Series: Kate Daniels

Review: Magic Rises by Ilona Andrews

Posted June 7, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Magic Rises by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Holly
Magic Rises by Ilona Andrews
Narrator: Renee Raudman
Series: Kate Daniels #6
Also in this series: Magic Shifts, Magic Shifts, Magic Binds, Magic Bites, Magic Strikes, Iron and Magic, Magic Triumphs, Magic Bites, Magic Bleeds , Magic Burns, Magic Strikes , Magic Slays , Gunmetal Magic
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: July 30, 2013
Format: Audiobook, eBook
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 327
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: GoodReads Challenge, Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-half-stars

Atlanta is a city plagued by magical problems. Kate Daniels will fight to solve them—no matter the cost.

Mercenary Kate Daniels and her mate, Curran, the Beast Lord, are struggling to solve a heartbreaking crisis. Unable to control their beasts, many of the Pack’s shapeshifting children fail to survive to adulthood. While there is a medicine that can help, the secret to its making is closely guarded by the European packs, and there’s little available in Atlanta.

Kate can’t bear to watch innocents suffer, but the solution she and Curran have found threatens to be even more painful. The European shapeshifters who once outmaneuvered the Beast Lord have asked him to arbitrate a dispute—and they’ll pay him in medicine. With the young people’s survival and the Pack’s future at stake, Kate and Curran know they must accept the offer—but they have little doubt that they’re heading straight into a trap…

Magic Rises by Ilona Andrews is the 6th book in the Kate Daniels series. I love Kate, Curran and all the rest. I’m always excited to fall back into this world.

This book really brought Kate’s past to the forefront and gave us insight into what she’ll be dealing with when the fight with her father finally comes to fruition. I probably shouldn’t, but I really like Hugh. I love how he needles Kate and Curran.

Speaking of Curran..I wanted to beat him in this book. I knew there had to be a reason for him to act the way he did, but it didn’t make it easier to read. My heart broke for Kate. It isn’t often I truly want to smack Curran, but it happened here.

Her sparring session with Hugh was one of the highlights of the book.

And I cried toward the end. Sniffle.

The world and these characters are so complex and well-nuanced. My emotions were engaged from the first page. This series is not to be missed.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Kate Daniels

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Gunmetal Magic by Ilona Andrews

Posted June 4, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Gunmetal Magic by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Holly
Gunmetal Magic by Ilona Andrews
Narrator: Renee Raudman
Series: Kate Daniels #5.5
Also in this series: Magic Shifts, Magic Shifts, Magic Binds, Magic Bites, Magic Strikes, Iron and Magic, Magic Triumphs, Magic Bites, Magic Bleeds , Magic Burns, Magic Strikes , Magic Slays , Magic Rises
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: July 31, 2012
Format: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 326
Length: 12 hours and 43 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: GoodReads Challenge, Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-half-stars

Some people have everything figured out—Andrea Nash is not one of those people.

After being kicked out of the Order of the Knights of Merciful Aid, Andrea’s whole existence is in shambles. All she can do is to try to put herself back together, something made easier by working for Cutting Edge, a small investigative firm owned by her best friend Kate Daniels.

When several shapeshifters working for Raphael Medrano—the male alpha of the Clan Bouda and Andrea’s former lover—die unexpectedly at a dig site, Andrea is assigned to investigate…and must work with Raphael. As Andrea’s search for the killer leads her into the secret underbelly of supernatural Atlanta, she knows that dealing with her feelings for Raphael might have to take a back seat to saving the world…

This is set in the Kate Daniels world but told from Andrea’s point of view. I’ve been chomping at the bit to see what was going on with her and Raphael.

Andrea and Raphael have been circling each other for months. They started dating and fell deeply in love, but Raphael thought Andrea chose her job over him, and it pissed him off. Then Andrea disappeared without a word and made things worse. Now she’s back, and Aunt B, Raphael’s mom and Alpha of Clan Bouda, is after her to join the Pack; Raphael turns up with a bimbo in tow; Kate, her best friend, has a fledgling detective agency to get off the ground with Andrea’s help and they have a new case that needs her attention. Basically, her life is kind of shit. But she’s getting a handle on being Beastkin, and accepting her animal form, and she’s done taking shit from everyone in her life.

Andreas’s kind of a mess, and really needs support, but Raphael’s feelers were hurt so he acted like an ass. Then Andrea acted like an ass because he acted like an ass. That could have been really annoying, but the plot was interesting and kept me invested in the story even when I wanted to knock them both upside the head. Plus, there was a lot of humor.

I really enjoyed seeing Kate from someone else’s perspective. I think we learned a lot more about her because, for the first time, we were outside her head and inside someone else’s. I love Kate and Andrea’s friendship, and the way they interact with each other. I just love the world, period. It’s so well-drawn I immediately fall into it.

