Series: Psy/Changeling

Sunday Spotlight: Heart of Obsidian by Nalini Singh x2

Posted March 29, 2020 by Holly in Features, Giveaways | 3 Comments

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

Casee and I were discussing the Psy/Changeling series the other day and it reminded me how much I love this book Featured this as a group some time ago, but I’m bringing it back today because I love it so much.

Sunday Spotlight: Heart of Obsidian by Nalini Singh x2Heart of Obsidian by Nalini Singh
Series: Psy/Changeling #12
Also in this series: Mine to Possess, Hostage to Pleasure, The Magical Christmas Cat , Kiss of Snow, Tangle of Need, Slave to Sensation , Wild Invitation, Heart of Obsidian, Shield of Winter, Shield of Winter, Visions of Heat, Mine to Possess, Caressed By Ice, Branded by Fire, Blaze of Memory, Mine to Possess, Hostage to Pleasure, Hostage to Pleasure, Shards of Hope, Shards of Hope, Heart of Obsidian, Caressed By Ice, Branded by Fire, Blaze of Memory, Play of Passion, Allegiance of Honor, Kiss of Snow, Tangle of Need, Shield of Winter, Shards of Hope, Allegiance of Honor, Allegiance of Honor, Wild Embrace, Wild Embrace, Wild Embrace, Silver Silence, Silver Silence, Tangle of Need, Ocean Light, Ocean Light , Caressed By Ice, Wolf Rain
Publisher: Berkley Sensation
Publication Date: June 4, 2013
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 360
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: five-stars

Step into New York Times bestseller Nalini Singh’s explosive and shockingly passionate Psy-Changeling world…
A dangerous, volatile rebel, hands stained bloodred.
A woman whose very existence has been erased.
A love story so dark, it may shatter the world itself.
A deadly price that must be paid.
The day of reckoning is here.

Excerpt

Kaleb’s priorities and goals were murky in the beginnng of the series, but as time when on we saw there was more to him than we previously thought.

It was the greatest of ironies that the only person who had ever held him as if he mattered was the one person who did not need to hold him at all. If Sahara called, he would come. Always.

Sahara was the most important thing in the world to him, and he never faltered when it came to her.

[..]He rose to his feet and, placing his hands on the table, leaned toward her until she could’ve reached out and run her fingers along his freshly shaven jaw. “You are here,” he said in a tone that made her heart thump wildly against her ribs, “because you belong to me.”

They were both broken, and had issues.

[..]He sat on the edge with his back to her and his arms braced on his knees . . . and he remembered the seven years he had waited for her to come back, the countless days he’d stood on this terrace staring down at the gorge as the rational part of his mind tried to convince the obsessive madness that lived in him of her likely death.

The gorge, deep and without end, hadn’t existed until the first time he’d imagined her erased from existence.

I love how strong Kaleb’s determination to find Sahara was. How he continued to build a life for her, even though she’d been gone for so long.

“Who are you?”

“A caretaker,” he said, and it was a truth, if not everything.

Frown lines on her brow, her fingers flexing and clenching against his chest in a way that challenged his already unsteady control.

“Of this house?”

“Yes.” It was an anchor, a physical symbol of his search, of her.

“Who owns it?”

“You do.” He’d had it built according to specifications she’d outlined at fifteen, watched over it all the years of her captivity, using

On the surface, Kaleb seems to live in perfect Silence, but things are more complex than that.

“That,” Tatiana said, putting down the stylus, “is why we’d make an unbeatable team. Neither one of us has any flaws in our Silence.”

Kaleb thought of the woman who slept in the house he’d built for her, of the man with a broken neck who had burned to ash in a crematorium incinerator hours ago, and knew his Silence was far more complex than Tatiana could imagine.

Psy-Changeling

Psy-Changeling Trinity

Giveaway Alert

We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

Sunday Spotlight: March 2020

Have you read this series? What’s your favorite novel from the series to date? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About Nalini Singh

I've been writing as long as I can remember and all of my stories always held a thread of romance (even when I was writing about a prince who could shoot lasers out of his eyes). I love creating unique characters, love giving them happy endings and I even love the voices in my head. There's no other job I would rather be doing. In September 2002, when I got the call that Silhouette Desire wanted to buy my first book, Desert Warrior, it was a dream come true. I hope to continue living the dream until I keel over of old age on my keyboard.

I was born in Fiji and raised in New Zealand. I also spent three years living and working in Japan, during which time I took the chance to travel around Asia. I’m back in New Zealand now, but I’m always plotting new trips. If you’d like to see some of my travel snapshots, have a look at the Travel Diary page (updated every month).

So far, I've worked as a lawyer, a librarian, a candy factory general hand, a bank temp and an English teacher and not necessarily in that order. Some might call that inconsistency but I call it grist for the writer's mill.


Tagged: , , ,

Review: Wolf Rain by Nalini Singh (no spoilers)

Posted May 27, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Wolf Rain by Nalini Singh (no spoilers)Reviewer: Holly
Wolf Rain by Nalini Singh
Series: Psy/Changeling Trinity #3, Psy/Changeling #18
Also in this series: Silver Silence, Silver Silence, Silver Silence, Ocean Light, Ocean Light , Wolf Rain, Alpha Night, Mine to Possess, Hostage to Pleasure, The Magical Christmas Cat , Kiss of Snow, Tangle of Need, Slave to Sensation , Wild Invitation, Heart of Obsidian, Shield of Winter, Shield of Winter, Visions of Heat, Mine to Possess, Caressed By Ice, Branded by Fire, Blaze of Memory, Mine to Possess, Hostage to Pleasure, Hostage to Pleasure, Shards of Hope, Shards of Hope, Heart of Obsidian, Caressed By Ice, Branded by Fire, Blaze of Memory, Play of Passion, Allegiance of Honor, Kiss of Snow, Tangle of Need, Shield of Winter, Shards of Hope, Allegiance of Honor, Allegiance of Honor, Wild Embrace, Wild Embrace, Wild Embrace, Tangle of Need, Caressed By Ice
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: June 4, 2019
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance
Pages: 416
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars


New York Times
bestselling author Nalini Singh takes us on a new adventure in this next novel of the Psy-Changeling Trinity series…

The end of Silence was supposed to create a better world for future generations. But trust is broken, and the alliance between Psy, Changeling, and human is thin. The problems that led to Silence are back in full force. Because Silence fixed nothing, just hid the problems.

This time, the Psy have to find a real answer to their problems–if one exists. Or their race will soon go extinct in a cascade of violence. The answer begins with an empath who is attuned to monsters–and who is going to charm a wolf into loving her despite his own demons.

Wolf Rain by Nalini Singh, the 3rd book in the Psy/Changeling Trinity series, brings us back to Snow Dancer territory. I don’t want to give any spoilers, so this review is short.

Snow Dancer lieutenant Alexei is out on patrol when he feels something..off. After a bit of investigation he finds an Empath hidden away in a bunker inside Snow Dancer territory. A bunker he – and no one else – knew existed. Inside he finds Memory, a woman who has clearly been kept captive for some time. He helps her escape and takes her to the pack, but Memory is damaged. Alexei knows an E when he sees one, but Memory doesn’t behave like the other E’s he knows. Trying to discover who’s been holding her captive, while helping her heal is trying enough. He’s also dealing with the betrayal and loss of his brother, and he’s in no place to be in a relationship. Not even with a sexy E he can’t stop thinking about.

Wolf Rain is probably my favorite Psy-Changeling book since Heart of Obsidian. I loved Alexei and how he and Memory dealt with one another. Her trust in him was sweet, and I loved how they challenged each other. I did struggle a bit with the quick timeline of her recovery. I would have thought she’d need more time to deal with her past and the way she was held captive. I laughed out loud several times while reading, and my heart melted other times.

The mystery behind Memory’s Empath abilities and why she was held captive was really well done. I was drawn in from the start.

Nalini Singh is a master at pulling at my emotions. I laughed, I got teary eyed, my heart melted. Wolf Rain was a wonderful addition to an already wonderful series.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Psy-Changeling Trinity

Psy-Changeling

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Throwback Thursday Review: Caressed by Ice by Nalini Singh

Posted April 25, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 6 Comments

Throwback Thursday Review: Caressed by Ice by Nalini SinghReviewer: Holly
Caressed By Ice by Nalini Singh
Series: Psy/Changeling #3
Also in this series: Mine to Possess, Hostage to Pleasure, The Magical Christmas Cat , Kiss of Snow, Tangle of Need, Slave to Sensation , Wild Invitation, Heart of Obsidian, Shield of Winter, Shield of Winter, Visions of Heat, Mine to Possess, Caressed By Ice, Branded by Fire, Blaze of Memory, Mine to Possess, Hostage to Pleasure, Hostage to Pleasure, Shards of Hope, Shards of Hope, Heart of Obsidian, Caressed By Ice, Branded by Fire, Blaze of Memory, Play of Passion, Allegiance of Honor, Kiss of Snow, Tangle of Need, Shield of Winter, Shards of Hope, Allegiance of Honor, Allegiance of Honor, Wild Embrace, Wild Embrace, Wild Embrace, Silver Silence, Silver Silence, Tangle of Need, Ocean Light, Ocean Light , Wolf Rain
Publisher: Penguin
Publication Date: September 4th 2007
Genres: Fiction
Pages: 368
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: five-stars

The author of Shards of Hope and Shield of Winter presents a Psy/Changeling novel in which two people who know evil intimately must unlock the good within their icy hearts…

As an Arrow, an elite soldier in the Psy Council ranks, Judd Lauren was forced to do terrible things in the name of his people. Now a defector, his dark abilities have made him the most deadly of assassins—cold, pitiless, unfeeling. Until he meets Brenna…

Brenna Shane Kincaid was an innocent before she was abducted—and had her mind violated—by a serial killer. Her sense of evil runs so deep, she fears she could become a killer herself.

Then the first dead body is found, victim of a familiar madness. Judd is her only hope, yet her sensual changeling side rebels against the inhuman chill of his personality, even as desire explodes between them. Shocking and raw, their passion is a danger that threatens not only their hearts, but their very lives…

Every Thursday, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books. Enjoy!

This review was originally posted on September 13, 2007.

I had a really beautiful review written up for this book..and blogger lost it. UGH! It said it was saved, so I exited screen. Then I came back today to finish it off and…nada.

Since I’m really behind on reviews and don’t have a lot of time right now, I’m going to direct you to CindyS and Casee. They’ve both put up great reviews for this book. Once you’ve read them, come back. My thoughts (minus a description and not nearly as pretty as before) are below.

This is the 3rd book in Nalini Singh‘s Psy/Changeling series. Now, unlike every other person in blogland, I wasn’t over-the-moon in love with Slave to Sensation, her first book. Nor was I all squealy fangirlish over Visions of Heat. I truly enjoyed both books, but I didn’t think they were the end all and be all of Paranormal Romance.

Yes, I think she put a fresh spin on the genre, and yes, I thought the world building and characters were great, but I didn’t walk away with a girl crush on NS.

After this book? Oh yeah, girl crush status in full effect.

Judd was an amazing hero. I love that NS didn’t change who he was at his core for her story. She kept true to how he was in the previous books and I loved watching him melt.

Brenna was a good heroine, too. After having suffered through what she did, I wasn’t sure she could come back and be a strong heroine, but she was. She and Judd together were fabulous. I loved watching them interact and Brenna try to break through Judd’s icy exterior.

The conflict between the two was much more believable, IMO. Although previous couples faced very real fears, what Judd dealt with was so much harder I really hurt for (and with) him. I truly found myself wondering how they were going to resolved their issues and live happily ever after, and that doesn’t happen to me very often.

I also found myself full invested in Brenna’s struggle to become emotionally whole once again. When she feared she was going mad, my heart hurt for her. And like Brenna, I was healed by Judd’s actions.

Isn’t that an amazing compliment for an author?

As for the outside conflict, that of who was after Brenna, I wasn’t very interested in it, but I still thought it was well done. My focus was on Brenna and Judd and their relationship. Still, the storyline was good.

I can’t wait to see who The Ghost is and what happens in the next book.

I’m giving this one a:

4.5 out of 5

Check out the series if you haven’t already.

