Series: Heartbreaker Bay

Review: Accidentally on Purpose by Jill Shalvis

Posted February 2, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 3 Comments

Review: Accidentally on Purpose by Jill ShalvisReviewer: Rowena
Accidentally on Purpose by Jill Shalvis
Series: Heartbreaker Bay #3
Also in this series: Sweet Little Lies, The Trouble with Mistletoe, The Trouble with Mistletoe, One Snowy Night
Published by Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: January 24th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

There’s no such thing as a little in love…

Elle Wheaten’s priorities: friends, career, and kick-ass shoes. Then there’s the muscular wall of stubbornness that’s security expert Archer Hunt—who comes before everything else. No point in telling Mr. “Feels-Free Zone” that, though. Elle will just see other men until she gets over Archer . . . which should only take a lifetime . . .

There’s no such thing as a little in lust…

Archer’s wanted the best for Elle ever since he sacrificed his law-enforcement career to save her. But now that she’s earned happiness and success, Archer just wants Elle 24/7. Their chemistry could start the next San Francisco Earthquake, and Archer doesn’t want to be responsible for the damage. The alternative? Watch her go out with guys who aren’t him . . .

There is such a thing as…

As far as Archer’s concerned, nobody is good enough for Elle. But when he sets out to prove it by sabotaging her dates, she gets mad—and things get hot as hell. Now Archer has a new mission: prove to Elle that her perfect man has been here all along…

Accidentally on Purpose is the third book in the Heartbreaker Bay series by Jill Shalvis and it follows Archer and Elle as they make their way toward that happy ending. It wasn’t an easy book to read because I found myself frustrated with both Archer and Elle throughout most of the book.

You see, Archer and Elle share a history. It’s not a history that the reader knew about until this book. The reader only knows that there is mad chemistry between the two of them. They don’t really like each other but chemistry sizzles loud and strong every time they’re within feet of each other. They’re both strong minded people who know what they’re about except when it comes to each other. Archer has his reasons for staying away from Elle and the same with Elle. Do I understand why they’re staying away from each other? Sure. But the longer it takes for them to get their shit together, the more annoyed I got. They played games with each other, the “I don’t want you but I don’t want anyone else to have you either” games and that got on my nerves. These are two grown adults playing idiotic child games and I wasn’t a fan of that.

I enjoyed getting to know the both of them. Elle overcame a pretty rough childhood and carries some guilt over the direction Archer’s life took and her part in that. Archer watches over Elle because ever since that night that changed both of their lives, he can’t seem to help himself. He’s always been drawn to her and because he plays a big reminder of a night that Elle would much rather forget, he keeps his distance even though he wants to bang her ten ways to Sunday. On Elle’s side of things, she’s not a fan of Archer’s because the last time she threw herself at him, he turned her away and she hasn’t forgotten…that.

So even though I spent most of the book frustrated that these two were acting like idiots, doing dumb things to each other that they should have been above, I still enjoyed the book overall. Jill Shalvis does a great job of setting up the next book and building Spence’s character up. I adore him and was hoping that he wouldn’t end up with Morgan because as great as she is, or ends up being…I didn’t want her for Spence.

This isn’t my favorite Shalvis book but it was still another solid read. Archer and Elle get their shit together and that made me happy, I just wish that it hadn’t taken so long for them (especially Elle) to come around.

Grade: 3 out of 5

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: One Snowy Night by Jill Shalvis

Posted November 29, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 3 Comments

Review: One Snowy Night by Jill ShalvisReviewer: Rowena
One Snowy Night by Jill Shalvis
Series: Heartbreaker Bay #2.5
Also in this series: Sweet Little Lies, The Trouble with Mistletoe, The Trouble with Mistletoe, Accidentally on Purpose
Published by Harper Collins
Publication Date: November 8th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 160
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis returns to Heartbreaker Bay with a fun and festive holiday novella!

It’s Christmas Eve and Rory Andrews is desperate to get home to the family she hasn’t seen in years. Problem is, her only ride to Lake Tahoe comes in the form of the annoyingly handsome Max Stranton, and his big, goofy, lovable dog Carl.

