Series: Elder Races

Author Interview: 10 Questions with Thea Harrison

Posted December 14, 2016 by Holly in Promotions | 3 Comments

Thea Harrison’s latest Elder Races novel released yesterday. She graciously agreed to answer some questions about the book and where she’s headed from here.

Moonshadow by Thea Harrison
Series: Elder Races
Also in this SeriesMoonshadow (Moonshadow, #1) (Elder Races #12)Midnight’s Kiss (Elder Races #8)Night’s Honor (Elder Races #7)Pia Does Hollywood (Elder Races #8.6)Shadow’s End (Elder Races #9)Dragon Bound (Elder Races #1)Dragos Goes to Washington (Elder Races #8.5)Dragos Takes a Holiday (Elder Races #6.5)Liam Takes Manhattan (Elder Races #9.5)Lord’s Fall (Elder Races #5)Midnight’s Kiss (Elder Races #8)Night’s Honor (Elder Races #7)Pia Does Hollywood (Elder Races #8.6)Pia Saves the Day & Peanut Goes to School (Elder Races #6.6 & 6.7)
Release Date: December 13, 2016
Publisher: Teddy Harrison, LLC
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal

 

From bestselling author Thea Harrison comes the first in an explosive new trilogy set in the Elder Races world.

Her past is a blank, her future uncertain..

Recovering from a shooting, LAPD witch consultant Sophie Ross leaves her job and travels to the U.K. to search for answers about her childhood. When she encounters a Daoine Sidhe knight of the Dark Court, she becomes entangled in an ancient hatred between two arcane forces.

He has given his body and soul to fight for his people..

Barred from his homeland along with his surviving brother knights, Nikolas Sevigny is embroiled in a conflict that threatens everything he holds dear. Only by uniting their resources can his people hope to prevail against Isabeau, the deadly Queen of the Light Court. He will do anything and use anyone to return home to Lyonesse.

When Nikolas encounters Sophie, he sees a tool to be used. The insouciant witch might be the key to unlocking every passageway that has been barred to the knights of the Dark Court, even as a fascination for her takes root in what’s left of his soul.

Sophie has no intention of becoming anyone’s pawn, yet the fierce Nikolas is so compelling, she can’t deny the temptation that endangers her guarded heart.

As magic threatens Lyonesse, Queen Isabeau unleashes her merciless Hounds, and Nikolas and Sophie become embroiled in a race for survival. Meanwhile, the passion that ignites between them burns too hot to be denied and quickly turns into obsession.

Thank goodness they both know better than to fall in love.

Q&A

Q&A with Thea Harrison – Book Binge

About Moonshadow

1. For any new readers out there, Moonshadow is the first book in the Elder Races series spin off and will focus on the UK demesnes. Can you tell our readers a little about what to expect from this series? Any key people we should keep our eye on?

The Moonshadow trilogy focuses on the people caught in an ancient fight between the Light and Dark Courts. I pull a few elements from Shakespeare and a few from Arthurian mythology, and I set the story in the Elder Races world.

Isabeau, the Queen of the Light Court, is obsessed with the total extermination of King Oberon and his Dark Court. At the beginning of Moonshadow, Oberon has fallen into an ensorcelled sleep in Lyonesse and his magic rages out of control. The land of Lyonesse has been cut off from earth, and the knights of the Dark Court who are caught earth side are being hunted to death.

Definitely Isabeau and Morgan, the Captain of her Hounds, are key people in the trilogy, along with Oberon and his people. Oberon’s commander Nikolas is the hero of Moonshadow. There is also a secondary character, Robin, who makes an appearance in all three stories.

2. How many books do you have planned for the Moonshadow series?

Currently I’ve made a commitment to a trilogy, but if readers respond positively to the original trilogy, I have a second trilogy planned—so there could be a total of six stories.

3. Can you tell us if we’ll be seeing any of our friends from the Elder Races world in the new series? If so, which ones?

Yes, there will be some character crossover from the original Elder Races books. Dr. Kathryn Shaw has already made an appearance. Isabeau’s twin sister Tatiana, Queen of the Light Fae in Los Angeles, is also going to factor in the stories, along with at least one of her daughters, perhaps both. There are a few others who may make an appearance, but their roles are a bit more nebulous, so I’d better not say more at this time!

Drool

4. I like to picture the characters in my head while reading books so can you tell us who your inspirations (celebrities, models, etc..) were for Sophie and Nikolas?

Nikolas definitely looks like Paul Marron, the model I hired for the cover. As for Sophie, I have been picturing her like a younger Ashley Judd, only with dark, curling hair.

5. Your writing schedule must be busy these days, will we be seeing more Elder Races books or have you moved on?

I have not moved on from the Elder Races. I’ve simply taken a break to tell these other stories. I’ve also got another spin-off trilogy planned, so yes, I’m very busy! 🙂 It’s a big world, and there’s so much story to tell in it.

