Series: Heartbreaker Bay

Review: Holiday Wishes by Jill Shalvis

Posted November 6, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 5 Comments

Review: Holiday Wishes by Jill ShalvisReviewer: Rowena
Holiday Wishes (Heartbreaker Bay, #4.5) by Jill Shalvis
Series: Heartbreaker Bay #4.5
Also in this series: Sweet Little Lies (Heartbreaker Bay #1), The Trouble with Mistletoe, The Trouble with Mistletoe, One Snowy Night, Accidentally on Purpose, Chasing Christmas Eve (Heartbreaker Bay, #4), Chasing Christmas Eve
Published by Harper Collins, Avon Impulse
Publication Date: November 7th 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 128
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

It’s Christmastime again in Heartbreaker Bay!

When Sean O’Riley shows up at the Hartford Bed & Breakfast for his older brother’s bachelor weekend, he’s just hoping to make it through the weekend. What he’s not expecting is to come face to face with the woman he lost his virginity to a decade ago—a woman he’s never really forgotten.

The last time Lotti Hartford saw Sean, she told him she loved him while he said nothing. Now, ten years later, she’s just looking for a good time. For once, she wants to be the wild and free one, and Sean – the good time guy – is the perfect candidate.

But as the weekend continues, Sean realizes that after a lifetime of being the hook-up king, he’s ready to find happily-ever-after, and he wants it with Lotti. But will she open her heart to him again? As Christmas sweeps through the little B&B, he can only hope love and magic are in the air.

Sean’s book! Woot!

Holiday Wishes is a holiday short story featuring Sean O’Riley. If you’re a reader of this series, you’ll remember Sean from the first book in this series. He’s the heroes playboy brother who has done a lot of growing up in the last few books. He went from being the guy you loved but couldn’t really count on in a pinch to a really stand up guy who gets things done, no matter what he had to do. In this book, Sean comes into contact with a beautiful blast from his past.

Lotti Hartford. It’s been ages since Sean has seen Lotti. They were friends growing up and then her family moved away and Sean let her get away. It’s safe to say that all of these years later, Lotti isn’t thrilled at seeing the guy she lost her virginity to and the guy who didn’t love her back again after all of this time. She’s grown now. She’s not the same little girl that he knew and she has no interest in getting to know the Sean O’Riley that just showed up with his family and friends at her B&B.

Jill Shalvis is back with another charming story from her Heartbreaker Bay gang. Everyone that we know and love is back for more laughs, a wedding and more romance. It was good to see everyone again and to laugh at the shenanigans these guys get into when they’re stranded at Lotti’s B&B for Finn & Pru’s joint bachelor/bachelorette party.

It was a lot of fun seeing Sean try to get back into Lotti’s good graces. She had plans and she wanted to get away from her life for a little bit and she did not want or need the distraction of Sean O’Riley, not again. She barely survived the last time but how could anyone not want more Sean??? He was such a charming hero that my heart went all soft on him at every turn in this story. I wish the story had been longer but for the page time that we get, we get the good stuff.

Shalvis is really shining in this series and I’m enjoying it a lot more than the last couple of series so woo hoo! I definitely recommend this short romance if you’re a fan of this series and of Jill Shalvis in general.

Grade: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Chasing Christmas Eve by Jill Shalvis

Posted October 4, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Chasing Christmas Eve by Jill ShalvisReviewer: Tracy
Chasing Christmas Eve by Jill Shalvis
Series: Heartbreaker Bay #4
Also in this series: Sweet Little Lies (Heartbreaker Bay #1), The Trouble with Mistletoe, The Trouble with Mistletoe, One Snowy Night, Accidentally on Purpose, Chasing Christmas Eve (Heartbreaker Bay, #4), Holiday Wishes (Heartbreaker Bay, #4.5)
Published by Avon
Publication Date: September 26th 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Meet cute...

Run for the hills—temporarily. That's Colbie Albright's plan when she flees New York for San Francisco. Wrangling her crazy family by day and writing a bestselling YA fantasy series by night has taken its toll. In short, Colbie's so over it that she's under it. She's also under the waters of a historic San Francisco fountain within an hour of arrival. Fortunately, the guy who fishes Colbie out has her looking forward to Christmas among strangers. But she's pretty sure Spencer Baldwin won't be a stranger for long.

Make merry...

Spence's commitment to hiding from the Ghosts of Relationships Past means he doesn't have to worry about the powerful—okay, crazy hot chemistry—he's got with Colbie. Just because she can laugh at anything, especially herself... just because she's gorgeous and a great listener just because she gets Spence immediately doesn't mean he won't be able to let Colbie go. Does it?

and hope for a miracle.

Now the clock's ticking for Colbie and Spence: Two weeks to cut loose. Two weeks to fall hard. Two weeks to figure out how to make this Christmas last a lifetime.

Colbie Albright is a YA fantasy writer who is stressed to the max. She’s in charge of her very dependent family as well as getting texts and emails constantly from her assistant, publisher and agent.  All of this has left her with writers block and she just wants to get away and get back to the place where she can just enjoy life and not stress.  She feels sure that when this happens the words will once again flow from her.

She heads to the airport to blindly choose a destination and she ends up in San Francisco.  Her cab driver tells her about the fountain that grants love wishes and that’s where she is when Spencer is walking a dog who decides to dump Colbie into the fountain.

Spencer feels so bad about what has happened and insists on taking care of her.  He’s not sure why he feels this overwhelming need to assist her and keep her close but he just goes with the flow.  His employee, Elle, isn’t so sure about Colbie and wants to run a background check but Spence trusts Colbie and holds her off.  The longer Spencer is with Colbie the more he likes her and soon finds that he can’t do without her in his life.  Colbie starts to fall for Spence as well but she has her whole life in New York and can’t even imagine moving from there.  The two have to figure it out or give each other up for good.

This was a very sweet story.  I loved Spence and Colbie together.  It was such a natural thing for the two of them to get together and I truly enjoyed reading their love story.

Spencer is such a great character and I’ve liked him in past books.  He is a pretty simple but genius guy that has always put work first.  He never planned on getting married because he knows, especially after a past relationship failed, that he can’t put the woman in his life first.  Except, he manages to do that with Colbie and seeing Spence grow and the realization that he could put a woman first was wonderful.

Colbie at times seemed like a flighty woman but she truly wasn’t.  She was pretty organized and had taken care of her family for a very long time.  Because of this she had put herself into a situation where they depended on her fully.  She finally realized that she’d been enabling them and stood up for what she wanted – them to take care of themselves.  It worked and I loved seeing the load that lifted off of Colbie.

In the end, it was a great HEA and I was happy to see Colbie and Spence together and in love.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Chasing Christmas Eve by Jill Shalvis

Posted September 26, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Chasing Christmas Eve by Jill ShalvisReviewer: Rowena
Chasing Christmas Eve (Heartbreaker Bay, #4) by Jill Shalvis
Series: Heartbreaker Bay #4
Also in this series: Sweet Little Lies (Heartbreaker Bay #1), The Trouble with Mistletoe, The Trouble with Mistletoe, One Snowy Night, Accidentally on Purpose, Chasing Christmas Eve, Holiday Wishes (Heartbreaker Bay, #4.5)
Published by Avon
Publication Date: September 26th 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Meet cute...

Run for the hills—temporarily. That's Colbie Albright's plan when she flees New York for San Francisco. Wrangling her crazy family by day and writing a bestselling YA fantasy series by night has taken its toll. In short, Colbie's so over it that she's under it. She's also under the waters of a historic San Francisco fountain within an hour of arrival. Fortunately, the guy who fishes Colbie out has her looking forward to Christmas among strangers. But she's pretty sure Spencer Baldwin won't be a stranger for long.

Make merry...

Spence's commitment to hiding from the Ghosts of Relationships Past means he doesn't have to worry about the powerful—okay, crazy hot chemistry—he's got with Colbie. Just because she can laugh at anything, especially herself... just because she's gorgeous and a great listener just because she gets Spence immediately doesn't mean he won't be able to let Colbie go. Does it?

and hope for a miracle.

Now the clock's ticking for Colbie and Spence: Two weeks to cut loose. Two weeks to fall hard. Two weeks to figure out how to make this Christmas last a lifetime.

Chasing Christmas Eve is the fourth book in the Heartbreaker Bay series by Jill Shalvis and it’s Spence’s book. I’ve enjoyed getting to know Spence in the other books so I was thrilled that we were finally getting his story. I was also pretty stoked to find out who he ends up with because he’s a genius, a really rich one and I was curious to see what kind of woman he would fall in love with.

