Series: Innkeeper Chronicles

Review: One Fell Sweep by Ilona Andrews

Posted April 18, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: One Fell Sweep by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Rowena
One Fell Sweep (Innkeeper Chronicles, #3) by Ilona Andrews
Series: Innkeeper Chronicles #3
Also in this series: Clean Sweep (Innkeeper Chronicles, #1), Clean Sweep (Innkeeper Chronicles, #1), Sweep in Peace (Innkeeper Chronicles, #2)
Published by Ilona Andrews
Publication Date: December 21st 2016
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 332
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Gertrude Hunt, the nicest Bed and Breakfast in Red Deer, Texas, is glad to have you. We cater to particular kind of guests, the ones most people don’t know about. The older lady sipping her Mello Yello is called Caldenia, although she prefers Your Grace. She has a sizable bounty on her head, so if you hear kinetic or laser fire, try not to stand close to the target. Our chef is a Quillonian. The claws are a little unsettling, but he is a consummate professional and truly is the best chef in the Galaxy. If you see a dark shadow in the orchard late at night, don’t worry. Someone is patrolling the grounds. Do beware of our dog.

Your safety and comfort is our first priority. The inn and your host, Dina Demille, will defend you at all costs. We ask only that you mind other guests and conduct yourself in a polite manner.

After finishing Sweep in Peace, I couldn’t start this book fast enough. Going into Sweep in Peace, I was a bit bummed that one of my favorite characters from Clean Sweep wasn’t in there all that much because he was out trying to find himself…but then he came back and all was right in my Innkeeper Chronicles world.

Sean is back and he’s trying to figure out how to live a normal life again. He’s not the same Sean that we know and love from Clean Sweep. He’s seen some things and has done some things that changes a person and not necessarily for the better. He’s a battle-tested soldier and seeing him try to figure things out with the darkness that haunts him and talk things out with Dina just melted my heart. I really love Dina and Sean’s relationship. It was pretty magical. They were my very favorite part of this entire series. I loved how honest they were with each other, and how sure they were of each other. It was a thing of beauty, their love for each other.

The story as a whole was another great adventure that I really enjoyed from beginning to end. My heart went out to the Hiru’s and their plight with the Draziri’s. I loved how seriously Dina took her job and I really enjoyed seeing her empathy toward all of her guests. Nothing is ever easy at Gertrude Hunt but seeing Dina put one foot forward each and every single day, with her loved ones and guests in mind made me admire the hell out of her. There wasn’t a job too big or too small for our Dina. She did whatever it took to ensure that those under her care were safe and protected, even if that meant her and Sean were on the outs because of it.

The world that Ilona Andrews created for these characters was so colorful and I felt like I was there in every scene. I love when an author can take the reader on an adventure and put them right smack in the middle of all of the action. One Fell Sweep is everything you’ll want in an adventurous story. The characters are real and compelling, the story will sweep you up and take you out of reality for a little bit and there’s even a romance that will warm your heart. I thoroughly enjoyed this one and cannot wait to read more from this author. I have a feeling that we haven’t seen the last of these characters and I’m so here for more Arland and Maud. I want more Arland, Maud, and Helen. I can’t wait for more Maud, Arland, and Helen. 🙂

If you’re in the mood for something different then look no further than the Innkeepers Chronicles series by Ilona Andrews. Each book is well written and fun and I have every confidence that you’ll fall in love with all of the characters the same way that I did. They’re a lot of fun and you seriously want to meet Sean Evans. He’s all that and a bag of chips. Dina is the bomb too. Don’t miss out. This book finishes up Sean and Dina’s story but leaves some things open for Maud and Arland to figure out and really, this book just flat out rocked so go forth and read the good stuff. I promise you won’t regret it.

Innkeeper Chronicles Series

4.75 out of 5

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , ,

Joint Review: Sweep in Peace by Ilona Andrews

Posted February 28, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 6 Comments

Joint Review: Sweep in Peace by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Holly & Rowena
Sweep in Peace (Innkeeper Chronicles, #2) by Ilona Andrews
Series: Innkeeper Chronicles #2
Also in this series: Clean Sweep (Innkeeper Chronicles, #1), Clean Sweep (Innkeeper Chronicles, #1), One Fell Sweep (Innkeeper Chronicles, #3)
Published by Ilona Andrews
Publication Date: November 13th 2015
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 237
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Dina DeMille doesn’t run your typical Bed and Breakfast. Her inn defies laws of physics, her fluffy dog is secretly a monster, and the only paying guest is a former Galactic tyrant with a price on her head. But the inn needs guests to thrive, and guests have been scarce, so when an Arbitrator shows up at Dina's door and asks her to host a peace summit between three warring species, she jumps on the chance.

