Series: Guild Hunter

Joint Review: Archangel’s Kiss by Nalini Singh

Posted March 16, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Joint Review: Archangel’s Kiss by Nalini SinghReviewer: Holly and Rowena
Archangel's Kiss (Guild Hunter, #2) by Nalini Singh
Series: Guild Hunter #2
Also in this series: Angels' Blood, Archangel's Kiss, Archangel's Consort, Archangel's Storm, Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Shadows, Archangel's Shadows, Angels' Blood, Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart (Guild Hunter, #9)
Published by Berkley Sensation
Publication Date: February 2nd 2010
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 323
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh returns to her world of angelic rulers, vampiric servants, and the woman thrust into their darkly seductive world...

Vampire hunter Elena Deveraux wakes from a year-long coma to find herself changed—an angel with wings the colors of midnight and dawn—but her fragile body needs time to heal before she can take flight. Her lover, the stunningly dangerous archangel, Raphael, is used to being in control—especially when it comes to the woman he considers his own. But Elena has never done well with authority.

They've barely begun to understand each other when Raphael receives an invitation to a ball from the archangel, Lijuan. To refuse would be a sign of fatal weakness, so Raphael must ready Elena for the flight to Beijing—and to the nightmare that awaits them there. Ancient and without conscience, Lijuan holds a power that lies with the dead. And she has organized the most perfect and most vicious of welcomes for Elena.

Archangel’s Kiss is the second book in the Guild Hunter series by Nalini Singh and it’s also the second book that Holly and I picked to review together in the month of February.

At the end of Angels’ Blood, Elena is turned into an angel and Archangel’s Kiss starts after she wakes up and is trying to get comfortable in her new reality. She’s weak as hell and not used to sucking so much at something. Being an angel is hard work and her wings hurt like a bitch. She’s got to toughen up soon because Lijuan, the most ancient living archangel, is throwing a ball and she has to attend and be able to fight dirty like all of the other archangels.

While Elena is trying to learn how to fight like an angel without passing out, someone is out torturing people. Killing, kidnapping and burning people up. Raphael has Elena hunting down leads and using her Guild Hunting skills to help find who is responsible for all the madness going on. Needless to say, Elena is busy and with the ball looming and Lijuan playing head games with Elena, using her dead family to get to her, Elena needs to work fast.

Rowena: It took me a long ass time to read this book but boy am I glad that I stuck with it. The beginning was rather slow but the last 2/3 of the book more than made up for that. I enjoyed this one. What did you think?

Holly: It took me awhile to get into this one, too. The first 1/3 moves really slow. Like you, I’m glad I stuck with it. I love Elena and Raphael.

Rowena: I do, too. I really like that Raphael is trying to be better for her. He’s trying to understand her and make things easier for her. Their relationship is my favorite thing about this book. I love how confident he is in her ability to stand up to the likes of Michaela and Lijuan even though they’re much more powerful than she is but he’s also got her back. There isn’t anything that he doesn’t love about her and man, I just really dig that.

Holly: Elena is seriously kickass. The fact that she can hold her own with Archangels? I have a serious girl crush on her. I like that she recognizes she isn’t Raphael’s equal (how could she be, when he’s 1000’s of years old and she’s barely immortal?), yet she doesn’t give in to him or let him walk all over her.

That Raphael allows her to be herself while stifling his protective instincts is no small thing. I love that he slowly comes to realize that forcing her to submit to him – or worse, taking her choices away completely – will eventually rob him of what he loves most about her.

Rowena: Yes. You should dress up like her for Halloween. That would be awesome.

Holly: I just might.

Rowena: It took me a while to get up to speed with who everyone is again since it’s been a while since I read Angels Blood. I remember Jason though. I’m mighty curious about him. I love Bluebell and Sara and Deacon and Zoe. I’m also interested in Dmitri’s story, too. Who else gets their story told? Anyone?

Holly: All of Raphael’s Seven eventually get their own books. Dmitri, Jason, Galen, Sara, Ashwini (one of the Hunters) and Naasir’s are already out. Bluebell and Aodhan will eventually get theirs (according to Nalini, though she refuses to tell us WHEN we’ll get them).

Rowena: Oh man, Bluebell and Aodhan don’t have books yet? I’m dying to know why Aodhan doesn’t like being touched.

Holly: What did you think of the business with Lijuan and Michaela?

Rowena: I was expecting to hate both of them and that turned out to be true. I still hated them both, in the last book, I hated Michaela more but they were pretty tied in this book.

I can’t wait for Elena to get strong enough to really give Michaela a beating. She’s a survivor but just like she knows that Raphael is stronger than her, she knows that Michaela is too so when they have their final showdown (cause they do have that, right?), I can’t wait for Elena to mop Michaela up.

Holly: What I find interesting is that each archangel is so nuanced. I hated Michaela and Lijuan, too, but there was more to them than just their evil side. Ex: Michaela’s very real pain when Sam, the baby angel, was hurt. That doesn’t stop me from wanting to see Elena beat her ass bad, but still.

Rowena: That’s true because my reaction to how hurt she was over Sam was more, “You’re still a bitch but I’m glad there’s some redeeming qualities” than “Aww, she’s just misunderstood” but I gotta know…does she get her own book later on?

Holly: I don’t think any of the other archangels are getting books. Not that I’ve heard, anyway.

Rowena: As for Lijuan? She was creepy in the last book but she was more so this time around because her creepiness was front and center. When she turns her attention to Elena, I was grossed out. The way that she lives her life, the things that she finds interesting and amusing are so far beyond normal, it’s just gross.

I was interested in finding out who was killing everyone and trying to pit each of the archangels against each other. I had my suspicions but I was wrong. LOL. Also? I thought I wanted to taste chocolate covered oranges but not anymore.

Holly: Are you going to continue the series?

Rowena: This series is good when I read it but I find that I’m not as invested in this series as I am with the Psy/Changelings. I guess because that series is more romance than this one? I’m not sure but yes, I will continue this series but that will happen over time. I won’t be glomming this series or anything like that. I’m probably in the minority with that huh? I know a lot of people love this series and me? I just like it.

Holly: The next book is also Raphael and Elena. After that it breaks off to the Seven. I think you’ll like those books more. They’re more romance-centric. We’ll have to discuss again once you’ve read the next two books.

Rowena: I’ll let you know when I pick up the next couple of books.

Overall, this book was interesting and the suspense had me at the edge of my seat when things finally started happening but I found it very slow in the beginning. Still, it ended up on a high note so it wasn’t a bad read at all just not my favorite.

Holly: The beginning was slow for me, too. It took awhile to get into it, but once I did I was really sucked in. Singh has a way with the world-building. I would say this may be the weakest of the series for me. I enjoyed it, but the others are better.

Rowena: I’d give this book a 3.5. You?

Holly: 3.5

Final Grades:

Rowena: 3.5 out of 5
Holly: 3.5 out of 5

three-half-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Review: Archangel’s Heart by Nalini Singh

Posted January 24, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Archangel’s Heart by Nalini SinghReviewer: Holly
Archangel's Heart (Guild Hunter, #9) by Nalini Singh
Series: Guild Hunter #9
Also in this series: Angels' Blood, Archangel's Kiss, Archangel's Consort, Archangel's Storm, Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Shadows, Archangel's Shadows, Angels' Blood, Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Kiss (Guild Hunter, #2)
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: November 1st 2016
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh takes us into a dangerous and exhilarating world where a deadly, beautiful archangel and his once-mortal consort are caught in a fury of twisted darkness…
One of the most vicious archangels in the world has disappeared. No one knows if Lijuan is dead or has chosen to Sleep the long sleep of an immortal. But with her lands falling into chaos under a rising tide of vampiric bloodlust, a mysterious and ancient order of angels known as the Luminata calls the entire Cadre together to discuss the fate of her territory.
Accompanying her archangelic lover Raphael to the Luminata compound, guild hunter-turned-angel Elena senses that all is not as it seems. Secrets echo from within the stone walls of the compound, and the deeper Elena goes, the uglier the darkness. But neither Raphael nor Elena is ready for the brutal truths hidden within—truths that will change everything Elena thinks she knows about who she is…
Nothing will ever be the same again.

