Series: GhostWalkers

Review: Covert Game by Christine Feehan

Posted April 2, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Covert Game by Christine FeehanReviewer: Casee
Covert Game by Christine Feehan
Series: GhostWalkers #14
Also in this series: Predatory Game, Street Game, Ruthless Game, Shadow Game, Power Game, Murder Game
Published by Berkley Books
Publication Date: March 20th 2018
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 400
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Rescuing an industrial spy from the hands of a criminal mastermind is a suicide mission for the GhostWalkers. And there's no one more up to the task than Gino Mazza. He's the perfect killing machine—a man driven by demons so dark and destructive that his blighted soul has given up trying to find solace. But his laser-sharp focus on his target has transformed into something nearing desire.

A treasonous senator dangled top secret GhostWalker data in front of a Chinese crime lord, and he bit. Zara Hightower, one of the world's leading experts on artificial intelligence, was sent in to psychically wipe the crime lord's computer network. She succeeded, but at a huge cost. Now she's the captive of a man who has descended into paranoid madness. Torture and death await her...

But GhostWalkers never leave one of their own in enemy territory. And it's up to Gino to save Zara, or kill her if it turns out she's led them into a trap. Either way, heaven or hell won't stop him...

I can’t quite put my finger on when it happened, but Christine Feehan’s writing has changed. And I’m loving it. She has always had her Carpathian series, which was darker than her other series, but that’s just not the case anymore. The GhostWalkers started to get darker a couple years ago. Now they’re completely in dark territory. Even her Sisters of the Heart series was pretty dark. Torpedo Ink? Yes. I am really loving this dark turn she has taken, but I wonder if it’s permanent.

Zara Hightower is actuallly the world’s leading expert in A.I. She can also do really cool stuff like wipe hard drives and networks clean psychically. A U.S. Senator and a GhostWalker like Zara gave top secret information about GhostWalkers to a Chinese crime lord that Zara has been sent in to destroy. She has also been sent in to steal other secrets he may have by downloading them directly to a SSD that is embedded in her brain. All courtesy of Dr. Peter Whitney of course. That bugger. Honestly, as each book goes on I wonder how this guy hasn’t died yet. I actually have to think back and remember each time a new book comes out. Anyhow, Zara is now in enemy territory and she knows no one will be able to prove that she is the one that wiped Cheng’s network clean. She knows that even if she’s caught and tortured, they still won’t be able to prove her involvement. What she didn’t factor into all her equations for escaping was Cheng’s enforcer, Bolan Zhu. The man showed in interest in her the first time he met her and that interest didn’t go away, even when he was torturing the bejesus out of Zara.

Gino Mazza is a special sort of man who wants a special sort of woman. He admires all the women that his teammates have ended up with. They are all warriors, just like their men. He has the utmost respect for them and would go shoulder to shoulder into battle with any of them. That doesn’t mean that he wants his woman to be a warrior herself. He wants a woman that can take care of herself, but doesn’t have to fight because Gino is there to do it for her. It sounds archaic to Gino, but he knows that he can accept nothing less than that. He watched his whole family be slaughtered during a kidnapping attempt when he was a child. He is not going to let that happen to his wife. When his team is tasked with rescuing Zara, he finds himself staring at her picture wondering if she couldn’t be the woman he has been looking for.

When the GhostWalkers get Zara out of China, Gino is the one that Zara clings to. It’s his strength of character that convinces her that he can keep her safe from Bolan Zhu. After being tortured at his hands and promised even worse if she ever tried to escape him, Zara knows he will be coming after her. Only a person like Gino can keep Zara safe. She can see something in him, though she can’t put her finger on it. Gino knows what she sees. He’s tortured people just as Zhu tortured her. If anyone can protect her, it’s him. Still, protecting her is not all he wants to do. He can see that she’s exactly the type of woman he wants and needs. She’s smart and resourceful, can definitely fight with the best of them, but she is happier not fighting. She accepts his personality, which even he knows can be hard to live with.

