Series: Kate Daniels

Featured Review: Magic Slays by Ilona Andrews

Posted March 25, 2020 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Featured Review: Magic Slays by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Casee, Holly, and Rowena
Magic Slays by Ilona Andrews
Series: Kate Daniels #5
Also in this series: Magic Shifts, Magic Shifts, Magic Binds, Magic Bites, Magic Strikes, Iron and Magic, Magic Triumphs, Magic Bites, Magic Bleeds , Magic Burns, Magic Strikes , Magic Slays , Gunmetal Magic , Magic Rises , Magic Strikes, Magic Mourns, Magic Bleeds, Magic Dreams
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: May 31, 2011
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 320
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2020 Goodreads Challenge, Holly's 2020 Goodreads Challenge, Rowena's 2020 Goodreads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-half-stars

Kate Daniels has quit the Order of Merciful Aid, but starting her own business isn't easy when the Order starts disparaging her good name. And being the mate of the Beast Lord doesn't bring in the customers, either. So when Atlanta's premier Master of the Dead asks for help with a vampire, Kate jumps at the chance. Unfortunately, this is one case where Kate should have looked before she leapt.

Casee: I finally went into reading mode today and was able to finish this book. Holy cow. I think it’s my favorite in the series so far. Everything about it was amazing. Kate is such an awesome heroine. I just can’t get enough of her.

Holly: I feel like the series really picks up with this book. I liked book 3, but this is the first book in the series I really loved. The way the relationships develop, the plot, all of it was stellar.

Casee: I agree. There was a cohesiveness to this book that really stuck with me. I loved seeing Kate’s relationships with all the people in her life. It’s funny because she started out a loaner and now she has all these people in her life.

Rowena: For me, the series really picked up with book 3, Magic Strikes but this was another great addition to the series. I’m really liking how Kate’s circle of loved ones keeps growing and growing. I’m also really enjoying seeing her business grow from one employee to four. Do we see more from Ascansio? He got on my nerves in the beginning but he really grew on me.

Casee: Ascansio got on my nerves too. He really redeemed himself when he protected Julie.

Holly: Ascanio got on my nerves at first, too, but I loved how he protected Julie. I also loved how she kicked his ass. Ha. Serves him right.

Rowena: Yes!! I forgot all about how much he annoyed me until Julie showed up and gave him the verbal smackdown. As much as I’d love to see more between Ascansio and Julie, it’s Derek and Julie that I’m much more invested in. I can’t wait to read more between them.

Casee: Speaking of Julie, holy hell! I can’t even imagine what will happen if she finds out what Kate did.

Holly: Julie. Dude. I can’t even with that whole thing.

Rowena: My heart hurt for the choices that Kate had to make and it continued to hurt seeing Curran try and fail to be okay with her choices. Ilona Andrews does a great job of pulling the feels right out of me. From beginning to end, I was invested in every single thing in this book.

Holly: My heart hurt for Kate, too. Do you really think it was necessary for her to do what she did, though? It’s hard, but maybe she should have let that go. You know what I mean? (I’m trying not to include spoilers)

Rowena: I kept wondering if maybe there was something else they could have done to save Julie but everyone was panicked and I honestly believe that Kate did the best she could to save her kid so I’m not mad about it. I hope that Julie is able to forgive Kate when she finds out because I know she’s going to find out. Right?

Holly: Derek and Julie are both awesome alone. I can’t wait for you two to get farther along in the series so we can discuss more!

Casee: I was happy to see more of Derek. I heart him. I love how he protects Julie. As for Julie, I’m sure she will find out. That’s going to be interesting for sure.

Rowena: Overall, this story really worked for me but it wasn’t my favorite of the bunch so far. I’m really happy that I’m reading this series and each book so far has gotten better and better. I am loving Kate, I am loving Curran and I’m loving everyone else that we meet that is a part of Kate’s family. I thought that Curran handled the pack shit where Kate is concerned a whole lot better than Adam did in the Mercy Thompson series so Curran is my number one boo thang right now. Haha. I’m really enjoying the different aspects of the Kate Daniels world and I thought there was a lot of interesting things covered in this one so I definitely recommend it.

Casee: I loved Kate and Curran in this book. There are so many things to love. Their interactions just make me laugh. They are both two very strong individuals, but they still make it work.

Holly: There are so many things I want to talk about with you two, but you need to read farther into the series. We’ll talk more next month.

Rowena: I can’t wait to discuss all of those things with you but yeah, it’ll have to wait until next month.

Holly: This isn’t my favorite book in the series, but it is a really good book. I love how Kate’s world keeps expanding, and how she and Curran come together. This is a series I think everyone should read, and I’m thrilled you two are finally getting caught up.

Rowena: I’m giving it 4.25 out 5 stars. What about you guys?

Casee: I give this one a 4.25.

Holly: I’m going to give a 4 out of 5.

Final Grades

Casee: 4.25 out of 5
Holly: 4 out of 5
Rowena: 4.25 out of 5

Kate Daniels

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Review: Magic Dreams by Ilona Andrews

Posted March 20, 2020 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Magic Dreams by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Rowena
Magic Dreams by Ilona Andrews
Series: Kate Daniels #4.5
Also in this series: Magic Shifts, Magic Shifts, Magic Binds, Magic Bites, Magic Strikes, Iron and Magic, Magic Triumphs, Magic Bites, Magic Bleeds , Magic Burns, Magic Strikes , Magic Slays , Gunmetal Magic , Magic Rises , Magic Strikes, Magic Mourns, Magic Bleeds, Magic Slays
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: June 26, 2012
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 86
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Rowena's 2020 Goodreads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-half-stars

From New York Times bestselling author Ilona Andrews comes a tale of darkness, desire, and werecats.

Alpha Pack leader Jim Shrapshire has always been the strong, silent type. But something has come over him--a magic force currently residing in one of the Pack's headquarters. Were-tigress Dali Harimau has always wished she could get Jim's attention--but now he needs her help.

Stricken with a magic-sickness, Jim needs Dali's flair for magic. And to save him, she must challenge a powerful, dark being to a battle of wits.

Includes an excerpt of Ilona Andrews's upcoming novel in the world of Kate Daniels, Gunmetal Magic

Magic Dreams originally appeared in the anthology Hexed.

Magic Dreams is a novella that follows the fourth book in the Kate Daniels series, Magic Bleeds. It also doesn’t feature Kate Daniels and Curran at the front and center of the story. It features Curran’s chief of Security Jim and the blind tiger, Dali.

I’m not the biggest fan of novella’s because I always seem to be left wanting more from them, at least lately but this one was solid and it felt like I was getting a full-length novel that packed a punch, had some emotional depth and furthered my love for both Jim and Dali. In Magic Strikes, you can tell that there was something there between Jim and Dali and you can also tell that Dali had some big-time feelings for Jim but here in this novella, we see those feelings front and center and we also see what they do with those feelings. Dali’s got some insecurities that she works through, we got to see Dali’s family and see Jim fall right into the thick of things with Dali’s family.

When Jim goes in to check on one of their pack’s headquarters and finds his team taken out, he goes to the one person that he knows can help him figure out what’s going on. Dali. Dali is in his pack and she is one of the smartest people he knows. She knows a lot about magic and whatever took out his team members stinks of magic. That same magic has done something to him and now, more than ever, he needs the only girl that he’s ever felt anything for but whatever it is that he’s hunting is dangerous and he doesn’t want to put Dali in danger.

Dali don’t take no shit from anyone though, the minute that Jim shows up at her house and scares the crap out of her. She’s all in. She’s had a big thing for the security chief and even though she knows that he will never see her the same way that he would see the other more feminine females in their pack, her feelings are still strong and they’re still there. Now that he’s in trouble, she needs to lean on her family’s magic and their knowledge of magic to save Jim from the magic that has taken residence in his head.

This was a short, action-packed romance that I ate right up. It took me no time at all to read and I was wrapped up in everything that was going on. I hope that we see some more from the dragon that we met in this book, later on in the series and I really hope to see more of Jim and Dali in future books. They’re a lot of fun and I just adored them to pieces. I’m so glad that I read this one and I can’t wait for more. I definitely recommend.

4 out of 5

Kate Daniels


four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Joint Review: Magic Bleeds by Ilona Andrews

Posted March 16, 2020 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Joint Review: Magic Bleeds by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Ames and Rowena
Magic Bleeds by Ilona Andrews
Series: Kate Daniels #4
Also in this series: Magic Shifts, Magic Shifts, Magic Binds, Magic Bites, Magic Strikes, Iron and Magic, Magic Triumphs, Magic Bites, Magic Bleeds , Magic Burns, Magic Strikes , Magic Slays , Gunmetal Magic , Magic Rises , Magic Strikes, Magic Mourns, Magic Dreams, Magic Slays
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: May 25, 2010
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 388
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Rowena's 2020 Goodreads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-half-stars

Kate Daniels works for the Order of the Knights of Merciful Aid, officially as a liaison with the mercenary guild. Unofficially, she cleans up the paranormal problems no one else wants to handle—especially if they involve Atlanta’s shapeshifting community.

When she’s called in to investigate a fight at the Steel Horse, a bar midway between the territories of the shapeshifters and the necromancers, Kate quickly discovers there’s a new player in town. One who’s been around for thousands of years—and rode to war at the side of Kate’s father.

This foe may be too much even for Kate and Curran, the Lord of the Beasts, to handle. Because this time, Kate will be taking on family…

Magic Bleeds is the fourth book in the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews and it’s another winner of a book, if you ask me. Kate Daniels is back in action, fighting the good fight against the bad guys and the fight is a lot closer to home than she’d wish. While out investigating a curious bar fight, Kate finds out that there’s a new bad guy in town and they are causing mayhem wherever they go so Kate needs to figure out who the bad guy is and take them out before panic hits everyone in Atlanta.

Rowena: Kate Daniels is a freaking badass and she’s winning me over with every passing page that I read. This was another fabulous story and Ilona Andrews continues to shine in their storytelling abilities because I was right there with Kate and the gang. I felt what she felt and I had the same burning desire to take down the bad guys and I wanted to kick Curran in the balls too….but boy do they really come into their own.

By now, we have learned what Kate is, who she is and we’re starting to find out just what she’s capable of. She was an interesting character before all of this came to light but now? She’s like ten times more interesting to me. The beginning of this book made me sad but the more I read, the stronger I felt that Curran and Kate were going to figure their shit out. It was a lot of fun for me to watch battle wits, battle forces and just fall in love. Holy cow, I love these two.

What did you think about this one, Ames?

Ames: First of all, I just have to say how glad and happy I am that you’re reading and loving this series. Kate Daniels is definitely one of my top favourite series EVER. I just had to get that out of the way.

Ok, like you I like this one for the growth its showing with Kate and how things are progressing with Curran. I love when couples fight and I feel that heartbreak so when he doesn’t show at the beginning of the book? I felt Kate’s hurt and her anger and I loved how she used Jim to say things to Curran for her when they finally ran into each other. hahaha!!

I also loved the introduction of Grendel. That was funny too.

I really can’t say anything bad about these books because I love them so much. But I like how kickass Kate is. She’s always thinking two steps ahead and she just wants to get shit done and she hates pack politics. She’s such a dynamic character and I like how we learn a little bit more about who she is and who she’s related to. She’s really starting to get a handle on her growing powers and learning exactly what she’s capable of.

Rowena: I’m happy that you’re happy that I’m finally reading and enjoying this series. I knew that I was going to love it though. You guys love this series too much for me to not love it as well. Ilona Andrews is a hell of a writing duo and they seriously shine with these books. The first couple of books were okay but now that I know what’s going on and who is who, this series is shaping up to be amazing. It’s probably going to be in my top favorite series ever as well. You have good taste. 🙂

Yesssss! I was just as mad at Curran for not showing up and when Kate goes off on him when they finally hash that whole thing out? Kate said everything she needed to say to him with her chest and the way that Curran reacted, the way that they growled their way to a resolution that is so them and it made me love the two of them together so much more.

Awww yes, I adored Grendel too. I loved seeing how Kate just took him home and that was that. She is piecing a family together for herself and I love being able to see it grow and grow. Despite how much she hates politics, she just keeps right on stepping up for them and I’m really looking forward to seeing where her character takes us next.

The big bad villain in this book was fierce and I liked seeing Kate shake a bit in her boots, trying to figure out how to take them down. I’m really digging everything that we’re starting to learn about Kate. The bits and pieces of her background, learning about how she came to be the person that she is now and I’m really interested in seeing Hugh come back into the picture. What’s his deal anyway? Overall, this book was another action-packed story that I was heavily invested in so it’s getting a 4.75 out of 5 from me, what about you?

Ames: I’m giving Magic Bleeds 4.75 out of 5 as well. This series is really picking up steam and each book keeps getting better and better. I like that Kate is starting to build a family for herself and is starting to open to up to people.

Ames: 4.75 out of 5
Rowena: 4.75 out of 5

Kate Daniels


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Magic Mourns by Ilona Andrews

Posted March 13, 2020 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Magic Mourns by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Rowena
Magic Mourns by Ilona Andrews
Series: Kate Daniels #3.5
Also in this series: Magic Shifts, Magic Shifts, Magic Binds, Magic Bites, Magic Strikes, Iron and Magic, Magic Triumphs, Magic Bites, Magic Bleeds , Magic Burns, Magic Strikes , Magic Slays , Gunmetal Magic , Magic Rises , Magic Strikes, Magic Bleeds, Magic Dreams, Magic Slays
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: May 17, 2011
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 100
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Rowena's 2020 Goodreads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-half-stars

Andrea Nash of the Order of Knights of Merciful Aid - with an assist from her friend, Kate Daniels - tries to figure out why the giant three-headed dog who guards the gates of Hades is sniffing around Atlanta.

* Originally published in the anthology, Must Love Hellhounds.

Magic Mourns follows Magic Strikes and features Andrea Nash and Raphael Medrano. Andrea is Kate’s best friend and Raphael is a werehyena shapeshifter who has made his interest in Andrea known. Bouda shapeshifters aren’t known for being choosy when it comes to bedmates and Andrea doesn’t want to be another notch on Raphael’s post so she’s keeping her distance. When Andrea gets a call that a big ass three-headed dog is chasing a shapeshifter, it’s her job to go and investigate. The whole way to the scene, she’s hoping the shapeshifter isn’t Raphael but of course it’s Raphael. Working together brings Raphael and Andrea together and seeing them try to figure their shit out made for a delightful reading adventure.

I thought this was a quick but cute read and I enjoyed getting to know both Andrea and Raphael a little more. They were both fabulous characters from Magic Strikes and seeing them come together in love was fun. My heart went out to Aunt B, Raphael’s Mom and though we’re not completely done with these two, I thought this was a great introductory story for them. I’m super hooked into everything Kate Daniels right now and they did their thing with this one so yes, I definitely recommend.

4 out of 5

Kate Daniels


four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Joint Review: Magic Strikes by Ilona Andrews

Posted March 12, 2020 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Joint Review: Magic Strikes by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Holly and Rowena
Magic Strikes by Ilona Andrews
Series: Kate Daniels #3
Also in this series: Magic Shifts, Magic Shifts, Magic Binds, Magic Bites, Magic Strikes, Iron and Magic, Magic Triumphs, Magic Bites, Magic Bleeds , Magic Burns, Magic Strikes , Magic Slays , Gunmetal Magic , Magic Rises , Magic Mourns, Magic Bleeds, Magic Dreams, Magic Slays
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: March 31, 2009
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 322
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Holly's 2020 Goodreads Challenge, Rowena's 2020 Goodreads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
five-stars
Series Rating: four-half-stars

When magic strikes and Atlanta goes to pieces, it’s a job for Kate Daniels…

Drafted into working for the Order of Merciful Aid, mercenary Kate Daniels has more paranormal problems than she knows what to do with these days. And in Atlanta, where magic comes and goes like the tide, that’s saying a lot.

But when Kate's werewolf friend Derek is discovered nearly dead, she must confront her greatest challenge yet. As her investigation leads her to the Midnight Games—an invitation only, no holds barred, ultimate preternatural fighting tournament—she and Curran, the Lord of the Beasts, uncover a dark plot that may forever alter the face of Atlanta's shapeshifting community…

Magic Strikes is the third book in the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews. The trouble really starts to heat up when Kate’s friend Derek is found almost dead and she is forced to catch the bad guys by putting a team together to fight in the Midnight Games, a supernatural Hunger Games like tournament. It’s a fight to the death and Kate and her team, the Fools, need to win the biggest prize of all to make sure it doesn’t fall into the hands of the bad guys.

Rowena: Holly and I are a little late with our February joint review and that’s all my fault. I fell behind on my buddy reads and my review pile so here we are, a month late but better late than never, right?

This month, we are reading Magic Strikes by Ilona Andrews and I’m super stoked about that since I’ve been meaning to read this series for ages and Holly was nice enough to read it with me. I enjoyed this book heaps more than I enjoyed the first two books in this series. It’s like the series is finally hitting its stride with me and I couldn’t get enough.

Holly: I’m so glad you’re finally digging into this series. I knew if you powered through the first two books you’d fall in love.

Rowena: I went through it all emotionally in this one. I ugly cried like a baby, I laughed like a hyena and I happy sighed all over the place because omg, everything was so good.

What did you think, Holly? Did it hold up for you?

Holly: This one really packs a punch. It held up very well for me. Kate is such a kickass heroine. I love how badass she is. When she gave Jim that verbal smackdown after he shut her out about Derek, I cheered.

Speaking of Derek…my heart broke for him here. What about you?

Rowena: Same. This book really picks the series up and I just loved it to pieces. When Kate was too late getting to Derek, and the guilt she felt over it all? OMG, I felt that shit. I felt every single emotion possible while reading this book. There was a lot going on but there were small moments that just hit me in my feels and I couldn’t get enough. Seeing everyone come together for Kate, and for Jim and Derek? Man, I loved it. Jim trying to save Curran from doing things nobody should have to do? I felt that. Doolittle naming Kate’s team “Fools”, Curran showing up and everyone being scared out of their pants but ready with their excuses, and Curran shooting all of their excuses down? Haha, I freaking loved it. I laughed out loud when Kate comes back to the team room and Andrea is spilling the tea on what everyone was saying? Hahaha, oh man. So good. Don’t even get me started that first match when Jim told Curran and Kate to dumb down their fighting and they’re arguing afterward about how the fight turned out.

Holly: Like you, I felt all the emotions while reading this book. Curran’s anger, Kate and Jim’s determination to spare him, their sense of responsibility for Derek. Lord. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time I read this book. Like Kate, I wanted vengeance. I hurt so much while reading this one. It definitely got me in the feels.

Rowena: One of the big things for me was finding out more about Kate’s background and seeing what she’s capable of. I mean, I had a sneaky suspicion that Kate was a little more than the puny little human that she was making herself out to be in the previous books but man, I wasn’t expecting what she did in that last match. Kate Daniels is a freaking bad ass boss!

Holly: I love how Kate’s background is slowly revealed. Every time you think you know what’s up with Kate, something new happens and you have to rethink everything. I will say, the way Kate takes everything on herself drives me crazy, but I understand that’s just part of her. She feels responsible for the world.

What do you think of Jim and Dali?

Rowena: I enjoyed Jim and Dali. Jim can ride my nerves from time to time, but overall, I enjoy his character. I liked the dynamic between him and Dali and holy cow, Dali is hilarious. She’s a lot of fun. Her magic and spells had me cracking up through it all.

Holly: Dali is hilarious. A blind vegetarian tiger? Ha!

Rowena: Man, Derek! Pretty boy, Derek! So, something brewing between him and Julie or what? When she was scanning his body with her magic? My heart hurt so much and when Derek forces his way onto the team to save that girl? I’m telling you, my heart!! OMG when Kate and Raphael went to get Julie from school? I about died laughing. The bad guys are getting worse and worse, huh?

Holly: You’ll have to read Magic Stars when you get a little further into the series. It’s a Julie novella. And that’s all I’m saying about that. I loved it when Kate and Raphael showed up at Julie’s school. There’s so much good stuff here. It’s was a pleasure to re-read.
As much as I loved this book, I don’t think the series really finds its feet until the next book, so you have much to look forward to.

Rowena: From beginning to end, I enjoyed this one. Ilona Andrews continues to shine and I had hella heart eyes while reading this. There isn’t anything that I can think of that I didn’t like about this book. I thought it was well written, action packed, and the way that it ends with Curran and Kate? Oh hell yes, this book gets 5 stars from me. What about you?

Holly: This isn’t my favorite book in the series, but it’s so damn good that’s not saying much. I love the humor, the angst, the drama…all of it. I’m giving it 4.5 out of 5.

Holly: 4.5 out of 5
Rowena: 5 out of 5

Kate Daniels

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,