It’s been two years since the Cascade has reared it’s head..two years Elena and Raphael have used to strengthen their forces while they wait. And wait. And wait. Elena doesn’t want war, but the inaction is killing her. They all know the other shoe is going to drop..if only they knew when. Lijuan has disappeared, which means Raphael and the other archangels are called before the Luminata . The mysterious group was charged with calling the Cadre together if and when an archangel goes missing, as a vacuum can occur if an archangel’s territory is felt unattended. Though most believe Lijuan has chosen to Sleep, no one can be sure, which means she may be able to attack while they’re gathered together. Plus, having all members of the Cadre together presents it’s own problems, since archangels can only be near each other for short periods of time without causing power imbalances.

Elena’s roots are something of  a mystery. Singh has hinted in past books that things are not exactly what they seem with her, and after revelations in the previous book, Elena feels this may be a good time to learn more about her mother’s family. The Luminata is said to have extensive libraries, and, as it happens, is located near Morocco, where Elena’s mother was from.

Archangel’s Heart opens another door to this complex world Singh has created. While Elena and her past are at the heart of the story, storyarcs from previous novels are explored, as well new new intrigues. We learn more about Aodhan, Elena’s past and some of the other archangels and how their territories are run.

Another killer book in the series. I continue to be amazed at the attention to detail here. The world-building is stellar. It never fails to pull me in.

4.25 out of 5

four-half-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Archangel’s Heart by Nalini Singh

Posted November 7, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Archangel’s Heart by Nalini SinghReviewer: Tracy
Archangel's Heart by Nalini Singh
Series: Guild Hunter #9
Also in this series: Angels' Blood, Archangel's Kiss, Archangel's Consort, Archangel's Storm, Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Shadows, Archangel's Shadows, Angels' Blood, Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart (Guild Hunter, #9), Archangel's Kiss (Guild Hunter, #2)
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: November 1st 2016
Genres: Urban Fantasy, Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh takes us into a dangerous and exhilarating world where a deadly, beautiful archangel and his once-mortal consort are caught in a fury of twisted darkness…

One of the most vicious archangels in the world has disappeared. No one knows if Lijuan is dead or has chosen to Sleep the long sleep of an immortal. But with her lands falling into chaos under a rising tide of vampiric bloodlust, a mysterious and ancient order of angels known as the Luminata calls the entire Cadre together to discuss the fate of her territory.

Accompanying her archangelic lover Raphael to the Luminata compound, guild hunter-turned-angel Elena senses that all is not as it seems. Secrets echo from within the stone walls of the compound, and the deeper Elena goes, the uglier the darkness. But neither Raphael nor Elena is ready for the brutal truths hidden within—truths that will change everything Elena thinks she knows about who she is…

Nothing will ever be the same again.

The Cadre of Ten have been called to a meeting at Lumia near Morocco.  The Luminata are angels that seek luminescence and are all about peace and comfort.  Since the archangel Lijuan is missing and the Cadre doesn’t know if she’s dead or just sleeping they must decide what to do wither territory.  Elena is excited about going to Lumia as it is near Morocco and that is where her maternal grandmother is from.  Since she never met her maternal grandparents – her mother was orphaned at a young age – she’s excited to find out what she can about them.

Once she is in Lumia though she’s not sure she likes it there.  The place that supposed to be all about peace doesn’t seem so peaceful and she feels eyes on her when she certainly shouldn’t.  The leader of the Luminata is especially creepy and Elena keeps her distance as much as she can.  Both Elena and Raphael are unimpressed by the Luminata but Elena does find some of the angels that she really likes.  Unfortunately there is an evil undercurrent that forces Raphael and Elena to investigate further and the things they find when they did deeper are horrifying and shocking.

I have to tell you that I just can’t get enough of Nalini Singh’s books.  The Guild Hunter series has blown my mind from book one and when I think Singh can’t possibly come up with another 5 star book she proves me wrong.

There were so many things about this book that I loved.  Raphael and Elena’s relationship is as strong as ever and we got to see a little bit of a softer side of Raphael.  Is he soft?  Ha!  Not even close – but he has a good heart and shows that to Elena and those he loves on a regular basis.  Their relationship is so very swoon-worthy I can’t tell you how much I love reading about these two.

The intricacies of the Luminata were wonderful and the information we got regarding Elena’s mother, Marguerite, were so good as well.  For so long Elena has tried to forget things about her family because it was so hard to think about what she’d lost but she let herself remember in this book and it was very sweet.

This, like all of the books in the Guild Hunter series was awesome!  I loved every bit of it and read the last page with a smile on my face.  We are nowhere near done with Raphael and Elena and I can’t wait to see what Singh comes up with next.

Rating: 5 out of 5

five-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Review: Archangel’s Heart by Nalini Singh

Posted October 26, 2016 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Archangel’s Heart by Nalini SinghReviewer: Casee
Archangel's Heart by Nalini Singh
Series: Guild Hunter #9
Also in this series: Angels' Blood, Archangel's Kiss, Archangel's Consort, Archangel's Storm, Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Shadows, Archangel's Shadows, Angels' Blood, Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart (Guild Hunter, #9), Archangel's Kiss (Guild Hunter, #2)
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: November 1, 2016
Genres: Paranormal, Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh takes us into a dangerous and exhilarating world where a deadly, beautiful archangel and his once-mortal consort are caught in a fury of twisted darkness…

One of the most vicious archangels in the world has disappeared. No one knows if Lijuan is dead or has chosen to Sleep the long sleep of an immortal. But with her lands falling into chaos under a rising tide of vampiric bloodlust, a mysterious and ancient order of angels known as the Luminata calls the entire Cadre together to discuss the fate of her territory.

Accompanying her archangelic lover Raphael to the Luminata compound, guild hunter-turned-angel Elena senses that all is not as it seems. Secrets echo from within the stone walls of the compound, and the deeper Elena goes, the uglier the darkness. But neither Raphael nor Elena is ready for the brutal truths hidden within—truths that will change everything Elena thinks she knows about who she is…

Nothing will ever be the same again.

One of the hardest reviews to write is for a book that you absolutely loved. It’s being tongue-tied, not knowing where to start, not knowing when to shut up, just not knowing. Here’s my review:

Amazing. Freaking amazing.

Okay, that’s not all of it. Bear with me as I try to give this book the review it deserves.

In Archangel’s Heart, we get back to the heart of the series: Elena and Raphael. Although they are prevalent in each book, I love when Elena and Raphael are the main characters. They are what this series is about.

Since the day of Raphael’s battle with Lijuan and her subsequent retreat, no one, vampire or angel has witnessed her presence. It is for that reason that the Cadre of Ten are called to session by the one group that has the authority to do so: the Luminata. A governing body of their own, the Luminata only seek one thing. Luminescence. Think of monks seeking solitude from the world. The same is so of the Luminata. As there have never been more than ten archangels’ active in the world at once, the Luminata wish for the Cadre to decide what to do with Lijuan’s territories as well decide if she is Asleep or dead.

As Raphael’s Consort, Elena is to escort him to Lumia which is outside Morocco. Morocco is the city of her ancestors and Elena is more than pleased to accompany Raphael. Both of them are aware that Elena has a vampire in her ancestral line and Elena hopes to find answers in Morocco.

She finds much more than she expects in the place that she least expects. Lumia. At first Elena brushes her instincts off. Then she hears the whispers than can be about no one but her. That’s when she knows that she’s found the place where she can get answers about her mother’s past. She also knows that Lumia isn’t what it seems, nor is The Luminata what he seems. The Luminata is the angel in charge of all Lumia; an angel that looks at Elena in a way that displeases Raphael greatly. And no one likes a displeased Raphael (except me—I always like to see what he will do next).

We have always known about Elena’s past, but never much of her mother. In Archangel’s Heart we get glimpses of the good times Elena had with her mother and her sister. Elena’s mother loved her family deeply and without reservation. Her death shaped Elena into the hunter that she became and Raphael’s love is shaping her into the angel is now. Elena is truly my favorite heroine (yes, even over Eve Dallas).

As always, which each book we get more insight into Elena and Raphael’s relationship. With the Cascade beginning again, Elena grounds Raphael. She keeps him from becoming other, where no one and nothing can touch him. Not even Elena.

Elena and Raphael are epic. There is no other way to describe them. I always want more.

Rating: 5 out of 5

five-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,


Review: Angels’ Blood by Nalini Singh

Posted July 18, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Angels’ Blood by Nalini SinghReviewer: Rowena
Angels' Blood by Nalini Singh
Series: Guild Hunter #1
Also in this series: Angels' Blood, Archangel's Kiss, Archangel's Consort, Archangel's Storm, Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Shadows, Archangel's Shadows, Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart (Guild Hunter, #9), Archangel's Kiss (Guild Hunter, #2)
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: March 3rd 2009
Genres: Romance, Paranormal
Pages: 368
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

FIRST IN THE GUILD HUNTER SERIES from “a major new talent” (CHRISTINE FEEHAN).

View our feature on Nalini Singh’s Angels' Blood.
Nalini Singh introduces readers to a world of beauty and bloodlust, where angels hold sway over vampires.

Vampire hunter Elena Deveraux is hired by the dangerously beautiful Archangel Raphael. But this time, it’s not a wayward vamp she has to track. It’s an archangel gone bad.

The job will put Elena in the midst of a killing spree like no other—and pull her to the razor’s edge of passion. Even if the hunt doesn’t destroy her, succumbing to Raphael’s seductive touch just may. For when archangels play, mortals break.

This book has been on my TBR list for I don’t even know how long. I just know that it’s on the very long list of books that Holly told me to read and I never did. My book club picked this as our monthly book club pick last month and I finally read it.

I liked it.

Of course I liked it. I always like the books that Holly recommends and with my head filled with all things Psy/Changelings for the entire month of May, moving on to a new Nalini Singh world just fit into what I was in the mood for. This series is a lot different from the Psy/Changelings series but I liked it. Maybe not as much as the Psy/Changelings series but this book piqued my interest to learn more about everything in this world.

Elena Deveraux is a vampire hunter with a unique ability that caught the interest of Archangel Raphael. When you have a special ability that an Archangel needs, you become employed by said archangel and Elena is not at all happy about being employed by this particular archangel. First, he’s hot as hell and second, he’s mean as shit. But because she values her life, she takes the job and doesn’t talk about the job so her life is safe…for the moment.

Her job is to track an old as hell archangel with her super special abilities. Her abilities to sense vampires and Raphael needs her to run a rogue archangel to the ground and that damn guy makes her life miserable. He’s on a killing spree and so she’s on a time schedule to bring him down before the kill count gets higher and higher. It’s not an easy job to do when everyone and their Mom is breathing down your neck and when your friends are trying their best to protect you but in reality, are only getting in your way.

The dynamic between Raphael and Elena was interesting and the deeper I got into the story, the more I came to love the two of them together. Elena was so freaking bad ass that I wanted to be her for Halloween. She reminded me of Selene from the Underworld movies but funnier and more livelier. I was rooting for her throughout the entire book. She definitely made this book fun for me.

Raphael was a great hero who really came into his goodness. It was slow going there in the beginning. I spent a huge chunk of the beginning wanting to knee him in the balls but he grew on me and I ended up loving the hell out of him. I haven’t started the other books in this series but I have definite plans to do so. I’m in.

Grade: 4 out of 5

four-stars

2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,