Series: Maiden Lane

Guest Review: Duke of Pleasure by Elizabeth Hoyt

Posted November 30, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Duke of Pleasure by Elizabeth HoytReviewer: Tracy
Duke of Pleasure by Elizabeth Hoyt
Series: Maiden Lane #11
Also in this series: Wicked Intentions, Wicked Intentions, Lord of Darkness, Darling Beast, Dearest Rogue, Sweetest Scoundrel, Duke of Sin, Once Upon a Moonlit Night
Published by Grand Central Publishing
Publication Date: November 29th 2016
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

IN THE ARMS OF DANGER

Bold. Brave. Brutally handsome. Hugh Fitzroy, the Duke of Kyle, is the king's secret weapon. Sent to defeat the notorious Lords of Chaos, he is ambushed in a London alley—and rescued by an unlikely ally: a masked stranger with the unmistakable curves of a woman.

IN THE HEAT OF DESIRE

Cocky. Clever. Courageously independent. Alf has survived on the perilous streets of St. Giles by disguising her sex. By day she is a boy, dealing in information and secrets. By night she's the notorious Ghost of St. Giles, a masked vigilante. But as she saves Hugh from assassins, she finds herself succumbing to temptation.

ONE KISS WILL CHANGE THEIR LIVES FOREVER

When Hugh hires Alf to investigate the Lords of Chaos, her worlds collide. Once Hugh realizes that the boy and the Ghost are the same, will Alf find the courage to become the woman she needs to be—before the Lords of Chaos destroy them both?

Alf is a woman who has always had to take care of herself.  She’s been living on the streets of St. Giles her whole life and it was easier to pass herself off as a boy than it was to be a girl.  She’s an information collector by day and by night she’s the notorious Ghost of St. Giles.  Though she loves what she does but now that she’s 21 years old she’s also started to think about being a woman and having a family.  She knows it will never be possible for her but that doesn’t stop her from longing for it all.

The Duke of Kyle is enthralled with the Ghost of St. Giles.  She helped him when he was attacked and then proceeded to kiss him.  He finds himself highly intrigued.  He hires Alf to get information about why he was attacked not knowing that she’s the Ghost.  When Alf is hurt he has her stay in his house – not knowing he’s a she.  Alf gets close with his sons and when he finds out that Alf is a woman he can’t seem to keep his mind off of her.  When she learns to dress and act like a proper woman for a job Hugh can’t keep his eyes off of her either.  The chemistry between Hugh and Alf is off the charts but neither one knows how they can make a relationship work. Hugh had been greatly hurt by his wife and didn’t trust his own judgement.  Alf living as a street urchin makes her think that she could never be with a duke.

I have to start by saying I’ve loved Alf since she first came on the page.  Even when I thought she was just a small boy my heart went out to her.  I was extremely happy when I saw that she was getting her own book and it was definitely one worth ready.

Hugh was the perfect guy for Alf.  He had been working for the King (his father) and had been living a life of danger before his wife died and he came home to take care of his children.  Part of his attraction to Alf was her love of intrigue but also her fearlessness.  She wasn’t afraid to take care of those in need and he loved that about her.  He was a good man and loved her whether she was in men’s clothing and being a street urchin or in a dress being a woman.  He could accept all parts of her and that is what makes a good romance, imho.

I have to say that I also really loved the addition of Hugh’s children, Peter and Kit.  Kit was pissed off at his father as he hadn’t been around (Hugh’s wife took many lovers and Hugh left the country).  Hugh was trying to make up for that and show his kids the love he had for them.  It was a very touching part of the story and I was happy that Hoyt included them/it.

Overall I really liked the book and can’t wait for the next one.  I read the excerpt for the next book and I can tell you I’m on pins and needles already.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Once Upon a Moonlit Night by Elizabeth Hoyt

Posted July 6, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Once Upon a Moonlit Night by Elizabeth HoytReviewer: Tracy
Once Upon a Moonlit Night by Elizabeth Hoyt
Series: Maiden Lane #10.5
Also in this series: Wicked Intentions, Wicked Intentions, Lord of Darkness, Darling Beast, Dearest Rogue, Sweetest Scoundrel, Duke of Sin, Duke of Pleasure
Published by Grand Central Publishing
Publication Date: July 5th 2016
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Hippolyta Royle is running for her life. Pursued by hounds on a cold rainy night, the heiress flags down a passing carriage and throws herself at the mercy of the coach's occupant. Whoever this handsome traveler may be, he is her only hope to escape a terrible fate. But should he agree to escort her to safety, he's in for much more than he bargained for . . .