Unfortunately, for Dina, keeping the peace between Space Vampires, the Hope-Crushing Horde, and the devious Merchants of Baha-char is much easier said than done. On top of keeping her guests from murdering each other, she must find a chef, remodel the inn...and risk everything, even her life, to save the man she might fall in love with. But then it's all in the day's work for an Innkeeper…

Dina Demille runs an intergalactic B&B, an Inn, that caters to more difficult guests. When the Inn was built it sat at a busy crossroads, but since the new highway was built it’s fallen off the map, so to speak, and guests are few and far between. Since the Inn needs guests to survive, Dina agrees to host a Peace Treaty between 3 very dangerous species. She knows it’s risky, but desperate times and all that. Only she didn’t predict just how terribly wrong things would go.

Holly: I seriously love that you’re reading this series. I’m giving myself a pat on the back for forcing you to read outside your comfort zone. Were you happy to be back visiting Dina in her Inn?

Rowena: This is a good series. I’m not all that into paranormals or urban fantasy, not like you are anyway, but I’m glad you’re making me read these books. I’m really enjoying them. I was really happy being back in this world, but I really missed Sean, at least in the beginning. Holy cow, Dina really does get the difficult guest, right?

Holly: She really does. I love how calm she is under pressure. Vampires and the Hope-Crushing Horde about to rip each other’s faces off? No big deal. Let’s all have some tea. I definitely missed Sean in this book, too, but Dina is a fantastic heroine. I was totally wrapped up in her struggles to get everything ready for the summit.

Rowena: Yessss! She is a really good innkeeper, too. She genuinely cares about people and she takes her job very seriously. I admire the hell out of her for doing her job, even when it’s hard and still doing what she feels is right for her Inn, for her guests and for the people she cares about.

Holly: I do think the story was kind of slow in the middle. I liked this book a lot, but it isn’t my favorite. One Fell Sweep, book 3, is.

Rowena: I didn’t think the story was slow, maybe because this was all new to me? I’m not sure. I just know that as soon as I finished it, I wanted to read the next book pronto so I did.

There was a lot going on in this book and I thought that Andrews did a great job of bringing all of those individual stories together and still giving us romance fans that little, tiny romance that I was itching for from the beginning. I enjoyed this book so much that I couldn’t wait to start the next book…and I did.

Holly: Let’s talk about the individual characters for a minute. What did you think of Orro, the disgraced Red Cleaver Chef Dina hired? Did you adore him like I did?

Rowena: Of course, I did. I loved how ornery and dramatic he was, but I also loved that he took care of Dina and was able to find himself a home at Gertrude Hunt. I’m not going to lie, I was low key hungry after reading every scene he was in….I also wanted to be a guest at the summit so that I can eat the food he prepared. Everything sounded so delicious.

Holly: What about the Arbitrator, George, and his companions, Jack, Gaston and Sophie (for those who are familiar with Andrews’ other works, they’re crossover characters from the The Edge series)? George made me so angry, but in the end I couldn’t hate him.

Rowena: As for George, I was just as mad at him as Dina was at first but in the end, I really liked him and am curious about his story. He makes the hard decisions that nobody wants to make and he really took a lot on himself, as well. That can’t be an easy life to live and yet, he does it. Throw in the drama between him and Sophie, it made my heart go even softer on him.

Holly: Yep, that’s how I felt about George, too. I knew him from the other series, but even so..he made me so angry! In the end, I couldn’t help but love him. I actually liked Jack a lot more than George after reading The Edge series. But here George was the star. I hope we see more from him and his crew later.

Holly: I loved it when Jack sprayed Officer Marais. I almost died laughing.

Rowena: Jack, Gaston and Sophie were good characters but I wasn’t as invested in them as I was George, Arland and that thing that came in and killed those vampires. What was he called again?

Holly: Turin Adin, the Merchants ace. His story broke my heart. I loved him.

Rowena: Also??? Turin Adin, I knew exactly who he was not long after he came onto the scene. The minute he said, “Thank you” all soft like to Dina after she apologized for not protecting him as she should have, I was like, there he is. He’s home…and then I squeed like a little schoolgirl with a crush.

Holly: I knew right away who he really was, too, but Dina’s moment of discovery was so awesome. I loved her reaction and how determined she was to save him.

Rowena: My favorite quote from the entire book was, “Nothing I regret. You’re alive. That makes me happy.” Excuse me while I swoon.

Holly: Oh, how I melted when he said that. My heart got all happy when Dina was like “Oh hell no, you can’t have him”. Sigh.

Rowena: Dude, what about the lengths Dina went to save the Turin Adin??? Talk about heady stuff. I’m so here for that.

Holly: I love how nuanced these characters are. Like Nuan Cee, the head Merchant. I wanted to hate him for refusing to let Turin Adin go, but I couldn’t. His reason for needing Turin Adin was such a good one.

Rowena: Yesss!! I liked that about everyone in the book. They were all driven by something that wasn’t greed (well except for that one house but Turin Adin took care of them real quick like), reasons that were understandable. It would have been so easy to just make them all greedy bastards but I liked how fleshed out each house and each character in this book is.

I’m really coming to love these characters and the world that Ilona Andrews has built for Dina. I love the drawings that are included and all of the drama that comes Dina’s way when she accepts new guests. I felt every emotion that Dina (I was pissed at the damn vampires for coming in the front, I was exasperated with Officer Marais for making things harder for Dina to conduct business and I was nosy as all get out to find out everyone’s stories) felt and that scene where Dina makes them all feel what each other was feeling?? That was pretty awesome. There wasn’t much that I didn’t enjoy about this book. The characters, the stories, the setting, it all worked for me. Great book pimp!

Holly: I love this whole series. Dina is wonderful, so is Gertrude Hunt and all who inhabit or visit. I’m so glad you loved it (is now a good time to say I Told You So?). I’m going to give it a 4.5 out of 5. You?

Rowena: I’m really loving the hell out of these books. I love Dina. I love Sean. Hell, I even love Arland and Gertrude Hunt is the bomb too. I really like that the Inn is a character itself. So much goodness in this book, I give it 4.5 out of 5 too.

Final Grades

Holly: 4.5 out of 5
Rowena: 4.5 out of 5

Innkeeper Chronicles

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Joint Review: Clean Sweep by Ilona Andrews

Posted September 14, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 3 Comments

Joint Review: Clean Sweep by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Holly & Rowena
Clean Sweep (Innkeeper Chronicles, #1) by Ilona Andrews
Series: Innkeeper Chronicles #1
Also in this series: Clean Sweep (Innkeeper Chronicles, #1), Sweep in Peace (Innkeeper Chronicles, #2), One Fell Sweep (Innkeeper Chronicles, #3)
Published by Self-Published
Publication Date: December 2nd 2013
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 235
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

On the outside, Dina Demille is the epitome of normal. She runs a quaint Victorian Bed and Breakfast in a small Texas town, owns a Shih Tzu named Beast, and is a perfect neighbor, whose biggest problem should be what to serve her guests for breakfast. But Dina is...different: Her broom is a deadly weapon; her Inn is magic and thinks for itself. Meant to be a lodging for otherworldly visitors, the only permanent guest is a retired Galactic aristocrat who can’t leave the grounds because she’s responsible for the deaths of millions and someone might shoot her on sight. Under the circumstances, "normal" is a bit of a stretch for Dina.

And now, something with wicked claws and deepwater teeth has begun to hunt at night....Feeling responsible for her neighbors, Dina decides to get involved. Before long, she has to juggle dealing with the annoyingly attractive, ex-military, new neighbor, Sean Evans—an alpha-strain werewolf—and the equally arresting cosmic vampire soldier, Arland, while trying to keep her inn and its guests safe. But the enemy she’s facing is unlike anything she’s ever encountered before. It’s smart, vicious, and lethal, and putting herself between this creature and her neighbors might just cost her everything.

Holly: I read the Innkeeper Chronicles for the first time earlier this year. I’ve been bugging Rowena (and everyone else who will listen) to read the series ever since. I finally talked her into it, even though UF isn’t really her thing.

So, how did you feel about the book, Rowena? Did you enjoy the otherworldly stuff, or was it too out there for you?

Rowena: It was a lot different than I was expecting but…a good different. Magical inns and innkeepers? A sexy werewolf that was a thorn in the magical innkeeper’s side? A hot warrior vampire is thrown into the mix to make it a little spicy? Yeah, I’m in. I’m not much for urban fantasy or paranormal these days but I’m glad that Holly keeps making me read these books because they’re keeping me entertained.

Holly: I was so wrapped up in the world. This magical Inn and an Innkeeper with unimaginable power. The super werewolf. The warrior Vampires. I loved it. I loved all of it.

Rowena: I really liked Dina…I also liked the pictures that were included of the different characters. That was nice. Do we get those in the other books as well?

Holly: Yes, we get pictures of the characters in other books. They’re very helpful, aren’t they?

Rowena:  But back to Dina, I liked that she was strong and capable and brave. She didn’t back down from those that put her neighbors and herself in danger and I just enjoyed getting to know her. I also liked her interactions with Sean.

Holly: I really enjoyed Dina. I wasn’t sure of her at first, but she quickly shaped up into a strong woman. Caldenia, her permanent guest, was hilarious. I really enjoyed their interactions.

Rowena: Freaking Sean has got it going on and I really need to know if he comes back…so does he?

Holly: Yes, we’ll see Sean again.

Rowena: Yay! I’m glad that we’ll see Sean again and what about the vampire? We see him too, right? Do we get a background on where Sean’s been and what not?

Holly: We do see the Vampire again, and we find out where Sean has been and what he’s been up to. We also meet several more characters (including my favorite).

Rowena: Do the other books have gross villains like this one did? All of that slimy yuckiness was just…yuck.

Holly: The other books are pretty graphic, but I don’t think there’s a lot of slime and icky stuff in the other books. That stuff doesn’t bother me so I didn’t pay much attention, except to note the wicked amount of detail Andrews includes. I definitely felt like I was right inside the book.

Holly: How about Dina’s trip to Costco? I love that Sean came and rescued her. I’m such a sap.

Rowena: That trip to Costco was crazy but I liked how it ended…with Sean coming to her rescue and just taking care of her. swoon Seriously, I’m ready for the next one.

Holly: Do you want to live in the Inn?

Rowena: Heck yes I want to live in the inn! I loved that Dina could change whatever she wanted whenever she wanted. One day it could be a log cabin and the next day, a contemporary bachelor pad. That was really neat. I also enjoyed seeing her relationship with the house. How she was always protecting it and calming it down when things started popping off.

Holly: It would be so amazing to be able to change the shape, size and theme of a room with a thought. I need to find me an Inn and get some magic. Especially since it’s self-cleaning. Sign me up for that.

Rowena: This book was fun and it was interesting and I’m definitely interested in seeing what comes next for Dina, her inn and the people she’s starting to let into her life. I’d give this one a 4 out of 5. You?

Holly: I’m giving it a 4.25 out of 5. I love the world and the characters. I can’t wait for you to continue on with the series.

 

Rowena’s rating: 4 out of 5
Holly’s rating: 4.25 out of 5


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Review: Clean Sweep by Ilona Andrews

Posted July 24, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Clean Sweep by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Holly
Clean Sweep (Innkeeper Chronicles, #1) by Ilona Andrews
Series: Innkeeper Chronicles #1
Also in this series: Clean Sweep (Innkeeper Chronicles, #1), Sweep in Peace (Innkeeper Chronicles, #2), One Fell Sweep (Innkeeper Chronicles, #3)
Published by Self-Published
Publication Date: December 2nd 2013
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 235
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

On the outside, Dina Demille is the epitome of normal. She runs a quaint Victorian Bed and Breakfast in a small Texas town, owns a Shih Tzu named Beast, and is a perfect neighbor, whose biggest problem should be what to serve her guests for breakfast. But Dina is...different: Her broom is a deadly weapon; her Inn is magic and thinks for itself. Meant to be a lodging for otherworldly visitors, the only permanent guest is a retired Galactic aristocrat who can’t leave the grounds because she’s responsible for the deaths of millions and someone might shoot her on sight. Under the circumstances, "normal" is a bit of a stretch for Dina.

And now, something with wicked claws and deepwater teeth has begun to hunt at night....Feeling responsible for her neighbors, Dina decides to get involved. Before long, she has to juggle dealing with the annoyingly attractive, ex-military, new neighbor, Sean Evans—an alpha-strain werewolf—and the equally arresting cosmic vampire soldier, Arland, while trying to keep her inn and its guests safe. But the enemy she’s facing is unlike anything she’s ever encountered before. It’s smart, vicious, and lethal, and putting herself between this creature and her neighbors might just cost her everything.

Dina runs an Inn for otherworldly beings. In order to keep Earth safe from other races with superior technology, it was made a neutral stopover point and Inns were set up to house travelers. The first priority of Innkeepers is to keep their guests safe, while keeping their existence a secret from the outside world. Gertrude Hunt is Dina’s inn. It’s a fledgling Inn that was dormant for a long time and doesn’t have a lot of power.

She has one permanent guest and not a lot else going on. Caldenia is a fugitive who signed a treaty with Dina to remain a permanent guest of the Inn. Dina will keep her safe inside the sanctuary of the Inn, as long as Caldenia doesn’t kill another guest. As a living entity, the Inn needs guests to flourish and thrive. The Inn itself is where Dina gets her magic from. It’s capable of rearranging itself outside the laws of physics, and providing security when needed. Even Dina’s dog is more than she seems. She’s a Shih Tzu by day, but make her angry at your peril.

Dina crosses paths with her neighbor, Sean Evans, an alpha-strain werewolf, when something starts killing the neighborhood dogs. She asks him to take care of it and he blows her off. She decides to handle it herself, but she and Sean keep butting heads.

When a group of vampires show up and it turns out they’re connected to the thing killing the neighborhood dogs, Dina and Sean must work together, along with Arland, the vampire Lord Marshall, to figure out what’s going on, keep the neighborhood safe and protect the humans from finding out what’s happening.

The world is amazing. It’s like watching a movie unfold. Needless to say, this book – and the entire series – is fantastic. A must read it. Really.

4.75 out of 5

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,