Series: Guild Hunter

Cover Reveal: Archangel’s War by Nalini Singh

Posted April 9, 2019 by Casee in Promotions | 0 Comments

Cover Reveal

Nalini just sent out her newsletter, revealing the cover for Archangel’s War and OMG. Look at this beautiful, amazing, lovely, wonderful cover. Elena for the win!

Archangel's War by Nalini Singh Book Cover

Archangel's War by Nalini Singh
Series: Guild Hunter #12
Also in this series: Archangel's Kiss, Archangel's Consort, Archangel's Storm (Guild Hunter #5), Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Legion (Guild Hunter #6), Archangel's Shadows, Archangel's Shadows, Archangel's Enigma (Guild Hunter, #8), Angels' Blood (Guild Hunter #1), Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart (Guild Hunter, #9), Archangel's Kiss, Angels' Blood, Archangel's Viper (Guild Hunter, #10), Archangel's Viper, Archangel's Prophecy (Guild Hunter, #11), Archangel's Consort (Guild Hunter, #3), Archangel's Prophecy (Guild Hunter, #11)
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: September 24, 2019
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 400
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

Return to New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh's darkly passionate Guild Hunter world, where human-turned-angel Elena Deveraux, consort to Archangel Raphael, faces a new challenge that threatens the balance of the world.

The world of the archangels, guild hunters, and humans is thrust into peril by a new emerging threat. Elena Deveraux and her archangel Raphael are irrevocably changed, but how their changes affect the world around them is yet to be determined...

Pre-Order the Book

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || GOOGLE || iBOOKS || KOBO

Excerpt

Nalini Singh shared an exclusive excerpt today. Sign up for her newsletter to read it. It’s amazing!

Guild Hunter Series

About the Author

About Nalini Singh

I've been writing as long as I can remember and all of my stories always held a thread of romance (even when I was writing about a prince who could shoot lasers out of his eyes). I love creating unique characters, love giving them happy endings and I even love the voices in my head. There's no other job I would rather be doing. In September 2002, when I got the call that Silhouette Desire wanted to buy my first book, Desert Warrior, it was a dream come true. I hope to continue living the dream until I keel over of old age on my keyboard.

I was born in Fiji and raised in New Zealand. I also spent three years living and working in Japan, during which time I took the chance to travel around Asia. I’m back in New Zealand now, but I’m always plotting new trips. If you’d like to see some of my travel snapshots, have a look at the Travel Diary page (updated every month).

So far, I've worked as a lawyer, a librarian, a candy factory general hand, a bank temp and an English teacher and not necessarily in that order. Some might call that inconsistency but I call it grist for the writer's mill.

What do you all think?


Tagged: , ,

Review: Archangel’s Prophecy by Nalini Singh

Posted December 3, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Archangel’s Prophecy by Nalini SinghReviewer: Casee
Archangel's Prophecy (Guild Hunter, #11) by Nalini Singh
Narrator: Justine Eyre
Series: Guild Hunter #11
Also in this series: Archangel's Kiss, Archangel's Consort, Archangel's Storm (Guild Hunter #5), Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Legion (Guild Hunter #6), Archangel's Shadows, Archangel's Shadows, Archangel's Enigma (Guild Hunter, #8), Angels' Blood (Guild Hunter #1), Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart (Guild Hunter, #9), Archangel's Kiss, Angels' Blood, Archangel's Viper (Guild Hunter, #10), Archangel's Viper, Archangel's Prophecy (Guild Hunter, #11), Archangel's Consort (Guild Hunter, #3)
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: October 30, 2018
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 372
Length: 11 hours, 44 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Return to New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh’s darkly passionate Guild Hunter world, where human-turned-angel Elena Deveraux, consort to Archangel Raphael, is thrust center stage into an eons-old prophecy....

Midnight and dawn, Elena’s wings are unique among angelkind…and now they’re failing. The first mortal to be turned into an immortal in angelic memory, she’s regressing. Becoming more and more human. Easier to hurt. Easier to kill.

Elena and Raphael must unearth the reason for the regression before it’s too late and Elena falls out of the sky. Yet even as they fight a furious battle for Elena’s very survival, violent forces are gathering in New York and across the world.

In China, the Archangel Favashi is showing the first signs of madness. In New York, a mysterious sinkhole filled with lava swallows a man whole. In Africa, torrential monsoon rains flood rolling deserts. And in Elena’s mind whispers a haunting voice that isn’t her own.

This time, survival may not be possible…not even for the consort of an archangel.

Nalini, it’s possible that you and I may need to break up. I’m still considering it. I just can’t do this anymore. How could you do this to me? It’s not okay. ::sigh::

This book was everything. It was too much. It gave me all the feels. Too many feels. It sounds really strange, I know, but I don’t like to read books that I think about for days after I finish them. I don’t like the angst I feel. I surely don’t like the angst I feel right now.

Before I jump into my review, I want to mention that I listened to this book on audio. The narrator is fucking amazing. Justine Eyre is the narrator of the entire Guild Hunter series. She is phenomenal. At first I was afraid to listen to it because Elena and Raphael are so incredibly important to me as characters that I didn’t want to hear their voices brought to me by someone that just couldn’t pull it off. I needn’t have worried.

Like I said above, this book gave me so many feels, I don’t know where to start. So I’ll just jump in and try to make some sort of sense. Archangel’s Prophecy picks up about two years after Archangel’s Heart ends. The Cadre has been dormant for that long and now it has awoken. Weird shit starts to happen and it begins and ends with Elena. All of a sudden she’s in a backslide. That’s right…instead of coming into her immortality, Elena is becoming mortal again. What’s even worse is that she’s becoming even weaker than she was when she was actually mortal.

That’s not her only problem. The Archangel Cassandra who is a true Ancient has started to awaken from her Sleep to warn Elena about the prophecy. The one where Elena must die for the “Other” to live. Elena is just as kick-ass as she’s ever been and she’s not one to take a prophecy that shows her death lying down. She’s not about to leave Raphael either. Especially when she can see him becoming more “other” himself as she becomes weaker.

Raphael won’t accept that Elena will die. He simply won’t. He knows exactly what he will become should Elena die. Even with Elena telling him that he will be the only one able to stop Lijuan, he knows he can’t live without her. As the days go by and Elena’s feathers begin to fall, it becomes apparent that he may not have a choice.

If Elena is going to die, she’s going to die protecting her sister and her niece. Someone tried to kill her brother-in-law and are after Beth and Maggie. When Elena finally discovers who is after them, she can barely hold up her sword, let alone fight the man that is living for nothing but vengeance.

Throughout this series, Elena’s love for her wings is absolute. I don’t know if I can forgive Nalini for grounding her. There’s a scene at the end of the book that absolutely wrecked me. Elena without wings at this point isn’t Elena at all. Then Raphael and Elena realize what the prophecy actually is. They both don’t want to accept it, but do they have a choice with Elena taking what could literally be her last breath?

After the torture that was the ending of this book, I am highly doubtful that the next Guild Hunter book will even be about Raphael and Elena. I have a feeling that it is actually going to be about Aodhan. Leaving no answers about Raphael and Elena.

So yep, I’m bitter. Even with that bitterness, Nalini’s writing is still out of this world. So is this series (for the most part).

Rating: 4.25 out of 5.

Guild Hunter Series

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Archangel’s Consort by Nalini Singh

Posted November 27, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Archangel’s Consort by Nalini SinghReviewer: Rowena
Archangel's Consort (Guild Hunter, #3) by Nalini Singh
Narrator: Justine Eyre
Series: Guild Hunter #3
Also in this series: Archangel's Kiss, Archangel's Consort, Archangel's Storm (Guild Hunter #5), Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Legion (Guild Hunter #6), Archangel's Shadows, Archangel's Shadows, Archangel's Enigma (Guild Hunter, #8), Angels' Blood (Guild Hunter #1), Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart (Guild Hunter, #9), Archangel's Kiss, Angels' Blood, Archangel's Viper (Guild Hunter, #10), Archangel's Viper, Archangel's Prophecy (Guild Hunter, #11), Archangel's Prophecy (Guild Hunter, #11)
Publisher: Penguin, Berkley
Publication Date: January 25, 2011
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Romance Package
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 377
Length: 10 hours, 21 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Vampire hunter Elena Deveraux and her lover, the lethally beautiful archangel Raphael, have returned home to New York only to face an uncompromising new evil…

A vampire has attacked a girls’ school—the assault one of sheer, vicious madness—and it is only the first act. Rampant bloodlust takes vampire after vampire, threatening to make the streets run with blood. Then Raphael himself begins to show signs of an uncontrolled rage, as inexplicable storms darken the city skyline and the earth itself shudders.

The omens are suddenly terrifyingly clear.

An ancient and malevolent immortal is rising. The violent winds whisper her name: Caliane. She has returned to reclaim her son, Raphael. Only one thing stands in her way: Elena, the consort who must be destroyed…

Archangel’s Consort is the third book in the Guild Hunter’s series by Nalini Singh, and it’s another Raphael and Elena book so they’re heavily featured in this one. A vampire is on the attack, and when he hits a girls school, Elena, the Hunter is brought in to find him and bring him in. Elena is still pretty new to the life of an immortal but she’s got a lot of help in Raphael and his Seven. She’s still learning everything and I thought it was an interesting part of this book. I liked seeing her relationship with not just Raphael, but with each of the Seven grow. They’re not perfect, but holy cow, they entertaining.

I really like the way that Nalini Singh wrote Elena’s character. She’s going through so much right now, dealing with so much and yet she just keeps right on taking on more. She’s dealing with everything that comes with being an Angel made, she’s dealing with a new relationship with an Archangel, the changes in her personal life that came with being an immortal and then a vampire attacks at the school that her younger half sisters attend and she jumps right into the thick of tracking this monster down. I couldn’t help but admire the hell out of Elena because I don’t think I would have handled that much change AND been any good at finding the bad guys.

I also really liked seeing Raphael and Elena together. They’re so new at being together and there’s a lot going on emotionally for both of them but their bond, their feelings for each other were solid. I liked seeing that they were both vulnerable to each other and not one more than the other. Raphael is so sure of himself in every aspect of his life and then he gets around Elena and you see a different, softer side to him and man, I just loved it.

I will say that the beginning of this book was a little on the slow side but the deeper I got into the story, the more invested I became and well, it’s Elena and Raphael, they do a great job of sucking readers in because their world is all kinds of crazy. I’m looking forward to continuing this series so that I can fall as deeply in love with it as Casee and Holly are. This was a pretty quick listen and I enjoyed it so I’m here for more from these guys.

Grade: 4 out of 5

Guild Hunters

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Archangel’s Prophecy by Nalini Singh

Posted November 27, 2018 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Archangel’s Prophecy by Nalini SinghReviewer: Holly
Archangel's Prophecy (Guild Hunter, #11) by Nalini Singh
Series: Guild Hunter #11
Also in this series: Archangel's Kiss, Archangel's Consort, Archangel's Storm (Guild Hunter #5), Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Legion (Guild Hunter #6), Archangel's Shadows, Archangel's Shadows, Archangel's Enigma (Guild Hunter, #8), Angels' Blood (Guild Hunter #1), Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart (Guild Hunter, #9), Archangel's Kiss, Angels' Blood, Archangel's Viper (Guild Hunter, #10), Archangel's Viper, Archangel's Consort (Guild Hunter, #3), Archangel's Prophecy (Guild Hunter, #11)
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: October 30, 2018
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 368
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Return to New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh’s darkly passionate Guild Hunter world, where human-turned-angel Elena Deveraux, consort to Archangel Raphael, is thrust center stage into an eons-old prophecy....

Midnight and dawn, Elena’s wings are unique among angelkind…and now they’re failing. The first mortal to be turned into an immortal in angelic memory, she’s regressing. Becoming more and more human. Easier to hurt. Easier to kill.

Elena and Raphael must unearth the reason for the regression before it’s too late and Elena falls out of the sky. Yet even as they fight a furious battle for Elena’s very survival, violent forces are gathering in New York and across the world.

In China, the Archangel Favashi is showing the first signs of madness. In New York, a mysterious sinkhole filled with lava swallows a man whole. In Africa, torrential monsoon rains flood rolling deserts. And in Elena’s mind whispers a haunting voice that isn’t her own.

This time, survival may not be possible…not even for the consort of an archangel.

Why does Nalini Singh hate me? Why?!? This was such an amazing book. I swear I got to the end and thought I was going to die. It’s possible I’m dead even now and writing this from hell, where Nalini Singh left me after she RIPPED MY HEART OUT. ::SOB::

Elena and Raphael have been waiting two years for something to happen with the Cascade. Since their return from Lumia, all has been quiet. It’s driving Elena crazy. When her brother-in-law is attacked in his home, Elena knows she needs to figure out who wants to harm him so she can ensure her sister and niece are safe. So of course things with the Cascade would escalate again. A sinkhole filled with lava opens, and Elena starts hearing an ancient voice inside her head. With war looming on the horizon, and ancients coming awake, Elena and Raphael need to be stronger than ever…. but she becomes more weak – more mortal – and her wings start dropping feathers. She must race to discover who wants to harm her family before she no longer has the strength…because this time she may not survive.

Archangel’s Prophecy is the 11th book in Singh’s Guild Hunter Series. As much as I love many of her Psy-Changeling books, the Guild Hunter series is my favorite. I love the gritty violence and dark undertones. This novel is grittier and darker than most. This is a hard novel to review, as there’s a lot going on and I don’t want to give any spoilers. Many threads from previous books in the series are tugged and start to come together here. We see some clarity in areas, while others remain vague and obscure. There were times this was difficult to read, but I can’t deny I was swept up in the tale, and anxious to see where it would end. As for the ending…there’s a cliffhanger. I have faith in Singh, but I admit I’m anxious for the next book. I wish we didn’t have to wait so long after that ending.

Even though it ended in a cliffhanger, this was such a fabulous book it ranks toward the top of the series for me. Seriously. Such a fantastic book, with such a horrible cliffhanger! Singh never fails to pull me in, and I was swept up in the intrigue of the plot just as much as Elena’s struggle to save her wings.

4.5 out of 5

Guild Hunter Series

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Exclusive Excerpt: Archangel’s Prophecy by Nalini Singh (+Giveaway)

Posted October 30, 2018 by Holly in Promotions | 3 Comments

Although I adore Nalini Singh as an author the Guild Hunter series is my favorite of everything she writes. It’s such a dark, gritty world and Elena is such a badass, I live for each new release. Archangel’s Prophecy returns to Elena and Raphael, with Elena growing more mortal each day. Things are getting more violent for our favorite power couple and I can’t wait to see where Singh takes us next.

Exclusive Excerpt: Archangel’s Prophecy by Nalini Singh (+Giveaway)Archangel's Prophecy (Guild Hunter, #11) by Nalini Singh
Series: Guild Hunter #11
Also in this series: Archangel's Kiss, Archangel's Consort, Archangel's Storm (Guild Hunter #5), Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Legion (Guild Hunter #6), Archangel's Shadows, Archangel's Shadows, Archangel's Enigma (Guild Hunter, #8), Angels' Blood (Guild Hunter #1), Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart (Guild Hunter, #9), Archangel's Kiss, Angels' Blood, Archangel's Viper (Guild Hunter, #10), Archangel's Viper, Archangel's Prophecy (Guild Hunter, #11), Archangel's Consort (Guild Hunter, #3), Archangel's Prophecy (Guild Hunter, #11)
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: October 30, 2018
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 368
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

Return to New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh’s darkly passionate Guild Hunter world, where human-turned-angel Elena Deveraux, consort to Archangel Raphael, is thrust center stage into an eons-old prophecy....