Hours stuck in a truck with the dead sexy Max sounds like a fate worse than death (not), but Rory’s out of options. She’s had a crush on Max since high school and she knows he’s attracted to her, too. But they have history… and Max is the only one who knows why it went south.

They’ve done a good job of ignoring their chemistry so far, but a long road trip in a massive blizzard might be just what they need to face their past… and one steamy, snowy night is all it takes to bring Max and Rory together at last.

This was a shorty but goodie. Ha, see what I did there?

This novella features Max Stranton and Rory Andrews. Max works with Archer (hero of Book 3) and Rory works with Willa (heroine of Book 2) and they don’t like each other. Rory goes out of her way to avoid Max when he brings his dog into her work for his pet care needs and she wonders why he keeps bringing Carl (Max’s dog) in for every little thing, even things he can do himself, especially if he doesn’t like her. Max can’t explain it either. He’s got some resentments that go back to their high school days so yeah, he doesn’t like her but he sees her all the time. Goes out of his way to see her.

When Rory finds herself looking for a ride home, Max volunteers to take her. They’re going to the same place, they might as well go together. Rory isn’t a fan of this plan but ends up going anyway. She’s expecting a long, awkward drive to their hometown but she’s in for a surprise because everything she was expecting goes right out the window once they hit the highway.

Max is drawn to Rory, despite the resentment he feels for her. He’s attracted to her but shoves his desire for her down at every turn because he’s not over what happened back in high school. Her actions back then changed the course of his life and he hasn’t really gotten over it. The thing that really chaps his hide is that she acts like she doesn’t even care about changing the course of his life with her actions and that, more anything is what he can’t forgive.

Rory has had a crush on Max since they shared classes in high school. She was never the girl that all of the boys crushed on so of course Max didn’t return her feelings and she spent so much time planning to get out of their small hometown that she splits the first chance she gets. She left a family behind and hasn’t been back to visit them in years. It’s going to be hard going back home but she’s making changes in her life and she’s going to be dependable for once.

The whole road trip serves as an epic clearing of the air between Max and Rory and I thought it was super cute. If I had a gripe, it would be that their story was far too short but overall, it was still a cute romance with an adorable dog that I loved the heck out of. The love that blossomed between Max and Rory happened pretty fast but was made okay for me by the fact that they shared a history. Jill Shalvis can write the heck out of a story and for me, it showed in this short one. I adored both Max and Rory and wished we could have gotten more from their individual stories (it would have been nice to meet and spend some time with their families, see what happened when Rory finally went home, etc..) but I’m hopeful that we’ll get more of them in Archer and Elle’s book.

This was a delightful romance that one would excpect from Jill Shalvis and it made me anxious for the next one.

3.75 out of 5

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: The Trouble with Mistletoe by Jill Shalvis

Posted October 20, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: The Trouble with Mistletoe by Jill ShalvisReviewer: Tracy
The Trouble with Mistletoe by Jill Shalvis
Series: Heartbreaker Bay #2
Also in this series: Sweet Little Lies, The Trouble with Mistletoe, One Snowy Night, Accidentally on Purpose
Published by Avon
Publication Date: September 27th 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

If she has her way ...

Willa Davis is wrangling puppies when Keane Winters stalks into her pet shop with frustration in his chocolate-brown eyes and a pink bedazzled cat carrier in his hand. He needs a kitty sitter, stat. But the last thing Willa needs is to rescue a guy who doesn’t even remember her ...

He’ll get nothing but coal in his stocking.

Saddled with his great-aunt’s Feline from Hell, Keane is desperate to leave her in someone else’s capable hands. But in spite of the fact that he’s sure he’s never seen the drop-dead-gorgeous pet shop owner before, she seems to be mad at him ...

Unless he tempers “naughty” with a special kind of nice ...

Willa can’t deny that Keane’s changed since high school: he’s less arrogant, for one thing—but can she trust him not to break her heart again? It’s time to throw a coin in the fountain, make a Christmas wish—and let the mistletoe do its work ...

Keane Winters walks into Willa’s pet store and she’s struck speechless.  She was terribly shy in high school so when she got her courage up and asked Keane to the Sadie Hawkins dance and he said yes she was thrilled. Unfortunately he stood her up that night and now she’s not thrilled to see him.   Willa certainly has preconceived notions about who Keane is but she cuts him a break and babysits his aunts cat for the day.