At first Matthew Mortimer doesn't believe Hippolyta's story, that she's a fabulously wealthy heiress who's been kidnapped. He assumes she's a beggar, an actress, or worse. But once his new travel companion washes the mud from her surprisingly lovely face, and they share a breathtaking kiss, there is no turning back . . .

Hippolyta Royle is the richest heiress in London and had been kidnapped in the previous book.  She was set free and was running for her life when she found a road and stopped a carriage.  Of course after climbing hill and dale to escape she was an absolute mess and extremely filthy.  She had mud all over her, was soaking wet and smelled horrible.  Luckily the man inside the carriage was nice enough to take her to the next village.

Matthew Mortimer, the new Earl of Paxton, was traveling to London from Edinburgh.  He assumes this bedraggled mess of a woman is a beggar maid or even a prostitute but he doesn’t really want to leave her on the side of the road.  He agrees to take her to the next village but that ends up being hours and hours away.  While the two get to know each other they have their disagreements but after spending two days together Matthew knows that this is the woman for him – no matter who she is.

Such a sweet, charming novella.  I love the Maiden Lane series and was so happy that Hippolyta got her HEA.  Matthew was a bit of a pain to start with but he made me laugh.  I loved how he supported Hippolyta no matter what and that showed the power of his love for her.

We had the extra joy of Tommy Teapot in this novella – a mongoose.  He was a little stinker but a cute and loveable addition to the story.

At the end we got a very small taste of the next full novel, Duke of Pleasure, and I can honestly say I just can’t wait to read it!

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Duke of Sin by Elizabeth Hoyt

Posted May 31, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Duke of Sin by Elizabeth HoytReviewer: Tracy
Duke of Sin by Elizabeth Hoyt
Series: Maiden Lane #10
Also in this series: Wicked Intentions, Wicked Intentions, Lord of Darkness, Darling Beast, Dearest Rogue, Sweetest Scoundrel, Once Upon a Moonlit Night, Duke of Pleasure
Published by Grand Central Publishing
Publication Date: May 31st 2016
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

A MAN OF SIN

Devastatingly handsome. Vain. Unscrupulous. Valentine Napier, the Duke of Montgomery, is the man London whispers about in boudoirs and back alleys. A notorious rake and blackmailer, Montgomery has returned from exile, intent on seeking revenge on those who have wronged him. But what he finds in his own bedroom may lay waste to all his plans.

A WOMAN OF HONOR

Born a bastard, housekeeper Bridget Crumb is clever, bold, and fiercely loyal. When her aristocratic mother becomes the target of extortion, Bridget joins the Duke of Montgomery's household to search for the incriminating evidence-and uncovers something far more dangerous.

A SECRET THAT THREATENS TO DESTROY THEM BOTH

Astonished by the deceptively prim-and surprisingly witty-domestic spy in his chambers, Montgomery is intrigued. And try as she might, Bridget can't resist the slyly charming duke. Now as the two begin their treacherous game of cat and mouse, they soon realize that they both have secrets-and neither may be as nefarious-or as innocent-as they appear . . .

Val, the Duke of Montgomery, is a pretty bad guy who seems unredeemable until he meets Bridget. Bridget is his housekeeper and he’s incredibly intrigued by her. He starts to demand her presence more and more and he’s fascinated by the things she tells him about scruples but he almost can’t get his head around it.

Bridget is at the duke’s house under false pretenses. Yes, she’s a housekeeper, and a very good one at that, but she is there to help out her birth mother – to find some letters that Val has that he can blackmail her with. Bridget’s scared of losing her position but she’s also intrigued by the duke. He seems, to the world, an evil man but Bridget sees more in him and is willing to risk her job and her feelings to keep him on the straight and narrow.

