Series: No Ordinary Hero

What Are You Reading? (+ Suzanne Enoch Giveaway)

Posted February 8, 2019 by Rowena in Features, Giveaways | 12 Comments

Casee: I’m on a Maya Banks kick right now. I finished her Enforcers series and am now reading the Breathless series. I’m reading Fever, which is the second book. What’s weird is that I’m pretty sure I’ve read the first two books, but I don’t remember reading the third. Then again I didn’t think I read the second one so who knows.

I just finished Sweet Sinful Seduction by Lauren Blakely on audio. I started listening to The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie by Jennifer Ashley and am really enjoying it. I haven’t read a historical is years. This one is a great one to get me back into them.

Holly: I didn’t read much this week. It seemed to take forever for me to get through Free by Kristen Ashley. The book was a hot mess. I was really looking forward to Rush’s story, and seeing how the series was wrapped up. Sadly, it was just a collection of chapters that made little sense to the overall storyarc but gave us glimpses at the couples and/or villains from previous books. I almost DNF’d it, but I wanted to see it through. Had it been about 300 pages shorter, with 5 less POV changes, it would have been a pretty decent book.

I DNF’d the audio of Wild Irish Heart by Tricia O’Malley. I ended up downloading the ebook (currently free for Kindle) because I think I’ll like the story. I kept getting frustrated with the heroine, but I’m pretty sure it’s because of the inflection and emphasis the narrator used. We shall see.

I’m currently about halfway through Devil’s Daughter by Lisa Kleypas, and it.is.amazing. I’m already in love with West, Phoebe and her son Justin. SO.MUCH.LOVE. I’m listening to The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie by Jennifer Ashley.

Rowena: I got some reading done this week so that’s always a good thing. I finished Devil’s Daughter by Lisa Kleypas and that was just as delightful as I was expecting. West and Phoebe were a bomb ass couple and I adored every minute of their romance. While I was reading Devil’s Daughter, an eARC of The Risk by Elle Kennedy showed up on my Kindle so I immediately jumped on that mess once I finished with West and Phoebe. Like, immediately jumped into it. I finished Devil’s Daughter around midnight and stayed up for another couple of hours to make some headway into The Risk before taking my ass to sleep. I finished Jake and Bren’s book that same day and just like with Phoebe and West, I loved the hell out of Jake and Bren, even when I wanted to kick Jake in the balls.

Now, I’m reading The Assist by Rebecca Jenshak and so far, it’s okay. I hope it picks up some though. Wish me luck!

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Suzanne Enoch Giveaway)A Devil in Scotland (No Ordinary Hero, #3) by Suzanne Enoch
Series: No Ordinary Hero #3
Also in this series: Hero in the Highlands, My One True Highlander, A Devil in Scotland
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: January 30, 2018
Format: Print
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 311
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

The dawning of desire...

1806, Scotland: Wild, reckless Callum MacCreath is in no hurry to become someone’s husband. But when his responsible, steady older brother Ian announces his engagement to their childhood friend Rebecca, Callum makes a startling discovery: he wants the lovely young lass for himself. But it’s too late, and when Ian banishes him for his duplicity, he’s only too happy to leave Scotland forever…

...is delicious and dangerous.

1816: Marrying Ian was the practical, logical thing for Becca to do. But once Callum sailed away to America, she missed his rakish charm and lust for life. Now, ten years later, Becca is a widow when a much-changed Callum returns to his Scottish homeland. Will he remember their spirited, fiery connection, or does he blame her for his brother’s unexpected death? This time neither of them can deny their scorching attraction, but will their hearts be burned in the blazing heat of scandal?

What Are You Reading: A Devil in Scotland

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , ,

Guest Review: A Devil in Scotland by Suzanne Enoch

Posted January 29, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: A Devil in Scotland by Suzanne EnochReviewer: Tracy
A Devil in Scotland by Suzanne Enoch
Series: No Ordinary Hero #3
Also in this series: Hero in the Highlands, My One True Highlander
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: January 30th 2018
Format: eARC
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 320
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

The dawning of desire...

1806, Scotland: Wild, reckless Callum MacCreath is in no hurry to become someone’s husband. But when his responsible, steady older brother Ian announces his engagement to their childhood friend Rebecca, Callum makes a startling discovery: he wants the lovely young lass for himself. But it’s too late, and when Ian banishes him for his duplicity, he’s only too happy to leave Scotland forever…

...is delicious and dangerous.

1816: Marrying Ian was the practical, logical thing for Becca to do. But once Callum sailed away to America, she missed his rakish charm and lust for life. Now, ten years later, Becca is a widow when a much-changed Callum returns to his Scottish homeland. Will he remember their spirited, fiery connection, or does he blame her for his brother’s unexpected death? This time neither of them can deny their scorching attraction, but will their hearts be burned in the blazing heat of scandal?

Callum is a young 20-year-old man and enjoying his drink and his women.  His best friend, besides his brother Ian, is Becca.  When he finds out that she’s agreed to marry Ian, he’s despondent and says some mean things. He also finds out that night that his brother and Becca’s father are going into business with the Duke of Dunncraigh and his son, and Callum warns Ian that it won’t turn out well as he knows that Dunncraigh and Stapp are not good men.  Ian tells Callum to leave and never return.  Callum takes him at his word and leaves not only his home, but Scotland.

Ten years later Callum is a man who is nothing like the youngster he was.  He has grown emotionally and physical and has stayed away from alcohol.  He has his own distillery and it’s becoming well known.  He’s a rich man in his own right and needs nothing from anyone.  When one of his workers comes across a newspaper stating that Ian drowned the previous year, Callum immediately sets sail for Scotland.

Becca is shocked to see Callum and wants him gone.  She is being courted by the Duke of Dunncraigh’s son, Lord Stapp, and has a good life which she doesn’t need interrupted.  She is just coming out of mourning for her husband and her father, who died not long after Ian, and wants nothing to do with Callum.  Of course, that’s what she says but down deep she’s a little bit thrilled that he’s there.  There were always feelings that she harbored for Callum but she knew even ten years earlier that he wasn’t the steady man she needed.  Now Callum is in MacCreath house and making accusations – saying that Dunncraigh and Stapp killed both Ian and her father.  On top of that he has claimed guardianship of Becca’s 6-year-old daughter, Maggie, and refuses to let her leave with Becca.  Not about to leave her daughter, Becca stays.  She must prove to Callum that she had nothing to do with the deaths in her family.  She also starts to believe Callum when he says that the deaths weren’t accidents.

I really love Enoch’s books and this one is another great one.  Callum, when he returns to Scotland, is such a different man than when he left.  Although we only saw him in one scene before the time jump I could tell he was a bit of a rogue.  Ten years later he is a man of action and is not afraid to step on toes to get what he wants. I normally don’t care for men like that, but Enoch wrote Callum in a way that I couldn’t help but like him.  He was so determined to find his brother’s killer. He felt guilty that he had ignored his brother’s letters when he was alive and even had them burned.  It was a bit heartbreaking to see his guilt but I thought he avenged his brother beautifully.

With Becca it took me some time to like her.  I couldn’t get a grasp on her personality in the short scene at the beginning of the book.  When we see her again she’s so determined to get Callum gone that I couldn’t help but think there was something going on with her.  There was – her repressed feelings for him.  As the story moved on I could see the person she had become and I liked her a lot.  She was a great match for Callum and I liked them together.

Overall the story was a good one.  Of course Enoch added the cute when she wrote in Maggie, her dog Reginald and Callum’s wolf, Waya.  Those three had me smiling a bunch of times during the course of the book and I loved it.  If you read the other two books in the series you won’t want to miss this one.  If you haven’t started the series, it’s one I recommend.

Rating: 4 out of 5

No Ordinary Hero Series

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: My One True Highlander by Suzanne Enoch

Posted April 4, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: My One True Highlander by Suzanne EnochReviewer: Tracy
My One True Highlander by Suzanne Enoch
Series: No Ordinary Hero #2
Also in this series: Hero in the Highlands, A Devil in Scotland

Publication Date: April 4th 2017
Format: eARC
Pages: 320
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Rugged highlander Graeme has one thing on his mind—take a stand against the horrible Englishman Lattimer and he will be rewarded with enough money to be set for life. But when his reckless younger brothers take it one step too far and kidnaps a young woman on her way to see Lattimer, Graeme has to intervene. He cannot send the lady back without his kin getting in trouble. And when a damsel this beautiful is dropped into your lap, it’s hard to let her go...

Marjorie should be terrified she’s been captured by highland scoundrels, but it’s hard to live in terror when your captor is a devilishly handsome and sinfully tempting as Graeme is. She cannot stay by his side forever—no matter how her heart may pound at the thought—but Graeme seems to have other plans. This wicked highlander is out to seduce her and doesn’t plan to stop until she’s in his arms...forever...

Graeme, Viscount Maxton, is an impoverished Chieftan in the Maxwell clan.  He doesn’t see eye to eye with the Maxwell Laird but he stays out of his way and it works.  That is until the Laird comes to visit and basically tells Graeme that if he kills the Duke of Lattimer the Maxwell Laird would give him money and forgive the tithes that he’s late on.  Graeme is disgusted with the Laird but just shrugs it off.  He wants nothing to do with Dunncraigh and his issues with Lattimer.

Marjorie is headed to the highlands for her brother’s wedding.  He doesn’t know she’s coming but she decided to attend because A) She loves her brother and wants to meet his betrothed and B) London is frustrating the hell out of her.  She thought that now that she was a Duke’s sister (and not a ladies companion) and had money that she’d have it all but no one in London even acknowledges her being much less accepts her.  In fact people were nicer to her when she was a companion!  Once in the Highlands she stops with her companion and ends up getting kidnapped.

Graeme’s brothers, Brendan – 16, Dùghlas – 14 and Connell – 8, kidnapped Marjorie when they overheard her companion talking about how she’s the Duke of Lattimer’s sister.  Brendan gets the idea that they can ship her off as a bargaining tool to Dunncraigh and all will then be right with their world. Graeme, however, doesn’t see it that way, but he’s not sure what to do with the lass now that she’s there.  He eventually decides he needs to marry her but Marjorie aka Ree fights that.  Once she gets herself free she decides not to escape.  She doesn’t want anything bad to happen to the boys and she actually has kind of started to like Graeme.  Once she falls in love with him, however, she has to decide if she loves him more than she loves the dream she’s always had of being the belle of the ball in London.

This was a cute book.  Yes, it’s a story with a bit of Stockholm syndrome going on but I thought the way that Enoch wrote it all made it seem ok.  Also, let’s face it, this is a romance and fiction so…it is what it is. 😊

I loved the characters in this book.  Graeme was an honorable guy and despite the crazy thing his brothers did he was trying to make the best of it.  His parents had died and he had taken over the title, the lands, the cotters and the raising of his brothers when he was 20 years old and Connell was just 2 days old.  He’s had a lot of responsibility and has always done the right thing.  He was confused about his feelings for Marjorie at first but he soon embraced them and I loved that he did.  His brothers were cute – especially Connell.  He about made the whole book for me because he was so precocious. He also had a very large heart when it came to animals who needed a home. Loved. Him. Brendan was a typical surly teen and Dùghlas was just following along with his older brother.  They both ended up having a good side to them and I loved how they stood up for Marjorie in the end.

Overall it was a sweet romance and one I really enjoyed reading.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Hero in the Highlands by Suzanne Enoch

Posted October 14, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Hero in the Highlands by Suzanne EnochReviewer: Tracy
Hero in the Highlands by Suzanne Enoch
Series: No Ordinary Hero #1
Also in this series: My One True Highlander, A Devil in Scotland

Publication Date: October 4th 2016
Format: eARC
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

WILD AT HEART

Scotland, 1812: He’s ferocious and rugged to the bone, an English soldier more at home on the battlefield than in any Society drawing room. And when Major Gabriel Forrester learns that he’s inherited the massive Scottish Highlands title and estate of a distant relation, the last thing he wants to do is give up the intensity of the battlefield for the too-soft indulgences of noble life. But Gabriel Forrester does not shirk his responsibilities, and when he meets striking, raven-eyed lass Fiona Blackstock, his new circumstances abruptly become more intriguing.

Like any good Highlander, Fiona despises the English—and the new Duke of Lattimer is no exception. Firstly, he is far too attractive for Fiona’s peace of mind. Secondly, his right to “her” castle is a travesty, since it’s been clan Maxwell property for ages. As the two enter a heated battle of wills, an unexpected passion blazes into a love as fierce as the Highlands themselves. Is Fiona strong enough to resist her enemy’s advances—or is Gabriel actually her hero in disguise?

Gabriel is a soldier.  That’s all he knows how to be and all he ever wants to be.  When he’s told that he’s inherited a dukedom for an uncle once removed that he didn’t even know he had…he’s not thrilled.  He heads to London to get things worked out and then plans on returning to the Continent and the war.  When he talks to his solicitors he finds out that the property he owns in Scotland.  He also has a steward for that property that won’t give a full reporting of the ledgers.  He plans on heading up there, firing the current steward – hiring his aide-de-camp into the position and then leaving.  Except once he gets to Scotland he find a woman doing the stewards job and very well.  He knows she’s hiding things so that he’ll leave, and quickly (the old Duke hadn’t been there in 20 years) but Gabriel’s got other ideas about handling what’s going on in his home – and dealing with the supposed curse.

This was another wonderful book by Suzanne Enoch.  I just love her stories and characters and this was no different.  Gabriel was a man who knew what he wanted and didn’t beat around the bush to get it.  He told it straight out and I loved him for it.  He was a bit put off by Fiona because of her straightforwardness but he realized very soon that he loved that about her and loved her.  The way that Gabriel’s character grew throughout the book was beautiful to read.  My heart went out to him when he finally realized he couldn’t go back to being a soldier and the pain that caused him.  He found a new battle to fight however and it was one that ended up being close to his heart.

Fiona was awesome.  I loved how she put Gabriel in his place time and again.  She tried to hold herself back from being attracted to him but Gabriel was such a force of nature she ended up looking forward to his kisses.  I realize that some people might be put off by her personality but she had to be strong to show everyone that she could do a man’s job – and do it well!  She had too many doubters – even within her own clan to be missish.  When an English soldier came along – you better believe she was gonna give him a piece of her mind.  She wasn’t a mild miss – I would have thought less of her if she’d not said anything.

Overall I really liked the book a lot and was thrilled with the story.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,