Series: Hope series

Guest Review: Don’t Let Go by Jaci Burton

Posted September 8, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Don’t Let Go by Jaci BurtonReviewer: Tracy
Don't Let Go by Jaci Burton
Series: Hope series #6
Also in this series: Hope Flames, Hope Ignites, Hope Burns, Love After All, Make Me Stay
Published by Jove
Publication Date: July 26th 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Brady Conners is hardly the settling type, but when tragedy strikes in his family, he has no choice but to return home to Hope, Oklahoma. Setting up shop to work on custom motorcycles and pass the time, Brady has no intention of letting anyone get close—until he meets Megan.

Pastry shop owner Megan Lee is drawn to quiet, brooding Brady. Their connection is undeniable, and it quickly develops from physical attraction into something much stronger. But with Brady putting up barriers, Megan is afraid to truly open her heart—unless she can convince him to let go of the past…

Brady Conners is biding his time working at his friend Carter’s garage doing body work.  He works nights and weekends painting bikes and loves it.  His ultimate goal is to open his own shop where he can paint full time.  He just doesn’t know if he wants to do that in Hope as there are too many memories there.

Brady grew up in Hope with his family but his brother, Kurt, died after a life filled with drugs and Brady can’t seem to come to terms with the fact that he’s dead.  Everywhere he looks he sees Kurt and he’s cut himself off from everyone he knows in the false belief that if he has no friends he can’t get hurt if something happens.  He may not be aware that’s what he’s doing but it is.  He ends up falling for Megan who owns the local pastry shop and they begin what each thinks is strictly a fling, but both start to get more involved.  Unfortunately, Brady isn’t ready for something more permanent and when he realizes this he may break them both too much to recover from.

In this story Brady is such a sweet guy.  He starts to come out of the hole he’s buried himself in and ends up spending time with his friends.  Yes, they’re friends despite the fact he was trying to keep them at arms- length. When he starts dating Megan he is wonderful.  He’s sweet, thoughtful and kind.  When he finds a dog behind the dumpster he takes it in and turns little Roxie into a biker pup – it’s freakin’ adorable.  Little Roxie is a great dog and anyone who can take such good care of a stray is a good person.  Unfortunately when Brady realizes that he’s getting in too deep he turns it all around and becomes a bit of a jackass for a time.  I didn’t like him at all during those parts of the book but I did understand his thinking and why he did it.  Didn’t make it right, but I understood.

Megan was just a whirling dervish!  She opened her shop every day, baked and ran a booming business and then went home and baked and cooked.  She seemed like she had everything in her life in perfect order except for someone to share it with.  I thought Brady was perfect for her but I could see where he would get scared.  Megan was wonderful but she lived and breathed “Susie homemaker”.  Any man not wanting to get in too deep in a relationship could see this.  I guess that’s why I found it so strange that Brady was so good to Megan as it was so obvious that what she wanted was permanency.  Also, after hearing about her baked goods I want to try them myself. J

While the book held a sweet romance it was slow reading at times.  As much as I usually like Burton’s writing I found myself putting the book down more than once and moving on to another book.  I would always go back and pick it up but…it didn’t completely hold my attention all the time.  Despite that I liked finally reading about Brady and his life as well as the wonder of Megan.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

three-half-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Make Me Stay by Jaci Burton

Posted December 1, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Make Me Stay by Jaci BurtonReviewer: Tracy
Make Me Stay by Jaci Burton
Series: Hope series #5
Also in this series: Hope Flames, Hope Flames, Hope Ignites, Hope Ignites, Hope Burns, Love After All, Don't Let Go
Published by Jove
Publication Date: December 1, 2015
Genres: Contemporary
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Reid McCormack is back in Hope to renovate the old mercantile. Then he plans to go back to Boston, where he's built a successful career. But beautiful florist Samantha Reasor is a distraction Reid hadn't counted on. Samantha intends to convince Reid that Hope is where his heart has always been, and coming home might be the best choice he could ever make.

Reid loves his job as an architect and he loves having that job in Boston but when he heads home to do a reno job on a building that he and his brothers bought he finds he misses his hometown of Hope, Oklahoma.  As much as he misses it he knows his life is in Boston.

Sam loves Hope and loves living there.  She single-handedly runs a florist and does a booming business.  On top of that she lives down the street from her aging grandmother and checks in on her on a regular basis.  She is excited about the old mercantile being renovated and checks in with Reid regularly to see how the work is going.

The pair feel an attraction to one another and eventually begin a sexual relationship but all with the thought in mind that Reid will leave as soon as the renovations are completed.  The longer Reid stays, however, they each realize what they’ll be giving up if he leaves for good.

This was a very sweet story with not a whole lot of angst and I loved that.  Sometimes I just need to read a book that’s got a romance that has it’s issues but not too much conflict.  It DOES happen from time to time in real life, I’m sure of it! 🙂

In Make Me Stay we got to revisit characters from previous books and go info on them but the main focus was on Sam and Reid and their blooming love.  They were both really good people who cared about others and took care of their own.  Reid was especially wonderful taking Sam’s grandmother into his fold as well and it warmed my heart to see his acceptance of her and what that would mean for him and Sam in the future.