This was an interesting story. It definitely wasn’t your typical romance as it involved a man that for the most part almost seemed sociopathic but wasn’t. I truly loved that Elizabeth Hoyt put these two people together because it really is the only way that it would have worked for them. If Val had been an ordinary duke it would have never worked out for the two of them, that’s for sure.

Bridget in this book was a housekeeper but her mother was the daughter of a viscount. She has compassion streaming through her pores and while she loved her position she always wondered about why her mother hadn’t kept her (she knew she was a bastard but still). I loved that she saw Val for the despot he was. She couldn’t understand what he did or why he did it but she still gave it her all to teach him right from wrong.

Val was a piece of work. For a while I truly didn’t think the man could be redeemed. Even when he started his relationship with Bridget he was still working his schemes and I wasn’t sure where the story was going. I thought that the way that Hoyt brought about their ultimate HEA had me believing it was possible but Bridget still had her work cut out for her.

While this certainly wasn’t my favorite book in the series it was a good one. I liked that they slowly fell in love and it wasn’t a foregone conclusion that it would all end well; I liked that Bridget wasn’t a raving beauty but was an ordinary looking woman; I liked that the author didn’t try to make me believe that Val had been completely rehabilitated by the end of the book. These elements along with the romance involved made this worth reading.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Sweetest Scoundrel by Elizabeth Hoyt

Posted November 20, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Sweetest Scoundrel by Elizabeth HoytReviewer: Tracy
Sweetest ScoundrelSeries: Maiden Lane #9
Also in this series: Wicked Intentions, Wicked Intentions, Lord of Darkness, Darling Beast, Dearest Rogue, Duke of Sin, Once Upon a Moonlit Night, Duke of Pleasure
Published by Forever
Publication Date: November 24, 2015
Genres: Historical Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

SHE'S TAKING CHARGE

Prim, proper, and thrifty, Eve Dinwoody is all business when it comes to protecting her brother's investment. But when she agrees to control the purse strings of London's premier pleasure garden, Harte's Folly, she finds herself butting heads with an infuriating scoundrel who can't be controlled.

HE'S RUNNING THE SHOW

Bawdy and bold, Asa Makepeace doesn't have time for a penny-pinching prude like Eve. As the garden's larger-than-life owner, he's already dealing with self-centered sopranos and temperamental tenors. He's not about to let an aristocratic woman boss him around . . . no matter how enticing she is.

BUT LOVE CONQUERS ALL

In spite of her lack of theatrical experience—and her fiery clashes with Asa—Eve is determined to turn Harte's Folly into a smashing success. But the harder she tries to manage the stubborn rake, the harder it is to ignore his seductive charm and raw magnetism. There's no denying the smoldering fire between them—and trying to put it out would be the greatest folly of all.

Eve Dinwoody is the illegitimate sister of the Duke of Montgomery, and is his “man” of business as well. She’s holding the purse strings to her brother’s investment into the reconstruction of Harte’s Folly and Eve isn’t thrilled with Mr. Harte and the money he’s been – at least to her thoughts – spending recklessly.

When Eve first confronts Harte he is in dishabille with the woman hired to sing in the opera on opening night at Harte’s Folly. She’s not taken with the man at all but when he shows her the garden and is so very passionate about it she starts to see a different person. Mr. Harte, who’s real name is Asa Makepeace, lives for the theatre. He loves it so much that he became disowned by his father because of it. He lives, eats and breathes the Folly and won’t allow Eve to cut off his funds. Eve agrees, because of her brother’s goading, to contin ue to supply Asa with funds but strange things start happening around the garden and lives get put into danger.

Asa gets to know Eve and the more he’s around her the more he likes her. He doesn’t understand his feelings but he’s not a stupid man and isn’t willing to question them too deeply. He knows he wants her but even he can’t predict how much he’ll end up caring for the lady.

This was a wonderful story. I have long waited for Asa’s story and reading about Eve in the last book piqued my interest even more. I love this pairing as it was just so very unlikely!

Eve, though she has some emotional scarring from her past deals with Asa beautifully. She pushes him to levels he didn’t think anyone could and is happy to do it for her. She, at first, can’t stand for any man to touch her other than her bodyguard but soon Asa has gotten under her skin and she’s enjoying his touch.

The story is a bit suspenseful and very sexy – as I find all of Elizabeth Hoyt’s books – and that’s a definite plus in my book. I am intrigued by the Duke of Montgomery and what he’s up to, that’s for sure.

It was great to see the other members of the Makepeace family in this story as well and catch up with them a bit. It wasn’t for long but just enough that it made me want to go back and start the series over again.

I found Sweetest Scoundrel to be a great addition to the Maiden Lane series and can’t wait for the next book!

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Dearest Rogue by Elizabeth Hoyt

Posted May 26, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 2 Comments

Guest Review: Dearest Rogue by Elizabeth HoytReviewer: Tracy
Dearest Rogue by Elizabeth Hoyt
Series: Maiden Lane #8
Also in this series: Wicked Intentions, Wicked Intentions, Lord of Darkness, Darling Beast, Sweetest Scoundrel, Duke of Sin, Once Upon a Moonlit Night, Duke of Pleasure
Published by Grand Central Publishing
Publication Date: May 26th 2015
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

HE CAN GUARD HER

Lady Phoebe Batten is pretty, vivacious, and yearning for a social life befitting the sister of a powerful duke. But because she is almost completely blind, her overprotective brother insists that she have an armed bodyguard by her side at all times-the very irritating Captain Trevillion.

FROM EVERY DANGER

Captain James Trevillion is proud, brooding, and cursed with a leg injury from his service in the King's dragoons. Yet he can still shoot and ride like the devil, so watching over the distracting Lady Phoebe should be no problem at all-until she's targeted by kidnappers.

BUT PASSION ITSELF

Caught in a deadly web of deceit, James must risk life and limb to save his charge from the lowest of cads-one who would force Lady Phoebe into a loveless marriage. But while they're confined to close quarters for her safekeeping, Phoebe begins to see the tender man beneath the soldier's hard exterior . . . and the possibility of a life-and love-she never imagined possible.

Phoebe Batten is twenty one years old but feels like a small child at times. She has to ask permission to go places and she always has to have a companion – in this case her bodyguard, Captain James Trevillion. She hates having to live as she does but she’s blind and her brother, the Duke of Wakefield, is over protective and uncompromising. Phoebe has resented the Captain’s presence in her life until recently when she has begun to see him as more of a man than a guard. She’s becoming more attached to him as the time passes.

James Trevillion is a proud man whose first choice would not be playing bodyguard to anyone. He has found himself falling for Phoebe, however, and wants her safe at all costs. When he fails to keep her safe he resigns his position. He hates being away from her but he knows it’s necessary for her own safety. That doesn’t exactly work out and next thing you know Phoebe and James are masquerading as husband and wife while on their way to Cornwall to hide out. While hiding from Phoebe from kidnappers James has to figure out if he loves Phoebe enough to fight for her or loves her enough to stay away.

Oh the tension is this book was glorious. lol I have been waiting for Phoebe’s story and Hoyt did not disappoint. James and Phoebe were perfect for each other and to finally see them both find love was quite satisfying.

The story had so many different elements to it that Hoyt wove together beautifully. Phoebe’s issues with her brother and his over protectiveness; Phoebe’s feelings about her blindness as well as her growing feelings for James; James’ issues with his pride and his bum leg; James’ issues with his father and his past in Cornwall; James’ issues with his feelings for Phoebe and his belief that he wasn’t good enough for her. It all came together so nicely that I found myself turning page after page and not pretty much refusing to put the book down.

The characters were strong and so well written. I felt that we got to know each of the MC’s in-depth and got a good grasp on who they were inside and how they would be perfect for the other person. I love the way that Hoyt writes and how she manages to get her MC’s to fall in love. Earlier in the series I would have never imagined Phoebe and James together but after reading this book it’s obvious they were meant for each other. Yes, I’m a romantic sap. lol

Dearest Rogue is a great love story in what’s been a wonderful series. I can’t wait to read the next book and now want to go back and start from book one just so I can get a Hoyt fix while I wait for the next story.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

This title is available from Vision/Grand Central Publishing. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,