Midnight and dawn, Elena’s wings are unique among angelkind…and now they’re failing. The first mortal to be turned into an immortal in angelic memory, she’s regressing. Becoming more and more human. Easier to hurt. Easier to kill.

Elena and Raphael must unearth the reason for the regression before it’s too late and Elena falls out of the sky. Yet even as they fight a furious battle for Elena’s very survival, violent forces are gathering in New York and across the world.

In China, the Archangel Favashi is showing the first signs of madness. In New York, a mysterious sinkhole filled with lava swallows a man whole. In Africa, torrential monsoon rains flood rolling deserts. And in Elena’s mind whispers a haunting voice that isn’t her own.

This time, survival may not be possible…not even for the consort of an archangel.

Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || INDIE BOUND || iBOOKS || KOBO

Excerpt

Excerpt from ARCHANGEL’S PROPHECY
By Nalini Singh

Her blade safely stored, Elena’s sister took the jacket that Jeffrey had retrieved for her. It was a puffy thing, dark green in color and with fake brown fur around the hood that suited Eve’s face with its soft layer of baby fat that was already being honed to adult sharpness by age and the strenuous training regime at Guild Academy.

Jeffrey’s coat couldn’t have been more different; tailored black, it reached halfway down his calves.

He held out something to Elena.

Startled, she took it, unraveling the soft gray fabric to realize he’d handed her a scarf. She knew it was his the instant she put it around her neck. The scent of his aftershave lingered in the woven strands, bringing with it a thousand childhood memories.

Of being held against his chest when she got too tired to walk.

Of laughing wildly with him as they played a game of tag.

Of watching him dance with Belle and Marguerite in the living room while Ari took photographs on her new camera and Beth played with her dolls.

Of walking in on a kiss in the kitchen between Jeffrey and Marguerite and feeling her heart squeeze so hard in happiness.

Shattered pieces of a mirror with jagged edges, memories of a life forever destroyed.

Part of her wanted to tear off the scarf, tear off this resonance of yesterday, but she didn’t reject the offer. With her and Jeffrey, it was a tightrope, a fragile balance that could be upended with a single word.

They began to walk the five blocks to Majda and Jean-Baptiste’s home.

It was three minutes later that Eve said, “Ellie, psst.”

Following her sister’s gaze, Elena saw that Eve was pointing to where Elena’s left wing dragged through the snow. A chill filled Elena’s blood, and it had nothing to do with the winter white that blanketed the world and made her breath create small, icy clouds as it left her mouth.

She hadn’t felt the slack in her wing muscles.

Neither had she felt the wet cold of the snow.

Posted by arrangement with Berkley, a member of Penguin Group (USA) LLC, A Penguin Random House Company. Copyright © Nalini Singh, 2018.

Guild Hunter Series

Giveaway Alert

Print Giveaway: Archangel’s Prophecy by Nalini Singh

About Nalini Singh

I've been writing as long as I can remember and all of my stories always held a thread of romance (even when I was writing about a prince who could shoot lasers out of his eyes). I love creating unique characters, love giving them happy endings and I even love the voices in my head. There's no other job I would rather be doing. In September 2002, when I got the call that Silhouette Desire wanted to buy my first book, Desert Warrior, it was a dream come true. I hope to continue living the dream until I keel over of old age on my keyboard.

I was born in Fiji and raised in New Zealand. I also spent three years living and working in Japan, during which time I took the chance to travel around Asia. I’m back in New Zealand now, but I’m always plotting new trips. If you’d like to see some of my travel snapshots, have a look at the Travel Diary page (updated every month).

So far, I've worked as a lawyer, a librarian, a candy factory general hand, a bank temp and an English teacher and not necessarily in that order. Some might call that inconsistency but I call it grist for the writer's mill.


Tagged: , , , ,