Keane is hooked on Willa the moment he sees her.  He’s almost mesmerized by her and keeps finding excuses to board his aunts cat with her.  The more time he spends with Willa the more he likes her.  The problem is that they’ve each closed themselves off to deeper emotion so when it seems they’re getting closer one or the other of them is always running.

This was another cute story in the Heartbreaker Bay series by Jill Shalvis.  I really liked so many things about it but there were some things I didn’t care for.

Willa and Keane were two of the things I liked.  Their personalities were such that you just couldn’t help but be drawn to them – even if they were characters from a book.  Willa was the type of person you would love for a friend because she’d always have your back.  Keane was a caring man, even though he told himself and everyone else that he wasn’t. Unfortunately Willa was afraid to put herself out there and Keane just moved from thing to thing and didn’t get attached to anything or anyone – or so he thought.

The main issue I had with the book was that it seemed to me that Willa and Keane would get together then get scared and run.  If one wasn’t doing it was the other…or both.  One time of this happening would have been plenty but it happened multiple times and frankly it got a little old.  There was also a lull in the book about ¾ of the way through the book and I was thankful I had been into the book before that or I might have stopped reading.  I’m glad I finished though as it was worth reading.

The end was a good one and was quite satisfying.  I really like Keane and Willa together and can’t wait to read about the next couple in this series.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Review: The Trouble with Mistletoe by Jill Shalvis

Posted September 27, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: The Trouble with Mistletoe by Jill ShalvisReviewer: Rowena
The Trouble with Mistletoe by Jill Shalvis
Series: Heartbreaker Bay #2
Also in this series: Sweet Little Lies, The Trouble with Mistletoe, One Snowy Night, Accidentally on Purpose
Published by Avon
Publication Date: September 27th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

If she has her way . . .

Willa Davis is wrangling puppies when Keane Winters stalks into her pet shop with frustration in his chocolate-brown eyes and a pink bedazzled cat carrier in his hand. He needs a kitty sitter, stat. But the last thing Willa needs is to rescue a guy who doesn’t even remember her . . .
He’ll get nothing but coal in his stocking.

Saddled with his great-aunt’s Feline from Hell, Keane is desperate to leave her in someone else’s capable hands. But in spite of the fact that he’s sure he’s never seen the drop-dead-gorgeous pet shop owner before, she seems to be mad at him . . .

Unless he tempers “naughty” with a special kind of nice . . .

Willa can’t deny that Keane’s changed since high school: he’s less arrogant, for one thing—but can she trust him not to break her heart again? It’s time to throw a coin in the fountain, make a Christmas wish—and let the mistletoe do its work . . .

The Trouble with Mistletoe is the second book in the Heartbreaker Bay series by Jill Shalvis. This series is reminiscent of The Lucky Harbor series and while it’s formulaic as heck, it’s still an enjoyable book.

Willa Davis owns her own business in town and she takes care of all of your pets needs. Pet Weddings? Bedazzled collars? A pet babysitter? Willa can take care of all of that for you. She’s a one stop pet shop. There isn’t a person or a pet that Willa will not take care of. If you are lucky enough to earn a spot in her life, she will welcome you with open arms and do anything in her power to make you happy and have your back.

Keane Winters is a contractor who flips houses for a living and when his long lost Aunt comes into his life and dumps her cat in his lap, Keane can do nothing but suck it up and take care of the cat. When he finds out that the cat is a little hellion, he takes her to a pet babysitter to get her out of his hair while he’s at work. He wasn’t expecting to be so attracted to the owner of the South Bark Mutt Shop but the more he takes Pita (his nickname for his Aunt’s cat, Petunia) in to board her for the day, the more attracted he becomes. There’s something going on here that he doesn’t know because the owner, Willa acts like they know each other but she won’t tell him how.

There are a few things going on during the book that kept my interest going. There are the internal issues that Willa is going through. The whole foster care life, her fear of Santa and then learning to trust Keane again after the disaster that was her last relationship. There is also Keane’s internal issues with his childhood upbringing, his strained relationship with his family (mostly his parents) then there’s Rory’s issues, the shop issues and really, the issues just keep going and going and going.

