Series: Guild Hunter

Review: Archangel’s Heart by Nalini Singh

Posted January 24, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Archangel’s Heart by Nalini SinghReviewer: Holly
Archangel's Heart (Guild Hunter, #9) by Nalini Singh
Series: Guild Hunter #9
Also in this series: Angels' Blood, Archangel's Kiss, Archangel's Consort, Archangel's Storm, Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Shadows, Archangel's Shadows, Angels' Blood, Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: November 1st 2016
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh takes us into a dangerous and exhilarating world where a deadly, beautiful archangel and his once-mortal consort are caught in a fury of twisted darkness…
One of the most vicious archangels in the world has disappeared. No one knows if Lijuan is dead or has chosen to Sleep the long sleep of an immortal. But with her lands falling into chaos under a rising tide of vampiric bloodlust, a mysterious and ancient order of angels known as the Luminata calls the entire Cadre together to discuss the fate of her territory.
Accompanying her archangelic lover Raphael to the Luminata compound, guild hunter-turned-angel Elena senses that all is not as it seems. Secrets echo from within the stone walls of the compound, and the deeper Elena goes, the uglier the darkness. But neither Raphael nor Elena is ready for the brutal truths hidden within—truths that will change everything Elena thinks she knows about who she is…
Nothing will ever be the same again.

It’s been two years since the Cascade has reared it’s head..two years Elena and Raphael have used to strengthen their forces while they wait. And wait. And wait. Elena doesn’t want war, but the inaction is killing her. They all know the other shoe is going to drop..if only they knew when. Lijuan has disappeared, which means Raphael and the other archangels are called before the Luminata . The mysterious group was charged with calling the Cadre together if and when an archangel goes missing, as a vacuum can occur if an archangel’s territory is felt unattended. Though most believe Lijuan has chosen to Sleep, no one can be sure, which means she may be able to attack while they’re gathered together. Plus, having all members of the Cadre together presents it’s own problems, since archangels can only be near each other for short periods of time without causing power imbalances.

Elena’s roots are something of  a mystery. Singh has hinted in past books that things are not exactly what they seem with her, and after revelations in the previous book, Elena feels this may be a good time to learn more about her mother’s family. The Luminata is said to have extensive libraries, and, as it happens, is located near Morocco, where Elena’s mother was from.

Archangel’s Heart opens another door to this complex world Singh has created. While Elena and her past are at the heart of the story, storyarcs from previous novels are explored, as well new new intrigues. We learn more about Aodhan, Elena’s past and some of the other archangels and how their territories are run.

Another killer book in the series. I continue to be amazed at the attention to detail here. The world-building is stellar. It never fails to pull me in.

4.25 out of 5

four-half-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Archangel’s Heart by Nalini Singh

Posted November 7, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Archangel’s Heart by Nalini SinghReviewer: Tracy
Archangel's Heart by Nalini Singh
Series: Guild Hunter #9
Also in this series: Angels' Blood, Archangel's Kiss, Archangel's Consort, Archangel's Storm, Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Shadows, Archangel's Shadows, Angels' Blood, Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart (Guild Hunter, #9)
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: November 1st 2016
Genres: Urban Fantasy, Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh takes us into a dangerous and exhilarating world where a deadly, beautiful archangel and his once-mortal consort are caught in a fury of twisted darkness…

One of the most vicious archangels in the world has disappeared. No one knows if Lijuan is dead or has chosen to Sleep the long sleep of an immortal. But with her lands falling into chaos under a rising tide of vampiric bloodlust, a mysterious and ancient order of angels known as the Luminata calls the entire Cadre together to discuss the fate of her territory.

Accompanying her archangelic lover Raphael to the Luminata compound, guild hunter-turned-angel Elena senses that all is not as it seems. Secrets echo from within the stone walls of the compound, and the deeper Elena goes, the uglier the darkness. But neither Raphael nor Elena is ready for the brutal truths hidden within—truths that will change everything Elena thinks she knows about who she is…

Nothing will ever be the same again.

The Cadre of Ten have been called to a meeting at Lumia near Morocco.  The Luminata are angels that seek luminescence and are all about peace and comfort.  Since the archangel Lijuan is missing and the Cadre doesn’t know if she’s dead or just sleeping they must decide what to do wither territory.  Elena is excited about going to Lumia as it is near Morocco and that is where her maternal grandmother is from.  Since she never met her maternal grandparents – her mother was orphaned at a young age – she’s excited to find out what she can about them.

Once she is in Lumia though she’s not sure she likes it there.  The place that supposed to be all about peace doesn’t seem so peaceful and she feels eyes on her when she certainly shouldn’t.  The leader of the Luminata is especially creepy and Elena keeps her distance as much as she can.  Both Elena and Raphael are unimpressed by the Luminata but Elena does find some of the angels that she really likes.  Unfortunately there is an evil undercurrent that forces Raphael and Elena to investigate further and the things they find when they did deeper are horrifying and shocking.

I have to tell you that I just can’t get enough of Nalini Singh’s books.  The Guild Hunter series has blown my mind from book one and when I think Singh can’t possibly come up with another 5 star book she proves me wrong.

There were so many things about this book that I loved.  Raphael and Elena’s relationship is as strong as ever and we got to see a little bit of a softer side of Raphael.  Is he soft?  Ha!  Not even close – but he has a good heart and shows that to Elena and those he loves on a regular basis.  Their relationship is so very swoon-worthy I can’t tell you how much I love reading about these two.

The intricacies of the Luminata were wonderful and the information we got regarding Elena’s mother, Marguerite, were so good as well.  For so long Elena has tried to forget things about her family because it was so hard to think about what she’d lost but she let herself remember in this book and it was very sweet.

This, like all of the books in the Guild Hunter series was awesome!  I loved every bit of it and read the last page with a smile on my face.  We are nowhere near done with Raphael and Elena and I can’t wait to see what Singh comes up with next.

Rating: 5 out of 5

five-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Review: Archangel’s Heart by Nalini Singh

Posted October 26, 2016 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Archangel’s Heart by Nalini SinghReviewer: Casee
Archangel's Heart by Nalini Singh
Series: Guild Hunter #9
Also in this series: Angels' Blood, Archangel's Kiss, Archangel's Consort, Archangel's Storm, Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Shadows, Archangel's Shadows, Angels' Blood, Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart (Guild Hunter, #9)
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: November 1, 2016
Genres: Paranormal, Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh takes us into a dangerous and exhilarating world where a deadly, beautiful archangel and his once-mortal consort are caught in a fury of twisted darkness…

One of the most vicious archangels in the world has disappeared. No one knows if Lijuan is dead or has chosen to Sleep the long sleep of an immortal. But with her lands falling into chaos under a rising tide of vampiric bloodlust, a mysterious and ancient order of angels known as the Luminata calls the entire Cadre together to discuss the fate of her territory.

Accompanying her archangelic lover Raphael to the Luminata compound, guild hunter-turned-angel Elena senses that all is not as it seems. Secrets echo from within the stone walls of the compound, and the deeper Elena goes, the uglier the darkness. But neither Raphael nor Elena is ready for the brutal truths hidden within—truths that will change everything Elena thinks she knows about who she is…

Nothing will ever be the same again.

One of the hardest reviews to write is for a book that you absolutely loved. It’s being tongue-tied, not knowing where to start, not knowing when to shut up, just not knowing. Here’s my review:

Amazing. Freaking amazing.

Okay, that’s not all of it. Bear with me as I try to give this book the review it deserves.

In Archangel’s Heart, we get back to the heart of the series: Elena and Raphael. Although they are prevalent in each book, I love when Elena and Raphael are the main characters. They are what this series is about.

Since the day of Raphael’s battle with Lijuan and her subsequent retreat, no one, vampire or angel has witnessed her presence. It is for that reason that the Cadre of Ten are called to session by the one group that has the authority to do so: the Luminata. A governing body of their own, the Luminata only seek one thing. Luminescence. Think of monks seeking solitude from the world. The same is so of the Luminata. As there have never been more than ten archangels’ active in the world at once, the Luminata wish for the Cadre to decide what to do with Lijuan’s territories as well decide if she is Asleep or dead.

As Raphael’s Consort, Elena is to escort him to Lumia which is outside Morocco. Morocco is the city of her ancestors and Elena is more than pleased to accompany Raphael. Both of them are aware that Elena has a vampire in her ancestral line and Elena hopes to find answers in Morocco.

She finds much more than she expects in the place that she least expects. Lumia. At first Elena brushes her instincts off. Then she hears the whispers than can be about no one but her. That’s when she knows that she’s found the place where she can get answers about her mother’s past. She also knows that Lumia isn’t what it seems, nor is The Luminata what he seems. The Luminata is the angel in charge of all Lumia; an angel that looks at Elena in a way that displeases Raphael greatly. And no one likes a displeased Raphael (except me—I always like to see what he will do next).

We have always known about Elena’s past, but never much of her mother. In Archangel’s Heart we get glimpses of the good times Elena had with her mother and her sister. Elena’s mother loved her family deeply and without reservation. Her death shaped Elena into the hunter that she became and Raphael’s love is shaping her into the angel is now. Elena is truly my favorite heroine (yes, even over Eve Dallas).

As always, which each book we get more insight into Elena and Raphael’s relationship. With the Cascade beginning again, Elena grounds Raphael. She keeps him from becoming other, where no one and nothing can touch him. Not even Elena.

Elena and Raphael are epic. There is no other way to describe them. I always want more.

Rating: 5 out of 5

five-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,


Review: Angels’ Blood by Nalini Singh

Posted July 18, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Angels’ Blood by Nalini SinghReviewer: Rowena
Angels' Blood by Nalini Singh
Series: Guild Hunter #1
Also in this series: Angels' Blood, Archangel's Kiss, Archangel's Consort, Archangel's Storm, Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Shadows, Archangel's Shadows, Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart (Guild Hunter, #9)
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: March 3rd 2009
Genres: Romance, Paranormal
Pages: 368
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

FIRST IN THE GUILD HUNTER SERIES from “a major new talent” (CHRISTINE FEEHAN).

View our feature on Nalini Singh’s Angels' Blood.
Nalini Singh introduces readers to a world of beauty and bloodlust, where angels hold sway over vampires.

Vampire hunter Elena Deveraux is hired by the dangerously beautiful Archangel Raphael. But this time, it’s not a wayward vamp she has to track. It’s an archangel gone bad.

The job will put Elena in the midst of a killing spree like no other—and pull her to the razor’s edge of passion. Even if the hunt doesn’t destroy her, succumbing to Raphael’s seductive touch just may. For when archangels play, mortals break.

This book has been on my TBR list for I don’t even know how long. I just know that it’s on the very long list of books that Holly told me to read and I never did. My book club picked this as our monthly book club pick last month and I finally read it.

I liked it.

Of course I liked it. I always like the books that Holly recommends and with my head filled with all things Psy/Changelings for the entire month of May, moving on to a new Nalini Singh world just fit into what I was in the mood for. This series is a lot different from the Psy/Changelings series but I liked it. Maybe not as much as the Psy/Changelings series but this book piqued my interest to learn more about everything in this world.

Elena Deveraux is a vampire hunter with a unique ability that caught the interest of Archangel Raphael. When you have a special ability that an Archangel needs, you become employed by said archangel and Elena is not at all happy about being employed by this particular archangel. First, he’s hot as hell and second, he’s mean as shit. But because she values her life, she takes the job and doesn’t talk about the job so her life is safe…for the moment.

Her job is to track an old as hell archangel with her super special abilities. Her abilities to sense vampires and Raphael needs her to run a rogue archangel to the ground and that damn guy makes her life miserable. He’s on a killing spree and so she’s on a time schedule to bring him down before the kill count gets higher and higher. It’s not an easy job to do when everyone and their Mom is breathing down your neck and when your friends are trying their best to protect you but in reality, are only getting in your way.

The dynamic between Raphael and Elena was interesting and the deeper I got into the story, the more I came to love the two of them together. Elena was so freaking bad ass that I wanted to be her for Halloween. She reminded me of Selene from the Underworld movies but funnier and more livelier. I was rooting for her throughout the entire book. She definitely made this book fun for me.

Raphael was a great hero who really came into his goodness. It was slow going there in the beginning. I spent a huge chunk of the beginning wanting to knee him in the balls but he grew on me and I ended up loving the hell out of him. I haven’t started the other books in this series but I have definite plans to do so. I’m in.

Grade: 4 out of 5

four-stars

2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Archangel’s Shadows by Nalini Singh

Posted November 7, 2014 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Archangel’s Shadows by Nalini SinghReviewer: Tracy
Archangel's Shadows by Nalini Singh
Series: Guild Hunter #7
Also in this series: Angels' Blood, Archangel's Kiss, Archangel's Consort, Archangel's Storm, Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Shadows, Angels' Blood, Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart (Guild Hunter, #9)
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: October 28th 2014
Genres: Romance, Paranormal
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

In the wake of a brutal war, the archangel Raphael and his hunter consort, Elena, are dealing with the treacherously shifting tides of archangelic politics and the people of a battered but not broken city. The last thing their city needs is more death, especially a death that bears the eerie signature of an insane enemy archangel who cannot—should not—be walking the streets.

This hunt must be undertaken with stealth and without alerting their people. It must be handled by those who can become shadows themselves…

Ash is a gifted tracker and a woman cursed with the ability to sense the secrets of anyone she touches. But there’s one man she knows all too well without a single instant of skin contact: Janvier, the dangerously sexy Cajun vampire who has fascinated and infuriated her for years. Now, as they track down a merciless killer, their cat-and-mouse game of flirtation and provocation has turned into a profound one of the heart. And this time, it is Ash’s secret, dark and terrible, that threatens to destroy them both.

Ashwini, a Guild Hunter and mortal, was severely injured in the war that was fought in New York. She, as well as the city, has been recovering and she’s not quite up for her normal assignments. She’s asked to go on a simple assignment to check out a dog that was found that look mummified – something similar to what happened when the Archangel Lijuan was sucking power from her minions during the war. Her fellow fighter, vampire Janvier, goes with her but they’re both stumped about what they find. Soon after that they are called to a murder scene where they find a woman who is sucked dry of blood and mummified, just like the dog was. This begins a search for the bastard who would dare to do this to a human being that by all accounts was just a country woman in the city looking for a better life for herself. Both Ash and Janvier are determined to find the killer and won’t stop their search until that person is brought down.

Ash and Janvier have a history together and a deep, incredible attraction and connection to each other. Ash wants nothing more than to take that final step with Janvier but she’s hiding a secret about herself that may destroy them both. Janvier wants Ash to become vampire so that they can live out their lives together and never be apart but Ash refuses. He has loved Ash almost from the first time they met and has been with no other woman since he met her four years prior. She’s the one for him and nothing will take her from him.

I can’t begin to tell you how much I loved this book. From the moment I read about Ash and Janvier in the novella Angels’ Pawn I was hooked on the couple. I have been waiting 5 long years to read their full story and I certainly wasn’t disappointed.

Ash and Janvier were practically explosive together. Even after they had finally fallen into bed together the sexual tension that was pouring off of them had me tied to the book. I couldn’t get enough of the pair. Their story was fun and funny, intense and serious, emotional and heart wrenching and I loved every minute of it. Janvier was such a great guy and I loved his toughness and his alpha vibe but he could also be gentle and you could tell he loved Ash very much. He treated her like gold and I adored him for it.

Though Ash had to deal with some serious shit with her family in this story is showed a depth to her that I think we wouldn’t have gotten had that part of the story not been included. Yes, she’s mortal but it made her more human/realistic to me and I found Janvier’s strength and support of her jvery moving.

I could go on and on but I think you get the picture. It was a damned good book and I loved it. If I could give it more than 5 stars I certainly would – it was just that good. If you haven’t read the Guild Hunter series yet I think you should. It’s a harsh world with tough people but the feelings that Singh instills in the reader through the characters love stories is something that sticks with you long after the last page of the book is read.

Rating: 5 out of 5

five-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,