Series: Coming Home

Review: Back to You by Jessica Scott

Posted September 7, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Back to You by Jessica ScottReviewer: Rowena
Back to You by Jessica Scott
Series: Coming Home #2
Also in this series: Until There Was You (Coming Home #3), Because of You (Coming Home #1), Back to You
Publisher: Forever
Publication Date: July 29th 2014
Pages: 304
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

He's in for the fight of his life . . .

Army captain Trent Davila loved his wife, Laura, and their two beautiful children. But when he almost lost his life in combat, something inside him died. He couldn't explain the emptiness he felt or bridge the growing distance between him and his family—so he deployed again. And again. And again . . . until his marriage reached its breaking point. Now, with everything on the line, Trent has one last chance to prove to his wife that he can be the man she needs . . . if she'll have him. . . to win back his only love.

Laura is blindsided when Trent returns home. Time and again, he chose his men over his family, and she's just beginning to put the pieces of her shattered heart back together. But when Trent faces a court martial on false charges, only Laura can save him. What begins as an act of kindness to protect his career inflames a desire she thought long buried—and a love that won't be denied. But can she trust that this time he's back to stay?

I read this book for book club and was completely blown away with how good this book was. It was different from anything that I’ve read in a long while and I loved seeing two people who were very much in love heal from their broken relationship.

Back to You is the second book in the Coming Home series and it follows Trent and Laura, friends of the couple from the first book, Because of You. Trent and Laura are married with two kids and they have a wonderful marriage, or, they had a wonderful marriage before Trent is shipped off to war and comes back a completely different person from the man Laura married.

Laura knows that Trent is suffering through something big but he’s closed every communication avenue to her and when she finds out that he’s been shipping himself back out every chance that he can, she’s understandably hurt. Hurt that he doesn’t love her enough to come home. Hurt that he is missing out on being a father to their two kids. Well, she can’t fight to save her marriage for herself and she’s hurt enough that she wants out. She just wants a fresh start, with her kids and away from the man who broke her heart.

Trent is suffering from some major PTSD and he’s got a whole lot of survivor’s guilt going on with no idea how to fix himself or his family. He’s under investigation for some really serious charges and it took the job he used to escape to be stripped from him to realize what was really important. His wife. His family. He’s got a second chance to get things right, to fix the broken heart of the only woman he’s ever loved and he really hopes that it’s not too late.

My heart hurt for both Trent and Laura because their story wasn’t an easy one. They already had a foundation of love under them and their story was all about fixing their broken marriage. She wants a divorce and he doesn’t and we see them both struggle with where to go, what to do. I thought Scott did a fantastic job of putting the reader right smack dab in the middle of Trent and Laura’s story. The story was real and it was hard but in the end, their story was so worth the heartache. I thought everything was wrapped up pretty nicely and I loved the little tid-bits we got from the other couples in Laura and Trent’s circle of friends.

This book was good and I’m so glad that I read it. I definitely recommend.

Grade: 4.25 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Back to You by Jessica Scott

Posted January 17, 2014 by Holly in Reviews | 5 Comments

Review: Back to You by Jessica ScottReviewer: Holly
Back to You by Jessica Scott
Series: Coming Home #3
Also in this series: Until There Was You (Coming Home #3), Because of You (Coming Home #1), Back to You
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication Date: July 29th 2014
Genres: Fiction
Pages: 336
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
five-stars

"Jessica Scott is an exciting new voice in romantic fiction who bursts upon the scene with an unputdownable debut novel!"--Robyn Carr, New York Times Bestselling Author on Because of You
He's in for the fight of his life . . .
Army captain Trent Davila loved his wife, Laura, and their two beautiful children. But when he almost lost his life in combat, something inside him died. He couldn't explain the emptiness he felt or bridge the growing distance between him and his family-so he deployed again. And again. And again...until his marriage reached its breaking point. Now, with everything on the line, Trent has one last chance to prove to his wife that he can be the man she needs ...if she'll have him
. . . to win back his only love.
Laura is blindsided when Trent returns home. Time and again, he chose his men over his family, and she's just beginning to put the pieces of her shattered heart back together. But when Trent faces a court martial on false charges, only Laura can save him. What begins as an act of kindness to protect his career inflames a desire she thought long buried-and a love that won't be denied. But can she trust that this time he's back to stay?
(85,000 words)

 

I’ve been anxiously awaiting this story since I read the first book in the series. Trent fascinated and frustrated me in the previous books and I wanted to explore the mystery of him.