Random Questions

6. What is the first book that made you cry?

The first one that I remember is Black Beauty. I cried my eyes out as a child, and I must have read that book eleven or twelve times.

7. What is your writing Kryptonite?

Illness. When I reach a certain point—such as contracting the flu—I can’t get the words to flow. All my characters want to stay in bed!

8. What other authors are you friends with, and how do they help you become a better writer?

I have been so blessed to have met and befriended so many talented authors, and not only do they help me become a better writer, I hope they have helped me become a better person. I feel like I could write a dedication to them for my life and add, “all mistakes are my own, of course.” A short (not comprehensive) list of authors who impacted my life in a positive way while I wrote Moonshadow are: Patricia Briggs, Ann Aguirre, Kristen Callihan, Eloisa James, Jeffe Kennedy, Elizabeth Hunter, Grace Draven, Carrie Ann Ryan, and Katie Reus. I’m so grateful to each and every one.

9. If you could tell your younger writing self anything, what would it be?

Be more self-protective, and believe in yourself more.

10. How many unpublished and half-finished books do you have?

I have one unpublished book that is currently on submission. I don’t have any half-finished stories—for good or for ill, I finish them all.

Thanks so much for having me on your blog today! Readers, if you want to get the latest news, you can follow me on Facebook and Twitter, and sign up for my newsletter for updates!

Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || iBOOKS || KOBO

Elder Races

Book Cover Book Cover Book Cover Book Cover Book Cover Book Cover

About the Author

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | PINTEREST | TUMBLR | GOODREADS

New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Thea Harrison resides in Colorado. She wrote her first book, a romance, when she was nineteen, and had sixteen romances published under the name Amanda Carpenter. She took a break from writing to collect a couple of graduate degrees and a grown child.

Thea writes in a variety of genres, including the award-winning paranormal Elder Races series and the Game of Shadows novels, and is currently at work on various new projects in sci-fi fantasy, paranormal and contemporary romance.

She adores animals and currently resides with two small dogs that have very large personalities.

3 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,


Review: Pia Does Hollywood by Thea Harrison

Posted January 19, 2016 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Pia Does Hollywood by Thea HarrisonReviewer: Holly
Pia Does Hollywood by Thea Harrison
Series: Elder Races #8.6
Also in this series: Lord's Fall, Pia Saves the Day & Peanut Goes to School, Dragos Takes a Holiday, Night's Honor, Night's Honor, Dragon Bound, Midnight's Kiss, Midnight's Kiss, Dragos Goes to Washington, Shadow's End, Pia Does Hollywood, Liam Takes Manhattan
Published by NLA Digital LLC
Publication Date: November 17th 2015
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Paranormal, Fantasy
Pages: 125
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

After making a diplomatic pact with humankind and the other leaders of the Elder Races, Pia Cuelebre, mate to Dragos Cuelebre, Lord of the Wyr, reluctantly heads to Hollywood to spend a week with the Light Fae Queen, Tatiana, before the busy Masque season hits New York in December.

Dragos has never let the lack of an invitation stop him from doing anything he wanted. Unwilling to let his mate make the trip without him, he travels to southern California in secret to be with her.
But when an ancient enemy launches a shattering assault against the Light Fae, Dragos and Pia must intercede. The destruction threatens to spread and strike a mortal blow against all of the magically gifted, both human and Elder Race alike.Working with the Light Fae to neutralize the danger, Dragos and Pia find their deepest vulnerabilities challenged and their most closely held secrets threatened with exposure.

PIA DOES HOLLYWOOD is the second part of a three-story series about Pia, Dragos, and and their son, Liam. Each story stands alone, but fans might want to read all three: DRAGOS GOES TO WASHINGTON, PIA DOES HOLLYWOOD, and LIAM TAKES MANHATTAN.

Pia Does Hollywood follows the events in Dragos Goes To Washington. At the end of DGtW, the leaders of the Elder Races all agreed to send one person from their family to spend a week with another of the Elder Races to foster peace, similar to the way the Lords of old used to foster their children with other Warlords. Pia agreed to go, but Dragos never agreed not to follow. Which turns out to be a good thing when problems arise that could compromise the safety of Pia, and possibly everyone in the area.

Pia and Draogs are one of my all-time favorite couples and I love watching them in action. This story focuses on certain aspects of their relationship just as much as the outside action, so it was a pretty great read all around. I really like learning more about the other Elder Races, in this case the Light Fae Queen, and seeing the politics in play. I sometimes forget that Dragos and Pia are a power couple in the world, rather than just two people in love, finding their way together. This series of novellas really reminded me of that.  Both Pia and Dragos had to put their personal issues on hold to deal with worldly concerns.  Dragos can basically do what he wants, but even he has political games he has to play into.