Overall this was a very heartwarming novel that I really enjoyed reading.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Love After All by Jaci Burton

Posted March 27, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Love After All by Jaci BurtonReviewer: Tracy
Love After All by Jaci Burton
Series: Hope series #4
Also in this series: Hope Flames, Hope Ignites, Hope Burns, Make Me Stay, Don't Let Go
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: March 31st 2015
Genres: Contemporary
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

High school math teacher Chelsea Gardner has the perfect plan. She’s tired of dating all the wrong men, and after years of frustration, she’s developed a foolproof list of requirements for finding “The One.”
Bar owner Sebastian “Bash” Palmer finds Chelsea beautiful, smart and fun, but he thinks her list is ridiculous and unnecessary. Intent on proving Chelsea is looking for love in all the wrong ways, he offers to help her find the “perfect” man.

Chelsea knows Bash isn’t the right guy for her—he barely meets one of her criteria—but there’s something about the charismatic man that has her yearning for things that are most definitely not list approved.
Because sometimes, a relationship that looks totally wrong on paper can turn out incredibly right…

Tracy’s review of Love After All (Hope #4) by Jaci Burton

Chelsea Gardner knows what she wants in a man and she won’t settle for anything different. She even has a list of qualities and requirements to check off for when she goes on dates. The problem is that she’s incredibly attracted to local bar owner, Bash, and he fits NONE of the requirements. Chelsea has dated a lot in the past but after she makes her list and goes on a few more dates she gets frustrated. She decides to take Bash up on his friends with benefits offer until she finds Mr. Right but things go a little awry the closer the pair gets.

Bash is not looking for a relationship. He was married once and decided after his divorce that he was never going there again. He starts up with Chelsea and loves every minute of their time together. In fact he finds excuses to spend more and more time with her until they’re almost acting like…a couple.

Another great story in the Hope series. I really liked Bash and Chelsea together and thought that they played off of each other really well.

Chelsea, at first, was a hard pill to swallow. I think she was SO focused on her list that it started to annoy me. Especially as I could see that what/who she needed (Bash) was right in front of her. Eventually she calmed down and I liked her a whole lot better.

Bash was hot and sexy and a really good guy. He had his issues but he was willing to work them out and I admired him for that. I loved how he loved that little dog of his (Lou) as it showed what a kind person he was.

Overall a great book and a nice addition to the series.

Rating: 4 out of 5

This title is available from Jove. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

four-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Hope Burns by Jaci Burton

Posted December 5, 2014 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Hope Burns by Jaci BurtonReviewer: Tracy
Hope Burns by Jaci Burton
Series: Hope series #3
Also in this series: Hope Flames, Hope Ignites, Love After All, Make Me Stay, Don't Let Go
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: September 30th 2014
Genres: Romance, Contemporary
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Molly Burnett dreads returning to her hometown of Hope for her sister’s wedding, especially knowing she’ll have to endure a weekend with the one man she never wants to see again. It’s only a couple of days, so Molly will try to forget her painful past with high school sweetheart Carter Richards. Because despite the bitter memories, she still can’t forget what they once meant to each other.

But when Molly is forced to extend her stay, Carter sees this as his second chance to do things right, to start over again with the only woman he’s ever loved. This time, he isn’t going to let Molly run. Together they’re going to confront the past and put it behind them, and hope for a future as bright as the flame that still burns hot between them.

 

Tracy’s review of Hope Burns (Hope #3) by Jaci Burton

Molly Burnett has returned to Hope for the first time in 12 years. She’s there to attend her sister Emma’s wedding and though she’s looking forward to the wedding she’s not looking forward to having to face her ex-boyfriend from high school, Carter. Carter and Molly started dating when she was a freshman and he a sophomore and they were inseparable until Molly graduated – then the shit kind of hit the fan.

Molly and Carter got pregnant and while scary they were making plans for the future. Then Molly lost the baby and while she was devastated, Carter just seemed…relieved. He was incredibly upset about it but he’s a guy and of course doesn’t wear his heart on his sleeve so the pair ended up fighting about it and Molly ended up leaving town.

While Molly had been harboring horrible feelings about Carter and not letting the matter go – Carter moved on with his life. Not that he ever got over his love for Molly, or his heartache over the baby, but he realized there was nothing he could do about either subject. He has made his life in Hope and has built a booming business. Carter knows that he wants to be with Molly but she is only staying as long as it takes to get through the wedding and then she’s out of Hope once again. Except that her mother gets injured and Molly decides to stay to help her.

Carter and Molly finally sit and talk and clear the air. They decide to be friends but one thing leads to another and the passion they always felt for each other flares once again. Molly states that it’s just sex but Carter plans on getting Molly to stay in Hope permanently.

I have to say that I really love the town of Hope. I want it to be a real place with all of the wonderful people that Burton has filled it with. Most of the townspeople seem incredibly nice and they have a great camaraderie. Of course then there are the MC’s from the previous two books who are in this book as well and they’re still awesome. 🙂 I really loved seeing Luke and Emma again and loved the outings that Molly, Emma and their girl crew had together.

Carter was amazing. My Lord that man is a catch! Kind, giving, friendly, sexy, established in his career, loves being at home…what’s not to love? He pretty much was the total package, that’s for sure. Molly was smart, and got along with her female friends and parents wonderfully well. She actually was pretty great with Carter once she realized that she’d been holding on to her hard feelings toward him for too long. Unfortunately it took her quite a while to realize that. My main concern when it came to Molly was her desire to leave Hope and her unending habit of telling people – constantly – that she wasn’t staying in town. My question was…once she realized that she could deal with Hope and its inhabitants as well as get along with Carter, why did she still feel the need to run? Yes, I could see her running from her emotions, which she ended up doing, but even when things were going well she still was set on leaving. I guess with her being intelligent I would have liked to have seen her get a clue and settle down, at least temporarily, into thinking that maybe Hope wasn’t such a bad place. That never happened and it got a bit frustrating for me, I must say.

Despite my issues with Molly I really liked the story. It was very enjoyable and I loved reading about Hope once again.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

This title is available from Jove. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

four-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Review: Hope Ignites by Jaci Burton

Posted August 4, 2014 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Hope Ignites by Jaci BurtonReviewer: Holly
Hope Ignites by Jaci Burton
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: March 25th 2014
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, General
Pages: 304
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

From the New York Times bestselling author of Hope Flames and the hot new Play-by-Play novel, Melting the Ice, comes an all-new novel of small-town romance, second chances, and hope…
When a movie crew asks to film on his cattle ranch, Logan McCormack doesn’t expect Desiree Jenkins, the young, sought-after star, to be so open, so down-to-earth, or so intimately interested in him. But the last thing a loner like Logan needs is a distraction like Des, who wouldn’t understand what it’s like to live peacefully off the land. 
But it’s Logan who doesn’t understand. What Des wants is an escape from paparazzi and gossip columns, and she’s found it at Logan’s ranch. Now it’s up to her to prove that she’s like any other girl looking to be accepted for who she is. And she’s hoping that it’s by this real-life cowboy who has everything it takes—and more—to give her the kind of happily ever after that can’t be found in the movies.
“Jaci Burton’s books are always sexy, romantic, and charming! A hot hero, a lovable heroine, and an adorable dog—prepare to fall in love with Jaci Burton’s amazing new small-town romance series.”—Jill Shalvis, New York Times bestselling author

Logan’s dad married a woman who hated ranching.  Since she was miserable she did her best to make her husband and sons miserable, too (why she didn’t just divorce his dad and leave is beyond me). As a result, Logan has trust issues when it comes to women. Especially “City Girls” like Desiree Jenkins,  lead actress in the movie being filmed on Logan’s ranch. They might be attracted to each other, but he knows better than to get tangled up in a woman who won’t be sticking around. Except Des surprises him at every turn. She’s honest and open, with a forthright way of speaking that gets him every time. Since she isn’t looking for more than a good time while she’s on location, he figures there’s no harm in scratching the itch.

Des realizes pretty early on that Logan has serious mommy issues, but he’s hot as hell and great in the sack. Plus, he’s surprisingly easy to talk to. She loves his ranch and the privacy it offers her. Not to mention the town of Hope, most especially his friends and family. She figures the relationship is of the “go – nowhere” variety, but that works for her since she’ll be headed back to L.A. before long. If only Logan didn’t act so sweet and send out so many mixed signals…

It isn’t long before both of their emotions are engaged. But Logan’s trust issues and Des’s career are standing between them, and Logan isn’t willing to try to climb those particular hurdles.

I have a small girl crush on Des. She was awesome. She was upfront and honest. She wasn’t afraid to put herself out there. She didn’t play games or cause drama. Even when Logan was acting the ass she called him on it then walked away, no hysterics,  no drama. She felt a bit unsettled about what she wanted for her future, but she was confident in herself and not afraid to work for what she wanted.

Logan acted the ass for most of the book. He wanted Des, but didn’t want to want her. He let his mother’s actions dictate how he lived his life,  which didn’t make a lot of sense considering the strong, confident man he was. His saving grace was how quick he was to apologize once he was called on his behavior. He might have needed a cooling down period, but when he said sorry he meant it. It was too bad he spent so much time needing to apologize.

Their chemistry was great both in the bedroom and out of it. They connected on more than one level, which made their romance believable.

I really enjoyed the snippets of ranching life and life on the set of the movie. Both were well done. The town of Hope really came alive for me. I loved visiting with the residents and watching Des form relationships with the women in town.

Hope is a town I want to return to again again.

4.25 out of 5

This book is available from Jove. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

four-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,