Spence Baldwin is still smarting over being dicked over by his old college roommate who wrote an article about him that put him on the map. Everyone wants a piece of him now because he’s rich, he’s a genius and Spence hates the attention. Now that same friend wants another interview and Spence isn’t having it. He’s constantly fielding calls from reporters who want to know everything there is to him and he’s struggling to keep his personal life..personal. When he meets Colbie Albright, she provides the distraction that he needs to figure some work-related things out.

Colbie Albright is running away from her problems for a little bit. She needs to take a step back from her life to take in a breath and hopefully unblock her writing. She’s the glue in her family and they’re crowding her with things that they should be taking care of themselves but lean on her for and then her agent, editor, and publicist all need things from her that she just does not have to give them. So she runs away from them all to get back to herself. To untangle the mess that her personal and professional life has become. Her books are Harry Potter popular and she’s got a movie coming out and she just wants some anonymity to get some zen in her life. When she meets Spence, her trip starts looking up.

This is the Shalvis that I remember. The fun, light-hearted romances that made me laugh and fall in love. I loved Spence in the other books but man did I love him all the more in his own. I loved the romance that blossomed between him and Colbie. I loved that he wouldn’t let Elle kick her out of his life. I just loved him.

Colbie was a great heroine, perfect for Spence. I loved that her relationship with Spence was all about companionship and not about anything else. I’m not one for secrets that lag on and on but Colbie’s secret was okay. When she comes clean to Spence, I was madder at the way that he handled it then her confession. I also liked that she didn’t wait until the very end of the story to tell him who she really was.

I’m pumped for the next book in this series. I want Joe and Kylie’s story and I’m really anxious for Sean’s book too. So much goodness to look forward to and I’m so here for it. I definitely recommend this one.

Grade: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Accidentally on Purpose by Jill Shalvis

Posted February 2, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 3 Comments

Review: Accidentally on Purpose by Jill ShalvisReviewer: Rowena
Accidentally on Purpose by Jill Shalvis
Series: Heartbreaker Bay #3
Also in this series: Sweet Little Lies (Heartbreaker Bay #1), The Trouble with Mistletoe, The Trouble with Mistletoe, One Snowy Night, Chasing Christmas Eve (Heartbreaker Bay, #4), Chasing Christmas Eve, Holiday Wishes (Heartbreaker Bay, #4.5)
Published by Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: January 24th 2017
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

There’s no such thing as a little in love…

Elle Wheaten’s priorities: friends, career, and kick-ass shoes. Then there’s the muscular wall of stubbornness that’s security expert Archer Hunt—who comes before everything else. No point in telling Mr. “Feels-Free Zone” that, though. Elle will just see other men until she gets over Archer . . . which should only take a lifetime . . .

There’s no such thing as a little in lust…

Archer’s wanted the best for Elle ever since he sacrificed his law-enforcement career to save her. But now that she’s earned happiness and success, Archer just wants Elle 24/7. Their chemistry could start the next San Francisco Earthquake, and Archer doesn’t want to be responsible for the damage. The alternative? Watch her go out with guys who aren’t him . . .

There is such a thing as…

As far as Archer’s concerned, nobody is good enough for Elle. But when he sets out to prove it by sabotaging her dates, she gets mad—and things get hot as hell. Now Archer has a new mission: prove to Elle that her perfect man has been here all along…

Accidentally on Purpose is the third book in the Heartbreaker Bay series by Jill Shalvis and it follows Archer and Elle as they make their way toward that happy ending. It wasn’t an easy book to read because I found myself frustrated with both Archer and Elle throughout most of the book.

You see, Archer and Elle share a history. It’s not a history that the reader knew about until this book. The reader only knows that there is mad chemistry between the two of them. They don’t really like each other but chemistry sizzles loud and strong every time they’re within feet of each other. They’re both strong minded people who know what they’re about except when it comes to each other. Archer has his reasons for staying away from Elle and the same with Elle. Do I understand why they’re staying away from each other? Sure. But the longer it takes for them to get their shit together, the more annoyed I got. They played games with each other, the “I don’t want you but I don’t want anyone else to have you either” games and that got on my nerves. These are two grown adults playing idiotic child games and I wasn’t a fan of that.

I enjoyed getting to know the both of them. Elle overcame a pretty rough childhood and carries some guilt over the direction Archer’s life took and her part in that. Archer watches over Elle because ever since that night that changed both of their lives, he can’t seem to help himself. He’s always been drawn to her and because he plays a big reminder of a night that Elle would much rather forget, he keeps his distance even though he wants to bang her ten ways to Sunday. On Elle’s side of things, she’s not a fan of Archer’s because the last time she threw herself at him, he turned her away and she hasn’t forgotten…that.