This series is fabulous, and I love these in-between shorts. I’m totally addicted.

4 out of 5

 

four-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


Review: Liam Takes Manhattan by Thea Harrison

Posted January 7, 2016 by Holly in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Liam Takes Manhattan by Thea HarrisonReviewer: Holly
Liam Takes Manhattan by Thea Harrison
Series: Elder Races #9.5
Also in this series: Lord's Fall, Pia Saves the Day & Peanut Goes to School, Dragos Takes a Holiday, Night's Honor, Night's Honor, Dragon Bound, Midnight's Kiss, Midnight's Kiss, Dragos Goes to Washington, Shadow's End, Pia Does Hollywood, Pia Does Hollywood
Published by Teddy Harrison
Publication Date: December 22, 2015
Genres: Coming of Age, Fantasy, Fantasy & Magic, Fiction, New Adult, Paranormal
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Warning: This story contains a major spoiler from SHADOW’S END (book #9, released December 1st, 2015). If readers do not want to be spoiled, they should read the stories in order of their release dates.

This is a short story (15,000 words or 50 pages) intended for readers of the Elder Races who enjoy Liam Cuelebre as a character.

Reeling from a deep loss, the magical prince of the Wyr, Dragos and Pia’s son Liam Cuelebre, turns inward and withdrawn as he struggles to come to terms with who he is, along with the challenges that lie before him.

Hoping to ease his heartache and offer comfort, a concerned Dragos and Pia offer him a gift, something he has desired for a long time. Liam’s response has a ripple effect across all of New York. Soon miracles of all kinds start arriving just in time for Christmas, along with a visit from a mysterious person who gives Liam hope and a vision of his future.

LIAM TAKES MANHATTAN is the third part of a three-story series about Pia, Dragos, and their son, Liam. Each story stands alone, but fans might want to read all three: DRAGOS GOES TO WASHINGTON, PIA DOES HOLLYWOOD, and LIAM TAKES MANHATTAN.

Liam Takes Manhattan takes place after the events of Harrison’s latest full length release, Shadow’s End, and includes major spoilers for that book. For those who haven’t read it, I suggest waiting to pick up this one (unless, like me, you don’t mind spoilers).

Liam is growing at a ridiculous rate. Though he’s technically only a year old, he has the body and intellect of a twenty-something. What he lacks is real-world experience, something he isn’t getting living at home. He wants to stretch is wings a bit (heh) and isn’t sure how to do that, what with his father being the most powerful Wyr alive and Liam’s inner dragon having a hard time accepting orders from him.

Pia and Dragos are having a hard time, too. They love Liam, but they thought they’d have years to grow accustomed to him becoming an adult..not months. When they offer him a gift he’s been wanting for years, his reaction is so unexpected it leaves all of them reeling.

I love Liam. It’s strange knowing he’s only a year old, but he’s growing into a strong man I really enjoy reading about. Watching him grow and change has been a delight. I was looking forward to this story for many reasons, not the least of which is the way things ended for Liam in Shadow’s End.

While I really enjoyed the story itself and liked seeing things from Liam’s perspective, the end really frustrated me. Usually I finish these novellas feeling satisfied, but this one left me frustrated and wanting more. That isn’t to say it wasn’t a good story, but why did it have to end the way it did?? Especially since the next novel won’t be available for a million years </slightexaggeration>??

Still, I love watching Liam grow and change. Here we saw flashes of temperamental teenager, as well as chafing-at-restraints young adult. I can’t wait to see where the future takes him.

3.5 out of 5 

three-half-stars

2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Pia Does Hollywood by Thea Harrison

Posted December 11, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Pia Does Hollywood by Thea HarrisonReviewer: Tracy
Pia Does Hollywood by Thea Harrison
Series: Elder Races #8.6
Also in this series: Lord's Fall, Pia Saves the Day & Peanut Goes to School, Dragos Takes a Holiday, Night's Honor, Night's Honor, Dragon Bound, Midnight's Kiss, Midnight's Kiss, Dragos Goes to Washington, Shadow's End, Liam Takes Manhattan, Pia Does Hollywood
Published by Self-Published, Teddy Harrison
Publication Date: November 9, 2015
Genres: Paranormal
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

After making a diplomatic pact with humankind and the other leaders of the Elder Races, Pia Cuelebre, mate to Dragos Cuelebre, Lord of the Wyr, reluctantly heads to Hollywood to spend a week with the Light Fae Queen, Tatiana, before the busy Masque season hits New York in December.

Dragos has never let the lack of an invitation stop him from doing anything he wanted. Unwilling to let his mate make the trip without him, he travels to southern California in secret to be with her.

