Series: Mercy Thompson

Review: Storm Cursed by Patricia Briggs

Posted May 28, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Storm Cursed by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Holly
Storm Cursed by Patricia Briggs
Narrator: Lorelei King
Series: Mercy Thompson #11
Also in this series: Frost Burned , Night Broken, Shifting Shadows, Blood Bound, Fire Touched, Silence Fallen , Moon Called, Blood Bound , Iron Kissed, Bone Crossed , River Marked , Frost Burned
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: May 7, 2019
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 368
Length: 10 hours and 15 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

In this powerful entry in the #1 New York Times bestselling series, Mercy Thompson must face a deadly enemy to defend all she loves...

My name is Mercedes Athena Thompson Hauptman, and I am a car mechanic.

And a coyote shapeshifter.

And the mate of the Alpha of the Columbia Basin werewolf pack.

Even so, none of that would have gotten me into trouble if, a few months ago, I hadn't stood upon a bridge and taken responsibility for the safety of the citizens who lived in our territory. It seemed like the thing to do at the time. It should have only involved hunting down killer goblins, zombie goats, and an occasional troll. Instead, our home was viewed as neutral ground, a place where humans would feel safe to come and treat with the fae.

The reality is that nothing and no one is safe. As generals and politicians face off with the Gray Lords of the fae, a storm is coming and her name is Death.

But we are pack, and we have given our word.

We will die to keep it.

Storm Cursed is the 11th installment of the Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs. I listened to the audiobook. It’s my first Briggs audio and I have to say, I loved the narrator. Lorelei King did a wonderful job as Mercy. It was very well done.

Since Mercy claimed the tri-cities as Pack territory some months ago, the Pack is constantly called out to deal with magical creatures. In this book, it’s goblins, pygmy zombie goats and black witches. Adam is away on business quite a bit, so Mercy and the Pack are left to deal with things on their own. Luckily Mercy has strong allies and good friends, because she’s going to need them.

It’s difficult to review Storm Cursed, because of spoilers. I will say, I loved seeing Mercy interact with the pack more, and school some of them on things they should already know. I loved the tender moments between Adam and Mercy. They’re such a strong couple, and I love seeing them interact with each other. We see more of Mercy and Stefan. Their relationship is strained now, but still strong. A lot of our usual players were missing here – No Jessie, no Charles and Anna (which seemed a bit odd, given the circumstances), very little with the rest of the Pack, but I didn’t really notice their absence until I’d finished the novel and thought back on it. I was wrapped up in the story as it was being told.

Creepy, action-packed, full of mystery and suspense, all dosed with sweet, tender moments between Adam and Mercy and spiced with a bit of humor. Briggs did it again. Storm Cursed does not disappoint.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Mercy Thompson

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Review: Frost Burned by Patricia Briggs

Posted May 17, 2019 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Frost Burned by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Rowena
Frost Burned by Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson #7
Also in this series: Frost Burned , Night Broken, Shifting Shadows, Blood Bound, Fire Touched, Silence Fallen , Moon Called, Blood Bound , Iron Kissed, Bone Crossed , River Marked , Storm Cursed
Publisher: Penguin, Ace
Publication Date: March 5, 2013
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating
Genres: Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy
Pages: 342
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Patricia Briggs's novel River Marked was praised as "an urban fantasy where our everyday world is believably twisted into the world of fey, werewolves, vampires, and myths made real." Now Mercy Thompson faces a shapeshifter's biggest fear as the realm she has embraced is thrown into chaos...

Mercy Thompson's life has undergone a seismic change. Becoming the mate of Adam Hauptman - the charismatic Alpha of the local werewolf pack - has made her a stepmother to his daughter Jesse, a relationship that brings moments of blissful normalcy to Mercy's life. But on the edges of humanity, a minor mishap on an ordinary day can turn into so much more...

After an accident in bumper-to-bumper traffic, Mercy and Jesse can't reach Adam - or anyone else in the pack for that matter. They've all been abducted.

Through their mating bond, all Mercy knows is that Adam is angry and in pain. But she fears Adam's disappearance may be related to the political battle the werewolves have been fighting to gain acceptance from the public - and that he and the pack are in serious danger. Outmatched and on her own, Mercy may be forced to seek assistance from any ally she can get, no matter how unlikely.

Frost Burned is the seventh book in the Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs and it was another captivating story about the crazy shit that happens on the daily in Mercy Thompson’s life.

This book jumps off right at the beginning. Mercy is out shopping with her step-daughter Jesse when they get into a car accident. The accident delays them and that probably saved their lives because Mercy can feel that something isn’t right at home (through the pack bonds), before they can go home and find out what’s going on, they’re intercepted at Mercy’s shop by Ben and Gabriel, Ben is pack and Gabriel is Jesse’s friend who lives at Mercy’s old place. Adam and the rest of the pack were taken by some mysterious bad guy and Mercy scrambles to find out what happened, who is behind this and protect those that weren’t abducted but are still pack in her eyes.

I’m really enjoying how this series has made me love the heck out of every single character. Even when I’m super angry at someone in the pack for the way that they view and treat Mercy, they’re pack so when the chips are down, I’d still have their back and I think Briggs does a great job of making everyone family because it’s the same way with Mercy. Mercy’s pack goes far beyond just Adam’s pack. She’s got vampires, humans, and fae in her pack on top of all the werewolves and they’d do anything for her the same way that she’d do anything for them. I dig that so much.

This is also the book where we finally get Adam’s POV and I was so here for that. I also really like seeing how far Adam and Mercy have come from the first book. Their relationship is a huge part of why I enjoy this series so much. I adore both of them on their own but together? Together, they’re magic to me. Mercy didn’t completely overhaul her personality to be with Adam and it’s the same with Adam. I love that they have accepted each other as they are and they’re working to figure out how to be together with all of the shenanigans that are thrown their way.

This was another great story in Mercy’s world and though it wasn’t my favorite of the bunch that I’ve read so far, it was still solid storytelling on Briggs part and I’m pretty excited for the rest of the books. I definitely recommend.

Final Grade

4 out of 5

Mercy Thompson

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: River Marked by Patricia Briggs

Posted February 20, 2019 by Rowena in Reviews | 4 Comments

This month’s prompt for the TBR Challenge was Series so I chose to read River Marked by Patricia Briggs because I am determined to get that entire series read this year. I want to catch up by the time the next book comes out so wish me luck on that. Anyway, on with my review…

Review: River Marked by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Rowena
River Marked by Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson #6
Also in this series: Frost Burned , Night Broken, Shifting Shadows, Blood Bound, Fire Touched, Silence Fallen , Moon Called, Blood Bound , Iron Kissed, Bone Crossed , Frost Burned, Storm Cursed
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: March 1, 2011
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 337
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Rowena's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, Rowena's 2019 TBR Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Mercy Thompson is a shapeshifter, a talent she inherited from her long-gone father. And she's never known any others of her kind. Until now. As Mercy comes to terms with this new information, an evil is stirring in the depths of the Columbia River. Something deadly is coming, facts are thin on the ground and Mercy feels ill at ease.

Mercy Thompson brings the badass shenanigans again in River Marked. In this book, she finally marries hottie Alpha Adam Hauptman and they’re headed on their camping honeymoon where they will be completely alone and not have to deal with anyone’s problems…until they get to their campsite and have to deal with everyone else’s problems. The problem that they’re dealing with this time around is a river devil monster who is eating the people who are getting too close to her in the river. When Adam and Mercy happen upon an injured man in the boat and smell his fear, they can’t walk away and this river monster is unique and it is magic of the American Indian variety so Mercy and Adam find themselves getting acquainted with the local Indian tribes….and Mercy’s sort of maybe ghost of a father? Yeah, there’s a lot going on in this book and I thought Briggs did a great job of pulling this story together.

I really liked that there was a Charles and Anna partnership feel to Adam and Mercy in this one. They worked together to fight the bad guys and had only each other that they could trust completely and rely on. The wealth of love that they have for each other melts me at every turn and I just really love their love. Mercy’s letter to Adam at the end was the best way to end this book and honestly, I just can’t wait to continue this series. I’m low key annoyed at myself that I kept this on my TBR shelf for so long. But no more, 2019 is the year that I finish out this series. This was another fantastic addition to the Mercy Thompson series so I definitely recommend it if you started the series but haven’t gotten around to this one. It’s good stuff, I promise!

Grade: 4.25 out of 5

Mercy Thompson

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Bone Crossed by Patricia Briggs

Posted December 14, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Bone Crossed by Patricia BriggsBone Crossed by Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson #4
Also in this series: Frost Burned , Night Broken, Shifting Shadows, Blood Bound, Fire Touched, Silence Fallen , Moon Called, Blood Bound , Iron Kissed, River Marked , Frost Burned, Storm Cursed
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: February 3, 2009
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First Person
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 303
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

By day, Mercy is a car mechanic in the sprawling Tri-Cities of Eastern Washington. By night, she explores her preternatural side. As a shapeshifter with some unique talents, Mercy has often found herself having to maintain a tenuous harmony between the human and the not so human. This time she may get more than she bargained for.

Marsilia, the local Vampire Queen, has learned that Mercy crossed her by slaying a member of her clan—and she's out for blood. But since Mercy is protected from direct reprisal by the werewolf pack (and her close relationship with its sexy Alpha), it won't be Mercy's blood Marsilia is after.

It'll be her friends'.

I feel like I’ve really hit my stride with this series and each book is filled with more goodness that I didn’t know I needed in my life. Mercy Thompson and everyone in her world have carved themselves a space in my heart and I want to continue this journey with them until I’m all caught up and then I’m probably going to want more.

Bone Crossed is the fourth book in the Mercy Thompson series and in this one, Mercy has once again found herself in some hot water. Marcilia, the vampire Queen knows that Mercy is responsible for the death of one of her vampires and that won’t go unpunished. So when Stefan pops up in her living room all injured and looking more dead than usual, Mercy is on edge. She’s under the protection of pretty much all of the important werewolves in the area so it won’t be easy to get to Mercy herself so Marcilia goes after the people that Mercy holds near and dear.

Hoping to escape the vampire Queen’s wrath, keep her loved ones safe and keep a low profile, Mercy goes out of town to help an old college friend with the ghosts in her house. When she gets to Spokane, she didn’t really expect to find a ghost haunting her friends house but there is definitely some crazy supernatural madness going on there and because a young kid is in the direct line of fire, Mercy knows that she will do whatever she can to help these guys.

This was another great story from Briggs and while it’s not my favorite, there are still lots of good stuff here. I really liked when Mercy tells Adam the following:

“Thank you, Adam,” I told him. “Thank you for tearing Tim into small Tim bits. Thank you for forcing me to drink one last cup of fairy bug-juice so I could have use of both of my arms. Thank you for being there, for putting up with me.”

By that point I wasn’t laughing anymore.

“Thank you for keeping me from being another of Stefan’s sheep—I’ll take pack over that any day. Thank you for making the tough calls, for giving me time.” I stood up and walked to him, leaning against him and pressing my face against his shoulder.

“Thank you for loving me.”

His arms closed around me, pressing flesh painfully hard against bone. Love hurts like that sometimes.”

This scene was such a great one and I just adore the romance that blossomed between Adam and Mercy. I’m glad that she finally made her choice and feel that it was the right choice. There is nothing but love between Adam and Mercy and it’s one of the highlights of the entire series for me. I love seeing how far Adam will go to protect and show Mercy that she is loved and I love seeing Mercy trying to be a good mate for Adam. Between all of the craziness of their lives, they still find time to go on dates and be cute together. I just love it.

The villain felt a bit forced in this one. Like, when he’s first mentioned, he’s made out to be this big, bad monster and yet after all was said and done, turns out, he wasn’t all that. Haha. That was probably the weakest part for me but I did enjoy everything else enough that this book still gets a 4 out of 5.

Grade: 4 out of 5

Mercy Thompson

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Joint Review: Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs

Posted November 23, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Joint Review: Iron Kissed by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Holly & Rowena
Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson #3
Also in this series: Frost Burned , Night Broken, Shifting Shadows, Blood Bound, Fire Touched, Silence Fallen , Moon Called, Blood Bound , Bone Crossed , River Marked , Frost Burned, Storm Cursed
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: January 2, 2008
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 287
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

I could smell her fear, and it satisfied something deep inside me that had been writhing under her cool, superior gaze. I curled my upper lip so she could get a good look at my sharp teeth. I might only weigh thirty or so pounds in my coyote shape, but I was a predator...

Mechanic Mercy Thompson can shift her shape - but not her loyalty. When her former boss and mentor is arrested for murder and left to rot behind bars by his own kind, it's up to Mercy to clear his name, whether he wants her to or not.

Mercy's loyalty is under pressure from other directions, too. Werewolves are not known for their patience, and if Mercy can't decide between the two she cares for, Sam and Adam may make the choice for her...

In Iron Kissed, we are back in Mercy Thompson’s world and the fae need her help. When Zee, the fae that Mercy bought her mechanic shop from, needs Mercy’s help in sniffing out a murderer, Mercy doesn’t hesitate to help out. When that help turns into trouble for Zee, Mercy can’t and won’t turn away from a friend in need, no matter that he doesn’t want her help. Mercy is going to find out what’s going on and she’s going to clear Zee’s name and get him out of jail. The fae? Well, they can be pissed off all they want, but Mercy is going to do what she feels is right no matter what. Her friend is innocent, so let the investigation begin…

Rowena: Holy cow, I knew that this was going to be an emotional read for me because both you and Ames told me that you guys cried but I wasn’t expecting this book. Not, at all. I couldn’t stop reading the book either. I was engaged from beginning to end. My emotions were involved because my heart broke for Mercy, for Adam, for Ben. For everyone. This book, man…gah.

What did you think?

Holly: This is such a rough, emotional book. I always get swept up in Briggs’ books, but this one grabbed me right away. My emotions were all over the place. I ugly cried.

Rowena: So did I. I mean, how could you not?

I thought the entire story was well written. It was rough to get through but the beginning definitely led to the end and Briggs really takes the reader on an emotional journey.

Holly: I thought the beginning was a little slow, too, but it picked up quickly and I easily fell into it. I loved all the Fae stuff and how we saw more of Mercy’s relationship with Bran through what Samuel said. Mercy has always felt like she was just barely tolerated, and I loved it when Samuel was like “My dad will wage war for Mercy” and she was all surprised. <3

Rowena: The fae stuff was interesting, too. I wondered what the hell was up with that walking stick that kept showing up wherever Mercy went. I was also curious about who the hell the murderer was. I also really loved that though Mercy was a bit of a loner, she was never alone and I loved how Samuel and Adam made that known to whoever wished her harm. Then there was Zee. Oh man, I loved Zee too.

I bonded with Mercy’s character in this story and with Ben. I didn’t really care for Ben in the other books but I love the hell out of him now. Tears streaked down my face as he pled with Adam to understand.

Holly: I didn’t care for Ben in the previous books either, but he really came through here. We learned more about his past, too, which I thought was good. I loved how he stood up for Mercy in the end. It was touching because it was so unexpected from him, you know?

I think it’s so wonderful how Mercy’s relationships grow over the course of the series. She was alone for so long and now she’s developing all these tight connections.

Rowena: Yes, seeing Mercy realize that she really is loved was good. I hope we get more from the other wolves in Adam’s pack because I’m really soft for Ben, Warren and Kyle, Honey and her husband, and Jessie. I love everyone in Adam’s pack. When Mercy and Ben take care of that Jessie business at the end, I was glad that Mercy was able to get some of her confidence back.

Holly: I loved when Mercy and Ben took care of the Jesse thing at the end. They played it just right and it added some balance to the novel, I think.

I have to say, I knew who the murderer was, but I did not expect things to go the way they did for Mercy. I was shocked at what happened to her. I just didn’t see it coming.

Rowena: This book was just flat out good and though it was hard to get through, I’m glad that I read it and I’m pretty anxious to keep the Mercy Thompson reading adventure going. So, so good.

There is much to love in this book and I’m glad that you made me finally read this one. Mercy Thompson is one of my favorite characters and I’m super anxious to see what happens next. I give this a 4.5 out of 5 rating. You?

Holly: Mercy and those in her sphere really work for me as a whole. This novel was such a punch to the gut, even after several rereads. I was sucked right in. I’m really excited you’re continuing on.

I’m giving this 4.5 out of 5 as well.

Grade: 4.5 out of 5

Mercy Thompson

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,