Laura and Trent have been through a lot of years of marriage and a lot of deployments together. Laura figured she’d be able to stand by Trent no matter what. As the years drag on and Trent pulls farther and farther away from her and their two children, she starts wondering if they can make it. When trouble starts brewing during Trent’s latest deployment and he freezes her out, Laura really struggles to hold it together. When she finds out he’s volunteered for every deployment and lied to her about it, then gets charged with sexual misconduct, she’s done. Though she doesn’t want to be the wife who gives up on her man, she just can’t take anymore and files for divorce.

The last thing Trent wants is to lose his wife, but he has no idea how to open up to her. He can’t share the horrors of war with her, or the guilt he feels whenever he’s at home with his loving family and his guys are overseas. Which is the main reason he kept volunteering for deployments. And with each one he felt more and more disconnected from his life back home. Until he couldn’t open up at all. Now that he’s back stateside and facing a court-martial, he’s rethinking his past decisions. When his lawyer says he and Laura need to look like a happily married couple in order to help his case, he flat refuses. He doesn’t want to hurt her anymore than he already has. Until she agrees.  Then he realizes he might have another shot.

After years of deployments and months alone, the last thing Laura wants is to have Trent move back in and disrupt her new normal. But she can’t deny him the time with his kids, and no way can she let him hang out there all alone when there’s a possibility she might be able to help clear the charges against him. So she agrees to help, as long as he agrees to grant her a divorce as soon as his trial is over.  But spending time with him and watching him try to get his feet under him and find his new normal is harder than she expected. She still loves him and wants nothing more than to work things out. If only love was enough.

This was an extremely realistic look at the trials and tribulations our military members and their families face.  I admit I was bawling by page 8 and that didn’t really let up until about halfway through the book.  My heart went out to Trent. He really wanted his family, but he had no idea how to get them back. He’s felt disconnected for so long, he doesn’t even know where to begin to reengage. I was glad to see Scott didn’t just wave a magic wand and make him better. He had to find a way to deal with his near-death and the loss of so many of his men, and that included medication and counseling.

As Trent opens up and learns to be a husband and father all over again, I felt myself melting right along with Laura. Though he made choices that hurt his family, his love for them was undeniable. He may not have known how to reopen the lines of communication, but he made real effort.

I really empathized with Laura. It isn’t easy being the one left at home, especially when your husband slowly disconnects from you and your family. When the rumors started up about Trent and a female soldier, she didn’t put much stock in them. Until she found out he’d been volunteering for his deployments when he’d told her otherwise, divorce was the farthest thing from her mind. That was her breaking point. I can’t say I blame her, either. She felt betrayed by his lies more than anything else, not understanding how he could run off to war and leave her behind time and time again.

While this is a romance about a husband and wife falling in love with each other again, it’s also a hard-to-put-down look at the troubles our military heroes face when coming home from war. Scott did an excellent job of balancing the romance with the realities. It was hard to read at times, and I straight bawled at one point, but I thoroughly enjoyed it.

4.75 out of 5

This book is available from Forever. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Review: Because of You by Jessica Scott

Posted February 28, 2013 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Because of You by Jessica ScottReviewer: Holly
Because of You (Coming Home #1) by Jessica Scott
Series: Coming Home #1
Also in this series: Until There Was You (Coming Home #3), Back to You, Back to You
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Publication Date: November 14th 2011
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 200
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

A Love Story You'll Never Forget:

From the war-torn streets of Baghdad to the bittersweet comforts of the home front, two wounded hearts navigate the battlefield of coming home from war in this explosive eBook original from newcomer Jessica Scott.

Keeping his men alive is all that matters to Sergeant First Class Shane Garrison. But meeting Jen St. James the night before his latest deployment makes Shane wonder if there's more to life than war. He leaves for Iraq remembering a single kiss with a woman he'll never see again - until a near fatal attack lands him back at home and in her care.

Jen has survived her own brush with death and endured its scars. And yet there's a fire in Shane that makes Jen forget all about her past. He may be her patient, but when this warrior looks her in the eyes, she feels, for the first time in a long time, like a woman. Shane is too proud to ask for help, but for Jen, caring for him is more than a duty - it's a need. And as Jen guides Shane through the fires of healing, she finds something she never expected - her deepest desire...

Loveswept brings you the very best of classic romance - from treasured favourites to exciting new talent, these are love stories you'll never forget. Find out about other titles in the series and choose your next Loveswept hero at www.lovesweptbooks.co.uk

A realistic look at military life makes this a surprisingly dark and angsty novel.  Shane’s time overseas looking out for his men and his guilt when he fails were stark reminders of what our soldiers deal with on a regular basis.

Jen’s brush with breast cancer – and subsequent mastectomy – added another dark note to the story. While I think both situations were well written and realistic, I think the story would have benefited from some levity. While engrossing, it tended toward the dramatic and depressing, which didn’t make for a very feel good read.

Despite that, I enjoyed the journey both Shane and Jen embarked upon – both together and separately. The secondary plot featuring Shane’s commander left me feeling frustrated and annoyed. The cliffhanger seemed unnecessary given the bulk of the story was focused on Shane and Jen. I’m anxious for more information.

I’m glad the story was left with a Happy for Now ending, rather than a Happily Ever After. Shane and Jen still have some things to work out. I don’t know that I would have believed an ending the included marriage and babies.

Though this was a darker novel, I enjoyed it and look forward to more from Scott.

4 out of 5

This book is available from Loveswept. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Until There was You by Jessica Scott

Posted November 12, 2012 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Until There was You by Jessica ScottReviewer: Rowena
Until There Was You (Coming Home #3) by Jessica Scott
Series: Coming Home #3
Also in this series: Because of You (Coming Home #1), Back to You, Back to You
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group, Loveswept
Publication Date: October 8th 2012
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 250
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-stars

From the author of Because of You comes an all-new contemporary eBook romance. Though he plays by the rules, she’s not afraid to break them. Now these two strong-willed military leaders will prove that opposites attract . . . even under fire.

A by-the-book captain with a West Point background, Evan Loehr refuses to mix business with pleasure—except for an unguarded instance years ago when he succumbed to the deep sensuality of redheaded beauty Claire Montoya. Since that brief lapse in judgment, Evan has been at odds with her. But when he is asked to train a combat team alongside Claire, battle-hardened Evan is in for the fight of his life.

Strong, gutsy, and loyal, Captain Claire Montoya has worked hard to achieve her high military rank. In Evan Loehr, Claire sees a spoiled commander who puts the rules before everything else—including his people. Army orders force them together and Claire soon discovers that there is more to Evan than meets the eye. He too has dark secrets and deep longings. For all their differences, Evan and Claire share two crucial passions: their country and each other.

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as excerpts from these Loveswept titles: Blaze of Winter, The Devil’s Thief, and Santerra’s Sin.

1922 KB

This is the second release by Jessica Scott and though I didn’t like it as much as I liked the first release (BECAUSE OF YOU), I did enjoy the book.

This book follows Claire Montoya and Evan Loehr. They’re both in the military and they’re both going through some stuff. Claire is watching her best friend drink himself to death and or out of the military and Evan is struggling with his attraction to Claire but also dealing with emotional turmoil from the death of his sister, many years ago. He hasn’t spoken to his parents in a long time because there really isn’t much to say that would make them feel better about the accident and he keeps his distance from them because of that.

Getting involved with each other is a bad idea all around, there are rules that must be kept but the sexual tension between Evan and Claire was hot and I ate it up. There were things about both of them that drove me crazy but in the end, I liked the both of them. Together and separately. I have to say that of the two main characters, Claire got on my nerves the most. The way that she pushed and then pulled at Evan made me want to shake some damn sense into her. Her misguided way of helping Ike, the way that she pulled into herself when she should have spoken up drove me nuts but alls well that ends well, I guess.

Evan’s emotional turmoil was a lot easier to swallow because even though I thought he let the distance between him and his parents drag on for far too long, I understood why he thought the way that he did and was able to look past that and get to know him without wanting to stangle him too much. It made sense. Not that Claire’s issues and the way she handled them didn’t make sense, I just thought the hot and cold act got old, fast.

I will say that Scott did a great job of making me come to care for these characters, despite not always liking them. Claire came around and when she finally did, I was happy and Evan was hot and yummy and I wanted to eat him up. I thought the secondary characters were an interesting bunch and liked getting to know them throughout the story. I’m glad that I finished this one and am very much looking forward to the next book. Trent and Laura, yay!

Grade: 3 out of 5

This book is available from Loveswept. You can buy it here or here in e-format.  This book was provided by the publisher for an honest review.

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,