But when an ancient enemy launches a shattering assault against the Light Fae, Dragos and Pia must intercede. The destruction threatens to spread and strike a mortal blow against all of the magically gifted, both human and Elder Race alike.

Working with the Light Fae to neutralize the danger, Dragos and Pia find their deepest vulnerabilities challenged and their most closely held secrets threatened with exposure.

Pia Cuelebre is off to Hollywood to spend a week with the Light Fae Queen, Tatiana.  Tatiana tried to reschedule the visit but Pia and Dragos just found out that she’s pregnant and this is really the only time that will be good for her to go.

When Pia arrives (with Dragos not far behind) she immediately feels like there’s something wrong.  She settles in with Tatiana but tensions are high.  Dragos isn’t necessarily supposed to be in LA but neither him nor Pia want to be away from each other that long.  Dragos goes to buy Pia some jewelry and at the jewelry store has a bit of a weird run in with the woman in the store (which is hilarious) when she mentions something about people not coming to work and no one being in her neighborhood.  Dragos decides to investigate and finds a bunch of people who are a bit like zombies and Dragos ends up getting bitten.  From that point on Dragos, Pia, Tatiana and the Sentinels have to find a way to save Dragos’s life as well as find out who and what is behind the death of so many Light Fae.

Another wonderful novella by Thea Harrison!  I love the Elder Races novels and I love the novellas that she’s been putting out about Pia, Dragos and little Liam.  As much as I’ve loved the other books, Pia and Dragos’s romance was one that has stuck in my head the most and I love reading about them.

This story had a great blend of romance and love between Dragos and Pia but also an exciting action aspect to it…with a bit of suspense thrown in to the mix.  It was compelling and once I started reading I didn’t want to put my Kindle down.

This is story two in a three-part novella series featuring Dragos, Pia and Liam.  I’m excited and anxious to see what happens with Liam’s story next and sad that I have to wait until next month to read it!  If you want to read the novella series definitely start with Dragos Goes to Washington first as everything in book two will make much more sense. 🙂

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Shadow’s End by Thea Harrison

Posted November 30, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Shadow’s End by Thea HarrisonReviewer: Tracy
Shadow's End by Thea Harrison
Series: Elder Races #9
Also in this series: Lord's Fall, Pia Saves the Day & Peanut Goes to School, Dragos Takes a Holiday, Night's Honor, Night's Honor, Dragon Bound, Midnight's Kiss, Midnight's Kiss, Dragos Goes to Washington, Pia Does Hollywood, Liam Takes Manhattan, Pia Does Hollywood
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: December 1, 2015
Genres: Paranormal
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

For Beluviel, consort to the Elven High Lord, and Graydon, gryphon and First Sentinel of the Wyr, even the slightest desire for each other is forbidden. But two hundred years ago, after a desperate play to save Beluviel’s stepson left them indebted to the cruel Djinn Malphas, they found their fates inexorably linked together—and the hunger between them growing too strong to ignore…

Two centuries later, with their debt to Malphas coming due, Beluviel and Graydon realize that, if they are to stand any chance of saving their souls, they must once again work together—this time more closely than ever before. But every moment they spend with each other brings them nearer to losing something even more vital—their hearts…

Two hundred years ago Beluviel, consort to the Elven High Lord needed to find her son. He had fallen into a gambling addiction and she was trying to save him before he made a wager so large she couldn’t cover.

Graydon, Wyr sentinel, offers his help out of the goodness of his heart but he has no idea that by the end of the night he would be in love with Beluviel. They wanted nothing more than to be together but when they find Beluviel’s son, Ferion, he already has a lien on his soul put there by the pariah Djinn, Malphas. In order to somehow save her son from Malphas both Graydon and Beluviel makes deals with the Djinn as well and those stand for 200 years.

Now Graydon is done. He wants nothing more than to be with Beluviel – something he was forced to give us when he made the deal with Malphas. He decides to investigate the Djinn and what he finds should be grounds enough to get him killed by the Djinn council. He seeks Bel’s help as well as the help of many of his powerful friends and they go after the pariah.

I thought that this book was very sweet. Yes, Graydon and Beluviel fell in love incredibly quickly – just one night – but then they had 200 years to let that love grow and that helped make the story much more believable to me.

I have to say that I loved Graydon in this story. He was strong, kind, generous, caring, and unselfish and I loved almost everything about him.

I don’t think we got to know Beluviel as well as I would have liked. She was very caring for her family and her people and was also willing to sacrifice for the sake of her son. I wish we could have gotten a deeper view of her but I could see that she loved Graydon and that made up for a lot.

Overall the story was very good. I loved that there was plenty of action blended in with the love story. We also got to hear a little from Drago and Liam and I loved that part of the book. I adore that little boy (who’s not so little any longer). His personality and strength show through in every story he’s in and it always makes it just that much better.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,