Series: Mayhem

Review: Chaos by Jamie Shaw

Posted July 16, 2015 by Rowena in Reviews | 3 Comments

Review: Chaos by Jamie ShawReviewer: Rowena
Chaos by Jamie Shaw
Series: Mayhem #3
Also in this series: Mayhem, Riot, Mayhem, Riot
Published by Avon Impulse
Publication Date: July 21st 2015
Genres: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary, Coming of Age
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

The third novel in Jamie's fantastic Mayhem series reunites lead guitarist, Shawn, with a girl from his past who is determined to show him what he's been missing.

From the moment she saw Shawn Scarlett perform at a school talent show, Kit Larson has loved two things: the guitar, and the gorgeous, green-eyed boy who inspired her to play. But one careless night in high school shatters her hope of ever being more than a notch in his bedpost.

Six years, two bands, and one mostly mended heart later, Kit s about to make her rock star dreams a reality as the new guitarist for Shawn's band, The Last Ones to Know. He may not remember their reckless night together, but Kit has never forgotten ... and she's determined to make him eat his heart out.

The release of their new album means a month cooped up on a tour bus, sleeping inches away from the ridiculously sexy musician she's never quite gotten over. And as Kit gets to know the real Shawn not Shawn Scarlett, the rock god, the player their attraction becomes too hot to resist. But the past is paved with secrets, and when they finally surface, Kit could lose everything: the band, the music, her dreams ... and Shawn.

I’m so happy to finally be able to dig right into Shawn and Kit’s book. I have adored Shawn from the very first time Adam licked him on the face with “Peach” by his side and I thought he was perfect. After reading his book, I found out that he’s not perfect and I loved him even more because of it.

The first time Kit fell in love with the guitar was at a middle school talent show and Shawn Scarlett was the one playing it. Her love for the guitar grew each day at the same time that her crush on Shawn caught fire. When he graduates her freshman year, they spend an unforgettable night together. At least it was unforgettable to Kit. Shawn never called like he promised and Kit was torn to bits over it.

Six years later, she’s a beast on the guitar and she wants to go places as a musician so she tries out for Shawn’s band…and makes it. Everyone is thrilled to have her on board, everyone but Shawn and the little part of her 15 year old self is hurt by that but she’s not that obsessed little girl anymore. She wants to be a rock star too much to let him take this from her. Determined to be professional, Kit decides that being nice is the only way to go. But when a friendship sparks between them, it’s hard for Kit to keep to the rules she set out for herself, to protect herself from getting hurt again by Shawn Scarlett.

Throughout the book, you could tell that there was a lot resentment on Kit’s part. You could also tell that she grew up with a bunch of brothers because she fit right in with the band from the get go and I love how she won everyone over. As a whole, I liked Kit. She reacted the way that I thought people her age would react to anything that came her way and when she finally gets her head out of her ass (with Leti’s help of course), I really came to like her. I thought she was good with Shawn and I’m not going to lie, I felt like Rowan and Dee felt about her in the first book. I knew Shawn first so my loyalties were to him first but she won me over the way that she won the others over and I’m glad that she didn’t drive me absolutely bonkers the way that Dee did in Riot.

I loved Shawn. I was really glad to see that he was a man with flaws but I was also really glad that he wasn’t the same guy he was six years ago. I’m also really glad to have seen him fall in love with Kit. He was a good guy and even when I was annoyed with him for bonehead shit, I never forgot that at his core, he was a good guy. I was a bit disappointed when Kit forgot that.

The romance between Shawn and Kit was dramatic at the same time that it was passionate. I loved that they didn’t rush into a relationship, that their relationship was based in the friendship that they started off with (in the present, not in the past) and grew from there. They were good together and I knew what Shawn meant when he wanted to hold off on telling people.

There was much to like about this book. The romance, the main couple and seeing the recurring characters from the other books. And Leti. OMG, Leti. I loved him. I loved that he finally got his own man. I loved the wisdom he imparts on his third best friend and I loved the way that he fit himself into Kit’s family and personal life. He is such a good friend to all three of those girls that it was so easy for me to fall in love with him so quickly.

And even though they got on my hot damn nerves, I liked Kit’s brothers. I loved their quick acceptance of Kale’s bombshell and I love how they were pissed off about the right things. The first thing Mason tells Kale after Kale’s announcement was the absolute perfect thing to say and made me love him even after he was so freaking overbearing and annoying where Kit was concerned.

There were times when I wanted to smack Kit in her mouth but in the end, it didn’t matter how mad she made me. She was Shawn’s person and they belonged together. I saw it. I believed it. Good job, Jamie Shaw.

This was another great addition to a series that I couldn’t help but read in one shot. I read each book back to back to back and I’m not sorry that I did. I enjoyed Shawn and Kit’s story and I’m looking forward to reading Mike’s book. I’ve got my fingers crossed that he doesn’t get back with Danica but instead, hooks up with her cousin. This was an enjoyable ride and Jamie Shaw did a great job of pulling me into each story and making me fall in love with each character, even when they drove me absolutely insane. I think the stories match the personalities of the characters the stories are about and I’m glad to have been a part of the ride.

Good stuff.

Grade: 4 out of 5

This book is available from Avon Impulse. You can purchase it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

four-stars

3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


Review: Riot by Jamie Shaw

Posted July 15, 2015 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Riot by Jamie ShawReviewer: Rowena
Riot by Jamie Shaw
Series: Mayhem #2
Also in this series: Mayhem, Riot, Mayhem, Chaos
Published by Avon Impulse
Publication Date: February 10th 2015
Genres: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary, Coming of Age
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

When Dee Dawson meets sexy mohawked guitarist Joel Gibbon, she knows it won't be long before she has him wrapped around her finger. No guy has ever been able to resist her … but Dee's met her match in a player like Joel.

Dee's not the relationship type—not after seeing the pain "love" has caused her friends and family—yet she's desperate to make Joel want her more than anyone else. He quickly becomes an obsession, and when a reckless attempt to make him jealous ends in disaster, Dee turns into the damsel in distress she never wanted to be. With her carefree world crashing down around her, the last thing she needs is Joel's pity.

But Joel is suddenly determined to prove he cares, and no matter how hard Dee tries to push him away, he refuses to let her shut him out. Now the girl who swore she'd never say those three little words must choose between guarding her heart and losing Joel forever … or falling head over heels for the tattooed rock star of her dreams.

This was not an easy book to get through, at least it wasn’t for me. I’ll explain in a little bit but first things first…this book follows Rowan’s (from Book 1) best friend Dee to her happily ever after. Or actually, to her happy for now ending with Adam’s (from Book 1) bandmate, Joel Gibbon.

Dee doesn’t do relationships. She’s got some issues with her Mom leaving her and her Dad when she was a kid and she’s seen what love can do to the people she loves and she doesn’t want to have anything to do with that…until Joel Gibbon walks into her life. Dee knows that guys like her and she likes that guys like her but after hooking up with Joel, Joel doesn’t play the game the way she’s used to it so she becomes obsessed with making him want her more than anyone else.

She’s a game player. She plays with guys emotions. She likes the thrill of wrapping guys around her fingers and while that’s all fine and dandy if the guys are okay with playing the game, it got really old where Joel was concerned. I can’t even count how many times I emailed or texted Tracy to bitch about how crazy Dee was driving me while reading this book. There were so many.

Joel was just as guilty of playing games with Dee but he didn’t go overboard the way that Dee did. She did things and said things that made me see red and all for what? To get Joel to fall in love with her? Why? She had no intention of loving him back so why play that game? Why was it so important for her to bring him to heel if in the end, Joel had no chance at all at a real relationship with her?

The romance between Joel and Dee fit their personalities. They were both passionate people and they both ran hot and cold so their story made sense but it didn’t stop me from getting royally pissed at the both of them. I knew that nothing good was going to come from the game she was playing with Cody. Do I blame her for what happened? Heck no! But did that stop me from being pissed off at her for using people to make Joel jealous? For playing those idiotic games? No.

As the story progresses, Dee gets her shit together. Joel’s birthday party? LOVED IT. Dee’s present for Joel? LOVED IT. The scene that happens when Joel shows up at Dee’s house for Easter? HATED IT. Dee was so hot and cold where Joel was concerned that I got mad right along with Joel when she would turn away from him. Joel put himself out there so many different times, opening up to her about every little thing because she wanted to know him but I hated that it took her so long to return the favor. I hate that it was all or nothing with Joel but she didn’t play by the same rules she set out for Joel.

Now I know that it sounds like I hated this book but I promise, I didn’t. There was only one time that I thought I wouldn’t be able to finish this book and that was BEFORE Cody but I’m so glad that I stuck with this one because Shaw does a great job with the payoff. When Dee finally signs her grown up papers, I was glad. When Joel tells her, “You don’t get to be hurt about this” after she comes storming to his apartment the night of her birthday party, I cheered for Joel. Joel was a bonehead too but it was Dee that drove me nuts in this one. When they finally get their shit sorted and get together, I was content.

Overall, this book was good. I was completely invested in what happened with the characters and I am so anxious to start Shawn and Kit’s story. I thought the lead up to their story was good. I liked the way Shaw handled Adam and Rowan being together and in love in this book. They were in love but still normal and not fused at the lips. I’m pretty anxious to get more Mike in the coming book too. I hope Mike gets his own girl…maybe Macy from Book 1? I wouldn’t be mad at that. And Mike better be getting his own book. I’m thirsty for his story.

This wasn’t an easy story to get through but I’m glad that I read it.

Grade: 3 out of 5

This book is available from Avon Impulse. You can purchase it here or here in e-format.

three-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Review: Mayhem by Jamie Shaw

Posted July 14, 2015 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Mayhem by Jamie ShawReviewer: Rowena
Mayhem by Jamie Shaw
Series: Mayhem #1
Also in this series: Mayhem, Riot, Riot, Chaos
Published by Avon Impulse
Publication Date: January 20th 2015
Genres: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary, Coming of Age
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

When college freshman Rowan Michaels meets gorgeous, up-and-coming rock star Adam Everest, she knows a player like him is the last thing she needs after her ex-boyfriend shattered her heart. But she can't stop thinking about the kiss they shared on his tour bus.

On the first day of school, Rowan is stunned when Adam saunters into her French class. He's soon failing miserably, and, on a whim, she offers to tutor him. But Adam doesn't recognize her as a makeup-free, glasses-clad college student—a far cry from the beautiful, mysterious "Peach" he met at his concert.

During a wild weekend on tour with the band, Rowan can't help falling for the sweet guy buried beneath Adam's rocker persona. Yet she knows she could never compete with the girls constantly throwing themselves at his feet. She'd just end up hurt … again.

Peach is all Adam thinks about, though, and when Rowan realizes this, she has a decision to make: stay just friends to protect her fragile heart … or reveal the truth about the night they met and admit she's fallen completely, hopelessly in love with him.

I came across the third book in this series when I was browsing through Edelweiss and after reading the blurb, I wanted to meet these guys in the band. I wanted to know who Shawn was (hero of Book 3) but in order to fully appreciate them, I knew that I would have to start at the beginning.

So I dove into Mayhem and didn’t look back and man was it a good ride.

While out at a show with her best friend, the last thing Rowan ever thought she’d see was her boyfriend of three years, at the same show, shoving his tongue down her throat. Shocked and hurt, Rowan rushes out of the club to get some fresh air…and maybe cry a little. This is where she meets rock star Adam Everett. Adam is about to go on stage when he comes across a cute girl crying her eyes out over some loser boyfriend who she just caught cheating on her.

Before he knows what’s what, she’s on his tour bus and he’s comforting her in the only way that he knows how to comfort her …by trying to sleep with her. When he gets turned down, he’s surprised because let’s face it – that never happens to bad boy rock star Adam Everett but when he shares an explosive kiss with her, he didn’t think that would be the last time he saw her.

When Rowan shows up at class on Monday, the last thing she expected to see was Adam Everett show up in her same class. She thought that the last thing they would have shared was that kiss that rocked her world but when Adam doesn’t remember or care who she is, her life resumes. They don’t run in the same circles so when she ends up tutoring him, she’s taken aback by how fast she starts to fall for him.

I think my favorite part of the book was the romance between Adam and Rowan. I loved how they came together. They didn’t jump into a relationship and Adam didn’t change his ways at first. I loved seeing the chemistry smoke up the pages of their story until they were finally on the same page. I thought Jamie Shaw did a fantastic job of telling their story. Of showing the two of them fall in love (even though we only got Rowan’s POV). I enjoyed getting to know both characters and I loved that there weren’t a lot of games being played here. Rowan was right to try to protect herself from the kind of love she knew would come from loving Adam. He wasn’t ready for her and I loved seeing him fall in love with her. Their relationship wasn’t perfect and it wasn’t always easy but they eventually got it right and I fell in love with the two of them at the same time they were falling for each other.

This was an enjoyable story about two people falling in love with each other amidst a whole lot of outside influences. It’s not easy being with a rock star who has girls throwing themselves at them every single day but I liked seeing Adam and Rowan fumble their way toward that happy ending. This was a great introduction to this series because it made me thirsty for more. I can’t wait to jump into the next book.

Grade: 4.25 out of 5

This book is available from Avon Impulse. You can purchase it here or here in e-format.

four-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Riot by Jamie Shaw

Posted March 16, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Riot by Jamie ShawReviewer: Tracy
Riot by Jamie Shaw
Series: Mayhem #2
Also in this series: Mayhem, Mayhem, Riot, Chaos
Published by Harper Collins
Publication Date: February 10th 2015
Genres: New Adult, Contemporary
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

When Dee Dawson meets sexy mohawked guitarist Joel Gibbon, she knows it won't be long before she has him wrapped around her finger. No guy has ever been able to resist her … but Dee's met her match in a player like Joel.

Dee's not the relationship type—not after seeing the pain "love" has caused her friends and family—yet she's desperate to make Joel want her more than anyone else. He quickly becomes an obsession, and when a reckless attempt to make him jealous ends in disaster, Dee turns into the damsel in distress she never wanted to be. With her carefree world crashing down around her, the last thing she needs is Joel's pity.

But Joel is suddenly determined to prove he cares, and no matter how hard Dee tries to push him away, he refuses to let her shut him out. Now the girl who swore she'd never say those three little words must choose between guarding her heart and losing Joel forever … or falling head over heels for the tattooed rock star of her dreams.

Tracy’s review of Riot (Mayhem #2) by Jamie Shaw

Dee is the type of girl who loves getting guys to want her and then she leaves them in the dust. Deep down she’s afraid to love after seeing the way it devastated her father when her mother left them. This is exactly what she plans on doing with Joel when she meets him but it doesn’t work out the way she thought it would.

Whenever Dee and Joel are out at night he starts with a girl on his arm and she tries her damndest to make him jealous and get his attention. They always leave together and have awesome sex but that’s as far as it goes until one night when one of the guys Dee is “playing” with first takes things too far. From that point on Joel and Dee’s relationship changes but as much fun as she has with Joel she states that she doesn’t want it to get deeper – only she really does. When things get too heavy between the two Dee must decide whether she’s going to let her head or her heart decide the future.

When I read Mayhem and loved it so much I immediately went and purchased Riot. Then I let it sit there for about a week unread because I was scared I wasn’t going to like it as much as book one! Silly me. Of course I liked it as much!

Joel and Dee’s story, as you might expect, is very different from Adam and Rowan’s story in Mayhem because they’re extremely different people. Obviously this author knows her characters well because she didn’t try to make Joel or Dee anything they weren’t or try to make their relationship similar to A & R’s. Riot was not a dark story but definitely had more darkness and grit then Mayhem and I liked that. That’s what it needed to make it work and Shaw pulled it off.

In this story Joel is a hard rocker and a wonderful guy. He knows what he does and doesn’t want and he’s not afraid to speak his mind. I loved his personality and he had a great sense of humor. He was very good to Dee up until she had a bit of a meltdown, but even then I couldn’t blame him for his actions. Oh, and did I mention that he was hot? So very hot. lol

Dee frustrated the hell out of me at times during the book but frankly I thought she had a really great heart. Once you were in her circle of friends she treated you like gold and I liked that about her. I loved her relationship with her dad and having that kind of bond with a parent, in my book, is something to be admired. I can’t say that I agreed with all of her actions throughout the book but I could see her point of view so I understood where she was coming from. She also made me laugh out loud a couple of times with her inner thoughts. Seriously funny.

In the end I found Riot to be a really great read and I absolutely recommend it. I can’t wait for the next book, Chaos, to release so I can gobble that up as well. I definitely won’t let it sit on my ereader for a week after I purchase it! 🙂

Rating: 4 out of 5

 

This title is available from Avon Impulse. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

four-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Mayhem by Jamie Shaw

Posted February 24, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Mayhem by Jamie ShawReviewer: Tracy
Mayhem by Jamie Shaw
Series: Mayhem #1
Also in this series: Riot, Mayhem, Riot, Chaos
Published by Harper Collins
Publication Date: January 20th 2015
Genres: New Adult, Contemporary
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

When college freshman Rowan Michaels meets gorgeous, up-and-coming rock star Adam Everest, she knows a player like him is the last thing she needs after her ex-boyfriend shattered her heart. But she can't stop thinking about the kiss they shared on his tour bus.
On the first day of school, Rowan is stunned when Adam saunters into her French class. He's soon failing miserably, and, on a whim, she offers to tutor him. But Adam doesn't recognize her as a makeup-free, glasses-clad college student—a far cry from the beautiful, mysterious "Peach" he met at his concert.
During a wild weekend on tour with the band, Rowan can't help falling for the sweet guy buried beneath Adam's rocker persona. Yet she knows she could never compete with the girls constantly throwing themselves at his feet. She'd just end up hurt … again.
Peach is all Adam thinks about, though, and when Rowan realizes this, she has a decision to make: stay just friends to protect her fragile heart … or reveal the truth about the night they met and admit she's fallen completely, hopelessly in love with him.

Tracy’s review of Mayhem (Mayhem #1) by Jamie Shaw

Rowan is out at a club called Mayhem with her friend, Dee, when she sees her boyfriend of 3 years (who is supposedly out of town for work) kissing another girl. She is devastated and heads out of the club to get some air. She’s approached by none other than the bands lead singer, Adam, who is kind and caring in her time of need and while he makes a play for her he takes it well when she turns him down. They spend a short amount of time together but it makes an impact on both of them.

Rowan ends up moving out of her apartment (that she shares with her cheating boyfriend) into Dee’s dorm room and goes on with her life while trying to get over her asshole boyfriend, Brady. She’s shocked on the first day of school when she sees Adam in her French class but as she sits in back and he in front he doesn’t see her. Day after day she witnesses him and his constant harem of women and tries to tell herself that it’s a good thing that he never recognized her. In a crazy move Rowan ends up offering Adam her tutoring services for French so he wont’ be kicked from the class. He accepts her offer but his band is on the road that weekend and she ends up spending three days with Adam and the band tutoring him and eventually becoming his friend. Yes, she really wants more but she knows he’s a player and that he doesn’t want a relationship so she’ll stay in the friend category.

Adam was completely floored by the woman he met at Mayhem. He didn’t ever catch her real name but referred to her as Peach. He has no clue that Rowan is Peach as she dresses down, wears glasses and puts her hair up in a messy bun. He gets closer with Rowan, however, and though he says just friends he might be thinking there’s something more there.

I really enjoyed this book. I liked the different premise of the tutor going on the road with the band as it added another dimension to the relationship between the h/h that we wouldn’t have gotten had they just been on a college campus.

Now Adam was a total player. He never actually took a woman to his room on the bus while Rowan was there but he certainly kissed a girl or two. I actually liked that they showed this part of him. He wasn’t completely smitten with Rowan from minute one and he certainly didn’t change his spots in one day just cuz she was there. I liked that we actually saw this side of him as it made the softer, caring side he showed Rowan all that much sweeter. I know that some readers won’t like it but I did. Kind of like a rake in a historical romance and we actually got to see what gave him his name, ya know? Anyway, I really liked Adam and thought he was great for Rowan. The story was told from Rowan’s POV so we didn’t get much from Adam until the end but I still liked him from Rowans perspective.

Rowan I liked, but not as much as Adam. She was definitely more wishy-washy at times than I would have liked but hey, she was something like 18 years old. I’m pretty sure the majority of girls are that way when they’re 18. (Not all, but a lot of them! J) I didn’t care for her self-esteem issues either but they were there so I dealt with them. I did love the way she interacted with the band. Mike, Joel, and Shawn were great secondary characters and I’m looking forward to reading their stories in the future. I found that the h/h did fall in love quite quickly but I believe there are people out there who fall in love almost at first sight (and actually make it work!) so I didn’t mind all that much.

In the end it was a fun book that didn’t have a whole lot of angst – which was awesome. Sometime I just need to sit down with a book that’s fun and makes me laugh – as well as smile from the romance. This did all of that and more.

 Rating: 4 out of 5

This title is available from Avon Impulse. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

four-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , , ,