Series: Rock Kiss

Review: Rock Wedding by Nalini Singh

Posted September 20, 2016 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Rock Wedding by Nalini SinghReviewer: Holly
Rock Wedding by Nalini Singh
Series: Rock Kiss #4
Also in this series: Rock Addiciton, Rock Courtship, Rock Addiction, Rock Courtship, Rock Hard, Rock Hard, Rock Redemption, Rock Redemption, Rock Redemption, Rock Addiction, Rock Courtship, Rock Hard, Rock Wedding, Rock Wedding

Publication Date: July 19th 2016
Pages: 345
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh continues her Rock Kiss series with a hot, sweet, emotional contemporary romance about love and forgiveness…
After a lifetime of longing for a real family, Sarah Smith thought she’d finally found her home with rock star Abe Bellamy, even if she knew Abe didn’t love her the way she loved him. But their brief relationship, filled with tragedy and heartache, nearly destroyed her. Alone, emotions in turmoil, and already shaky self-esteem shattered, Sarah struggles to pick up the pieces in the wake of their divorce.
Abe knows he’s to blame for the end of his marriage. Caught in a web of painful memories, he pushed away the best thing in his life – the sexy, smart woman he adores – breaking them both in the process. Then fate throws him a second chance to get things right, to prove to Sarah that she means everything to him. Abe desperately wants that second chance at love...even if he knows he doesn’t deserve it.
But can he convince Sarah – now strong and independent without him – to risk her wounded heart one more time?

Heartbreak and forgiveness are at the center of this tale, the final(ish) installment in Singh’s contemporary Rock Kiss series. Abe and Sarah married quickly and loved deeply, but Abe’s addiction to drugs and alcohol caused him to treat Sarah poorly, eventually pushing her to the point she left him. Now Abe is clean and he wants his wife back. Sarah has had enough of heartbreak and insecurity and isn’t interested in falling into Abe again. Yet she can’t deny this Abe is the one she fell in love with all those years ago, and she finds him hard to resist. Abe is willing to do anything to get Sarah back, even take it slow and do things her way. While I enjoyed this, it wasn’t my favorite of the series.

I think part of my problem with this book was the way Sarah’s growth from young, fragile girl into strong, hear-me-roar woman was described. Although I admit she certainly seemed to come into her own, and had no trouble holding her own with Abe, I felt like it was incongruous with her situation in the previous book. Not only was she in an abusive relationship not weeks before she and Abe reconciled, but she made excuses for her ex and seemed to hold no ill will against him. Not that she was anxious to repair the relationship or anything, but she seemed to get over her trauma rather quickly.

That isn’t to imply I didn’t enjoy the story, or find it both heartwrenching and heartwarming. I truly fell into Abe and Sarah, and really pulled for them to come out in a strong, healthy marriage that was built to last. But the connection I felt to some of the previous characters was missing here.

3.75 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Review: Rock Wedding by Nalini Singh

Posted July 26, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Rock Wedding by Nalini SinghReviewer: Rowena
Rock Wedding by Nalini Singh
Series: Rock Kiss #4
Also in this series: Rock Addiciton, Rock Courtship, Rock Addiction, Rock Courtship, Rock Hard, Rock Hard, Rock Redemption, Rock Redemption, Rock Redemption, Rock Addiction, Rock Courtship, Rock Hard, Rock Wedding, Rock Wedding
Published by Self-Published
Publication Date: July 19, 2016
Pages: 345
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh continues her Rock Kiss series with a hot, sweet, emotional contemporary romance about love and forgiveness…

After a lifetime of longing for a real family, Sarah Smith thought she’d finally found her home with rock star Abe Bellamy, even if she knew Abe didn’t love her the way she loved him. But their brief relationship, filled with tragedy and heartache, nearly destroyed her. Alone, emotions in turmoil, and already shaky self-esteem shattered, Sarah struggles to pick up the pieces in the wake of their divorce.

Abe knows he’s to blame for the end of his marriage. Caught in a web of painful memories, he pushed away the best thing in his life – the sexy, smart woman he adores – breaking them both in the process. Then fate throws him a second chance to get things right, to prove to Sarah that she means everything to him. Abe desperately wants that second chance at love...even if he knows he doesn’t deserve it.

But can he convince Sarah – now strong and independent without him – to risk her wounded heart one more time?

Fans of this series will remember Abe and Sara from throughout the other books. Their book starts after they got married and then divorced. If you’ve read the other books, you’ll remember that Abe is the band member with a substance abuse problem. He was a terrible husband to Sara and he ends up driving Sara away and is surprised when she files for divorce.