Psy-Changeling

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Ocean Light by Nalini Singh

Posted June 28, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 6 Comments

Review: Ocean Light by Nalini SinghReviewer: Casee
Ocean Light by Nalini Singh
Series: Psy/Changeling Trinity #2, Psy/Changeling #17
Also in this series: Silver Silence, Silver Silence, Silver Silence, Ocean Light, Wolf Rain , Wolf Rain, Alpha Night, Mine to Possess, Hostage to Pleasure, The Magical Christmas Cat , Kiss of Snow, Tangle of Need, Slave to Sensation , Wild Invitation, Heart of Obsidian, Shield of Winter, Shield of Winter, Visions of Heat, Mine to Possess, Caressed By Ice, Branded by Fire, Blaze of Memory, Mine to Possess, Hostage to Pleasure, Hostage to Pleasure, Shards of Hope, Shards of Hope, Heart of Obsidian, Caressed By Ice, Branded by Fire, Blaze of Memory, Play of Passion, Allegiance of Honor, Kiss of Snow, Tangle of Need, Shield of Winter, Shards of Hope, Allegiance of Honor, Allegiance of Honor, Wild Embrace, Wild Embrace, Wild Embrace, Tangle of Need, Caressed By Ice
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: June 12, 2018
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 416
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-stars

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh dives beneath the surface of her Psy-Changeling world into a story of passionate devotion and selfless love...

Security specialist Bowen Knight has come back from the dead. But there's a ticking time bomb in his head: a chip implanted to block telepathic interference that could fail at any moment--taking his brain along with it. With no time to waste, he should be back on land helping the Human Alliance. Instead, he's at the bottom of the ocean, consumed with an enigmatic changeling...

Kaia Luna may have traded in science for being a chef, but she won't hide the facts of Bo's condition from him or herself. She's suffered too much loss in her life to fall prey to the dangerous charm of a human who is a dead man walking. And she carries a devastating secret Bo could never imagine...

But when Kaia is taken by those who mean her deadly harm, all bets are off. Bo will do anything to get her back--even if it means striking a devil's bargain and giving up his mind to the enemy...

It literally hurts my heart to write this review. I have never not loved a book by Nalini. Well, there was Silver Silence. While I didn’t love it, I liked it a lot. This book, not so much. It wasn’t that I disliked it. I didn’t. It was just boring. And slow. So incredibly slow and boring. There wasn’t a lot of excitement until almost the end of the book. Then it picked up and got interesting. Until then? It just wasn’t for me. I had to force myself to read it because I wasn’t going to give Nalini a DNF.

Bowen Knight has been in the Psy/Changeling books for a long time. He is the “alpha” of the humans. Bowen long ago realized that someone needed to step up to protect the human race. While he never thought he would be the one to do it, he ended up doing the job. After being mind-raped by a Psy when he was thirteen, Bo has an incredible aversion to the Psy race. Such an aversion that he has an experimental chip implanted in his head. He doesn’t care if it kills him as long as it protects his mind from the Psy. Bo understands that the Psy race is evolving, but not enough for him to trust. A few of his most trusted people, along with sister, have the same chip implanted in their heads. When things start going wrong with the chip, Bo doesn’t think of himself, but of his people.

At the end of Silver Silence, Bo takes a bullet to the heart and falls into the water. Lucky for him, the BlackSea changelings save him. He wakes up in one of their strongholds to a scientist that tells him he has a chance to live. A five percent chance, but a chance nonetheless. His attention strays from the doctor and seeks out her cousin, Kaia Luna. He has never felt such an attraction to a woman; a woman that seems to despise him for no reason.

Kaia has her reasons for not liking Bowen Knight. He is involved with the disappearance of several of her packmates. That is unforgivable to Kaia. What is even more unforgivable is when Kaia finds herself attracted to Bo. How can she be attracted to someone so evil that they capture and torture changelings? It doesn’t take Kaia long to realize that Bo is nothing like she thought he was. So they end up falling in love miles and miles under the ocean where the experiment on Bo is taking place.

This is why the book is boring. It takes place in the ocean. There is no excitement there. Kaia stays there specifically because she feels safe. Because nothing ever happens there. She never surfaces to the land above. Bo is all about excitement and Kaia, well, isn’t. I just didn’t feel them together. It just felt forced. Which is sad, really, because they were both really good characters. Just by themselves. Not together.

Like I mentioned above, the book picked up about seventy five to eighty percent in. It was too late for me. By then I was skimming, trying to finish the book. If you’re like me, you can’t skip a book in a series that you’re this invested in. So I’m glad I read it even though I didn’t like it.

I’m sorry, Nalini. Don’t hate me.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Psy/Changeling Trinity

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Ocean Light by Nalini Singh

Posted June 11, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 2 Comments

Guest Review: Ocean Light by Nalini SinghReviewer: Tracy
Ocean Light by Nalini Singh
Series: Psy/Changeling Trinity #2, Psy/Changeling #17
Also in this series: Silver Silence, Silver Silence, Silver Silence, Ocean Light , Wolf Rain , Wolf Rain, Alpha Night, Mine to Possess, Hostage to Pleasure, The Magical Christmas Cat , Kiss of Snow, Tangle of Need, Slave to Sensation , Wild Invitation, Heart of Obsidian, Shield of Winter, Shield of Winter, Visions of Heat, Mine to Possess, Caressed By Ice, Branded by Fire, Blaze of Memory, Mine to Possess, Hostage to Pleasure, Hostage to Pleasure, Shards of Hope, Shards of Hope, Heart of Obsidian, Caressed By Ice, Branded by Fire, Blaze of Memory, Play of Passion, Allegiance of Honor, Kiss of Snow, Tangle of Need, Shield of Winter, Shards of Hope, Allegiance of Honor, Allegiance of Honor, Wild Embrace, Wild Embrace, Wild Embrace, Tangle of Need, Caressed By Ice
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: June 12, 2018
Format: eARC
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 416
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh dives beneath the surface of her Psy-Changeling world into a story of passionate devotion and selfless love...

Security specialist Bowen Knight has come back from the dead. But there's a ticking time bomb in his head: a chip implanted to block telepathic interference that could fail at any moment--taking his brain along with it. With no time to waste, he should be back on land helping the Human Alliance. Instead, he's at the bottom of the ocean, consumed with an enigmatic changeling...

Kaia Luna may have traded in science for being a chef, but she won't hide the facts of Bo's condition from him or herself. She's suffered too much loss in her life to fall prey to the dangerous charm of a human who is a dead man walking. And she carries a devastating secret Bo could never imagine...

But when Kaia is taken by those who mean her deadly harm, all bets are off. Bo will do anything to get her back--even if it means striking a devil's bargain and giving up his mind to the enemy...

In the last book Bowen Knight was shot in the heart.  He managed to survive and has been a coma for 3 weeks.  He now is residing in an underwater facility run by BlackSea, the water changelings.  They’ve saved his life and now they are trying to stop him from dying once again by examining the chip in his head that’s basically a ticking time bomb.

When Bowen wakes up he sees Kaia Luna who doesn’t look like she likes him all that much.  Though she tries to push him away, Bo can’t seem to keep himself away from her and goes on a mission to win the woman he knows he can’t live without.  While he’s busy with his romancing, which is completely foreign to him, he’s also trying to figure out if there’s a traitor in his organization.  He’s shown proof that the Human Alliance had something to do with the water changelings that have vanished but Bo knows nothing about it.  One of those that have vanished was Kaia’s best friend Hugo.  Before Hugo vanished, however, he showed Kaia and others in BlackSea proof that Bo and the Human Alliance had something to do with the vanishings.  Bo has to prove his innocence as well as win the girl – the man has his work cut out for him!

I have to say that I have liked Bowen Knight since he came to life in the Psy-Changeling series.  For some reason he’d always grabbed my attention so I was excited to read his book.  While it wasn’t as gripping as most of Singh’s novels I enjoyed the more laid-back atmosphere of the BlackSea facility and the isolation it provided.  I think it did wonders for Kaia and Bo’s relationship as it pretty much forced them to see each other regularly.

There were different elements to the story – the romance, the science of the chip in Bo’s brain, the possible traitor in the Human Alliance, the issues BlackSea was having and did they have a traitor as well?  I figured out part of what was going on and who was who when it came to “bad” guys, but Singh threw me for a loop and surprised me when all was revealed.  I have to say that I did not see that one coming.  I loved it!

Overall I thought this was a great book and I loved seeing Bo brought to his knees by a woman.  Though he’s human he had held himself back from others for many years due to something that happened when he was just 13 years old.  He’s been told he had no heart and wasn’t romantic by women in his past, but this book proved that he had all of those things in him and more.  I’m definitely looking forward to the next book in the Psy-Changleing Trinity series.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Psy/Changeling Trinity

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,