Basically what we have here is a D/s relationship at the most basic level. Feehan has been writing more of those lately and I wonder where she is heading. I did not like Bellisia in this book at all. She rubbed me wrong the entire book. Her relationship with Zeke was nothing like Gino and Zara’s so she decided it was wrong. I thought it was incredibly shortsighted and just plain bitchy. Not to mention it hurt Zara tremendously because she felt that she had to choose between her sister and the man she loves. I wanted to strangle her.

Now I want to know who the next GhostWalker book will be about, but that I have a feeling that information won’t be forthcoming for some time. I really enjoyed this one.

4 out of 5.

GhostWalkers

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Sunday Spotlight: Covert Game by Christine Feehan

Posted April 1, 2018 by Holly in Features | 5 Comments

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

Sunday Spotlight

I have been enjoying this series for a long time. I took a break for a few years, but really got back into it about three years ago. It’s the camaraderie between the GhostWalkers that makes me love this series so much. They would literally die for each other and many of them have. The men are strong alpha males, but then women are just as strong and won’t be held back by their men. At the same time, they don’t apologize for wanting to make their men happy. That’s another thing I love about this series. The women. They’ve been through so much, but they are survivors. If you love paranormal and haven’t tried this series, you definitely should!

Sunday Spotlight: Covert Game by Christine FeehanCovert Game (GhostWalkers #14) by Christine Feehan
Series: GhostWalkers #14
Also in this series: Predatory Game, Street Game, Ruthless Game, Shadow Game, Power Game, Murder Game, Covert Game
Published by Berkley Books
Publication Date: March 20th 2018
Point-of-View: Third-Person Alternating
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 400
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

Treason, torture and temptation haunt the GhostWalkers in their most dangerous adventure yet, as Christine Feehan's #1 New York Times bestselling series hits an explosive new high.

Rescuing an industrial spy from the hands of a criminal mastermind is a suicide mission for the GhostWalkers. And there's no one more up to the task than Gino Mazza. He's the perfect killing machine--a man driven by demons so dark and destructive that his blighted soul has given up trying to find solace. But his laser-sharp focus on his target has transformed into something nearing desire.

A treasonous senator dangled top secret GhostWalker data in front of a Chinese crime lord, and he bit. Zara Hightower, one of the world's leading experts on artificial intelligence, was sent in to psychically wipe the crime lord's computer network. She succeeded, but at a huge cost. Now she's the captive of a man who has descended into paranoid madness. Torture and death await her...

But GhostWalkers never leave one of their own in enemy territory. And it's up to Gino to save Zara, or kill her if it turns out she's led them into a trap. Either way, heaven or hell won't stop him...

Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || KOBO

Excerpt

Excerpt from COVERT GAME by Christine Feehan

Gino felt Zara stir in his arms while Zeke sorted their identities with the guard at the gate. He wasn’t listening. The tension in her ratcheted up another notch. Her body shuddered. Shivered. “Need your coat, Rubin.”

Rubin immediately shrugged out of his jacket and helped Gino wrap the shivering woman in it. She had her head turned away from Gino’s chest and was looking out the gate toward the security guards. Her breath left her lungs in a long rush of fear. Gino not only heard the small whimper of terror, but felt it. His eyes followed the turn of her head to the sleek car that had pulled up in front of the gates. A man slid out of the leather interior.

Bolan Zhu. Gino recognized him from his photographs. He looked like a movie star, his dark hair slicked back, his suit immaculate. He simply stood on the walkway, eyes on Zara’s face. Gino turned her so she couldn’t see the bastard. They all knew the big son of a bitch was the one doing the torture for Cheng. If her reaction to him was anything to go by, she was petrified of the man.

Deliberately, Gino locked eyes with the bastard. Let him know where the true threat was. Zhu could beat a defenseless woman, but it was something altogether different to come at a man looking forward to the altercation. He didn’t smile. Not even a taunting smile. He didn’t feel like giving him that much of a warning. He just stared at the fucker and then, contempt on his face, leaned down to nuzzle the top of Zara’s head.

“I’m right here. I’ve got you,” he whispered. “You’re safe.”

She shook her head and pressed her swollen face against his shirt. “I’ll never be safe.”

“Princess,” he said softly. “Look at me.”

She raised her head and peered up at him. He felt the impact all the way through his guts—through that monster punching at him to get out and rid the world of a man like Zhu who would commit such a crime against an innocent. Zara Hightower needed protection, not the cold monster lurking inside him, but he knew it was the same thing. His monster was her protection.

“I take care of what’s mine. He won’t get his filthy hands on you again. That’s my promise to you.”

He held steady while those little pinpoints of what was left of her eyes searched his. She must have caught a glimpse of that demon inside of him, the one ready to be let loose, the one punching and stabbing to get free.

“You understand me?” Because he was telling her so much more than the words conveyed.

She swallowed again and nodded.

“Keep your eyes on me. Don’t look at him. Don’t think about him. A man like that is beneath contempt.”

She nodded again, and once more, Gino lifted his gaze to Zhu’s. The bastard was staring at him, stupid enough to think he might be intimidating. Zhu thought Gino was like the others, a white knight. Maybe he would have been, but that was long gone, ripped from him when he was a child and he’d been shaped into something completely different. He was a demon now, still rescuing the innocent, but with so much more in his arsenal.

Zhu refused to look away, or go away. He wanted Zara to be afraid of him. The man didn’t realize she’d already recognized the monster in Gino and was willing to give herself to him for his protection. She saw. She believed. That was enough for Gino.

Gino turned with Zara in his arms, cradled close to his chest by his heart, and he walked away without once looking back.

Posted by arrangement with Berkley, a member of Penguin Group (USA) LLC, A Penguin Random House Company. Copyright © Christine Feehan, 2018.

GhostWalkers

Book Cover Book Cover Book Cover Book Cover Book Cover Book Cover

Giveaway Alert

We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the Rafflecopter widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About the Author

Christine Feehan

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | YOUTUBE | PINTEREST | GOODREADS

Christine Feehan is a #1 New York Times bestselling author multiple times over with her portfolio including over 40 published novels, including five series; Leopard Series, Dark Series, Ghostwalker Series, Drake Sisters Series, & the Sisters of the Heart Series. All five series hit the #1 spot on the New York Times bestselling list as well. Her debut novel Dark Prince received 3 of the 9 Paranormal Excellence Awards in Romantic Literature (PEARL) in 1999. Since then she has been published by various publishing houses including Leisure Books, Pocket Books, and currently is writing for Berkley/Jove. She also has earned 7 more PEARL awards since Dark Prince.


Tagged: , , ,

Retro-Review: Murder Game by Christine Feehan

Posted September 20, 2017 by Casee in Reviews | 6 Comments

Retro-Review: Murder Game by Christine FeehanReviewer: Casee
Murder Game by Christine Feehan
Series: GhostWalkers #7
Also in this series: Predatory Game, Street Game, Ruthless Game, Shadow Game, Power Game, Covert Game
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: December 30, 2008
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 446
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Return to the world of the GhostWalkers with “the queen of paranormal romance” (USA Today) as she raises the stakes in the ultimate game of love and death…

Games should be fun, but for two expert teams across the country, they’re murder – because the winning team is the one that gets the most kills. The participants in this violent challenge rumored to be GhostWalkers. And Kadan Montague isn’t happy about it.

Kadan is a GhostWalker and he’s determined to clear the GhostWalker name of the rumors. To do it, he’s going to need the help of psychic Tansy Meadows. But as soon as he sees her, he knows his mission will be more complicated than he imagined – and the “murder game” may not be at all what it seems.

*****As part of our 10 year anniversary celebration, we’ll be re-posting old reviews and posts that make us cringe, laugh or sigh all over again.

Holly: Casee forced me to read introduced me to Christine Feehan forever and a day ago. She actually sent me the first 12 or so Dark novels and told me I had to read them. I remember thinking she was crazy after the first book, but by the 3rd I was hooked. I never really got into this series, but I know she still reads them.

This review was originally published on February 11, 2009

I’m a major Christine Feehan fangirl. The first paranormal I ever read was Dark Prince. I think I mention that every time I review a Christine Feehan book. I just can’t help it. I lurrrve her. Still I’m not sure how I feel about the couples in this series. They’re bona fide Lifemates, but without the blood and the chant/speech thing. There’s also no color-less world stuff. In actuality, the GhostWalkers are mortal. Still, each GhostWalker has been genetically linked to his/her “mate” by Dr. Peter Whitney. He reminds me of Walter Bishop from Fringe, but without the goodness. He only has the crazy.

Kadan goes to retrieve Tansy without any knowledge that she’s his genetic mate. I really don’t know what to call it other than that b/c it’s never really been specified. Anyhow, Kadan needs Tansy’s help in tracking down a group of GhostWalker killers. She’ll do anything to extract her, even if it means taking her by force. Of course that’s before he actually meets her and realizes who she is. After he realizes who she is, he’s determined not to use her, especially when he sees how using her gift affects her. Tansy won’t let Kadan shut her out, especially when he gives her a glimpse into the case.

Kadan has been around since the first GhostWalker book. I went back and re-read it. He was a bad mother-f-er back then and even more so now. Seeing his friends and colleagues die has made him harder (metaphorically of course) than ever. Suddenly he has this woman that for all intents and purposes, been made for him. Protecting her now comes before everything else, including finding out who is murdering GhostWalkers.

I liked Tansy. I really don’t like many CF heroines, but I liked her. When she ran head-first into danger, it was with the knowledge that what she was doing could kill her. And she wasn’t doing it b/c she was TSTL. She was doing it b/c she could save lives. The romance between Kadan and Tansy was hot, as CF’s romances usually are. I did get a little weary of reading 20 page sex scenes every 100 pages. Other than that, I have very few complaints.

This series is really good. I hope that she doesn’t continue it until it burns out.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

GhostWalkers

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Review: Power Game by Christine Feehan

Posted February 3, 2017 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Power Game by Christine FeehanReviewer: Casee
Power Game by Christine Feehan
Series: GhostWalkers
Also in this series: Predatory Game, Street Game, Ruthless Game, Shadow Game, Murder Game, Covert Game
Published by Berkley Books
Publication Date: January 24th 2017
Point-of-View: Third
Pages: 464
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

#1 New York Times bestselling author Christine Feehan is “one of the best storytellers around” (RT Book Reviews). Find out why as two lovers surrounded by greed and corruption discover there’s no telling whom you can trust—or who will come out on top...
When members of a United Nations joint security force are taken hostage by radical terrorists in Indonesia, Captain Ezekiel Fortunes is called to lead the rescue team. Part of a classified government experiment, Zeke is a supersoldier with enhanced abilities. He can see better and run faster than the enemy, disappear when necessary and hunt along any terrain. There are those in the world willing to do anything for power like that...
A formidable spy genetically engineered to hide in plain sight, Bellisia rarely meets a man who doesn’t want to control her or kill her. But Zeke is different. His gaze, his touch—they awaken feelings inside her that she never thought possible. He’s the kind of man she could settle down with—if she can keep him alive...

Bella has lived her life at the mercy of Peter Whitney. During a mission to discover if one of her fellow GhostWalkers is actually selling them out, Bella uncovers the unthinkable. Violet Smythe is trying to sell them out. Not only sell them out but eradicate them from the face of the earth. While that sounds laughable to Bella, Violet can certainly do it as Vice President of the United States. Bella knows that it is not going to be long before Violet is President. Then she will have access to almost all the GhostWalker records. With that knowledge, Bella escapes Whitney and heads to Louisiana, and the GhostWalkers that Violet wants to go after first.

Ezekiel Fortunes is someone whose temper runs hot. Literally. The only outlet he has is to fight. That and to keep his family safe. He is obsessed with safety. When he realizes someone has breached his security, he goes nuts. He has no idea how they have done it, but they have. He has no idea that it’s the very woman that he’s drawn to when he goes into the French Quarter for a fools’ errand by Nonny, the grandmother of their merry band.

Ezekiel is immediately drawn to Bella and he has no idea why. Then he does. She’s a GhostWalker and she is the one that has been circumventing his security. All Bella wants to do is help Ezekiel and leave. She wants to build herself some semblance of a life and keep out of Whitney’s hands. When she finds herself in a situation and has to help Ezekiel, he repays her by taking her captive.