Although they both frustrated me, I can’t deny I was pulling for Raphael and Andrea. Seeing her come into herself and start kicking ass as Beastkin really worked for me.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5

Kate Daniels

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Magic Slays by Ilona Andrews

Posted June 3, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Magic Slays by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Holly
Magic Slays by Ilona Andrews
Narrator: Renee Raudman
Series: Kate Daniels #5
Also in this series: Magic Shifts, Magic Shifts, Magic Binds, Magic Bites, Magic Strikes, Iron and Magic, Magic Triumphs, Magic Bites, Magic Bleeds , Magic Burns, Magic Strikes , Gunmetal Magic , Magic Rises
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: May 31, 2011
Format: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 308
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: GoodReads Challenge, Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-half-stars

Plagued by a war between magic and technology, Atlanta has never been so deadly. Good thing Kate Daniels is on the job.

Kate Daniels may have quit the Order of Merciful Aid, but she’s still knee-deep in paranormal problems. Or she would be if she could get someone to hire her. Starting her own business has been more challenging than she thought it would be—now that the Order is disparaging her good name. Plus, many potential clients are afraid of getting on the bad side of the Beast Lord, who just happens to be Kate’s mate.

So when Atlanta’s premier Master of the Dead calls to ask for help with a vampire on the loose, Kate leaps at the chance of some paying work. But it turns out that this is not an isolated incident. Kate needs to get to the bottom of it—and fast, or the city and everyone dear to her might pay the ultimate price…

Magic Slays is the fifth book in the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews. As its the fifth book in the series, it’s nearly impossible for me to write this review without including spoilers from previous books. Fair warning.

Kate has set up her own investigative firm, Cutting Edge, and she’s all settled in with her faithful attack poodle, Grendel, for help. Unfortunately, business is sparse.

So far Cutting Edge was turning out to be one of those pet businesses rich men gave to their wives to keep them busy. I wanted it to succeed, God damn it. I wanted to be profitable and stand on my own two feet.

The residents of Atlanta aren’t exactly busting down her door, begging to hire her. So she isn’t exactly in a position to say no when a new case pops up. One that looks to be dangerous and dirty.

Rene looked at Grendel.
“What in the world is that?”
“That’s our mutant attack poodle,” I told her.
“Is he chewing on a gun?”
“It’s not a real gun,” Andrea said.
Rene sighed. “Of course not. That would be irresponsible of you, wouldn’t it?”

Andrea turns back up in this book, and we see quite a bit with her and Kate. I love their friendship and how solid it is, despite not being very old.

Andrea blew her nose. Her voice came out slightly hoarse. “Do you even have anything to shoot the PAD with?”
“I have an armory upstairs. The Pack gave me some guns and ammo. It’s in boxes to the left.”
Andrea paused. “In cardboard boxes?” “Yeah.” Andrea groaned.
“Hey, guns aren’t my thing. If they had brought me swords, that would be different. That’s where you come—”
Andrea got up and hugged me. It was a split-second hug, and then she was off, going upstairs, handkerchief in hand. This best friend thing was seriously kicking my ass.

I also love seeing Derek, Ascanio, Aunt B, and all the rest again.

Every time Kate turns into a hardass I cheer. She’s so badass. I can’t even with her.

[..]He wouldn’t slice a man’s throat and step over his twitching body while the hot blood spurted on the ground. I would. And it wouldn’t bother me much. In fact, I’d been out of action for over two months now. I missed it, missed the edge and the fight.
We stared at each other.
I would kill you in an instant with no hesitation.
A slow recognition rolled over Henderson’s face. “So it’s like that,” he said.
That’s right.

The series is really picking up steam now. I feel like Kate has settled into herself more and is beginning to accept her future. I like the progression of her relationship with Curran and the rest of her band of merry men. I like the story here, too.

Yes, Consort?”
“Why is everyone calling me Consort?”
“Jim designated you as Consort in official papers. You don’t want to be called Mate, calling you Alpha is confusing, and ‘Beast Lady’ makes people laugh.”

Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Kate Daniels

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Joint Review: Magic Strikes by Ilona Andrews

Posted May 31, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Joint Review: Magic Strikes by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Holly
Magic Strikes by Ilona Andrews
Narrator: Renee Raudman
Series: Kate Daniels #3
Also in this series: Magic Shifts, Magic Shifts, Magic Binds, Magic Bites, Magic Strikes, Iron and Magic, Magic Triumphs, Magic Bites, Magic Bleeds , Magic Burns, Magic Slays , Gunmetal Magic , Magic Rises
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: March 31, 2009
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 322
Length: 10 hours and 50 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, GoodReads Challenge, Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-half-stars

When magic strikes and Atlanta goes to pieces, it’s a job for Kate Daniels…

Drafted into working for the Order of Merciful Aid, mercenary Kate Daniels has more paranormal problems than she knows what to do with these days. And in Atlanta, where magic comes and goes like the tide, that’s saying a lot.

But when Kate's werewolf friend Derek is discovered nearly dead, she must confront her greatest challenge yet. As her investigation leads her to the Midnight Games—an invitation only, no holds barred, ultimate preternatural fighting tournament—she and Curran, the Lord of the Beasts, uncover a dark plot that may forever alter the face of Atlanta's shapeshifting community…

Casee: Lets get this party started. Where does Magic Strikes fall for you in terms of rating out of the all the books in the series?

Holly: It’s hard for me to talk about this one without spoilers, but some major things happen that influence decisions Kate and Curran make for the rest of the series. In terms of the entire series, this is one of my favorites. The emotional punch, along with the exciting action, really had me hooked.

Casee: I really liked this one, too. I listened to it on audio and was glad to be traveling at the time. I really felt like we got to know the characters better.

Holly: I like Renee Raudman as a narrator. She did all of this series (and most of IA’s other books as well).

What did you think of Derek in this book? My heart really broke for him. He’s one of my favorite characters and seeing him like that? Oh man. It killed. I totally got why Kate, Jim and the others did what they did because of him.

Casee: I love Derek and loved him even more in this book. He is truly a hero and it was really showcased in this book. That said, he is still young. Kate and Jim still feel protective of him and that need to protect him really drove a lot of this book. Oh Lord, but when Kate found him? I can’t even tell you the emotions that were going through me at the time.

Holly: What do you think of Dali, the vegetarian tiger?

Casee: Dali comes across as so meek and weak, but she is anything but. I think she’s going to be a force later in the series.

Holly: Dali is a force. I love her. Are you going to read her novella?

Casee: Yes, I’ll definitely read her novella. She’s fascinating. Especially as the series goes on. Although I have only read four (??) of the books.

What did you think of Saiman in this book? We really get to know him a lot better.

Holly: Saiman is interesting. I don’t want to say too much because I’m not sure how much of what I’m feeling about him is because of later books.

Casee: I’m not sure how I feel about Saiman now. He’s mostly treats Kate in such a degrading way even as he admires her. It’s a very odd combination. And uncomfortable.

Holly: What did you think of Kate and Curran in this book? The romance really heated up, and I loved the way things are progressing for them.

Casee: I think this was the turning point for Kate when it came to her feelings for Curran. Obviously Curran had been dropping hints for while when it came to his feelings for Kate, but she was pretty slow on the uptake. I love how they’re both such strong characters, but they don’t clash. Am I making sense?

Holly: I agree this is a turning point for Kate. She realizes some things about herself and Curran, and I like how their relationship progresses from here.

Casee: What did you think of Jim in this book? How he defied pack law?

Holly: I have kind of a love/hate relationship with Jim. I understand why he does the things he does (Pack is everything, blah blah), but I don’t like how he constantly throws Kate under the bus.

Casee: I agree about Jim & this is only the third book. Considering the fact that Jim & Kate were partners, the way he disregards what may or may not happen to her is pretty messed up.

I would rate this one a 4 out of 5. At the time I finished this book, it rated as my favorite of the series.

Holly: I’d rate it 4 out of 5.

Final Grades

Casee: 4 out of 5
Holly: 4 out of 5

Kate Daniels

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Featured Review: Magic Burns by Ilona Andrews

Posted April 26, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Featured Review: Magic Burns by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Casee, Holly, & Rowena
Magic Burns by Ilona Andrews
Series: Kate Daniels #2
Also in this series: Magic Shifts, Magic Shifts, Magic Binds, Magic Bites, Magic Strikes, Iron and Magic, Magic Triumphs, Magic Bites, Magic Bleeds , Magic Strikes , Magic Slays , Gunmetal Magic , Magic Rises
Publisher: Penguin, Berkley
Publication Date: April 1, 2008
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 260
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, Rowena's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-half-stars

Down in Atlanta, tempers – and temperatures – are about to flare…

As a mercenary who cleans up after magic gone wrong, Kate Daniels has seen her share of occupational hazards. Normally, waves of paranormal energy ebb and flow across Atlanta like a tide. But once every seven years, a flare comes, a time when magic runs rampant. Now Kate’s going to have to deal with problems on a much bigger scale: a divine one.

When Kate sets out to retrieve a set of stolen maps for the Pack, Atlanta’s paramilitary clan of shapeshifters, she quickly realizes much more at stake. During a flare, gods and goddesses can manifest – and battle for power. The stolen maps are only the opening gambit in an epic tug-of-war between two gods hoping for rebirth. And if Kate can’t stop the cataclysmic showdown, the city may not survive…

Casee: This is the second book in the Kate Daniels series. What did you two think? I thought it was loads better than Magic Bites. While I was listening to Magic Burns, I was pretty happy that we got the information dump in the first book. It was easy to get into this book and understand what was happening.

Holly: This book is loads better than Magic Bites. I’m so glad you two continued on with the series because it’s so freaking good.

Rowena: I liked this book way more than I liked Magic Bites, too. I’m also glad that I slogged through all of that information dumping from Magic Bites because it made jumping into this one a lot easier. It took me a long ass time to read this book though but that was due to my reading slump and had nothing to do with my enjoyment of this book.

Casee: Kate did get annoying in this book. She’s a martyr.

Holly: I don’t think Kate is a martyr so much as she takes on responsibility for everyone. Calling her a martyr implies she wallows in her misery, and I don’t think that’s the case. Still, I agree that she can be annoying. It’s frustrating when she takes everything on herself.

Rowena: I don’t think Kate is a martyr either. I agree with Holly that she just takes responsibility for everyone. I do like that she’s loyal as shit and that she has a great moral compass. I loved that she won’t save herself at the expense of anyone and because of that, I let all of the things that make her annoying slide.

Casee: I agree with both of you. Martyr was a poor choice of words. She just feels like she’s responsible for everyone. Kate wants to save everyone, even at her own expense. It’s admirable and annoying at the same time.

Holly: I love the world, and how magic comes and goes.

Rowena: I really like how messed up this world is. Magic flares be fucking shit up and it cracks me up that Kate can’t drive a car, make a phone call when magic gets in the way. I loved seeing Derek again, gosh what a good character he is. I love how loyal he is to Kate and how much he seems to care about her too. I also really liked seeing Kate bond with Julie. I loved when she referred to Julie as her kid.

Holly: I Love what a badass Kate is. When she was fighting in that last battle scene? Damn.

Rowena: Yes, I love how Kate will fight to the death to protect those she holds close to her. I’m really curious to see how everyone is going to react when they find out what she is, especially Curran.

Also, things are heating up with Curran and I’m so freaking here for it. When she comes home and he’s sitting on her couch, waiting to welcome her home and made her coffee?? Gah. I’m a sucker for that shit and I need more!

Casee: I love, love, love Curran. I love how the relationship between the two of them is evolving. Andrews is extraordinary at getting Curran’s emotions across the page, even though this series is strictly from Kate’s POV. You never wonder what he’s thinking because the series is so well written.

Holly: I love how she and Curran circle each other, and how well she takes care of the people she loves. I can’t wait for you guys to finish the series. I’m all aflutter with anticipation.

Rowena: Curran wasn’t my favorite person in Magic Bites, I actually didn’t care for him all that much but that’s not the case anymore. Seeing him circle Kate, trying to wear her down is just fantastic. I’m going to laugh so much when Kate finally says, “Please” and “Thank you”. LMAO!

Casee: I also really enjoy the humor in these books. This series can be rather dark, so the humor really breaks things up. I really enjoyed the interaction between Kate and the guy that kept stealing the maps.

Rowena: Bran kept stealing the maps and I really liked the way that Andrews wrote his character. He was annoying and I wasn’t expecting to like him or even be as affected as I was when he left, but I was. I loved the interactions between him and Kate and I loved how Kate made sure that he would be remembered by the witches. So good.

Casee: I wasn’t expecting Bran to be as likable as he was. Kate’s reaction at the end of the book just slayed me. I do love that Kate will do anything for the people she feels are hers to protect, even as she did get somewhat annoying. How can you not like loyalty and love like that? I couldn’t wait for Curran to find out what she is. That scene won’t disappoint.

Holly: I agree that Bran started out annoying, but really grew on me. I loved how his relationship with Kate developed. I think she saw a lot of herself in him. Prior to Julie, Derek and Andrea (and of course Curran) coming into her life, she was on the path to loneliness, too.

Casee: Are you going to continue to read the series, Wena?

Rowena: Heck yes!

Holly: Woot! I’m so glad you plan to continue.

Rowena: This book gets a 4.25 out of 5 from me. What about you guys?

Holly: I think this gets 3.75 from me. I like it, but it isn’t one of the best in the series.

Casee: It gets a 4 from me. I really enjoyed getting immersed in this world.

Final Grades

Casee: 4 out of 5
Holly: 3.75-4 out of 5
Rowena: 4.25 out of 5

Kate Daniels


four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,