I spent some time reading this book frustrated with both Willa and Keane. The push and pull thing that Willa had going on made me want to pull her hair or punch her in the tits. I could have sworn that Pru had the same push and pull thing going on with Finn in the last book. Willa was part of the “Give your heart a break and give Finn a chance” gang so I wish she had taken her own advice and did the same with Keane. I’m going to be sorely disappointed if Elle has the same shit going on in her and Archer’s book (not that it’s going to stop me from reading the book). Keane’s issues made me want to punch a wall. I get his issues with his parents but what I didn’t get was the insecurities he had. The whole putting houses on the market and not settling down, because he wasn’t the settling down type? But he wanted to settle down with Willa? Color me confused.

Overall, the romance was good and I enjoyed seeing Keane and Willa get to know each other. They were great together and I enjoyed seeing their banter. I was glad that Willa got over the grudge she was holding over Keane quickly and that it wasn’t dragged out. There was some disappointment over the way that Willa and Keane both handled certain things but in the end, it was still an enjoyable romance that I’m sure fans of Shalvis will like.

Grade: 3.5 out of 5

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Sweet Little Lies by Jill Shalvis

Posted June 29, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 3 Comments

Guest Review: Sweet Little Lies by Jill ShalvisReviewer: Tracy
Sweet Little Lies by Jill Shalvis
Series: Heartbreaker Bay #1
Also in this series: The Trouble with Mistletoe, The Trouble with Mistletoe, One Snowy Night, Accidentally on Purpose

Publication Date: June 28th 2016
Genres: Romance, Contemporary
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Choose the one guy you can’t have . . .

As captain of a San Francisco Bay tour boat, Pru can handle rough seas—the hard part is life on dry land. Pru loves her new apartment and her neighbors; problem is, she’s in danger of stumbling into love with Mr. Right for Anybody But Her.

Fall for him—hard . . .

Pub owner Finn O’Riley is six-foot-plus of hard-working hottie who always makes time for his friends. When Pru becomes one of them, she discovers how amazing it feels to be on the receiving end of that deep green gaze. But when a freak accident involving darts (don’t ask) leads to shirtless first aid, things rush way past the friend zone. Fast.
And then tell him the truth.

Pru only wants Finn to be happy; it’s what she wishes for at the historic fountain that’s supposed to grant her heart’s desire. But wanting him for herself is a different story—because Pru’s been keeping a secret that could change everything. . . .

Pru Harris is a nurturer.  She doesn’t really see herself that way but she’s the type of person to take care of everyone around her before she takes care of herself.  When her parents died in a horrible crash that was their fault Pru took it upon herself to right their wrongs by taking care of the people that were hurt in that crash.  She works as a tour boat captain and loves her job.  She recently moved and the pub that is in her building is owned by Finn O’Riley and his brother Sean.  Finn is one of the perks of living in the building and meeting a bunch of new friends is awesome as well.

Finn is smitten with Pru almost from the first moment he sees her.  He keeps telling himself to stop thinking about her but he just can’t seem to take his own advice.  When Finn and Pru finally start admitting their attraction to each other, sparks fly.  While Pru starts falling in love with Finn, and loves the attention that he shows her, she is hiding a pretty huge secret.  When Finn finds out what it is she’s pretty sure he’ll leave her and take her newfound friends (who are also Finn’s friends) with him.

This was another wonderfully sweet romance from Jill Shalvis.  I really love the different characters she comes up with and how they interact with each other.  This was such an easy story to fall into with Pru and her giving and caring ways and Finn with his gruff personality that we knew hid a giving heart as well.  The pair were obviously made for each other and Shalvis had them fit so well it was like puzzle pieces finding their homes.  So good.

When the big reveal to Finn comes along and he finds out Pru’s secret it’s done very well.  He wasn’t as bull-headed as some men could be and I loved how he could look at the situation from Pru’s side as well and realize that she didn’t keep it from him to be vindictive.  It was a great wrap up to a great story.

I definitely recommend this first book in the Heartbreaker Bay series – it’s a wonderfully sweet and funny romance that’s worth picking up.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,