That was heartbreaking. Bella truly believed that Ezekiel worked for Whitney. She gave up her potential freedom to help save his life. The sense of betrayal she felt was immense. You could literally feel it coming off the pages. Bella literally lived her life living in a cage and Ezekiel and his family captured Bella after she saved his life and threw her in a cage. It was heartbreaking.

Ezekiel was mad that she was put in a cage and immediately got her out (though the damage was done) and brought her into Nonny’s home. It was sweet to see how Bella took to being part of a family. Even though she had a family with her fellow GhostWalker sisters, it obviously wasn’t traditional. Ezekiel’s family isn’t traditional either, but Nonny definitely is and she tries to keep things as normal as possible.

Of course Violet comes after them again. Bella and Ezekiel have to work as a team along with their fellow GhostWalkers. Bella gets in trouble and she has to trust Ezekiel when she hasn’t trusted anyone in her life. It shows how far she has come in her relationship with him that she trusts him so much.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

GhostWalkers

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Shadow Game by Christine Feehan

Posted July 20, 2016 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Shadow Game by Christine FeehanReviewer: Casee
Shadow Game by Christine Feehan
Series: GhostWalkers #1
Also in this series: Predatory Game, Street Game, Ruthless Game, Power Game, Murder Game, Covert Game
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: August 26th 2003
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 352
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-half-stars

The classified experiment is the brainchild of renowned scientist Peter Whitney and his brilliant daughter, Lily. Created to enhance the psychic abilities of an elite squadron, it can transform their natural mental powers into a unique military weapon. But something goes wrong. In the isolated underground labs, the men have been dying-victims of bizarre accidents. Captain Ryland Miller knows he is next. When Dr. Whitney himself is murdered, Ryland has only one person left to trust: the beautiful Lily. Possessed of an uncanny sixth sense herself, Lily shares Ryland's every new fear, every betrayal, every growing suspicion, and every passionate beat of the heart. Together, they will be drawn deeper into the labyrinth of her father's past…and closer to a secret that someone would kill to keep hidden.

I do so enjoy this series. I decided to re-read the entire series because I haven’t read the last few books in the series and when I read the blurbs, I was lost. The GhostWalker themselves branched out to several different groups and I thought it would be a good idea to start from the beginning so I wouldn’t be lost. I’m glad I did because I remembered why I liked this series so much. These are a tight knit group of men that would die and kill for each other.

Captain Ryland Miller and his men volunteered for Dr. Peter Whitney’s GhostWalker program to become better soldiers. Nothing more, nothing less. They wanted an edge on the enemy so they could help their country. They didn’t count on becoming lab rats, yet that is exactly what they have become. Psychically enhanced then separated from each other, the only way they can communicate is telepathically and even that proves to be difficult. Then Ryland meets the Lily, the other Dr. Whitney who has come in to consult on the GhostWalker project. Ryland knows if he and his men don’t get out of the lab, more of them will begin to disappear. He is sure that Lily is his answer.

Lily is appalled by the conditions in which the men are kept, but she knows it is necessary to protect their minds from the psychic backlash they will feel if they leave. Lily and Ryland soon discover that she is an anchor–someone that can shoulder the burden of the outside world from minds that can’t shield themselves. Lily herself is gifted, can read people and their emotions and soon realizes how deep the rot goes with the people involved in this project. She knows that she has to get the men out or they’re all dead.

Her father’s disappearance has left Lily adrift, but knowing that she has to protect these men from those who want them dead. The only safe haven for them is Lily’s home. It is there that Lily begins to discover that Peter Whitney is not the loving father that she’s always thought he was; in fact he’s not her real father at all. Nor is this his first experiment to test psychic abilities. Together, Ryland, Lily, and the other GhostWalkers start to unravel the true evil that is Peter Whitney while Lily tries to reconcile that man with the father she knew.

This is a fast paced read that will leave you wanting more. I thoroughly enjoyed this book the first time around and liked it even better the second time. If you like Christine Feehan, you will enjoy this look into a new series.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

GhostWalkers

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , ,