Series: On Dublin Street

Review: On Hart’s Boardwalk by Samantha Young

Posted March 29, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: On Hart’s Boardwalk by Samantha YoungReviewer: Rowena
On Hart's Boardwalk by Samantha Young
Series: On Dublin Street #6.7, Hart's Boardwalk #2.5
Also in this series: Down London Road (On Dublin Street, #2), Before Jamaica Lane (On Dublin Street, #3), Before Jamaica Lane, Fall From India Place, Fall From India Place, Castle Hill, Echoes of Scotland Street, Moonlight on Nightingale Way, Moonlight on Nightingale Way, One King's Way, One King's Way, One King's Way, On Hart's Boardwalk (On Dublin Street #6.7) , The One Real Thing, Every Little Thing
Publisher: Penguin, Intermix
Publication Date: March 20th 2018
Point-of-View: First Person
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 128
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

One of New York Times bestselling author Samantha Young's most beloved couples returns for the first time in a brand new novella set ten years after her blockbuster bestseller Before Jamaica Lane...

Nate and Liv have a great life together but they miss the spontaneity and freedom they enjoyed early on in their romance. Careers and their children have inevitably kept them busy, so when Nate discovers Liv is feeling disconnected from him, he plans an anniversary trip to the idyllic seaside town of Hartwell, Delaware. There he hopes they will have the opportunity they've been craving--a chance to reinvent themselves and fall in love all over again.

With each new day comes a new adventure, from wedding crashing at the five-star boardwalk hotel to pretending they are two strangers having a chance encounter at the boardwalk bar. In the midst of this daring, sexually-charged game of romantic rediscovery, Nate and Liv discover the only constant they need is each other.

On Hart’s Boardwalk takes us back into the lives of one of my favorite couples from Samantha Young’s On Dublin Street series. Nate and Liv have been together for fourteen years and are close to celebrating their tenth wedding anniversary and as couples do from time to time, they go through rough periods in their relationship and Nate and Liv are right in the middle of theirs.

Things between Nate and Liv aren’t quite right and it is starting to get to Liv. She’s in a relationship that is different from the one that she’s been in from the beginning and things went south when one of Nate’s best friends dies. When that happens, instead of leaning on Liv in his grief, Nate pulls away and each day that passes, Liv worries the worries of a neglected wife. She starts to second guess every single thing in their lives and it hurts her over and over again. When Liv turns 40 years old, Nate plans a getaway for the two of them. That getaway takes them to Hartwell, Delaware. The setting that will connect Samantha Young’s On Dublin Street and Hart’s Boardwalk worlds and this short story brought both worlds together in such a nice way that I was super happy with the entire thing.

It was great to see everyone again. From Josh and Braden to Cam and Jo, Marco and Hannah, everyone was here and I was here for that. I love these characters and my heart hurt for both Liv and Nate and what they were going through together. Samantha Young has created a bunch of special characters and Nate and Liv are a part of that bunch. I really enjoyed seeing them together again and seeing them work through their issues…together.

Nate is one of my favorite men in the On Dublin Streets series and seeing him hurt made me sad but Samantha Young did him a solid by writing this awesome short story that helped heal him from some very deep stuff that he was dealing with. It was great to see Nate, older and not yet wiser and still hopelessly in love with his wife. I loved seeing what comes after the happily ever after and I especially loved seeing two people fight to keep their happily ever after. That’s what Nate and Liv did and I loved them just as much now as I did then.

This was a good one. I definitely recommend.

On Dublin Street Series

Hart’s Boardwalk Series

Grade: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: On Hart’s Boardwalk by Samantha Young

Posted March 22, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: On Hart’s Boardwalk by Samantha YoungReviewer: Tracy
On Hart's Boardwalk (On Dublin Street #6.7) by Samantha Young
Series: On Dublin Street #6.7, Hart's Boardwalk #2.5
Also in this series: Down London Road (On Dublin Street, #2), Before Jamaica Lane (On Dublin Street, #3), Before Jamaica Lane, Fall From India Place, Fall From India Place, Castle Hill, Echoes of Scotland Street, Moonlight on Nightingale Way, Moonlight on Nightingale Way, One King's Way, One King's Way, One King's Way, On Hart's Boardwalk, The One Real Thing, Every Little Thing
Publisher: Intermix
Publication Date: March 20th 2018
Format: eARC
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Nate and Liv have a great life together but they miss the spontaneity and freedom they enjoyed early on in their romance. Careers and their children have inevitably kept them busy, so when Nate discovers Liv is feeling disconnected from him, he plans an anniversary trip to the idyllic seaside town of Hartwell, Delaware. There he hopes they will have the opportunity they've been craving--a chance to reinvent themselves and fall in love all over again.

With each new day comes a new adventure, from wedding crashing at the five-star boardwalk hotel to pretending they are two strangers having a chance encounter at the boardwalk bar. In the midst of this daring, sexually-charged game of romantic rediscovery, Nate and Liv discover the only constant they need is each other.

Nate and Liv have been together for 14 years, and married for 10 of those.  They have two beautiful children and Liv is just as in love with Nate now as she was when they first got together.  The problem is that Nate seems to have lost his love for Liv.  Since one of his friends died suddenly Nate has pushed Liv away and when Nate finds out how Liv is truly feeling he plans a trip to Delaware.  At one time, Liv had told Nate of vacations taken near Hartwell, Delaware and Nate wanted to recreate that joy for her.  He wanted to make his own memories, however, so he chose Hartwell.  They have a great location and it’s just the two of them, but can they work through the issues that have been haunting Liv for the past six months?

This was a pretty great novella.  I’ve been reading the Hart’s Boardwalk series so when I saw a novella for that series I was excited.  I had no idea I’d get the wonderful double whammy by getting the On Dublin Street series cast of characters as well as Hart’s Boardwalk characters.

Nate and Liv got their HEA in the novel Before Jamaica Lane, and if you read that you know that these two are incredibly hot together.  Their sex play in this book was no different but the even better than that was watching two people in love communicate and find the core issue to their problems.  It was well written, and Young didn’t slack on giving us the nitty gritty of their relationship – arguments and all.

On top of the greatness of that part of the book we also got to see, as I said, all of the characters from On Dublin Street as well as Hart’s Boardwalk.  I loved reading about the ODS crew and hearing a little about their families now that it’s been years since their HEA’s. HB is a newer series but it was still fun to catch up with those characters as well.

Overall I thought this was really good.  The love, friendship and feeling of contentment it left me with was incredible and I definitely recommend this one.

On Dublin Street Series

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Review: One King’s Way by Samantha Young

Posted December 28, 2015 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: One King’s Way by Samantha YoungReviewer: Rowena
One King's Way by Samantha Young
Series: On Dublin Street #1.5
Also in this series: Down London Road (On Dublin Street, #2), Before Jamaica Lane (On Dublin Street, #3), Before Jamaica Lane, Fall From India Place, Fall From India Place, Castle Hill, Echoes of Scotland Street, Moonlight on Nightingale Way, Moonlight on Nightingale Way, One King's Way, One King's Way, On Hart's Boardwalk (On Dublin Street #6.7) , On Hart's Boardwalk
Publisher: Penguin
Publication Date: November 3, 2015
Pages: 158
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-stars

The New York Times bestselling author of On Dublin Street returns to the bar where it all began with Braden and Joss for a white-hot new novella full of passion and drama.

When he’s not working at the club, Craig Lanaghan looks out for his mother and little sisters. So when it comes to women, all he wants is a good time. But once Rain Alexander walks into his life, there’s no denying that this woman could be worth much more than a one-night stand….

Rain’s lifelong regret is having left her sister Darcy alone years ago with a guardian who turned out to be abusive. So when Darcy’s boyfriend publicly humiliates her in a cruel way, Rain’s overprotective instincts kick in and she follows him to Club 39—where she meets a guy who just might be her perfect match.

The chemistry between Rain and Craig is explosive, but Rain is out for revenge, and refuses to be sidetracked by flirtation. As things between them heat up, she’ll have to make a heartbreaking choice between giving in to the man of her dreams or putting her sister’s happiness first….

Another On Dublin Street book? Count me in!

I like Craig and was glad to hear that he was finally getting his own story, even if it was a short one. I like this series and was sad to see it go so to get a new story was a bonus for me.

If you’ve read this series, you’ll remember Craig as the cheeky bartender co-worker of both Jo and Joss at Club 39. It’s a happening bar that gets a lot of regulars and Craig is more than a little interested in the gorgeous red head that has been spending time in the bar, all by herself.

Being the gorgeous flirt that he is, Craig tries to get to know the red head and while she chats with him, that’s about as far as he gets with her. He’s going to need to bring out the big guns in order to win this one over.

I enjoyed this book but I didn’t love it the way that I loved most of the other books in this series and a lot of it had to do with how hard it was for me to connect with Rain. I didn’t understand her revenge plot, thought it was silly to be honest and her hot and cold attitude with Craig kind of got on my nerves. I’m not sure if it’s because I know Craig from the previous books so I know that he’s a good guy but there was something about Rain that made me want to roll my eyes down the street whenever she’d either blow Craig off or get all snippy with him.

I did like Craig and I did come around with Rain but I don’t know, there was something missing in this story. I liked it, but I didn’t exactly love it. The romance was solid and even though I didn’t warm up to Rain until the very end, I still enjoyed it. The romance was sweet but I wish we’d gotten a little more from both Rain and Craig’s background, maybe then I would have enjoyed this one a little more but still, it’s a solid story.

Grade: 3 out of 5

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: One King’s Way by Samantha Young

Posted December 10, 2015 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: One King’s Way by Samantha YoungReviewer: Holly
One King's Way by Samantha Young
Series: On Dublin Street #1.5
Also in this series: Down London Road (On Dublin Street, #2), Before Jamaica Lane (On Dublin Street, #3), Before Jamaica Lane, Fall From India Place, Fall From India Place, Castle Hill, Echoes of Scotland Street, Moonlight on Nightingale Way, Moonlight on Nightingale Way, One King's Way, One King's Way, On Hart's Boardwalk (On Dublin Street #6.7) , On Hart's Boardwalk
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: November 3rd 2015
Genres: Fiction
Pages: 128
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-stars

The New York Times bestselling author of On Dublin Street returns to the bar where it all began with Braden and Joss for a white-hot new novella full of passion and drama.
When he's not working at the club, Craig Lanaghan looks out for his mother and little sisters. So when it comes to women, all he wants is a good time. But once Rain Alexander walks into his life, there's no denying that this woman could be worth much more than a one-night stand . . .
Rain's lifelong regret is having left her sister Darcy alone years ago with a guardian who turned out to be abusive. So when Darcy's boyfriend publicly humiliates her in a cruel way, Rain's overprotective instincts kick in and she follows him to Club 39 - where she meets a guy who just might be her perfect match.
The chemistry between Rain and Craig is explosive, but Rain is out for revenge, and refuses to be sidetracked by flirtation. As things between them heat up, she'll have to make a heartbreaking choice between giving in to the man of her dreams or putting her sister's happiness first . . .
Praise for the On Dublin Street series
'Scotland's EL James' - Sunday Post
'Really sexy.' - USA Today
'Young writes stories that stay with you long after you flip that last page.' - Under the Covers

One King’s Way is a novella that’s set between books 1 and 2 in the On Dublin Street series. It features Craig, one of the bartenders Jo and Joss worked with at the club. I thought it was short and sweet.

Rain is in Club 39 to exact revenge on her sister’s loser of an ex-boyfriend who completely humiliated her and forced her to move away. Rain plans to cozy up to him then humiliate him the way he did her sister. Her plans are foiled when she meets Craig, one of the bartenders, and he catches on. They have a ton of chemistry, but Rain can tell right off that Craig isn’t after more than a roll in the hay. As a certified romantic, she wants nothing less that forever-after love.

Craig takes one look at Rain and knows he wants her, but he isn’t really interested in more than a night since he has his hands full caring for his mom and sisters. Still, he can’t get her out of his head. And she clearly needs help with this ridiculous scheme she’s hatched to get back at her sister’s ex.

Craig was kind of a dumbass for most of the book, but he realized his mistakes and more than made up for them. Rain’s silly revenge idea was just that, silly. Why she thought it was a good idea is beyond me. I guess her emotional response to seeing her sister hurt gives her a bit of a pass, but honestly. Her exacting standards for her relationships were also a bit over-the-top, but I understand wanting it all. I was glad her sister pushed her to start making decisions for herself, rather than based on the trauma from their past.

In the end I thought Craig and Rain had great chemistry. This was a sweet story that I zipped right through. It was nice returning to the series.

3 out of 5

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: One King’s Way by Samantha Young

Posted November 2, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: One King’s Way by Samantha YoungReviewer: Tracy
One King's Way by Samantha Young
Series: On Dublin Street #6.5
Also in this series: Down London Road (On Dublin Street, #2), Before Jamaica Lane (On Dublin Street, #3), Before Jamaica Lane, Fall From India Place, Fall From India Place, Castle Hill, Echoes of Scotland Street, Moonlight on Nightingale Way, Moonlight on Nightingale Way, One King's Way, One King's Way, On Hart's Boardwalk (On Dublin Street #6.7) , On Hart's Boardwalk
Publisher: Intermix
Publication Date: November 3, 2015
Format: eARC
Genres: Anthologies (multiple authors)
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

 

When he’s not working at the club, Craig Lanaghan looks out for his mother and little sisters. So when it comes to women, all he wants is a good time. But once Rain Alexander walks into his life, there’s no denying that this woman could be worth much more than a one-night stand….

Rain’s lifelong regret is having left her sister Darcy alone years ago with a guardian who turned out to be abusive. So when Darcy’s boyfriend publicly humiliates her in a cruel way, Rain’s overprotective instincts kick in and she follows him to Club 39—where she meets a guy who just might be her perfect match.

The chemistry between Rain and Craig is explosive, but Rain is out for revenge, and refuses to be sidetracked by flirtation. As things between them heat up, she’ll have to make a heartbreaking choice between giving in to the man of her dreams or putting her sister’s happiness first….

Rain is determined to get a bit of revenge on the man who once dated her sister. He humiliated her by talking her into making a sex tape and then showed it to all of his friends. Her sister took off for Australia to try and lick her wounds. The jerk, Angus, tends to hang out at Club 39 so she goes there to see him. She doesn’t really know how she’s going to bring him down but she’s going to do it.

Craig works as a bartender at Club 39 and makes good tips as he flirts and winks at all the women. He sees Rain though, as she doesn’t look like she really belongs there in her 40’s wardrobe looking like a pinup but he can’t seem to take his eyes off of her. Craig is the one-night-stand man and doesn’t do relationships but when he realizes that that’s not the type of girl that Rain is he works harder and then ends up falling for her.

Rain has high expectations of her boyfriends and so far that’s pushed them away. Craig is all of the things she wants in a man except for the flirting at the bar – this is a huge point of contention and almost breaks them up. They make up and get closer and closer but when Rain’s sister asks her to move to Australia permanently Rain has to choose between the sister she swore she’d never abandon and the man she loves.

One King’s Way is a short novella but it packed a lot of story in those pages. The story takes place after Braden and Joss have gotten together, as have Ellie and Adam, but they’re still in the dating stage of their relationship so it takes us back a bit in the overall story arc.

I really liked Craig a lot. He was a good guy who just hadn’t found the woman that would make him want to stop being a love-em and leave-em type. He knew almost instantly that Rain was different from the rest and once she let him into her life he proved to her that he was the man she wanted.

Rain was a little wishy-washy at times but others she knew exactly what she wanted. I was happy that she finally let Craig in but then she still kept him at arm’s length for a time. I loved that they finally worked out their differences and that it all ended in an HEA.

OKW was a wonderful novella that I really enjoyed reading and recommend to anyone who has been reading the On Dublin street series. If you haven’t read any books in the series you would still enjoy this one as it’s pretty self-contained and can be read as a stand-alone.

Rating: 4 out of 5

 

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,