Abe is clean and sober and still in love with his ex-wife. She’s moved on to someone new but when that someone new hurts her, Abe puts himself back into her life. He wants to fix their broken relationship and he wants to prove to her and to himself that he’s not the same guy that she was married to. He wants to make up for all of the asshole things he did to her when they were married.

He wants his wife back.

Sarah isn’t the same woman she was when she was married to Abe and she’s glad for it. She’s learned a lot about herself and about life since she left Abe. She knows that Abe didn’t love her enough to keep her, to fight for her and she knows that she deserves better than the marriage they once had.

Watching these two fall in love all over again was at times frustrating but for the most part, I really liked it. I liked seeing them learn each other again and liking the changes they saw in the other. Abe’s come a long way from the first time we ‘met’ him in the books before this one and I really liked seeing him come into his own. I liked seeing him fall head over heels in love with the woman Sarah became and I loved seeing him just want to be around her.

Sarah was a strong heroine and she overcame a lot to really turn her life around. She went from being that lost little girl who loved her husband but was stuck with him because he funded her life and she became an independent woman who supported herself and didn’t need a man to pay for anything. I did get frustrated with how long it took for her to open up to Abe again, to trust him but I understood why she was the way that she was with him. Their marriage before hurt her and she knew that her love for Abe would completely destroy her again and it wasn’t something to take lightly but I was so glad when they finally got their shit together in the end.

Nalini Singh always does a fantastic job with the romance in her books and Abe and Sarah’s romance wasn’t any different. I loved how steamy their romance was and hot they were for each other. This book was filled to the brim with sweet scenes, laugh out loud scenes and a cast of characters I have come to love so freaking much. I loved seeing everyone from the band and being there for Fox and Molly’s wedding and then David and Thea’s. I’m even more excited for more Gabriel and Charlotte in the spinoff series.

This was a great way to end a series on a high note and I’m so glad that I read it.

Grade: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Rock Wedding by Nalini Singh

Posted July 20, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Rock Wedding by Nalini SinghReviewer: Tracy
Rock Wedding by Nalini Singh
Series: Rock Kiss #4
Also in this series: Rock Addiciton, Rock Courtship, Rock Addiction, Rock Courtship, Rock Hard, Rock Hard, Rock Redemption, Rock Redemption, Rock Redemption, Rock Addiction, Rock Courtship, Rock Hard, Rock Wedding, Rock Wedding
Published by Self-Published
Publication Date: July 19th 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

After a lifetime of longing for a real family, Sarah Smith thought she’d finally found her home with rock star Abe Bellamy, even if she knew Abe didn’t love her the way she loved him. But their brief relationship, filled with tragedy and heartache, nearly destroyed her. Alone, emotions in turmoil, and already shaky self-esteem shattered, Sarah struggles to pick up the pieces in the wake of their divorce.

Abe knows he’s to blame for the end of his marriage. Caught in a web of painful memories, he pushed away the best thing in his life – the sexy, smart woman he adores – breaking them both in the process. Then fate throws him a second chance to get things right, to prove to Sarah that she means everything to him. Abe desperately wants that second chance at love...even if he knows he doesn’t deserve it.

But can he convince Sarah – now strong and independent without him – to risk her wounded heart one more time?

Sarah was married to Abe of the band Schoolboy Choir but they ended up divorced.  She didn’t want to divorce Abe as he’s the only man she’s ever loved but with his drug addictions it made him a man that was impossible to live with.

After she left him she was helped by a man by the name of Jeremy Vance.  It seemed that he was a nice man and they eventually got together.  Jeremy wanted a child and asked Sarah to be the mother while she was in a low place.  She agreed and while she loved being pregnant the baby was stillborn.  Her grief over the death of her child broke up the relationship with Jeremy and she’s finally left all alone. She hates being alone but is learning to deal with it.  She’s now a business owner and doesn’t want to rely on anyone else for anything.

It’s been two years since her divorce from Abe when he comes back into her life with a vengeance.  He’s clean now and determined to make Sarah his wife again.  Even though Sarah never thought that Abe loved her he did – so much.  He was just afraid to show that love as he was afraid to lose her as he lost his little sister to cancer.  He now understands his demons and works through his issues rather than turning to drugs or alcohol.

Sarah is leery to let her heart be hurt again so she holds part of herself back from him.  When she finds herself pregnant again she is scared of what will happen with the baby but she’s also afraid that Abe will once again turn to the hurtful man he became when he was using.  Abe must show Sarah that she’s his drug of choice and he’s not going anywhere before she’ll let him completely back into her heart.

This was such a good story.  I loved seeing the different parts of Sarah and Abe’s relationship and how it grew after they had crashed and burned so badly.

At first I didn’t care for Sarah.  She seemed a bit whiney after she left Abe but I began to understand her better as the book went on.  Once I heard her back story I was a fan and ended up really liking her.

Abe was incredible.  He was such a good person but had left addiction cloud his mind and his judgment.  I loved that he got help and now wasn’t afraid to ask his bandmates or even Sarah for help when he needed it most.  He was not going back to using as he didn’t want to lose Sarah and he especially didn’t want to lose spending time with the baby when it came.  It took a strong man to admit his weaknesses and work through them.  After having seen his slow spiral downward in the previous books it was really nice to see the other side of the coin with him.

The story was so good.  It was heartbreaking for both Sarah and Abe, in different ways, and Singh wrote it so well.  I truly felt their anguish as well as their eventual happiness and felt like I was right there with the characters.  This second chance at love story is one you won’t want to miss.  If you haven’t read any of the other stories in the Rock Kiss series then get on that!  This is a wonderful series and can’t wait to read a few novellas of the band in the future.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Rock Redemption by Nalini Singh

Posted October 19, 2015 by Holly in Reviews | 3 Comments

Review: Rock Redemption by Nalini SinghReviewer: Holly
Rock Redemption by Nalini Singh
Series: Rock Kiss #3
Also in this series: Rock Addiciton, Rock Courtship, Rock Addiction, Rock Courtship, Rock Hard, Rock Hard, Rock Redemption, Rock Redemption, Rock Wedding, Rock Wedding, Rock Wedding

Publication Date: October 6, 2015
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

From New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh comes the next contemporary romance in the Rock Kiss series…

Kit Devigny could have loved rock guitarist Noah St. John. Their friendship burned with the promise of intense passion and searing tenderness…until the night Noah deliberately shattered her heart.

Noah knows he destroyed something precious the night he chose to betray Kit, but he’d rather she hate him than learn his darkest secret. All he has left is his music. It’s his saving grace, but it doesn’t silence the voices that keep him up at night. Chasing oblivion through endless one-night-stands, he earns a few hours’ sleep and his bad boy reputation.

When a media error sees Noah and Kit dubbed the new “it” couple, Kit discovers her chance at the role of a lifetime hinges on riding the media wave. Wanting—needing—to give Kit this, even if he can’t give her everything, Noah agrees to play the adoring boyfriend. Only the illusion is suddenly too real, too painful, too beautiful…and it may be too late for the redemption of Noah St. John.

Noah and Kit became good friends with the potential for more. After months of sharing jokes, their trials and tribulations and building a strong friendship, Kit thought they were ready to take things to the next level..until she walked in on him with another woman. Something he purposely set up. Devastated, she cut him out of her life and avoided him as much as possible for months. But when he calls her in the middle of the night and she realizes he’s in trouble, she can’t abandon him.

Noah often has bad nights, but he finally hits rock bottom and takes things a step too far..then makes it worse by calling Kit and confessing how much he cares for her. When he wakes up in her spare room the next morning, he finally admits – to himself at least – that he can’t stay away from her. He needs Kit in his life. To fix what he’s broken, he’s going to have to work harder than he ever has, but Kit is worth it. And the alternative – not having Kit in his life – isn’t worth it.

Kit knows she can’t walk away from Noah when he needs her, but she also can’t open her heart to him again. When they’re forced to act like a couple for publicity, she has to work double-time to guard her heart. Because though she was devastated the first time he hurt her, she knows she won’t survive another cut, especially now that she knows his secrets.

I wasn’t sure what to expect from Noah and Kit. We learned in Rock Addiction, book 1, how Noah betrayed Kit. What we didn’t learn – and I was dying to find out – is why Noah betrayed her. I expected this to be a dark and rather angsty book, based on the hints that were dropped in the earlier books about the situation and the way both Noah and Kit acted around each other and the other characters, and it was. While it could have become too heavy, I felt there was a good balance of humor to lighten it. This isn’t a fun, peppy book, but it didn’t drag or leave me feeling depressed.

I loved how Kit stood up for herself with Noah. She warned him early on she refused to be an emotional punching bag for him. Though she couldn’t walk away when they needed each other, she also wasn’t going to let him go hot and cold on her. My heart broke for Noah and the trauma he dealt with in his past, it was Kit’s refusal to be used by him that really stayed with me.

“I fucked up.” Raising his hands, he cupped her face, his smile fading as his throat moved. “It had nothing to do with you. I just took it out on you because… Because I knew you’d forgive me.”
Her eyes burned. “I love you,” she whispered and pressed her fingers to his lips when he would’ve spoken again. “I love you, but I won’t be an emotional punching bag.”

Noah’s issues were deep and heavy, and at times hard to read. Though Singh doesn’t get into the specifics very much, it’s still easy to see why he’s so messed up and how he keeps falling down. I loved his dedication and devotion to his music, the other band members and Kit. Especially Kit. His strength and determination to make changes in his life for here was commendable and lovely. Of course, there was no magic fix here. The trauma and fear he experienced was too ingrained in him to have it magically disappear. At the end I still thought he was beautifully broken…but he was healing. That was enough for me.

One of my favorite aspects of this series is the friendship between the bandmates. Yes, they make music together. But more, they’re a family. Like all families they have dramas, but also a lot of love.

This book is at times emotionally wrenching, sweet and hilarious. All in all, a very satisfying entry in the series. I can’t wait to see what Singh brings us next.

4.25 out of 5

 

 

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Rock Redemption by Nalini Singh

Posted October 15, 2015 by Rowena in Reviews | 4 Comments

Review: Rock Redemption by Nalini SinghReviewer: Rowena
Rock Redemption by Nalini Singh
Series: Rock Kiss #3
Also in this series: Rock Addiciton, Rock Courtship, Rock Addiction, Rock Courtship, Rock Hard, Rock Hard, Rock Redemption, Rock Redemption, Rock Addiction, Rock Courtship, Rock Hard, Rock Wedding, Rock Wedding, Rock Wedding
Published by Self-Published
Publication Date: October 6, 2015
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Kit Devigny could have loved rock guitarist Noah St. John. Their friendship burned with the promise of intense passion and searing tenderness…until the night Noah deliberately shattered her heart.

Noah knows he destroyed something precious the night he chose to betray Kit, but he’d rather she hate him than learn his darkest secret. All he has left is his music. It’s his saving grace, but it doesn’t silence the voices that keep him up at night. Chasing oblivion through endless one-night-stands, he earns a few hours’ sleep and his bad boy reputation.

When a media error sees Noah and Kit dubbed the new “it” couple, Kit discovers her chance at the role of a lifetime hinges on riding the media wave. Wanting—needing—to give Kit this, even if he can’t give her everything, Noah agrees to play the adoring boyfriend. Only the illusion is suddenly too real, too painful, too beautiful…and it may be too late for the redemption of Noah St. John.

Noah and Kit’s book…squee!

It feels like I’ve been waiting forever for this book but that can’t be the case because I just read Rock Hard earlier this year. Noah and Kit have been circling each other since Book 1 so it was good to finally get their story. They have history together and I was pretty anxious to find out what that history included.

Noah has secrets that he’s never told anyone before. These secrets have shaped the person that he thinks himself to be but it also shaped the way he lives his life. He doesn’t let himself get close to anyone and he parties too hard and sleeps hardly at all. This lifestyle was bound to catch up with him sooner or later and this book starts off with Noah’s life slowly unraveling.

Kit has been deeply hurt by the one guy that has made her feel more than she’s ever felt. Growing up with nannies instead of a family, Kit has learned early on that expectations lead to being hurt so she tries not to have any expectations for anyone, including her absent parents. When she decides that she wants to become a serious actress, she works really hard to become one. She worked several jobs to pay her bills while she pursued her dream of becoming an actress. It was while she was working at a diner that she met the boys of Schoolboy Choir. They were still trying to make a name for themselves so they all connected with each other and have been friends ever since.

Kit was closest to Noah. They struck up a friendship that just kept growing and growing until Kit was head over heels in love. She wanted everything with Noah and thought Noah felt the same way, only to find out in the most hurtful way that he did not. Kit has tried moving on but her heart hasn’t been in it. She still close with all of the members of the band though and so she still has to see Noah. When the band breaks after tour to go and do their own thing, Kit receives a call that has her running to be there for the one man that she should be keeping her distance from but Noah needs her and she can’t turn him away.

Seeing these two find their way back to each other and seeing them work through their issues first a part and then together made for such an emotional and yet thrilling read. This book was a lot darker than the other books but it was just as great. Nalini Singh shines at writing steamy romances with well rounded characters. Noah’s story broke my heart but I was so glad that Kit’s love helped him come to peace with his past.

It would have been nice to meet and see Noah’s sister get some page time. She was important to Noah so I would have liked to have ‘met’ her and see her interact with Noah and even Kit.

Overall, this book was good. It’s a solid story with a romance that broke my emotions down before building them right back up. Noah was a great hero (even when he was driving me crazy) and Kit was a solid heroine. I loved them both and was happy with their story. Now I can’t wait for Abe’s book. Dear Nalini Singh, please hurry! 🙂

Grade: 4.5 out of 5

This book is available from Nalini Singh. You can purchase it here. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,