. But in the seductive safe keep of Ilya’s embrace, is Joley really as secure as she imagines?

This was the book that I started my re-read with. There was a scene I wanted to read and I only meant to skim through it – then found myself full immersed. This book has always been my favorite of them. Until this last re-read.

I still liked this book, but the small inconsistencies bothered me a lot more this time around. The way Joley kept getting distracted in the beginning bothered me. It seemed liked her safety was important some of the time, but mostly a non-issue. Considering there’s someone trying to kill her and Ilya is her bodyguard, that didn’t jive for me. I was also frustrated by how easily she “forgot” about the young girl who went missing in the first chapter. She gets agitated about it and vows to question the band members and the crew, but weeks – and several cities (she’s on tour) – later, nothing has been done.

I still enjoyed their relationship. Ilya and Joley were great together. Joley’s resisting frustrated me some, but I understand her reasons. I loved Ilya the first time around and that didn’t change with the re-read. He’s fully invested in Joley right from the beginning. He knows she’s the one for him and he doesn’t waver from that. He only wants what’s best for her – mentally, physically and emotionally. I love how he supports her and stands behind her.

While I enjoyed this, I would have to say Hidden Currents was better.

4.25 out of 5

This book is available from Jove. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

Hidden Currents (Drake Sisters, Book 7)Hidden Currents (Book 7)

From afar, Sheriff Jackson Deveau has always loved Elle Drake, the youngest telepath of seven sisters. After a long time away she’s finally returning home to the small coastal village of Sea Haven. But someone has been following Elle, someone who doesn’t want her to make it back. And when Elle fails to arrive, her disappearance strikes fear in the hearts of everyone who loves her. Now it’s left to Jackson to uncover the mystery of Elle’s vanishing, and rescue her from an unseen danger. But Sea Haven is no longer safe for anyone, and it’ll take the powers of all the Drake sisters and their men to survive the coming storm.

This is Elle’s book, the 7th and final sister. It’s hard to read in the beginning, because Elle has been kidnapped. Feehan is very graphic about her abuse at the hands of her kidnapper for the first 100 pages or so. After that it settles down into the meat of the romance. I adore those parts. There are many things that bother me, though. Like Elle’s physical recovery. Within days she’s completely healed? Really? She spends a month being raped and tortured, but doesn’t even need to see a doctor or go to a hospital? Really? I could pull my hair out just thinking about it.

In previous books, I was unsure about Jackson. He seemed closed off and..almost cold. I knew there was something in his past that had scarred him, but I had no idea what. Finding out really just added another layer of depth to his relationship with Elle. I expected him to be domineering and cold, but instead he was tender and sensitive, staying strong for Elle and yet giving her space.

Elle was a very strong woman. Though she suffered at the hands of a monster for months, she did her best to work through her pain and trauma. She didn’t just lie down and die. Her need for Jackson scared her at first, because she was afraid to rely on him completely, but after awhile she came to value him and appreciated that he was constantly with her.

The connection between Elle and Jackson was strong right from the beginning. Watching them heal together and learn to trust one another was the more powerful part of the story, I think. In the face of their relationship, the drama of Elle’s capture and subsequent torture took a back seat. Therefore I don’t think Stavros seemed as much of a threat as was intended. I was so focused on Elle and Jackson that Stavros seemed more an annoyance than anything.

Definitely the best of the series. I was really surprised at the direction she took the story. Although tough to read at times (because of the content) overall it was very well done. Kudos to Feehan for closing out the series in such a great way.

4.5 out of 5

This book is available from Jove. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

Overall I’m pretty satisfied with the series as a whole. There are many things that bother me, but there are just as many things that I love. If you enjoy this type of paranormal romance (psychic powers), I recommend this series.

four-stars

2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Review: Water Bound by Christine Feehan

Posted August 5, 2010 by Holly in Reviews | 6 Comments

Review: Water Bound by Christine FeehanWater Bound by Christine Feehan
Series: Sea Haven #8, Sisters of the Heart #1
Also in this series: Turbulent Sea, Hidden Currents, Magic in the Wind, The Twilight Before Christmas, Oceans of Fire, Dangerous Tides, Safe Harbor, Turbulent Sea, Hidden Currents, Spirit Bound, Air Bound, Fire Bound, Earth Bound
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: July 27th 2010
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Paranormal, General
Pages: 480
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

For Sid, the last thing he remembered was being enlisted to protect a vulnerable young woman in the coastal town of Sea Haven. Then, as if in some nightmare, the mysteriously sexy bodyguard was lost in the swirling currents of the ocean, and sucked deeper into the nothingness of a freezing black eddy. Just as quickly, just as miraculously, he was saved—pulled ashore by a beautiful stranger.

Her name is Rikki, a sea-urchin diver in Sea Haven. She always felt an affinity for the ocean, and the seductive pull of the tides. And now, for the enigmatic man she rescued. But soon they will be bound by something even stronger—each other’s tantalizing secrets which will engulf them both in a whirlpool of dizzying passion and inescapable danger.

When I read last year that Feehan was planning a spin-off of the Drake Sisters series, I was both excited and apprehensive. I adored all 7 books and was sad to leave the world behind, but I wasn’t sure starting another series set in the same town was going to work.

I’m happy to report that it worked very well. It was lovely returning to Sea Haven and I very much enjoyed the new characters introduced here, as well as the glimpses we had of the previous characters. This book picks up right where Hidden Currents left off. I think this can be read as a standalone, but the characters – especially Lev – have more depth if you read Hidden Currents first.

I loved Lev. He decided he wanted a new life, one that included Rikki, and that was that. There was no waffling about his feelings for her or attempts to hold himself away from her. He did everything possible to care for her. Because she’s autistic (very high-functioning) she needed things other people wouldn’t. Lev wasn’t discouraged by that. Nor did he treat her as if she were inferior to him in some way, or less intelligent than she was. To him, Rikki was a woman, his woman, and that’s how he treated her.

I really loved that he wanted a fresh start. He was practical about his past, though he did feel guilt over many of the things he’d seen and done. He wanted to settle down with Rikki and let her be his family. It was lovely seeing the way he cared for her and tried to make both their dreams become reality.

Rikki’s autism was very well written. She was able to do almost everything someone without her disorder could, but she had trouble with change, and lights and sounds bothered her. As a result she was a solitary creature. One with a need for a very controlled environment. She didn’t allow other people into her home and she had strict routines she had to follow. But she wasn’t someone I felt sorry for, or thought of as challenged in anyway. If anything, I just thought of her as extremely OCD and somewhat of a control freak, which worked well within the story.

At times the novel was a bit dry. Feehan went a little overboard in explaining the technical aspects of diving, but that’s mostly in the beginning and went a long way toward helping the reader understand Rikki’s character, so I let it go.

It will be interesting to see how things go with the Drakes and Lev (The Drake sisters, with the exception of Hannah, were all on their honeymoons) in later books, especially since he was there and saw the torture Elle suffered in Hidden Currents.

4.75 out of 5

The Series:

Water Bound
Spirit Bound
Air Bound
Earth Bound
Fire Bound

This book is available from Berkley. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

five-stars

6 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,