So even though I spent most of the book frustrated that these two were acting like idiots, doing dumb things to each other that they should have been above, I still enjoyed the book overall. Jill Shalvis does a great job of setting up the next book and building Spence’s character up. I adore him and was hoping that he wouldn’t end up with Morgan because as great as she is, or ends up being…I didn’t want her for Spence.

This isn’t my favorite Shalvis book but it was still another solid read. Archer and Elle get their shit together and that made me happy, I just wish that it hadn’t taken so long for them (especially Elle) to come around.

Grade: 3 out of 5

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: One Snowy Night by Jill Shalvis

Posted November 29, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 3 Comments

Review: One Snowy Night by Jill ShalvisReviewer: Rowena
One Snowy Night by Jill Shalvis
Series: Heartbreaker Bay #2.5
Also in this series: Sweet Little Lies (Heartbreaker Bay #1), The Trouble with Mistletoe, The Trouble with Mistletoe, Accidentally on Purpose, Chasing Christmas Eve (Heartbreaker Bay, #4), Chasing Christmas Eve, Holiday Wishes (Heartbreaker Bay, #4.5)
Published by Harper Collins, Avon Impulse
Publication Date: November 8th 2016
Pages: 160
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis returns to Heartbreaker Bay with a fun and festive holiday novella!

It’s Christmas Eve and Rory Andrews is desperate to get home to the family she hasn’t seen in years. Problem is, her only ride to Lake Tahoe comes in the form of the annoyingly handsome Max Stranton, and his big, goofy, lovable dog Carl.

Hours stuck in a truck with the dead sexy Max sounds like a fate worse than death (not), but Rory’s out of options. She’s had a crush on Max since high school and she knows he’s attracted to her, too. But they have history… and Max is the only one who knows why it went south.

They’ve done a good job of ignoring their chemistry so far, but a long road trip in a massive blizzard might be just what they need to face their past… and one steamy, snowy night is all it takes to bring Max and Rory together at last.

This was a shorty but goodie. Ha, see what I did there?

This novella features Max Stranton and Rory Andrews. Max works with Archer (hero of Book 3) and Rory works with Willa (heroine of Book 2) and they don’t like each other. Rory goes out of her way to avoid Max when he brings his dog into her work for his pet care needs and she wonders why he keeps bringing Carl (Max’s dog) in for every little thing, even things he can do himself, especially if he doesn’t like her. Max can’t explain it either. He’s got some resentments that go back to their high school days so yeah, he doesn’t like her but he sees her all the time. Goes out of his way to see her.

When Rory finds herself looking for a ride home, Max volunteers to take her. They’re going to the same place, they might as well go together. Rory isn’t a fan of this plan but ends up going anyway. She’s expecting a long, awkward drive to their hometown but she’s in for a surprise because everything she was expecting goes right out the window once they hit the highway.

Max is drawn to Rory, despite the resentment he feels for her. He’s attracted to her but shoves his desire for her down at every turn because he’s not over what happened back in high school. Her actions back then changed the course of his life and he hasn’t really gotten over it. The thing that really chaps his hide is that she acts like she doesn’t even care about changing the course of his life with her actions and that, more anything is what he can’t forgive.

Rory has had a crush on Max since they shared classes in high school. She was never the girl that all of the boys crushed on so of course Max didn’t return her feelings and she spent so much time planning to get out of their small hometown that she splits the first chance she gets. She left a family behind and hasn’t been back to visit them in years. It’s going to be hard going back home but she’s making changes in her life and she’s going to be dependable for once.

The whole road trip serves as an epic clearing of the air between Max and Rory and I thought it was super cute. If I had a gripe, it would be that their story was far too short but overall, it was still a cute romance with an adorable dog that I loved the heck out of. The love that blossomed between Max and Rory happened pretty fast but was made okay for me by the fact that they shared a history. Jill Shalvis can write the heck out of a story and for me, it showed in this short one. I adored both Max and Rory and wished we could have gotten more from their individual stories (it would have been nice to meet and spend some time with their families, see what happened when Rory finally went home, etc..) but I’m hopeful that we’ll get more of them in Archer and Elle’s book.

This was a delightful romance that one would excpect from Jill Shalvis and it made me anxious for the next one.

3.75 out of 5

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,