Series: FBI/US Attorney

Guest Review: Suddenly One Summer by Julie James

Posted June 16, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Suddenly One Summer by Julie JamesReviewer: Tracy
Suddenly One Summer by Julie James
Series: FBI/US Attorney #6
Also in this series: About That Night (FBI/US Attorney, #3), A Lot like Love (FBI/US Attorney, #2), Love Irresistibly, It Happened One Wedding, Suddenly One Summer
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: June 2nd 2015
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Divorce lawyer Victoria Slade has seen enough unhappy endings to swear off marriage forever. That doesn't mean she's opposed to casual dating—just not with her cocky new neighbor, who is as gorgeous and tempting as he is off-limits. But once she agrees to take on his sister's case, she's as determined to win as ever—even if that means teaming up with Ford....

Investigative journalist Ford Dixon is bent on finding the man who got his sister pregnant and left her high and dry. He's willing to partner with Victoria, despite the fact that the beautiful brunette gets under his skin like no other woman. He might not be looking to settle down, but there's no denying the scorching attraction between them. Still, the more time he spends with Victoria, the more he realizes that the one woman as skeptical about love as he is might be the only woman he could really fall for…

Tracy’s review of Suddenly One Summer by Julie James

Victoria is a family lawyer who has seen her share of divorces – including her parents. She’s positive she doesn’t want to get married and she’s happy with the “casual” dates and sex that she has. That’s until she ends up moving in temporarily next door to Ford Dixon. She’s not thrilled with her neighbor at first but what starts as friendship and moves into casual soon becomes more than she thinks she wants.

Ford is dealing with his father’s death as well as his sister’s new baby. He is frustrated by the beautiful yet incredibly uptight woman who moved in next door. Despite his frustration he can’t seem to keep his eyes off of her and ends up wanting her more and more.

When Ford and Victoria start working together to try and find the father of Ford’s sister’s baby the pair get to see another side of each other that they hadn’t previous seen and actually become friends. But each of their relationship hang ups might mean that they end before they ever really begin.

Julie James is one of my favorite contemporary authors because she writes such strong characters. In Suddenly One Summer she wrote them again and I really enjoyed reading about both Ford and Victoria. I loved how they were both judgmental about the other one at first but still so curious about the other. The way the author brought up and then dealt with each of their personal issues, and those issues with each other, really worked for me. I really loved Victoria’s sessions with her shrink. They made me laugh even while I my heart was hurting for what she’d been through in life.

The romance in this story kind of took a back seat to Victoria’s panic issues as well as Ford’s sister’s baby daddy issues which was a bit disappointing. While Ford and Victoria were together most of the book I missed that deep connection that I normally feel when reading one of James’ books. It was still good but not as good as I know James can do. The ending issue that split the couple apart was a bit of a “big mis” which was a bit frustrating but it all worked out in the end.

Overall a good book and one I really enjoyed.

Rating: 4 out of 5

This title is available from Jove. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Suddenly One Summer by Julie James

Posted June 1, 2015 by Holly in Reviews | 4 Comments

Review: Suddenly One Summer by Julie JamesReviewer: Holly
Suddenly One Summer by Julie James
Series: FBI/US Attorney #6
Also in this series: About That Night (FBI/US Attorney, #3), A Lot like Love (FBI/US Attorney, #2), Love Irresistibly, It Happened One Wedding, Suddenly One Summer
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: June 2nd 2015
Pages: 304
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

From the New York Times bestselling author of It Happened One Wedding comes a novel about a man and a woman whose summer is about to get very, very hot... Divorce lawyer Victoria Slade has seen enough unhappy endings to swear off marriage forever. That doesn't mean she's opposed to casual dating—just not with her cocky new neighbor, who is as gorgeous and tempting as he is off-limits. But once she agrees to take on his sister's case, she's as determined to win as ever—even if that means teaming up with Ford....
Investigative journalist Ford Dixon is bent on finding the man who got his sister pregnant and left her high and dry. He's willing to partner with Victoria, despite the fact that the beautiful brunette gets under his skin like no other woman. He might not be looking to settle down, but there's no denying the scorching attraction between them. Still, the more time he spends with Victoria, the more he realizes that the one woman as skeptical about love as he is might be the only woman he could really fall for…
"If you need a great read to throw in your beach bag, make sure Suddenly One Summer is one of your choices." --USA Today
From the Paperback edition.

James is a go-to for smart heroines, and Victoria Slade is no exception. She’s witty, sarcastic, independent and in charge of her life. Her unexpected friendship with her next door neighbor made for some sweet, poignant moments, and also a lot of snickering and laugh-out-loud moments.

Victoria’s house was broken into while she was home. After having a couple panic attacks, she decides she needs a change and buys a new condo. While she’s waiting for the sale to go through, she sublets another condo and ends up sharing a bedroom wall with Ford Dixon. She’s already sleep deprived thanks to the attempted robbery, and his nighttime antics don’t do much to help the situation. Things finally come to a head when she jumps down his throat, and they vow to stay away from each other (despite a rather sizzling mutual attraction). Until Ford’s sister decides to find the father of her baby and Victoria inadvertently volunteers her services as a lawyer. Ford is determined to help his sister. so Victoria is forced to partner up with him.

The more time they spend together, the more they realize their initial impressions about each other were wrong. Neither is really in the market for a long-term commitment, but a summer fling might be just what the doctor ordered. If they can keep their hearts out of it…

Victoria was sarcastic and witty. Ford was charming and fun. Together they were a great couple. I loved the way their romance developed, and their unexpected friendship. Neither was good at being vulnerable, but they both ended up leaning on the other. The plot featuring Ford’s sister was interesting, and I loved the glimpses we got of their respective careers. One thing I think James excels at is giving us well-rounded characters. Too often in contemporary romance their main characters focus on each other to the exclusion of all else. That isn’t the case here. Victoria had her work, and so did Ford. He had his friends, and so did she. It wasn’t hard to immerse myself completely in the story, since I felt like we lived their lives with them.

This was everything I’ve come to expect from James; fun and flirty, with the unexpected bonus of a lot of spice.

4.0 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: It Happened One Wedding by Julie James

Posted May 7, 2014 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: It Happened One Wedding by Julie JamesReviewer: Tracy
It Happened One Wedding by Julie James
Series: FBI/US Attorney #5
Also in this series: About That Night (FBI/US Attorney, #3), A Lot like Love (FBI/US Attorney, #2), Love Irresistibly, Suddenly One Summer, Suddenly One Summer
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: May 6th 2014
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

SHE KNOWS BETTER THAN TO SAY “I DO”

After a humiliating end to her engagement, investment banker Sidney Sinclair is done with commitment-phobic men. But when her sister winds up engaged after a whirlwind courtship, Sidney is thrown into close contact with exactly the kind of sexy playboy she wants to avoid—the gorgeous best man. She’s stuck with him, for better or worse, until her sister walks down the aisle, but that doesn’t mean she has to give in to his smooth advances, no matter how tempting they are…

BUT HE MAKES IT HARD TO SAY “I DON’T”

Special agent Vaughn Roberts always gets his man on the job and his woman in bed. So Sidney’s refusal to fall for his charms only makes him more determined to win over the cool and confident redhead. Only what starts out as a battle of wills ends up as a serious play for her heart. Because the one woman who refuses to be caught may be the only one Vaughn can’t live without…

Vaughn is in a coffee shop when he sees a gorgeous woman walk in and sit down with another man. Vaughn can tell within moments that it’s a first date and watches the pair for a bit. He can tell that the man is completely full of himself, as he can’t stop talking about himself, and Vaughn knows the guy is gonna strike out…which he does. After the man leaves, completely confused as to why the woman wouldn’t give him her number, Vaughn decides to turn on the charm and approach the woman himself. He, strangely enough, strikes out as well. Not only is she not open to his charm, she actually profiles him telling him what a womanizer he is. Well! Of course she’s right, but Vaughn brushes it off and heads to the restaurant where he’s meeting his brother, Simon, and his girlfriend of 3 months, Isabelle. Vaughn’s more than a bit peeved when Isabelle’s sister, who was invited as well, turns out to be the woman in the coffee shop, Sidney Sinclair.

When Simon and Isabelle announce that they’re getting married and that Vaughn and Sidney will be the best man and maid of honor, Sidney and Vaughn realize that they’ll be spending much time together and to try to make the best of a bad situation. Neither likes the other, though they each think the other is hot, hot, hot.

As time goes on Sidney gets into her job as a director of a private equity fund and Vaughn heads off to do his undercover work for the FBI that he’s so good at.

Sidney decides that she’s going to step up the dating (she’s got her profile on an online dating site) and comes up with a list of bullet points that are either a “must or must not” pass for each date. It seems that there’s no one out there that can pass everything on her list. While doing wedding things Sidney and Vaughn kind of become friends, and then end up sleeping together. They think that it’s only the one time but then it keeps happening and even then Sidney just thinks of Vaughn as Mr. Right Now – not Mr. Right. On top of that Sidney keeps asking Vaughn questions about her dates when she wants to know if she’s being scammed by the men she’s dating. Since Vaughn is a ladies man she figures he’s the go-to guy. But Vaughn, the more he hangs around Sidney, isn’t looking at other women any longer and only wants to be with Sidney.

I don’t even know where to begin to share my thoughts on this one. I think I loved just about every minute of reading this book and couldn’t put the darned thing down. Dishes didn’t get done, kids didn’t get fed (ok, their father fed them) and nothing much happened while I was reading this book because I was so entranced. I’m not usually one who goes in for couples who don’t like each other at first and continue to fight their feelings but this was different for me.

Vaughn – OMG what can I say about the guy? He was awesome. Yes, he’d been a womanizer in the past but we didn’t really see that in this book because even though Sidney shot him down he just couldn’t seem to get the woman out of his head. I loved the relationship between Vaughn and Sidney and how they became friends. It cracked me up seeing the texts between the couple when Sidney went on dates. I think I enjoyed it so much because it showed me how much Sidney was thinking about Vaughn even though she was out with another guy.

Sidney was a wonderful heroine. She was a tough woman on the outside but had a soft inside. She really wanted a man with the whole package and never in a million years thought that was Vaughn but as she got to know him she realized that maybe she was wrong. Seeing Sidney come to this realization was pretty satisfying.

I won’t tell you everything about the book but know that it’s damned good. James gives us a great story, great characters and family, humor and romance all rolled into one fabulous book.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Julie James

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Love Irresistibly by Julie James

Posted May 8, 2013 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Love Irresistibly by Julie JamesReviewer: Tracy
Love Irresistibly by Julie James
Series: FBI/US Attorney #4
Also in this series: About That Night (FBI/US Attorney, #3), A Lot like Love (FBI/US Attorney, #2), It Happened One Wedding, Suddenly One Summer, Suddenly One Summer
Published by Berkley, Penguin
Publication Date: April 2, 2013
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

 

HE’S USED TO GETTING WHAT HE WANTS…

A former football star and one of Chicago’s top prosecutors, Assistant U.S. Attorney Cade Morgan will do anything to nail a corrupt state senator, which means he needs Brooke Parker’s help. As general counsel for a restaurant company, she can get a bug to the senator’s table at one of her five-star restaurants so the FBI can eavesdrop on him. All Cade has to do is convince Brooke to cooperate—and he’s not afraid to use a little charm, or the power of his office, to do just that.

AND WHAT HE WANTS IS HER.

A savvy businesswoman, Brooke knows she needs to play ball with the U.S. Attorney’s office—even if it means working with Cade. No doubt there’s a sizzling attraction beneath all their sarcastic quips, but Brooke is determined to keep things casual. Cade agrees—until a surprising turn of events throws his life into turmoil, and he realizes that he wants more than just a good time from the one woman with whom he could fall terrifyingly, irresistibly in love . . .

Cade Morgan, Asst. US Attorney, approaches Brooke Parker for a favor. Brooke is General Council for a restaurant chain and Cade wants to place a bug in one of their restaurants so that he can eavesdrop and therefore get evidence to prosecute a dirty politician. Cade’s attitude does nothing to endear him to Brooke right off the bat but after he does a favor for her as well they do something that normal people do, go on a date. Well, it doesn’t start off as a date but it turns into one.

The pair start seeing each other when they can as well as texting each other on a regular basis. The relationship is casual and fun and their total smartasses with each other. Each one swears that this is just fun and neither one wants to take it further. Cade has a 15 year old half brother that he never knew about and other issues to deal with and Brooke gets a job offer that’s amazing, but in another part of the country – it’s not material that a bonding relationship can work with. Or is it?

Another sweet and fun story from Julie James. She really has a way with bringing a great sense of humor into all of her books and I enjoy that so much. In this one she really made the main characters quite sarcastic and I really liked their smart ass comments to each other.

I liked the hero and heroine both in this story but honestly I didn’t connect with them the way I’ve connected with the characters in James’s previous books. I liked the extra aspect that James put in about Cade’s unknown brother and his issues with his father. I thought they were quite poignant but unfortunately I didn’t feel the same way about the romance. It was on its way to getting there to that place where you are just nutso to hear the characters proclaim their love for each other, but it wasn’t quite at the right point, imho, for the I Love You’s when they came. Now obviously these are just my opinions and I’m just one person, but I know how wonderful a James love story can be and this one just fell a little short for me.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Book Cover Book Cover Book Cover

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: A Lot Like Love by Julie James

Posted February 11, 2013 by Holly in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: A Lot Like Love by Julie JamesReviewer: Holly
A Lot like Love (FBI/US Attorney, #2) by Julie James
Series: FBI/US Attorney #2
Also in this series: About That Night (FBI/US Attorney, #3), Love Irresistibly, It Happened One Wedding, Suddenly One Summer, Suddenly One Summer
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: March 1st 2011
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 274
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

The FBI wants her cooperation...

As the daughter of a billionaire and the owner of the city's top wine store, Jordan Rhodes is invited to the most exclusive parties in Chicago. But there's only one party the FBI wants to crash: the charity fundraiser of a famous restaurateur, who also happens to launder money for the mob. In exchange for her brother's release from prison, Jordan is going to be there—with a date supplied by the Bureau.

Agent McCall just wants her...

As the top undercover agent in Chicago, Nick McCall has one rule: never get personal. This "date" with Jordan Rhodes is merely an assignment—one they're both determined to pull off even if they can't be together for five minutes before the sarcasm and sparks begin to fly. But when Nick's investigation is compromised, he and Jordan have no choice but to pretend they're a couple, and what starts out as a simple assignment begins to feel a lot like something more.

A Lot Like Love by Julie James is book 2 in the FBI/US Attorney series, but it stands alone well.

This was a re-read for me. After reading Love Irresistibly, I wanted to go back and re-read About That Night. After finishing that, I had to go back and read this one. It’s like  a vicious cycle. Jordan is my favorite kind of heroine. She’s strong, witty, sarcastic and not afraid to put herself out there for her family. She was obviously conflicted about helping the FBI, but as soon as they mentioned her brother she knew there wasn’t really a choice.

Nick is due for some time off and he isn’t happy to missing his mother’s birthday in favor of babysitting some spoiled rich girl. He’s surprised when he meets Jordan and is attracted to her personality as well as her looks. He knows getting involved with her is a bad idea on so many levels..but he can’t seem to help himself. He’s gone on many undercover missions, but they’ve never become real like this one.

Jordan and Nick had great chemistry. I liked that they were both strong, independent and sarcastic. They really played well off each other.

Another great contemporary romance. James is really setting herself apart with her witty dialogue and strong female characters. This was a fast read. I enjoyed it just as much this time around.

4.25 out of 5

This book is available from Berkley. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,