Series: Mercy Thompson

Review: Bone Crossed by Patricia Briggs

Posted December 14, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Bone Crossed by Patricia BriggsBone Crossed (Mercy Thompson, #4) by Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson #4
Also in this series: Frost Burned (Mercy Thompson, #7), Night Broken, Shifting Shadows, Blood Bound, Fire Touched, Silence Fallen (Mercy Thompson, #10), Moon Called, Blood Bound (Mercy Thompson, #2), Iron Kissed (Mercy Thompson, #3)
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: February 3, 2009
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First Person
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 303
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

By day, Mercy is a car mechanic in the sprawling Tri-Cities of Eastern Washington. By night, she explores her preternatural side. As a shapeshifter with some unique talents, Mercy has often found herself having to maintain a tenuous harmony between the human and the not so human. This time she may get more than she bargained for.

Marsilia, the local Vampire Queen, has learned that Mercy crossed her by slaying a member of her clan—and she's out for blood. But since Mercy is protected from direct reprisal by the werewolf pack (and her close relationship with its sexy Alpha), it won't be Mercy's blood Marsilia is after.

It'll be her friends'.

I feel like I’ve really hit my stride with this series and each book is filled with more goodness that I didn’t know I needed in my life. Mercy Thompson and everyone in her world have carved themselves a space in my heart and I want to continue this journey with them until I’m all caught up and then I’m probably going to want more.

Bone Crossed is the fourth book in the Mercy Thompson series and in this one, Mercy has once again found herself in some hot water. Marcilia, the vampire Queen knows that Mercy is responsible for the death of one of her vampires and that won’t go unpunished. So when Stefan pops up in her living room all injured and looking more dead than usual, Mercy is on edge. She’s under the protection of pretty much all of the important werewolves in the area so it won’t be easy to get to Mercy herself so Marcilia goes after the people that Mercy holds near and dear.

Hoping to escape the vampire Queen’s wrath, keep her loved ones safe and keep a low profile, Mercy goes out of town to help an old college friend with the ghosts in her house. When she gets to Spokane, she didn’t really expect to find a ghost haunting her friends house but there is definitely some crazy supernatural madness going on there and because a young kid is in the direct line of fire, Mercy knows that she will do whatever she can to help these guys.

This was another great story from Briggs and while it’s not my favorite, there are still lots of good stuff here. I really liked when Mercy tells Adam the following:

“Thank you, Adam,” I told him. “Thank you for tearing Tim into small Tim bits. Thank you for forcing me to drink one last cup of fairy bug-juice so I could have use of both of my arms. Thank you for being there, for putting up with me.”

By that point I wasn’t laughing anymore.

“Thank you for keeping me from being another of Stefan’s sheep—I’ll take pack over that any day. Thank you for making the tough calls, for giving me time.” I stood up and walked to him, leaning against him and pressing my face against his shoulder.

“Thank you for loving me.”

His arms closed around me, pressing flesh painfully hard against bone. Love hurts like that sometimes.”

This scene was such a great one and I just adore the romance that blossomed between Adam and Mercy. I’m glad that she finally made her choice and feel that it was the right choice. There is nothing but love between Adam and Mercy and it’s one of the highlights of the entire series for me. I love seeing how far Adam will go to protect and show Mercy that she is loved and I love seeing Mercy trying to be a good mate for Adam. Between all of the craziness of their lives, they still find time to go on dates and be cute together. I just love it.

The villain felt a bit forced in this one. Like, when he’s first mentioned, he’s made out to be this big, bad monster and yet after all was said and done, turns out, he wasn’t all that. Haha. That was probably the weakest part for me but I did enjoy everything else enough that this book still gets a 4 out of 5.

Grade: 4 out of 5

Mercy Thompson

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Joint Review: Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs

Posted November 23, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Joint Review: Iron Kissed by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Holly & Rowena
Iron Kissed (Mercy Thompson, #3) by Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson #3
Also in this series: Frost Burned (Mercy Thompson, #7), Night Broken, Shifting Shadows, Blood Bound, Fire Touched, Silence Fallen (Mercy Thompson, #10), Moon Called, Blood Bound (Mercy Thompson, #2), Bone Crossed (Mercy Thompson, #4)
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: January 2, 2008
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 287
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

I could smell her fear, and it satisfied something deep inside me that had been writhing under her cool, superior gaze. I curled my upper lip so she could get a good look at my sharp teeth. I might only weigh thirty or so pounds in my coyote shape, but I was a predator...

Mechanic Mercy Thompson can shift her shape - but not her loyalty. When her former boss and mentor is arrested for murder and left to rot behind bars by his own kind, it's up to Mercy to clear his name, whether he wants her to or not.

Mercy's loyalty is under pressure from other directions, too. Werewolves are not known for their patience, and if Mercy can't decide between the two she cares for, Sam and Adam may make the choice for her...

In Iron Kissed, we are back in Mercy Thompson’s world and the fae need her help. When Zee, the fae that Mercy bought her mechanic shop from, needs Mercy’s help in sniffing out a murderer, Mercy doesn’t hesitate to help out. When that help turns into trouble for Zee, Mercy can’t and won’t turn away from a friend in need, no matter that he doesn’t want her help. Mercy is going to find out what’s going on and she’s going to clear Zee’s name and get him out of jail. The fae? Well, they can be pissed off all they want, but Mercy is going to do what she feels is right no matter what. Her friend is innocent, so let the investigation begin…

Rowena: Holy cow, I knew that this was going to be an emotional read for me because both you and Ames told me that you guys cried but I wasn’t expecting this book. Not, at all. I couldn’t stop reading the book either. I was engaged from beginning to end. My emotions were involved because my heart broke for Mercy, for Adam, for Ben. For everyone. This book, man…gah.

What did you think?

Holly: This is such a rough, emotional book. I always get swept up in Briggs’ books, but this one grabbed me right away. My emotions were all over the place. I ugly cried.

Rowena: So did I. I mean, how could you not?

I thought the entire story was well written. It was rough to get through but the beginning definitely led to the end and Briggs really takes the reader on an emotional journey.

Holly: I thought the beginning was a little slow, too, but it picked up quickly and I easily fell into it. I loved all the Fae stuff and how we saw more of Mercy’s relationship with Bran through what Samuel said. Mercy has always felt like she was just barely tolerated, and I loved it when Samuel was like “My dad will wage war for Mercy” and she was all surprised. <3

Rowena: The fae stuff was interesting, too. I wondered what the hell was up with that walking stick that kept showing up wherever Mercy went. I was also curious about who the hell the murderer was. I also really loved that though Mercy was a bit of a loner, she was never alone and I loved how Samuel and Adam made that known to whoever wished her harm. Then there was Zee. Oh man, I loved Zee too.

I bonded with Mercy’s character in this story and with Ben. I didn’t really care for Ben in the other books but I love the hell out of him now. Tears streaked down my face as he pled with Adam to understand.

Holly: I didn’t care for Ben in the previous books either, but he really came through here. We learned more about his past, too, which I thought was good. I loved how he stood up for Mercy in the end. It was touching because it was so unexpected from him, you know?

I think it’s so wonderful how Mercy’s relationships grow over the course of the series. She was alone for so long and now she’s developing all these tight connections.

Rowena: Yes, seeing Mercy realize that she really is loved was good. I hope we get more from the other wolves in Adam’s pack because I’m really soft for Ben, Warren and Kyle, Honey and her husband, and Jessie. I love everyone in Adam’s pack. When Mercy and Ben take care of that Jessie business at the end, I was glad that Mercy was able to get some of her confidence back.

Holly: I loved when Mercy and Ben took care of the Jesse thing at the end. They played it just right and it added some balance to the novel, I think.

I have to say, I knew who the murderer was, but I did not expect things to go the way they did for Mercy. I was shocked at what happened to her. I just didn’t see it coming.

Rowena: This book was just flat out good and though it was hard to get through, I’m glad that I read it and I’m pretty anxious to keep the Mercy Thompson reading adventure going. So, so good.

There is much to love in this book and I’m glad that you made me finally read this one. Mercy Thompson is one of my favorite characters and I’m super anxious to see what happens next. I give this a 4.5 out of 5 rating. You?

Holly: Mercy and those in her sphere really work for me as a whole. This novel was such a punch to the gut, even after several rereads. I was sucked right in. I’m really excited you’re continuing on.

I’m giving this 4.5 out of 5 as well.

Grade: 4.5 out of 5

Mercy Thompson

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Joint Review: Blood Bound by Patricia Briggs

Posted May 29, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Joint Review: Blood Bound by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Holly and Rowena
Blood Bound (Mercy Thompson, #2) by Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson #2
Also in this series: Frost Burned (Mercy Thompson, #7), Night Broken, Shifting Shadows, Blood Bound, Fire Touched, Silence Fallen (Mercy Thompson, #10), Moon Called, Iron Kissed (Mercy Thompson, #3), Bone Crossed (Mercy Thompson, #4)
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: January 30th 2007
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 292
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Under the rule of science, there are no witch burnings allowed, no water trials or public lynchings. In return, the average law-abiding, solid citizen has little to worry about from the things that go bump in the night. Sometimes I wish I was an average citizen...
Mechanic Mercy Thompson has friends in low places-and in dark ones. And now she owes one of them a favor. Since she can shapeshift at will, she agrees to act as some extra muscle when her vampire friend Stefan goes to deliver a message to another of his kind.
But this new vampire is hardly ordinary-and neither is the demon inside of him.

Rowena: This month’s buddy review book is Blood Bound by Patricia Briggs. Blood Bound is the second book in the Mercy Thompson series and it delves into the vampire side of Mercy’s supernatural world.

When Mercy’s vampire friend drags her into the middle of a vampire problem, Mercy learns a whole lot about the supernatural predators and the danger that surrounds them.

What did you think about this one?

Holly: I thought this was a good follow up to the first book. Briggs introduces us further into her world and we get to know the characters better. We especially get to know Mercy, Adam and Samuel better in this book. I really enjoy being in Mercy’s head. Sometimes first person can get tiresome, but I’m never tired of Mercy.

Rowena: I’ve had that happen to me when the protagonist gets on my nerves and I’m not sure about finishing the book or not. Mercy is a great protagonist though. She’s interesting and she’s got a certain kind of charm that I like. I can see why everyone likes her and are drawn to her. She’s supernatural but she’s also normal. I’m digging her and will definitely keep reading this series because of her.

Adam and Samuel were a lot of fun in this one. I’m loving all of the tension they’ve got going because they both love them some Mercy. I also really like how protective of Mercy they are…whether she wants their protection or not, she’s got it.

So are you team vampire or team werewolf?

Holly: Definitely team werewolf. The only good vampire is Stefan, and even he has his questionable moments. I love Adam, Samuel and The Marrok. The way his relationship with Mercy develops over the series is great. Are you team Adam or team Samuel?

Rowena: Adam. As much as I love Samuel, I love Adam for Mercy. I also love Jessie for Mercy. I’ve got my fingers crossed that Samuel will find his true love and live happily ever after.

Holly: I’m team Adam, too. As much as I believe Samuel cares for Mercy, he wants her for his own reasons too. Adam wants her for her, not for what she can do for him.

What did you think of the vampire politics? This world is so well-drawn. I was easily able to imagine the scenes.

Rowena: I didn’t think I’d be that interested in the vampire side of this world but Briggs did a great job of drawing me in. I’m still Team Werewolf but I did enjoy reading about the way things are done on the vampire side of things. You can see that there could be potential for good within the vampire community but so far, only Stefan seems to want to be good. I thought that was interesting.

So what do I have to look forward to?

Holly: The next book, Iron Kissed, is my favorite. It’s the hardest to read, I think, because of things that happen to Mercy. We see more of Adam and Jesse, plus Adam’s pack. I’m anxious for you to read it so we can discuss.

Rowena: Oh yay then I’ll definitely make sure to get it read soon. I’m looking forward to it.

This book was good. It had fun moments sprinkled among the intense moments with chasing down the bad guy down and Mercy being on her own for a lot of the tracking stuff. I thought that this book showcased just how strong Mercy is, despite not being an alpha or even a wolf. She’s smart and she’s strong and she really made this book for me. I can’t say anything else other than this was a great addition to the Mercy Thompson world and I was happy with the writing, the story and the characters. All around win for me.

You?

Holly: I love the humor sprinkled throughout. This was a great installment in the series and really opens things up for future books. I definitely call this a win.

I’m giving it a 4.25.

Rowena: Me, too. 4.25.

Final Grade

Holly: 4.25 out of 5 
Rowena: 4.25 out of 5

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Joint Review: Moon Called by Patricia Briggs

Posted May 8, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 3 Comments

Joint Review: Moon Called by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Holly and Rowena
Moon Called by Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson #1
Also in this series: Frost Burned (Mercy Thompson, #7), Night Broken, Shifting Shadows, Blood Bound, Fire Touched, Silence Fallen (Mercy Thompson, #10), Blood Bound (Mercy Thompson, #2), Iron Kissed (Mercy Thompson, #3), Bone Crossed (Mercy Thompson, #4)
Publisher: Ace Books
Publication Date: January 31st 2006
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 288
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Mercedes "Mercy" Thompson is a talented Volkswagen mechanic living in the Tri-Cities area of Washington. She also happens to be a walker, a magical being with the power to shift into a coyote at will. Mercy's next-door neighbor is a werewolf. Her former boss is a gremlin. And she's fixing a bus for a vampire. This is the world of Mercy Thompson, one that looks a lot like ours but is populated by those things that go bump in the night. And Mercy's connection to those things is about to get her into some serious hot water...

Rowena: Thank goodness for you because without you, I wouldn’t read nearly as many of these books as I do. I’m SO glad that I finally got around to reading this book because it was hella good. Not just good, but hella good. I need more Mercy and Adam in my life…and it was good to see Samuel, Bran and Charles (from the Alpha & Omega series) and to see why Samuel was the way that he was in those books.

How was your re-read of the books?

Holly: I didn’t think I’d like this series at first. It took me ages to finally read it. I’m sorry I waited so long. Mercy, Adam and his pack, Jesse…They’re all amazing. I love how the world combines Magic with the Fae, Werewolves, etc.

My re-read this time was just as good. I love how normal Mercy is. She isn’t a super badass, despite the fact that she can turn into a coyote. She’s practical and down to earth, which makes her easy to relate to.

Rowena: I agree. As much as I adored both Adam and Samuel (you know I’m all about the heroes), Mercy was my favorite character in this series. Ames told me that she had such a huge girl crush on Mercy and I can totally see why. She’s really easy to relate to and she knows herself as well as her strengths and weaknesses. She’s not too stupid to live but she is brave and I just loved the hell out of her. I can’t wait to read more of these books.

I now see what you meant when you said that both this series and the Alpha & Omega series are kind of weaved together. Some of the things happening in here reminded me of stuff going on in the other series with Charles. I like that. It kind of reminds me of the Chicago Fire, PD, Med and Justice shows on NBC. I love how there’s this one world of characters that cross over to each different show. If done right, having so many different aspects of a world in different books and series is great and I think that Briggs does a wonderful job of that here.

What was your favorite part of this book?

Holly: It’s hard to say what my favorite part is, because now that I’ve read the entire series (and the A&O series) things have different meaning for me. I think it might be Adam demanding Mercy help him find Jesse. She’s weak by comparison to him and the other wolves, but he still wanted her to find his daughter because he knew she wouldn’t give up. I also love her interactions with with Bran. They have such a complicated relationship.

What about you?

Rowena: You’re right. Since everything is so fresh for me and I don’t know what’s to come, I see things differently. One of my favorite parts were Adam demanding Mercy help him find Jesse but more so because he knew that Jesse meant something to Mercy and he knew that she cared far more than Samuel did and wouldn’t give up. He knows her strengths and her weaknesses and …he claimed her to his pack. sigh I’m really looking forward to seeing their relationship grow.

It was nice to see Samuel learning of Adam and Mercy’s complicated relationship and really, the characters were well written and well rounded. No two dimensional characters in this series. I love how Mercy cared so much about a wide variety of people. People who didn’t get along with other people and yet, Mercy did. I could go on and on about how much I like Mercy but I think you get it.

I was invested in this story from the jump. This world is colorful and vivid and I’m so here for it all. I’m late to the party but what’s new? This was good stuff.

Holly: You’re right, he did know Mercy cared about Jesse and wouldn’t stop until she was found. That’s one of the things I like about Adam, period. He’s willing to set aside his own personal feelings in any given situation. It’s kind of a nice change for an alpha-male.

I really love how Mercy is sort of the glue that brings all these different elements together. We see this more as the series goes on, of course, but she’s like a neutral third party. I love it.

The world is my favorite thing about this book. It’s very well-drawn and immediately pulls you in.

I’m giving this a 4 out of 5.

Rowena: Same. This one gets a 4 out of 5 from me. Thanks for making me read this book!

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Review: Silence Fallen by Patricia Briggs

Posted March 20, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 3 Comments

Review: Silence Fallen by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Holly
Silence Fallen (Mercy Thompson, #10) by Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson, #10
Also in this series: Frost Burned (Mercy Thompson, #7), Night Broken, Shifting Shadows, Blood Bound, Fire Touched, Moon Called, Blood Bound (Mercy Thompson, #2), Iron Kissed (Mercy Thompson, #3), Bone Crossed (Mercy Thompson, #4)
Publisher: Ace Books
Publication Date: March 7th 2017
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 371
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

In the #1 New York Times bestselling Mercy Thompson novels, the coyote shapeshifter has found her voice in the werewolf pack. But when Mercy's bond with the pack and her mate is broken, she'll learn what it truly means to be alone...
Attacked and abducted in her home territory, Mercy finds herself in the clutches of the most powerful vampire in the world, taken as a weapon to use against alpha werewolf Adam and the ruler of the Tri-Cities vampires. In coyote form, Mercy escapes only to find herself without money, without clothing, and alone in the heart of Europe...
Unable to contact Adam and the rest of the pack, Mercy has allies to find and enemies to fight, and she needs to figure out which is which. Ancient powers stir, and Mercy must be her agile best to avoid causing a war between vampires and werewolves, and between werewolves and werewolves. And in the heart of the ancient city of Prague, old ghosts rise...

Mercy runs to the local convenience store for some last minute baking items when she’s run off the road and kidnapped. She wakes alone, in Europe, with no way to contact the pack. Mercy is no stranger to saving herself, but she’s never been completely alone and cutoff from everyone she knows and loves.

When Adam discovers Mercy’s wrecked vehicle and can’t contact her through their mating bond or by more mundane means, he nearly loses it. Thankfully cooler heads prevail and the pack starts hunting for Mercy. Once they realize she’s been whisked away to Europe as some kind of power-play between the vampires, Adam is able to settle enough to make plans to retrieve her. Unfortunately, Mercy escapes before he’s able to get to her. But Adam trusts Mercy to take care of himself, so he continues on his diplomatic trip to see the Master of Milan.

In the meantime Mercy finds herself in Prague, dealing with a Golem and a not-quite-enemy werewolf alpha who grants her sanctuary, but seems to have a vampire problem himself.

More from Adam’s POV!!

We have to hunt, Adam whispered to the wild spirit who shared his body, the wild spirit he both despised and gloried in. We have to hunt, find Mercy, and destroy the one who took her from us. And teach them that Mercy is ours.
And inside him, the wolf paused, considering Adam’s argument. After a moment, the beast agreed.

One of the things I love best about this series is the progression of the relationship between Mercy and Adam. They’re a solid couple who rely on each other, but also trust one another enough that they don’t need to live in each other’s pockets. Now that things have settled down with Mercy and the pack, the strength of their relationship really shines through.

Briggs took us into Adam and another’s points-of-view, which was a nice change from the previous books. I feel like we got a better sense of Mercy for having seen her from an outside perspective (the books are generally told first person from Mercy’s point-of-view). This from Marsilia, Mistress of the local vampire seethe, especially stood out for me.

“It doesn’t do to underestimate Mercedes, Jacob, something that I had to learn, too. Did she give you the spiel she likes to bring out now and again, about how she’s mostly no more powerful than the average human? It is a most effective speech because I think she actually believes it.”

We learned quite a bit about Bran and Mercy in this book. It was good to get another perspective when it comes to some of the relationships Mercy has formed. We see more how Marsilia, Bran, and others view Mercy.

“Bran could not love Mercy more if she were his own daughter. He’s funny about family. The last person who hurt one of his children was his own mother … you do know the story of Beowulf?”

Although the tone of the series tends to be kind of dark, there’s some levity. I actually laughed out loud a few times.

“So,” he said softly, “where is your pet werewolf whose job it was … to keep Mercy here, I think you said?”
There was a pause, then the beautiful male vampire to his left said, a hint of amusement in his voice, “She was hit by a bus and is currently recovering.”
And just that easily, Adam’s equanimity was restored.
Adam nodded. “People who stand in the way of my mate’s ability to get herself out of trouble often feel like they were hit by buses. I think this might be the first time it is literally true, though.”

The story jumps around quite a bit and Briggs does a lot more head-hopping than usual, but it really worked. The story was gripping. I was on the edge of my seat waiting to see what would happen next.

4.5 out of 5

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,